Barbadians will vote on the 11 February 2026 to elect a new government – it will be the third time in eight years. One day a case study to examine the cost to taxpayers and how it contributed to election fatigue, voter apathy and cynicism should be commissioned.

Truth be told, many held high hopes in 2018, and in 2022, when the Mottley led Barbados Labour Party (BLP) received unprecedented mandates. We were promised that deep structural issues that have affected the economy would be addressed. The word transformation was the buzzword and included in the IMF program BERT – Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation, a. program designed to prepare the wicket for “growth and transformation”.

Disappointingly we have not had enough serious discussion about the economy on the political campaign. Just the usual corn beef theatrics. Although we agree that BERT did what it was intended, to stabilise the economy, the focus must be on addressing the fault lines in the economy so that we can sustain a reasonable quality of life for future generations of Barbadians.

The reality is that Barbados debt obligation remains high relative to our peers, and post BERT, we must manage our finances with care to avoid a return to the IMF. It begs the questions: have we been able to address financial inefficiency at state owned enterprises (SOEs). Many years ago hotelier Adrian Loveridge identified that our tourism product was tired, Are we satisfied that we have focused sufficiently on modernising the sector? What about improving national productivity, fixing the chaotic transportation should be a priority? By the way flyovers will not solve the problem. What about the perennial concerns of the Auditor General’s office? The tardiness to appoint an Auditor General and a lack of support that office has received, questions government’s resolve to address financial management in the public sector.

Approximately $598.6 million will be required to service existing debt obligations for the period December 2025 to March 2026, including $263.3 million for interest expense, $304 million for amortisation, $3 million for loan expenses and $28.2 million for Sinking Fund contributions,” the report stated.

Budgeted amount

“This is approximately $110.3 million less than the budgeted amount for the period and is attributable primarily to the liability management operation conducted in June 2025, which involved the repurchase of approximately US$340.4 million of the Government’s 2029 6.5 per cent Note and the issuance of a new US$500 million 2035 eight per cent Note.

To be fair, the country has made slight progress in recent years, however, there is an urgent need to step on the gas to create a competitive economy. One that is not over dependent on tourism. One area that needs to be of greater focus is private and public sector harmonisation. Barbados, despite the political rhetoric, is a public sector driven economy with a parasitic private sector in tow. Ironically, it means this means there will be continuing demand on the treasury to finance a deficit. What has become of the vaunted social partnership?

Given government’s track record of poor financial management, the blogmaster retains a gloomy outlook for Barbados. A public sector led government is a luxury Barbados cannot afford any longer.

#socialpartnership

26 responses to “Barbados cannot afford to be public sector driven”

1. Well, generally agree!

This regime deserves an “F”. That it has an even or better chance to remain in office also speaks volumes.

Deeper yet, this regime has joined the hall of infamy occupied by others over the last 40 years by failing to stand up significant additional Industries. This must be the key matric in its assessment.

What it has done very well is to maximize on the manipulations of financial economy widely practiced by its international interlocketers. In doing so, the regime has become an expert in borrowing as the principle means of generating inflows and continuously recycling debt to keep the country on life support forever it hopes, in the ICU if you will.

All such regimes ever to have existed collapsed sooner or later. Another truism is that no amount of independent monitoring by citizens or any Auditor General, or Contractor General, or opposition parties, singly or severally, are frameworks able to constrain any belligerent leader of an elected dictatorship within the current system.

As a result, instead of extending the life of the nation, the current regime has been very successful in foreclosing the best of any possible futures by making the job of those likely to come thereafter infinitely more problematic. These negative indicators are already showing up all over the country.

May Bushie’s Boss Man be wid us all!

2. One would of thought that important issues like these would of been discussed on the platforms by those seeking election in the opposition. Instead it was all about music and what this and that body do.

Then again maybe that matters more to our voters than the financial position of our country who knows. There seems to be little interest by our people in financial matters like these anyhow. If you post a topic like this you are lucky to get a handful of comments, but post one about who tief some money and be Christ dem filling the page with comments.

3. Also with all the meetings did you hear any individual speaker regardless of party, outline in detail a financial plan for refinancing the crippled NISSS fund or the urgency for audited financials?

God blyma but all of wunna want my vote? wait pun it! If Wunna think I is a political Parro or faithful fowl wunna dead wrong.

SUBSTANCE OR SILENCE PLEASE

4. WHAT A TITLE GIVEN TO A FISCAL NIGHTMARE IN THE MAKING WHERE IF A SUDDEN SEISMIC SHOCK TO THE GLOBAL MARKET SEND THE US DOLLAR INTO A TAILSPIN THE REPURCUSSION TO THE BARBADOS ECONOMY WOULD BE CATASTROPHIC

The information provided in this piece is highly relevant for understanding Barbados’s “FISCAL PRESSURES”, especially as it coincides with the lead-up to & the immediate aftermath of the February 11, 2026, GE – this will create a significant political-economic nexus!!!

The IMPLICATIONS” & “CONTEXT” of this US$598.6 million requirement is troubling to say the least & a downright “CAUTIONARY TALE” of fiscal seismology, in the event that the world “eCONomy GOES TO HELL IN A PANCART* IN 2026!!!

#HeresMy5CentsArgument

The #FiscalContext is a “DIRGE” – a “DEBT CLIFF” & to boot in an (s)ELECTION CYCLE”. where the scale of some US$598.6 million in [4] months is a substantial sum of “DOSH” for any economy, the like of Barbados’s size, with a (“NOMINAL GDP” ~$6 Billion). This represents a significant outflow of FX based on fiscal resources!!!

The “TIMING” is also bad, given the quarterly period (Dec 2025 – Mar 2026), perfectly straddling the election which means that the incumbent “MOTTLEY-CREW GOV” will have to manage the 1ST PAYMENTS”, (Dec/Jan) in the final, highly sensitive weeks of the campaign!!!

CAN THE FINANCIAL PUNDITS TELL US IF THERE A VAULT IN HARRISON’S CAVE WE KNOW NOTHING OF???

Whoever is the new or returning GOV* will immediately face a “MAJOR FISCAL TEST” within its first 30 – 60 days in office, come (Feb/Mar/Apr)…

The composition split is telling given the “AMORTIZATION” (US$304M) to be “REPAYED” as the principal. This is “NON-NEGOTIABE” & tied to specific “BOND MATURITIES” and/or loan “REPAYMENTS” schedules.

The “INTEREST” (US$263.3M) is the cost of “CARRYING THE DEBT”. This is a recurring “BURDEN” that reflects the country’s “CREDITWORTHINESS” & existing “DEBT AGREEMENTS” – a “MILLSTONE” around the necks of Bajans!!!

The “SINKING FUND” (US$28.2M) is the only positive “SIGN” of necessary proactive “DEBT MANAGEMENT” – as these #SinkingFunds are set aside 2 ensure future principal repayments, a practice encouraged by IMF creditors et al …

Barbados’s “CREDIT CARD DEBT” originated largely as a result of its 2018 – 2019 “SOVEREIGN DEBT RESTRUCTURING” & subsequent “IMF EXTENDED FUND FACILITY (EFF) program, that exacerbated the fiscal position of the “MOTTLEY-CREW GOV*”!!!

What many overlook, is the fact that a significant portion of the amortization is likely payments on the “RESTRUCTURED COMMERCIAL DEBT” (#Eurobonds) issued after the 2018 restructuring program – where these “BONDS” had a “MATURITY CLIFF” that was pushed into future payments in 2026 (NOW), as a key test!!!

Therefore, the ongoing “MULTILATERAL & BILATERAL DEBT” repayments to pariahs like the IMF, World Bank, Inter-American Development Bank (IDB), & bilateral partners (like China, & CDB) cannot be side-stepped, overlooked or kicked into the long grass!!!

THE OTHER ALBATROSS HANGING AROUND THE NECKS OF 280,000 BAJANS IS THE ISSUE OF DOMESTIC DEBT

Local #DomesticDebt is held in “BAJN DOLLARS” (BBD), & if it is to be serviced effectively, it “MUST” requires fiscal revenue from some source (UNLESS YOU ARE THE US OR UK) , where you “PRINT MONEY” out of #ThinAir!!!

As a result, the political & economic implications for the #2026BarbadosElection will be eventually disclosed. A central campaign “PLANK” by the opposition parties will be the “MULTIMILLION DOLLAR DEBT MANAGEMENT PROCESS”, where “AUSTERITY vs. SPENDING”, & “ECONOMIC SOVEREIGNTY”, should be amongst the “TOP-TIER” issues in the final days of the campaign. Opposition parties MUST* critique the “DEBT BURDEN”, while the incumbent GOV* will “SPIN” the successful restructuring & return to what they like to call -#Stability!!!

THE PATIENT IS **STABLE** EVEN THOUGH THERE ARE LIFE-THREATENING INJURIES

So with limited “FISCAL HEADROOM” (to quote #RachelFromAccounts) – “UK CHANCELLOR OF THE EXCHEQUER”, the need to find “CASH”, #North of ~US$600M for “DEBT SERVICING” severely constrains “ANY” party’s ability to promise “MAJOR NEW SPENDING”, “TAX CUTS”, and/or “EXPANSIVE SOCIAL PROGRAMS”, without a clear & credible financing plan. It is left up to those now on the “CAMPAIGN TRAIL” to monitor the “FALSE PROMISES” – by scrutinizing them for fiscal responsibility!!!

The “MOTTLEY-CREW GOV*” knows that “IMF CREDITORS”, “BONDHOLDERS, & “RATING AGENCIES” will be watching the election closely – for any policy platform that is perceived as “THREATENING FISCAL DISCIPLINE” and/or “DEBT REPAYMENT” that could “TRIGGER MARKET ANXIETY”, or complicate “FUTURE BORROWING”!!!

HERE’S A REALITY CHECK FOR THE INCOMING GOV*

Whoever the winning party is on the evening of 11th FEB*, will have no “GRACE PERIOD”, as its “1ST” major governing act will be to ensure these payments are made on time to maintain hard-won credibility with international financial markets!!!

#ForTheRecord

The fiscal & monetary path for Barbados in the management of “BUDGETARY ALLOCATION (usually presented in March) must clearly allocate these funds which will be a 1ST* major Parliamentary battle for 2026!!!

As usual, the GOV* will be relying on “TOURISM-DRIVEN V.A.T” & other tax revenue generation measures to meet the demands of the “BALANCE SHEET MODELS”!!!

Along with the continued compliance with IMF targets to maintain access to affordable multilateral financing – this must remains sacrosanct; with further potential “ASSET” sales and/or public-private partnerships “INVESTMENT” agreements to offset needed growth in what ever manner it comes!!!

Along with “REFINANCING/ROLLOVER RISK” much of the amortization will involve taking on “NEW LOANS 2 PAY OFF OLD LOANS”. The cost of doing this will depend heavily on “GLOBAL INTEREST RATES” (BoE having kept rates this morning @3%), & “INVESTOR CONFIDENCE IN BARBADOS” (post-election)!!!

I said to my “BELOVED CUZ” yesterday on a #WhatsAppCall that Barbados is in a “WATERSHED MOMENT” – a “DEFINING MOMENT” in the nation’s history, given the US$598.6 MILLION* DEBT SERVICING” window is more than a “LINE ITEM”; it is a “STRESS TEST” for Barbados’s “POST RESTRUCTURING ECONOMIC MODEL” & its “CHAOTIC, ONE-SIDED” #PoLIEticalSystem!!!

Any difficulty or “DRAMA” around these payments could unsettle markets, weaken the #Barbados$$$ (BBD pegged to USD), & force a return to “STRICTER AUSTERITY” that would “SKYROCKET PRICES”, creating “DEEPER HARDSHIPS” & the spinoff effects on “CRIME, VIOLENCE & all the other “MADNESS”!!!

February 11th 2026 elections, therefore, is not just about “PARTIES & PERSONALITITES”, but about which “TEAM” the Bajan electorate trusts to “WALK” this precise “FISCAL TIGHTROPE”, while addressing the population’s needs for “GROWTH”, “JOBS”, & “PUBLIC SERVICES”.

The debt numbers cited will be the concrete expression of the “ECONOMIC INHERITANCE” that will define the next administration’s term…

GOOD LUCK TO WHOEVER HAS TO NAVIGATE THIS MINEFIELD – YOU’RE GONNA’ NEED IT

#HereEndsTodayMonetaryPictureLecture

5. NorthernObserver Avatar

BU goes on about the “over dependence” on tourism, yet if you have a cow, drink milk and make butter. It is similarly amazing to see the number of places, who rely on the tourist trade, and its importance, even if they have larger “other” industries and sources of Revenue. They may not be dubbed a tourist destination, but a massive portion of revenues comes from visitors.
    At the moment, tourism is strong. Aided by Trump’s antics, which has travellers avoiding the USA, both for travel and personal investment. And the extension of the “tourist season” is working. Tax rates rose, across a number of categories and are being collected (it appears), so public revenue growth is strong. This means the island can currently afford it’s debt servicing.
    It would be “nice” to have a back up revenue engine, which isn’t the offshore sector, though that can provide revenue and great jobs for those who are qualified.
    I’m constantly amused how the current administration touts laws and their compliance, while elsewhere they flout identical laws with seemingly reckless abandon. They choose compliance.
    BU has confirmed Bajans are not particularly interested in economic/financial matters. Something the politicians obviously know well. So it has been exploited.
    Similar to tourism, is the current political situation. It’s a one horse show, so ride it the best you can.

6. @ Northern

My concern is we are not diversifying or even piggy backing on tourism with agriculture. We have to feed our people and visitors, it would be nice if it was not on imported lettuce and tomatoes just to mention 2 items. We have the market and we have the climate, but unfortunately we also have an industry of crop thieves that when caught, get a slap on the wrist. Make it a mandatory jail sentence for those stealing ALL crops and let’s send a message to both the growers and thieves.

7. @John A

That was the ‘talk’ to justify the concessions when Sandals entered Barbados.

#talk

8. Life sciences, knowledge sector and an improved and further diversified tourism sector for sure. Renewable energy is key and the construction and completion of battery storage will be key.

9. Importing lettuce is pathetic. Easiest thing to grow. People should grow their own lettuce and herbs. Mine are all growing in pots in the verandah. I’m going to have to give some of them away. Save your rainwater and that’s all you need.

10. @ Donna

You are so right. I buy lettuce from a lady now for years, we speak about everything and one day she told me this. She said my house built by lettuce, my children was educated off of lettuce and the vehicle I drive bought and paid for by lettuce. It is not like she has 20 acres either that this came from. She is one hard working dedicated human being let me tell you!

11. Enuff

You still with that dated meme about storage!

That is a problem yet to be properly solved. Solar and the rest cannot be the backbone of the efficient energy solutions for a country.

Time to think about nuclear and thorium.

12. Pachamama

A problem where? Are you mad?

13. @ Enuf

Wait on this said blog rougly 2 or more years ago you told me your government would “soon” be rolling out a large greenhouse project for rental by small farmers. What ever happened with that project? I mean I know SOON in politics could be anytime from tomorrow to 2050, but still what happen wid it?

14. The DLP late again today, per usual!

15. Enuff

Yes, Pacha maybe mad, but not foolish! LoL

Show us one country where solar is the backbone of the energy grid.

At best solar is a supplementary source.

Think, if everybody in Barbados turned their roof into collection units, how could that be stored to be used at high demand periods and as back up.

And we’re at batteries. Here is where we have a problem.

16. Five murders already. We have to see if the DLP could make this case.

At least the murderers are pulling their weight. Helping the Dems!

Or maybe, there are “silent killers” about as a político once said.

17. Pacha
    “The DLP late again today, per usual!”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Not as late as the BLP wid the promised ‘HOPE’ report…
    …and Bushie ain’t wasting his vote on the Friends of Blackett,
    So the DLP’s donkey still out front…

@ Enuff
    “Life sciences, knowledge sector and an improved and further diversified tourism sector for sure. Renewable energy is key and the construction and completion of battery storage will be key.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Goobly goop!!

Typical political shiite talk with ZERO real meaning – ESPECIALLY on your part.

Life sciences shiite!! – Biology etc? How does that help? What does it even MEAN?

Knowledge sector? …Wunna CANNOT even sort out the damn 11 Plus…

Further diversified tourism? Yuh mean shut down the damn local Airbnb operators so that the FOREIGN owned hotels etc can make ALL the profits?

Don’t talk about renewable energy – wunna put that back to 2040 yet…?
    Cause between changing ministers, permanent secretaries, staff, FTC directors, and the damn electricity Act, wunna seem to be playing Russian roulette wid energy.

The battery storage solution is the biggest joke so far – this is simply a move to put EVEN MORE money into the hands of the Canadian owners of the electric company.

Wunna CLEARLY have NO clue about how to make things work.
    All the lotta highly paid hands cannot make one shiite work…

Wanna know why?
    Except the LORD build the house, they labour in vain that build it:
    except the LORD keep the city, the watchman waketh but in vain.

18. Bushie

Yuh right as shiiite. Maybe on the tardiness of the BLP too!

But it’s hard to watch them telling lies all night, the Bees. At lest the Dems are trying to win a government with theirs backs against the wall. While the Bees gine only be telling lies – they have no choice but to, tuh retain powah.

But uh see tonight the DLP only got 4 people, a dog, a cat and a RAT at Montgomery Pasture.

19. Pachamama – I repeat, are you mad?

JohnA – Read star, read!

Bushtea – Hush yuh ass do. Sometimes it’s best to keep quiet. Your response tells me you haven’t a clue what you’re talking bout. What you think BiomedX that just launched in Bim or Bdos Pharm Inc are about? Do you understand data centres? I always have to keep laughing at the BUI.

20. @ Enuff
    “Bushtea – Hush yuh ass do.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Ha Ha Ha !!!
    Don’t forget Bob Marley’s Bad Card response on Bushie’s behalf…
    “You ah go tired fe see Bushie
    Yuh can’t get him outta de race…”
    you said he’s in your place
    ….And then you draw bad card”

Yuh should have NEVER drawn bad card….

Bushie is willing to BET that if disclosure of your ‘BiomedX and Bdos Pharm Inc’ are EVER made public, the Auditor General (if we had one) would get a heart attack.

Every shiite that wunna have done, has been like the Radical vaccine scam – some UNDERHANDED scheme designed to enrich the already wealthy – with some pieces of silver directed in certain places – like Jordans.
    If THAT is the best that you can come up with, then you SHOULD advise the PM to keep AT LEAST one of the solemn PROMISES that she made in 2022… that this was to be her LAST term…

But keeping THAT promise would spoil her otherwise tarnished record of promises kept…. won’t it?

Luckily for you, Bajans are hopelessly mendicant (due to lack of EDUCATION and an abundance of eddykashun) and will be comforted by a NEW SERIES of false promises of largesse from your mafia outfit.
    After all … Promises are comforting to certain types…
    …but NOT to stinking bushmen doh!!

BUT WAIT!!!
    Bushie thought that you said that NOBODY takes BU seriously
    and that what we say here is of no import…
    You sounding very PANICKY of late…

Bout here TOO sweet!

21. Story is that Uber in Barbados, is RUN using Uber software, but is actually operated by a few white shadows.

22. Bushtea

Your usual response–a red herring. Loud and wrong. And RAT’s promise was to represent the ChCh South people and he disappeared without notice, yet you here batting for him. Hypocrite!

23. The price of transformation

ONE OF THE most consequential silences in the Barbados Labour Party’s 2026 manifesto is not rhetorical, ideological or even fiscal. It is institutional.

The Economic Diversification and Growth Fund (EDGF) – once presented as a cornerstone of postcrisis transformation – does not appear at all. That omission matters even more when read alongside the manifesto’s central framing device: BERT (Barbados Economic Recovery and Transformation) 3.

BERT 3 is marketed as the moment Barbados moves from survival to competitiveness, from fiscal repair to productivity, from stabilisation to transformation. Yet transformation without a named diversification instrument raises an uncomfortable question: what exactly is BERT 3 transforming and through what machinery?

By the Government’s own telling, BERT 3 is about growth, competitiveness and diversification. But growth does not occur by administrative reform alone. At some point, capital must be deployed, risk must be absorbed and losses must be tolerated. That is precisely the space the EDGF was meant to occupy.

Its disappearance suggests three things – none of which sit comfortably with the ambition of BERT 3.

The first possibility is repackaging. The EDGF may have been rhetorically subsumed into newer concepts: GIGA zones, industrial platforms, ecosystem development. If so, this is a communications choice – a decision to refresh the story rather than foreground an older, if recent, institution. If the Fund remains central, voters deserve to know how it fits into the new phase. Silence weakens continuity and accountability, especially when BERT itself is being re-branded rather than retired.

The second interpretation is more consequential: that BERT 3 signals a quiet retreat from state-led capital deployment.

Under this reading, the government is shifting away from funds and financing instruments toward a “platform state” model – one that focuses on facilitation, digitalisation, logistics reform and crowdingin private investment.

The state becomes an enabler, not an investor.

There is logic here.

Funds are politically exposed. They invite accusations of picking winners, they demand investment expertise and they require tolerance for failure. But the trade-off is stark.

Private capital in small, tourism-dependent economies does not naturally finance diversification. Without some form of public risksharing, BERT 3 risks becoming a productivity narrative without a growth engine.

Public scepticism

The third interpretation is the most troubling: discomfort. The EDGF faced governance challenges and appeared to generate public scepticism. If this is the case, its omission reflects not strategy but avoidance. Yet this is precisely the moment when a full-throated exposition should have been forthcoming. The answer was not to pretend it never existed. Taken together, the EDGF omission reveals a deeper fragility in the BERT 3 story. The Government wants to speak confidently about transformation while avoiding the hardest part of that conversation: who bears the risk of diversification in Barbados?

This question becomes even more pointed when set against the broader electoral landscape. As of the writing of this column, the Democratic Labour Party has yet to release a manifesto – despite an election only days away. By the time this column appears, it will have. But the delay itself is revealing.

Elections are about choices. A late manifesto compresses scrutiny, limits comparison and turns democratic judgment into a lastminute exercise in trust rather than evaluation.

Against that backdrop, the Friends of Democracy has released a policy-dense manifesto that leans into specifics – on energy, governance reform, public accountability and economic restructuring.

Whether one agrees with its proposals is beside the point. What matters is that it has chosen to treat voters as adults capable of engaging detail, tradeoffs and institutional design.

This election should have been a contest of economic futures.

Instead, it risks becoming a choice between managerial reassurance and political absence.

The governing party speaks confidently of BERT 3 yet leaves its diversification machinery unmentioned. The main opposition arrives late to the debate, compressing scrutiny and limiting comparison. A smaller party offers policy density without the scale to convert detail into power.

That is not a healthy equilibrium for a post-crisis democracy.

Barbados no longer needs arguments about who rescued the economy. It needs an honest reckoning with how the country will grow – who will bear diversification risk, which institutions will carry it and what tradeoffs will be faced openly rather than deferred.

When manifestos retreat into silence or timing becomes a strategy, democratic choice is narrowed.

Voters are not being asked to choose direction so much as disposition: confidence versus caution, narrative versus architecture. The danger is not that Barbados will choose the wrong path.

It is that, once again, it is being asked to choose without being shown the full map.

Professor Troy Lorde is an economist and Dean of the Faculty of Social Sciences at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus.

24. Borrowing up $469m

by SHAWN CUMBERBATCH

shawncumberbatch@nationnews.com

BUSINESSES AND HOUSEHOLDS are borrowing money from financial institutions in a way they have not done since 2013.

New credit to these customers increased by approximately $469 million last year, Central Bank of Barbados and Financial Services Commission data confirms, as overall loans outstanding to the non-financial private sector, which includes families and companies, climbed to an overall $9.42 billion at the end of 2025.

All of this occurred as Barbadians also repaid their loans, driving down non-performing loans to levels not recorded since June 2009, while people continued to save money.

Central Bank Governor Dr The Most Honourable Kevin Greenidge addressed these issues during his January 28 review of the economy’s 2025 performance.

“The credit also into the non-financial private sector expanded by 5.2 per cent, this is the fastest pace expansion we’ve had since 2013 and that reflects both strong demand by household and businesses,” he reported.

“On the household sector, they borrowed an additional $231.9 million, a 3.6 per cent increase, and that is really in the area of mortgages and consumer lending.

“On the business side, collectively businesses borrowed about $236 million, about a 9.2 per cent increase, and that is really in the hotel and food sector, in real estate and professional service and also in manufacturing.”

The Central Bank boss noted, in the financial sector developments section of the economic review, that “credit expansion covered both households and major industries and reflected a combination of favourable macroeconomic conditions, credit promotions, and sustained willingness by banks to lend”.

Survey findings

This information is based on the findings of the Quarterly Survey of Banks’ Lending Conditions which is issued to the six commercial banks.

The report’s overall assessment was that “financial sector conditions remained sound in 2025 as credit expanded, asset quality improved, and institutions maintained strong buffers”.

“Deposit-taking institutions recorded solid growth in private sector lending with continued improvements in credit quality. Liquidity eased as lending expanded, but ratios remained elevated, while profitability held broadly steady and capital buffers remained well above regulatory requirements,” Greenidge stated.

The economic review shared by the Governor also showed that credit quality “improved further at banks and finance companies in 2025, driven mainly by stronger household repayment”.

“Non-performing loan ratios declined by 0.5 percentage points for banks and by 2.7 percentage points for finance companies,” he said.

“By December 2025, banks and finance companies collectively reduced total stocks of non-performing loans by 9.8 per cent, improving on the 8.6 per cent reduction recorded in the previous year. More than 90 per cent of the decline in impaired loans came from the household sector.”

In addition, deposit growth continued, led by foreign currency balances, while domestic currency deposits increased at a slower pace.

“By December 2025, foreign currency deposits grew by 12.2 per cent, particularly in the real estate and other professional services and construction sectors,” Greenidge said. “Domestic currency deposits increased by 1.8 per cent, with lower balances held by public financial institutions, real estate and other professional services, and wholesale and retail trade contributing to the slower growth.”

The Central Bank’s numbers show that total deposits were $16.2 billion at the end of last year, up from $15.8 billion at the conclusion of 2024.

Domestic currency deposits were $14.79 billion at the end of December, up from $14.53 billion at the end of the same period in 2024.

Foreign currency deposits at year-end were $1.42 billion, up from $1.27 billion at the end of December 2024.

Greenidge also said that “despite the increased lending, financial system liquidity indicators remained elevated”.

“The total excess domestic cash ratio fell from 20.7 per cent to 19.1 per cent, consistent with the overall easing in system liquidity. However, both banks and finance companies maintained ample liquid assets,” he said in the economic review.

“The liquid asset ratio increased by 0.2 percentage points to 28.9 per cent for banks, while the ratio for finance companies declined by one percentage point to 13.5 per cent due to faster asset growth.”

Financial institutions also remained well capitalised.

“Capital buffers remained well above regulatory benchmarks and profitability held broadly steady. Banks and finance companies recorded capital adequacy ratios of 19.4 per cent and 19.7 per cent, respectively,” Greenidge said.

“Higher operational expenses partly offset gains in net interest income and other non-interest income, leaving overall profitability broadly unchanged.”

25. Economy growing but households challenged

ON JANUARY 28, the Central Bank published its annual economic review. The economy grew 2.7 per cent in 2025. Inflation fell to 0.7 per cent.

Unemployment dropped to 6.6 per cent. Reserves hit $3.2 billion. These are numbers any finance minister in the Caribbean would envy.

But not every household shares in that growth. In May 2025, the Barbados Consumer Empowerment Network said many families are “still struggling to meet basic needs”, facing rising food and transport costs that outpace their earnings. The economy can grow while household budgets shrink. How can a family tell if it is better off, regardless of what the headlines say?

The answer began in 1944, when these metrics were first designed. They were built to answer one question: Is this country safe for creditors? They were never meant to answer the question: Are households financially secure?

This article is not a criticism of our Central Bank, which reports rigorously on what it is mandated to measure. It is an observation about what these numbers measure and what they miss.

Most economic statistics are ratios.

A ratio can improve in two ways: the top number rises, or the bottom number falls.

But if the bottom number falls, things can look better even if nothing actually improves. Take unemployment. If discouraged workers stop searching for jobs, they leave the labour force altogether. They are not counted at all, so they are no longer counted as unemployed.

Households spend differently

The rate falls, but the same number of people remain unemployed. When people start looking again, unemployment rises, even if more jobs exist. The unemployment rate may change, but many individuals’ actual situation may remain unchanged.

Inflation works differently. The official rate is a weighted average, but households spend differently. A family that spends most of its income on rent, food, electricity, and transport may face inflation far above the official rate. A family that owns its home or grows some of its food may face less.

Only household spending can reveal the difference.

Which raises a practical question: how does a family measure its progress?

Take a worker earning a typical middle-income salary of around $2 800 per month. Those earning less face even tighter margins. This worker’s pay increased by 12 per cent. Essentials rose 29 per cent. The buffer, which covers savings or unexpected costs, fell from $770 to $560. GDP does not capture this. The worker feels it.

Tracking it requires only a notebook. Start by calculating what share of income goes to essentials: rent or mortgage, utilities, food, and transport. In the example, this share climbed from 69 per cent to 80 per cent over five years. If it is rising, the household is losing ground, regardless of what the official inflation rate says.

If the share is falling, the household is increasing its margin. Track it monthly.

If the share is climbing, identify which essential is growing fastest. Can the household negotiate rent, switch utility providers, or reduce transport costs? Small adjustments compound.

The money left after essentials is a buffer against the unexpected: a car repair, a medical bill, or an opportunity. If this number is shrinking while income holds steady, the economy may be growing, but the household is not. And if a family has managed to trim costs or boost income, this number tells them that too. It is an early warning system and a scorecard.

For households carrying significant debt, add a third measure: the debt service burden. What share of income goes to loan and credit card payments? Financial advisors suggest keeping this statistic below 20 per cent. If it is higher or rising, address it before it leaves no room for anything else.

At the national level, similar tools exist.

Countries can track material hardship, meaning how many households cannot afford adequate food, housing, or healthcare. They can monitor the share of income going to essentials, household savings rates, and financial vulnerability. Some have begun doing exactly this.

Some countries have begun asking whether economic growth is reaching households. In 2019, New Zealand introduced its Wellbeing Budget, tracking child poverty, housing affordability, and whether families can afford essentials like food, heating, and clothing.

Closer to home, the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean has urged Caribbean governments to develop better poverty metrics that track what actually happens in households.

Unable to afford necessities

GDP showed success throughout. But the well-being metrics revealed that one in eight children lived in households unable to afford necessities, providing policymakers with a specific target. Between 2018 and 2021, roughly 25 000 children were lifted out of material hardship.

Wellbeing budgets do not solve everything.

New Zealand’s progress reversed after 2022 as cost-of-living pressures mounted. However, they unearthed a crucial insight: what is quantifiable becomes visible. And this concept applies to households as much as it does to governments.

National statistics serve their purpose. They tell governments and investors whether the broad economy is stable.

But they were never designed to tell a household whether it is gaining or losing ground.

Only the household can answer that question, and only if it tracks the numbers.

Any family can try it this week. Sit down with the last few months of bills and bank statements.

Calculate the share going to essentials. Write it down. Do it again next month and the month after. If the statistics say the economy is growing, but that share keeps climbing, the struggle is real.

And if a household has managed to build a little margin despite everything, that progress is worth recording.

Dr Ankie Scott-Joseph, a lecturer at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus, is an economist and public debt management specialist.
    Email: ankie.scott-joseph@cavehill.uwi.edu