Jesus said that a good tree cannot bear bad fruit, and a bad tree cannot bear good fruit.  He advised us to identify the type of tree by its fruit.

Our political parties invest in public relations for one purpose – to convince the public that their trees are good. Evidently, they are very convincing.

The Barbados Constitution protects one post from political interference.  That post is the Auditor General.  The Auditor General’s singular role is to examine the fruit of a political administration.  He then publishes a report every year, so that we may not be deceived by political public relations agents.

MISSING COOKIES.

Every year, the Auditor General informs Barbadians that new cookies are missing from the cookie jar.  He describes the trail of crumbs in a manner that allows the police to easily investigate, and prosecutors to easily prosecute, those with crumbs on their fingers and around their mouths.

Every year, the public looks to our police and prosecutors to validate the Auditor General’s report.  Every year, our police and prosecutors, by their non-action, inform the public that the Auditor General should not be trusted, and his annual report is a work of bad fiction that should not be read.

ROTTEN TREES.

When I first read an Auditor General’s report, I felt sick.  The implicit message was that the trees were rotten to the core.  However, our police and prosecutors signalled that it was all fake news – not worthy of any investigation.

The next year, the report revealed that more cookies were missing, and the trail of crumbs seemed credible.  Yet, our police and prosecutors signalled that we should move on – there was nothing to see there.

Eventually, the evidence seemed so overwhelming that the question just had to be asked.  Were our police and prosecutors cooperating with the public relations agents of the established political parties, or was it all an amazing coincidence?  Whatever the answer, something had to be done.

FAKE FRUIT.

On 1 July 2015, I planted Solutions Barbados so that Barbadians may enjoy good fruit.  We assembled 28 candidates who offered themselves to the public as a competent alternative.  As the 2018 General Election approached, the established parties did what they do best.

Every election, both established parties claim to have seen the light, and be miraculously converted to good trees.  Men and women of the cloth pronounce them clean and good in our Churches.  Amazingly, the public believes them every time, but are later disappointed when the advertised fruit is found to be fake.

POLITICIANS WILL BE POLITICIANS.

The recent Auditor General’s reports reveal that both established political parties’ public relations is an illusion – both trees are bad.  Our police and prosecutors predictably played their role of discounting the reports to perfection.  But it is the public’s general response that was amazing.

Supporters of the government claimed that the Auditor General is a D who is trying to embarrass the Government.  They claim that the police never investigating is proof that the Auditor General is lying.  They claim that politicians work hard to help us, so they deserve a little something – we should not muzzle the ox while it treads the corn – politicians will be politicians.

ROBBING HOOD.

Barbadians only believe the Auditor General, when he is investigating the activities of their political opponents.  They do not acknowledge that the missing cookies are their children’s inheritance.  They do not make the connection that the only reason why they pay VAT, land tax, and several other taxes, is to pay to replace some of the missing cookies.

It is this public acceptance and embracement of bad fruit, and the promotion of it as some kind of Robin Hood type virtue, that convinced me that I cannot give the people what they want.

PROSPERITY.

By this time, the public should have benefitted from at least: the abolition of VAT and land tax; no-interest mortgage loans from a new development bank; no taxes on non-processed whole foods; a new business in each willing household; upgraded houses to resist earthquakes and hurricanes; productive and efficient public services; PV units on each roof; and a rearranged secondary school curriculum to benefit all students.

After twice offering prosperity to the people, I retired from elective politics.  But I remained President of Solutions Barbados until our Annual General Meeting (AGM), which was held last week.

HONOURABLE PERSONS.

At our AGM, several of our members planned to offer themselves as Solutions Barbados candidates in the next general election.  This is highly commendable.  Solutions Barbados’ independently reviewed policies, were designed to allow Barbadians to escape the pay-check to pay-check poverty to which they have grown accustomed.  However, twice Barbadians rejected their prosperity in favour of the poverty they knew.

Unexpectedly, I was unanimously re-elected as President.  Mr Kenneth Lewis was elected as Vice President.  I do not plan to be a Candidate again.  However, as the one who invited the members to join Solutions Barbados, I am duty-bound to support them.

Let it be known that I support Solutions Barbados Candidates willingly and enthusiastically, because they want Barbadians to enjoy good fruit from a good tree.  These competent and honourable persons have consistently demonstrated that their motives for serving Barbados are good.

In the next General Election, the public should have another opportunity to vote for Solutions Barbados Candidates – in every constituency.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

175 responses to “Difficult Conversations – Amazing Barbadians”

1. Every year, the public looks to our police and prosecutors to validate the Auditor General’s report.  Every year, our police and prosecutors, by their non-action, inform the public that the Auditor General should not be trusted, and his annual report is a work of bad fiction that should not be read.

@Grenville it is one of the working committees of parliament – Public Accounts Committee that is mandated to investigate and pass files to the DPP/Police.

2. Grenville is ignorant that he is dwelling into the area of law where Parliament and Government cannot be prosecuted and can only be held accountable to identify lessons learned

3. Woke War Vs War on Woke

GB/UK Law (which is the legacy system that Barbados inherited) works on the principle that the masters (Crown and Government) are always righteous even if they commit wrongs and evil deeds in the peoples names (like slavery and institutional racism for last 500+ years).

So suck it up folks.

But, fret not, don’t worry yourselves Jah Jah Children, don’t worry yourselves at all. The people are going through changes of awakenings and seeing through all the bullshit exposed.

The issue is not white privilege per say but the white mind. The next Right Wing White trope doing the rounds in Babylon is the term “white privilege” is “unhelpful” and “divisive”, but world community is experiencing prophesies of revelations when touched by the violet flame of I AM (God). Watch Babylon Kingdom Fall Down. Perverted Christianity and other Religions for social control will be replaced by God’s Vibrations.
    Selah

Violet Flame meditation
    Repeat nine times “I AM the Violet consuming flame in Action”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xXIO0lropaQ

4. This is the problem with Grenville. He does not even know the mechanism by which the matters highlighted by the Auditor General would be referred to law enforcement and yet he writes a whole column on the matter, throwing stones in the wrong direction.

School boy mistake!

And more damn whining like a Trumpeter!

How do we know that you are what you say – because you start columns with “Jesus said”?

P.S. I await your polite response. lol

5. @grenville
    Seek first to understand, then to be understood– Steven Covey

6. (Quote):
    @Grenville it is one of the working committees of parliament – Public Accounts Committee that is mandated to investigate and pass files to the DPP/Police.
    (Unquote).
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++=

And if the PAC is failing to do its job (take action as recommended in the AG’s reports) where does that place Barbados on the ratings of a properly managed country?

Who will guard the guards (if not the DPP, as Constitutionally enshrined)?

7. Donna June 29, 2021 7:30 AM #: “This is the problem with Grenville. He does not even know the mechanism by which the matters highlighted by the Auditor General would be referred to law enforcement and yet he writes a whole column on the matter, throwing stones in the wrong direction.”

I was going to ‘tell’ Mr. Phillips II something similar. But, he ‘doesn’t take kindly to criticism,’ which is one of the reasons why I changed my mind.

His article was based on a false premise, which he used to develop his arguments.

Perhaps Grenville should’ve done a bit more research on some of the issues he raised in his article before presenting it to the public.

8. @Miller

A dysfunctional governance framework is at the root to many if not all of our problems. The bedrock of our democracy is cradled within parliament of which the working committees are integral to the process.

9. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

“@Grenville it is one of the working committees of parliament – Public Accounts Committee that is mandated to investigate and pass files to the DPP/Police.”
    ++++++++
    It is easy to take potshots at Grenville but you need to think a bit more deeply David… you just encourage everyone else to pile on because Grenville is a popular target. In this case Grenville is correct and you and the people who jumped on your bandwagon are dead wrong.

Of course the PAC is mandated to investigate, but it is a profound mistake on your part to presume that the police and public prosecutors cannot or should not act without being given permission to do so by a committee of Parliament. On the contrary, the police force and public prosecutors and the rest of the law enforcement & judicial system are supposed to be free of political influence.

If you report the burglary and show the police credible evidence that it has occurred, do you expect the police to seek political approval before they investigate and recommend to the public prosecutor that charges be brought forth? Of course not! You would consider this to be the highest form of corruption. So why do you endorse and recommend such corruption when it is the Auditor General who places before the whole society credible evidence that a crime has occurred.

Yo say in a later post that “dysfunctional governance framework is at the root to many if not all of our problems.” The notion that the police and prosecutors have to wait on being referred cases by the PAC is just such a “dysfunctional governance framework” that is nowhere written in law, is flagrantly contrary to common sense, but is embedded in Barbadian culture.

In this case you have put yourself on the public record endorsing dysfunctional governance.

10. @Peter

Your argument is old, we had it when the Donville Inniss matter reared and this blogmaster asked why the police and DPP were unable to act. We continue to chase the tale.

11. “Grenville is correct and you and the people who jumped on your bandwagon are dead wrong.”

UTTER NONSENSE!!!!!!

12. @ David

Provisions are made in the Constitutional Laws of some jurisdictions allowing the AudG, if he has reasons to believe a public officer is guilty of fraud, misusing or misappropriating public funds, to refer the matter to the Public Prosecutor, together with a statement outlining the reasons for his suspicions.

Is there a similar process in Barbados?

What is being suggested is that, having read the AudG’s report gives police the authority to investigate, for example, why the Clearwater debt was written off, or why an accounting transaction was entered to an incorrect account.

13. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@David,
    Your argument is old, we had it when the Donville Inniss matter reared and this blogmaster asked why the police and DPP were unable to act.
    ++++++++++
    Of course the argument is old. It is old because it has always been correct.

Why could you clearly see obvious logic in the case of Donville stealing public money, but are now blind to the necessity to investigate allegations of others stealing public money without needing to be given permission by members of the same political class and their party hacks who are likely the ones doing the stealing?

14. Bandwagoner here!

Bare joke!

Who says government has to be functional? It often isn’t. Who made the rules and why did they make them?

We must differentiate between what should be and what IS!

15. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Artax
    Nobody is suggesting that the police have to deal with every single suspicious thing that the Auditor General uncovers.

But, to take just one minor example from the 2020 report “Only when the Auditors conducted the site visits did the representatives from the Ministry discover that some houses were not built. The results of the site visits indicate that confirmation that the funds were spent as intended was lacking. Follow-up by the Ministry is important to ensure that beneficiaries receive the assistance that was approved.” Our money was spent to build houses but the houses were not built nor is there any evidence that the money was returned to the public purse.

This constitutes prima facie evidence of fraud and warrants a criminal investigation.

16. Artax,

If there is such a provision for the Auditor General to make the referral to the Public Prosecutor, then would not the Auditor General be the one at fault here?

Certainly, it would not be on the police to read the report and investigate.

17. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Donna,
    Who says government has to be functional? It often isn’t. Who made the rules and why did they make them?
    We must differentiate between what should be and what IS!
    We both know that our government is dysfunctional in many respects.

Grenville and I disagree on very, very many things… I do not think he has had a kind word to say about me for the past 4 years or more since I criticised the Solutions Barbados platform. However, it seems to me that here he is simply trying to “differentiate between what should be and what IS” and recommending that we move closer to what should be.

18. PLT,

I will read again but it seemed to me that he was blaming the police who are not to blame.

19. @Peter

The problem must be fixed at the root. The COP is appointed by who again? Why are our working committees of parliament not working?

20. @Grenville

What is your (Solutions Barbados) position re: Donville Inniss/ICBL matter. Do you disagree with outgoing COP Griffith someone needs to file a complaint in the ICBL/Donville Inniss matter for the local Police to investigate the matter?

21. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Donna,
    … it seemed to me that he was blaming the police who are not to blame.
    ++++++++++++
    I read it as blaming the entirety of Barbadian society and political culture… and we are to blame, including the police.

22. @Peter

You are generous in your interpretation of what Grenville wrote. By the way, former Minister Inniss ventured in the Barbados Underground and was similarly grilled.

MISSING COOKIES.

Every year, the Auditor General informs Barbadians that new cookies are missing from the cookie jar. He describes the trail of crumbs in a manner that allows the police to easily investigate, and prosecutors to easily prosecute, those with crumbs on their fingers and around their mouths.

Every year, the public looks to our police and prosecutors to validate the Auditor General’s report. Every year, our police and prosecutors, by their non-action, inform the public that the Auditor General should not be trusted, and his annual report is a work of bad fiction that should not be read.

23. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@David,
    The problem must be fixed at the root.
    ++++++++++++++++++
    You are completely correct David… but where do we find the root? The roots are us… every single individual Barbadian citizen is one of the roots. The root of the problem is that we spend all of our energy and time in fruitless backbiting based on past disagreements rather than treating each thing we hear as something to be evaluated on its own merits.

The problem is buried so deep in our plantation culture that we fail to even recognise it as part of ourselves. It is based on the plantation reality that the truth value of an utterance was based on the social standing of the person who uttered it… if they were White it was true, if they were Black it was false. Now this is warped and generalised so that a BLP supported takes everything that a DLP supporter says to be false and vice versa. Someone who is not a partisan of Solutions Barbados automatically discards everything Grenville says without giving it adequate critical attention.

The problem is staring back at us each time we look in the mirror.

24. PLT,

Have nor reread yet because I truly cannot stand his writing style. And the “Jesus said” beginning got my hackles up. Will reread a little later and see.

Last time he wrote something I defended was the vaccine column, where he was dismissed for simply asking questions.

He did not acknowledge that I thought he had done a good job. He never notices that. All he notices is my criticism. So…. I enjoy letting him have it!

The more he frets, the more fun it is for me.

Mind you, I mean every word.

25. @Peter

No fault with the man in the mirror perspective, it is one this blogmaster retreats to from time to time. The challenge is that governance matters are never sexy and the fast food culture that permeates our society makes it a dud read does not resonate with general public.

26. William Skinner Avatar

@ All
    These points are very well made on all sides. We are a very educated people and we understand every issue very well. Perhaps that is why the damn teefing may never stop.
    The questions we need to answer:
    Why did it take the USA to lock up a Bajan politician for corruption ?
    If we are so analytical why the hell nobody is in Dodds ?
    This is perhaps forty blasted years of corruption reported by the Auditor General. The PAC has been meeting forever. What has been achieved in fighting graft.?
    Let me try van answer:
    The frigging politicians very corrupt and unless we get rid of the BLPDLP it may never stop.
    I dun !

27. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@David,
    You are generous in your interpretation of what Grenville wrote.
    Thank you David. You may not have meant that as a compliment, but I am taking it in that light. I want to be generous and kind to each of my neighbours… it is easy to be generous toward those who agree with me, the more valid test of my character is whether I am generous to those with whom I disagree or who consider themselves to be my enemy.

28. Well…. if you ask for it, I will GENEROUSLY give it to you. The kick in the butt, that is.

But I judge each interaction as a seperate unit.

29. How many ways can you explain to thick headed dolts who have no understanding that they are stupid dogs barking up the wrong tree

The Law Way is Governments cannot be prosecuted for fucking up, breaking promises, wasting tax money, failing projects, poor and inadequate provisions of public services, selling people short etc etc. That’s what Governments do all the time.

Police Courts Judiciary are all branches of the Government tree working for the Government

Who would be arrested and charged, all 30 MPs in Parliament, Prime Minister, Public Sector Workers

All y’all tripping

30. @ PLT

Yes, there isn’t any right thinking individual who would disagree what you highlighted “constitutes prima facie evidence of fraud and warrants a criminal investigation.”

However, whether agree or not, the police cannot conduct an investigation simply by reading the AudG’s report. Plain and simple.

And, also bear in mind the possibility exists that, upon further investigation or when ‘tested’ in Court, the ‘evidence’ could be refuted.

Interestingly, according to the new Public Finance Management Act – 2019 75 (5):

“The Auditor-General may refer matters for consideration by the appropriate authorities including the Director of Public Prosecutions, Accountant-General, and the Police where the Auditor-General has made a decision that a referral is necessary.”

31. @Artax

The inference to be made from your last comment is that the AG has found no reason to refer any matters to date?

32. Donna June 29, 2021 10:03 AM #: “If there is such a provision for the Auditor General to make the referral to the Public Prosecutor, then would not the Auditor General be the one at fault here?”

As I ‘told’ PLT, according to the new Public Finance Management Act – 2019 75 (5):

“The Auditor-General may refer matters for consideration by the appropriate authorities including the Director of Public Prosecutions, Accountant-General, and the Police where the Auditor-General has made a decision that a referral is necessary.”

33. @ David

No, no, no. That was not my intention.

And, to be fair to Mr. Trotman, the Public Finance Management Bill 2019 was passed on January 15, 2019.

34. To all the sinister ministers of GoB you have been charged with gross incompetence and face a billion million years in jail with no bail .. what have you got to say in your defence?

I’m sorry..

I fucked up..

I didn’t mean it..

It was not my fault..
    I want my mummy wah!..

35. @Artax

Let us rephrase- as far as the AGs recent report he is within his authority given under the law to refer matters arising from his recent report?

36. Critical Analyzer Avatar

You all keep getting confused. An auditor’s sole responsibility is to conduct the audit they have been engaged to do, prepare accurate reports and present them to the people in charge. Nothing more, nothing less.

The problem is we want the auditor to do his job of preparing the report and also our jobs which is to action the contents of the report.

I am not interested in prosecuting the individuals benefiting from the schemes unless the case is a simple slam dunk case. That talk simply fuels the political fires.

I want to see the existing loopholes plugged and controls significantly strengthened with automatic penalties like immediate loss of pay, suspension or pension in extreme cases to prevent it from happening for the auditor to find in the first place.

37. @CA

We are letting public officers off the hook as usual?

38. NorthernObserver Avatar

@David 12.46
    Are you suggesting the AudG needs to add a section to their Report..”Matters sent to the DPP”? Lol
    I am wondering if because the Police in Barbados act as both prosecutor and investigators in minor cases, the role of the DPP and Police are confused?
    The DPP doesn’t need to be sent anything, the AudG Report is within the Public domain. The challenge is the hidden and confidential relationship between the DPP and the AttyG. You are aware of a flare up here in recent times.

39. @NO

He needs to fight back against the label that his office has no teeth if the law gives him room to do so.

40. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@David June 29, 2021 1:16 PM

Not at all. The possible loss of pay, suspension or pension deals with the public servant without involving the law courts unless they seek to fight the action taken.

Most of the practices might be shady and or bad accounting but are not criminal because of the loopholes in the system. The remedy cannot be put people is a law court as that is not a deterrent and amounts to a waste of time an money.

41. @NO

Are you hinting tha DLP appointed DPP is asleep at the switch?

42. @CA

Agreed.

43. A “series of unfortunate events” resulted in an American couple spending two extra days in quarantine, not being able to enjoy the island, missing their return flight home and each having to part with $1 000.

At the same time, Magistrate Elwood Watts has urged quarantine hotels to inform their guests that quarantine means in their rooms and not about the property.

Nicole Elizabeth Bonds, of the Bronx, and Alberto Luis Temple, of Brooklyn, both in New York, pleaded guilty yesterday to contravening Paragraph (25), Clause (a) of the Emergency Management (COVID-19) (Curfew) (No. 11) Directive 2021, in that they being people in quarantine at the Radisson Aquatica Resort Barbados, did leave the room in which they were quarantined without the consent of the Chief Medical Officer on June 24.

They were each fined $1 000 forthwith, which they paid

44. @Hants

The two are illiterate? They did not read the travel directive that would have been advised to them?

45. @ David,

Is there a directive that confines a tourist to their room during quarantine ? Do they get “room service ” for the two days ?

46. @ David June 29, 2021 1:38 PM
    “@NO

He needs to fight back against the label that his office has no teeth if the law gives him room to do so.”

Now you are getting to the meat of the matter which the erudite PLT highlighted earlier.

The DPP does NOT require any instruction or recommendation from any other officer of the Crown or any law enforcement agency for any investigation to be “instituted” into any assumed criminal activity (or any breaching of the laws of Barbados) other than those specified as requiring prior recommendation from the Attorney General (Sec. 79 A of the Bajan Constitution).

It is the hallmark of failing state if the laws of the land (the blood of democracy) are treated with such blatant disdain.

47. @Miller

The comment was directed at the AG.

48. @Hants

There is a reason the couple removed the red wristbands before leaving their room. Quarantine hotels provide room service, usually the trays are left outside the door.

49. Where is ISO 9001. Missing it!