The blogmaster received several requests to highlight the matter raised in today’s Sunday Sun (p.3) under the heading SQUATTING OUT OF CONTROL.

BU followers from the 2008 period will recall the issue of unbridled immigration frequently debated in this space. The blogmaster defended a position that unchecked immigration was not the best policy. There were many stories reported about Guyanese being taken advantage of in the construction sector. There is one story about pig pens being rented to Guyanese which still resonates with the blogmaster.

Then there was the Shanique Myrie affair which brought to the fore the growing number of night club dancers and prostitutes visiting Barbados to earn a living under the freedom of movement (CSME) arrangement.  To some of us who are not ostriches, we are aware it is big business – we have the island girls, however less is said about the Europeans on the West Coast here to do a similar job.

There were a few talking heads and bleeding hearts who promoted the view that the blogmaster was xenophobic for wanting to manage immigration to Barbados. In this matter we cannot give Ambassador to Caricom David Commisiong a pass. We respect the fact he is a declared regionalist, however, an ideology cannot be at the expense of being pragmatic or exercising commonsense. Practising open borders makes no sense for any country especially a small island like Barbados.

Today’s Sunday Sun story details what happens when national imperatives are sacrificed at the altar of stupidity. From 2007 when 36 squatters gathered at Rock Hall, St. Philip and were served notice to vacate the area to 2019 where the recent count is 300.

Aviation officials have complained that the galvanize roofs of the squatter’s (illegal)  houses pose a threat to air traffic. The blogmaster can say with certainty that in any well managed country squatters would not have been allowed to plant houses in the zone space of an international airport. And importantly now that it has been brought again to public attention, no sensible member of parliament for the area would be quoted as follows: –

I am doing a compilation of the information. We are collating data on the situation at Rock Hall. We went out in the field in about three occasions, but there is so much to compile…[the exercise he said was not about] chasing people off the land.

Really Minister Indar Weir? You must be given the award for the WTF statement.

Here is what we know, we have 300 hundred illegal structures built in an airport zone. Here it is we are being told, Barbados is proceeding to acquire Category I designation and your enlightened government has been turning a blind eye to the squatting at Rock Hall?

The other point to note is that YOU Minister Weir and representative for St. Phillip South would have canvassed this areas just over one year ago to solicit votes. What collating data on the situation what!

You politicians are all the Rh same. The blogmaster recalls Don Blackman and Trevor Prescod doing the same as you dealing with the squatters in the water zone of the Belle many years ago.

209 responses to “Successive Governments Turn Blind Eye to Squatters at Grantley Adams International Airport”

1. http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/money-laundering-fraud-charges-marlene-four-others?fbclid=IwAR1y_HAp0rTpB0B-pV90j8J4F5yqVLs6Ov3-94qWhJK0ywFq5Uz0NDhuTn8

This is how corruption is addressed…in countries SERIOUS about stamping it out…the Mia government is yet to get serious and want to hold on to corruption at all cost to the citizens..

2. @ SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife August 11, 2019 8:32 PM

A profound reply.

@ Greene August 11, 2019 8:39 PM

We are all squatters no matter where we come from. We are squatters for three score and ten if we are in luck..

3. “We are all squatters no matter where we come from. We are squatters for three score and ten if we are in luck..

You have no clue how profound that comment. Some british people when on vacation openly state for some to hear…why the hell did UK leave this lovely island to these stupid people….they have become emboldened enuff to make thatstatement. Although UK dont own shit either cause the sea will RECLAIM what it owns eventually. Everybody think they own what they did not put anywhere.

4. And the ROT in Barbados continues unabated. When ya corrupt ya CANNOT make any significant changes to benefit ya people.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=1090942474448624&id=100005986451739&sfnsn=mo

5. While successive BLP & DLP administrations allow illegal Guyanese immigrants to squat on lands owned either privately or by the crown, the Guyanese government, through the Central Housing and Planning Authority (CH&PA), has been taking a different approach to the problem of squatting.

The following excerpts were taken from the May 29, 2019 edition of Stabroek News:

“The Central Housing and Planning Authority (CH&PA) has taken measures to REMOVE persons SQUATTING along the reserve at Edinburgh on the West Coast of Demerara.”

“A release from the Department of Public Information (DPI) related that it (CH&PA) has ENCOUNTERED CHALLENGES with an INCREASE in SQUATTING in CERTAIN AREAS. Particular mention was made of the government reserve west of the Cornelia Ida Cemetery in Edinburgh, where CH&PA was forced to DEMOLISH structures, AFTER ISSUING SEVERAL WARNINGS to the occupants.”

“………… ‘The authority is addressing any house lot applications from the squatters with expediency. However, the Head of the Enforcement Unit REMINDED that SQUATTING is ILLEGAL and URGED the squatters to be in COMPLIANCE with Guyana’s LAWS and to apply for house lots through CH&PA,’ the release stated.”

A report also indicated that, in Guyana, squatters who squat on large pieces of private land often do so as an ECONOMIC VENTURE. They go in families, with each member STAKING out a parcel of land and then INDULGE in “SELLING” land.

Sounds similar to what’s occurring at Rock Hall?

It’s a pity these illegal Guyanese immigrants are blatantly refusing to be in compliance with our laws.

6. NorthernObserver Avatar

So now it is ferners squatting it’s a problem. Meanwhile Bajans been squatting for years. Ask Mugabe how her family acquired property in Fontabelle.
    The AudG noted we even build roads to enable access to unimproved lands. Then the Don of the squatting mafia extracts payments for living on “their” land.

7. Northern…lol

what can we say…lol

something gotta give though..ENUFF IS ENUFF…

8. ” Aviation officials have complained that the galvanize roofs of the squatter’s (illegal) houses pose a threat to air traffic.”

If this is true what are the authorities waiting for? An “accident ” to prove there is a problem with unpainted galvanise roofs?

With regards to the “squatting”. 300 houses equals an estimated 1000 people living, shitting and pissing in an unregulated area.get my drift?

Is there running water, electricity and toilets?

What does the Minister of Health have to say ?

9. @Hants

This is a problem created by politicians of all shades.

It exposes how political influence continues to influence decisions by those responsible for enforcing the law.

It is not a simple case of demolishing homes at their stage. There has to be a humane handling of the matter and alternative sites found for those that satisfy legal obligation on the part of the state.

10. @ David,

Why don’t they paint the roofs since there is an apparent threat to Aviation?

They can leave the houses until ” alternative sites found “.

11. @Hants

Now the matter is choking the newsfeed we will see what permanent and bandaid solutions are implemented. The blogmaster has pointed to the underlying issue here and it is the political influence we know exist in every sphere we govern in Barbados.

12. @ David,

The PM has a master plan. read my post above at August 11, 2019 6:16 PM

13. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@John A August 11, 2019 9:22 PM

You are so right.

14. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@SirFuzzy (Former Sheep) August 11, 2019 9:51 PM “NO NO and NO for the simple facts that not all 30 MPs elected have balls. So as all of them don’t have balls.”

Do we have any EVIDENCE that our members of Parliament with balls are better at doing the WORK which the TAXPAYERS PAY THEM to do, than those members of this Parliament and all previous ones without balls?

Asking for a friend.

15. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

Just ruminating here. If people with balls are better at making decisions than people without balls how come every single country in the world has more prisoners with balls than prisoners without balls.

Just asking for a friend.

16. @ Hants August 12, 2019 12:33 PM
    “With regards to the “squatting”. 300 houses equals an estimated 1000 people living, shitting and pissing in an unregulated area.get my drift?
    Is there running water, electricity and toilets?”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Good one there, Hants!

Are you insinuating that the BWA and Emera aka BL&P have been complicit in the massive increase in squatters?

Are land/property taxes levied and collected on these properties? Is the BRA also complicit in this squatting mania?

The government cannot talk in one breath about the need for Barbados to have a ‘bigger’ population to prop up the ‘graying’ NIS and then does not have the land space and utilities to support it.

Where are the hundreds of imported nurses going to live if not in places like Penny Hole?

17. @ Miller,

You can read between the lines. lol

18. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Hants August 12, 201912:33 PM “1000 people living, shitting and pissing in an unregulated area.get my drift? Is there running water, electricity and toilets? What does the Minister of Health have to say?”

A Simple Response: Nothing.

19. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

To clarify the aviation issue for Hants and others, according to the Sunday Sun of August 11, 2019, page 3A:

“An aviation official stated that there were still concerns at the airport about the illegal structures, since metallic roofing was BANNED within the airport’s zone space. The official said that the Grantley Adams International Airport was able to acquire the land stretching to the boundary of the squatter village from the Canadian landowner before the squatters took it over. The airport’s development plan also included all of that land occupied by the squatters. “They were supposed to be moved a long time ago so that that land could be acquired by the airport,” he said. So serious was the situation that in 2007 Mitchinson Beckles, the director of civil aviation said that the metallic roofs were creating a deflective surface to the radar energy which was then being deflected up to the aircraft, sometimes resulting in air traffic controllers seeing an aircraft at two different positions on the same screen.”

So it seems to me that there is a long history of politicians, BOTH parties ignoring excellent technical advice.

It seems to me also it is not just the brightness of the metal roofs, but the fact that they are made of metal, and that painting the roofs will not alleviate the problem.

So it seems to me that there is some danger that one day the aircraft controller will bring in the “phantom” aircraft and not the actual one, and that therefore both air passengers, and the squatters on the ground will be in danger or dead.

My closest family members have to travel a lot for work and for school.

So “yes” the situation scares me.

20. CARICOM member states, with the exception of The Bahamas and Montserrat are legally bound to grant CARICOM nationals the right to remain for a period of six months, PROVIDED they are NOT a SECURITY RISK and they can DEOMINSTRATE the ABILITY NOT to become a CHARGE upon the State during their stay.

If the squatters at Rock Hall have been identified as illegal Guyanese, Jamaican and Vincentians immigrants, then,

………. on the basis of them being illegal clearly indicates they breached the six month stay;

………. squatting at Rock Hall and posing a threat to air traffic, can be reasonable interpreted a s a security risk;

………. and if government regularize their living status as is being suggested by Indar Weir, then their legal status must be regularized as well. This means these non-national squatters have to be relocated on land provided by government, which must be developed to facilitate roads, street lights, and water connections…… all at the EXPENSE of taxpayers.

Would this not create a situation where these non-nationals would become a charge upon the state?

Please note, according to CARICOM’S Right of Establishment as it relates to a CARICOM national being deemed “undesirable”:

“The Court has stated that to consider a CARICOM national “undesirable” he/she must be a genuine, present and sufficiently serious threat affecting one of the fundamental interests of society, such as the protection of public morals, maintenance of public order and safety, protection of life and health.”

What is the above information “telling us?”

21. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

But since misery loves company. I am comforted by the fact that the political class also travel a lot for their/our work, and perhaps for their own recreation. So their own lives may also be at risk. We have just one airport, and they too have to use it.

That comforts me.

A lot.

22. @WURA-War-on-U August 12, 2019 9:08 AM

“why the hell did UK leave this lovely island to these stupid people”

If the above statement is an actual depiction of facts on the ground, I can see why they would say so. You only have see the pompous asses of the judiciary in their gowns and wigs parading through the hot sunshine to know that we have some idiots (sleaze-bags) in high positions, I wonder if they are on Botox; don’t see much sweating and wiping of the brows. It is just like Hans Christian Andersen ‘s The King’s New clothes ( everyone was saying how beautiful the clothes apart from a little boy ,who realized that the king was jack-ass naked) and he shouted out saying so. Barbadians are like the crowd, seeing what they want to see..

23. “So it seems to me that there is a long history of politicians, BOTH parties ignoring excellent technical advice”

that tells us all we need to know about both useless governments…they just DON’T CARE…never have, never will…

it’s past due time to rid the island of these parasites…..one set are already gone…the next set is due a kick in the ass…out of the parliament..

24. Robert…they destroyed the island, hence the brits who could see the destruction are quite vocal, ya done know if they could grab it from these idiots, they would in a blink of an eye…and the bribe loving dummies would sell it too…then have nowhere to go cause i would make sure to tell Africa to ban their corrupt asses….from the continent.

…the miseducated, arrogant and uppity negros of course cannot see themselves for the total failures and jackasses that they are….

25. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@WURA-War-on-U August 12, 2019 9:08 AM ““why the hell did UK leave this lovely island to these stupid people”

We are NOT stupid.

The U.K did not leave this lovely island to us, because this lovely island NEVER belonged to the U.K. in the first place.

If you think that Barbados belonged to the U.K you will have to let me see “the clause in Adam’s will which excluded me from my share when the world was being divided.”

26. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

In any event, the whole of the Americas, from Canada to Argentina to Antarctica belongs to the Spanish. I know this because the Pope said so, and we all know that the Pope is INFALLIBLE, and reports only to GOD.

Following Columbus’ discovery, Pope Alexander VI issued a May 4, 1493, papal bull GRANTING OFFICIAL OWNERSHIP OF THE NEW WORLD TO FERDINAND AND ISABELLA. To these monarchs, the Pope declared:

“We of our own motion, and not at your solicitation, do give, concede, and assign FOR EVER to you and YOUR SUCCESSORS, all the islands, and main lands, discovered; and which may hereafter, be discovered, towards the west and south; whether they be situated towards India, or towards any other part whatsoever, and give you absolute power in them.”

This papal bull has NEVER been revoked.

Even though modern people may believe that it is bullsh!t.

Lolll!!!

27. @Simple Simon

Your point is made let us stay with the substantive matter being discussed.

28. Again the question – is it unreasonable for Ambassador David Commisiong to offer a comment on this matter realizing that Caribbean citizens are involved?

29. @David August 12, 2019 11:44 PM

With all due respect, I don’t see who is living in Rock Hall as the issue. The fact that the majority of people in the island have to get TCP permission to erect permanent structures and folks in squatter communities are apparently not required to do so is extremely vexing. Additionally, we have the minister of agriculture stating that he is making field trips and gathering data to regularise the status of the squatters. One would have thought that he would leave the issue to be dealt with by the prime minister, who is responsible for TCP, and the officers in that department, and concentrate of food security for the country.

30. …concentrate on food security for the country.*

31. @ Bajan in NY

The Rock Hall squatters are in Indar Weir’s constituency.

32. So what’s new about this situation? Who remembers the pimple that was Rockers Alley and was left to fester until it grew into a cold boil in the heart of our principal city, Bridgetown?

All of the brains and brawn in Barbados appeared incapable of resolving a simple side street being overtaken by a group of apparently uncivilized and indisciplined people. Anyone remember the smell of vegetable matter as it went up in smoke? Or the fresh, rich smell of urine?

And now we want to take on a whole village? Gimme a break. It would be easier to relocate the airport.

33. Commisiong mouth should remain closed so far his utterances on matters pretaining to immigrants has made him look like a fool
    So foolish that he had to resort to cowardice position in the Haitian issue
    This is too big an issue for Commisiong to boldly speak on since many of those squatters have family members who are voters and it would be highly
    unlikely that Comissiong would want to rock the political boat

34. Robert Goren August 13, 2019 1:36 AM

That is the blasted problem…rather that let the TCP do its job, a jackass MP for the area wants to call the shots. Mia will have to show us if she is serious about orderly development or she is just all talk.

35. According to Ralph Jemmott, some sqatters are brazenly flying the flag of their country from properties.

36. David BU

Ralph Jemmott is correct.

A squatter has a Jamaican flag painted on the front of his/her house.

I believe the TCP and the minister under whose portfolio that department falls, should be held responsible for the situation at Rock Hall.

We’re now hearing “it would be difficult to ask someone to demolish a two-storey house given the considerable investment that would have been made.” As such, government should provide land for the squatters to purchase under terms and conditions similar to those under the Tenantries Freehold Purchase Act.

The underlying sentiment being expressed is that, by allowing the number of squatters to move from 36 to over 300 is government’s fault, so government should provide land for these people to relocate.

I was reminded that some years ago when Harold Blackman was Minister of Housing, he ordered the removal of people squatting on land in the Zone 1 area in the Belle……. and then parliamentary representative for that constituency, Don Blackman, told them not to move. They remain there to this day.

Although H. Blackman and D. Blackman sat on opposite sides of the fence, Harold still “had Don’s back.”

Almost everything controlled by the civil service is badly managed.

For example, loans were disbursed by the Urban and Rural Development Commissions to prospective entrepreneurs for the purpose of financing small businesses. Several recipients refuse to repay the loans after making the initial payments, resulting in them being indebted to UDC & RDC. Many of these loans are still outstanding and may have been deemed “uncollectable.” The officers charged for ensuring the repayment of loans were obviously not doing their jobs.

How about the NHC. Tenants in some cases used to pay $75 rent per month for a unit. Officers charged with collecting rents allowed those tenants to run up arrears, in some cases, of over $5,400, which is rent not collected for 6 years ($75 x 12 x 6). In the private sector, those rent collection officers would have been fired.

Some unscrupulous business people deduct NIS and income tax from their employees’ salaries/wages and do not remit those deductions to the NI Department and BRA respectively. Then there is the situation where they don’t file value added, income or corporation tax returns, which is often over-looked by the enforcement officers.

As it relates to the NIS, there is a friend of mine who, after working with her employer for 40 years, was forced to retire medically unfit. Unfortunately, in the private sector, when someone retires MU, the employer is not obligated to pay them gratuity, but should be guided by their conscience. This lady’s employer, although deducting NIS from her wages, did not remit the deductions to NIS in its entirety, causing the poor lady to be paid based on what was actually paid in. Her employer also knows someone working in NIS……. who acted on the employer’s behalf.

Check the Courts. Could you imagine people go to Court on a charge and it is discovered that those individuals have outstanding fines from 5 or 6 years prior to their current Court cases?

As it relates to rent, taxes, national insurance, court fines, etc, the general sentiment is, “Man, look, dis is gov’ment and yuh en got to pay.”

Hence, the situation with squatters should not be surprising.

37. @Artax

Thanks for adding detail. A reasonable perspective.

38. Prime Minister Mottley addresses the Rock Hall squatting matter @1hr.20min of the press conference.

https://www.facebook.com/BarbadosLabourParty/videos/371143050231535/

39. Here we go again Mia taking taxpayers money and doing whatever she dam please
    Was this grandiose propsal of free land for the squatters laid out in parliament or is this another continuation of free give aways this govt has been throwing around
    How come Mottley can be so generous to squatters but cant find money for retrenched workers or release invaldity payments
    This dictatorship keeps rolling along at rapid speed
    Time soon come when bajans would asking “wuh happen”

40. One year gone and not a wird on having a growth plan
    Yet Mia can take taxpayers money and use it like an ATM which have a subliminal effect of buying votes
    Tax waivers
    White Oaks million dollar deal
    Maloney getting huge chunks of Coverly
    And the poor ask to stay the course and pull the debt laden wagon
    Yeap a govt for the privilege
    While the poor suck salt

41. Rememba wha he said ?

42. Hope govt paying attention to America new laws for residence status and are well prepared and with the implementation of policies put in place to aid returning nationals who cannot meet the required laws to acquire legal immigration status
    Govt would be foolhardly to belive that leaving returning nationals out in the cold to fend for themselves while giving free give aways to foreigners by slight of hand would appease or be popular amongst the masses

43. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Mariposa August 17, 2019 5:12 AM ” release invaldity payments”

Maybe because too many of the “invalids” are NOT invalids?

Everybody looking for a easy ride on the backs of the taxpayers.

44. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

@Mariposa August 17, 2019 11:57 AM “Hope govt paying attention to America new laws for residence status.”

People have to be sensible and look out for themselves.

What government needs to advise people to do is when you migrate, take out your citizenship papers as soon as you become eligible. Don’t wait until you are sick or unemployed or imprisoned. In today’s Nation one of the Rock Hall squatters is reporting as having said “I left Barbados in 1976 and lived in America for 30 years. I was sent back here with no place to live, disabled and unable to work, with noo funds. That is how I end up in here.

Even if he moved to America at aged 18, he ought still to have 12 years of work in the most vibrant economy in the world.

So what happened?

45. SirSimpleSimonPresidentForLife Avatar

But i suppose that governments everywhere have to take care of the bad, the mad, and the sad. That is why to problem is described as complex.

46. All i am saying is the same way govt putting plans in place to help squatters
    Hope govt have a similar plan for returning nationals who do not meet the required legal immigration laws in America
    After all they are barbadians forced to leave their homeland because of economic problems most likely in need of jobs and forced to look elsewhere as a matter of choosing

47. We have heard from experts the potential danger galvanize roofs on the houses at Rock Hall are causing aircraft. Last week there was a report the squatters have said they are not moving.

What is happening in Barbados? How have successive governments allowed political positions to bring us to our knees?

48. Political expediency and opportunistic greed would be the downfall of barbados
    First of all the squatters by law can stay
    However govt can use legal avenues to have them remove given that there is an aviation safety concern (that is if govt desire to do so) without granting them any special favours
    The next solution would be a bull dozer fast and swift
    But govt would first have to warn them
    Oh what a tangled web we weave when we practised to deceived