Prime Minister Mia Mottley has directed a restart to the controversial and contentious overpass project. Anyone interested can search BU Archive for 3S Barbados SRL, Mabey and Johnson or Jonathon Danos.

Mottley you win. You have achieved your objective of soaking up all constructive dissent in the room. Walk good.

77 responses to “Mia Mottley Resumes Controversial Overpass Project in Barbados”

1. @Redguard

But bajans are only lazy in Barbados, they are known to be very productive and industrious when they emigrate. What does that tell you?

2. There is no haste to fill the AG job but in contrast there was much haste to introduce the no crossing of the floor law.

Priorities, priorities , priorities

3. Samuel S. Shank Avatar
    Samuel S. Shank

@ David.
    With regard to the Barbados economy. You forgot to add to that list BRIBES.

4. @Samuel S. Shank

The bigger issue is why have we not been able to penetrate white collar crime in Barbados when we know it exists?

Barbadians have always been slow to react and prefer to be spurred by a crisis mentality. It is who we are to use a favorite turn on of phrase by PM Mottley in a more applicable sense.

5. @ NO
    “I know Bushie will cuss me, but how can publicly traded entities continue in this environment? They must pull stumps and exit to preserve any value.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Not to cuss yuh!
    BUT Bushie rejects your proposed response to the shiite that has been perpetrated by our politicians.

Can you name any of these ‘publicly traded entities’ that have come out OPENLY and condemned the ILLEGAL, and clearly underhanded, actions of our politicians in the above regard?
    Can you name any one that has led public initiatives to reinforce the URGENT NEED for public financial transparency?

…or have you seen them take SIMILAR actions as the crooked governments- to execute even FURTHER criminality on Bajans?
    – via the land use and planning process…
    – via infrastructural permissions that bypass proper scrutiny and basic common sense…
    – via licenses to import cheap, low quality shiite to put local producers out of business…

Come to think of it…
    Bushie is tempted to cuss in truth yuh!!!
    Not at you, but at the lotta traitors we have parading as leaders.

What a place!

6. @BU.David.

Thank you for providing a space where serious debate can happen about our little sovereign island nation. And support further public debate.

There will, of course, be those who try to distract.

Recognize and ignore the noise; get the job done.

7. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

IS ANYONE PAYING ATTENTION TO THE MARKETS? WHAT HAPPENS WHEN THIS OIL WAR PERSIST UNTIL APRIL/MAY WITHOUT A RESOLUTION? IS THE *BRASSBADOS* *GOV* SEEING THE HANDWRITING ON THE WALL?

Moving beyond the facile “ARGUMENTS” on this “THREAD” & “others” are the more egregious conditions this nation faces, given its current fiscal position & the “DENIALISTS” who are overtly “TOP-HEAVY” & ARSE* over-laden with “ILLUSORY” concepts as to whether Barbados will be able to survive the “INCOMING EARTHQUAKE”!!!

If this war extends into April/May, the financial repercussions will be “DIRE” – defined by a prolonged “ENERGY” shock that not only curbs global growth, “MOLOTOV PETROL-INFERNO” & reigniting “MUSHROOMING INFLATION”, but also exacerbating acute “FINANCIAL STRESS” for countries & companies dependent on imported energy (i.e. Oil & Natural Gas)…

#BarbadosToday suggest that “If the war in the Middle East continues into April and May, pushing oil prices toward US$150 – US$200 per barrel, Barbados will face an economic crisis of severe proportions. The government has been blunt: there is “no arithmetical solution” – no amount of fiscal maneuvering can fully shield the country from a shock of this magnitude…”

SEEING THERE IS NO #MathSolution – THEN WHAT???

Do we “CRASH & BURN” – with “(1937-esque)” RIOTS” & a “DEATH-TOLL” that would result in a #HaitianStyle, François-Dominique Toussaint Louverture Debacle on our hands???

SURELY THERE ARE SOME VISIONARY, FORWARD THINKING INDIVIDUALS OUT HERE – SOMEWHERE???

#WhereIsPrinceJoseph???

#WhereIsDaniel???

#WhereIsMOSES*???

WHERE ARE THE *POWERFUL BLACK MEN* WHO SEE BEYOND THEIR NOSE BRIDGES???

#NoOneIsComing2SaveUs

That “BLOODY LOT” are up 2 their eyeballs – “ALL” of ’em with their hands “FULL” -#FightingOneAnother!!!

@ the “SO-CALLED” #EndOfThePLANDEMIC* (2022/2023) – I “PREDICTED” that the world would enter the “FINAL PHASE” of its “EPOCHAL DISPENSATIONAL DEMISE” – where “WAR”, “BLOODSHED”, “MONETARY COLLAPSE”, “GLOBAL DEPRESSION” & that “TWO-THIRDS” of #HumansWouldDie, levelling the planet to what the “HOLLYWOOD MOVIE” with #DenzelWashington, called the “THE BOOK OF ELI” – becomes a “STARK, OMINOUS LIVING REALITY EVERYWHERE”!!!

#LetsSeeWho will be on the #WrongSideOfHistory

#BlessedSABBATH*

#Time4Worship

8. @Terence Blackett… Wow. What a lot of bullshit out of your “mouth.”

Many are watching the markets. And we all know what is happening.

9. More important than the markets are the fundamentals not always priced in.

Markets, by themselves, are never free, never fair, always subject to manipulations, always based on the insufficiency of information, always influenced by history, not always representative in the singularity by national or regional tendencies, made or not by certain interests and on and on.

Some here talk about “markets” as though the ultimate zeitgeist, the gods of us all, the ultimate vector!

One, not even knowing that America is the largest oil producer in the world – 14 or 15 million barrels per day currently, and could be more based on prices over USD65 dpb, indeed up to 18 or even 20 million barrels per day, sought to ignore international market reactions from non oil producing countries to the pricing of the American markets alone.

10. Ah boy! The internet is full of millions of videos made by people with cameras, documenting their American experience. Thank heavens that Donna does not have to waste money to experience it!

Besides which, by now you should know how many cousins I have. Man, I even have two in Bahrain!

P.S. Nobody thinks that the United States of America is as oppressive as North Korea. But we can see that its leader wants it to be. How do we know? From the words that come out of his mouth and the legal and illegal pursuit of any organisation or person that does not prostrate themselves before him. The battle is in progress!

But hey! We know that Donna only makes sense to her plants. So, she’s off to talk with them. And that bird who pecked the first huge tomato on the vine. Should have left the seeding spinach where it was. The birds eat the seeds rather than the tomatoes.

Soil, rainwater and sheep shit, neem pesticide, companion planting, marigolds… no oil needed, no artificial fertilizers, no power to pump the water.

Seems like a much more profitable conversation to have at this time than bullshitting with brainwashed BAJE. Donna has been ramping up her food production! With the help of the internet videos, of course.

De lil rain dun and Donna gone!

11. A Bad King is a Sad Thing Avatar
    A Bad King is a Sad Thing

Nobody likes a Trump and guilt by association means nobody likes an American,
    but Americans who push back are an inspiration to all people in all nations,
    protests and demonstrations against oppression and some such.
    Trump has been compared to Iran’s Mahmoud Ahmadinejad
    as well as a “Bad King” / Führer / Caesar salad

12. @Donna… Thank you for this.

Few appreciate that in addition to oil, gasoline and LNG, fertilizer is also spiking in price.

13. Chris Halsall,

No thanks needed. There are things we can do to help ourselves. Worrying kills. Doing reduces worry. I’m off to do some composting!

Two flotilla ships to Cuba have apparently gone missing. Mexico is conducting a search. I was going to ask if you had any information as to whether a bank account has been set up for donations to Cuba. Looks like I should wait until the flotillas are found. Could the criminal Trump have seized the flotillas? How terrible it is that we should even have to consider it!

14. The government’s mouthpiece on these matters David C assured Barbadians this week items were shipped to Cuba.

15. Are flyovers a feasible solution?

The development of Park and Ride facilities on key routes into The City could also significantly reduce congestion.

Our Prime Minister, Mia Amor Mottley, recently announced plans to begin construction of flyovers this year, with a proposed 18-month timeline targeting completion by 2028. While the intention to alleviate Barbados’ severe traffic congestion is commendable, this proposal warrants careful scrutiny. Too many critical questions remain unanswered, and a thorough evaluation of all viable alternatives is essential before concluding that flyovers are the best solution.

Public discussion on the issue has already intensified, particularly on social media. However, much of the debate lacks depth. There appears to be a widespread assumption – including among some policymakers – that flyovers can be constructed affordably and with minimal disruption. This underestimates both the complexity of such projects and the realities of Barbados’ increasingly urbanized landscape.

Unlike the development of the ABC Highway, which largely traversed open land, flyovers in today’s environment would require significant acreage for access and exit ramps. This would likely involve the acquisition of private property, displacement of residents, and disruption to established communities. The environmental and social costs of such interventions must be carefully weighed against any perceived benefits.

Financial considerations present an equally compelling concern.

Infrastructure projects are notoriously prone to cost overruns, and Barbados has experienced this firsthand.

The Hilton project, for example, was initially estimated at BDS$68 million but reportedly escalated to approximately BDS$180 million – more than double the original projection.

Estimates for constructing a single flyover with four access ramps range from BDS$24 million to BDS$50 million. These figures do not account for the additional costs associated with land acquisition, relocation of utilities such as water mains and electricity infrastructure, or the extended timelines required to complete such work. These factors significantly increase both the financial and operational risks of the project.

Beyond cost and logistics, flyovers also carry broader implications.

Elevated roadways can negatively impact surrounding communities by increasing noise and air pollution, reducing property values, and altering the visual and cultural character of neighbourhoods.

Importantly, there is also evidence that flyovers may not effectively resolve congestion. Dr. Walter Hook, Executive Director of the Institute for Transportation and Development Policy, has noted that “ elevated roads are not the solution to increasing traffic in urban areas,” as they often shift congestion rather than eliminate it.

If flyovers are not the optimal solution, what alternatives exist?

There are several practical and potentially more effective options.

Improving and modernising public transportation should be a priority, alongside enhancing road design and traffic management systems. Smaller, targeted interventions – implemented collectively – may yield greater longterm benefits than a single large-scale project.

For example, the city of Rio de Janeiro, with a population of 6.7 million, has successfully implemented reversible one-way traffic systems during peak hours, reducing travel times by as much as 60 per cent.

Such measures, supported by active traffic management, demonstrate that innovative yet relatively low-cost solutions can produce meaningful results.

Contribute more to congestion

Maximising the people-carrying capacity of existing roadways is also critical. Sixty commuters travelling in private vehicles occupy significantly more space and contribute more to congestion than the same number of commuters using a single bus.

Encouraging ride-sharing and improving the reliability of public transportation can therefore play a role in alleviating traffic pressures.

The Barbados Trailway Project, which follows the old railway line, represents another initiative. By encouraging walking, cycling and other forms of sustainable transport, it promotes healthier lifestyles, reduces congestion, and creates opportunities for small businesses along the route.

It also has the potential to enhance Barbados’ appeal as a destination for eco-conscious tourism.

Additional practical measures have already been identified and deserve serious consideration.

These include establishing a more disciplined and reliable bus and minibus system, expanding bus lay-bys and enforcing their use, improving parking in Bridgetown, repairing potholes that slow traffic and damage vehicles, enhancing road markings – particularly at slip lanes – and improving the coordination of traffic lights.

The development of Park and Ride facilities on key routes into The City could also significantly reduce congestion.

At a broader level, the risks associated with large-scale projects must not be overlooked. Governments, in their eagerness to deliver visible solutions, may underestimate both costs and timelines. Experience shows that major projects cost more than initially projected.

The recent CARIFESTA XV expenditure provides a stark example. Initially expected to cost BDS$4 million, the final figure reached BDS$31.7 million – an overrun of 692 per cent.

Regardless of how the spending is justified, such outcomes point to serious deficiencies in financial planning and project management, and ultimately place an unnecessary burden on taxpayers.

Barbados has long had a Public Investment Unit within the Ministry of Finance and Economic Affairs, yet recurring cost overruns and delays suggest that existing oversight mechanisms may not be functioning as effectively as they should. A thorough review of project planning, execution, and accountability processes is therefore essential.

Ultimately, governments, policymakers, and investors must be held accountable for the decisions they make. Addressing traffic congestion requires not only innovative thinking, but disciplined execution, rigorous analysis, and a commitment to transparency.

Barbados cannot afford costly missteps. Any solution must be carefully evaluated to ensure it delivers real, sustainable benefits to the country and its people.

John Beale is a former Ambassador to the US and the OAS and an international banker.

16. Hants,

Thank you!

17. BARBADOS IS NOT A SAFE HARBOUR – FOR HISTORY IS NOT ON YOUR SIDE!!!

The reverberations of the “FEUDAL SLAVE-OWNING CLASS OF RABID PALESKIN DEVILS” has brought the world to where it is today & they “HATE” the “TRUTH” because it exposes the “CRACK” in their “ARSES”!!!

They think & believe “MIGHT IS RIGHT” & that “PALESKIN” is a license to “KILL”!!!

They live by the “SWORD” & they will “DIE” by the “SWORD”!!!

#IranIsProofPositive

Last week, March 27th, I wrote a preface to what I believe will be a “MASS FISCAL SHOCK” to the island of Barbados, et al – given that the “MERCHANTS OF CAPITALISM, CAPTAINS OF INDUSTRY & THAT CLANDESTINE BOURGEOISIE OF MERCANTILE MONETARY MECHANICS”, (a vapid, vengeful, age-old snake-pit of pirates in the Caribbean & “OTHERS”) must see their “WEALTH” destroyed – by any & all means necessary!!!

THEY CAN RUN BUT THEY CANNOT HIDE FROM WHAT’S COMING

What is alarming is that the “GATEKEEPERS”, “SENTINELS ON THE WALLS” & those responsible for keeping an eye on the ball (CONTINUES TO FUMBLE)!!!

Allow me to explain my arguments

Let us begin

The #OilShock will exacerbate as #IsraHELL* will not end this war or “SURRENDER”(WITHOUT USING A NUKE) – #FullStop

Black gold will go from “EXPENSIVE” to “UNSUSTAINABLE”!

As a small island developing state with no domestic oil production, Barbados imports nearly all of its fuel…

The numbers are stark:

The 2022 precedent was set, when oil spiked to about $120 per barrel during the Ukraine War, and Barbados’s fuel import bill jumped from US$728 million (2019) to US$1.1 billion (2022) – 50% increase!

The 2026 Iranian threat will see oil potentially reaching US$200 per barrel or “HIGHER”!

Finance Minister Ryan Straughn and the PM, have both stated that no government-led “FISCAL RESPONSE” would be sufficient to absorb that kind of impact – for the “MATH” simply ‘doesn’t work’…”

This translates directly into the following life-changing anomalies –

(1) Higher electricity bills, even with the current fuel clause adjustment mechanism
    (2) Higher transport costs for both individuals and businesses
    (3) Higher production costs for all goods and services, as energy flows “through every artery of the economy”

SO I DO NOT CARE HOW MUCH CHEAP TALK IS OUT HERE – IT IS WHAT IT IS

Next – the vaunted tourism sector and the incoming “DOUBLE WHAMMY”!

Tourism accounts for over 22% of GDP in the Caribbean and is a primary driver of Barbados’s foreign exchange earnings and government revenue…

The extended Iranian conflict will hit BIM* from two directions simultaneously…

Higher “AIRFARES” and surging jet fuel costs will be passed on to passengers, making long-haul travel to Barbados significantly more expensive and potentially dampening-DOWN* demand!

Increasing consumer uncertainty and fluctuations means prolonged global instability which will make travellers hesitant to book international vacations!

The elephant in the room is reduced investor confidence, where bond markets are already reacting!

Since late February, Bajan dollar bonds have been underperforming, falling over 2.5% as traders factor in weaker tourism revenues!

This means that the “FISCAL SQUEEZE” on the “MOTTLEY CREW GOV* revenues vs. costs will result in the GOV* finding itself in a vice-grip!

On one side, the cost of running the country (fuel for public utilities, the public transport system, and government buildings) will be skyrocketing!

On the other hand, the economic slowdown and potential drop in tourism threaten to shrink tax revenues!

This “WILL” put significant pressure on the fiscal consolidation gains made in recent years.

Thus the “LONG-TERM-PLAN” will mean an aggressive push for energy independence which will be interesting to watch given the “MONOPOLIZATION” in this, and in other sectors!

In response to this clear and present danger, the MOTTLEY-CREW GOV* is not just waiting for the storm to hit – it is using the crisis to accelerate a long-planned energy transition with unprecedented urgency!

WILL SOBER HEADS PREVAIL OR WILL IT BE *REACTIONARY* MAYHEM AND BEDLAM

The National Colloquium on Energy Security, the GOV* has announced they will convene an urgent national meeting next month to shape immediate policy decisions.

(1) Battery storage facilities (a technology that could have been implemented [15 – 20] years ago, now the GOV* is fast-tracking the procurement of approximately 370 Megawatts of energy storage to stabilize the grid and allow for greater penetration of solar and wind power! (REACTIONARY)

Waste-to-Energy mobilization will see plans to convert the Mangrove Landfill into a green energy plant are being “REVISTED” to reduce dependence on imported fuel and manage waste costs! (REACTIONARY)

A “CALL” for “Behavioural Change” (THIS IS THE MOST INTERESTING ONE)!

In the short term, the GOV* is urging a “WARTIMESQUE”-like conservation efforts – where Finance Minister Straughn has “PLEADED” with citizens to “CARPOOL”, “USE PUBLIC TRANSPORT”, “TURN OFF ” unnecessary lights and appliances, “SET” air conditioners to 24-25°C, and “START KITCHEN GARDENS” to reduce the food import bill that is also tied to fuel prices! (REACTIONARY)

In a time of war, you cannot afford to have a “FRAGILE DEFENSE SHIELD” given that the “PERSIANS” will not relent – thus, “STRONG RESERVES” and backed-up IMF Support will be critical despite the dire warnings!

Barbados is not entering this crisis without defenses. The country has a Resilience and Sustainability Facility (RSF) arrangement with the IMF, with outstanding credit of SDR 141.75 million (approximately US$188 million).

More importantly, the Central Bank holds over US$3 Billion in foreign reserves, a historic high that provides a crucial buffer to defend the Barbadian dollar’s peg and manage the rising cost of essential imports – but how long will that last in a protracted war scenario – where monies are tight and common folks do not have expendable income?

My conclusion is stark without being #Doomsdayesque

Barbados is a nation on the precipice, and if the war continues through into April and May, and possibly further into the summer months – I shudder to think what I will be writing then (GOD WILLING)!

Barbados will likely face its most severe economic test since the COVID-19 PlanDEMIC*!

The government cannot prevent the pain of higher prices, but its thrusts in making a concerted effort to use the crisis as a catalyst for permanent change – which will test the very “METAL” of the entire nation!

The immediate outlook is one of belt-tightening, higher costs, and a heightened sense of vulnerability, but the long-term strategy is to finally break the cycle of dependence on imported oil, and create a more “FLUID” society – outside the gambit of “HAVES” and “HAVE-NOTS”!

On that insalubrious note

#ImDUN*

18. I was taught by my mentors that less was more.

19. David

My MO is experience….period! I am talking about weekly dealing with transport matters–how development impacts on traffic, public transport and infrastructure, and acceptable mitigation. I don’t have time to waste with you.

20. My MO is experience….period!
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    This inane comment epitomizes why nothing works in Brassbados.

In a world that has become so complex, interconnected, interdependent, fragile, and dangerous that only fools rush in where angels fear to go…

For anyone of ANY influence to even THINK that their ‘experience’ of past or present historical data is any reliable indication of their COMPETENCE to make successful decisions about the future – confirms certain ignorance.

This is why Trump attacked Iran, HIS MO was the Venezuela experience.
    It is why our sugar industry is being killed. The MO is Hard Wood and LIAT.
    It is why budgets ‘over-run’ by 800%, The MO is HOPE and STEAL houses.

Sound decision making can ONLY come from careful and meticulous consultation with REAL experts, full transparency, and honest communications.
    None of this is possible where there are hidden agendas – like the Epstein saga in the USA, and like our own list of opaque financial scandals.

Ours is a path to mass chaos.
    What a place… once so blessed!

21. William Skinner Avatar

Any attempt to introduce flyovers should take into consideration, whether we have the land space necessary. There may be serious matters such as relocating or demolishing buildings including houses. We need to also consider the maintenance required . At first glance the costs mentioned for the flyovers seem rather small.

22. perhaps we should look at having gondolas , which would run on wires ( raised platforms at various stops) faster cheaper than flyovers each cable car can carry over 30 people, no traffic, nice views, no pollution.this has been done in columbia, brazil and many countries nice way to do public transit.
    perhaps some of the oligarchs that have recently taken up residence in bim cam be persuaded to kick in some money

23. @William

The decision to construct flyovers appears to be a done deal.

24. William Skinner Avatar

@ This seems obvious ; we are left to ask what the so-called public consultations are all about. Another window dressing exercise ? Perusing various media , one is left to ask if we are really serious about the direction our country is heading. We are repeating ourselves daily and still trying to reinvent the wheel at every opportunity when it comes to public discourse. When we add essentially barren academia, the morass just continues to spread.

25. The government’s position is that there will be a separate consultation to address flyovers (if this make sense), and these four scheduled sessions are to solicit feedback from the public about the myriad of other options a available as part of a comprehensive traffic management strategy.

Time will tell.