The following is a short discussion with President of the Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners (BAMP) Dr. Linda Williams (Epidemiologist). Dr. Natasha Sobers ( Epidemiologist) from the UWI, Cave Hill and Senior Economic Advisor to the government Dr. Kevin Greenidge – Head of the CBC TV 8 Sanka Price lead the discussion supported by Head of News at Voice of Barbados Stetson Babb.

COVID-19 Discussion: Interview with BAMP Representatives

265 responses to “Discussion re COVID 19 and the Economy”

1. DonnaAugust 1, 2021 8:40 AM

What would have happened if ALL businesses were allowed to operate as normal?

How many customers and staff would have died?

Would it have been a safe environment which the law requires businesses to provide?

How many lawsuits would certain businesses have been forced to answer?

These are the questions you must consider before you reach your FIRM position.

But in your extreme right-wing state, you may be incapable of doing so.

Sweden had no lockdowns.

Here is an extract from the link.

https://abcnews.go.com/International/sweden-avoided-covid-19-lockdown-strategy-worked/story?id=76047258

Sweden may be faring comparably better in terms of excess deaths — those greater than the usual number of deaths expected in a certain time period. Experts say excess deaths can indicate whether policies intended to combat the pandemic have unintended consequences, such as delaying treatment for other ailments and is an important measure of the overall efficacy of policy.

While still performing worse than other Nordic countries on data from Eurostat, the official European Union statistics agency, and the University of Oxford, shows that Sweden recorded 7.9% excess deaths last year compared to the years 2016-19, according to the independent health news site Dagens Medicin.

That means that the country had the 23rd lowest annual excess deaths out of 30 European countries — lower than the U.K. (15.1%), France (10.4%) and Spain (18.9%). Sweden also has a lower number of coronavirus deaths per million than those countries, all of which have gone under strict lockdowns during the pandemic. Pointing to the recent excess mortality studies, Nils Karlson, an economist and political scientist who jointly wrote an op-ed last year in Foreign Affairs entitled “Sweden’s Coronavirus Strategy Will Soon Be the World’s,” is more optimistic.

“There was some recent figures showing that if you count excess mortality, Sweden is one of the best countries in Europe,” he told ABC News. “And one of the reason is, of course, that we didn’t get the flu, just the ordinary flu, because we wash our hands. We have social distancing. We didn’t have as many car accidents. You know, all kinds of other stuff that that affects us didn’t happen this year.”

2. GP, one time BU "resident doctor" Avatar
    GP, one time BU “resident doctor”

RE GP will come later and approve the list of treatments)
    NO I WILL NOT, SIR
    I HAVE NO INTENTION OF TEACHING ANY THING ABOUT MEDICAL ISSUES ON BU , SIR.

Happy Sunday, GP.

THANKS. KIND SIR
    I HAVE ALREADY LISTENED TODAY ON ZOOM TO MY ONE TIME SUNDAY SCHOOL TEACHER AND PASTOR AT THE BAPTIST CHURCH IN BARBADOS WHERE I WAS DISCIPLED AS A BELIEVER, WAS TAUGHT THE BIBLE PROPERLY, AND TAUGHT HOW TO STUDY AND TEACH THE BIBLE PROPERLY

LATER TONIGHT I HOPE TO PARTICIPATE IN A VERY GOOD BIBLE READING SESSION, THAT I ATTEND, ON I JOHN 3:11 et secq

CURRENTLY ENDURING AN ELDER AT MY ASSEMBLY HERE IN CENTRAL FLORIDA BRIMBLING IN I PETER, AND THANKING GOD FOR ZOOM. I HATE TO LEAVE MY HOME GO TO HEAR SUBSTANDARD BIBLE OR MEDICAL TEACHING. BUT HE IS STILL MUCH BETTER THAN WHAT I EVER HEARD, OR NOW HEAR IN THE ANGLICAN CHURCH.

3. So why is Sweden (no lockdown) so much better than the UK, Spain and France (locked down)?

I think it comes down to the water supply to urban areas and its quality control.

4. Also, you will see from the start that the UK, Spain and France all had Chinese New Year celebrations in 2020.

They started with a huge kick off in cases.

5. Why are the states in the US which endured lockdown, (the Democratic ones) so much worser off with deaths than the Republican states that had no lock downs and depended on the “smarts” of their inhabitants?

Look at New York for example. Now that Cuomo has killed off all the susceptible people, rates are falling as there aren’t many more left to kill.

Are Democrats dumb?

They just rely on Big Brother and haven’t learnt that often Big Brother doesn’t know what to do!!

6. Kammie HolderAugust 1, 2021 11:49 AM

YOU MISSED FROM YOUR LIST THE COMMAND TO CONTINUOUSLY AND CONSISTENTLY CONSIDER AND CONTEMPLATE CHRIST’S TEACHING IN THE OLIVET DISCOURSE IN MATHEW 24 ESPECIALLY THE BIRTH PANG PREDICTIONS IN VERSES 4-8.

THERE IS A DEED TO APPRECIATE THAT THE FACT THAT COVID CONSTRICTS COMMERCE IS OBVIOUSLY A WARNING OF A SIMILAR , BUT MORE SESSATION OF COMMERCE IN THE RAPIDLY APPROACHING ESCHATON,. AS PREDICTED IN REVELATION 18

7. “Why is the star feature so bothersome to u”

it’s not bothersome at all

I’m just calling out creeps for being creeps

like you must be one of the biggest creeps

the only LOLs that matter is that BLP got 30 LOLS and DLP got none and it hurt you real bad

my prediction is DLP will get less votes next time around due to the curse of the AC bullshit

8. “Why are the states in the US which endured lockdown, (the Democratic ones) so much worser off with deaths than the Republican states that had no lock downs and depended on the “smarts” of their inhabitants?”

you are dense

which is the clue

density of people

dems in cities and innercity ghettos are crowded

9. 555,

Definitely smoking today! Transferring wealth from the public purse to the business class is as right-wing an idea and practice as they come.

No money to individuals. All money to businesses.

Left-wingers wing it as necessary.

10. What Adrian has missed is that there are more viruses than the delta variant. The vaccine may still be effective against the transmission of these. I have seen no study that says otherwise as yet.

He is also mistaken when he suggests that it is the vaccine causing the variants.

This is a very difficult situation. Cool heads need to prevail.

11. August 1, 2021 12:13 PM

“Why is the star feature so bothersome to u”

it’s not bothersome at all

I’m just calling out creeps for being creeps

like you must be one of the biggest creeps

the only LOLs that matter is that BLP got 30 LOLS and DLP got none and it hurt you real bad

my prediction is DLP will get less votes next time around due to the curse of the AC bullshit

Xxxxxxxxx
    Look at day more bullshit

12. Why is mainstream media constantly hammering people over the head with COVID news
    Once upon a time the Olympics would have been given spotlight headlines
    Now it seems as if mainstream media has found a permanent method to keep people glued to their Televisions
    Is this all about COVId as with the people right to know
    Or the media moguls enjoyment of ratings which fuels dollars by way of advertising

13. Does the news seem overwhelmingly negative these days?

Dartmouth College economics professor Bruce Sacerdote thought so. He felt that news coverage — especially of the coronavirus pandemic — was often more negative than what scientists or data suggested.

Get the editor’s top five stories of the week, and tips for navigating life – and weekends too. Sign up now.

Like many Americans at the beginning of the pandemic, Sacerdote was stuck at home watching the news more than usual. He found it “depressing,” he says, and discovered the more his eyes were glued to the news, the more he realized the media was covering COVID-19 in “the worst possible way.”

This prompted him and a team of researchers to analyze tens of thousands of articles about COVID-19 by using a social science technique to determine whether reporting was negative, positive or neutral.

They found news coverage of the pandemic in the U.S. was “shockingly negative” and bleaker than in international news outlets or scientific journals, Sacerdote says.

The study revealed nearly 90% of articles from major U.S. news organizations were negative compared to just 50% to 60% from major international media sources, he says.

While the type of pessimism varied, the research discovered the negative coronavirus coverage comes from media outlets with liberal audiences like MSNBC and conservative audiences like Fox News.

ADVERTISEMENT

There were times when the media could have focused on the good instead of the bad, but chose to amplify the latter, he says. For example, in early summer last year when cases were trending down nationwide, media outlets would emphasize records in individual states or the cumulative death toll.

“Of course, the cumulative can only go up,” Sacerdote says. “It can’t go down.”

When the vaccine rollout began, something that was “fantastically great news,” he says media networks were quick to elevate sometimes “unnecessary” and “overly negative caveats.” These included an emphasis on new virus variants and vaccine side effects.

He and the study’s co-authors surmise that American media outlets could be responding to consumer demand. “We have no one to blame but ourselves,” he says.

The most popular articles, whether that’s quantified by the most viewed or most shared, overwhelmingly center on gloom and doom, he says.

“People do occasionally share or view positive articles, but people tend to gravitate toward the negative,” he says, “and we think that the American media is just very good at giving people what they want.”

Sacerdote isn’t suggesting that journalists are presenting untrue or factually incorrect reports. He means that by stressing the negative, the media isn’t presenting the full picture.

While the study’s authors didn’t set out looking for misreporting, he says they didn’t find any specific examples of false information.

“Fundamentally, we don’t think that the major American media is in the business of reporting fake news,” he says, “but we think they are in the business of reporting rather negative news and emphasizing the negative news.”

Sacerdote says he and his fellow researchers hope journalists use the study as a reminder to “bring balance to their stories” and put the facts in context.

14. “Look at day more bullshit”

I’m not sure what that means

but a woman like you who runs down a woman leader like Mia is probably a man like Hal in disguise pretending to be a wombman

here’s a penetrating question to verify your alleged gender
    do you like to go on top to stimulate your clitoris or are you a simulation of a vagina and vulva

15. 555dubstreetAugust 1, 2021 12:54 PM

“Look at day more bullshit”

I’m not sure what that means

but a woman like you who runs down a woman leader like Mia is probably a man like Hal in disguise pretending to be a wombman

here’s a penetrating question to verify your alleged gender
    do you like to go on top to stimulate your clitoris or are you a simulation of a vagina and vulva

Xxxxxxx

Why do u want to know
    Is that your kind of interest 🙂

16. So who jumping Kadooment Day?

17. Covid19 is the best opportunity to finally drive our idle population to discipline, sacrifice, etc. after a sleep of more than 50 years. The days of the socialist welfare state in the manner of the old economic illiterate Barrow are over.

We should use the favourable opportunity of the transformation of the kingdom into a republic for a fundamental monetary modernisation. Let’s start with an exchange rate of 1:4. We would curb consumption, reduce imports, drive out chronic obesity from our fat population and finally reward free enterprise.

It is as clear as daylight that we will no longer get anywhere with an exchange rate of 1:2. Not today, not tomorrow, not in 2022 and not in 2030. Anyone who still doesn’t get that is financially illiterate or a stoic DLP supporter who thinks the old Barrow is still alive.

I firmly believe that our government will soon realise how right I am. Because our current government has already proven with the aviation tax that they allow themselves to be convinced by good, patriotic arguments.

18. The Ministry of Health and Wellness is making an urgent appeal to people who recently frequented a number of areas.

“Based on information reaching the Ministry of Health and Wellness that several bars in the Nelson Street, Wellington Street, and Suttle Street areas, as well as on the Spring Garden Highway are associated with a recent cluster of coronavirus (COVID-19 cases), the ministry urges persons who have frequented such establishments within the last two weeks as well as individuals who have been in close contact with such persons to get tested for COVID-19.

“Tomorrow, Monday, August 2 and Tuesday, August 3, persons can go to the Wildey Gymnasium Testing site, the Eunice Gibson and Branford Taitt Polyclinics from 8 a.m to noon

19. Yall better focus more on what BLP is up to… that government along with the thing in St. Vincent were prepared to go all out to forcefully vaccinate the population….trying a nazi like move while signatory to laws against THAT…

The problem with Barbados’wicked treacherous leaders, they have violated Black rights for so long that they won’t blink twice to take money from anyone to continue..,even if it VIOLATES INTERNATIONAL LAWS, Mia you will be taken out of the parliament for this…you went too far in the usual wicked anti-blackness. And we must ask who she is working for that she is willing to be dragged up before the international court of justice for human rights violations to wit…forcing experimental vaccine drugs on the population…

Yall love to ignore what ya signatory to

Re mandating vaccines…

Yall are signatory to the UNs ICCPR the international convenant on civil rights from 1966 ratified and became law in Dec 1991…article 7 = no one shall be subjected WITHOUT FREE consent to medical or scientific/medical experimentation…so ya think ya bigger than the UN now, even with an emergency ya can’t just force vaccine on anyone according to Article 4.2 of that same covenant….YOU HAVE NO RIGHT AND CAN GO TO PRISON..,

A multilateral treaty signed on to by Caricom

YALL ARE FRAUDS…..yall should go to prison via the Nuremburg Trials…

You are now subject to those violations…keep it up

I hope some Caribbean governments don’t have these delusions of grandeur, it won’t take much to take them down….and know yall are all from beggars alley.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/world/kidnapped-olympic-sprinter-says-fears-she-will-be-jailed-in-belarus/ar-AAMOYC8?ocid=msedgntp

“The IOC had been in dispute with the Belarus National Olympic Committee ahead of the Tokyo Games.

The Belarus National Olympic Committee has been led for more than 25 years by Lukashenko and his son, Viktor.

Both Lukashenkos are banned from the Tokyo Olympics by the IOC, which investigated complaints from athletes that they faced reprisals and intimidation in fallout from protests since last August after the country’s disputed presidential election.

a close up of Lyudmyla Kichenok: Krystsina Tsimanouskaya, who was due to compete in the women’s 200 meters on Monday, told Reuters she did not plan to return to her country and that she had sought the protection of Japanese police at Tokyo’s Haneda airport so she would not have to board the flight© Provided by Daily Mail Krystsina Tsimanouskaya, who was due to compete in the women’s 200 meters on Monday, told Reuters she did not plan to return to her country and that she had sought the protection of Japanese police at Tokyo’s Haneda airport so she would not have to board the flight

graphical user interface, text, application© Provided by Daily Mail
    The suspected attempted kidnapping comes months after Western countries condemned the government of Kremlin-backed strongman Lukashenko after it scrambled a Soviet-era MiG-29 fighter jet to hijack a commercial passenger plane so it could arrest a dissident journalist.”

20. @Hants

Unfortunately many Barbadians have let their guard down. If we were to profile those frequenting Nelson Street and the other red light areas, these are not the type of characters who are compliant with ‘protocols’.

21. David,

It is unfortunate that some are willing to take risks that can harm others.

Hopefully the hospital can deal with any increase in sick people.

22. HantsAugust 1, 2021 9:32 PM

The Ministry of Health and Wellness is making an urgent appeal to people who recently frequented a number of areas.

“Based on information reaching the Ministry of Health and Wellness that several bars in the Nelson Street, Wellington Street, and Suttle Street areas, as well as on the Spring Garden Highway are associated with a recent cluster of coronavirus (COVID-19 cases), the ministry urges persons who have frequented such establishments within the last two weeks as well as individuals who have been in close contact with such persons to get tested for COVID-19.

“Tomorrow, Monday, August 2 and Tuesday, August 3, persons can go to the Wildey Gymnasium Testing site, the Eunice Gibson and Branford Taitt Polyclinics from 8 a.m to noon

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Suppose these “bars” were frequented by inhabitants of the areas as shops to purchase goods and they were alsready infected.

People do live there.

This fits pretty well with my water theory because my knowledge of water distribution suggests to me that all these areas could very well be supplied from the desal plant.

23. DavidAugust 1, 2021 9:43 PM

Unfortunately many Barbadians have let their guard down. If we were to profile those frequenting Nelson Street and the other red light areas, these are not the type of characters who are compliant with ‘protocols’.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

You don’t even know what “type” of characters they are.

You are prejudiced by the names of the areas and the word “bars” and don’t seem to realise there are plenty people who live in the environs.

Eg … London Bourne Towers.

24. Obviously contract tracing would have been done and people from the area easily identified. It is the transient visitors to the area that will be challenging.

25. Unlike you who sit on a plantation, in a bubble the blogmaster is aware the type of person who visits 2nd street on the West Coast would not be caught dead in Nelson Street.

26. A human side effect of the virus is people letting their guard down
    A side effect for which their is no jab and hard to control
    Govt is now paying the price for letting the virus in the country and in so doing govt let its guard down

27. Steupse, what about people showing they have brains by ensuring they follow the health protocols to protect themselves and family.You are always looking to blame blame when almost every country in the world is battling the pandemic. Suppose a returning Bajan from the diaspora was patient 0? We are here now, what good is a constant blaming going to do to assist with improving the situation? There is a reason it is called a pandemic.

28. Jabs, jobs and the jury

I DO NOT KNOW if I was ever vaccinated against mumps, malaria, yellow fever, or measles. I know that I do not have the tell-tale marks of having had chicken pox.
    I remember being vaccinated at school but I cannot remember what it was all about. My parents did not give permission. What I do remember is that I had to get vaccinated on going to Martinique to play football. When I went to Jamaica where polio was rampant I had to be vaccinated. Later in life I had to be vaccinated on going to Africa and certain Latin American countries. I took the idea of being vaccinated in my stride and trusted the science.
    You know that there are things that we do every day in conformity with custom that impacts on our freedom but we do them because common sense guides us.
    Since having children and grandchildren, the idea of vaccinating them against any rampant virus has given me no problem. That is why when faced with the coronavirus and the availability of vaccinations I have readily got myself and family fully vaccinated.
    Forced vaccination
    There has been an outcry in Barbados about forced vaccination. People say that it impinges on their democratic rights. They are adamant that no one should force them to have anything injected into their bodies that they do not know about even though millions of people have been vaccinated without adverse effects.
    Perhaps Barbadians have been looking around in Barbados and have seen the small number of deaths attributed to coronavirus and feel safe from getting the disease. All well and good! Efforts to persuade are being met with deaf ears and people wanting to march. Since the start of the epidemic we have had 48 deaths – many with other complications – but were people dropping down like flies on the streets or running around looking for oxygen like in India, there would be a mad rush to be vaccinated. However, scenes of this happening in other countries have not worried some Barbadians.
    I have a friend who is adamant that he does not want any of that “thing” injected into his body. He tells me that he masks up, goes to the supermarket and stays far from people. He does not go out anywhere and stays at home. I wonder what would happen if he had to be vaccinated in order to enter the supermarket to buy food.
    But there is another consideration. A lawyer in the papers, friend of mine too, has proffered legal grounds (based on law in Barbados) that claim that you cannot force people to be vaccinated as a condition of employment. This has wide implications for the job market for those who in their estimation
    would rather not be vaccinated or who could not bear the cost of weekly tests.
    On the other hand our goodly lady in charge has said if we cannot come to a decision she will govern. Maybe those words will be retracted, given the obvious meaning to democratic Barbadians. If governing means forced vaccination. Not “bout hey”?
    If being vaccinated would be a “sine qua non” for entering a business place, a supermarket, a restaurant or a hospital then non-cooperating citizens would have to resort to the courts of Barbados. If the ruling of the courts recommends vaccination or a weekly test then I am sure that the whole matter will be taken to the Caribbean Court of Justice. That involves an indeterminable timeframe.
    Given the plethora of lawyers here and the litigious nature of the population there will be an almighty hiatus in the workings of Barbados just at the time when we are changing fast to be a republic and be mature enough to paddle our own canoe. May I predict that we are entering unexplored waters even if some countries over and away have already sailed?
    But you know that there are certain things by which we are governed even if there is dissent. You can go to prison if you breach the curfew no matter how it impinges on your freedom. You cannot go into a supermarket without a mask and if you do and refuse to leave, the police can carry you to prison. So when the lady says that she would govern and you are imprisoned for not being vaccinated or you cannot work unvaccinated, what is the difference? We have started being governed anyway. Look at France, one of the perpetrators of slavery and its people under heavy manners.

Harry Russell is a banker. Email quijote70@gmail.com

29. Verla blasts ‘silent’ unions

PRESIDENT OF THE Democratic Labour Party (DLP) Verla De Peiza is slamming trade unions for their silence and apparent “pussyfooting” when workers are being “forced” to take the COVID-19 vaccine.
    Speaking at a St John branch meeting of the DLP last night at St John’s Parish Church hall, a passionate De Peiza asked: “When did our level of decency sink so low that we think one person could push an agenda to that point? The poignant and definite silence of the labour unions where they pussyfoot about this issue is utterly disappointing.
    “I see the private sector standing up for their constituents. Where are those labour leaders who drag you out on the streets? Where are [the labour leaders] now for those workers who are being told, without it being put in so many words, we will not roster you for work if you are not vaccinated? We will not roster you for work if you are not tested?” she queried.
    De Peiza, who is also the candidate for St Lucy in the General Election constitutionally due in 2023, told the gathering, which spilled into the church’s courtyard, that she had been fully vaccinated, but not enough was being done to inform the country about the advantages of taking the COVID-19 vaccination.
    “We are not in Government, but without the resources of the state, we put the information in the way of the people. But this administration, after parading a bunch of influencers and pantomiming and showing themselves taking a vaccine as though that was enough to sway our learned, educated and our dedicated people who know how to find information, have not done so,” she declared.
    Different response
    She said Government needed to change its response as there were more than 20 people in isolation who were fully vaccinated.
    “When you say you have 25 persons in isolation who are vaccinated fully, who contracted COVID, you then have to have a completely different response, even if you remain convicted that vaccination is the way to get a handle on this pandemic.
    “Even if you remain committed to running the economy regardless of how it affects the people; even if your main – if not sole objective – is to grabble on to the almighty dollar, even if yuh strangling the people of Barbados.
    “Even if those are your stated objectives, or the objectives you have but won’t say out loud, how could you in a climate such as that even countenance forcing people to be vaccinated? Whatever happened to treating our people like human beings?” she further asked.
    The fired up DLP leader again blasted the Mia Amor Mottley administration for what she called blatant disrespect on the Day Of National Significance.
    She said there had been no forthcoming report from the Republican Status Transition Advisory Committee formed earlier this year and chaired by former Central Bank Governor Dr Marion Williams to
    manage the transition from a monarchical to a republican system.
    “Somebody could tell you in April that they setting up a commission to look into the republic, and before that in the Throne Speech. [There has been] radio silence for near nine months. We have not seen a report from that Williams Commission that was set up. We have, however, seen the letter asking the private sector for their opinions on the republic,” she said.
    “And then to have the temerity on the Day Of National Significance,
    when our minds should be on the sacrifice and the blood that was shed in 1937 by our forefathers to make sure we were never in a position for people to be forcing things down our throats again, you disrespect the people of Barbados by telling them a report from a whole generation ago that said let’s go to referendum. You come and say we’re going to become a republic on Independence Day?
    “Do you recognise the full import of erasing our history? You want to bring a republic in three months to name a president and you don’t have any guiding document to tell you how to name a president, because that must be enshrined within the very constitution you say we will deal with after? If your present Government is not serving you, put them out!” she declared. (RA)

30. BU Prostitute: Can you make a hole near my ass?
    Doctor GP: Why?
    BU Prostitute: Business is going so well I want to open another branch.

31. DavidAugust 2, 2021 5:23 AM

Steupse, what about people showing they have brains by ensuring they follow the health protocols to protect themselves and family
    Xxxxxcc
    If it was that easy govt would not be considering extending pirtocols

.You are always looking to blame blame when almost every country in the world is battling the pandemic. Suppose a returning Bajan from the diaspora was patient 0? We are here now,
    Cxcccccc
    Yes every country has the pandemic
    However many have the necessary resources to battle the country
    The same cannot be said of small island states
    Xxxxxccc

what good is a constant blaming going to do to assist with improving the situation? There is a reason it is called a pandemic.
    Xxxxxx
    Then if there is an alternative place to place blame please tell
    Deal with that

32. Government Blamers are pussies and bitches
    (Man like Hal and AC can be Pussies and Bitches too)
    (On BU we call the Pussies and Bitches the DLP political party with 0 seats)

Options are
    (1) Open up economy to Vaccinated Tourists and Workers
    (2) Shut it Down

I prefer option 2 for safety precaution 1st
    just wait it out for a couple of years or ‘mo

33. To the DLP Bitches

Losing is a part of Life

It is how you react to losing that makes you a man (or a womb man)

we are still waiting for the DLP political prostitutes bounce back after they got licked down like a bitches pussy

34. John August 2, 2021 2:31 AM

Suppose these “bars” were frequented by inhabitants of the areas as shops to purchase goods and they were alsready infected.

People do live there.

This fits pretty well with my water theory because my knowledge of water distribution suggests to me that all these areas could very well be supplied from the desal plant.

=============================================

Perhaps you may want to assist BU with the names of those “bars’ in the ‘Main’ that are “frequented by inhabitants of the areas to purchase goods.”

Unless, you’re referring to alcoholic beverages, soft drinks and ‘punany’ as “goods.”

Ohhh…. and one more thing.

A Jordan’s Supermarket is located on Fairchild Street……. in close proximity to Nelson Street, London Bourne Towers and the surrounding districts, where “there are plenty people who live in the environs.”

That supermarket is not only used by “inhabitants of the areas to purchase goods,” but also by people living all over Barbados.
    Remember, the Fairchild Street Bus Terminal is directly adjacent to the supermarket……….. and, the Constitution River Terminal (the ‘van stand)’ is also nearby.

How about the supermarket’s employees who do not live in the nearby districts? Wouldn’t they have been drinking water from the same distribution source, which “could very well be supplied from the desal plant” and going home in other districts across the island, to mingle with their families, relatives and friends?

If your “water theory” holds true, then, under the current circumstances, wouldn’t Jordan’s Supermarket, and other business establishments, especially the bus terminals, have been places of interest for the Ministry of Health & Wellness as well?

And, have you given consideration to the fact there are also people living in Bay Street, Jemmott’s Lane, Bay Land, Martindale’s Road, Belmont Road etc, that may be supplied with water, according to you, from the “desal plant.”

35. DavidAugust 2, 2021 4:45 AM

Unlike you who sit on a plantation, in a bubble the blogmaster is aware the type of person who visits 2nd street on the West Coast would not be caught dead in Nelson Street.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

There you go with your prejudice again, just can’t help it.

I don’t live in a bubble, do not know where 2nd Street is on the West Coast but have been through Nelson Street many times.

Ok googled 2nd Street West Coast and discovered you may be speaking of Holetown and there is a 1st street too.

Never had any calling in either!!

I have family buried at Westbury whose place of death was listed as Nelson Street and friends of the family who lived in the Wellington Street area and I’ve worked with an Engineer with offices there.

I’ve worked on the renovations of a building in Nelson Street and have seen perfectly normal everyday Bajans going about their business in the street.

Unless it has radically changed I reckon a whole set of Bajans live in the area and will frequent shops in that area in their day to day lives.

Maybe it has changed over the last 20 years.

What Bajans will consider a “Red Light” District is also home to many, many normal everyday Bajans and Bajan businesses …..

…. all supplied with piped water from the various sources of the BWA.

36. The desal plant is at sea level.

Logic and common sense would say water from it would be distributed to places also at sea level.

Difficult to imagine the BWA would spend a fortune pumping it up to St. Thomas but who knows.

It is probably pumped up the hill to the “new” concrete reservoir on the first high cliff above UWI from where it is gravity fed to the distribution mains on the coast.

Black Rock, Bridgetown, West Coast and parts of the South Coast would get it.

I remember when it was first built they dug up Highway 2A to supply the West Coast Developments.

The Reservoir above UWI is like the Reservoirs at Grand View next door to Springer Memorial and at Reservoir Road in Brittons Hill.

All are on the first high cliff and supply the coastal plain.

It is possible the BWA also pumps the water higher but I can’t see it making economic sense when other water sources are available higher up.

37. And, have you given consideration to the fact there are also people living in Bay Street, Jemmott’s Lane, Bay Land, Martindale’s Road, Belmont Road etc, that may be supplied with water, according to you, from the “desal plant.”

Every few minutes the QEH has to shut down the kitchen because of COVID cases.

Kensington New Road I know has its share of COVID cases and all indications I have point to the fact that Black Rock is a hot hot spot.

I still collecting data and observing but just saying that from what I am seeing so far the incidence of COVID in Nelson Street, Wellington Street, etc. does not surprise me.

If it is coming in the piped water it doesn’t matter what sort of guard is put up.

38. COVID is the biggest problem in urban areas..

Urban areas have a concentration of people who have to be supplied by water.

The concentration of people will mean that the probability of someone getting a dose of COVID in the water, if it is present is high,

It is common sense.

Conversely, if a country has through natural means and good quality control of its water treatment operations sources of water which are virus free, then the urban areas in it will be also virus free.

Viz Dominica, Singapore, New Zealand, Australia etc etc.

So if we are seeing both manifestations then the duck theory can be applied, it looks like a duck, walks like a duck and quacks like a duck so it is a duck.

We don’t need to know anything about DNA and Vaccines that don’t work and may have side effects, it is just an exercise in improvements to public health methods.

39. Because it the biggest problem in urban areas doesn’t mean it can’t be spread to rural areas too.

If I am right it means COVID can be eradicated or controlled without the need for vaccines.

40. “Because it the biggest problem in urban areas doesn’t mean it can’t be spread to rural areas too”

You are still making up shit as you go along

Yesterday in the evening you claimed Republican states were better handling Covid than Democratic states

(I pointed out population density as a contributing factor for consideration)

Today in the morning you are banging on about Shit and Covid in drinking water again

(that’s 12 hours to dwell on nonsense and spam BU again)

Just because Trump trolled his way into White House you don’t have to act and think like an a conspiracy theorist alt-right racist populist C to the U to the N to the T all the time

41. Re mandating vaccines…

Yall are signatory to the UNs ICCPR the international covenant on civil rights from 1966 ratified and became law in Dec 1991…article 7 = no one shall be subjected WITHOUT FREE consent to medical or scientific/medical experimentation…so ya think ya bigger than the UN now, even with an emergency ya can’t just force vaccine on anyone according to Article 4.2 of that same covenant….YOU HAVE NO RIGHT AND CAN GO TO PRISON..,

A multilateral treaty signed on to by Caricom

let her violate this by playing big and bad to please and appease her thieving racist minorities and she will see WHO WILL GOVERN….this government has to be removed…..they are always on the lookout for a slavemaster to help them violate Black rights…..go right ahead and govern illegally and dictatorially………..we dare you..

so far, in 55 years, DBLP have violated EVERY HUMAN RIGHT that the Black/African woman, man and child are entitled to have OBSERVED….

saw one lowlife supermarket who was boasting not even 3 months ago about how many millions they made in profit since Covid, same criminals are in the news last week claiming they need some kinds help = smalltime corporate welfare, there has not been a better time to shut this fraudulent criminal social private partnership/BLP down..once and for all..

42. btw…you know when Jamaicans start coming out about their human rights, it’s about to get REAL

the little shithounds for Caricom leaders still believe it’s about them..

don’t know who the hell told BLP that they can violate Black rights with our children grandchildren and great-grandchilden looking on…..WRONG…

43. “Kensington New Road I know has its share of COVID cases and all indications I have point to the fact that Black Rock is a hot hot spot.”

============================================

You have purposely moved away from your substantive point you made and shifted the focus on unsubstantiated theories you raised in previous comments.

Some time either during last year or early this year, you suggested Black Rock is a ‘hot spot,’ to which I responded by identifying several districts that are in close proximity to the desal plant, such as Spring Garden, Pile Bay, Straker’s Tenantry, Brighton, Brandons, Brighton Terrace, Deacons Farm Housing Area, Deacons Road, Fairfield, Grazettes from one side……..

………. and Seclusion, Belfield Housing Area, Clevedale, Wavell Avenue, St. Stephen’s Hill, Ellerslie Gap, Spring Garden avenues, Stanmore, Retreat Terrace, Free Hill, Danesbury, Black Rock Main Road etc, from the other side………. where there haven’t been any REPORTED UPSURGE in COVID-19 cases, and asked you what was the basis of your conclusion that the area was a ‘hot spot.’

And, remember, I am a ‘Black Rock man’ who has been drinking water from the desal plant from the time it was constructed.

As usual, you did not respond, choosing instead to shift the conversation in a direction that was totally irrelevant to the original discussion.

You also mentioned Ellerslie Secondary School, which had one or two COVID cases, as an example to substantiate your ‘water theory.’
    But, bear in mind, both St. Stephen’s Nursery and St. Stephen’s Primary Schools are ‘a stone’s throw away from’ Ellerslie …… and there haven’t been any reported cases at those schools.

It is also important to note that, although children residing in different parishes attend the Nursery and Primary schools, the ‘population mean’ is predominately from Black Rock.

This is not the case at Ellerslie, because, as you are aware, children from all over Barbados ‘pass the 11+’ for that school. Therefore, it is a possibility a child from another district could have been responsible for the spread and not the water, as you are suggesting.

You need to present more credible and substantiated proof other than relying on speculation, shifting the ‘goal post,’ presenting ‘straw men arguments.’

By the way, an individual may go to ‘Dr. A’ for a check-up and not being satisfied with the diagnosis, visits ‘Dr. B’ for a ‘second opinion.’ The odds are, ‘Dr. A’s’ diagnosis is proven to be either correct or incorrect……. so too, ‘Dr. B.’

44. As Covid Cases Rise All Over U.S., Lower Vaccination Rates Point to Worse Outcomes

https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2021/07/31/us/covid-delta-cases-deaths.html

45. Atrax

It is a matter of probability, like in a war, only one of two or more men standing side by side has a bullet with his name on it.

The others escape and get to return home.

Two or more districts side by side may not be hit the same as another neighboring district even though their water source is identical.

Luck if you like, probability otherwise.

But if you keep seeing districts having a problem and if they are fed by the same water source then you have to sit up and take note.

Another prediction I made which is coming true is that we will see waves of infection.

Once it can get into the water destined for an area there is no protection, no mask, no social distancing no hand sanitizing will work.

The only protection is luck and luck does not hold out for ever.

Somebody will get hit sometime, sooner or later.

46. Then there is Dominica, not a single death and very few cases.