The notion that lawyers, and especially judges, know everything is doubtless premised on the variety of determinations the profession is obliged to make as part of its diurnal routine. Is a medical doctor liable for negligence? Did a Minister exercise his or her discretion properly? Did an accused intend to murder the deceased? These are but a few of the decisions that are matters of law and whose answers lie exclusively within the realm of legal theory. Of course, in some matters, a court will be assisted by expert evidence, especially when determining matters that depend on the practice of a particular profession. For instance, medical negligence will be found where the doctor fails to act in accordance with an accepted responsible body of medical practice. What constitutes such is a matter of evidence from a medical expert in the particular area in issue.

A similar determination arose this week in the Caribbean Court of Justice, where, as the highest court in the Guyanese legal system, it was called upon to pronounce on a number of issues concerning the law of governance in that jurisdiction. These arose out of the infamous no confidence motion brought by the parliamentary opposition against the governing coalition administration. I say infamous because it may be recalled that one member of the governing coalition parliamentary group chose to vote against his side and therefore to carry the Opposition motion by a tally of 33 votes to 32.

These matters managed to present a number of legal issues for the Court’s determination; among them, whether there was a difference between a no confidence motion that was not expressly provided for in the Constitution and a motion of confidence that was so provided? What constitutes the majority necessary for the passage of a no-confidence motion and whether the Court had jurisdiction to inquire into the issue of Mr Persaud’s [the MP who voted with the Opposition motion] qualification to be a member of the National Assembly.

Of these issues, I found the first to be the most intriguing and I have written in another capacity more times than one on the very point. The matter became a legal issue because the legal advisors to the governing administration were of the view that first, there was a difference between an absolute majority and a simple majority; and that 33 votes could not constitute a majority in a 65 member Parliament because a majority was half of the total plus one and, since there could not be 0.5 of a vote, half of 65 had to be rounded up to 33 and the added one would give a total of 34. Too besides, they argued further, since 33 was already a majority of 64 members, it could not also be the majority of 65, a grater number. Of course, this assertion took no notice of the reality that 34 was also the majority of 66, itself a greater number than 65.

I argued in one of my writings on the subject last year, relying on the learning in Robert’s Rules of Order that the use of the formula half-plus-one to constitute a majority is apt to cause problems. According to the text, “Suppose in voting on a motion 17 votes are cast. 9 in favor and 8 opposed. Fifty percent of the votes cast is 81/2 so that 50 percent plus one would be 91/3. Under such an erroneous definition of a majority, one might say that the motion was not adopted because it did not receive 50 percent plus one of the voted cast although it was, quite clearly, passed by a majority vote”.

A similar argument appeared to find favour with President Saunders who drew on his judicial experience of what constitutes a majority judgment.

Since the Assembly comprises an odd number, there is no need to imply into the Constitution any formula for defining a majority as being ‘half plus one’. Indeed, as an American judge noted,12 the 50% plus one ruleleads to illogical results when it is applied to odd numbers. So, for example, it is trite that when a Court of Appeal sits as a panel of three, a majority decision is 2:1. The Chief Justice was therefore right when she adjudged that a majority from among 65 members is a minimum of 33.”

It bears remarking that the learned Chief Justice of Guyana had also reasoned likewise although she appeared to base her determination on an obverse application of the golden rule by positing if Persaud had voted against the no-confidence motion, the government would have accepted that the vote count of 33 is the majority of all elected members”.

In support of their argument, the lawyers for the governing administration had cited two authorities from Commonwealth jurisdictions. The CCJ found neither useful. As for the first, from Vanuatu, it related to a circumstance where an even number of members constituted the parliament.

Kilman was a case where the Vanuatu parliament consisted of 52 members. Only 51 voted on a particular motion that required an absolute majority. The result of the vote was 26:25. It was in this context that the court said as is stated above. Twenty-six votes could not carry the motion because what was needed was a majority of 52 and since 52 was an even number, in that specific context that majority could only be obtained via the formula of half the Members of Parliament plus one.

The second authority from Anguilla was also easily distinguished-

In that case the question concerned the number of members necessary to constitute a quorum. The Assembly comprised 11 members. The quorum requirement was two-thirds. Mathematically, two-thirds of 11 yields 7.3. The question was whether to constitute the quorum one should round up to 8 or round down to 7 members. The court held that since the concept of a quorum meant the least number possible for the valid transaction of business, one could not round down to 7 as that number would fall below the mandated quorum of 7.3. One should round up to 8 which would satisfy the quorum condition. Hughes v Rogers, therefore, has no relevance to the question at hand.

To be continued

307 responses to “The Jeff Cumberbatch Column – Doing Things with Rules”

1. TheOGazerts
    June 24, 2019 7:09 PM

0 can be divided by every number except by itself (zero) and the result is zero. 0/1=0; 0/2=0′; 0/3=0;
    But why on earth would you be talking about a majority or a minority when you have zero seats.
    At some stage common sense must kick in.
    And as you can see if you have just one person, he is a majority.
    1 divided by 2 = 0 remainder 1 0+1=1;
    And if you have two voters , all two must agree to have a majority.
    2 divided by 2 = 1 remainder 0 1+1=2;
    Of course, you can start what if…. What if there are two people and one man voted?
    Well if there is just one vote, then that is the majority of votes
    What if both don’t vote then you have zero votes…. the motion is not carried

1 divided by 2 = 0 remainder 1 0+1=1; – not true … the remainder is 1/2!!

All it means is that Roberts Rules cannot be applied to an assembly (a misnomer) of 0 … or 1!!!

0 and 1 are part of what would be referred to as the Null Set!!

Reverend Joe is a nullity!!

Which means the “GOB” is unconstitutional!!

2. 2 also belongs to the null set!!

It isn’t possible to get a majority.

It is only possible to get unanimity.

There needs to be 3 for a leader of the opposition to be chosen by Robert’s Rules.

… which is the conclusion Pedro Welch came to way back when!!

3. Piece the Legend Avatar

@ John the Reasoning One

Just for the sake of argument let us just accept that for the Opposition to have been duly constituted Mugabe the puppet maker would have had to have appointed 2 Opposition members.

Sorry 2 BLP representative would have needed to pretend to cross the floor!

Who would have been the second one?

None of the rest were willing to be pretend turncoats other than the Bishop Pastor Reverend Bishop ooops said that already Joseph Atherley, none of them would sacrifice themselves for that role.

Would you hazard a name for that other turncoat?

After all, seeing that you have put so much thought in the Assembly of One, I figure that you at least can identify THE DISGRUNTLED PERSON

http://imgur.com/P4mhOQG

4. Introducing zero is a red herring. If you have zero, talk of majority and minority is meaningless.

Unanimity is a majority.

1/2 is not a remainder, it is a fraction. Two equal parts. However we do not have to enter the realm of fraction. We can stay with integers.

1 divided by 2 =0 remainder 1
    Take the quotient 0 add 1 to it and as expected.. if just one man, he is the majority. Note you also have unanimity.

Exiting the rabbit hole. Bye

5. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

Well we all knew it was just a matter of time.

https://www.facebook.com/246784233190/posts/10156698171988191/?sfnsn=mo

6. https://barbadostoday.bb/2019/06/25/going-legit/

A step in the right direction.

The pick-a-noise, salemite crowd and tag team think the AG is making the right moves

7. Regulation, regulation, regulation. Then you get this nonsense –

Due to possible future legal issues, Barbados TODAY is constrained from going into the details of the circumstances surrounding the death at the Sparman Clinic.(Quote)

if this is legal advice given to Barbados Today then the lawyer should be sacked. Questions must be asked: why was the Old man sent to a private clinic, and not to the QEH? This decision alone makes the government of Barbados liable.

8. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Well we all knew it was just a matter of time.
    FOR WHAT? AS A MEDICAL ILLITERATE PLEASE KINDLY EXPAND

RE Questions must be asked: why was the Old man sent to a private clinic, and not to the QEH?
    WHY IS THIS SO?
    WHY COULD NOT THE MAN BE SENT TO A PRIVATE CLINIC?
    WOULD HE NOT BE EXPECTED TO BE TREATED MORE QUICKLY THERE?

This decision alone makes the government of Barbados liable.
    HOW DOES THIS MAKE THE GOVERNMENT LIABLE? PLEASE KINDLY EXPLAIN

I LOOK FORWARD TO THE EFFLUX OF BULLSHIT ON THIS MATTER BY THE USUAL BU BRIMBLER BARKER AND BRAYER WHO ARE NOT IN POSSESSION OF THE FACTS.

FURTHER MORE HOW CAN MEDICAL ILLITERATES OPINE EFFECTIVELY ON A MATTER ABOUT WHICH THEY KNOW NOTHING

REMINDS ME OF THE MORONIC MOUTHINGS HERE WITH RESPECT TO THE DEATH OF BOB WOLMER IN JAMAICA IN THE 2007 WORLD CUP, AND OF THE UNINFORMED COMMENTS ABOUT CASTER SEMENYA

9. The employer is liable for the actions of employees while in the execution of their duties. It is a duty of care to the public. This is not medical, but legal.

10. Georgie Porgie Avatar

come Hal bring more bullshit than that
    how is it not medical, but legal?

WHAT FACTS DO YOU HAVE? WHY WAS THE MAN NOT SENT TO QEH? WHY DID THE MAN DIE? WHAT WAS THE CAUSE OF DEATH AT AUTOPSY?
    IF THE MAN HAD DIED AT THE QEH, WOULD IT HAVE BEEN MEDICAL OR LEGAL?

MANY YEARS AGO I WAS CALLED UPSTAIRS FROM THE ER AT ST JOSEPH’S HOSPITAL TO THE ICU TO SEE A RICH TOURIST WHOM YOU WOULD CALL A BLUE BLOATER

MY FIRST THOUGHT WAS TO SEND THE MAN TO QEH, SINCE THE PULMONOLOGIST WAS OUT OF THE COUNTRY BUT I DEFERRED TO THE WISDOM OF MY EXPERIENCED CARDIAC NURSES, AND WE ASKED E O DOUGLIN TO COME
    THE MAN IMPROVED AND HIS RELATIVES FLEW IN AND SHOWERED THE NURSES WITH SEVERAL GRANTLEY’S

IF THE MAN HAD DIED WOULD THAT HAVE BEEN MEDICAL OR LEGAL?

11. The decision to send the man to a private clinic and not to the QEH, whatever his medical problem, was one made by a port official (and according to the report, not a doctor). It was an administrative decision, therefore a legal duty of care.

12. Georgie Porgie Avatar

ARE YOU SAYING THAT WHEN A PERSON IS ILL ONE MUST GET A DR TO DECIDE IF THEY SHOULD BE SENT TO THE QEH?

WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE IF THE PORT OFFICIAL SENT THE PERSON TO A PRIVATE CLINIC OR THE QEH— WHERE A PROLONGED WAIT IS USUALLY ANTICIPATED. SEEMS IT WAS A WISE JUDGEMENT CALL, UNLESS SPARMAN IS KNOWN TO BE MUCH INFERIOR AS A DR TO THE LIKELY JUNIOR PRESENT IN THE QEH ER

THIS IS PURE POLITICS

13. No I am not saying that. First responders are usually not qualified doctors. But there is an implicit responsibility in that key decision. Let us see how the Brit play this out and what arguments they use

14. Sorry 2 BLP representative would have needed to pretend to cross the floor!

You don’t get it, there is no floor to cross!!

The only wat to get 2 or more opposition members is to go back to the polls.

Remember, Reverend Joe in an interview after his swearing in told Barbados that he “supported the Government”!!

15. Way!!!

Until formalities are completed by those who won a seat, there is no Parliament!!

One of those formalities is for a meeting of the opposition to elect (choose) a leader!!

16. In a Parliamentary democracy a proposer and seconder is necessary before a vote is taken!!

And zero is not a red herring … 30-0 is the cause of the problem!!

It is a nullity!!

17. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Let us see how the Brit play this out and what arguments they use

WHO CARES? THE BRITS ARE NOT GOD.
    THE BRITS CAN NOT MANAGE THEIR OWN AFFAIRS WELL, BUT THEY WANT TO INTERVENE IN A MATTER WHERE A POLITICIANS RELATIVE DIED IN BARBADOS! REMARKABLE &HILARIOUS!

First responders are usually not qualified doctors.

SOMETIMES THEY ARE RIGHT EVEN THOUGH THEY ARE NOT DRS
    ONE DOES NOT HAVE TO BE A DR TO DECIDE THAT SOMEONE LOOKS ILL, OR MIGHT BE ILL

EVEN QUALIFIED AND EXPERIENCED DOCTORS ERR

IT AMAZES ME THAT YOU ARE SPEWING SO MUCH BOVINE EXCREMENT WITHOUT KNOWING THE FACTS OF THE CASE……..WITHOUT KNOWING THE PATHOLOGY OR THE PATHOPATHOLOGY

DO YOU KNOW HOW MANY PERSONS CLEARED FOR RELEASE FROM HOSPITAL ACCORDING TO THEIR PROGRESS DIE BEFORE THEY GET THROUGH THE DOOR?

HOW MANY OF THESE CASES HAVE YOU SEEN?

18. Georgie Porgie Avatar

PATHO PHYSIOLOGY

19. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ John

Sometime in mid 1950s, members of the BLP crossed the floor after forming a new Party the DLP. Sometime in the late 1980s four members of the DLP crossed the floor after forming the NDP. What is so different when Rev. Atherly crossed the floor and became the sole opposition member?

20. WURA-War-on-U Avatar

“RE Well we all knew it was just a matter of time.
    FOR WHAT? AS A MEDICAL ILLITERATE PLEASE KINDLY EXPAND”

In this case i was speaking about Sparman….himself…

“UNLESS SPARMAN IS KNOWN TO BE MUCH INFERIOR AS A DR TO THE LIKELY JUNIOR PRESENT IN THE QEH ER”

Initially with the angioplasty procedures he got great reviews coupled with lots of jealousy from shites at QEH like Ishmael….but since then, apparently he has been found wanting, many complaints, with lawsuits….and,….don’t know if it is stilll the case, but his specialization was pulled by US…some say because he is not current and up to date:in his medical training…..the specialty area.

Dont know what else you thought i meant..

21. Vincent Codrington Avatar

It is said that Barbadians have short memories. In my generation I have witnessed the emergence of Barbadians with selective memories. We are on the way to being a failed society.

@ Piece, The Legend.

There is no where in the Barbados constitution that empowers the PM to select a leader of the opposition. That exercise would adulterate our concept of democracy.

22. @VC

Somewhere in those “crossings” there was the appearance of philosophical differences, note you wrote “After forming a new Party” and “After forming the NDP”, in the Atherley crossing any difference is seen as a mirage, the ink hadn’t even been dried on his election, when he announced to all and sundry that he was assuming the role of Opposition leader and he is still trying to put the horse in front of the cart by proposing a Party.

23. ” Shortly after the cruise started, Gordon became unwell with a chest infection and cough. Jackie took Gordon to see the ship’s doctor, who diagnosed double pneumonia and high blood pressure and started treatment with antibiotics. Through an ECG, it was diagnosed that Gordon had a left bundle branch block, which causes an irregularity in the heartbeat but is not considered pre-emptive to a heart attack. The doctor also performed troponin tests and categorically confirmed that Gordon had not had a heart attack. Troponin is an enzyme that the heart emits. A higher level of troponin is the indication of myocardial infarction, or a heart attack. Despite the high blood pressure and the left bundle branch block, because Gordon’s troponin tests were negative, there was not sufficient evidence to suggest that Gordon had had a heart attack or was at risk of having a heart attack. This is a very significant point, in relation to the actions that happened next when Gordon and Jackie were disembarked in Barbados and where they consequently were sent for medical treatment.

https://www.theyworkforyou.com/debates/?id=2019-06-20a.437.3

24. @ Sargeant,

Atherly could have had a dream and was instructed to become the LOO.

In that dream he may have seen the cash flow.

25. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Sargeant at 9 :05 AM

You may have missed it. The Barbados Constitution nowhere mentions Political Parties. Nowhere on my ballot paper was Party noted. In Barbados we elect persons. Please do not give too much significance to when a party is formed.

26. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hants at 9 :15 AM

Shame on you. I never expected you to impute improper motive to a man of the cloth. He is well aware that the love of money is the root of evil.

27. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Dont know what else you thought i meant..

I MEAN THAT YOU ARE A MEDICAL ILLITERATE AND DONT KNOW WHAT YOU ARE TALKING ABOUT
    YOU COME ON BU EVERYDAY ALL DAY SPEWING YOUR BOVINE EXCREMENT ABOUT EVERYTHING

RE “UNLESS SPARMAN IS KNOWN TO BE MUCH INFERIOR AS A DR TO THE LIKELY JUNIOR PRESENT IN THE QEH ER”

IS SPARMAN INFERIOR TO THE LIKELY JUNIOR PRESENT IN THE QEH ER”

HAVE YOU EVER SENT ANYONE TO THE QEH ER TO BE SEEN BY SOMEONE WHO WAS A JUNIOR AND LESS EXPERIENCED THAN YOU? NO SO ZIP IT. YOU ARE NOT QUALIFIED TO OPINE ON MY COMMENT WHICH YOU QUOTED

RE Initially with the angioplasty procedures he got great reviews WAS IT NOT BECAUSE HE DID GOOD WORK AND GOT GOOD RESULTS?

RE coupled with lots of jealousy from shites at QEH like Ishmael… HOW IS ISHMAEL A SHITE. DID HE NOT SPECIALIZE IN THE US OR CANADA. HOW CAN A MEDICAL ILLITERATE DETERMINE THAT A BOARD CERTIFIED CARDIOOGIST IS A SHITE? UPON WHAT PARAMETERS AND MEDICAL KNOWLEDGE AND EXPERIENCE DOES A CLEAR MEDICAL ILLITERATE COME TO SUCH A DETERMINATION. DID YOU RECEIVE AH ENEMA OR LAXATIVE OR COLONIC TO RELIEVE YOUR OBVIOUS CONSTIPATION?

RE since then, apparently he has been found wanting, many complaints, with lawsuits…. IS IT BECAUSE HE HAS BEEN TAKING CASES THAT HE SOUGHT TO SAVE FROM THE GRAVEYARD INSTEAD OF PUTTING THEM ON CANNIBIS?

IS IT NOT TRUE THAT ONLY JESUS CAN SAVE ALL THAT COME TO HIM ?

RE don’t know if it is stilll the case, but his specialization was pulled by US…some say because he is not current and up to date:in his medical training…..the specialty area.

YOU DONT KNOW BUT YOU ARE SPOUTING YOUR HATE FILLED MORONIC MOUTHINGS

HOW CAN THE US PULL HIS SPECIALIZATION? WHAT DOES THAT MEAN? HOW DOES THAT HAPPEN?

WHO IS THE “SOME” THAT HAVE SAID OR ARE SAYING. ARE THEY MEDICAL ILLITERATES LIKE YOU?

HOW DO THEY KNOW IF HE IS CURRENT OR UP TO DATE IN HIS medical training…..the specialty area?.

DO YOU HAVE ANY IDEA OF THE CME’S THAT ARE AVAILABLE TODAY?
    HAVE YOU EVER HEARD ABOUT MEDICAL JOURNALS?

PLEASE COME BACK WITH SOME MORE BULL SHIT
    I AM IN THE MOOD TO DEAL WITH SOME MORONIC MOUTHINGS BY MEDICAL ILITERATES TODAY

RUN IN AGAIN WITH SOME MORE OF YOUR LONG HOPS

ALWAYS REMEMBER ONE CAN NOT ADJUDICATE PROPERLY WITH OUT THE FACTS AS JESUS TAUGHT IN JOHN 7: 24 Judge not according to the appearance, but judge righteous judgment.

28. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hants at 9 :15 AM

Very enlightening data that should have informed where the cruise passenger was sent. Was the decision made by the ship’s captain or the Barbados Port Authority. If the former how could Barbados be liable?

29. RE: “Bro so u know the reason…… I dont never said i did…”

What the hell does the above comment mean? Could you please interpret?

RE: “However, the police made a statement by which they were asking for public assistance. I wonder why?”

I know it may be a bit difficult for you…….. but please, don’t be silly.

The police ALWAYS “ask for public assistance” in solving crimes…………. locating missing persons, as witnesses to assault, theft, vehicular accidents, murder and other violent crimes, etc.

This isn’t anything new.

30. @ Vincent Codrington,

Leader of the opposition or Backbencher ? Which pays more. Buh doan mine me. I live in a Capitalist country and I always start with ” what’s in it for me ” or he .lol

31. Georgie Porgie Avatar

RE Hants June 25, 2019 9:15 AM

YOU ARE EXPERT IN CUTTING AND PASTING AND POSTING ON BU OVER THE YEARS

BUT WHAT IS YOUR POINT HERE?

IS diagnosed double pneumonia and high blood pressure OF SIGNIFICANCE HERE? IF NOT WHY NOT? IF SO WHY SO?

RE Despite the high blood pressure and the left bundle branch block, because Gordon’s troponin tests were negative, there was not sufficient evidence to suggest that Gordon had had a heart attack or was at risk of having a heart attack.

REALLY? IS HIGH BLOOD PRESSURE NOT ASSOCIATED WITH THE POSSIBILITY OF A HEART ATTACK?

DOES LOW troponin LEVELS MEAN THAT A HEART ATTACK IS NOT IMMINENT, OR ONLY THAT AT THE TIME THE BLOOD WAS DRAWN THAT THERE WAS NOT MYOCARDIAL DAMAGE. BUT DOES IT PRECLUDE AN ACUTE MYOCARDIAL INFARCT SOON THEREAFTER?

32. (Quote):
    Shame on you. I never expected you to impute improper motive to a man of the cloth. He is well aware that the love of money is the root of evil. (Unquote).
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

So what else would have motivated the right reverend pastor bishop to be the Leader of the one-man Opposition (LoO)?

For that Herculean labour of Constitutional love alone he is entitled to be paid more than that of an ‘ordinary’ minister of the Crown.

It’s not easy keeping madams (or mistresses) in the ‘material- mint’ condition they are expecting just by receiving stipends from being a minister of cloth in the propagation of the prosperity gospel arena.

The man knows he has no electoral future and is cashing in on his pension before he dies; politically speaking, of course!

33. Georgie Porgie Avatar

HERE IS SOME SERIOUS EDUCATION ON THE ISSUE HERE WHILE I WAIT FOR MY LAST LEGITIMATE POST TO BE MODERATED

HOPE IT SHEDS SOME LIGHT

Left bundle branch block is an abnormal pattern seen on an electrocardiogram (ECG), which indicates that the cardiac electrical impulse is not being distributed across the ventricles of the heart in the normal way. Left bundle branch block is important because (in contrast to right bundle branch block), left bundle branch block usually indicates that some form of underlying cardiac disease is present. For this reason, anyone who is discovered to have left bundle branch block on their ECG should have a cardiac evaluation.
    The bundle branches can be thought of as part of the heart’s electrical “wiring.” They are the electrical pathways designed to spread the heart’s electrical impulse evenly through the ventricles. This assures that the contraction of the two ventricles is coordinated.
    With left bundle branch block, the bundle branch that distributes the electrical impulse to the left ventricle is partially or completely blocked. This blockage delays the electrical activation of the left ventricle. As a consequence, the right ventricle is activated, and begins to contract, before the left ventricle is activated.

In order for the heart to beat as efficiently as possible, both ventricles should contract simultaneously. So left bundle branch block can reduce the efficiency of the heartbeat. This reduction in cardiac efficiency may be trivial in someone whose heart is otherwise normal, but it can have a significant impact in people with certain types of heart disease—especially heart failure.

Why a Left Bundle Branch Block Is Significant:
    • Left bundle branch block most often occurs as a result of some underlying heart problem. So when it is found, it is quite likely that some significant underlying cardiac condition is also present.
    • The left bundle branch block itself can cause the heart to work less efficiently in people who have certain types of heart disease.
    Left Bundle Branch Block and Underlying Heart Disease

Left bundle branch block mainly affects older adults. It is found in less than 1 percent of people under the age of 50; in contrast, nearly 6 percent of 80-year-olds have left bundle branch block.
    Most people with left bundle branch block have some form of underlying heart disease. In the Framingham study, subjects who developed left bundle branch block had an average age of 62 and had a significantly increased incidence of hypertension, dilated cardiomyopathy, or coronary artery disease (CAD).
    During the course of the Framingham study, 89 percent of the people who developed left bundle branch block were subsequently diagnosed with some form of significant cardiovascular disease.
    What this means is that anyone, of any age, who is found to have left bundle branch block should have a cardiac evaluation to look for underlying heart disease.

That evaluation should include at least an echocardiogram, and if risk factors are present for CAD, a stress/thallium study should also be strongly considered. The most common cardiovascular disorders found in the setting of LBBB include hypertension, CAD, heart failure, hypertrophic cardiomyopathy, or valvular heart disease.
    If no heart disease is found after a thorough cardiac evaluation in a person with left bundle branch block, especially in people under 50, the prognosis turns out to be quite good. In these cases, the left bundle branch block is best thought of as a benign, incidental ECG finding.

Left Bundle Branch Block and the Efficiency of the Heartbeat
    In left bundle branch block, the heart’s two ventricles are being stimulated by the cardiac electrical impulse in sequence, instead of simultaneously. That is, the left ventricle is stimulated only after the right ventricle is stimulated. Thus, left bundle branch block causes a loss of normal coordination between the two ventricles, which decreases the efficiency of the heartbeat. The heart has to work harder to achieve its normal pumping capacity.
    In young, healthy people with left bundle branch block, and even in older people with left bundle branch block who may have mild heart disease, the drop-off in cardiac efficiency appears to be pretty trivial, and current evidence indicates that left bundle branch block itself does not pose a problem in these people.
    However, in people who have heart failure and a left ventricular ejection fraction which is reduced to less than 35 percent, left bundle branch block can produce a significant drop-off in cardiac efficiency. This reduced efficiency can accelerate the deterioration of heart failure, and make symptoms significantly worse.

The use of cardiac resynchronization therapy (CRT) should be strongly considered in people like this. CRT is a type of pacemaker that re-coordinates the contraction of the ventricles, and can substantially improve cardiac efficiency in people with left bundle branch block and heart failure.

34. @VC
    No one goes to the ballot box with a copy of the Constitution in their pocket, they go with the knowledge that Candidate X/Y represents Party A/B and they vote accordingly.

BTW yuh can’t have it both ways, you wrote about people crossing the floors after forming new Parties and now you doing a 180 by mentioning that we elect persons not Parties.

35. GP…shut ya dumb religious fanatic ass…you don’t even know what medical grade marijuana looks like, but ya know people should not use it……ya may know what it looks like now ya have been BRUTALLY EXPOSED ……….so when ya talking about others being MEDICAL ILLITERATES…look at ya own foolish ass in the mirror..

i have close relatives who were doctors before you were born….ya not the only doctor in the world as ya so backwardly love to project…

36. Vincent Codrington Avatar

Sargeant at 10 :03 AM

I wrote the intervention. I also have a right to explain what I meant. So I can have it both ways. The issue was one of crossing the floor. The issue was whether it was constitutional or unethical to do so. Like a few others on this blog you zeroed in on a phrase that is consonant with your narrative, and ignored the context in which the statements were made.

37. @ Georgie Porgie

Note how the liar and fraud refused to deal with where you showed she does not know what she is talking about and shift to insulting you.

It does not surprised me that she has close relatives that were doctors.

38. Robert Jackass…i was expounding on Sparman…i said NOTHING ABOUT THE PATIENT OR THE MEDICAL PROCEDURES OR DECISIONS to take the patient anywhere…i had nothing to say about that cockup….dumbass…..

FOR THE IGNORANT…who don’t know…

doctors are like PRACTICING LAWYERS…if you ask 5 doctors the same question about other doctor’s diagnoses…they will give you 12 different goddamn answers….

GP is nowhere as impressive as he thinks and as i told him already…he is outdated…

39. NO wonder yall idiots always end up being robbed by shitehounds with degrees in Barbados..

40. @ John June 25, 2019 8:01 AM
    “In a Parliamentary democracy a proposer and seconder is necessary before a vote is taken!!
    And zero is not a red herring … 30-0 is the cause of the problem!!
    It is a nullity!!”
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Sir John, why don’t you stop the ‘speculative’ guessing and arithmetic spotters and skinners and look to precedent(s) set in other Commonwealth countries which were faced with similar challenges?

Why not look to Grenada and see what measures were adopted to resolve the electoral conundrum which occurred in the 15 to Love ‘black&white’ washing?

BTW, the other members of the Lower House of Parliament who are not ‘appointed’ members of the Cabinet/Ministers of the Crown are ‘free’ to act as Members of the Opposition; (except the Speaker and his Deputy, of course).

41. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Georgie Porgie at 9 :41 and 9 :52 AM

Thanks very much for your comprehensive explanation of LBBB. We should understand why the decision was made to get the passenger to a clinic specializing in emergency heart conditions.

42. de pedantic Dribbler Avatar

@Vincent,@Millar and all, John has a marvellous soliloquy or maybe better termed a self-motivating exploration of the mathematical limits of parliamentary majorities etc on going here…the interjections are all good but it’s amazing to see this man with the marvellous scholarly mind do his own renditions of A Beautiful Mind as depicted by Crowe in the movie!

So to add to the interjections of this beautiful mind

Dear Sir John, can you please explain to the gathered brimblers et al what constitutes 1l) the FLOOR and of 2]) PARLIAMENT?

We know what the physical floor means so your retort “…You don’t get it, there is no floor to cross!!”, boggles my already limited mind in context of moving from govt to form an opposition group!

If one considers that parliament is merely the official legislative group of properly elected officials I am further confounded by “The only wat to get 2 or more opposition members is to go back to the polls”.

I am unaware that our constitution defines parliament (or HofA specifically in this case) as a winning majority and losing minority proposition…rather it’s described as a group of MPs of “qualified citizens” who are “duly elected”!

Nothing wrong with these self-explorations of your beautiful mind but they should be grounded in some realm of reality, shouldn’t they!

43. Georgie Porgie Avatar

re Robert Goren June 25, 2019 10:21 AM

@ Georgie Porgie

Note how the liar and fraud refused to deal with where you showed she does not know what she is talking about and shift to insulting you. THIS IS NORMAL FOR HER

It does not surprised me that she has close relatives that were doctors. THEY ARE ALL PSYCHIATRISTS NO DOUBT THEY ALL WENT TO MED SCHOOL SO AS TO PROTECT HER FROM THE PUBLIC

RE Vincent Codrington June 25, 2019 10:41 AM

@ Georgie Porgie at 9 :41 and 9 :52 AM

CLEARLY YOU HAVE UNDERSTOOD MY POSTS
    SHOWS THAT AS MORE RELEVANT INFO COMES TO HAND WE MIGHT GET A BETTER GRASP OF why the decision was made to get the passenger to a clinic specializing in emergency heart conditions.

44. I was expounding on Sparman…(Quote)

Yes, you were….

………Georgie Porgie answered you appropriately and asked you pertinent as it relates to Sparman.

But instead of replying to GO’s questions, you cussed him.

This is what you always do when you are cornered and proven to be a liar and fraud. You then try to take the focus away from yourself and cuss people as a defence.

You never disappoint in showing BU the despicable type of person you are.

Anyhow, I’ll let you continue to argue with your silly self.

45. @ Vincent

Is it not more appropriate for the port official to call an ambulance for a sick passenger and they (ambulance professionals) would decide which institution to take the patient to? Was this the case?

46. Wuhloss…the jealousy coming off useless Robert Goren is ugly….ya useless on BU…ya very well useless everywhere else..have to depend on others to guide you with their information, experience and intelligence… .a failure in life…ya can’t even give information to help ya own people who are in dire straits on the island…ya certainly will not be feeding off me on BU…

In my opinion…commonsense and nonmedical…as long as that patient was stabilized…he should have been returned to UK…given his age…anything else would have been playing russian roulette…

a decision a real doctor would have made…not everyone who has a medical degree is a real doctor…and there are some REAL GREEDY ASS DOCTORS on the island.

but don’t mind me…he was the relative of a UK MP and from what am being told…dude is beyond PISSED ….oh yeah, people know….so yall don’t have to answer to me..what the hell do i care, so make it about me and watch what the MP will do ….lol

47. And GP…stop asking me a bunch of shite…i talk to doctors who are up-to-date..in their training…

…the issue here is ya have a UK MP looking for blood…in Barbados..

deal with the REAL ISSUES…the old dude CROAKED ALREADY…since February…

the coulda, woulda, shoulda is now moot….especially if they sue the pants of everyone…

wuh they can’t sue me…lol

so happy that what Robert Useless Goren was hoping to see…never materialized…maybe one day ya will learn, maybe…or maybe not..

48. Vincent Codrington Avatar

@ Hal at 11:00 AM

I am under the impression that the cruise passenger became sick on board ship. The captain is always in charge of people and cargo. There is also a ship medical officer. I believe that they would have a list of onshore medical facilities.
    In my opinion, a decision like this cannot be made by local paramedical staff.
    I have only the information published in BU. The same as you.

49. ….ya can’t even information to help ya own people who are in fire straights on the island…. (Quote)

You are such a jackass.

You DO NOT KNOW WHO I AM, so how do you know I don’t help my own people?

How do you know what contributions I have made or continue to make to the Barbadian society?

It looks like you believe that posting the same useless nonsense to BU everyday or repeating things you hear Jackie Stewart say or posting her videos, or things you read on Naked Departure or Facebook is actually doing something to help Barbadians.

You are just another blog nuisance.

50. @ Vincent

You are of course right. But the conventional procedure is that a passenger/member of crew takes sick on board a ship, the ship’s agent is radioed and told the problem and it is the agent who arranges for the sick person to be treated. Was the agent the ship owner’s agent, or a government port official?
    From my reading of the Barbados Today report, in this instance it appears as if the port staff was involved. So it looks as if the incident was reported to the port official who made the decision.
    By the way, what is this nonsense –

Due to possible future legal issues, Barbados TODAY is constrained from going into the details of the circumstances surrounding the death at the Sparman Clinic.(Quote)

If this was legal advice given to Barbados Today then they should re-consider that person’s appointment.