[Barbados Underground]  Yes Jeff, Charles Herbert faces a monumental task, not least because he has already been convicted in the court of public opinion. The social meaning of the case has become about the history of race relations in Barbados, so although the court case is supposed to consider the evidence dispassionately, I am not certain that a jury will lack bias

1,362 responses to “Chairman of Goddards Enterprises Asserts His Innocence”

1. I was told that fishing boats in the days of sail used to hauled up in Cove Bay and maintenance performed on them on the cliff overlooking the bay ….. in our lifetime!!

https://www.google.com/search?q=cove+bay+barbados&tbm=isch&source=iu&ictx=1&fir=X_NMmm3Z-KqHGM%253A%252C5YSzvvyLCRmiqM%252C_&usg=AFrqEzfpp6nj5woGGzASJkCUubmedb1yJw&sa=X&ved=2ahUKEwiv_pPMydbcAhXLtlkKHevDC2gQ9QEwAnoECAQQBg#imgrc=bGtuOH-qgbv9QM:

The Crane had such an operation … in fact all around Barbados, wherever men went to sea to catch fish.

Wooden boats are very specialized.

Nowadays most if not all fishing boats here are made out of fiberglass …. mostly at Fiberpol although I used to work sometimes for a guy (now passed) who used to build them too in of all places, St. George.

You will see a few wooden skeletons knocking around … pass Oistins and see if any are left.

Perhaps Mr. Prescod also had skills and understanding which few if any Bajans possessed which would have been prized by an owner of a wooden boat.

2. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

TheOGazerts August 5, 2018 2:43 PM
    Traditional wooden boatbuilding skills have declined precipitously around the world, not just in Barbados. When i was farting around in the industry in Canada 38 years ago it was crystal clear that I would be the final generation to learn or care about these skills. But it is not only the skills which have died off, it is that there is no infrastructure to support such an industry, beginning with the lift or marine railway or screw dock with the capacity to lift a 70 ton vessel.

3. There is Doyle in St. Philip as well.

4. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Hal Austin

Hal You said and I quote “…To spell out what I am saying in simple terms, the matter is sub judice and should be left at that until the court hearing…”

While I WILL NOT SAY WHY de ole man will say to you that BECAUSE IT THE CAREFUL FORESIGHT OF THE HONOURABLE BLOGMASTER none of that sub judice stupidness applies here.

This was a tangential point that the Luminary Jeff Cumberbatch Luminary hinted at in his very last article as it related to freedom of expression.

AS LONG AS BARBADOS UNDERGROUND IS NOT SOLD & *** REMAINS EN VOGUE that sub judice clause does not have any meaningful application to Barbados Underground and it is only at the discretion of the Honourable Blogmaster that any action to stop this discourse can be employed.

5. @PUDRYR

This sub judice business is stretched by many to mean one cannot address matters in the court fullstop. The reality of the Barbados landscape is that to force the transformation required to make Barbados improve facilitation in many areas of civil society BU and other social media platforms will have to assume the role as disrupters.

6. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Barbados Underground Whistleblower August 5, 2018 2:52 PM
    You will notice that I never called your pseudonym, I simply asserted that I had made no aspersions against the law enforcement or criminal justice systems. I did not attack them and I did not defend them, I stated the obvious: Herbert’s and his co-accused fate is in the Courts’ hands.
    If you were a careful reader you would also have noticed that I never claimed that I got information from the RBPF; I did assure someone who asked that the RBPF were completely aware of the information which had been divulged to me. This means either that I had already given the RBPF this info, or that the RBPF gave the info to me, or that a third party gave the information to me and to the RBPF, or that separate parties gave the same information to myself and the RBPF. The info is merely hearsay; I clearly identified it as hearsay when I first shared it. You and others leapt to the conclusion that I had a Police source. Well I have no Police source.

7. @Peter

Your bona fides has been established in BU. Stay focused and avoid the sideswipes by those pushing agendas. Take the lead from the blogmaster who is perfectly placed to see the games some are playing to manipulate this matter.

8. But it is not only the skills which have died off, it is that there is no infrastructure to support such an industry, beginning with the lift or marine railway or screw dock with the capacity to lift a 70 ton vessel.

If you watch the video you will see that moving exceptionally heavy objects is all a matter of brain power and cooperation.

Bajans of today cannot get it done … they have forgotten how!!

Next time you are in the Morgan Lewis area look at the windmill and realise that there were once over 500, perhaps not all of that size, which existed in Barbados until steam supplanted wind as the source of energy.

The windmills had sails and were run by a bosun.

They were viewed as sailing ships and all of the technology of the day found on a ship would be found there.

The windmill took yeas to repair and requires constant maintenance.

A few years back, lightning struck it and put it out of action.

I don’t think it will grind again but perhaps it will.

With all the lifting technology available today we cannot keep one wind mill in operation yet our foreparents had most if not all 500 plus running every crop!!

Colin Hudson told me it had the horse power of a small lawn mower, less than 5HP!!!

It only worked when there was wind.

The early steam plants had a HP of 12-14!!

9. I admire a man like PLT.
    He left the island, developed himself and returned with the idea of helping others. Then he run into Bajans like whistleblower.

I will bet money that whistle blower never left Barbados, he sees the success of PLT and is jealous and tries to boost his rankings by pulling down PLT.

BUW: Try to put aside your “crab in the barrel mentality” .

10. PTL..there is a common thread one of a thougt process that you have applied and has rationalized as the mindset of Herbert way of thinking in your pattern of reasoning on behalf of Herbert
    Hence your answer to my question ….also note that i deliberately used the words”for sure” which apparently flew right over your head
    I think there is alot of presumption which is guiding u to belive in Herbert innocence
    For certain no one can be for sure of anything. The spoken word is one full of misintrepretations and should be taken with a grain of salt
    Yes u might have taken Herbert on his word however knowing exactly if his words were truthful to you about the invite meant demonstration of which u have no proof.

11. David
    August 5, 2018 2:54 PM

There is Doyle in St. Philip as well.

+++++++++++++++++++

He makes (or made) sails, a technology in itself.

Huge CNC machine.

12. If Charles Herbert invited PLT on the boat on its trip up or down then Charles Herbert can’t have had much to hide.

Given the fulminations of the overactive imaginations on here some genius will soon suggest that perhaps PLT is the king pin!!

13. PLT
    If you are interested in being a Bajan politician then write your replies carefully.

Sometimes I get the idea that these folks try to identify smart ‘black guys’ with potential and try to neutralize them. They will use your written words to hang you.

Being paranoid is healthy

“Just because you’re paranoid doesn’t mean that they’re not after you”

14. Mariposa
    August 5, 2018 3:12 PM

PTL..there is a common thread one of a thougt process that you have applied and has rationalized as the mindset of Herbert way of thinking in your pattern of reasoning on behalf of Herbert

The ruminations in these fertile minds beggar description!!!

Soon we can expect a violent explosion of light within some minds and a genius will step forth and make the connection!!!

Fulminate of Mercury!!

Lord have mercy.

15. @John

Many try to fit situations into agenda.

16. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

TheOGazerts August 5, 2018 3:20 PM
    “Just because you’re paranoid doesn’t mean that they’re not after you”
    I completely agree!

I have no intention of ever going into politics. No, that’s not strong enough. I have a very firm intention of NEVER going into politics! However, I am paranoid because I am trying to create change in Barbados through my work, and change always makes enemies.

17. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar
    Barbados Underground Whistleblower

@Peter
    Your bona fides has been established in BU. Stay focused and avoid the sideswipes by those pushing agendas. Take the lead from the blogmaster who is perfectly placed to see the games some are playing to manipulate this matter.

I hope that you are accusing me of playing games, my only agenda is to exposing the corruption in Barbados.

I am not easily put off by other people bullshit.

If there is game playing I notice many of my posts have disappeared in a dark hole similar as pieceundertherock many submissions.

@ TheOgazerts

I admire a man like PLT.
    He left the island, developed himself and returned with the idea of helping others. Then he run into Bajans like whistleblower.
    I will bet money that whistle blower never left Barbados, he sees the success of PLT and is jealous and tries to boost his rankings by pulling down PLT.

HA HA HA, are you a certifiable fool?

You know nothing about me yet in your ignorance you are playing silly guessing games. I have no reason to be jealous of Peter Thompson or anyone in Barbados if you knew my real identity you would swallow the crap that you put out above.

I have more worldwide PROFESSIONAL experience and CERTIFICATIONS than PLT, more academically qualified and have achieved far far more including giving employment to others.

I don’t need to boost rankings my goal is to expose what is happening locally.

So keep guessing.

18. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

CORRECTION

@Peter

I hope that you are NOT accusing me of playing games, my only agenda is to exposing the corruption in Barbados.

I am not easily put off by other people bullshit.

If there is game playing I notice many of my posts have disappeared in a dark hole similar as pieceundertherock many submissions.

@ TheOgazerts
    I admire a man like PLT.

HA HA HA, are you a certifiable fool?

You know nothing about me yet in your ignorance you are playing silly guessing games. I have no reason to be jealous of Peter Thompson or anyone in Barbados if you knew my real identity you would swallow the crap that you put out above.

I have more worldwide PROFESSIONAL experience and CERTIFICATIONS than PLT, more academically qualified and have achieved far far more including giving employment to others.
    I don’t need to boost rankings my goal is to expose what is happening locally.

So keep guessing.

19. @BUW
    Just one more exchange. For a moment I thought your correction was an apology to me 🙂

There are some phrases that should not be used lightly. I pride myself on not using the N word and on not calling my fellowman an Uncle Tom.

Long time in the past I realized that we all see things differently.

I went to school in the US at what I consider a racist institution, but during my stay there I was made fully aware that there were whites who would go to and who went to bat for me. This drove home to me that all whites are not the same.

I cannot support the idea that all blacks must have the same position or that if a black person opinion differs from my own then he is some kind of race traitor or that I should hurl insults at him.

It is amazing that with your worldwide professional experience and certifications and your academic qualifications, you chose to completely characterize a man based on a few words on a single topic. You discounted/ignored his efforts/attempts to help others and hurled the worst of insults at him.

You may have left the island but your mind is still back there. (I still doubt that you left). My accusation of your ‘crab barrel mentality’ stands.

Let me employ a BU technique that I have seen others used successfully “You may have the last word”.

20. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Barbados Underground Whistleblower

You said and I quote “…If there is game playing I notice many of my posts have disappeared in a dark hole similar as pieceundertherock many submissions….”

I wish again to say this on behalf of The BU David of Old

I posts from behind a few VPNs and a VMWare instance and through a sort of specialist Browser

So when I post what happens in the the BU platform which is itself also a special breed of Blog, looks at all its incoming submission and assigns them a status of valid blog OR SPAM.

What i therefore have done and continue to do is that when my posts do not appear I reach out to the Honourable Blogmaster and he will retrieve the item.

There are 3 within the BU BORG and whereas David who is the original BU is quite down with this inconvenience the others well….but having said that, they all get posted.

This matter is a very serious matter Barbados WhistleBlower

While you cannot perceive what is going on to keep this article going you can be assured that there are many who are attempting to bring the article down by legal means, and virtual means.

All of us have our loyalties but EVEN THOUGH HE WILL SHOW THAT HE LIKES A PARTICULAR PERSON, there is one thing that the Honourable Blogmaster (The original BU) will do is that he tries to live up to the tenet of the blog.

The others are younger and one of them she well…I going hush me mouf here causing

I want you to take a step back here Barbados Underground Whistleblower

Where in the entire island of Barbados can you say that you have a blog that is doing any of the work that BU does?

We both know bout the police, the good policemen and the bad ones.

You think that he doan got to watch where he walking during the day and at night?

I does give him (the original and the other 2) some flax sometimes but the thing is that his enemies are our enemies but he is taking all the risks per his life and continued well being EVEN IN THE FACE OF THE LAWSUITS that are crafted daily against the BU Blog.

Let me give something to consider.

How much do you think that the Nation OR the Advocate OR Barbadoy Today would pay for BU?

Yet David carries no advertisements, ponder that for a while.

And not a feller ent come here and post dat he get a lawsuit from Dougie or Henry Kia or Ford or Austin Cambridge eh?

21. Piece Uh De ROck Yeah Right Avatar
    Piece Uh De ROck Yeah Right

@ Dear Royal Barbados Police Force & the DPP

As you would be seeing by the timbre of this blog, the defence for Charles Herbert specifically is being based on his longtime upstanding and highly visible profile as a pillar of the community.

Why indeed John the Quaker (and others whose names i will not call cuase i am biased by his afro heheheheh) have come here and between telling us fantabulous stories like “the people who live next to the boatyard was jealous of Herbert causing he boat block out their view to the sea…” and tings like “…boatbuilding in Grenada is done on boats but in barbados it is done on airplanes”, and dat Grenadian police ent no geniuses, you know, tings to obfuscate de issue, John has run interference faithfully for his friend.

The thing that you gentlemen will have to do is to show that Charles is a liar and a perjurer in that court.

Once you are able to show that then you will have a case with the ***.

So again let de ole man summarize this for wunna

“Mr Herbert, what is your position on such and such”

He will respond with blah blah blah

THen you will ask him and *** to which he will confirm blah blah blah because ****

He has no choice but to do this BECAUSE ***

Now once he does that you will then *** and that will show him to be *** and he would have perjured himself.

Now we done know dat because he is white dat de judge ent going lock he up for perjury as dem would lock up me and you or Andrew Pilgrim but not Alair Shepherd for skinning he botsie at the judge, but dis going be with de jury of he peers.

Ohhhh wunna ent gots to disclose this too soon in wunna disclosures cause dem going ***

Anyway de grandson pun de facetime ting so i gine go and talk to he and get back to wunna soon with an item to help wunna “geniuses” (John call wunna Geniuses euphemism for dat wunna ent too bright. Ohhhh before i go i got some cockroaches in de house and was wondering which wunna recommends BLACK FLAG OR RAID? Which one does kill de black prisoners faster?)

22. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

So de grandson went out to all de Kadooment tings and Foreday Morning and thing and he was tired but he do dis ting to capture what seems to be the situation that is being floated so far

Now as wunna submit new news etc and hopefully de policemen’s here will do that he will update the chart

https://i.imgur.com/RGKSBJN.png

23. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

@ TheOGazers

Uncle Tom definition is – a black person who is overeager to win the approval of whites

From reading PLT submissions on this particular blog isn’t the above apt as relates to Charles Herbert and so based on the above definition I have hurled the worst of insults at PLT by your subjective observation.

I believe reading an earlier submission by you that you went to HC, my opinion about HC leaves a lot to be desired and is one of the main reasons the island is floundering in backwardness as many turn out to be Lawyers (liars) Politicians etc.

Crab mentality, sometimes referred to as crabs in the bucket, is a way of thinking best described by the phrase, “if I can’t have it, neither can you.”

Again since you have been ignorant in choosing your choice of words what does this have to do in regards to my observations of PLT as in any comments made.

Too many idiots trying to play smart and not having a command of the English Language.

24. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Barbados Underground Whistleblower August 5, 2018 7:04 PM
    As soon as you have to resort to ad hominem insults it is a sure sign that you have lost the argument and have nothing productive to contribute.

We do agree on at least one thing though: I described HC above as “a corrupt, decadent, and deeply destructive institution.” This was a conclusion I came to by the time I reached third form there and I have never since discovered data which has changed my mind.

25. Let’s say the drugs were concealed on the boat in the 2 month maintenance stint in Grenada.

It would be distinctly possible that none of the three are guilty, rather the search should be for person or persons unknown.

Since it is alleged that the drugs were concealed between the hull and the “ceiling boards” the search narrows.

Which ship’s carpenter worked on the area of the boat where the drugs were found?

A second question raises its head.

Is the business in Grenada involved or has it been infiltrated by drug lords?

After all, the GOB got caught moving drugs from Venezuela in 1989 in the diplomatic bag so if the GOB can be infiltrated, why not a business.

It then gets really interesting after that!!

Containers are often found in the Bridgetown Port to contain drugs.

I have never heard of the owner, the captain or any member of the ship’ crew being detained or prosecuted, usually we get to hear it was a Bajan to whom the drugs were consigned and the whole weight of the law falls on that individual unlucky enough to have gone and claimed the container, either with or without knowing there were drugs on board.

Why is it we never get to the drug lords.

Who are they?

26. The question was asked in another comment, why did the police/customs officers not wait to see who took the drugs.

27. Let’s look at the damage the Drug Lords cause.

Let’s say the drug lords infiltrated the business in Grenada and the three from Barbados are cleared.

Two things can happen.

The technician who hid the drugs clears the Grenada business as well or implicates the Grenada business.

If things play out as they usually do, no drug lord will ever be found.

The full weight of Grenadian law will fall upon the technician and if the business is implicated the business.

What happens if the Grenadian business is shut down

If you watch the clip on Carriacou you will see that ship building is THE ONLY economic activity there.

Disaster!!!

These drug lords sure seem to have a lot in common with our beloved politicians.

The damage they cause our countries is devastating, worse than any hurricane!!

28. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

@ PLT

You make reference to having lost an argument by referencing you as an Uncle Tom.

You were first called on this blog by @Piece a Negrocrat which I agreed and then by @Hal another slave term reference.

There is no argument to be won or lost so can take your trivality elsewhere.

29. @ David who wrote ” why did the police/customs officers not wait to see who took the drugs? ”

Simple. One of the people on the boat was a convicted drug smuggler.

The other 2 were the Chairman and a board member of the company that owned the yacht.

Seize the yacht with the drugs, charge the 3 who were on board and commence an investigation with the help of Grenadian police.

30. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Blogmaster
    Hmmm…because the boat cleared C&I, and the crew left, and a nex crew began unloading and either the CG left it alone and waited for collectors at the mooring, or they hit it then and requested the crew to return? Now you getting warmer.

31. @Hants

Something does not add up here.

32. BUW: I see an opportunity to teach you and will do so. -edited

Lesson 1. On definitions
    A definition is a powerful tool. If you have the power of definition then you can create your own world.
    Here is a bad example that gets the point across:
    I will define a failed state is one that has less than 400,000 people and more than 20 ministers of government
    As Barbados satisfies those two conditions, then BY my definition Barbados is a failed state… Sounds familiar?

If you are a student of Group Theory, you would see and appreciate the power of a creating definitions.

Lesson 2. Never let a man make up his own definitions.
    Let me now look at two of your definitions
    Definition 1. Uncle Tom definition is – a black person who is overeager to win the approval of whites

Your definition is woefully inadequate. It is obvious to me that you are still on Barbados parroting American phrases without knowing the full meaning or ’emotional content” of these phrases. You tried to pull the man to your low level by hurling the second worst insult that can be applied to a black man and afterwards serving up a half-ass definition.

Definition 2. Crab mentality, sometimes referred to as crabs in the bucket, is a way of thinking best described by the phrase, “if I can’t have it, neither can you.
    As I introduced the phrase ‘crab in the barrel’, it is important that I add to your goOgled explanation. The image is crabs fighting to escape and other crabs in their own desire to escape dragging them back down into the barrel. This is appropriate as you tried to drag the man down to your level. You then boast of having more global exposure and experience and of your qualifications and of employment practices. You not only tried to drag him down, but you almost drowned the man as you tried to raise your head above the level his head is.. That is crab in a barrel behavior.

I appreciate youR charge of my being ignorant and will try to improve myself. By the way, a next thing that I try not to do is to call my fellowman ignorant.

One failing that I have is that I have cussed at a few and let me say that after doing so, I suffered with great regrets. I made up my mind to stop cussing on BU as in a way I was being disrespectful to the blogmaster.

I hope that you have the decency to say thank you for the two free lessons,

33. I was never in the in-crowd at HC as I was from parts and people unknown.

I was not a bad ‘boy’ but I was flogged by Tank 4 or 5 times and therefore unlike the crowd here, I have/had little or no respect for him or the other teachers. Classism/racism? I have placed myself in permanent exile.

I believe that in some ways HC and other schools have failed the island, but is it their fault? Students are not coming from Mars, but are coming from homes in Barbados. The problem my friend is more than a failure of the schools; it is a failure failure of the home; a failure of the family unit to instill proper ‘values’; it is biases and nastiness that have gone unchecked and unchallenged for decades; it is a failure to generate a sense of nationhood and patriotism.

My friend, phrases and situations are more complicated than you seem to think.

34. @ David,

1 yacht + 3 men + half million dollars in dope from Grenada to Barbados equals drug smuggling.

Charge the 3 men and start the rest of the investigation including in Grenada.

35. “And if any place will not welcome you or listen to you, leave that place and shake the dust off your feet as a testimony against them.”

It pains me to see good men having to shake the dust off their feet. You cannot drive your gifted people away and expect to pull out of the death spiral ….

A good night to all at home and abroad and to those who are underground :-).

36. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

@ TheOGazert

Once again you are proving your ignorance.

Those are not my two definitions, those are from a dictionary online.

Doesn’t matter how much you frame it you can never give me free lessons in your ignorance.

I personally don’t care whether you went to HC or not, and I am sure most readers couldn’t care less.

You said I boasted about worldwide experience and qualifications, I RESPONDED to a comment you made targeted at me that unlike PLT your former HC schoolmate who had left Barbados and returned highly qualified I was a Bajan who never left Barbados and hence was not on par with PLT and acting in a crab in a barrel mentality (my paraphrase}.

You sir is a real real jackass.

Maybe you need to take the plank from your eye before you attempt to take the speck out of someone else’s eye.

37. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Whuloss…

@ John the Quaker

Whuloss…

You wukking overtime doah…

You said and I quote “…It would be distinctly possible that none of the three are guilty, rather the search should be for person or persons unknown…”

Why John. It really tel wunna dis long to compose this line of defence?

This was where wunna should have begun!

All of you should have started on the sanctimonious line that NONE OF YOU WERE GUILTY, sorry not You, NONE OF them WERE busy and that it was a plant against all three of You!

And For that reason GEL was willing to stand bail for ALL THREE OF YOU WAS BEING SUPPLIED.

Remember that right now with de black man in jail it looks like Prescod is the fall guy for wunna sins.

If wunna had adopted this new strategy that you are now leading, of it being a plant, AND ALL THREE IF YOU BEING INNOCENT, while people would have been suspicious of you and Rogers as the kingPins, “THE ONE FOR ALL AND ONE FOR ALL” attitude would have been received a little better than throwing Prescod under the bus.

But go for it John the Quaker there is yet time heheheheh

38. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please thank you

39. The black man is in jail because he does not have the means or network to satisfy the surety? It says a little about how Herbert and Rogers have positioned themselves in the transaction. Bear in mind this is a man that has been employed by GEL based on a deviation in HR policy. To leave him in the cold now suggest he has to fight this battle alone why?

40. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@Hants August 5, 2018 9:47 PM
    “1 yacht + 3 men + half million dollars in dope from Grenada to Barbados equals drug smuggling.”
    ++++++++++++++++
    Unquestionably! But of course these thousands of posts over several threads are not about half a million dollars in dope but almost half a millenium in history.

In the weeks since the apprehension of the three men and the vessel White Bajans without exception have circled the wagons to defend one of their own, while the overwhelming majority of Black Bajans have rejoiced that members of the White establishment have been charged with criminal behaviour. The anger expressed by Black Barbados has been visceral and of astonishing intensity.

There is a tiny minority of Black voices urging people to look closely at the actual evidence, but they are mocked as “negrocrats” “uncle Toms” “duped by the Whites” and worse.

Herbert, in his ill advised statement to the media, speculated that the anger was really at the late DLP administration that has so damaged the economic health of Barbados and Barbadians. He was, of course, completely wrong; the anger of Black Barbados goes much much deeper and it is squarely directed at the White community. This anger is both entirely justified and fairly accurately aimed.

Even beyond the flagrantly White supremacist mindset that some White Bajans still embody, the vast majority of the White community has failed to comprehend the corrosive effects of their White privilege. It is the chance of seeing that White privilege shatter which has Black Barbados so eager to incarcerate rich White men, throw away the key, and hold a fete to celebrate the occasion.

White privilege is real in Barbados. It is inevitable that many Black people will resent the advantages that such privilege confers. It does NOT mean that ALL White people are rich and successful; it does mean that the poorest White person in Barbados still has privilege which gives them advantages over an equally poor Black person.

Dear White people, you need to wake up to the reality that Black people are allowed resent you for your privilege. Do not process it instead as individual “hatred” of you based on your light skin. It is NOT reverse racism. It is an entirely justifiable response to what our mutual history has bequeathed us. What this means is that you (like most privileged people, really) haven’t yet done the work to sufficiently understand privilege and its ramifications.

Dear Black people, you need to make sure that your anger is directed against the structures that actually support White privilege, not against some convenient scapegoat, because if the scapegoat is found not guilty by a court of law the result will be the strengthening of White privilege, not its destruction.

41. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

TheOGazerts;

Your 9:38 post echoed my feelings about HC and, judging by his earlier statement, PLT’s feelings about the School also. I was there perhaps a decade or so before you and PLT and Georgie Porgie. HC was very racist and Classist in my time and I think that that situation still exists. I think the classism decreased somewhat in my son’s sojourn there but it was still evident to the extent that he and many of his school friends refused to go back to any formal functions there after they left the school.

You said: “The problem my friend is more than a failure of the school(s); it is a failure of the home; a failure of the family unit to instill proper ‘values’; it is biases and nastiness that have gone unchecked and unchallenged for decades; it is a failure to generate a sense of nationhood and patriotism. My friend, phrases and situations are more complicated than you seem to think.” .

Your statement above is very perceptive and I can only add that HC’s outstanding academic record over many years seems to have served to evoke feelings of jealousy, inferiority, nastiness and spite in much of the population. Feelings that seem to have come to the fore in much of the discussion related to PLT’s comments on the Ecstacy situation. The pushback by many posters to most of PLT’s posts might have been largely due to the HC references by PLT. References to none of the other Older Secondary schools would have had such a visceral effect.

42. Barbados Underground Whistleblower Avatar

@ are-we-there-yet

Are you guys for real who is HC high school in the global world we live in?

No one would have known or cared what secondary school you guys went to; it is a sprat thrown out as if because of your small island mentality it was shared as if a badge of honour to connect to Charles Herbert the subject of this blog.

There are many University graduates who read and post to BU why would any feel jealous of HC high school?

I have taught at UWI and my former students came from a cross section of most secondary schools in Barbados and other Caribbean Islands; hence I don’t know why anyone would feel jealous or any of the other negative attributes you outlined above.

I am yet to learn of a HC graduate worldwide who have invented anything to dramatically changed the world, like any other school most are pencil pushers and others contribute same as limers on the blocks islandwide.

43. I am yet to learn of a HC graduate worldwide who have invented anything to dramatically changed the world, like any other school most are pencil pushers and others contribute same as limers on the blocks islandwide

Here is an HC pupil who made a contribution in medicine.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Henry_Edmund_Gaskin_Boyle

First World War vintage.

44. The issue should not be the imagined issue of race when the real issue of the drugs and their effect on our countries is staring us in our faces!!

45. John
    August 6, 2018 12:23 AM

I am yet to learn of a HC graduate worldwide who have invented anything to dramatically changed the world, like any other school most are pencil pushers and others contribute same as limers on the blocks islandwide
    Here is an HC pupil who made a contribution in medicine.
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Henry_Edmund_Gaskin_Boyle
    First World War vintage.

You could also visit the school and stop by the War Memorial where you can find the names of those former students who gave their lives in the two world wars.

46. Chances are many Bajans who are recognized world wide went to HC!!

In sport, there is Clyde Walcott, one of the three W’s.

47. Don’t know if this person went to HC but came across him when looking at Carriacou.

A significant development in building both sloops and “schooners” occurred in 1884 when an 18-year-old “Bajan” shipwright, John Rock, settled in Carriacou (Bedeau, MS).1 He remained in Carriacou, returning to Barbados for brief
    visits, until he died in 1942. He is said to have taught many local boat builders and left several descendants to carry on the trade. His major contribution was the introduction of the “after transom” to the stern of vessels. Previously, boats built in Carriacou had an almost identical shape in both bow and stern. Squaring off the stern yielded greater stability in the water as well as a greater displacement. Today it is impossible to discuss boat-building with an old head without mentioning John Rock, who has taken on all the aspects of an island hero.