The Coronavirus (COVID-19) continues to soak up the resources for both under developed and developed countries. At the time of posting this blog the global medical community has been unable to inform about a vaccine. The blogmaster read the perspective of a leading Australian virologist recently where she opined that the world will have to live with the virus, in fact it will become as accepted as the Flu.

The disruption caused by COVID-19 will impact service based economies like Barbados and others in the reason where it hurts, in the breadbasket. One could rehash old arguments about the folly of putting all our eggs in one basket. If we are to work hard to move from the unsustainable position we find ourselves, we have to do more to shift our over reliance on tourism. Government’s current investment pipeline has signaled there are no immediate or medium term plans to modify the economic engines firing the economy.

If there ever was an opportunity to message our leaders there is an urgent need to reorder how we do business, it is now.

COVID-19
Since this news alert Italy is virtually on lock down. Thanks John A for always feeding the blogmaster with important information.

The local authorities based on public announcements and news coverage have been rolling out awareness campaigns, bumping up screening at ports of entry, building health infrastructure and leading discussions at the regional level to ensure a regional COVID-19 approach. Given the pandemic nature of COVID-19, it seems a matter of time before Barbados reports its first case. The biggest challenge for Barbados and service based economies is the fatalistic impact disruptions to global supply chains will bring.

#lordhearourprayer

951 responses to “Coronavirus (COVID-19) Virus Exposes Service Based Countries”

1. Just how much shit is worthy of some bets, but am sure pundits are having a ball.

https://trib.al/LFLBgcQ?fbclid=IwAR2WfWernfRyexpI1TyjKdTk9k2jj4_gG0UJ6sN5IQ4oMRjFjwacCtjvPOg

2. Look GP…a real 21st century doctor.

blob:https://www.bloomberg.com/12d94499-a869-4087-87e7-6f0ba06f07ab

3. @Hants March 12, 2020 10:00 AM ” Hopefully measures are in place at GAIA to screen passengers.”

A friend who arrived Saturday told me that all passengers were being screened for high temperatures.

4. GP did your church buy enough hand sanitizers to share amongst the poor
    The bible tells the church to given and it shall be given unto them pressed down and shaken together
    Havent heard not one mumbling sound from the church and what efforts they would put forward in helping govt in this time of crisis
    As for the rapture and it time of appearance
    The bible states that judgement would start in the house of God
    So bosey dont get cocky and all caught up in this rapture thing because God in his ultimate wisdom has chosen to start with the church first
    Hope yuh got a winning soul to prsent to God
    If not yuh a.ss is grass ole duffus

5. @March 12, 2020 1:49 PM “Today, the men stand accused of participating in what Le Monde has called โ€œthe robbery of the century,โ€ and what one academic declared โ€œthe biggest tax theft in the history of Europe.โ€ From 2006 to 2011, these two and hundreds of bankers, lawyers and investors made off with a staggering $60 billion, all of it siphoned from the state coffers of European countries”

And yet the Europeans claim that they can’t pay reparations because they are broke, don’t have any money, can’t afford to pay, etc. etc. etc. That $60 billion wold have made a nice little reparative down payment to the people of Barbados.

You wouldn’t hear any complaints from me if that $60 billion was the initial tranche.

6. @robert lucas March 12, 2020 2:08 PM

If I wanted to add fresh aloe vera get to this formula how would I do that.

i do not want the product to smell like aloes or to spoil, because i added a fresh product.

I have plenty of fresh aloes on hand.

7. aloe vera gel

8. @robert lucas March 12, 2020 5:24 PM “:โ€Coronavirus test shortage โ€˜strikes at the heart of everything that weโ€™re doing,โ€™ doctor warnsโ€ This situation has been caused by the globalists, who have out-sourced all types of manufacturing, because it was financially best for them.”

No robert.

It was the capitalists/Republicans/Conservatives who outsourced manufacturing. As always chasing cheap labour, and nuff profits.

9. Greedy capitalists!

10. These Trump loyalists are always looking for someone to blame; first it was the Democrats, then it was the media, now it is the โ€œGlobalistsโ€ who outsourced products. Trump must be a Globalist, he outsourced all of his clothing lines (when it was in operation) to China so those signature ties, shirts and suits all came with a made in China label..

The poor slobs hang on to slogans โ€œMAGAโ€ while Trump utters โ€œ I love the uneducatedโ€

11. @GP March 12, 2020 6:31 PM “When H1N1, Ebola, MERS, and SARS posed public health threats, the NBA was not holding games in empty arenas, and political rallies were not being canceled.

According to the CDC, since MERS was first observed in Saudi Arabia in 2012, only two Americans have become infected

SOURCE: CDC “two patients in the U.S. tested positive for MERS-CoV infection, both in May 2014.”
    https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/mers/faq.html

12. “Two people have contracted Ebola in the United States. Both were nurses who treated an Ebola patient; both have recovered.”

Source: Wikipedia

13. https://www.cdc.gov/sars/about/faq.html

How many people contracted SARS in the United States during the 2003 outbreak? How many people died of SARS in the United States?

In the United States, only eight persons were laboratory-confirmed as SARS cases. There were no SARS-related deaths in the United States. All of the eight persons with laboratory-confirmed SARS had traveled to areas where SARS-CoV transmission was occurring.

Source: CDC

14. So it seems to me that more Americans will be infected by and die from COVID-19 than got sick and died from MERS, SARS and Ebola

15. And Ivanka too!

16. “Since it started circulating in the spring of 2009, H1N1 has infected about 100 million Americans, killing about 75,000 and sending 936,000 to the hospital”

But perhaps COVID-19 just as infectious or more so, and just as deadly or more so than H!N1

17. @President Donald Trump “At the very start of the outbreak, we instituted sweeping travel restrictions on China and put in place the first federally mandated quarantine in over 50 years. We declared a public health emergency and issued the highest level of travel warning on other countries as the virus spread its horrible infection….Additionally, last week, I signed into law an $8.3 billion funding bill to help CDC and other government agencies fight the virus and support vaccines, treatments, and distribution of medical supplies. Testing and testing capabilities are expanding rapidly, day by day. We are moving very quickly…For all Americans, it is essential that everyone take extra precautions and practice good hygiene. Each of us has a role to play in defeating this virus. Wash your hands, clean often-used surfaces, cover your face and mouth if you sneeze or cough, and most of all, if you are sick or not feeling well, stay home…To ensure that working Americans impacted by the virus can stay home without fear of financial hardship, I will soon be taking emergency action, which is unprecedented, to provide financial relief…We are all in this together. We must put politics aside, stop the partisanship, and unify together as one nation and one family.”
    More here: https://www.whitehouse.gov/briefings-statements/remarks-president-trump-address-nation/

Take note that in this speech, no where does trump blame liberals, globalists, Democrats, or the mass media. No where does he make mention of the Novermber 2020 election, no where does he accuse anybody of trying to steal the election.

So some ‘o wunna need to stop telling lies on the man.

18. Schools in Barbados likely to close early.

19. Silly Woman

Its obvious that you donโ€™t know the difference between teleprompter Trump and tweeter Trump.

20. You might be surprised to know what I know about how things work. I know that probably a couple hundred people had a hand in that speech, and I would bet anything that some of those officials disagreed with the blame the foreigner part of it, but they went with this speech which is much better than Trump let alone to tweet.

What the smart official speech writers having consulted with the medical/technical experts have written and Trump has read is still official Trump. Still official USG policy.

21. In 2009/10 Swine Flu infected 60 million+ Americans.

300,000 were hospitalized.

So far Coronavirus has infected 1,730 Americans.

https://www.worldometers.info/coronavirus/

In 2009/10, deaths as follows from Swine Flu.

1,800 children died.

17,000 Americans died.

https://www.rushlimbaugh.com/daily/2020/03/12/remember-the-swine-flu-panic-of-2009-no-you-dont/

22. pea brain jackass

stop twisting what the CDC and WHO say!

If it is only 60 and over then tell me why are they now closing schools all over the USA (new York, Georgia , ohio and counting so far..

Why did the NBA, colleges etc cancelling all they games. it is mostly younger people that attend the game and very few over 60.

my mention of the school closed in Georgia was to let you know that the ones you mention were closed in NY were not the first one being closed and had nothing to do with answering any question over 60 (you idiot).

I already explained and SW posted a link that explains why WHO and CDC wouls be more concerned about the older people than the younger ones.

If you still want to continue with your BS that person under 60 are not contracting the virus then what is the age of the high school student in ga? surely it is under 60.

I think the pm of Canada wife maybe under 60

the two basket ballers are surely under 60, in the prime of their lives and should have be physical healthy – yet they are infected by the virus.

So you can continue with your false information and you can also shift (the hal Austin condition) again.

23. “Based on what i have heard coming from the CDC and WHO i am yet to hear mention of people under 60 that are at risk to contracting the virus
    The emphasis has always been placed on the elderly and people whose immune system is compromised because of certain illness”

BECAUSE FOR REVEWING THE CASES SO FAR IT IS SHOWN THAT THE ABOVE MENTIONED ARE THE MOST LIKELY TO DIE/

24. Especially if they have preexisting conditions.

25. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

Simple Simon, I miss ur point above… Why make a distinction of official govt policy between POTUS speeches and POTUS tweets?

As long as it comes from the ‘desk of the POTUS’ it’s official policy. Period.

The man HAS tweeted about those matters you said he didn’t speak about… And officials were scambling to clarify.

Today (before I read the details) I was talking to friend who was telling me that POTUS banned travel and trade from Europe… I said you must be mistaken, how could be ban all trade.

But apparently that’s what he said and of course that’s nonsensical and it had to be clarified properly.

He also makes speeches and then tweets contradictions to suit his base…

All of that makes what’s official very ‘officiously’ confusing!

26. @David March 12, 2020 10:45 PM “Especially if they have preexisting conditions.”

And many, perhaps most people over 60 have one or more pre-existing conditions. Me too.

But those who have pre-existing conditions should take their prescribed medicines as directed by their doctors.

27. @de pedantic Dribbler March 12, 2020 10:45 PM

Hoping that the very well educated, very experienced, very smart very professional. very hard working people at the CDC can “hold back” Trumpian foolishness, and make their voices heard as the official voice of USG policy.

This does not make me a Trumpian.

28. Justin Trudeau’s wife tested positive.

Twist mout Lindsay Graham in self quarantine. Brazilian press secretary who dined at Mar-a-lago with them over the weekend tests positive. Trump says he had very little contact with him.

Wuhlaus!

You can’t make this stuff up!

29. Q If it is only 60 and over then tell me why are they now closing schools all over the USA (new York, Georgia , ohio and counting so far..

Why did the NBA, colleges etc cancelling all they games. it is mostly younger people that attend the game and very few over 60.

A BECAUSE IT MAKES GOOD PUBLIC HEALTH PROTOCOL AND COMMON SENSE

30. How do you have someone to dinner at your home and have very little contact with them.

Can anybody explain how that works?

31. Thanks Hants. We now have two confirmed in Ottawa. One from Austria the other from Italy. There is already a run on the supermarkets. i going to Jean Coutu demain to get some tissues.

32. https://www.washingtonpost.com/opinions/anthony-fauci-fights-outbreaks-with-the-sledgehammer-of-truth/2020/03/12/b3f81f52-6473-11ea-845d-e35b0234b136_story.html

A virus that is deadly and little understood. An administration in deep denial. Anthony S. Fauci has been here before.

As the coronavirus epidemic escalates, the director of the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) has become a familiar media presence.

Fauciโ€™s expertise and credibility shine against the contradictory and false messages coming from President Trump. The administration has at times sounded more concerned with protecting the president politically than stopping the spread of a potentially lethal disease.

While Trump tries to play down the severity of a public health crisis that might affect his reelection prospects, Fauci has laid out the best assessment of the true danger in stark terms.

In testimony Wednesday on Capitol Hill, he warned that the coronavirus has a mortality rate 10 times as great as that of the flu, and refuted Trumpโ€™s rosy promise that a vaccine will be ready โ€œin a fairly quick manner.โ€ Fauci also said flatly that the government is โ€œfailingโ€ when it comes to the urgent imperative of making widespread testing available.

fter federal officials gave lawmakers a briefing on Thursday, a frustrated Rep. Anna G. Eshoo (D-Calif.) told me: โ€œEverything was wrapped in confusion. The only one who answers the questions โ€” he not only gives the science, but then he says, let me explain this in pedestrian language โ€” is Dr. Fauci.โ€

Then again, this is not the first time Fauci has found himself in the position of having to navigate a public health crisis fraught with political land mines. A renowned international expert on the immune system, Fauci took over NIAID in 1984, barely a year and a half after scientists had identified a mysterious retrovirus that was killing thousands of people.

It would be nearly another year before President Ronald Reagan would publicly utter the name of the disease it produced: AIDS. Reaganโ€™s sluggish handling of the epidemic left one of the deepest scars on his legacy.

In 1986, Reaganโ€™s surgeon general, C. Everett Koop, produced a report that described in graphic terms the potential toll of AIDS, projecting that 270,000 Americans might contract it by 1991. The report used explicit language, explaining that the disease was transmitted through โ€œsemen and vaginal fluidsโ€ and during โ€œoral, anal and vaginal intercourse.โ€

Conservatives approved of some of what was in Koopโ€™s document: It warned against โ€œfreewheeling casual sexโ€ and asserted that the surest means of preventing AIDS were through abstinence and monogamy. But they werenโ€™t so happy with the surgeon generalโ€™s recommendation that condoms be used as a fallback.

Koop was concerned that his findings were being buried by the Reagan administration, so two years later, he and Fauci cooked up a bold idea: mailing an abridged version of his report to every single one of the 107 million households and postal boxes in the country.

The problem, however, was that the surgeon general lacked the budget to do it. As Fauci recounted to me during a 2018 interview, he told Koop: โ€œYou know, there is a mechanism called an interagency transfer.โ€ Fauci had the authority to provide funds to get the project off the ground, because combating AIDS related to his own agencyโ€™s core mission.

Congress picked up the idea and ordered the largest mass mailing in U.S. history. It also stipulated that the seven-page brochure be โ€œdistributed without necessary clearance of the content by any official, organization or officeโ€ โ€” in other words, that it not be edited to suit anyoneโ€™s political agenda.

In addition to being printed in English and Spanish, โ€œUnderstanding AIDSโ€ went out in Chinese, Portuguese, Haitian-Creole, Vietnamese, Laotian, Cambodian and Braille. It debunked many myths about the disease, for instance stating unequivocally that AIDS is not spread by mosquitoes, and could not be caught through casual contact with saliva, sweat or toilet seats.
    AD

Subsequent surveys found that nearly 87 million adults perused part or all of the booklet โ€” making it the most widely read publication in the country in July 1988, with Readerโ€™s Digest coming in a distant second with 48.5 million readers.

Of course, there are many differences in scale and severity between the AIDS epidemic and the coronavirus threat. While most who contract coronavirus will recover, AIDS during the 1980s was a death sentence wrapped in stigma.

But as Fauci well understands, all infectious diseases have something in common: Accurate information is one of the most powerful weapons for fighting them.

Fauci has already shown how important it is to hit a microscopic enemy with a sledgehammer of truth. A yet-untold number of Americans will be betting their lives on him to do it again.

33. It must be full moon.

34. @ Silly Woman March 12, 2020 8:48 PM

“No robert.
    It was the capitalists/Republicans/Conservatives who outsourced manufacturing. As always chasing cheap labour, and nuff profits.

You have missed the point that I was making and have jumped to a hasty conclusion, The globalist exist in both parties. Why did Trump before the mid -terms failed to get backing for the wall? There are members of both parties who do not want to stop exploiting the cheap labor of undocumented migrants from Mexico.. On reflection, you might want to modify your sentiments.

As for the Aloe Vera smell, you can try adding a perfume to which a surfactant like liquid soap has been added : then mixed every thing in a high speed blender to homogenized the mixture, including the Aloe Vera. You need to remove the skin part of the Aloe Vera. The surfactant causes the dispersion of the ingredients into both the water phase and organic phase of the mixture. The perfume should reduce the smell of the Aloe Vera.

35. @ Silly Woman March 13, 2020 12:27 AM

“Fauci has already shown how important it is to hit a microscopic enemy with a sledgehammer of truth. A yet-untold number of Americans will be betting their lives on him to do it again.”

You are awesome in your use of English : ” sledgehammer” is very graphic and descriptive of the message you want to convey. We seem to have a budding next George Lamming.

36. If NYC straphangers are avoiding subways like the plague, what business would a 2 X 4 island with less than 300K and totally DEPENDANT on the same one horse tourism that everyone including the tourists ARE RUNNING FROM…be open for…that long face retard needs to take a seat.

https://www.nationnews.com/nationnews/news/244344/business-tourism-boss

“Subway ridership has plummeted amid the coronavirus pandemic โ€” making it easier to find a seat, but also imperiling the cash-strapped MTAโ€™s finances.

Ridership on the subway was down 18.5% Wednesday, said agency spokesman Tim Minton. That amounts to a daily drop of about 1 million riders compared to March 2019, when the subways handled about 5.39 million rides per day.

The data shows New Yorkers are heeding advice from top officials like Gov. Cuomo and Mayor de Blasio, who earlier this week urged people to avoid the subways if possible to help contain the spread of the contagious disease.”

You have some ignorant leaders in Barbados still talking shite about being open for business, planes and ships are planning to shut shop, what business would that tourism pimp be open for, do not put your lives and those of your families in these idiot’s hands, Your leaders have a decades old track record for not caring for their own people and are dumb Enuff to put money first before the welfare of the people….if they did not TIEF SO MUCH from the treasury and pension fund they would not now have to be talking about being open for business at the very beginning OF A PANDEMIC.

But what would expect from greedy fools who continue to rob injured people their compensations and the elderly and their beneficiaries their estates, bank accounts and futures…you should expect nothing less from these tiefing trash..

“It was the capitalists/Republicans/Conservatives who outsourced manufacturing. As always chasing cheap labour, and nuff profits.”

BU doctors need to educate themselves, outsourcing was going on in the US since the early to mid 90s by capitalists, even banks outsourced their jobs locally and overseas and laid off millions of workers, just to save some money, greedy for end of year big bonuses.

37. The ignorant leaders in Barbados seem to be the only ones in the world willing to accept and promote modern day slavery for their own people…along with accepting and promoting a pandemic on the island.

โ€œInfected patients are now being admitted into the hospital, but the cleaners have downed tools because they havenโ€™t been paidโ€ says GMB Union
    Cleaning, portering and catering staff at Lewisham Hospital – where Coronavirus cases have been treated – have walked out after private contractor ISS failed to pay the wages of the hospital workers.

Furious workers stormed off the job during a row with the outsourcing company. Now ISS risks leaving wards uncleaned and meals not being served if they canโ€™t settle the low paid workersโ€™ wages.”

Let’s see how many planes fly in and out in the coming weeks so that the long face retard can pimp tourism to put the population at risk.

“MIAMI โ€“ An American Airlines pilot based out of Dallas-Fort Worth International Airport was diagnosed with COVID-19, the airlineโ€™s spokesman Curtis Blessing said, according to USA Today.

The pilot is undergoing treatment, an airlineโ€™s union representative told Bloomberg.”

38. This is Nation News..

“The Vincentian woman who tested positive for the novel coronavirus (Covid-19) on Wednesday, travelled through Barbados on her way home on March 7.”

39. Let the bottomfeeders for leaders believe because the other islands have corona cases, they can now jump in front to profit from the tourism, but when ya dumb ya never ask yaselves, where are the tourists going to come from. We have been highlighting the lack of critical thinking and analytical skills in the island’s leaders, they have now confirmed what we have been saying for years.

“Jamaica has reported another 6 cases of COVID-19.

The news was released by the Government of Jamaica in a press release.

According to the release the new cases are as follows:

Two males aged 63 and 67, who came into the island on March 7 from Trinidad, having travelled from Malaysia by way of Dubai and London. They presented at hospital on March 11.
    One male 36, who travelled from Manchester, England. He was taken to hospital from his hotel via ambulance on March 11.
    One male, 31, a Jamaican overseas ship worker who came in from the Canary Islands via Portugal and Miami. He arrived in the island on February 25 and presented to hospital with symptoms on March 10.
    One male, 58, who is the father of the first patient who was confirmed with COVID-19. He was discovered ill at home on March 11.
    And one female, 34, who is a close contact, also of the first patient who was confirmed with COVID-19 on the island.
    The Ministry of Health and Wellness also announced that the first patient who tested positive for COVID-19 attended the funeral of the late Gloria Clarke held on Saturday, March 7, 2020 and the interment that followed at the Meadowrest Memorial Gardens.

The Ministry is asking all persons, who attended the funeral service and / or burial to make contact by calling any of the following numbers:”

40. The conspiracy theorists need to explain why it’s the globalists being infected and dying from the virus.

“Italian medical chief dies from coronavirus
    From Helena de Moura

Italyโ€™s medical community is mourning the death of the head of the medical association in the northern Italian region of Varese, Italyโ€™s state-run ANSA reported Wednesday.

Roberto Stella, president of the Medical Guild of Varese, died Tuesday night in Como, where the 67-year-old was hospitalized for respiratory failure due to coronavirus, the agency reported.”

41. It is fair to say that the centuries old, delusional pretend superiority will cost countless lives.

https://www.independent.co.uk/news/health/coronavirus-news-live-uk-update-cases-symptoms-testing-death-toll-a9399016.html

“An Australian minister has now caught the illness, and the German state of Bavaria is reportedly closing all schools and kindergartens until 6 April.”

42. Along with outsourcing theMoral code was thrown out the door
    The problem does not lie in the outsourcing of jobs but with lowminded greedy captalist and govts who closed eyes to the disadvantages these captalist took of their people and mostly abusing the enviroment
    Now the chickens have come home to roost and all the eggs are rotten

43. Whiile everyone is distracted with Corona, ya deceitful government is still setting u up with the Cahill scam which was created by the last dirty, deceitful government to rob the treasury…for their and the foreign thieves own benefit.

“When is the application for the injunction being made to stop the Cahill project from progressing to a point of no return?

Can the government buy electricity when the seller has no authority to sell?

On the compulsory acquisition of land, government pays the person/entity it was acquired from. Is it fair to say that the government is not putting up any money… Then why acquire… To give to the Cahill project(despite recent denials)

SBRC has been very quiet; have you asked your lawyers to engage them to see if they will support your move to the courts?

BAMC and BADMC …Did you write these entities and enquire about the King grass, it’s importation to be grown here(already here) and its impact on the agricultural sector as a new weed to contend with?

The BWA …. Have you enquired from the BWA as to the whether the will be able to meet the requirements need by such a facility?

The residents… Have they been individually polled and comments, questions recorded from them to demonstrate the actual rejection of residents and business who live with areas close enough to be directly affected, impacted( and how) by the daily operation of the plant. Also by any possible disaster at the plant.

I note that the response from amnesty international and other international agencies have been lukewarm at best.

What about CARICOM … Have you checked the energy policy signed by the heads of government to see whether this project is in breach …. Which may allow you to go directly to the CCJ for redress… Since this is touted as an energy project.

Kammie… There you have it… And there is more that is needed… If you attorneys do those things at a minimum, i strongly believe that a court will grant an injunction…

Tour attorneys will be able to put everything in context.

Focus on the CCJ but access them through the domestic court. That way you will not be face with enforcement issues in the same way that the lawyers who represented Myrie encountered.

My contention is at the very least the CCJ will hear you… On a breach of the energy policy …the local court will hear you on the environmental aspects and the water scarce issues and possible harm as a result.

There are some U.S. Cases which are useful.

When you have your team in place let them call me, if they desire.

Yours….”

44. Good Morning @DAVID

RESEARCH AS FOLLOWS 4 THE BU VIROLOGIST & EPIDEMILOGISTS ET AL:

In Vitro Antiviral Activity and Projection of Optimized Dosing Design of Hydroxychloroquine for the Treatment of Severe Acute Respiratory Syndrome Coronavirus 2 (SARS-CoV-2)

https://tinyurl.com/qmjbmec

BLESSED SHABBAT!!!

45. The environment is at war with the greedy globalist and the environment is winning
    All the money they hidden away in the stock markets and off shore accounts is being taken away right before their eyes
    Not nice to fool Mother Nature

46. No es bueno.

“People who recover from the coronavirus can still be left with substantially reduced lung functions, Hong Kong Hospital Authority have found after observing the first wave of discharged patients.

The doctors found a drop of 20% to 30% in lung capacity in two or three out of those 12 patients.

“They gasp if they walk a bit more quickly,” said Dr Owen Tsang Tak-yin, an infectious-diseases expert at the authority, according to the South China Morning Post.

While it’s too early to establish long-term effects of the illness, scans of nine patients in the group suggested that recovered patients had sustained organ damage, the Post reported.

Out of a global total of 128,000 infections, some 70,000 have recovered so far. More than 4,700 have died.
    The illness โ€” which presents symptoms including fever, breathlessness, and a cough โ€” affects the elderly and those with preexisting symptoms the most.”

47. Another WH expert or in Bajan parlance- Monkey handling gun- Note the quote from Trump about the โ€œFake mediaโ€ and the Democratic Party whom he accuses of trying to inflame the situation

https://www.nbcnews.com/politics/white-house/pence-says-there-s-been-irresponsible-rhetoric-people-downplaying-coronavirus-n1156371

48. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

The headline story in today’s Nation is misleading. It quotes a Vincentian doctor who says that the COVID-19 case that was in Barbados intransit from the UK to St Vincent would not have infected others because she had no symptoms at that point. This, unfortunately, is nonsense. COVID-19 virus transmission from infected people with no symptoms is proven to be commonplace.
    https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/32146694