The short video was shared by longtime BU family member Bentley. The views shared by the presenter should resonate with Barbadians given the unerring similarities in the policy direction of the Mottley government. Many should recall that the blogmaster also shared similar concerns when Guyanese and others flooded into Barbados a few years ago.

It is a matter of commonsense that there should be a structured approach to managing how immigrants assimilate into the local population; impact on social services, ring fencing the barbadianna identity to name just a few.

Instead the country has become distracted by rising crime, tint, wiretapping and a myriad of issues. Newsflash: Unbridled immigration is also a ticking time bomb as we are see unfolding in Germany.

I am now watching this very interesting video on Germany on YouTube and can’t help but think of the near parallels with Barbados. Barbados native population has been steadily decreasing over the years but has been propped up by immigration mainly from the other islands. However of late as a result of labor shortages especially in the construction industry we’re seeing huge inflows of workers from all over including South America and as far afield as China. This is something we need to pay special attention to.

– Bentley

39 responses to “Gambling on immigration to survive”

1. Immigrants make countries
    Immigrants don’t break countries
    Cultures mix like making babies
    listening to baby making music

Fear of the stranger. The technical name for this is xenophobia. All phobias are by definition irrational. Nevertheless, they have a huge impact. It is understandable that many people are scared by the unknown, especially if they’ve been told illegality and unfairness are part of the story.

What does go forth and multiply mean?
    Alteration of the biblical phrase ‘be fruitful and multiply’, a commandment to have many offspring.

Beyond the Hill lies a valley,
    Beyond the valley lies a sea,
    Beyond the sea is my baby,
    Patiently waiting for me

Take care of yourself,
    Take good care of yourself,
    Although I am so far away,
    Still my heart is for you,
    I don’t know what I’m going to do,
    ‘Till I am with you

I’m gonna find me a boat,
    To take me up the river,
    Beyond the valley,
    Across the sea,
    Where she is waiting,
    I hope she is waiting,
    Patiently for me

Beyond the mountain,
    Beyond the valley,
    Beyond the sea,
    Waiting for me

Jah Jah knows that I’ll be coming,
    Jah Jah will gide me along the way,
    On the way
    Yes, on the way
    On the way to you

Bim Sherman, Beyond The Hill, Beyond The Hill Dub, Melting Pot (Part 2)

2. Germany has a long and inglorious history of racism.
    Tell me if I am lying.

3. Yet millions of brown people flock there yearly. Go figure.

4. Trust the usual suspects to jump in with their simplistic and politically scripted jobby.

This is a matter of BASIC COMMON SENSE presented by Bentley.
    No wonder then, the confusion…

Family is family. Blood is not water.
    It takes STRONG COMMITMENTS (like marriage) for outsiders to qualify to join that bond.
    The SENSIBLE reason for such a tradition relates to CLAN survival, respect for one’s ancestors, and for the family traditions (culture).

Of course someone who is ashamed of their heritage, suffers from low self-esteem, or where mendicancy is ingrained – could easily be inclined to open up their family doors to all and sundry on a whim… hoping for a berry to drop… after all what have such life failures to lose?

But REAL people – who respect themselves and their family traditions, would tend to be MUCH more discriminating…

5. Dub 555 is an internet bot and should not be taken seriously.

This is what happens when you have uncontrolled immigration.

Mia’s economic model is influenced by neo liberals. Barbados is being primed to allow for the free movement of people and to allow for all areas of their economy to be governed and controlled by foreign financiers.

https://saharareporters.com/2025/07/27/nigerians-must-go-ghanaians-protest-accra-blame-nigerians-insecurity-demand-expulsion

6. @Bush Tea August 14, 2025 at 2:39 pm “It takes STRONG COMMITMENTS (like marriage) for outsiders to qualify to join that bond.”

Even while about 40% of marriages end in divorce, and about half the 60% who remain married, half of them living like cat and dog?

Stupseee!!!

How I wish that marriage was a strong indicator of commitment.

7. LIFE BETWEEN ISLANDS
    Soundsystem Culture: Black Musical Expression in the UK
    Tunes like Tabby Cat Kelly’s sublimely mournful Don’t Call Us Immigrants offered the feelings of the first British-born generation of black kids. “what’s a joke to you is death to me.. I’ll respect your colour if you respect mine”.

8. With many Caribbean countries selling passports, one has to ask… Will these new citizens have the same freedom of movement as those born within the Caribbean?

Will our immigration department be able to (1) identify and (2) do a serious background check into the origin and history of those ‘new’ citizens?

Wheels are off the bus…

9. “Even while about 40% of marriages end in divorce, and about half the 60% who remain married, half of them living like cat and dog?”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    True dat!!
    It takes good ingredients to make good food.
    There are Enuff men-haters, women beaters, strife-makers and all-out demons around, to make your statement unfortunately true…

But you could always get hitched to one of your grands…
    That should work for you.

10. Was that really necessary? I think NOT.

11. Persons receiving citizenship through the Citizenship by Investment Programs of Dominica, and St. Kitts & Nevis, for example, have similar rights and privileges as native Dominicans and Kittitians.

12. In a related matter as reported in the press, there is an extensive job evaluation exercise currently being undertaken on the public sector. This has provoked a statement from the NUPW that no redundancies are planned. A little premature one would think. Also what usually comes out of a job evaluation project is change in roles and responsibilities of employees which historically has been a big deal to implement in Barbados. One can recall the rollout of BRA and the switch out to Statutory Board at the QEH as two examples. Good luck with it!

13. I believe the onus should be on the territory issuing the citizenship, “to do a serious background check into the origin and history of” the applicant, before processing and approving his/her application.

The CBI programs in both Dominica and St. Kitts are known for their rigorous due diligence.
    Perhaps one of the main reasons why the application process takes three (3) to six (6) months.

However, let’s assume, ‘for argument’s sake,’ an individual from ‘Country X’ migrates to the USA, and is successful in his/her applications to become an American citizen, and obtain a passport.

If that individual travels to Barbados, would our immigration department be expected to identify him/her, and do a serious background check into his/her origin and history?

14. @Bush Tea August 15, 2025 at 9:35 am “But you could always get hitched to one of your grands…That should work for you.

Mostly MEN do incest and paedophilia. Maybe you too?

Not me.

I am not male, nor am I mentally ill.

Be off do.

15. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    The rigour in the Dominican appointment of their ambassador to Malaysia….His Excellency Dato Ali Reza Monfared. Skerritt “threatened” to sue Al Jazeera for their documentary.
    Later, the CBC (Canadian version) did a documentary of a wealthy Cdn film technology owner and his wife, murdered in Dominica where they lived, by an American who was reportedly a CBI individual. This led to a deeper look at CBI.
    It was claimed CBI revenue accounted for 70% of total GoD revenue. Not to mention the “facilitation” fees paid to help with the CBI application, by certain applicants.
    While similar exists in larger countries too, albeit requiring much larger “investments”, with residency requirements, the mere reason persons would seek a new ‘citizenship’, suggests the benefit to them exceeds the cost, and raises flags. Diplomatic immunity, while not officially for sale, is one of the more expensive add-on options.

16. David
    What similarity? Bim taking in refugees from war torn countries after years of managed population growth? I wonder where in Bim is the equivalent of the Ruhr, certainly not 4 construction sites.🤭

17. @ NO

Read the Al Jazeera article you referred to, after I came across the name, ‘Dato Ali Reza Monfared.’ ‘Reza’ piqued my interest, because it’s a popular Persian name, which simply means ‘satisfaction or contentment’ in English.

Without going into details, Al Jazeera claimed Monfared, with the help of Manoj Bhullar, was allegedly able to purchase an ambassadorial appointment and Dominican diplomatic passport, through the island’s CBI program, and after meeting with PM Skerritt.
    It was also alleged $400,000 was donated to Skerritt’s re-election campaign.

Skerritt denied the accusations.

The Dominican PM was allegedly directly involved in the ‘transaction,’ which did not conform to the ordinary process of applying for CBI.

Let’s look at applying for a passport. Under ordinary circumstances, it takes an applicant two (2) weeks to apply for and collect his/her passport…… as opposed to one (1) day, if the applicant knows an Immigration Officer.
    Does circumventing the application process makes the passport illegal?

But, we are all aware of “West Indian politicians” and their ADDICTION to using legitimate programs to enrich themselves.

As it relates to the Canadian Daniel Langlois, and his partner, Dominique Marchand, who were murdered by an American-born chocolate producer and property owner, Johnathan Lehrer, and Robert Thomas Snider.
    It’s alleged that Langlois and Lehrer were involved in a legal dispute over a land issue, ‘dating back several years.’

Surely, you can’t blame the CBI program for what can be described as a crime of passion.

I’m just offering another perspective.

However, let me state for the record, I’m NOT in FAVOUR of any CBI program, and hope Mia Mottley does not introduce it to Barbados.

If it is, ‘yuh dun know dem greedy politicians gine run amok in Bahbadus, Iyah.’

18. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Artax
    There was no blame on the CBI program for the murder, rather the subsequent CBC documentary initially focused on the murder, sidetracked into the the CBI program, it was here things got dicey.
    Persons who previously were very vocal about the murder, suddenly lost speech capabilities when their connection to CBI was mentioned. Interviews ended abruptly.
    It became fairly obvious this was an ‘elite operation’, with ‘connected persons’. While unsurprising, it seems apparent several people do very well from this program. And once it accounts for 70 % of annual National gross revenue, the need to ‘keep it going’ a must. All such things have a saturation level, beyond which, the ‘rigour’ becomes ‘more flexible’.

19. @Enuff

You may continue to ignore how unplanned immigration is changing Barbados society and its consequences.

20. @ David

We’ve been having these immigration discussions for years.

Remember when the late Owen Arthur’s BLP administration was accused of ALLOWING uncontrolled immigration to the island?

That decision was said to have created an ‘immigration problem,’ as a result of an increased number of undocumented immigrants from regional territories, specifically Guyana.

At that time individuals such as Dr. Don Marshall and Peter Wickham supported Barbados opening its borders to all and sundry.

Barbadians who publicly EXPRESSED CONCERN about Arthur’s open border policy and the INFLUX of Guyanese were called XENOPHOBES.
    A concern that seemed to have infuriated people such as the late Ricky Singh and Norman Faria.

On June 28, 2008, the late David Thompson’s DLP administration established a Cabinet Sub-Committee on Immigration, to conceptualise and implement a new, comprehensive immigration policy.

I remember his comment, “ever so welcome, wait for a call.”

Thompson also announced the implementation of the ‘Barbados first’ amnesty on May 5, 2009, which led to the compulsory deportation of Guyanese from Barbados.

Were Barbadians ‘WRONG’ to ask simple questions about several undocumented Guyanese who came to Barbados believing they were entitled to SQUAT on people’s property or hawk produce anywhere they please, and break our laws?

21. @Artax

Barbados at the time was very much considered a magnet country, although to a lesser degree of recent. Our regional policy on immigration seems to be fueled by our unwavering commitment to CSME and CARICOM at the risk of ensuring common sense safeguards are maintained to protect local interests. Is this because of the prominence of ideologues advising Mottley like Commissiong et al?

22. I AM DUMBFOUNDED BY THE HISTORICAL IGNORANCE OF MEN WHO ARE SUPPOSED TO BE BRIGHT LIGHTS! MOREOVER, THE DEBASEMENT OF THE FACTS WHICH OFTEN LEADS TO TRUTH REMAINS MIRED IN SPIN, INTRIGUE, GASLIGHTING & MYRIAD OF TRANSHUMANIST PHILOSOPHICAL PENCHANTS THAT COATS EVERYTHING WITH A VENEER OF GOBBLE-DE-GOOK!!!

Any “HUMAN” with a semblance of intellectual bandwidth would recognize that “MIGRATION STUDIES” is so complex that it is not possible to cover all the bases with one stroke of a sweeping brush!!!

Let me explain:

Most commentators “REFUSE” to acknowledge the role that “MARIO BERGOGLIO” played in this sorry saga of “TRANSMIGRATION”!!!

The relationship between Pope Francis’s Laudato Si’, its sociopolitical mandates, and contemporary migration challenges in Western nations involves a complex interplay of theology, environmental ethics, and geopolitical realities!!!

My analytical framework is simple ( NOT ANTI-CATHOLIC BASHING) but serious intellectual & academic proficiency given all the vagaries of this complex subject…

The Core Tenets of Laudato Si’ Drove Migration Advocacy & Still Does

Environmental Degradation as a Migration Driver:

The encyclical explicitly links climate change and ecological crises to forced displacement, arguing that “environmental deterioration” (e.g., droughts, floods) destroys livelihoods, pushing vulnerable populations to migrate…

Rejection of “Overpopulation” Narratives:

Contrary to Malthusian perspectives, Laudato Si’ (¶50) asserts that demographic growth is compatible with sustainable development, blaming overconsumption – not population size – for ecological crises…

Moral Imperative for Open Borders:

Framing migration as a response to “STRUCTURAL SINS” (e.g., resource extraction by wealthy nations), the text demands “GENEEROUS OPENNESS” to migrants as a form of climate justice…

Policy Impacts:

From Theology to Sociopolitical Mandates – Demographic Revitalization as “Antidote”,
    Pope Francis later expanded Laudato Si”s principles, declaring “MIGRATION” as an “antidote to demographic decline” in aging Western societies (2024). He argued that low birth rates threaten economic stability and that migrants replenish workforces, fund social services, and revitalize cultures…

THE OTHER SIDE OF THE COIN & THE STING IN TAIL WAS THE (De)HOMOGENIZATION OF CAUCASOID CULTURE INTO A MORE SEMI-AUTONOMOUS BIOLOGICAL MONGRELOID RACE OF PEOPLE – A DILUTION OR STRENGTHENING OF THE ALBINO-CENTRIC GENOTYPE

Catholic Institutional Mobilization & Advocacy Networks:

Vatican-aligned organizations (e.g., Caritas, Jesuit Refugee Service) lobbied for expanded asylum pathways, citing Laudato Si”s “integral ecology” to fuse environmental and migrant rights…

Local Church Actions:

Dioceses in Europe and the U.S. launched “SANCTUARY CITIES” initiatives, housing undocumented migrants and challenging deportation policies…

Political Leverage & Influence on EU Policy:

The Vatican’s 2015 – 2024 lobbying correlated with the EU’s increased refugee quotas and funding for migrant integration…

U.S. Immigration Debates:

Bishops cited Laudato Si’ to oppose border walls and support DACA, framing restrictions as violations of the “culture of encounter”…

Unintended Consequences:

Fueling “Transmigration Problems” – Strained Host Communities Resource Competition:

Rapid migrant influxes to Europe (e.g., Germany, Sweden) intensified housing shortages and welfare-system pressures, fueling right-wing backlash…

Cultural Friction:

Laudato Si”s call for “cultural synthesis” clashed with assimilation realities. For example, France’s secularism laws conflicted with migrants’ religious expressions, deepening social divisions…

Geopolitical Tensions & Border Crises:

Canada’s refugee resettlement targets (influenced by Catholic NGOs) led to irregular border crossings from the U.S., overwhelming processing systems…

Sovereignty Challenges:

Britain’s post-Brexit immigration controls faced Vatican criticism as “contrary to Gospel values,” exacerbating church-state tensions…

Ideological Polarization critics argue the encyclical’s migration stance:

Ignores Governance Realities:

Dismisses states’ capacity limits and security concerns (e.g., terrorism risks)…

Pathologizes Opposition:

Labels border enforcement as “indifference,” alienating policymakers…

Critical Perspectives on Laudato Si”s Blind Spots Naïve Utopianism?

The text assumes “fraternity” can override nationalism but underestimates identity politics’ resilience…

Economic Oversimplification:

While blaming “Northern” consumption for driving migration, it neglects how rapid population growth in sending countries strains resources…

Ecological Contradiction:

Migrants moving to high-consumption societies often increase carbon footprints, countering the encyclical’s sustainability goals…

Conclusion:

The “Fractured Legacy” of Pope Francis’ reign is bound in the encyclical of Laudato Si’ reshaped migration ethics by binding environmental justice to human mobility. However, its implementation amplified Western societal fractures by:

Prioritizing Moral Idealism over pragmatic integration capacity; Intensifying Sovereignty-Dignity Tensions, and Indirectly Empowering Anti-Immigrant Movements through policy overreach…

As European Catholic surveys show (2023 – 2024), while 95% of church agencies increased migrant support post-Laudato Si’; 38% lacked resources to manage the scale of needs – exposing a gap between theological ambition and institutional capability. This underscores the encyclical’s paradox: a visionary call for global solidarity that became entangled in the very “throwaway culture” it condemned…

#SoEndsTodaysLesson

23. “Our regional policy on immigration seems to be fueled by our unwavering commitment to CSME and CARICOM at the risk of ensuring common sense safeguards are maintained to protect local interests.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I agree with you 100%.

Your above comment best describes Antigua & Barbuda’s approach to the issue.

While Antigua and Barbuda REMAINS committed to the regional integration movement, it CONTINUES to BALANCE ITS LIMITED RESOURCES THROUGH a PROCESS of MANAGED MIGRATION which the current CSME skills regime facilitates.

Consequently, A&B did not give its consent to the full free movement of all CARICOM nationals, as was contemplated by other Member States of CARICOM by the March 31st, 2024, deadline.

The twin island state however signaled its readiness to move towards full free movement of all CARICOM Nationals once it is BETTER EQUIPPED to ADEQUATELY ACCOMMODATE the POSSIBLE ADDITIONAL INFLOW of CARICOM Nationals who may intend to reside and work in the country.

Antigua and Barbuda’s Ambassador to the Caribbean Community, Dr. Clarence Henry stated that, “the policy is pragmatic and realistic to avoid dislocation of the indigenous population, protecting jobs, and avoiding exacerbation of our economic/fiscal challenges.”

Antigua, according to you, “ensured common sense safeguards are maintained to protect local interest.”

24. David
    You’re looking for a strawman, just like the former and current MAGA, and Brexiteers etc. The emergence of BU had nothing to do with immigration, but BU and other social media platforms are now fixtures in Barbadian society. Interestingly, you have no problem with the regressive ideologues (with their ring citizenship and funded/supported by foreign white Christian Nationalist organisations) that seem bent on dumbing down Bim. Get up good.

25. @enuff

Your perspective is understood. Get up hood as well as you continue with your clawbacks.

26. @Artax at *;@% “David Thompson’s DLP administration established a Cabinet Sub-Committee on Immigration, to conceptualise and implement a new, comprehensive immigration policy. I remember his comment, “ever so welcome, wait for a call.”

And he David Thompson was foreign born too. And I don’t recall that any of us Barbados born gave him any call to come here.

So what was his beef?

Stupssseee!!!

27. @Artax at 5:48 AM yesterday “…was allegedly able to purchase an ambassadorial appointment and Dominican diplomatic passport.”

But I would bet anything that he was not able to get a highly coveted USA visa in it, because he was never a real-real diplomat

28. David Thompson was a Barbadian by descent. This should not be confused with the matter under discussion.

29. And you have checked the birth certificates of the PARENTS of all the people coming here now to determine whether or not they too have a claim to Barbados citizenship by descent?

A good lot of the Guyanese who came here like David Thompson had Bajan parents or grandparents.

David was just being xenophobic.

30. “David Thompson was a Barbadian by descent. This should not be confused with the matter under discussion.”

But isn’t attracting individuals who are similarly Bajans by descent a big focus of the Citizenship Bill? I done!

31. @Enuff

What is your point? David Thompson became a Barbadian because one of his parents was a born Barbadian. Under the Citizenship Bill who qualifies for a Barbados passport? Let the blogmaster help you.

The bill is part of a broader legislative package alongside the Immigration Bill, 2025, aimed at reversing population decline and modernizing outdated laws. Key features include:

Expanded eligibility for CARICOM nationals to apply for Barbadian citizenship

New rights for next-generation citizenship, allowing descendants of Barbadians greater access

Abolition of “immigrant status”, streamlining residency categories

Flexible permits to support economic and social integration …

32. David

“New rights for next-generation citizenship, allowing descendants of Barbadians greater access.”

You just needed to say YES.🤣

33. @David This issue of Immigration reform is one that is layered and complex. Immigration can be used as a tool to reinvigorate economies and strengthen social security. China will now issue what it calls a K visa to foreigners to attract tech and science talent to further sharpen its competitive tech and science ecosystem.
    https://www.scmp.com/news/china/politics/article/3321901/china-creates-new-visa-young-science-and-technology-talent

This is consistent with the idea of going beyond just simple ‘tax and spend” policies to modernize and boost your economy. Another example of this is the anticipated roll out of the instant payment system, BimPay in March next year.
    https://www.centralbank.org.bb/bimpay

For this immigration reform to have the greatest positive impact and achieve the desired outcome I suggest it focuses on a few areas:

Give preference to the family of Barbadians

Give preference to those from Caricom countries.

Prioritize immigrants with skills in areas in which there is a genuine skills gap in Barbados (science, technology) and areas with genuine labour shortages.

Prioritize people with Entrepreneurial skills (this will help diversify the economy in the long run and boost exports) see the founder of Ulu foods, and American woman who founded a company in Barbados https://ulufoods.com/pages/about

Prioritize people who are willing to invest.

Ensure that new residents and citizens can fully access the countries institutions and infrastructure with out being a burden on the state. E.g. Colleges and Universities to conduct research, access to financial services.

The are some grey areas which will have to be considered as the bills go to committee.

34. @wargeneral

Immigration is complex for sure. This is why it must be ‘managed’ to create the desired outcome.

35. Bar: Reforms must reflect Bajans’ views

The Barbados Bar Association (BBA) says it is preparing a comprehensive report in response to Government’s recent announcement surrounding citizenship and immigration reforms.

“As Barbados navigates the complexities of redefining its citizenship and immigration landscape, the Barbados Bar Association has noted Government’s announcement last week that the proposed citizenship and immigration reforms will be widely circulated for public and stakeholder review,” president Kaye Williams said.

She said the association’s view was that such reforms must reflect the aspirations of Barbadians and align squarely with the supreme law of the land: the Constitution.

“The Bar’s review comes against the backdrop of significant national change,” Williams said, noting that while public consultation on immigration and citizenship reform began in 2020, “the conceptual framework has shifted dramatically since Barbados transitioned from a constitutional monarchy to a parliamentary republic in 2021”.

“Stakeholder input is vital,” Williams said.

“The Bar will also be considering the proposed reforms of immigration and citizenship against the backdrop of recommendations of the Constitutional Reform Commission (CRC) on these issues which became available in 2024.”

The CRC report undertook national consultation before publishing its recommendations and a draft Bill that proposes to repeal and replace the current Constitution on its website.

The BBA noted that the public’s voice was central to the process.

“The association is of the view that it would only be fit and proper to let public views inform immigration policy,” Williams said.

Informed by CRC

Williams said the approach was informed by the CRC, which provided extensive comments on citizenship and recommended at Page 45 of the report that Cabinet and Parliament ought to consider amendments to the Barbados Citizenship Act, the Immigration Act and other relevant legislation “to align these enactments with the proposed new provisions” of the constitutional framework.

In term’s of constitutionality, Williams pointed out that at the heart of the Bar’s position is firm legal principle.

“In Barbados and across the Commonwealth, citizenship rights are conferred and derived from fundamental constitutional rights. It is only logical to first examine the proposed constitutional provisions which frame citizenship.”

She added: “All public authorities and in this case, the Immigration Department, must act within the four corners of the instrument that is the source of its power. The Constitution is the supreme law of Barbados. If any other law is inconsistent with the Constitution, it shall be void to the extent of that inconsistency.”

Williams said the Bar’s review would be guided closely by the CRC’s work and would consider amendments to key legislation in tandem with the proposed constitutional changes.

“The Constitution confers rights of citizenship, so the provisions of the Constitution should inform the Citizenship and Immigration Bills.

“In the circumstances, the Bar is of the view that these Bills be considered step-in-step with public views and constitutional reform.”(MB)

36. We have to be careful that these immigration and citizenship changes do not end up being the sale of Barbados passports to some.

Many will be satisfied to follow the slow walk to CBI, when at this time we should ignore what is being said and start fighting against CBI (sale of Barbados passports)./
    We know it is coming.

37. It should go without saying that all immigration needs to be managed for the benefit of a country’s citizens, who must always be the priority. But we don’t have to be cruel and dehumanising about it. Fortunes change, as we see with Guyana. Bajans once ran to Guyana. Then Guyanese ran to Barbados and now Guyana could be a place to go again. Especially since Trump has given Maduro and his troops something else to think about, even if he hasn’t admitted that, as usual, it’s all about the oil.

David Thompson was not being xenophobic. He was responding to the genuine concerns and the will of some Barbadians. I do believe that it could have been handled better. They are members of Caricom, after all, and his language was unnecessarily offensive. Besides which, agricultural production is missing those Guyanese right now, for sure. Many had applied for immigrant status. Their status could have been regularised. But the corrupt minds of some immigration officers were demanding bribes to process the applications. Otherwise, it was nothing doing. David Commisiong was no help. I lent a Guyanese friend, a construction worker, eight hundred dollars to engage his services to no avail. After almost drowning while fleeing to St. Lucia by boat to avoid a raid, he returned to Guyana, leaving his adult daughter, a Bajan, and his young grandchildren without their beloved granddaddy. Another friend of mine, married to a Bajan, had to watch her son from a previous relationship deported at the age of eighteen. He had little recollection of Guyana.

And here we are now talking about how many young people and construction workers we need!

We definitely do need to update our immigration policy to fit our needs. My concern is that, based on prerformance so far, I cannot our government not to mess this up. Ideology is good. Practically is better where immigration is involved. I hope we don’t start something we cannot finish.

38. A person that CHOOSES to live in Barbados, to become a Barbadian, and particularly to marry (or establish a serious familial relationship with) a Bajan, …should no longer be considered an ‘immigrant’, but part as an adopted part of the Bajan FAMILY…

The term ‘Immigrant’ should refer to parasites who are looking to extract benefits from the host, without the appropriate contributions or commitment to what is ‘Bajan’.

Our problem is that we don’t take the time, wisdom, and effort needed to establish UP FRONT, what it is that we are REALLY seeking to achieve.

Much like the Dan Carter article talking about ‘how impactful’ our education system has been – when by all OBVIOUS measures it is a dismal failure – unless he is judging solely by the number of useless, disenfranchised, and powerless, ‘graduates’ and ‘doctors’ bout the damn place – looking for state nipples to suck on …or working for FOREIGN owners (banks, utilities, supermarkets, insurance, real estate, tourism, etc) …to screw fellow bajans….

Then the jokers ‘measure success’ via their own PERSONAL parasitical criteria… such as how many pieces of silver the foreign owners gives them to facilitate the MILLIONS that are extracted every damn year…

…one highly admired ’local success story’ reportedly gets $6 M per year in pension silver…
    We can only guess at the annual extraction that was facilitated by THAT Judas…

What a mess!!
    What a place!