Jesus said that a good tree cannot bear bad fruit, and a bad tree cannot bear good fruit.  He advised us to identify the type of tree by its fruit.

Our political parties invest in public relations for one purpose – to convince the public that their trees are good. Evidently, they are very convincing.

The Barbados Constitution protects one post from political interference.  That post is the Auditor General.  The Auditor General’s singular role is to examine the fruit of a political administration.  He then publishes a report every year, so that we may not be deceived by political public relations agents.

MISSING COOKIES.

Every year, the Auditor General informs Barbadians that new cookies are missing from the cookie jar.  He describes the trail of crumbs in a manner that allows the police to easily investigate, and prosecutors to easily prosecute, those with crumbs on their fingers and around their mouths.

Every year, the public looks to our police and prosecutors to validate the Auditor General’s report.  Every year, our police and prosecutors, by their non-action, inform the public that the Auditor General should not be trusted, and his annual report is a work of bad fiction that should not be read.

ROTTEN TREES.

When I first read an Auditor General’s report, I felt sick.  The implicit message was that the trees were rotten to the core.  However, our police and prosecutors signalled that it was all fake news – not worthy of any investigation.

The next year, the report revealed that more cookies were missing, and the trail of crumbs seemed credible.  Yet, our police and prosecutors signalled that we should move on – there was nothing to see there.

Eventually, the evidence seemed so overwhelming that the question just had to be asked.  Were our police and prosecutors cooperating with the public relations agents of the established political parties, or was it all an amazing coincidence?  Whatever the answer, something had to be done.

FAKE FRUIT.

On 1 July 2015, I planted Solutions Barbados so that Barbadians may enjoy good fruit.  We assembled 28 candidates who offered themselves to the public as a competent alternative.  As the 2018 General Election approached, the established parties did what they do best.

Every election, both established parties claim to have seen the light, and be miraculously converted to good trees.  Men and women of the cloth pronounce them clean and good in our Churches.  Amazingly, the public believes them every time, but are later disappointed when the advertised fruit is found to be fake.

POLITICIANS WILL BE POLITICIANS.

The recent Auditor General’s reports reveal that both established political parties’ public relations is an illusion – both trees are bad.  Our police and prosecutors predictably played their role of discounting the reports to perfection.  But it is the public’s general response that was amazing.

Supporters of the government claimed that the Auditor General is a D who is trying to embarrass the Government.  They claim that the police never investigating is proof that the Auditor General is lying.  They claim that politicians work hard to help us, so they deserve a little something – we should not muzzle the ox while it treads the corn – politicians will be politicians.

ROBBING HOOD.

Barbadians only believe the Auditor General, when he is investigating the activities of their political opponents.  They do not acknowledge that the missing cookies are their children’s inheritance.  They do not make the connection that the only reason why they pay VAT, land tax, and several other taxes, is to pay to replace some of the missing cookies.

It is this public acceptance and embracement of bad fruit, and the promotion of it as some kind of Robin Hood type virtue, that convinced me that I cannot give the people what they want.

PROSPERITY.

By this time, the public should have benefitted from at least: the abolition of VAT and land tax; no-interest mortgage loans from a new development bank; no taxes on non-processed whole foods; a new business in each willing household; upgraded houses to resist earthquakes and hurricanes; productive and efficient public services; PV units on each roof; and a rearranged secondary school curriculum to benefit all students.

After twice offering prosperity to the people, I retired from elective politics.  But I remained President of Solutions Barbados until our Annual General Meeting (AGM), which was held last week.

HONOURABLE PERSONS.

At our AGM, several of our members planned to offer themselves as Solutions Barbados candidates in the next general election.  This is highly commendable.  Solutions Barbados’ independently reviewed policies, were designed to allow Barbadians to escape the pay-check to pay-check poverty to which they have grown accustomed.  However, twice Barbadians rejected their prosperity in favour of the poverty they knew.

Unexpectedly, I was unanimously re-elected as President.  Mr Kenneth Lewis was elected as Vice President.  I do not plan to be a Candidate again.  However, as the one who invited the members to join Solutions Barbados, I am duty-bound to support them.

Let it be known that I support Solutions Barbados Candidates willingly and enthusiastically, because they want Barbadians to enjoy good fruit from a good tree.  These competent and honourable persons have consistently demonstrated that their motives for serving Barbados are good.

In the next General Election, the public should have another opportunity to vote for Solutions Barbados Candidates – in every constituency.

Grenville Phillips II is a Chartered Structural Engineer and President of Solutions Barbados. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

175 responses to “Difficult Conversations – Amazing Barbadians”

1. Peter:

We disagree on a few things. We want the best for Barbados and Barbadians, but disagree on how that should be done. We also disagree on what constitutes ‘best’. Nevertheless, through honest discussion, people of goodwill should converge towards some agreement. If the intention is to insult, and never engage in an honest discussion, there is unlikely to be any convergence.

On the matter in question, there is nothing in law preventing the Police from investigating the evidence in the Auditor General’s report. The only barrier appears to be fear, which is one of the most powerful demotivators – and explains why cookies go missing at will in Barbados.

Fear also prevents people with good ideas from honestly discussing their opinions. In that case, it is not fear of the authorities, but the reaction of bullies – you know them by their consistent contribution to a discussion – the insult.

Jesus said that love casts out fear – which is why I have no hesitation in discussing my opinions.

2. Then to repeat the police should be able to investigate the ICBL/ Donville Inniss matter.

Good!

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

No such hint intended.
    The DPP is not independent? If the AttyG believes the DPP is not doing their job, they can be replaced, a la Dr.Worrell.

4. @NO

The DPPs job is protected under the Constitution?

5. @ David June 29, 2021 2:59 PM

But the law does NOT invest the Auditor General with any prosecutorial powers.

He has done his job; and efficiently so.

He has laid his findings via reports in the legislative and executive laps of those parties for which the Constitution allows.

Did you see Trotman’s recommendations in regard to the ‘financial infelicities which took place at the BWA prior to May 2018?

6. The Office of “DPP” carries the same Constitutionally protected status as that of a High Court Judge.

The holder is, de jure, not a ‘creature’ of the AttyG but a loyal permanent servant of the Crown (and not the politically-elected administration) whose dismissal is not any cakewalk in the (Constitutional) park.

7. NorthernObserver Avatar

Aren’t both the DPP and the AudG appointed by the GG upon recommendation by the respective commissions.
    Aren’t they both revokable by the same procedure they were appointed.
    Another matter a Republic constitution could consider, term/reappointment clauses.

8. Would any of you guesstimate the time it would take to investigate a case of alleged corruption in Barbados ?

What about the ” backlog ”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2021/01/20/qc-govt-wants-urgent-action-plan-on-court-backlog/

9. @ Northern Observer June 29, 2021 4:30 PM
    “Another matter a Republic constitution could consider, term/reappointment clauses.”

Good point!

What about the CoP? Should similar consideration be given to that top job under the coming republic?

10. @NO

Have you every witnessed the GG appoint a Commission to revoke any appointments?

11. Critical Analyzer Avatar

The DPP, AG and all other similar positions appointed by the GG should be elected positions for which private campaign financing is prohibited and solely funded by an audited government grant, a 10 minute presentation and a one page newsletter with their proposal for the post.

12. PLT,

I have reread and come to the same conclusion.

13. The Auditor General’s report showed millions of dollars seem to have disappear yearly.

It would take 10 lawyers and about 25 staff to bring cases against who are found to be corrupt.

14. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Hants June 29, 2021 4:48 PM

That is why I said in an earlier comment, it is much better to focus on cleaning up the procedures to close the loopholes and do easy penalties like loss of pay, suspension and loss of pension for breaches. Objections to punishment can be handled by the Labour Department or some sort of independent tribunal.

Pursuing misappropriated money is a very difficult and costly exercise.

15. “On the matter in question, there is nothing in law preventing the Police from investigating the evidence in the Auditor General’s report”

check your facts and revert back with specifics
    what laws have been breached
    what are the charges that could and should be made
    what are the penalties in law
    who are the charges against
    the devil is in the detail

16. @ 555 dubstreet June 29, 2021 5:35 PM

That’s why there is a (British bequeathed) Police Force, an Office of the DPP and the judiciary to complement the effective functioning of a democracy and not to undergird the formation of a banana republic.

How come the same law enforcement agencies are quite capable of enforcing the laws against your herb-smoking brethren but not against white collar conmen financially backing both political parties?

17. Can anyone give examples of precedent where Courts have scrutinised Governments for acting illegally.
    If Grenville wants to hold Government to account he can try and file a case in Court as a member of public and see how far he gets.
    (n.b. courts will make summary assessments of costs depending on who wins.
    Losers can be liable for both sides costs and made bankrupt)

18. Allow the blogmaster to be clear- there is no issue with the suggestion for the police to investigate certain matters raised in the AG Report, the ask is to demonstrate how. Saying it or writing it does not add meaningful value.

19. Kammie Holder Avatar

@Grenville, sad to say but the police is more concerned about persons like you and I who speak out. Sadly, our police force like most public institutions has not escaped political influence. I bet they concentrate more on illegal wiretapping of outspoken persons communications than stopping the leak from the Treasury as shown in black and white by the Auditor Generals reports.

20. Condolences to the Mottley family.

21. I guess this is where you all retreat and allow “De Devil” a chance to recover! Does this make sense if she is really “De Devil”?

I guess it is not only Mick Jagger who has🎵 “Sympathy for the Devil”.🎶

Human beings are interesting and contradictory creatures.

Now, if I saw the devil down I would take delight in kicking the monster!

I would say things like, “Yuh feel only poor people haffa dead?”

And, “Yuh feel yuh mek yuhself, nuh!”

How about, “Wuh yuh tought you had de power?”

But instead, I expect you strange and contradictory creatures will decry my lack of sympathy for the devil!

Let the lectures begin!

🤦🏽‍♂️

22. Govt debt profile increases by 80million
    Govt takes over 80 million worth of debt of Needham’s Point Holdings Ltd
    The company that operates Hilton Barbados Hotel

23. “How come the same law enforcement agencies are quite capable of enforcing the laws against your herb-smoking brethren but not against white collar conmen financially backing both political parties?”

Come in the Light and Dub the Light
    Police will be watching this thread. Sounds like you are trying to incriminate I and I.
    For the record I was a righteous banker wearing a money laundering hat pon my head,
    them never know natty dreadlocks essential them never know natty dread have credential.

No one is insulting Grenville for being wrong again and when he is wrong he is really really wrong but he is a trier.
    It is a nuance of law that Government cannot be prosecuted and only corrected.
    It is not his fault he was unaware about this and naive enough to believe Police have powers to arrest politicians for doing wrong.

In the Light
    Horace Andy
    Listen to me carefully:
    When I was a little child
    I used to think Israel was in the sky
    I used to think Egypt was in the sky
    According to the teacher
    That I learned in school
    Oh how they used to teach I
    To turn a fool
    But now:
    I’m in the light I’m in the light
    And its shining bright
    They used to say rastaman is no good
    I know I used to run from him away
    He walked down the street
    But let me tell you people
    It’s the man who tell the truth
    Come in the light come in the light
    Cause its shining bright
    Come on you
    I didnt know my culture
    I didn’t know my foreparents were from Africa
    All the things they used to teach I
    Was about England, Canada and America
    But now
    And its shining bright
    Come on you
    I didnt know my culture
    I didn’t know my foreparents were from Africa
    All the things they used to teach I
    Was about England Canada and America
    But now
    I’m in Jah light I’m in Jah light
    And its shining bright
    Come in Jah light come in Jah light
    Come on you
    Come in Jah light come in Jah light
    Come on you
    I’m in the light I’m in Jah light
    And its shining bright

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sm9c-Vrh2Ko

24. Only in the USA Govt officials are prosecuted for wrong doing
    In Barbados wrong doing by govt officials are swept under the rug and time takes cares of such matters while masses forget

25. Spot on!

#MICHAELCARRINGTON

26. DavidJune 30, 2021 5:44 AM

Spot on!

#MICHAELCARRINGTON

Xxxxxx
    Rolling my eyes
    What does his case have to do with him mishandling or misuse of govt funds
    Tell me

27. You have to feel sorry for some of your politicians and officials, we just caught a guy on the polivce force named mohamed mohamed committing crimes …what chance do you have if you are named donville etc if you cant keep this guys hand out of the cookie jar .

28. Pass me the Lazer Beam and make me wipe out the wicked dem clean

Lazer Beam (Nuff Stylee)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZoA6DpXokyY

29. Government man is going to Hell
    I AM going to Zion

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=czJxxGR8TpM

30. Righteous Stand
    Many are called but only few will be chosen

31. In case you 555 have not noticed, we here are playing Sympathy for the Devil. Why don’t you post that for our listening pleasure?

32. By special request and popular demand here is a likkle tune called Symphony for the White Devil Incarnate in 500 years of Babylon King+Queendom Rule in Dominion

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_KuBIIKhb7g

33. Sympathy for the Cunt

34. You are a good DJ.

35. NorthernObserver Avatar

Your welcomed new interest in Debt, should cause you to go and study the financial reports for Needham’s. They were one entity which did produce semi-regular reports.
    As the former admin discovered late in their term, the value of Needham’s less it’s debt was ‘less than expected'(?). When you read the Reports note the Auditors comments on the value of the property, and the Boards refusal to adjust that downward, even in the face of independent valuations.
    Your inquiring investigative mind may also examine other debt?
    By the way after pontificating on Crime, or was that murder(?), I didn’t hear from you on Poverty, Unemployment or Stimulus.

36. @NO

Is Needam’s the entity the DLP candidate Williams for Bridgetown had a questionable dealing?

37. NorthernObserver Avatar

Henderson Williams had a role in Needham’s. Not sure exactly what it was

38. Ministers: We had to borrow more
    Marlon Madden

Article by Marlon Madden
    Published on
    June 30, 2021

Two ministers have stoutly defended the Mia Mottley administration’s level of borrowing in the current economic climate.

Minister in the Minister of Finance Ryan Straughn and Minister in the Ministry of Economic Affairs and Investment Marsha Caddle both dismissed concerns over government borrowing over the past year, saying it was absolutely necessary.

Speaking in Parliament on Tuesday to introduce the Needham’s Point Holdings Ltd. (Exchange and Issue of Bonds) Act, Straughn said the impact of the unexpected COVID-19 pandemic resulted in Government having to seek financial help over the past year.

“The amount of debt that we have had to undertake in the last year is as a result of COVID-19. And [I] want to place on record that it was not intended as part of this government to borrow the monies we had borrowed last year because those were not programmed into what we had initially planned to do,” said Straughn.

At the end of the last fiscal year in March, the public debt stock had notched up to $12.92 billion or 152.5 per cent of gross domestic product (GDP), compared to $12.38 billion or 117 per cent of GDP at the end of the previous fiscal year.

Straughn insisted that borrowing was necessary over the past year to continue to provide the level of services that were intended at the outset of the Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation programme, and to settle over $1.2 billion in arrears that the Mottley administration inherited in 2018.

“It is important in that context for Barbadians to appreciate that we simply cannot get out of the hole that the previous administration dug for all of us unless we are able to help finance and do some of the things that many Barbadians have been asking for, for a very long time,” said Straughn.

Stressing that the debt servicing cost was significantly low, at just around 1.1 per cent interest, Straughn said Government was able to take on the debt it did because it had already implemented key reforms.

He also gave an assurance that Government was meeting its arrears.

Caddle said Government’s access to loans over the past year was central to continue to build creditworthiness, while also stressing the low-interest rate at which Government was able to borrow at present.

“In the financial systems in which we operate both domestically and internationally, it is important to have an established creditworthiness, it is important to be able to be considered worthy of credit that people trust that you can so manage your affairs that if they take their money and put it in your hands they can expect to see it again,” she explained.

Adding that Government was borrowing from multilateral institutions and not on the capital market, Caddle explained that certain criteria had to be met including proof of policy commitments for the health of the economy or specific sectors.

Caddle said: “The majority of those loans are what we call policy-based loans. It means that the government is able to borrow at highly concessional terms – not at all burdensome to your macro-economic conditions so you have a low-interest rate, a long grace period without repaying, you have a long maturity – and that is how we can describe the majority of the new portfolio of policy-based lending that this Barbados Labour Party Government has gotten into.

“In fact, I dare say a big part of the reason we have the buffer that we have at about $2.6 billion in reserve, the highest ever, is because we have been able to borrow at concessional terms as well as having had some significant impact in recent months in the international business sector. This idea of ‘the reserves are propped up on borrowed funds’ – but at least there are reserves.”

She also pointed to investment loans, explaining that this was necessary to execute particular activities including a building out and improvement of roads, transportation, garbage, digital and other infrastructure.

“So it is good economic sense to be able to borrow at reasonable terms for major long-term infrastructure projects because they will then give you a return over an extended time that matches the maturity of the loan,” she said.

Adding that a lot of time and energy go into negotiating loan agreements, Caddle said “I make no apologies” for the borrowing.

She declared: “The work that my ministry is able to do is the reason that roads can be paved, is the reason that we can start working on mains replacement to mitigate all this leakage of water. Our responsibility is to make sure that we are in a position to repay the debt, but you can’t be in a position to repay the debt through growth if you don’t invest today in the things that are going to give you that growth.” (marlonmadden@barbadostoday.bb)

39. Rush to Sell Hilton: Benedict Peters???

Posted on by David189 comments

The two main political parties held national political meetings on the penultimate weekend BEFORE the May 24 General Election. After wading through much of the rhetoric and palaver three questions peaked the inquiring mind of the blogmaster. Hopefully they will be answered in the public interest BEFORE the general election. Why the haste to sell the Barbados Hilton hotel BEFORE

Read more

40. https://www.nationnews.com/2021/06/30/kothdiwala-questions-decision-host-cxc-exams-today/

This vicious arrogant disenfranchising entity CXC want people;s children to drown….paretnt have to move there children away from these criminals..

41. Borrowing is not the problem
    The problem lies with the inability to pay the debt
    This is the question which needs to be asked of govt
    How much and longer can govt continue to borrow

42. Govt did not approve of past govt sale of the Hilton
    The handing off of the Hilton debt to govt which eventually would be handed to the taxpayers is an economic tragedy of the worst kind

43. Who owns Needems Point?

44. William Skinner June 29, 2021 11:04 AM#: “The frigging politicians very corrupt and unless we get rid of the BLPDLP it may never stop.”

@ Mr. Skinner

That task may not be as easily achievable as you seem to believe.

The problem is, whenever a ‘new’ political party is formed in Barbados, you can be sure it will be comprised of disgruntled former members of the “BLPDLP.”

These ‘3rd parties’ usually contest and lose 1, 2 or 3 general elections, as was the case with the NDP, and their members would abandon them to either rejoined the DLP or joined the BLP.

The NDP, for example, consisted of several disgruntled former DLP politicians and after its demise, they either rejoined and ‘ran’ for the DLP in the 1999 general elections……. or joined the BLP.

Disgruntled former BEES were members of the UPP. PdP probably wouldn’t have been formed if Atherley was given a Ministry….. with another disgruntled BEE as one of its Senators.

Do you ever wonder how easily those guys were able to ‘integrate’ or ‘reintegrate’ into the ‘duopoly?’ When asked about ‘switching parties,’ the guys usually respond by saying they can identify with the programs and philosophy of the party they’re joining………. the SAME ‘programs and philosophy’ they previously OPPOSED.

I’ve always maintained there aren’t any fundamental political, ideological or philosophical differences between the BLP and DLP.

Interestingly, according to a U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Western Hemisphere Affairs, August 2000 report, “The three political parties — the Barbados Labor Party (BLP), the Democratic Labor Party (DLP), and the National Democratic Party (NDP) — are all moderate and have NO MAJOR IDEOLOGICAL DIFFERENCES; electoral contests and political disputes often have PERSONAL OVERTONES.”

What I also found interesting is, I’ve read contributions in which the authors expressed the view of ‘being able to think for themselves’ or ‘not drinking the kool-aid,’……. yet, they admitted to having voted for either the BLP or DLP………. and NOT the UPP, Solutions Barbados, or one of the other so called ‘third parties.’

I’m sure you remember ‘saying,’ “For a third party to progress it must denounce both the BLP and DLP with equal fervour. Any third party that attempts to gain only ground from one will lose that ground to the other. Both the DLP and BLP must be cast in one light.”

45. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    Point taken. That’s exactly why I said the teefing and corruption may never stop.

46. Artax,

What interests you about people who admit to voting for BLP or DLP and still believe that they can think for themselves?

47. @ Donna

Perhaps if you had read the specific paragraph in its entirety, you would’ve understood the point I was trying to make.

But, then again, as you know, I’m not one of BU’s ‘bright boys,’ so, the problem maybe how I express myself in writing.

48. William Skinner Avatar

@ Artax
    A little information:
    The members did not abandon the NDP ; the NDP actually abandon its members. I personally only discovered why and how this was done in recent times. I hope to expose it publicly in the fullness of time.
    Another piece of information for you: Most of the NDP’s who had real political ambition actually joined “ Owen” they never liked saying they joined the BLP.
    So in many ways although the NDP came out of the DLP, the major advantage went to the BLP at its demise.
    I can say personally that Owen Arthur reached out to a number of us to join the BLP. Two former NDPs : Rommel Marshall and Ian Gooding Edghill are prime examples.
    Anyway more will be revealed in the fullness of time.
    I really have no problem with your submission. Unfortunately we will all pay and are paying a high price for giving the BLPDLP total domination of our politics.
    The recent by- election(St. George) proved that even in almost total disarray, the DLP still remains head and shoulders above all the new “ third parties”. That alone shows you the dismal state of politics in the country.