Dr. Carlos Chase, President of BAMP

The Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners (BAMP) is a union which is feared in Barbados. It does not matter how rich or well-positioned socially, the fear of not having a doctor available to attend to an unexpected malady will strike fear in the hearts of most.  In this regard BAMP in the opinion of BU has exploited their position of influence through the years to the point where renaming the association the Barbados Association of Medical Untouchables maybe more appropriate.

The current impasse between BAMP and the QEH Board caused in the main by the non renewal of contracts of two long serving consultants is the latest in the woes of the sole public hospital, once a symbol of excellence in healthcare delivery in the region. The release of Head of Department of Radiology Dr. Rambarat based on media reports was because of inefficiency. Today’s press quotes Rambarat’s colleagues questioning non delivery of CT scans to facilitate the best healthcare delivery. It is interesting that the concerns about the lack of CT scans should come from Dr. Carlos Chase the head of BAMP and Dr. Harish Thani the head of Accident & Emergency (A&E) Department.

Related Links

The other consultant, the debonair and jet setting urologist Dr Jerry Emtage, yes he has a jet at his disposal  has contracted Ralph Thorne, the brother of Dr. Jerry Thorne to avoid the QEH hammer. So far he appears to have been successful.

Public Relations Officer Dr. Ermine Belle has reported this evening BAMP’s intension to ramp-up industrial action tomorrow by including the Polyclinics across the island in the strike action. In response CEO Dr. Dexter James has advised that the junior doctors will be on call to deliver medical care. Junior doctors are represented by the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW) who appear to be not part of the strike action.

Whatever are the merits and demerits of the current dispute, here is what stinks in the opinion of BU. We have poor and ordinary Barbadians in a depressed economic climate who will be denied healthcare tomorrow, and for what? The sacking of the head of  Radiology who based on comments from his colleagues has been inefficient. Dr. Emtage what can we say. A multi-millionaire who feels driven to fight to hold his position as Consultant at the QEH. We want to know why?

190 responses to “Barbados Association Of Medical Practitioners (BAMP) To Withhold Services To Barbadians – Strike Action To Escalate”

1. @Me,

Sometimes things have to get very bad before they get better – if that is the route we have to go then so be it.

Why do you say that the administration has “no real interest in creating a positive work environment”? That is a serious charge, and we would need to explore how to address that.

2. “… tend to twist your words and spit them back at you with venom and malice and loathing … It is beyond thier comprehension.”

Dr Bovine;
    Seems to me that “venom and malice and loathing” stem from your camp … no? Man maybe it be style of address by you … If beggar spit on me, man I give beggar break… if doctor spit on me man I going for weapon … can’t say why, maybe human … no?

Clearly issue lie with treatment of junior doctor and contract with all doctor .. but contempt shown to public even if not part of plan is obvious by keeping mouth shut …!

Me and Enuf and Other say same thing as Dr Bovine, but my family agree that they be far better read … no? Man from East know that GP having fun, but maybe this very bad time to laugh at people from small island … Very very bad time …

If in East and Government say Consultant must go, Consultant gone … no return! Changing board in public WILL NO T HAPPEN either … no government will be disgrace like that because of pressure group, so negotiation will start with recognition of two non-negotiable upfront … no?

3. This question was asked before but under Dr Jerome Walcott why would we not have seen an improvement in the QEH IR environment?

4. David
    Re This question was asked before but under Dr Jerome Walcott why would we not have seen an improvement in the QEH IR environment?

And I have given the answer already. HE AND HIS PARTY DID HAD HAVE EITHER THE WILL OR THE VISION. THEY HAD NO PLAN!

5. David
    The previous Government had no WILL NO VISION NO PLAN
    This Government has the will, but no plan or vision except to appoint a political priest with balls to control hospital, and a consultant from abroad who does not have a clue where to start.

By the way it is not the job of BAMP or the hospital doctors to change things because they don’t have the power to do so, and they are blocked by bungling administration any how.

The jokers over in the MOH such as the Chief Medical Officer and crew has lost the plot. There has not been anyone over there who has a vision since Vaughan Wells and Sir Maurice Byer, and men of that stature (you can include the late Dr Ramsay also in that lot!)

Now witness this scenario the Priest wants to improve say the working of the ENT Dept . What should he do David? I wont tell you because my business partner Hants advises not to give out any free information to an ungrateful BU audience.

Watch the priest though. He comes to the ward in his vestments for the season. He has his acolytes and they are swinging more incense than one used to see at St Paul’s in Pemberton’s time. They are carrying banners (with balls and guts printed thereon) and a crucifix and chanting Gregorian chants as the process with the rest of the Board looking piously on. The Minister is also there.

But there is a simpler and practical way, which no HOSPITAL ADMINISRATOR WILL COME UP WITH BECAUSE SUCH PRACTICAL THINGS ARE NOT TAUGHT IN UNIVERSITIES IN PhD programs.

I am sorry to mock, but what else can I do? Neither the priest or the consultant or the minister has a clue———-nor does the BU critics. Guess what ? There are going to be more frustration at the hospital as this crew continues to fail.

6. Chinee man

There is no reason for twisting peoples words. When I come here I don’t come to win arguments, I come to share information and facts. I will not change my style. OK

With respect to “venom and malice and loathing” stem from my camp … I will post a post directed at me for no reason at all.

Re Clearly issue lie with treatment of junior doctor and contract with all doctor ..

I am glad that you are willing to see that, rather than others have been doing, just supporting the stupid bullish priest and his ways. The man is such a dictator that he does not even think that BAMP should speak to the public via a paid advertisement in the press….even though he himself has presented his distorted view to the public on radio and television.

I don’t owe the Bajan public anything, because I paid more than my dues. So I will not keep my mouth shop, and every time a matter of this nature is raised on BU, I will MOCK them, as I comment. But following Hants advice, I will not be giving any more free advice I will let those who are paid continue drawing their pay while producing nothing.
    I love to laugh Chinnee man, and I will laugh while I have breath and do so loudly/
    So get use to it. For me, this is a good time to laugh.

Re If in East and Government say Consultant must go, Consultant gone … no return! If in East and Government say Consultant must go, Consultant gone … no return!

As we have pointed out from the beginning the issue is not about firing of two unpopular Consultants. Notice that BAMP did not react when Brian Charles was dismissed

You guys ought to carefully read what Me has said. He is on the spot, and can speak of the current state of decay. But not much has changed in 30 years in the way doctors are treated at the hospital.

AND THE HOSPITAL WILL NOT BE AS YOU GUYS THINK IT SHOULD BE UNTIL THE DOCTORS ARE HAPPY.
    THEY WORK FOR SMALL FESS WITH POOR EQUIPMENT AND ON THE BACK OF IT THEY ARE MISTREATED BY CONSULTANTS PATIENTS AND BOARD!

JUST THINK WHAT YOU WOULD DO IF YOU WERE IN THIER POSITION . THINK!

7. Enuff
    I don’t need to be careful. I am willing to, and have suffered for telling the truth all my life. I will not stop now. I can tell you truthfully that I belong to neither of the two political parties. I can tell you truthfully that I rejected invitations to join the BLP after their massive defeat in 1986.

I am not at all “anti-government”. In fact I have many acquaintances in the DLP. I met Donville for example in the 80’s at a particular office owned by some DLP folk. That is why I sent him the private lessons before the election when I noticed that the DLP had nothing at all to say on Health matters. I am as patriotic as any one else. But I don’t suffer fools gladly.

Ranrat and Emptage would have been gone, as they seem to have been given over by BAMP, fairly after investigation. THE ISSUE IS ABOUT PROCESS AND PROCEDURE AND POLITENESS. AND PROTOCOL!
    ….not Bajan rum shop behavior, where facts, logic, substance is not necessarily a high priority.’

You are correct , the government (both B & D) has no respect for law, protocol or proper process.

8. Bad man saying nuttin Avatar
    Bad man saying nuttin

My two cents:

BAMP is wrong. If you choose to be a consultant with all the attendant privileges that go with it then you have to take the risks which come with contract work. One of those risks is that your contract will not be renewed when it is up or that you may have to resubmit to the competitive selection process to regain your contract. If you want job security then stay as a junior doctor. if you wish to have the ability as a consultant to run your own private practice and to use the QEH’s facilities for your own private patients then you lose that security. You cannot have your cake and eat it too.

Secondly it looks absurd that the same BAMP Board was criticising the same doctor for not responding to his call-outs. THAT IS A FIRING OFFENSE. You shouldn’t even have to wait until the contract has ended to get rid of some one for that.

9. Bad Man who have indeed said nothing

Please kindly note that ALL doctors (junior and consultant) who work for the Crown ARE UNDER CONTRACT!

Staying as a junior will not give you any job security either.

Please lindly note that there are limited posts for juniors anyway, and so after the mandatory internship these doctors enter private practice or leave the country, where they are treated better than they are at home….and where there is structure provided for thier advancement and promotion.

Re if you wish to have the ability as a consultant to run your own private practice and to use the QEH’s facilities for your own private patients then you lose that security

You err again the above are perks always granted to Consultants from the beginning to attract the best specialists to the hospital.

If all the Consultants did thier private practice in Belleville and thier surgery at Bay View, who would teach the Juniors and medical students at QEH? THe priest? Or Donville or Dexter James? Or You?

You CAN NOT ADJUDICATE WITH OR WITHOUT THE FACTS

YOU DONT KNOW AND YOU DONT KNOW THAT YOU DONT KNOW

There is no BAMP Board Sir.

BAMP has not objected to firing the me neither. Where have they said that they have. THEY ARE OBJECTIONG TO PROCEDDURE PRACTOCE PROTOCOL and the obvious pattern of this goverbment to fire at will and run rougshod over peopl;e as indicated by two stories in today’s Nation.

10. HERE ARE TWO ARTICLES FROM TODAY”S NATION THAT INDICATE THE HIGH HANDED METHODOLOGY OF THIS GOVERNMENT

MS BOWEN RICE DOES NOT SEEM TO HAVE BEEN IN A UNION BUT THE DOCTORS ARE

FORMER TOURISM MINISTER Noel Lynch was clean bowled by the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) Tuesday night.
    Lynch was barred from entering a studio after being invited to be a guest on Best And Mason and in protest, well known cricket commentator Andrew Mason opted not to co-host the programme.
    Lynch, a former marketing manager at CBC, was escorted by a security guard from the broadcasting station’s studio.
    He was reportedly told that management had made a decision not to allow him on the programme.
    “It is sad where we are going. I am not here actively talking about politics, but about sports. We are talking about cricket development, which I think is a fundamental part of our cultural development and economic development,” Lynch told the DAILY NATION in CBC’s car park minutes after he was ejected around 8 p.m. Tuesday.
    But CBC, in a statement carried live on their television news and sports presentation last night, said Lynch had not been banned but there were certain procedures that had not been followed pertaining to guests on programmes at the Pine, St Michael station.
    Noting that Lynch was welcome to be on the programme next week, CBC called the incident “unfortunate”.
    The 90-minute programme continued on Tuesday night with only Carlisle Best, while Mason joined Lynch outside the CBC compound.
    “Mr Mason endured the dilemma of seeking to protect the show on behalf of CBC, while also protecting from severe embarrassment a guest that he had personally invited,” Mason’s attorney-at-law Ralph Thorne, QC, said in a statement on the matter.
    “Once Mr Mason was sure that Mr Best would host the show with the other invited guest, he then properly sought to assuage Mr Lynch’s distress.”
    Thorne added: “While the corporation has had its show protected, Mr Mason and Mr Lynch have been victims of the corporation’s breach of their constitutional right to freedom of expression and freedom of association. In a most arbitrary manner, the corporation has also trespassed on Mr Mason’s established contractual rights. I would hope that CBC moves speedily to remedy this most unhappy and unlawful situation.”
    Noting that he held no political office, Lynch said his prohibition from the programme sent the wrong message to Barbadians.
    “What I found to be more serious about the entire thing is that it reflects badly on the Government and the Acting Prime Minister, who has a responsibility for broadcasting.
    “It reflects badly on him [the Acting Prime Minister]. What type of conspiracy is this?” Lynch queried.
    The former Minister of Tourism said that as far back as 2007, while he was Minister of Tourism, he had appeared on the Best And Mason programme with current Minister of Social Care Chris Sinckler.
    “I was a minister and he [Sinckler] was an aspirant to political office,” Lynch said.

PRODUCE THE DOCUMENT.
    That is the challenge which fired National Housing Corporation (NHC) chairman Marilyn Rice-Bowen has put to Minister of Housing Michael Lashley.
    It is her response to Lashley’s statement in the House of Assembly on Tuesday that she was signatory to a finance contract between the NHC and CLICO for the housing project at Constant, St George.
    “I would like to ask the minister (Lashley) to share the contract with the public, because to the best of my knowledge I don’t recall signing a contract and to the best of my knowledge a contract was not executed,” Rice-Bowen told the DAILY NATION in an exclusive interview.
    “I would like the minister (Lashley) to produce the document which he is saying that I have signed to support the fact that he is saying there is a contract in place. I stand by my statement that there isn’t a contract in place,” she said.
    Rice-Bowen also said some of Lashley’s comments relating to the reported contract and a letter being sent to the NHC’s general manager Lanette Napoleon-Young were inaccurate.
    Referring to a set of minutes, she said: “At April 2009, the manager of NHC was Vincent Alleyne.”
    She continued: “Item No. 48 captioned Constant Development Page Eight, the general manager informed the meeting that he was in receipt of a letter from CLICO, requesting stage payments for work done at Constant, St George. The general manager indicated that this was in variance with what was agreed to with CLICO and it certainly was not the understanding between CLICO and the board of management.”
    She added: “In Item 49, the general manager indicated that he met with CLICO and pointed out that neither management nor the board of management intended to vary from the initial agreement.”
    PRODUCE THE DOCUMENT.
    That is the challenge which fired National Housing Corporation (NHC) chairman Marilyn Rice-Bowen has put to Minister of Housing Michael Lashley.
    It is her response to Lashley’s statement in the House of Assembly on Tuesday that she was signatory to a finance contract between the NHC and CLICO for the housing project at Constant, St George.
    “I would like to ask the minister (Lashley) to share the contract with the public, because to the best of my knowledge I don’t recall signing a contract and to the best of my knowledge a contract was not executed,” Rice-Bowen told the DAILY NATION in an exclusive interview.
    “I would like the minister (Lashley) to produce the document which he is saying that I have signed to support the fact that he is saying there is a contract in place. I stand by my statement that there isn’t a contract in place,” she said.
    Rice-Bowen also said some of Lashley’s comments relating to the reported contract and a letter being sent to the NHC’s general manager Lanette Napoleon-Young were inaccurate.
    Referring to a set of minutes, she said: “At April 2009, the manager of NHC was Vincent Alleyne.”
    She continued: “Item No. 48 captioned Constant Development Page Eight, the general manager informed the meeting that he was in receipt of a letter from CLICO, requesting stage payments for work done at Constant, St George. The general manager indicated that this was in variance with what was agreed to with CLICO and it certainly was not the understanding between CLICO and the board of management.”
    She added: “In Item 49, the general manager indicated that he met with CLICO and pointed out that neither management nor the board of management intended to vary from the initial agreement.”

11. Another case of being apathetic to existing rules and regulations. But even worse is the fact that the government borrowed money from CLICO (the lender) to pay CLICO (the contractor) to build houses. Why not a a PPP agreement like Jada, which Minister Sinckler recently promulgated as the new MO devised by the Social Policy sub-committee which he chairs?

12. Seems to me that BAMP must bear some responsibility for these dismissals. Why did they not negotiate for more security of tenure than a simple period of notice? Where in any agreement is there an obligation on the QEH to give a reason for dismissal?

13. The Terms and Conditions of Service Document outlines the grievance procedure.

14. THINK!

Dr. Bovine THINK??? Man from East THINK that mess small island find itself because unassailable position academic elite believe itself in … same position Dr. Bovine assume … THINK !! Senior Doctor look down on Junior Doctor, Senior Doctor look down on senior doctor, Senior Doctor look down on Board, and Administration believe Senior look down on Administration too. Now board look down on Senior doctor, and Dr. Bovine look down man from East … no?

Man from East do more than any Senior doctor or Junior doctor or board or Administrator, and work just as hard and long because he WORK FOR US DOLLAR ONLY (no monopoly dollar) AND NOT EXPENSE SMALL ISLAND CITIZEN AT ALL AT ALL …! No cost … none …! Maybe local Doctor find many way to EARN US dollar for small country before need to fatten belly at expense of citizen … no? THINK ..? Dr Bovine?

15. Chinee Man
    Dr GP not look down man from East … NO! Dr GP ask Chinee man only to think how poor junior doctor feel when oprresed by som many folk.
    No way that local junior Doctor can belly at expense of citizen Only popliticians can do that and those given political big jobs.
    Since Chinnee man earning so much US dollar, maybe he can buy some equipment for suffering local horsepital no?

Maybe Chiknee man can find solutions to problems at horsepital BU people bash doctors but can they come up with solutions of how to fix horsepital within contemporary budget in ongoing recession. Can Chiknee man rise to occasion? Can Chiknee man rise at all? I sign out with risus sardonicus. LOL

Have velley good supper.

16. “risus sardonicus”

Now man from East really urinated now …no? Chinnee earn sufficient dollar to afford special op… You no want to mess with man from East … Oh no…! We have global connect that make very funny thing happen… give good reason for permanent risus sardonicus …

And as for solution, small island need use of socialism for few years in many department of development … no place for capitalist doctor or priest … no? And By and way I no match for bajan with rise thing but rise I do … no? Really urinated now …!

17. LOL Chiknee man

18. Layer on lipstick to yo to Bovine

19. @Me
    Thanks for the information.

20. “it looks absurd that the same BAMP Board was criticising the same doctor for not responding to his call-outs. THAT IS A FIRING OFFENSE. You shouldn’t even have to wait until the contract has ended to get rid of some one for that.”

That actually depends. Whether or not to come out can very much be a matter of individual discretion, otherwise one could find oneself coming out to some wards every time a patient belch too hard.

What the hospital needs is cross-disciplinary agreement on protocols. Ironically, that same senior doctor who they want to fire was calling for that several years ago. He was ignored, and he eventually settled into doing completely as he felt like, in the absence of mutually agreed standards.

I’m not saying that I agree with his response, but the problem is bigger than him.

21. @BAFBFP | August 19, 2010 at 8:02 PM |
    Layer on lipstick to yo to Bovine

you stupid piece of b… don’t you have anything with sense to bring to the table? idiot

22. Me
    You make an interesting point about coming out.
    I was once called out early onr morning because a nurese awoke a patient to bathe her. In doing so she disturned the woman who was having a dream. On being awoken, she looked “bad”! So I was summoned.
    The nurse gave me no symptoms no vital signs . Nothing to explain why I should come except “You coming or not.”

Knowing my luck, I went, and was told what I reported above by the patient, as the nurse did not even get a history.
    I wrote in the notes. “Called top see patient, who was apparently dreaming. However, since I am niether Daniel aor Joseph, and cannot interpret dreams, I am unable to help her.”

On another occasion I was called to see a young girl who just could not fall asleep. She was thus a problem to the nurses- who could not get to sleep either. They both pleaded with me to give the girl something to help her get to sleep. I refused and went back to sleep ( I always found somewhere to sleeop in hospital when I was on call as an intern

On the ward round next morning, this young lady had by then collecterd copious fluid in her lungs. This collection had apparently started about the time I was called, and had continued during the night. Had i followed her “order” and those of the “nurses” she may well of drowned in her own fluids that night.

I find this statement of yours very interesting
    “Ironically, that same senior doctor who they want to fire was calling for that several years ago. He was ignored, and he eventually settled into doing completely as he felt like, in the absence of mutually agreed standards.:

Funny enough, that is how it goes.

23. Funny how you doctors can be so Hippocratical.
    Kos, a call out fee may be more of a spur to you than the existing retainer.
    Does your experience identify the real problem?

24. Call-out fees are not the answer. They are nothing but a superficial fix, temporarily effective at best.

25. @Me

Please confirm the following.

In Barbados do we have only 3 neurologists and were they all out of the island within the last 2 weeks?

26. I’m not sure how many we have, but the WHO recommendation is 1 neurologist for every 100 000 people in the population— so 3 sounds fine.

If there’s a conference overseas it’s quite possible that all were overseas at the same time. That’s not necessarily a big deal once they have experienced juniors taking care of patients for the brief time they’re away.

America has fallen into the idea that specialists must always see every patient. This leads to expensive medicine, doesn’t improve outcomes, and is counter-effective with regard to a country’s health development.

Let’s not follow them.

27. Thanks Anonymous

Who handles emergencies e.g. opening the brain?

28. I have followed this debate with great interest. I once worked in system, lost relatives in there, have relatives who are doctors and one on the QEH Board. I can say to all that there really is no mal-intent on each side as far as I can see.

Jus a case of lack of communications. I am concern that the management may not have conveyed the policies to stakeholders as they should have. Also statements made in the public domain by both sides clearly inflamed the situation.

I must commend the Minister Inniss for curtailing his familyvacation (he was in Florida meeing up with his wife and two young sons – NOT ON A CRUISE) and attending to he matter. I am told that he worked behind the scenes to calm the situation. He recognized that doctor bashing was not a solution. As a matter of fact, he seems to be too close to doctors and too understanding of their plight. He has talked to both sides in great detail on the issues and directed that they not only talk but build a sustainable relationship.

I quite like the Minister. from day one he has been saying that we spend too much time and resources on the QEH and too little on the system and facilities that feed into the QEH such as the polyclinics. also he has stressed the focus on the preventative aspect of health care. I am told he visits the hospial often and is seen talking with staff from all levels.

clearly there are human resource management issues to be addressed here alon with some serious IR issues, bu when all is done, it is a preventative, community based healthcare system that will work best for Barbados.

29. @GP,
    Polyclinics can be equipped to provide a level of care that could take a huge burden off the QEH.You already tell them that and that was before we had high tech communication.

Polyclinics could be satellites of the QEH connected by the internet. A system of 24/7 video conferencing, Blackberrys,pagers etc.

What we need to improve the Health care system is a “coalition of the willing” at all levels.

30. Interesting:
    excerpted from another section of the press.
    “the board’s concern is to work towards the effective management of clinical services and the provision of the best possible hospital care to the people of Barbados.”
    ” each contract is and will be determined on its own merit.”
    “the board’s only concern is the pursuit of the implementation of a patient-centred model of healthcare.”

“the policy direction of the government of Barbados on healthcare, which the board is seeking to implement in the best interest of the widest cross section of Barbados.”

31. David | August 22, 2010 at 11:16 AM |
    Who handles emergencies e.g. opening the brain?

Are you referring to opening the skull, or brain surgery?

In head injuries ( the most common cause of damage to the brain) osmotic diuretics like mannitol are given, and a competent junior doctor is quite equipped to drill Burr holes to reduce intracranial pressure. Brain surgery is done by neurosurgeons.

Hants
    As you have pointed out I have already advanced by sending private lessons to the man who is now the minister of health for almost two years. Following that I brought the plan to the public via the auspices of BU since early 2008. Now all of a sudden, we are hearing that Dexter James and the Minister , and Bonjour are Columbus, pretending to discover the new world. This is not the first time that the DLP have done this with one of my ideas. They also did this in the early nineties.

But it was indeed GP who initially pointed out that …………. Polyclinics can be equipped to provide a level of care that could take a huge burden off the QEH. already tell them that and that was before we had high tech communication.
    You are of course correct too when you opine that “What we need to improve the Health care system is a “coalition of the willing” at all levels. “

Your proposal below is the first and thus only advancement on the basic plan in terms of offering some methodology, and I laud you for your ability to cerebrate on this matter. You wrote “Polyclinics could be satellites of the QEH connected by the internet. A system of 24/7 video conferencing, Blackberrys,pagers etc. “

I am sure that you know that “a little bit more” is required, but your proposals speak toward the use of Consultants in handling more difficult cases.

To advance the basic plan calls for more than “doctor bashing” which is apparently the limit of the average BU commenter, on matters of health. I wont hold my breath in anticipation of any “fleshing out” of my proposals by any BU commenter.

32. Bonjour
    I would suggest to you that the impasse between BAMP & THE QEH board is much more than “ just a case of lack of communications. “ Even some one with a brain the size of that of an ant, can see this.

Re I must commend the Minister Inniss for curtailing his familyvacation (he was in Florida meeting up with his wife and two young sons – NOT ON A CRUISE) and attending to he matter.

Man Donville only do what he ought to have done man! You expect all sorts of heroics from the hospital doctors who are usually out to the baller. But when the Minister, who might have with vision, and discernment and foresight inter alia, does what he had to do to in the situation , you sing ALL GLORY LAUD AND HONOR?

Re I am told that he worked behind the scenes to calm the situation. He recognized that doctor bashing was not a solution.

Yeah. He recognized that doctor bashing was not a solution after he ascertained that it will not work!. Very good learning curve!

You demonstrate your ignorance of leadership (read Nehemiah chapter three for one of the very best examples – this is a great model) when you opine “ he seems to be too close to doctors and too understanding of their plight”

Re He has talked to both sides in great detail on the issues and directed that they not only talk but build a sustainable relationship.

So now he is a rocket Scientist! This now explains why he was in Florida, when common sense should have told him that conflict was looming. I suspect that he was at Cape Canaveral!

Yes from day one he has been parroting his private lessons that “we spend too much time and resources on the QEH and too little on the system and facilities that feed into the QEH such as the polyclinics also he has stressed the focus on the preventative aspect of health care. “ BUT CAN HE IMPLEMENT ANY OF IT MAN? WHAT HAS HE DONE WITH THE INFORMATION THAT HE HAS BEEN GIVEN IN HIS TWO YEARS IN CONTROL MAN?

Re I am told he visits the hospital often and is seen talking with staff from all levels. ALL GLORY LAUD AND HONOR AGAIN!
    WHAT A GREAT ACCOMPLISHMENT! As a result of this hard work the situation in the Hospital is fixed, and all the Healthcare issues in Barbados have been ameliorated. We know much better!

Re “but when all is done, it is a preventative, community based healthcare system that will work best for Barbados.”

Raise the discussion to another level TELL US HOW! CANT THE DLP TELL US HOW? WILL THE DLP DO IT!.

Where are the Vic Johnson’s and the Obrian Trotman’s and Keith Symmond’s or Branford Taitt’s who really understand the peculiar aspect of leadership as espoused in Titus 1:8 ?

Can you find it from among that list?

Can you do more than approximate your labiae orae to the adipose tissue that overlies the Minister’ s glutei ?

33. I’m not at all convinced that communication is to blame, though I’m sure that may be a decent no-fault storytale for the media when it’s kiss-and-make-up-for-the-reporters time.

My view of management’s expressed HR strategy and the medics’ expressed response is that they are “blinkered” and “naïve” respectively.

Management seems to feel that staff are optimally managed with a loud voice, a tiny tiny carrot, and a big, big stick. Then they can’t understand why no-one is performing, their employees hate them, and their turnover rate is stratospheric. BACKWARD AND BLINKERED!

The doctors seem to feel that their position is obvious and reasonable, and that public and management will “understand” with minimal negotiation, persuasion, or explanation. Alas, even when you’re right, this is seldom the case. ADOLESCENT AND NAÏVE!

34. GP prehaps there is no glory for a Minister of Health in making polyclinics function as you have told them.
    Prehaps there is a stigma attached to polyclinics “cause dah is whey poor people does go”.
    If Government Ministers had to stay in public wards at the QEH.
    If they had to go to Polyclinics for medical attention.
    If they had to spend 50% of their salary on medication, the Health care system would improve.

If Ministers were forced to drive Nissan Micras and live in Trents Tenantry, the roads would be fixed and the flooding problems would be solved.

35. @Hants at 12:00am
    I believe you have hit the nail precisely on the head. Projects are selected not because of the inherent value to the process and desired effectiveness of the service, but instead based on what the Minister feels will garner him the most public benefit.

As long as that is the way our decisions are made, “crapaud smoke we pipe”.

36. Hants | August 23, 2010 at 12:00 AM |
    Actually there would be much glory for a Minister of Health in making polyclinics function as I have told them, because inter alia , the pressure on the QEH would be relieved, and the populace would get great care.

There is no real stigma attached to polyclinics; and in fact folk who are far from poor attend sometimes. I have treated magistrates and even the family members of Ministers of Government.

If you are ever sick in Barbados and have to go in the QEH go to public wards, because the private wards tend to be understaffed when you consider that patients are not in an open ward. I used to sleep up there when I was an intern when I was on call, so I know what I am talking about.

Anonymous | August 23, 2010 at 12:55 PM |
    There is much merit in your belief that Projects are selected not because of the inherent value to the process and desired effectiveness of the service, but instead based on what the Minister feels will garner him the most public benefit.

It is written where there is no vision the people perish!

37. One wonders if it is really true as reported in the evening online newspaper that half of the Sanitation Authority’s trucks are not functioning.

Is this another measure indicative of the inefficiency of the DLP and the management of the Minister of Health?

Has everything gone to pot ? Besides doctor bashing?

38. The QEH is advertising for consultants…

“Currently due to industrial action the QEH is in urgent need of recruiting a cadre of medical specialists. Competitive rates will be offered for work in this island paradise.”

39. Is that the correct thing to do while discussions are going on between the QEH Board & BAMP?

Is this the correct thing to do to those senior registrars who have given a good chunk of thier life to serving the QEH?
    Certainly the QEH is looking for trouble.

Why are the junior doctors under the NUPW instead of under BAMP/ When was this decision made?

40. The ad was a hoax, confirmed by CEO Dexter James.