[Barbados Underground]  Yes Jeff, Charles Herbert faces a monumental task, not least because he has already been convicted in the court of public opinion. The social meaning of the case has become about the history of race relations in Barbados, so although the court case is supposed to consider the evidence dispassionately, I am not certain that a jury will lack bias

1,362 responses to “Chairman of Goddards Enterprises Asserts His Innocence”

1. @Caswell

The comment from Bushie is not personal, it reflects the level of cynicism many feel at this time given the poor state of our affairs.

2. Who says Bushie’s silly remark is not personal?
    On a more important issue, GEL is a listed company and has its reputation to consider. If Herbert is not suspended or resigns, then the unions should take action and GEL clients should ask themselves serious questions. He cannot remain chairman while a serious criminal charge is outstanding. That is a basic principle of business. Had he been an ordinary employee he would have been suspended. GEL cannot continue to sit on the fence, nor should the Barbados Stock Exchange.

3. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

St. John…would not happen to be related to Bright St. John??? Lol.

The island is too small for this level of hypocrisy and attempts at cover ups…I said attempts because the reality is too HUGE to ignore and to gigantic to hide, there are not enough covers available for a cover up, nit with the kinds of players involved…they will have to pray for a technicality instead…which is quite possible for anyone accused of anything.

4. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

St. John…would not happen to be related to Bright St. John??? Lol.

For those who don’t know, Bright, i think the correct spelling is Bryte, if I remember…. is Bree’s son..

As I said, the island is too small and there are not enough covers for a successful cover up..all this information is public knowledge.

5. saddened to see mariposer and WW’s racist prattle, so you want to see a white man in shackles ?? I bet that gets you pretty horny…are the kiddy porn sites losing there lustre for you.

6. Shouldn’t the issue be if the three charged are proved to be guilty? By the way, why were the other crewmen not charged?

7. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Trump is king…..THE DEVIL SAYS

BUT LOOK AT THE RESULTS

BETTER THAN WHEN THE BLACK MAN WAS PLAYING AT LEADER
    SHOULD THE EVIL HILARY BE QUEEN?

GOD RULES IN THE AFFAIRS OF MEN

THE TIMES OF THE GENTILES WILL END SOON

THERE WAS A JOSIAH BEFORE THE TIMES OF THE GENTILES BEGAN

THERE IS A “JOSIAH” BEFORE THE TIMES OF THE GENTILES ENDS, IT SEEMS

8. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Lawson…when it’s all done, you might be the only white man in shackles.

What the police and DPP should be concerned with is juror interference by those hellbent on not being found guilty during the case, if it reaches to that.

6??? people on a boat on which drugs…cocaine or marijuana???….were found and only 3 charged….ha!!!….the things you do follow you….why indeed.

9. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Hope it wasn’t you killed your girlfriend, your mother AND your stepfather in Canada recently Lawson..

10. https://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/north/james-cooper-morton-nunavut-lawyer-bigamy-1.4771747
    Prominent Nunavut and Ontario lawyer accused of marrying 2 women, forgery

The information provided through the law society alleges Morton forged divorce documents to facilitate a marriage to a woman who is his law clerk in Hamilton. The allegations have not been proven in court. Morton is accused of trying to divorce his wife, a justice of the peace, in Newmarket, by using the false documents, according to the affidavit. Morton allegedly had his articling student file the false divorce documents to Newmarket Superior Court where a clerk contacted police, according to an affidavit by an investigator with the law society. The clerk at the courthouse was concerned about the divorce papers, and could not find any record of a divorce action or the file number. That’s when she contacted police, according to documents provided by the Law Society of Ontario….Morton is a prominent defence lawyer in Nunavut, and a noted civil and criminal lawyer in Ontario. He is a FORMER PRESIDENT OF THE ONTARIO BAR ASSOCIATION and a former faculty member at Osgoode Hall law school, at York University and also a former faculty member at Humber College. He has 50 active files.”

I am trying to get my head around this one, why a presumably bright man would think that he should do this, and why he may have thought he would get away with it.

Tut, tut, tut. Bright and well educated int all. If I had been his adviser, I wold have told him to do like so many other people and throw some horns in his wife with the outside woman, especially as another publication has noted that the outside woman already had a husband. Better choice than forgery, and likely losing career

Why would a sensible man seek to marry his outside woman who is a married woman and who is only his clerical employee anyhow?

Stupssseee!!!

Sometimes MEN are so idiotic.

11. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

Sometimes??? really…sometimes??? .lol

12. @Shabier St.John “28 July at 00:32 This man is a second father to me. The court of public opinion is quick to rest its case. I have been on this boat for this same trip. While it was in Grenada for its annual repair, anyone could load anything on the boat daily for that 2 month period. I never searched the boat when I got on or off.”

it is the responsibility of the most senior person on a vessel to ensure that a search is carried out when such vessel is leaving one jurisdiction and moving to another, this is especially important on such a small vessel with so few people on board. In addition is is reasonable to assume that Herbert knew or OUGHT REASONABLY TO HAVE KNOWN, that one of the crew was a convicted drug trafficker and therefore ought not to have been given such a high level of trust that no one searched the boat before it left Grenada and arrived in Barbados.

Mr. Herbert is an actuary would he have given a convicted fraudster “the keys” to Goddard’s assets?

He has the presumption of innocence, but at this time he and his lawyers will need to find ways of convincing a jury that his actions in not searching the boat or having it searched by a verifiably honest employee were the actions of a reasonable man.

13. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Well Well

You said: “What the police and DPP should be concerned with is juror interference by those hellbent on not being found guilty during the case, if it reaches to that.”

There is a more fundamental concern, they have started to delete computer records that would link Herbert to Prescod as more than a mere employee that was recruited in error. But what the hell, if it were me, I suspect that my son who is computer savvy would try to assist.

14. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Simple Simon

You see That article about the lawyer who was a bigamist?
    There are two issues about this that bear mention.

That lawyer has to be real stupid to risk this

AND

IN WHITE PEOPLE COUNTRY that is not a failed state like Barbados? the Bar Association and or their police and or their court system WORKS.

By The way SS I believe that you have just stated the incontrovertible defense for Charles Herbert but de ole man done talk cause…

15. Well Well & Cut N' Paste At Your Service Avatar

See what I mean.

What they are missing is that Prescod could not hire himself at Goddards,,, who will they pin his hiring on?? Adrian Ricardo Moore???..lol

16. @Senator

A reminder to be careful with your statements.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Hal Austin August 4, 2018 4:14 AM
    “Who says Bushie’s silly remark is not personal?
    On a more important issue, GEL is a listed company and has its reputation to consider. If Herbert is not suspended or resigns, then the unions should take action and GEL clients should ask themselves serious questions. He cannot remain chairman while a serious criminal charge is outstanding. That is a basic principle of business. Had he been an ordinary employee he would have been suspended. GEL cannot continue to sit on the fence, nor should the Barbados Stock Exchange.”

Your contribution only goes to show how much out of touch you clearly are with the-on-the-ground realities in Barbados.

What Stock Exchange what! If the Barbados Stock Exchange (BSE) was to ‘stop’ the trading in the GEL shares until Mr. Herbert is removed (permanently) then what would become of the BSE?

Who would cover the BSE’s overheads? The foreign-owned banks, Massy, SOL, FLOW, Emera, COW, Maloney & Co or Greenverbs Parris & Bosom pals?

You might be right in arguing that Barbados is quietly ‘becoming’ a “failed state” like the once great Zimbabwe.

But don’t try to pin this one on the local whites or even the nouveaux arrivants whom you disparagingly refer to as the new Barbadians on a jihadist mission to turn Bim into a mini caliphate or another outpost for the spread of Islamic fundamentalism.

The reasons why Barbados is on the road of being a failed state (to use your dystopian description) are not because of any controlling economic power inherited by the local white puppeteers behaving like the Mafia or not even the economic influence exercised by the nouveaux riche among your non-Bajan (immigrant) classes.

Barbados is fast becoming a “failed state” because of the so called highly-educated blacks who have forgotten, deliberately so, their village upbringing and the once-practised survival value system and are now exercising control over the reins of political power and bureaucratic authority using the most abusive and corrupt means necessary for them to become members of the said class of nouveau riche.

The whole concept of ‘giving back’ through the moral principle of Noblesse Oblige has long been thrown through the ‘village’ church window when the devil of conspicuous consumption walked through the door.

Just like the ostentatiously quick-rich “Asian immigrants” in your neck of the British woods who cannot ‘legally or morally’ justify their newly-found wealth, the same question could be raised over the sudden and extraordinarily gaudy display of conspicuous consumption of foreign-made goods by the Bajan political and black elite bureaucratic classes living ‘high off the hog’ while butchering the taxpayers in order to supply the corrupted pipeline with the financial pork to their fountain of sudden fortunes.

Money is the chief god in Barbados where there is no competition but total collusion from the devil of kickbacks trading in drugs, guns and blatant tax evasion while turning a blind eye.

Bush Tea has to agree with the miller’s assessment since it seems to be in keeping with his BBE plans of bringing Barbados to Christian understanding as he seeks to use Karma as his sword of change.

18. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@the Honourable Blogmaster your assistance please

@ Senator Franklyn

You probably have copies to prove the previous statement

Guard It well

Imagine That private citizens have evidence and the police and the DPP can’t find a thing cause they are not looking use dem get paid NOT TO LOOK

19. The letter which Herbert sent to PM Stuart is a big indictment of his character and in more ways than one goes to his intent to commit criminality
    A letter not written by some one else but a person of sound mind
    A person who did not hid himself from being the author of the letter or as yet to distance himself from the contents of the letter after it was revealed
    A letter in which Herbert never have accused PM Stuart accusations as lies
    All of the above which serves as tell that he meant what he said in the letter if he did not get his way
    Now thrown in the throngs of illegal drug smuggling
    A letter which can be used to define his character in this drug case.

20. Hello David @BU, what the hell is wrong with you asking Mr. Franklyn to be mindful of what he says? In some bajan way you might have his interest at heart, but let me tell you, too many times I’ve watched and listened to my fellow bajans censoring each others with these silly admonishing. Guess what, after so many years it has become a part of us not to speak up which is playing a major role as to why so much shit goes on. In addition to BU’s motto, you maybe reminded that for evil to triumph, bajan men keep their mouths shit. ”I in gettin dah boh.”

21. The Senator appreciates why the blogmaster issued a gentle warning.

22. “The letter which Herbert sent to PM Stuart is a big indictment of his character and in more ways than one goes to his intent to commit criminality.”

What letter???

where is your proof?????

23. David, yuh guh long wid yuh secrets.

24. Talking Loud Saying Nothing Avatar

” Barbados is not failing, neither is it a failed state.

That is according to former principal of the Barbados Workers’ Union Labour College, Ulric Sealy, who said despite the challenges the country has been experiencing, there are no signs to suggest it is a failed state. He made the comments as he delivered the weekly Astor B. Watts Lunchtime Lecture at the Democratic Labour Party’s headquarters on the topic, ‘Developing a Post Colonial State: The Case of Barbados and the Sterling Work of the Democratic Labour Party’.

“Important concepts associated with statehood are ideology, philosophy, sovereignty, authority, freedom and liberty, these are the characteristics of a state as we understand it. Where a state fails considerably in meeting the foregoing criteria, it is said to be a failed state. A failed state is a political body that has disintegrated to a point where basic conditions and responsibilities of a sovereign government no longer function properly,” he said.

Sealy added that, “Common characteristics of a failing state include loss and control of its territory, I don’t know if that is evident in Barbados. Erosion of legitimate authority to make collective decisions, I haven’t seen the evidence yet. Inability to provide public services, again haven’t seen it. Widespread corruption and criminality, I don’t see these things as hinted here; sharp economic decline and the inability to interact with other states as a full member of the international community.”

The retired trade unionist, referring to the Fund for Peace’s Fragile States Index based in the United States, indicated that the index which looks at the fragility of 178 countries, ranks Barbados at 139 – among the 25 per cent considered least fragile. Other countries within the Caribbean region, including Haiti, Venezuela, Suriname, Guyana, Jamaica, Grenada, Trinidad and Tobago and St. Lucia are considered more fragile than Barbados which attained a score of 49.6 in the index.

“Yet, many of the so-called right-thinking social, economic and political commentators in our midst would want us to believe otherwise. The tone of their speeches and the style of their writings are all geared towards the fermenting of doubt and disenchantment in the minds of others,” he stated.

Deal’s comments came as he told those gathered that much of what has gotten Barbados to that state of stability was done by the DLP during its various periods in office. He contended that the political party was at the forefront of human capital development with the introduction of free secondary education for all and free school meals; the development of the local manufacturing and tourism sectors and putting groundbreaking legislation in place. In respect of the latter, the trade unionist spoke of such things as the 1966 National Insurance and Social Security Act, the Severance Payment Act of 1971, the Employment of Women Maternity Act of 1976, as well as the new Employment Rights Act of 2012 and the Employment Sexual Harassment (Prevention) Act which was passed last year. ”

(JRT)

The Barbados Advocate, Monday, April 16, 2018

25. Talking Loud,

The man does not know what he is talking about. Ignore the claim of philosophy and replace it with values; what are our collective values in Barbados? Name an institution that works properly – not perfectly – in Barbados. Most of the speech is waffle; having institutions and laws in place does not mean the state has not failed. The Soviet Union had institutions and laws; Zimbabwe had institutions and laws.
    Ignore the loss of territory and sovereignty for the time being, we are deeply in debt to the Chinese and others. We have defaulted on our debt, we are insolvent; in the commercial world if you are insolvent you are made bankrupt.
    Look at our criminal justice system; we have people who have been on remand (innocent people) for up to ten years, longer than if they had been convicted for the offence on which they were remanded. Is this not a failed state?
    As to making collective decisions, has he noticed the composition of parliament? And he drifts in to the Bajan disease of comparing themselves to others. Hoe about comparing yourself to the ideal, to what could be? In any case, the fact that he has to go out and defend the god name of Barbados is proof that serious people believe it is a failed state. The DLP has nothing to convince the nation after ten years of gross incompetence. He is trying to rewrite history.

26. @ Miller @8.39 am

Another sure sign that the end is nigh….
    Bushie actually agrees with your expressed sentiments here, and your conclusion that our problems stem from our adoption of the selfish, spiteful, albino-centric addiction to money – rather than the community-centric focus that represents our natural disposition and which characterised our unblemished fore parents.

When an Anunnaki can come around to such a perceptive perspective, …we should all beware….
    clearly the end cannot be afar…

27. Talking loud and saying nothing the second paragraph are high indicators of a failed state some of which has crossed paths with barbados
    Already the destruction of our social enviroment has started with the illegal importation of drugs andguns which attributes to gun violence
    Yes the factors and indicators are keys of showing how far we are going and in what direction
    Most mentionable and note worthy is barbados default which has taken barbados into the same negative financial territory as Venezuela argentina and other countries who social enviroment has come under severe stress because of high debt
    The only one factor missing which so far has provide a buffer from being offically called a failed state is not having social unrest

28. I am being nice by telling her the truth or would you rather me be a hypocrite like so many around her who want piece of the fatted calf if and when the calf put on weight.
    ++++++++++++
    Ladies & Gentlemen

I come not to praise the “fatted calf’ but to bury it, let it be buried with the noble Thompson. Since each administration deserves to be recognized on its own merits I prefer the “Golden Fleece” for this incarnation. Why “Golden Fleece” you ask? First of all they are folks here who like to perpetrate the notion ( Miller I am looking at you) that KJV is a book of myths so we may as well move on to a Grecian myth. Remember the days when 14,15,16, Ministers were too many? Now we are being fleeced ( to use another interpretation of the word) with an additional Bakers dozen who all want their specks of gold.

To paraphrase the former PM we have sucked the nipples too long, they are dry and the calf is dead, long live the ram.

29. Herbert supporters remind of the voice if a mother who rans to a child defence when caught in illegal behaviuor
    The article in Barbados today in which the person defends or try to come to Herbert defense whilst attacking the voices of differing opinions is a telling sign of how people put their faith in mankind but when illict behaviuor is attributed to their actions the very thought sends them into defense and denial mode with the usual reponses
    I hope i would never be brought so close to denial by which i cannot see the failures and shortcomings of a human being
    For we all have sinned . no one is perfect

30. For we all have sinned . no one is perfect
    We know that for a FACT about the DLP …after TEN YEARS of giving them the benefit of the doubt.
    Why not wait a few months and let us see what the FACTS say about Herbert?

Have you ANY idea how sick-minded you sound…. speculating and convicting on and on…?
    What if we did the same with your former ministers….BEFORE the PAC comes out with their rulings?

Remember –
    Whosoever diggeth a pit
    shall fall in it,,,
    shall bury in it…

31. Bush .You talk too much where in my comments did i say he was guilty but to make you feel as if i said such i would go on record saying i am not convince of Herbert innocence
    Furthermore it was Hetbert mouthings on the court house steps that gave further cause to people’s.response to his guilt or innocent
    So dont come here with your twisted serpentine tongue to infere that peoples differing opinions says he is guilty
    The jury of his peers would decide if it case reaches that far

32. SS are you sure it was two women and not a two faced woman. Let the herbert case play out they ya can pile on if guilty.. David you were wise to counsel the senator he cant start acting like hillary ,bleach bit and hammer everything now he has grabbed for the brass ring or letting on he or family knows how to do it. He may have to use that knowledge at some point. But you were right he shouldnt be claiming other people are doing it.

33. The reason we pay senior people 1$10,000, $20,000, $40,000 and more per month is not because they did well at their A’Level exams. We pay them such high salaries because we expect them to exercise excellent judgement. We pay the boy in the yard $275 a week, because he is simply expected to do as he is told.

Herbert is not now, and has never been, a boy in the yard.

34. Simple’s point @ 7; 51 a.m. is very interesting and makes one ponder.

35. peterlawrencethompson Avatar

@T.Inniss August 4, 2018 3:48 PM
    Simple’s point @ 7; 51 a.m is based on a misunderstanding of several points. Herbert was not the captain of the vessel despite being chairman of the board. He was the least experienced seaman of the three crew aboard.

Furthermore I have been informed that the contraband was stowed during the maintenance of the vessel by being stashed between the exterior waterproof planking and the interior planking (known as ceiling planks in wooden boat terminology). If this information is true then a normal search of the vessel would have revealed nothing; you would need to remove the ceiling planks to find the contraband. The RBPF received a tip off to do exactly that.

36. @PLT

Most people assume the authorities received a tip, I presume that whoever provided the tip knows who “secreted” the contraband. The question remains why did the Police act when they did, shouldn’t they have surveilled the boat and see who unloaded it and followed the trail? That may be the stuff of Hollywood dramas but if your information is correct seems the Police could have made an even bigger bust in multiple countries.

37. Why do we continue to beat this to death … the matter will proceed to the courts accordingly. @PLT you continue to inform the blog, let’s hope you are a well sourced agent and not provocateur of disinformation.

@Mariposa, I agree with the Bushwhacker you need to step off…. your remark that “I hope i would never be brought so close to denial by which i cannot see the failures and shortcomings of a human being…” is so FULL of absolute depraved, full mouthed BS that it confounds that you have the gall to continue to expound here.

All of us watched and read your absolute impractical defense of the most egregious lying and ministerial failings and yet you now assert this baloney that you “hope …never … [to deny to…] see the failures and shortcomings of a human being”.

So did we just leave NeverNeverLand three plus months ago !

Mr. Blogmaster ban every contribution from her forthwith until she grovelingly seeks atonement for such blatant two faced nonsense…fah real.

…And you wonder why it was 30 -0…Good Lord save us!

38. De dribble
    When one ciorns are mashed it hurts and apparently my comments about Herbert might be mashing yours
    As a matter of fact i do enjoy agitating the intelluctial
    By the way i hate briwn nosing

39. I belive PTL is being used as a conduit by Herbert supporters to push a theory in favour of Herbert’s innocent
    Almost a week after charges were filed against Herbert it is only here on BU the bogey man story is making the rounds
    Enough for me to keep.my ears closed and spout my disgust of Herbert a man who had planned to destroy barbados social enviroment which is a fact and one that does not include a bogeyman theory straight up

40. I belive PTL is being used as a conduit by Herbert supporters to push a theory in favour of Herbert’s innocent
    Almost a week after charges were filed against Herbert it is only here on BU the bogey man story is making the rounds
    Enough for me to keep.my ears closed and spout my disgust of Herbert a man who had planned to destroy barbados social enviroment which is a fact and one that does not include a bogeyman theory straight up

41. I agree with both David and Whitehill at the same time.
    Whitehill felt that David should not ‘warn’ the senator and David felt that he David should warn the senator.
    I will not warn him, as they said “a word to the wise is sufficient”.

42. Mariposa or AC,you who have been on here defending everything the DLP did,talking about shortsightedness.De Dribler is right,you have to be kidding me.The point is the Dems did a lot of nonsense and you defended everything,was that not shortsightedness on your part?Up to this point I have refrained from any comment on this Mr Herbert issue,as I prefer to wait on all the facts,certain things do not add up to me,and I would advise persons,not to be like Mariposa jumping to hasty conclusions.

43. Lorenzo when all you blp yardfowls.were condemning David Thompson who is dead and could not defend himself against accusations of theft it was right and proper NO!
    Now that one of the blp home boys Herbert have been caught bringing contraband aboard a vessel into barbados the shouts are one of hush ! don’t say that! wait fuh evidence
    Wuh loss much belly hurting fuh real

44. peterlawrencethompson August 4, 2018 4:23 PM ” is based on a misunderstanding of several points.”

i don’t mis-understand a thing. I know that he was/is not captain of the boat. I never claimed that he was. I know that he is chairman of Goddards.

I also know my Barbados in which I have lived for more than 60 years

And no ordinary seaman, nor any ordinary yardboy says “no” to the big maguffy boss.

45. @DPD
    Why do we continue to beat this to death … the matter will proceed to the courts accordingly.

++++++++++++
    You missed “open mike” because what you wrote is comedic.

This is the intersection of race and class; power and money; rich and poor, politics and cynicism, crime and punishment the issues that divide and agitate most societies and you ask why “we continue to beat this to death”. When last did you see a captain of industry, the head of one of island’s major businesses and the titular head of the local business association appear in the local Courts as a defendant in a criminal matter?

This is a first for Barbados and will be the topic of conversation for many moons to come, you may wish it to go away but it has and will dominate conversation in living rooms, bars, offices , rum shops, the diaspora and daresay the blogs throughout the island for the next few months.

46. Are-we-there-yet Avatar
    Are-we-there-yet

Sargeant;

You are so right!

PLT is gradually revealing one aspect of the case for the defense of one man (reading between the lines). In so doing there seems to be a possibility of a slight weakening of the case for the defence of the other non-executive director and the throwing of the black man to the wolves. But, overall, there is not enough information in the public domain to reasonably gauge the absolute likelihood of anyone of the three being guilty or innocent at this time and therefore there is significant latitude for relatively uninformed discussion on this topic that can last for months before it is resolved.

There should be a good world class movie and novel in the works about this case. PLT seems best positioned to write them.

47. Oh goodness @Sargeant where did you your reading comprehension not with Harold Wharton surely 🤣…when and where did I suggest I want this to go away! Enlighten.

It is being beaten to death after some 700 posts of regurgitated speculation and repeated ad nauseum Micky Spillane or worst yet Hardy Boys petite crime novel innuendo. That’s my grouse.

The themes you mentioned were clear from day one…so what has changed since then other than the continued snarky folly….

…actually I am thankful to @PLT for bringing his ‘revelations’ to the blog…at least that adds something new.

Do you really believe that after post 110 or thereabouts that the continual harping from Mariposa or TInniss, just to name my two favorites, or the other side defense from Lawson or John ctually adds further to the “intersection of race and class; power and money; rich and poor, politics and cynicism, crime and punishment ” of our society.

No sir…not one iota…

OF COURSE this is the proverbial seminal Bajan case this would be like that Kennedy Chappaquiddick case that will forever reverberate socially and politically until some of the participants go to their maker…so yes I accept it’s obviously that colossal.

But for heavens sake enough of the petty repetitive dime book innuendo…let’s deal substantively with available facts or basically shut up for a bit!

And one glaring available fact is that any freaking competent criminal lawyer (sans other damning evidence) can sow enough doubt to acquit Herbert and Rogers and too Prescod….yet a stream of counterpoint complety dismisses that simple reality…

This is becoming a cheap reality show …the Blogmaster may as well name it: The Wrap; Power Race and Ecstasy or should that be ‘Marijuana Sex & Ecstasy Topples Bajan Govt’…..afterall, everything sells better with a sexual innuendo!😁

48. NorthernObserver Avatar

Many nibbling on the edge.
    @blogmaster….what other crew?
    @Sarge…..interesting surveillance option.
    Where is Gabriel? He had some interesting info he attributed to me…not me…but interesting.
    Why is the Senator barking up the CH-WP tree, this is the second try.
    We need the sequence of events.

49. BTW re your 5:19 PM…You said “Police could have made an even bigger bust in multiple countries”. That presupposes 1) that the local tip was received far in advance to allow surveillance here and where the boat was docked for repair….So one can ask when did the RBPF get their tip?

You make a valid and telling point in that crime novel scenario re “The question remains why did the Police act when they did, shouldn’t they have surveilled the boat and see who unloaded it and followed the trail?”.

Of course it’s also MORE likely and reasonable in our Bajan reality that they could NOT wait to surveill because then the crooked police crew would become aware of the covert action and blow the whole operation wide open thus no one would come to offload.

We can speculate grandly as much as we want particularly when it does add more excitement to the storyline but we do have to deal with the also reasonable fact based circumstances…this is our local police force after all not FBI, Mounties or Scotland Yard!

50. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

isn’t it ironic that a man named Herbert is charged with importing herb. Also, I wonder if naming the drug yacht “Estasy” was not also a cruel irony.