The Coronavirus (COVID-19) continues to soak up the resources for both under developed and developed countries. At the time of posting this blog the global medical community has been unable to inform about a vaccine. The blogmaster read the perspective of a leading Australian virologist recently where she opined that the world will have to live with the virus, in fact it will become as accepted as the Flu.

The disruption caused by COVID-19 will impact service based economies like Barbados and others in the reason where it hurts, in the breadbasket. One could rehash old arguments about the folly of putting all our eggs in one basket. If we are to work hard to move from the unsustainable position we find ourselves, we have to do more to shift our over reliance on tourism. Government’s current investment pipeline has signaled there are no immediate or medium term plans to modify the economic engines firing the economy.

If there ever was an opportunity to message our leaders there is an urgent need to reorder how we do business, it is now.

COVID-19
Since this news alert Italy is virtually on lock down. Thanks John A for always feeding the blogmaster with important information.

The local authorities based on public announcements and news coverage have been rolling out awareness campaigns, bumping up screening at ports of entry, building health infrastructure and leading discussions at the regional level to ensure a regional COVID-19 approach. Given the pandemic nature of COVID-19, it seems a matter of time before Barbados reports its first case. The biggest challenge for Barbados and service based economies is the fatalistic impact disruptions to global supply chains will bring.

#lordhearourprayer

951 responses to “Coronavirus (COVID-19) Virus Exposes Service Based Countries”

1. I hope we all use common sense in dealing with this pandemic.

Gather as much credible information as you can and protect yourselves as much as you can.

I am in the so called “high risk” category. 68 years old with asthma and other ailments.

2. Let’s see now how trump will view in transit passengers from Europe going through US airport via intransit lounges on to other countries now.

Devil in the details here.

3. Will the PM revise her statements to reflect the impending covid 19 crisis ?

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/03/12/work-to-start-on-hyatt-soon-pm/

4. This is what intelligent governments would do, social distancing as a form of SURVIVAL.

….ah guess we gathering just went the way of the doh doh bird..

“Ireland will close all its schools, colleges and childcare facilities until March 29 as a result of the coronavirus pandemic. Irish leader Leo Varadkar announced a raft of social-distancing measures, including home-working and a ban on large gatherings.

The move will begin at 6pm today and officials admitted โ€˜the days and weeks ahead will be difficult.โ€™ Ireland recorded its first fatality from Covid-19 yesterday and has 34 confirmed cases. Mr Varadkhar spoke during a visit to Washington DC, hours after US President Donald Trump announced a ban on travel from EU countries.”

Read more: https://metro.co.uk/2020/03/12/ireland-close-schools-childcare-facilities-coronavirus-12387182/?ito=cbshare

5. A

I never said ALL and I never gave any locations,

6. @ Hants

Not a hotel project going start until the sector convinced this pandemic has peaked and is in decline.

I said 18 months ago we should be spending 10% of what we spend on tourism in agriculture but nobody ain’t pay me no mind.

Wunna could kiss that 1.75% percent growth that the governor talk bout goodbye too. Also I await a revised budget from the boss lady outlining reduced expenditure for the next 3 quarters as a matter of urgency.

7. Crop over 2020.

Visitors travel from the USA Canada and the UK for Crop over. Hopefully measures are in place at GAIA to screen passengers.

8. @ John 2

Ok just trying to hear what was said as am not in a position now to get news.

9. You know that news people don’t want to hear usually comes in 3s…well i heard, saw an article too…where BITCOIN CRASHED AND BURNED.

10. @ John A,

When imported food stop coming Bajans will see the value of growing food locally.

Lawns and flower gardens will become vegetable producing .

11. @ A

hants 930am

I expect more to follow hence I said STARTED.

12. Two Thumbs up for Trump

13. @ John 2

Thanks if you hear anything further let’s know.

14. A
    I will be only checking comments for the rest of the day. I too will be busy.

however – cruising now is a major health risk – I for one wouldn’t be doing it at this time with that bug out there.

15. @ John A March 12, 2020 9:58 AM

Well said!

We have heard those promises to comfort foolish Bajans before.

Christopher the Sinliar like Pter from the previous administration was a professional at making such grandiose promises and trite platitudes.

We are sure, in similar spirit, these projects will come to fruition, โ€œSHORTLYโ€.

But itโ€™s still somewhat โ€˜comfortingโ€™ to hear that the cost of construction for the Hyatt Lighthouse will now be โ€œover $200 millionโ€ and not the previously touted $300 million; whether in genuine greenbacks or Bajan Mickey mouse currency.

The question still remains:
    Will this money- whether $200 or $300 million- be coming from FDI (given the current turbulence in the international financial markets) or will it be taken from the Bajan foreign reserves which be coming under tremendous stress in the coming months to keep the import distribution and retailing consumer sectors afloat despite the drop in the price of crude oil on the world markets?

16. The DOW is not listening to Trump.

17. The issue is about survival
    Not the Dow
    Two thumbs up for Trump
    The wealthy is what has gotten the world in this mass confusion
    Piss on them
    Dow what

18. @ miller

Projects like the lighthouse will have a hard time finding international finance until the virus infections start to fall to low levels. The losses that will be chalked up by the airline’s and hotel Industries globally will make financing such a project high risk right now.

19. @ mariposa

Yes but th 401K plans etc of most of the middle class are tied up in Dow stocks. The days of only the wealthy being invested in the Dow are long over. While the Dow may not affect them today, it will affect economic recovery big time when the virus infections start to fall off. By extension that will affect us too as we need them to travel and spend.

20. @John A

Who are the people creating the jobs?

Why bother to explain the obvious?

21. Bert will fix all our economic problems. Right?
    Id Bert was ill advised before, now it is unworkable. The CBOB growth estimates are based on very, very unrealistic assumptions. Growth this year and at least into 1st half of 2021 will be negative. Globally, the tourism industry is and will incur very heavy losses. Barbados is not exempt.

It is time for the decision makers to get back to the drawing board.

22. @ David.

One can only try.

The airline stocks and cruise stocks will be down big time by market close today. Trump can not stop the slide either with his recovery package as they are too many unknowns at this stage. Not saying he shouldn’t try but the market is falling based on statements yesterday that the WHO publically declared it a pandemic etc.

23. Mother Nature is in control
    Dont jump ahead
    All will be figure correctly in due time
    I have a few dollars some where in the market
    But not overly concern because my moral duty attaches itself to what is right and not bothering self about how much is loss
    Mother Nature is speaking and hence u listen
    Dow what

24. @ John A March 12, 2020 10:47 AM

So why is your “Boss Lady” giving a May 2020 start date?

Unless the money is coming from local funding sources with the country’s foreign reserves to act as the backer of the foreign exchange component of the cost of the Lighthouse project.

The construction start date of this Lighthouse project is being pushed around like a king man on a draughts board. The previous move was made by the MoT giving a start date of February 2020.

Now what has happened to move the date to May 2020?

The Coivd-19 is the perfect alibi to scrap the Lighthouse project and bow out gracefully; just like how the previous MoF, the pathological liar, returned the US$270 million to the Japanese lenders because of the life-support status of the sugarcane industry

25. @ miller

We will struggle to get a decent occupancy this year and God knows what state the global economy will be in by December. Businesses are losing billions daily and by extension their shareholders and employees. I don’t see any tourism projects starting this year nor being able to get financing on the open market. Those projects will now be deemed high risk and even if financing is made available, it will be grossly expensive in terms of interest rate. Plus wunna don’t touch a red cent of the NIS money either cause that too may he needed for the virus fall out.

26. @Hants
    Lawns and flower gardens will become vegetable producing
    So you got a solution for de monkeys?

27. @Mariposa March 12, 2020 5:32 AM “Seems like the churches havenโ€™t put their two cents on what measures they have in place for their congregation.”

https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/03/12/covid-19-alters-life-at-the-altar/
    COVID-19 alters life at the altar

28. @David
    The DOW is not listening to Trump
    +++++++++++++++
    Why would it? The market works on confidence; would you buy a used car from that man? The past few weeks are a Hans Christian Anderson fable come to life: โ€œThe Emperorโ€™s new clothesโ€ and some folks are waking up to the fact that the Emperor is naked. He canโ€™t tweet his way out of this (but he will try).

29. @Sargeant March 12, 2020 11:35 AM “So you got a solution for de monkeys?”

i dunno.

Send the young men with guns out to shoot the monkeys?

Maybe the opportunity to kill something will assuage their aggression to each other?

30. What if this virus gives aid for the forgiveness of debt to small island nations

31. @ Sargeant,

I live in Canada . However, When I was living in Bim, monkeys and other predators were dealt with as necessary with 12 guage wire.lol

32. Breaking news! PM Trudeau and wife self-isolating.

Major events in Canada getting cancelled .

33. @Miller March 12, 2020 8:31 AM “…bread and butter issues…”

You mean sweet potatoes, cassava and yams right?

34. I am now working on the land 3 days a week. I may need to ramp it up to 4 , 5, 6 or even 7 days per week, since i am not going to church anymore anyhow. I need to clear all of the weeds, and get the land ploughed before the rains start, so that I catch the first rains.

Which means NOW.

35. There is nothing that trump can do outside doing what is possible to protect the health of the people
    In meanwhile let the remnants of the economic splinters fall to the ground
    He can’t possibly have it both ways

36. Sargeant March 12, 2020 9:25 AM “Dem S hole European countries exporting a โ€œforeignโ€ virus to our pristine shores so we gwine ban their ass except Britain of course which has more people suffering from coronavirus than some European countries that are on the list (wuh even a British Health Minister has the virus) but we is de boss.”

You is bare-bare trouble den!

Note that toddlers [all toddlers, white toddlers, black toddlers, indian toddlers, chinese toddlers, all of them of course professing NO religion] are the dirtiest people on the face of the earth. Toddlers [and I had toddlers and I loved them like anything, lol!] will dig into their botsies and put their hands in their noses, on the pets, and then directly into their mouths. Toddlers daily drop food, pick it up and put it straight into the mouth. Toddlers are not getting sick, it is felt because toddlers may already be in contact with 4 different less deadly corona viruses which may have given them some protection against the current one.

Who says that ‘shit-hole” is always a bad thing?

37. @ Sargeant,

“A child in Calgary has tested positive for COVID-19, Suncor confirmed to CBC News on Thursday, sending staff at a daycare in the company’s downtown headquarters into self-quarantine.”

Nuff breaking news in Canada in the last hour.

38. All of the corona in the Caribbean so far has been imported from first world countries, the United States, the United Kingdom and Italy.

39. @Silly WomanMarch 12, 2020 12:05 PM

I am now working on the land 3 days a week. I may need to ramp it up to 4 , 5, 6 or even 7 days per week, since i am not going to church anymore anyhow.

I want a tour of your farm when next I am in Barbados – lol. I plan to be there late April, but don’t know if the Trumpster will allow me to travel – lol.

40. @Simple Simon

It is a pandemic so what is your point eh?

41. I will be honest with you, now that I am no longer the parent nor grandparent of infants I have long avoided other people’s infants. For nearly ten years now I have actively avoided touching other people’s babies and toddlers, because i know how nasty the cute little creatures are…because I had some myself.

But since I am deceitful, I always tell the doting parents that i do not touch their baby or toddler because I don’t want to infect their lovely baby or toddler with anything I might have. That is not the truth. The truth is I am scared of the shi!!y little monsters.

Lol!

42. @Hants
    Breaking news! PM Trudeau and wife self-isolating.
    Major events in Canada getting cancelled
    Wasnโ€™t Trudeau at a mining conference recently where one of the participants returned to Sudbury where it was discovered that he had the virus? There is a report that when Trump hosted mini Trump from Brazil one of the Brazilian officials that Trump met is now stricken with the virus.

Hants yuh gotta brek fuh yuhself and batten down the hatches and retreat to your bunker, I hope you have an unlimited supply of toilet paper and all the spirits you can handle ๐Ÿ˜Š

43. Waiting now for the MOF to outline what cut back in spending she will introduce over the next 3 quarters to balance the projected fall off in tourism revenue. Left out the we gathering talk for now let’s talk numbers.

44. In one of my earlier comments i made an observant where i referenced the WHO in issuing statements as to age group most likely to contract the virus preferably the elderly
    Before the ink was dried in my comment NYC closed school because students tested positive for Corona
    What i observed in WHO statement was an error mostly based on age to contract
    When in fact as i indicated that those who had contracted the virus being old was due to the elderly choices / connected to travel whereas the youth travel far less

45. “I have long avoided other peopleโ€™s infants. For nearly ten years now I have actively avoided touching other peopleโ€™s babies and toddlers, because i know how nasty the cute little creatures areโ€ฆbecause I had some myself.”

Those litlle gremlins are lethal. One of my grandsons gave me an open mouth slobbery kiss years ago, i very nearly died. I would give all the babies to politicians for hugs and kisses.

46. https://www.statnews.com/2020/03/03/who-is-getting-sick-and-how-sick-a-breakdown-of-coronavirus-risk-by-demographic-factors/
    Who is getting sick, and how sick? A breakdown of coronavirus risk by demographic factors

47. Devid. I understand that it is a pandemic. What I am trying to say, perhaps badly, is that we have to practice what the experts are calling social distancing. I believe that in general that babies and toddlers should be handled by as few people as possible outside of the immediate family. If a baby is kissed and cuddled by its own parents that is enough. In a pandemic situation keeping social distance, including social distance from “strange” infants and toddlers is even more important.

The days of all this kissy, kissy handsy, handsy is for the time being over.

I still love babies and children, I still go to parties when invited. I still give gifts.

I just don’t do the kissy, kissy thingy.

48. What are the chances that Trudeau would have come in contact with the few cases we have in Ontario.???? They have been understating the numbers so the borders stay open for flights. They have put our seniors at risk for political correctness instead of making some tough decisions.. If it had been ebola or another hemorrhagic fever anybody think the borders would not have been shut off.

49. In this deadly situation, babies and children are carriers who will have no symptoms and will never get sick as they so often do, they tend to just shrug off plagues…no one should touch babies or shake hands or hug ….just say corona virus and no questions will be asked, no one will pout or feel offended…and see other people’s cute, deadly little gremlins and leave them alone.

on a much lighter and funnier note…i will just call this, the biggest thieves on earth got robbed and leave it right there and imagine they got the nerve to want justice too after raping Africa for centuries,, they can’t even take being robbed by their own….pretending they don’t know how dangerous their fellow thieves the brits are….lol

It May Be The Biggest Tax Heist Ever. And Europe Wants Justice.
    Stock traders are accused of siphoning $60 billion from state coffers, in a scheme that one called โ€œthe devilโ€™s machine.โ€ Germany is the first country to try to get its money back.

By David Segal
    Published Jan. 23, 2020
    Updated Jan. 24, 2020

They made quite a team.

One was an Oxford-educated wunderkind who handled the complicated math behind the transactions. The other was a beefy, 6-foot-2 New Zealander with an apparent fondness for Hawaiian shirts, who brought in clients and money.

Martin Shields and Paul Mora met in 2004, at the London office of Merrill Lynch. Mr. Shields was always the pupil, a little in awe of the older manโ€™s ability to bluff and charm. Once, after Mr. Mora fended off suspicious auditors at a bank where the two worked, Mr. Shields sent an admiring email.

โ€œRemind me never to play poker with you,โ€ he said, according to an internal report later commissioned by the bank.

Today, the men stand accused of participating in what Le Monde has called โ€œthe robbery of the century,โ€ and what one academic declared โ€œthe biggest tax theft in the history of Europe.โ€ From 2006 to 2011, these two and hundreds of bankers, lawyers and investors made off with a staggering $60 billion, all of it siphoned from the state coffers of European countries.

As one participant would later put it, taxpayer funds were an irresistible mark for a simple reason: They never ran out.

The scheme was built around โ€œcum-ex tradingโ€ (from the Latin for โ€œwith-withoutโ€): a monetary maneuver to avoid double taxation of investment profits that plays out like high financeโ€™s answer to a David Copperfield stage illusion. Through careful timing, and the coordination of a dozen different transactions, cum-ex trades produced two refunds for dividend tax paid on one basket of stocks.

One basket of stocks. Abracadabra. Two refunds.

The process was repeated over and over, as word of cum-ex spread like a quiet contagion. Germany was hardest hit, with an estimated $30 billion in losses, followed by France, taken for about $17 billion. Smaller sums were drained away from Spain, Italy, Belgium, Austria, Norway, Finland, Poland and others.

Outrage in these countries has focused on the City of London, Britainโ€™s answer to Wall Street. Less scrutinized has been the role played by Americans, both individual investors and branches of United States investment banks in London, including Morgan Stanley, JPMorgan Chase and Bank of America Merrill Lynch.

American bankers didnโ€™t try cum-ex at home because they feared domestic regulators. So they moved operations to London and treated the rest of Europe as an anything-goes frontier. Frank Tibo, a former chief tax officer at a bank where Mr. Shields and Mr. Mora worked, said American and British cum-ex traders regarded the Continent as a backwater of old economies ripe for swindling.”

50. I believe this is fair, charge them with murder if they continue to ignore the dangers of the virus and put lives in danger, everyone may not agree, but tell that to those who are dying or who have already died.

https://m.facebook.com/groups/136380286454553?view=permalink&id=2795212727237949