[Barbados Underground]  Yes Jeff, Charles Herbert faces a monumental task, not least because he has already been convicted in the court of public opinion. The social meaning of the case has become about the history of race relations in Barbados, so although the court case is supposed to consider the evidence dispassionately, I am not certain that a jury will lack bias

1,362 responses to “Chairman of Goddards Enterprises Asserts His Innocence”

1. No @Northern we really do not need any sequence…we are NOT the police or prosecutors.

I like a good crime drama like everyone but this immediate gratification thing we do these days is dangerous…very dangerous. We go off with guilt based of scant details or even good details which can be very wrong.

I hold no brief for these guys rather a brief for commonsense ..too MANY brothers who look like me get convicted on this type of rush to judgement in public court and too the real court.

There are so many freaking holes in this case that I really am shocked at the rush of blood simply because of the race and power issues…maybe they are as guilty as sin but boy oh boy I can’t see how they (any of them) can convicted thus far on what we know.

2. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

NothernObserver

I am asking questions based on information available to me and not from official sources. I am informed that Prescod took the fall for an earlier shipment of drugs and was sent to jail; on leaving jail he was immediately hired by Goddard Enterprises to work on a yacht; after working a while he was sent to HR to regularise his employment status with the company; at the interview, he was asked to produce a police certificate of character; he came clean with the interviewing officer, who reported the matter to his boss and she declined to deal with the matter (she no longer works at Goddard Enterprises); eventually, the matter reached the Chairman, who approved the hiring of a known and convicted drug smuggler.

Since Mr. Herbert gave an American styled interview just outside the court, I merely asked him to clarify his role in hiring Prescod.

3. NorthernObserver Avatar

@CF
    This is why the sequence is needed.
    When did Walter Prescod leave incarceration. How long was it between that and his hiring. Since CR was the skipper of this boat long before he became a board member, I must think he had a role in hiring WP. I was told he was aware of WP’s criminal past. Was WP hired when CR was a board member or before? Who was the GEL chair…CH or Joe Goddard? How long was it between “boss declining to do anything” and then making the quantum leap of reaching the chair? I could well see the employee responsible for hiring being concerned, but one would think such matters would never reach the Board?

4. @Sen Franklyn, wittingly I suspect you framed the scenario which led to my crime reality show namely “Marijuana Sex & Ecstasy Topples Bajan Govt’.

This man Herbert is a supporter/donor to the govt and according to your sources based on your remarks is a reputed power player in alleged drug smuggling …1 leads to 2 leads to 3….

Alas, mere wild speculation surely otherwise you would be less generous with your suggestions and questions to Mr Herbert.

I dun wid this.

5. NorthernObserver Avatar

@DIW
    I direct you the case Jian Ghomeshi, a national radio host, and the accused in a sexual assault case. Many in the public had him either convicted and jailed, or not guilty on all charges, long before the trial began. The media bore a significant responsibility, for they did much “investigative work” and the story was in the news every week from the day he was charged. For different reasons, we can expect this one to proceed similarly.

6. @Caswell

We need the timeline like NO has requested. If memory serves there is a cruise liner owned by Royal Caribbean christened Estasy.

https://www.carnival.com/~/media/Images/Ships/EC/carnival-ecstasy-1.jpg

CARNIVAL ECSTASY®

Carnival Ecstasy has the experience under her belt to ensure that you have an amazing cruise. (And at over 850 feet long, that would be some belt!) That’s not all she has, either. For starters, the bright lights of the grand atrium will remind you of the big city… and that you’re not on just any ship.

You’re on a ship that features great fun for the kids with our range of supervised youth activities for cruisers 2–17… including Seuss at Sea. You’re on a ship with plenty for the adults to do — sit back and chill at the Serenity Adult-Only Retreat and our rather relaxing spa, or sip back something chilled at RedFrog Rum Bar and BlueIguana Tequila Bar. For a different sort of cocktail, check out the menu at Alchemy Bar… or maybe just ask the friendly mix-master in the white coat what they’d prescribe.

But let’s not forget that, most of all, you’re on a ship that everyone can enjoy! There’s Carnival WaterWorks for those who’ve just gotta

Read More

GROSS
    TONNAGE
    CAPACITY
    LENGTH
    IN FEET
    ONBOARD
    CREW

https://www.carnival.com/cruise-ships/carnival-ecstasy.aspx

7. @Northern Observer

A little unclear how many sailed on the boat from the Grenadines to Barbados. On what evidence would some who sailed released.

8. Caswell …..David has tried to help you but you havent taken the hint…unfortunately if you want credibility you will have to stay above the fray in any and all matters as anything you say may be taken as your leanings and could influence matters. You have to be very closed about your feelings on an issue as one word from you could have a tremendous effect on a outcome… I think it was someone on the dlp that said it best and this advise may go along way in helping you in your new career ….. quit giving that shit away for free.

9. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ NorthernObserver

Inasmuch as the timeline would be extremely useful I doubt that it is going to be provided for us.

And I will tell you why.

But first some backstory

John The Quaker called the Grenadian policemens “geniuses” euphemism for bungling idiots.

The case of the attempted murder of Nazzim Blackett of the Pine by the Royal Barbados Police Force and the murder by suicide of the other young man whose name i dont have, while he was in the police care, AND THE FACT THAT NEITHER MATTER HAS BEEN SOLVED, should she’d some light on the competencies of our police force.

I am therefore surprised at De Igrunt Word aka DPD complaining about the number of comments here.

For two reasons, first being that there has been a steady drip of information here as people feel more safe to expose the details knowing that more policemen are involved and it can’t incriminate the sources.

And secondly, because our said RBPF is not too bright in certain quarters where a plastic bag and black flag can’t be used.

Now The details provided by Senator Franklyn ARE INCONTROVERTIBLE because Caswell DOES NOT SPECULATE

Giving The timeline WILL EXPOSE a specific person who has access to these records at GEL but what Caswell has provided is generic enough and so widespread in its availability that over 50 people would know this.

Now What would be interesting is the names of the board of directors under Charles Herbert the Chairman & and Goddard who would, according to said timeline AND OVERLAPPING WIDESPREAD KNOWLEDGE, have been privacy to the hiring of Prescod and the override of his criminal conviction when he was hired.

Senator Franklyn DOES NOT OPEN HIS MOUTH ON SPECULATIONS!

Charles Herbert is a man who is complicit in this matter given the evidence that is available regarding Prescod.

What Is going to reveal who is covering up is the trail THAT CAN’T BE HIDDEN.

Now I going leave this to the several policemen who are reading this blog.

There Is one aspect of this matter that cannot be hidden NO MATTER HOW THEY TRY TO TIDY UP THE INTERNAL RECORDS OF THE GEL COMPANY.

They have no control over these and it will be there that they will perjur themselves.

Perjury in this matter is indicative of Charles Herbert’s guilt so IF WUNNA ARE SERIOUS seek to find that info and once you find it have it introduced into evidence AND THEN YOU HAVE YOUR MAN/WOMAN

10. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

” I am informed that Prescod took the fall for an earlier shipment of drugs and was sent to jail; on leaving jail he was immediately hired by Goddard Enterprises to work on a yacht;”

Caswell..don’t mind these peoplpe ya hear, it’s not their first rodeo..there is living proof of their activities over the years…the guns, the drugs, they can only fool certain people, but not those who were there.

11. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

“isn’t it ironic that a man named Herbert is charged with importing herb. ”

I been having real fun with that one.

It’s unfortunate PLT is being misled, they are doing itn because they know he was off island for decades and would not know what they have all been up to all this time.

12. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please

@ Senator Caswell Franklyn

As You can see the vultures are gathering.

De ole man will tell you “You have to thread with care” BUT MINE IS NOT A THREAT LIKE THOSE BEING TOSSED IN HERE FROM ALL THE PEOPLE OF THE ” Quaker Shade”

The issue here is that we have a criminal who want to force the judicial system to be released.

There Is enough evidence that he can’t disprove NOTWITHSTANDING THE OTHER PLANNED DEFENSE.

Looka keep at it Senator but keep vigilant about the 1933 Enabling Act as well

13. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

One other insignificant item.

When was the boat named or renamed?

Under whose regime was it named?

These are records THAT CANNOT BE CALLIFLUXED and this is instructive to the policemen who are reading WHO WANT TO SEE THIS MATTER THROUGH and get convictions of all 3 guilty parties.

You need to look at the records THAT CAN’T BE ADJUSTED EASILY WITHOUT INVOLVING THIRD PARTIES OUTSIDE THEIR PURVIEW!

De ole man ent going tell wunna de real real records for the perjury jes yet but here be an example

De boat was supposed to be being repaired correct?

Dat means supplies and sources and a status report and staffing and a host of verifiable data that is too complex to be falsified because of all the moving parts.

Too many Third party actors for corroboration and BY EXTENSION POTENTIAL PERJURY.

That Is however NOT THE ITEM FOR YOUR FOCUS GENTS. De ole man would tell wunna but dem would know plus de ole man ent too comfortable wid de rotten apples in wunna back yard to share anything with you heheheh

Suffice It to say that THE EVIDENCE IS THERE wunna just Doan know where to look dats all

Watch a Perry Mason nuh?

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster there are two items that need your assistance. Thank You

15. How happy Herbert and his band of brothers must be to have a black man in Peter Thompson – to impress on us here – his theories of why he (Herbert) is innocent.

I would have to go back and read the number of different theories advanced by PT as to why it could never,ever,ever be Thompson.

Probably about 5 different theories if I recall.

Its making me wonder whether Thompson is married to a white spouse who might be unconsciously influencing his thinking.

I will confess that it did shock me when I heard Herbert name called in all of this because he would be the least expected to be wrapped up in this..

BUT THAT IS USUALLY WHY PERSONS WHO HAVE SUPPOSED GOOD STANDING IN SOCIETY OR HOLD HIGH OFFICE OR POSITIONS OF TRUST E.G. LIKE POLICE OR PRIESTS ETC ARE USUALLY THE LAST ONE TO BE SUSPECTED AND ARE THEREFORE ABLE TO GET AWAY WITH MANY A HEINOUS CRIME OVER THE YEARS.

So I started to look at certain patterns for example; a trusted black manager of his plantation and his being caught with marijuana,you hear about some connection with guns or ammunition etc ,I read and re-read what whistle blower was saying,I also started to pay attention to some of the things I was hearing on the ground,then the strangeness of hiring a convicted drug criminal – charged with bringing in drugs – and to hire him to work on your boat against the advice of Human resources.

Caswell do you know when (month and year) Prescod was hired and then check to see the month and year the plantation manager – Moore was charged.

Was Prescod a replacement?

Or was it just a coincidence and Herbert being kind?

16. sorry – why it could never,ever be Herbert

17. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

“…quit giving that shit away for free…” at 6.51 a.m. from one Lawson to Senator Caswell Franklyn

Euphemism For “…quit talking about this sensitive matter and remember that your BLP senatorship has been given to you even though you are de facto “DLP” opposition ”

“…that is if you want your new career to last…”

De grandson going have a field day with dese…I wonder where he is right now?

18. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@David August 5, 2018 3:06 AM
    “A little unclear how many sailed on the boat from the Grenadines to Barbados.”
    My information is that the only the three people charged sailed on the boat from Grenada to Barbados.

19. “I hope i would never be brought so close to denial by which i cannot see the failures and shortcomings of a human being. For we all have sinned . no one is perfect….”

You should have taken your above comment into consideration, before rushing to try, convict and sentence Herbert to jail in shackles….,..

………but we all know your real “beef” with Herbert is not his alleged involvement in the trafficking of herb……

20. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@T.Inniss August 5, 2018 8:04 AM
    I have never said that “it could never,ever be Herbert.” I have simply said that I don’t think he was part of this particular cannabis importation scheme. It’s just my opinion, and I been fairly explicit about the factors that have led me to form such an opinion.

21. “Caswell do you know when (month and year) Prescod was hired and then check to see the month and year the plantation manager – Moore was charged.

Was Prescod a replacement?”

That right there is when all their decades of lies, deceit, trying to avoid the reality of their criminal activities by pretending it never happened while still continuing said criminal activities without fear of being caught, after all look and see who they are all connected to and who have been in their pockets ……and it finally caught up with them in their gun and drug ring.

22. There is a public opinion battle being waged here for the hearts and minds of Bajans and the two participants being used wittingly or unwittingly are PLT and Caswell. PLT is being fed information helpful to Herbert and Caswell’s info is injurious to Herbert.

@NO
    Isn’t that reference to the Ghomeshi case a stretch? There were numerous articles about his predicament in the Canadian media but the Bajan media has been largely silent beyond reporting the news of the arrest and the Court appearance of the defendants in this case.

23. Peter Thompson

Thank you for your response

At least you always try to be so civil in your response unlike some who claim not to be a yardfowl of the blp but hang around here just waiting for any critical comment against the one they worship,or any excuse – to pronounce in their stupid smug way.

Who call you doh?

24. WELL,WELL

I agree with the essence of what you said.Do you know the date when Prescod was hired and moore charged? That would be interesting.

25. The Verdict. A fictional story by Hants who is writing another novel titled “Guilty While …”

Herbs had no knowledge of drugs on the yacht.Not guilty ( NGWW )

Rogue had no knowledge of drugs on the yacht.Not guilty ( NGWW )

Pressie has a previous conviction for drugs. Guilty. ( GWB )

26. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

PLT;

You have been doing a great job of placing ultimately verifiable facts on the BU table about this matter. However, there is not enough information overall for the BU family to get a good grip on the case and form a reasonable judgement of the likely innocence or guilt of any of the persons charged. Your viewpoint is an interesting one but it leaves out a number of areas where I think some light could be shed to better inform us on BU. For example:-

Were any of the three charged found on the boat by the RBPF when they landed? If so who?
    Did they leave the boat after it and its cargo was cleared by Customs/ Immigration?
    Why were the persons charged compelled to put their initials on individual packages of the contraband?
    Was Herbert the Chairman of GEL when Prescod’s job at GEL was confirmed?
    What is / was Rogers substantive post at GEL? Could he be actually in charge of the Ecstacy? Was he the one who confirmed Prescod in the job?
    What is / was Prescod’s Job at GEL?
    Etc. etc. etc.

27. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

My own fascination with this case is personal. It is only the fickle finger of fate that sees me comfortably in my own bed on this Sunday morning rather than in Dodds.

I am a rabid fan of old wooden sailing vessels: several years of my mis-spent youth were taken designing, building and repairing wooden sailboats in Canada after my undergraduate engineering education. After returning to Barbados last year I saw the Ecstacy docked in the Careenage and took the liberty of trespassing on to the deck and wandering about looking at her for a while. When I found out that it belonged to GEL and that my old schoolmate Charlie Herbert was now their board chair I wasted little time in getting in touch to see whether I could go sailing in her.

That is how my wife and I ended up on the vessel a Thursday afternoon for a three hour sail up the west coast and back with Chris Rogers at the helm. There were about thirty something people aboard, but we were the only Black people on the boat apart from those serving the rum punch, sodabix, and cheese; the other passengers seemed to be a mixture of overseas relatives of the Goddards clan and other tourists. My wife glared at me for subjecting her to such a boring and uncomfortable social situation and spent three hours reading Marx’s second volume of Capital which she had brought with her. I spent my time looking over the vessel and talking to Herbert about her history and maintenance and this is how I learned of her annual trips south for maintenance at a facility where she could be hauled out of the water. Herbert asked me whether I had ever sailed in the Grenadines or Carriacou or Grenada and told me how beautiful it was; I said that I’d never had the opportunity, but that I loved to sail on traditional wooden boats.

As we were disembarking Herbert said to let him know if I ever wanted to go along on the trip down south or back up from maintenance to just give him a call; they were always short of crew because the trip back, in particular, was upwind and there were not a lot of folk who considered 40 hours of being wet and seasick and sleep deprived to be a holiday. I told him that if had had the time on my hands I certainly would.

So it very easily could be me languishing in Dodds trying to raise $400,000 bail.

28. “You have been doing a great job of placing ultimately verifiable facts on the BU table about this matter. However, there is not enough information overall for the BU family to get a good grip on the case and form a reasonable judgement of the likely innocence or guilt of any of the persons charged.”

Are-we-there-yet

I agree with your above comments……..as well as the manner in which Mr. Thompson has been articulating his opinion.

Some have already convicted the three individuals who were on the yacht……in the absence of all the relevant information as it relates to the police investigation.

And I have noticed a silly yard-fowl going into the realm of absurdity to suggest the recent drug haul was responsible for the spate of shooting deaths. But that was not surprising……. it’s the norm for them.

29. An interesting experience Peter. Can we conjure the narrative by some in this forum if you had accepted the offer?

He went school wid dem!

30. @ peterlawrencethompson who wrote ” There were about thirty something people aboard, but we were the only Black people on the boat apart from those serving the rum punch, sodabix, and cheese ”

Just like in the goo or bad old days.

31. @PLT,

You are an embarrassment.

32. @ David, in my novel “The Verdict ”

It would have been 2 blacks arrested only. They they would create a way to link Pressie to PLT.

SDWB.

33. “So it very easily could be me languishing in Dodds trying to raise $400,000 bail.”

damn..a real narrow miss, I was always warned to be careful of invitations.

34. @Hants

It has started. How many through the years have been a victim of being in the right place at the wrong time? The blogmaster has White friends and there is the opportunity to socialize which is what civilize people do in a community. Except one is clairvoyant there will be the attendant risks to deal with from time to time.

35. “Do you know the date when Prescod was hired and moore charged? ”

According to those in the know, the charge Moore took back then was around 2013, around 5 years ago, being charged for other people’s guns and drugs is no joke.

36. The problem these have is that the Adrian Ricardo Moore saga with Herbert is very well known, even in the parliament.

37. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Hal Austin;

What’s wrong with you?

38. @PLT
    You are a man that I admire and respect. I will not change my opinion based on the rantings of a few who believe that all xxxx should sing in the same choir.

However, I feel that you need to take a few steps backward.
    I went to school with the three of you (you, ACH and MBrain) and I believe if I was caught in a similar situation only MBrain would rush to my (this black man’s) defense or suspend his judgement. That is why I cannot see MBrain aas some here see him. I guess I would be the ‘PLT’ who would proclaiming the innocence of MB. Sometimes, it is more than race; it is the individual that we are familiar with and who has built up years of our trust.

Your last submission (9:11 a.m.) should have been your first.

In the novel I am writing, the hero’s information about the storage location drugs came not an inside source, but from his travels on the ship and his observation of the smuggling operation. he has an attack of conscience and goes to the local police.

I took this to the extreme and made it as absurd as possible because I see T.Inniss and Hahaha guys making this absurd point in a few days. I have preempted them

There are a couple of folks here that I like (that includes you) and and you all seem to feel the need to commit hari-kari.

I dun. Cockroach shouldn’t be at fowl party.

39. Reread and saw a few typos.. Not correcting.

40. I think it was said that Prescod worked for Goddards for about 5 or 6 years.

It would be interesting to find out who recommended Prescod.Who or what was the link.There are so many guys who had to put down their boats because they couldn’t afford it who Chairman Herbert and Rogers could have sort out to work with them on the Ecstasy – so why Prescod?

Did Prescod have previous experience as a sailor – the job he was hired to do with Goddards?

What and who was that experience (with) ?

Nuff unanswered questions.

Mia keeping quiet and rightly so.Hope nothing blows up in her face with those invitations to the 5 drug lords.

41. Read PLT’s submission at 9.11am. Giving someone a character reference, which is what PLT is presumably doing, is totally different.

42. The questions are not unanswered, the authorities would have asked and had them answered already. The answers will help to build a circumstantial case, does it prove who put the drugs on the boat?

43. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

Hal Austin August 5, 2018 10:25 AM
    “Giving someone a character reference, which is what PLT is presumably doing…”
    I am not giving anyone a character reference. I am simply providing facts about the vessel where I have expertise, relating things I have been told, and providing opinion about people and other aspects of the case: where I provide opinion or hearsay I clearly label it as such.

44. @Haha
    ” I guess I would be the ‘PLT’ who would proclaiming the innocence of MB. Sometimes, it is more than race; it is the individual that we are familiar with and who has built up years of our trust.”

Do I have to write a treatise.

PLT is reacting based on his knowledge and interactions with Herbert. He does not need to please you or ask for your permission to do anything.

45. PLT

You have given a character reference to the BU court of public opinion for your old school mate. Or don’t you understand that?

46. Cockroach in full reading mode for this post

47. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

TheOGazerts August 5, 2018 10:16 AM
    “Your last submission (9:11 a.m.) should have been your first.”
    Granted. However my paranoia made me feel too vulnerable at that point.

48. Actually @Are-We other than his tone and seemingly always condescending manner the thrust of @Hal remarks are understood. In the broader universe of which he is accustomed in merry ole England @PLTwould indeed be excoriated by media scribes/social media re his 9:11 AM post because it juxtaposes his ‘involvement’ tooclosely to the affair for some to deem his analysis objective.

That said I really see no problem with @PLT’s remarks above because he quite transparently from git-go noted his direct link to Herbert from school and said he had sailed on the vessel…it did not take a difficult leap of judgement to understand that he was there because of his ole school ties with the chairman!

However, the barb and those aimed previously do show clearly how quickly this thing can get unruly …unnecessarily so.

BTW, @PLT your confession 😁 so to speak gives further credence to an acquittal cry…how so you ask…well lets surmise you were seeking surety from Dodds as another passenger on the vessel…your innocence would seem just as assured as your guilt could be…you know: accomplished expat and avid boatman now back home hooking up with his school bud to get a final retirement score!

In short @PLT the speculations on this case are limitless…some so far from reality as that one to be beyond distressing…but tell that to the baying hounds if you had taken up that offer as the Blogmaster noted.

I said I was dun did this….🤣 …but once again you add the irresistible twist. Becareful ole chap you are almost becoming a part of the story…inside source and now almost co-conspirator bag man sailor…oh lawd!

49. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

PLT

You would not have been recruited to do the Caribbean run. With your talent, you would have been recruited to operate the Colombian run.

50. Caswell

on leaving jail he was immediately hired by Goddard Enterprises to work on a yacht; after working a while he was sent to HR to regularise his employment status with the company; at the interview, he was asked to produce a police certificate of character;

When I first applied for a job in 1980 I seem to remember I had to produce a Police Certificate of Character before any interview.

How many job applications today do not require a Police Certificate of Character?

Have the Unions in Barbados been able to remove what I always thought was a requirement and on what grounds were they able to do so?