[Barbados Underground]  Yes Jeff, Charles Herbert faces a monumental task, not least because he has already been convicted in the court of public opinion. The social meaning of the case has become about the history of race relations in Barbados, so although the court case is supposed to consider the evidence dispassionately, I am not certain that a jury will lack bias

1,362 responses to “Chairman of Goddards Enterprises Asserts His Innocence”

1. What a fine bunch though..

2. Office of the Registrar…there are people responsible for setting dates by working with the judges, but when the lawyers force these cases to delay and adjourn, after 2 years the judges are reassigned to assizes and if a new judge takes the case another run around the mulberry bush with wicked lawyers for another two years until that judge is reassigned…and so the cases never end.

They are now scrambling to get court dates because the lawyers have all these cases in limbo, since before the court closed in April people were not getting dates, people have cases 10 months a year, over a year, no court date, most have not had a court appearance since last year.

3. @BUW
    Calling someone ignorant does not make you smart.

Here are three more lessons:
    “He who knows not and knows not …. ”
    “Never argue with a fool. He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.” –Mark Twain
    “As far as possible, without surrender, be on good terms with all persons. Speak your truth quietly and clearly. And listen to others, even to the dull and the ignorant, for they too have their story. Avoid loud and aggressive persons, for they are vexatious to the spirit.”

4. David

Just received a whatsapp saying a former Minister has been indicted in the US for money laudering! It is alleged that he took bribes from a Barbados insurance company. Today is a funny night. I hope nobody calls for him to be “locked to @#4% up!”

5. Yes, will post shortly.

On Mon, Aug 6, 2018 at 11:10 PM, Barbados Underground wrote:

6. I wonder if the jackass Ac will go after Donville like how she already procecute Herbert….This is too funny……i will watch how she contorts to prove his innocence. The next few weeks will show the height of her hypocrisy.

7. Another HC old boy in the news.

8. So..which insurance company is this…and when will the bribers in this insurance company be arrested in Barbados for bribery, corruption and money laundering..

9. google ” ex-Barbados minister charged in United States “

10. “The 52-year-old Inniss was released on a $50,000 bond after appearing in Tampa federal court. His lawyer did not immediately respond to a message seeking comment.

Prosecutors say Inniss conspired to accept $36,000 in bribes from high-level executives of a Barbados-based insurance company in 2015 and 2016. They say he laundered the money in the U.S.

They also say he helped the company obtain government contracts.”

50,000 dollar bond for a 36,000 dollar bribe, wonder when he gets charged with more bribery, money laundering, what the bond will then look like.

…, no wonder exyardfowl been so scarce and quiet all day….the others must be running for cover..lol

11. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Well Well

The insurance company is ICBL. This matter was in the works for a while and it is my understanding that the CEO lost her job over that some time ago.

12. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Well Well

Trust me there are more but the wheels of justice move slowly.

13. No not running from nothing. When yuh lie down with dogs yuh bound to get up with fleas
    Herbert made that clear when he hired and hob nob with known convicted drug dealers and for what purpose
    Now Herbert wants everyone to belive he squeeky clean
    If Herbert and his friends belive the whole world mek up of fools . he better pray that all the jury pool is made up.of them

14. Caswell…got ya..

15. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

Whuloss…a fellow just leaves the RumShop for a few hours and whaplax…

@ Peter Lawrence Thompson

Thanks for the update in the matter of wunnuh.org.

So you had it for a while and modified it late last month so that resolves that.

I know that de ole man has said that the DLP is the very worst government Barbados has ever had.

But I never though it was the most STUPID

How could Pornville be incredibly stoopid…but then again all of dem should be given an award for their stoopidity.

Well there goes his aspirations for Prime Ministership

I predict that Verla Depeiza will be the DLP new leader

16. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

On a not so related note.

De ole man has noted that this article with almost 1,000 blogs has found itself listed

(a) as the 16th blog article in the list

(b) is no longer among the “Recent Posts”

(c) and as regards that 16th position, at 2.59 a.m. Barbados time, the blog article seems to have disappeared completely from that home page that lists all of the Articles

Just noticing these things because of “THE ANOMALIES” ting heheheheheh

17. Let us return to good journalism. The media should stake out Charles Herbert from midnight tonight, a reporter and photographer, both at his home and at the police station. Get him signing in before 10am as required by his bail conditions. Keep the pressure on Herbert.
    GEL should also be put under pressure. Ask them when are they going to suspend Mr Herbert as chairman, failing which they should sack him. If they do not, then talk to the big investors in GEL, ask them if they are happy to be invested in a company in which the chairman is charged with drug smuggling.
    Then go to their big clients, not the local offices, but their HQ ie the airlines, and tell them that one of their service providers has been charged with drug smuggling in Barbados, do they want to be associated with that? Then take all your information to the tabloids in the UK, British Airways would not be able to withstand such publicity.
    Then, finally, get a member of parliament to ask questions in parliament.

18. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Peter Lawrence Thompson

All of the EXIF data has been cleaned from the image.

Do a read on NSA XKeyscore to understand what EXIF data is and what is the role of Mia’s Charles Long

So that means that the images were supplied by the Police and then cleaned by a specific intermediary BEFORE BEING CIRCULATED to the internet community and to you of course.

19. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

And among the recent ignominous memories that Barbados has acquired let us not forget this

No matter how they will be begging the fourth estate represented by the ever vigilant Barbados Underground TO TEK DOWN CHARLES HERBERT AND CHRIS ROGERS & PRESCOD and Goddards Enterprises Yacht from being in the news

https://i.imgur.com/kUeLVJr.png

20. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Moshe Dayan Sr and Jr. aka JB

heheheheheheheh.

Lef de ole man nephew Moshe nuh! heheheheheh

https://i.imgur.com/FVPcBq5.png

21. The press must stake out Mr Herbert from midnight to 10am.

22. lol..good one.

23. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ the Director of Public Prosecutions

Is there an email for the Office of the DPP which IS NOT A CARIBSURF email or an email that is administered by Charles Jong of this new BLP administration?

Even a gmail address which you would provide here on Barbados Underground

This way, if a feller wants to reach out to you such can be done WITHOUT COMPROMISING somebody

24. “Whether or not he is found guilty, his career is over. He has been tainted by these charges. He will not be able to hold any position of trust [again]. He was one of the potential leaders of the DLP, but Donville is now written out of holding any position of trust in the DLP, guilty or not,” Barrow-Giles told Barbados TODAY.(Quote)

Does this principle apply to Charles Herbert?

25. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Hal Austin

Hal

I was here communing with the Spirit, a customary thing for one who loves my “opiate”, smile and thought of this Herbert matter a little more

From Herbert’s perspective, be he innocent or guilty, his is going to be a campaign to get himself free.

So too will be the objective of all his friends in his minority grouping.

Third parties will fall into three groups

The sheeple who don’t give a flying badword

The reasonable and rational commenters who have insider information about his innocence or guilt

And the sanctimonious better than thou crew who just adore a fight and join in.

From Herbert’s point of view AS LONG AS YOU ARE NOT FOR HIM you are against him.

So he and his owe his detractors no good will.

That is normal.

His fellow directors have given this some thought as well.

If they have him resign that alone is tantamount to saying that he is guilty to the average bajan and compromises his matter beyond retraction.

So, unlike other countries, even though some may know of his guilt, they are bound to leave this matter as it is and let it work out by the natural effluxion of time.

Beyond the two of us commenting here don’t expect other parties to remark further on the drug importer trio.

Note for example that Freedom Crier with all her talk about improving Barbados has made no remark about the scourge of drug importation and How, irrespective of how pretty the landscape is, will be for nought when everyone is a paro

26. Can someone please explain the legitimacy of the journalistic decision not to cover the reporting from bail of the two businessmen accused of smuggling substantial quantities of drugs in to Barbados.
    As I understand it, they were granted conditional bail of Bds$400000 each, one condition that they surrendered their travel documents and report weekly to the nearest police station by 10am on Wednesdays.
    Was this a news event of sufficient importance to be covered by our two leading publications? Or is this further evidence of a failed state when gatekeepers censor what news readers are allowed to read.

27. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

How much money does the Goddard Group of companies and their affiliates read the white bajan community pay into the coffers of the Nation and Advocate and Barbados Today?

Do you think it makes sense for them to pursue your version of investigative journalism and go and take one picture of Charles Herbert entering a police substation AND LOSING ALL DIS MONEY???

The only way to pursue that avenue Hal is to do it yourself or pay a private eye to get some pictures for you

28. For the same reason they knew about Donville Innis, ICBL and tax payers’ money but did not report on it. As if we don’t know that printing 30K news papers a day @ $2.00 a pop can’t maintain them. It’s those big money ads campaigns , thus the frivolously bull shit for journalism.

29. Piece,

If BU will do it I will pay the report and photographer. We have next week.

30. Piece Uh De Rock Yeah Right Avatar

@ Hal Austin

Hal

That may “compromise” the Honourable Blogmaster

Let me explain that verb compromise.

For the most part The Old David of BU WHILE HE WILL REPORT ANY SUBSTANTIATED ISSUE THAT IS SUBMITTED HERE, he does not to the best of de ole man’s knowledge, take a personal stake in the activity itself.

But I may be wrong about that but what I would concommittantly suggest is this.

You can do three things

1.Decide how much you are prepared to pay for a photograph BY ANYONE PROVIDING A PICTURE OF CHARLES HERBERT ENTERING OR LEAVING THE POLICE STATION DURING ANY SUCH CHECKIN

2.Create a Paypal account which as you know should permit for the payment of said money to anyone in Barbados. THe transaction will be between you and them and I dont think that you AS A JOURNALIST will expose their identity

3.De Grandson would help with a draft document for you and other parties to circulate via social media.

You are not breaking any laws but you can be assured that the Commissioner of Police or some body else going mek some public notification bout it being illegal to tek pictures of accused drug importers.

Btw the way, you also want pictures of Chris Rogers too right? I ent hear much mention of him and having him resign from his position as well.

I wonder if Senator Caswell Franklyn could find out if Prescod is still employed at GEL heheheheheh though I doubt it cause after all Prescod is the MasterMind of this Importation scheme doan mind he ent got no surety as yet!

31. Piece,

Sorry. It was meant as a joke. I cannot even afford a cup of tea. Seriously, if you want to know roughly the source of a newspaper’s advertising revenue get hold of a copy, work out the editorial/advertising ratio, get hold of its advertising rates and do a rough calculation of the maths. It will not be accurate because paper’s do deals. That tells you who is advertising and, again, calculate it over a year. He who pays the piper calls the tune.

32. Can someone say if Charles Herbert reported from bail?

33. Herbert has stepped down as Chairman of GEL.

34. Why do our leading newspapers satisfy themselves in publishing press releases instead of adding value to them? Is this what passes for good journalism? Why have they not reported on Mr Herbert reporting on bail yesterday? Why are readers satisfied with this paucity of competence?

35. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

I am reading this resignation online now.

It says “…Goddard Enterprises Limited (GEL) has announced that A. Charles Herbert has voluntarily stepped down as chairman of the board of GEL with effect from August 7…”

I…..

De ole man is speechless and thrown for a loop by the action.

And I will tell you why.

He did not make any public hullabaloo on this action which was an option earlier in the exercise.

De ole man would have used the first public appearance to resign both the Private Sector position as well as the Goddards position and throw oneself on the court of public opinion as opposed to the bluster and bravado.

The interference being run by PLT and John the Quaker was crafted incorrectly.

Now you have to contend with the court of public opinion saying thst you were pushed.

You are being advised by some parties who are not ammm….

John the Quaker is your friend and he understands how this works

God sees the heart of all men Mr Herbert.

How He wants this to end is always in His Hands so, having said, that the ole man who has seen the scourge that drugs bring to the most brilliant of minds, and how it ravages the most beauteous of forms, will leave thus matter to My Lord.

Remember that He Lives and is LARGE and IN CHARGE

36. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please with an item that will be my last post for this trio of Herbert, Rodgers and Prescod.

When you can see these things you will realize that they are in the Hands of My God now.

No matter what is done by man’s hands the outcome is decided.

37. NorthernObserver Avatar

@PUDYR
    It is fairly standard for persons who serve in a nominated/elected position in business to confer with those who elected them, prior to making a decision. If CH was in an employee relationship, then it is all his decision whether he resigns or not. While this may infer to you being ‘pushed out’, that is always a risk if one follows the path of conferring with those who elected you. They may request you resign or leave the decision up to you. The counter is, if you were going to resign anyways, why confer? It is called the ‘polite chain of command’, because you may like to considered again down the road, if the charges do not result in a conviction.

38. goddards still doing work that is good thing.

39. God sees the heart of all men Mr Herbert.

40. Herbert has stepped down as Chairman of GEL. Racial discrimination is not acceptable!

41. Nice post <3 love u

42. Chuyển tiền Trung Quốc hiện là dịch vụ được rất nhiều khách hàng quan tâm thay vì chuyển tiền qua ngân hàng, bưu điện. Bởi vì sử dụng dịch vụ này có những ưu điểm nổi bật so với các hình thức chuyển tiền khác.

43. Nam Thành Vinh chuyên phân phối vật liệu xây dựng hàng đầu tại tphcm. Cung cấp các bảng báo giá xây dựng mới nhất và chính xác nhất để quý khách dễ dàng theo dõi tình hình giá vật liệu xây dựng

44. Nội Thất Kường Thịnh sự lựa chọn hoàn hảo cho nhà bếp của bạn <3

45.         lol..good one.      

46. What is the situation with Charles Herbert and his co-accused?

47. Hal Austin
    March 29, 2019 12:26 PM

What is the situation with Charles Herbert and his co-accused?

Which co accused, the one that is free on bail or the one that isn’t?