ebola_duncan
Photo credit: Fox40

The case of the man who travelled from Liberia to Texas, United States and had to visit the hospital twice before the geography challenged hospital workers were able to connect the dots,  has exposed the readiness of the US healthcare system to mobilize under an Ebola threat. It took days before those who lived in a modest apartment with the Ebola patient got their room sanitized by US authorities. Now that Ebola has entered the White man’s world we intend to observe how the developed world mobilizes against Ebola. The real challenge remains at the source, West AFRICA!

The biggest joke of the week though is acting minister of health Donville Inniss trivializing concerns about Barbados preparedness from head of BAMP Dr. Carlos Chase.

See relevant link: Health Ministry Responds to Ebola Article

267 responses to “EBOLA Virus Enters the White Man’s World #2”

1. miller first of all the possibilty of anyone leaving a country when the virus is fully activated is moot. in the case of the liberian guy the chances are relatively high for an occurence of similarty to happen.therfore by govts issung such stern warnings the concerns which u raised are eliminated and the chance of an immigrant wanting to take another riskof being prosecuted especially knowing the recupecussions drops significiently.

2. now .say for instance a warning is. issued and lets say that some person decides to take a chance . the chance of seeking and receiving medical treatment is real which removes the treat presented to others if after recovery the person is prosecuted and incacerated.

3. it is amazing that men who are supposed to be the brightest of the two genders cannot envision where sytems would be put inplace where the history of those who have travelled in and out of the affected areas would be available instantly to relevant govt agencies and hospital

4. @ shut your tail nuh??
    Can’t you tell that you are an embarrassment?
    Shiite woman!!!

5. Colonel Buggy’s comment on October 8, 2014 at 12:47 PM.

Now that was genuinely funny. Witty in its withering sarcasm. Made me laugh out loud.

Good for you, sir.

6. shut wuh tail.uh kiss me a.ss steal donkey.u ought to be the last one to mention the word embarassment when u never pass up on buying pussy at dirt cheap price. now let me tell u about embarrasment.btw uh next appointment over day in baxter road is coming soon.this time i will bring my camera u ole goat.

7. ac | October 8, 2014 at 3:49 PM |
    ac, are you a broker? in de p—-y selling and buying buisness?
    how do you know that prof brass bowl never passes up on buying pussy at dirt cheap price?
    THATS THE BEST JOKE I EVER GOT ON BU..
    GREAT SHOT! . NOT A MAN MOVE!
    I HONESTLY BELIEVE THAT YOU KNOW WHAT YOU TALKING BOUT THIS TIME LOL MURDAH!
    DOES HE BUY P….Y FUTURES TOO?

8. are-we-there-yet Avatar

AC; There is a view that the treatment of the Liberian Duncan in the US and his ultimate death tied in perfectly with the scenario you outlined. It is thought that it was not in the US’ best interests for him to survive. If he had survived it would have sent the wrong message to other infected West Africans who, had Duncan survived, might have felt that they too could flee their countries and get effective treatment in the US. As it now stands, which African who knows that there is a strong possibility that he is infected with Ebola would flee to the US for treatment when there is probably a better chance for survival in their own country than there? Of course the Bio-terrorism factor is still a possibility.

The 3 week period for symptoms to show, has to be a nightmare for border personnel and health workers in the countries which might be viewed as attractive re. the possibility of curing the disease. Barbados should have little to fear in this regard but we have to be vigilant and ensure that all systems are working to exclude infected persons and that the relevant front line personnel are all on the same page if any individuals get through.

9. Are we there yet

Do you know how many Africans use Barbados and the rest of the islands in the Caribbean, as a stepping stone to gain entry into the United States of America? I think Barbados has a great deal to worry about sir.

10. I have never met an African prior to migrating to the States and when these guys from Ghana and Nigeria told me that they used to live in the Caribbean, I was quite taken back. I Had never met an African at no time and/or in any capacity when I resided in Barbados. The closest I came to meeting an African in Barbados

11. DOMPEY

ARE YOU ONE LIKE PROF BRASS BOWL WHO ” never pass up on buying pussy at dirt cheap price” TOO?.

12. @ ac
    We all know about your intellect..or lack thereof….now you have provided useful clues as to your class….

Do you have ANY redeeming features…?

@ are-we-there-yet
    The CDC says that by February 2015, 1.5 million people will be infected.
    Each one of these will carry the potential to ignite their own personal epidemic…..
    What are your projections for June 2015?

What are your projections for the possible impact on international travel by October 2015? ….on tourism?

How do you see international goods shipments being affected come this time next year?

…..and this has NOTHING to do with ISIS and their possible impact on OIL……

13. The Ebola Genie appears to be almost out of the bottle.

14. dompey my thesis is not that fetch.did not the liberian govt indicated prosecution of duncan for lying.only kiss me a.ss pussy pimping ass hole like professor brass bowl would want to discredit.the man typifies dishonesty eveywhere.

15. Georgie Porgie

To give voice to your query:
    why should anyone care whether or not I purchase a trailer load of sweet-tail? (white slang) It is better to buy it done to take it by force or to take it from the innocent. At least there is some kind of reciprocity; a meeting of the minds; an exchange based upon fairness; that satifies both parties; a transaction not sanction by the penal system.

16. now that duncan is dead another question of major concern is how to discard of the body, the problem of the virus remaining active even after death is real and problematic now the question which seems to be on peoples mind is how and where would duncan remains be diposed as the probability is very high that this virus seems to be able to mutate in any environment, Maybe Professor BRASS bowl bush tea can answer that ..as everyone here on BU is aware of the Fact that Professor Brass bowl always steal other ideas embellish them and patent them as his own. one real a.ss clown fuh real

17. @Dompey
    Africans ,since the 1950’s were coming to Barbados to either study Theology at Codrington College or were attached as Curates to some Anglican Parish Churches. There was an African Engineer who for a long time worked for one of the utility companies.

18. Yes, AC, I heard the president of Liberia declaring her willingness to prosecute Mr. Duncan, if he should set foot back in that country. But there a concept in Jurisprudence called “Mens Rea”: which the judicial system in Liberia must first prove before he committed the Actus Reus. It sounds cold but dura lex sid lex ….. start googling Bush Tea because this is a little above your academic stance.

19. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

ac | October 8, 2014 at 1:28 PM |
    it is amazing that men who are supposed to be the brightest of the two genders

I am glad that somebody expressed that truism.

All yuh see how bad the women behave at Sandals Job Fair yesterday. Reminded of how those people behaved at that Ebola clinic in Africa when they ramsacked the clinic. Only Females would behave like that at LESC. Men would have lined up and there would have been no fights.

Ebola : It can and will be easily stopped. Can be easily cured. How come ISIS is not affected by Ebola though? Study that !

Now to Cricket:
    Now that the West Indies have pulverized India in one game and without a Coach , is a coach necessary ?

Are the West Indies palyers being guarded against the whole Ebola thing. What are the contingency plans re the Ebola threat ?

Is Irene Sandiford -Garner suffering from Ebola . She is talking so much diarrhea of late

20. DR. THE HONOURABLE Avatar
    DR. THE HONOURABLE

I remember an African Engineer from BL+P coming to the school in 1981 at a Career’s talk. His name was Gondiwee or something like that

21. Sorry Colonel, I am speaking from my individual experience; have never seen an African in Barbados. I knew the Blackest guys in the neighborhood were given the title African and that was an insult when I was coming up. Someone mess with you and you call him a Black African to get him off your back.

22. In the United Kingdom, there is a (great) grand father clause in the Immigration Act which allows any person who is able to verify that he /she is the grand child of a person born in the UK and deemed a British Subject , the right or at least easier access, to live in the United Kingdom.
    What a pity that the United States does not have similar laws, and I am sure that this Liberian victim with a name like Eric Duncan , must have been the descendant of one of those ex American slaves who returned to Africa after emancipation to establish the state of Liberia,and would have been eligible for the “experimental drug” much sooner..
    But still the above UK ruling would not apply to the descendants of Blacks from England and elsewhere who went back to Sierra Leone under a similar programme. But would apply without reservation to Australians and others who were forcefully exiled from the Mother Country.

23. @ Dompey,
    If you were to carry out some research on recent African emigration you would quickly establish that Africans are present in every country in the world. Top of this list would be are friends from Nigeria. Nigerians have a tremendous propensity to travel. You will find them in far-away places such as South Africa, China and Kuwait. The continent that gave birth to civilisation is haemorrhaging her population at an historical rate.

The lesson for Barbados and the rest of the Caribbean is self-evident: impose a travel ban on people travelling from the African continent. The same should apply to produce emanating from this continent. We are living in a fool’s paradise if we believe that we would have the capacity to control this virulent disease should it reach are shores.

Dompey you are right we “currently” have much to fear from the inhabitants of that continent.

24. one thing about imposing a travel ban ,easier said than done,, the african continent is tied to World wide business,what happens then are we to expect that only certain class of people would be allowed to travel out of Africa, i do not think so, setting laws in place to deter the carries of this virus from leaving africa is the only fair way to go ,in that case all would be included ,

25. Colonel, If you think East Indians are parasitical come again because the Continental African, is enveloped by a concept called Social Tribalism. Bush Tea, put this concept in your standard memory bank for future reference brother. What the really means is that most Africans people identify themselves first by there tribe and second by there country.

26. @ AC,
    There is a “village” in the UK called Blackheath. Some say it was named after the victims of the black plague which ravaged Britain in 1665. It was used as a mass burial site to bury those unfortunates who succumbed to this awful plague.

The plague broke out of London and reached a tiny village called Eyam in Derybshire. The residents of this village agreed to sacrifice themselves at the expense of others within the locality becoming exposed to this plague by remaining in their village.

The moral of this story is clear. The only way to choke of a plague is to ring fence it at its source. The migration of produce and people allows a plague to spread unchecked.

27. @AC
    now that duncan is dead another question of major concern is how to discard of the body,
    ++++++++++++
    According to a news report I heard the Ebola patient who died in the US will be cremated.

28. Maybe a BU historian can elucidate on my query: the Anti-Obeah law was passed in Barbados in 1818, which forbade any poison or any noxious or destructive substance. Now, the slaves throughout the Caribbean were emancipated between 1833-1838 and just when the Indian and Chinese indenture begun. So my question is this: to whom were this law implemented for. And were there any free slaves in Barbados during 1818?

29. breaking news a policeman who visited the apt of duncan days after duncan was not there has fallen ill and is in the hospital .

30. @Colonel
    What a pity that the United States does not have similar laws, and I am sure that this Liberian victim with a name like Eric Duncan , must have been the descendant of one of those ex American slaves who returned to Africa after emancipation to establish the state of Liberia,and would have been eligible for the “experimental drug” much sooner..
    ++++++++
    According to Wiki, some Bajan ex slaves also returned to Liberia so Duncan may be kith and kin….

“The population includes sixteen indigenous ethnic groups and various foreign minorities. Indigenous peoples comprise about 95% of the population. The 16 officially recognized ethnic groups include the Kpelle, Bassa, Mano, Gio or Dan, Kru, Grebo, Krahn, Vai, Gola, Mandingo or Mandinka, Mende, Kissi, Gbandi, Loma, Fante, Dei or Dewoin, Belleh, and Americo-Liberians or Congo people. The largest of which are the Kpelle in central and western Liberia. Americo-Liberians, who are descendants of African American and West Indian, mostly Barbadian or Bajan settlers, make up 2.5%, and Congo people, descendants of repatriated Congo and Afro-Caribbean slaves who arrived in 1825, make up an estimated 2.5”

31. Sargeant

I can assure that the American government is going to do whatever it takes to ensure the salubrious integrity of the American people. And even if its means feeding Duncan body to sharks in the Artic Ocean Bush Tea.

32. i heard his remains would be disposed of under the same way as biohazardous chemicals or materials and not in a crematoruim

33. Bush Tea, you didn’t get me driff? It is to cold for sharks to survive in the Artic Ocean.

34. Based on this CNN report the body will be cremated.

http://edition.cnn.com/2014/10/08/health/ebola-us/index.html

35. Sergeant

There is a nice video on utube with the assassenation of the late President Samuel Doe of Liberia. Who was the first Native African to become President of Liberia, after he had overthrow the descent of the Americans slaves. Who he had assassenated by firing squad in 1980. That also on video but you have to have an utube account to view both videoes.

36. Let me advice you that this video is very disturbing because in the video, the rebels cut off both of President Samuel Doe ears, and then his penis. good luck!

37. But done feel sorry for President Samuel Doe because he had a long record of killing men, women, and innocent children. And his best buddy Ronald Reagan allowed him the latitude because of Liberia’s strategic importance in Africa and America’s interest there.

38. DR. THE HONOURABLE | October 8, 2014 at 6:06 PM |

I remember an African Engineer from BL+P coming to the school in 1981 at a Career’s talk. His name was Gondiwee or something like that.
    ……………………………………………………………………………
    David Gondwe, now a Rev in Zambia.

39. A few years ago a Police patrol in the early hours of the morning picked up a man with a haversack walking down Bay Street.He was from West Africa. It transpired that he had an uncle in Puerto Rico, and paid a crooked cargo ship captain to drop him off in Puerto Rico. Knowing that when he entered the upper Caribbean water,he would most likely to be under the watchful eye of the US Coast Guard, the crooked Captain sneaked into Carlisle Bay ,under the cover of darkness and ferried the African to Browne’s Beach, telling him that he stood a better chance of reaching Puerto Rico from Barbados. One wonders how many times has this captain ,and others,have deposited their live cargo on the shores of Barbados., and also how vigilant are the protectors and defenders of our liquid border.

40. well here is another far fetched theory a lady in spain who contracted the virus from which she says is source unknown also had a dog which had contracted the virus and govt officials had to kill it, now that is scary which gives thought to the possibly that animals living in the areas affected are also contaminated and can possibly spread the virus through the air,

41. are-we-there-yet Avatar

AC; Yes that is very scary. Especially when one’s Government sites the only quarantine facility in a relatively unsecured urban area near to a number of schools and right opposite the only Hospital in the Island.

42. are-we-there-yet Avatar

But wouldn’t renovating and refurbishing parts of Glendairy or building a new facility have been better choices for the quarantine facility?

But no I’m not thinking straight! The Barbados Government doesn’t have any spare cash for anything these days.

43. Re the aggression of the virus.

I have said this already and am convinced, the Ebloa virus has mutated and is now a serious threat to all livelihood.

People who should not have caught it are contracting it. And PLEASE, ‘they did not take relevant precautions’ or whatever is ridiculous.

These are trained personnel, and if YOU were taking care of a sick individual with Ebola, would you take risks?

No, I did not think so.

44. are-we-there-yet | October 8, 2014 at 11:51 PM | AC; Yes that is very scary. Especially when one’s Government sites the only quarantine facility in a relatively unsecured urban area near to a number of schools and right opposite the only Hospital in the Island.

Are we there, yes, one has to wonder what kind of special idiot would recommend and others authorize the location of a serious quarantine facility in a high ‘human’ traffic, right next to schools and other facilities?

45. That said, maybe it is irrelevant anyway and they put it there because it will never be used.

Because, IF Ebola ever reaches these shores, our homes will be out quarantine. Due to the population density, only solution may be for the island to shut down for a few weeks while the virus runs its course and the clean up is done by authorities. With only medical personnel and police being allowed to travel to address ill/ issues.

That is actually the more likely scenario. So they may have put the facility in place just to say they have one.

46. right now the USA govt is being met with a threat bigger than ISIS and the rest of the world would have to follow their lead and procedures in their fight to getting (it) right and slowing the threat the virus posed to world wide population.as of yesterday the USA set up medivac at airport as a preventive measure, one would think that all the caricom nations would have called an emergency with all heads of govt, taking steps as one nation banding together to help each country collectively to put procedures in place to fight the virus before it becomes a pandemic in these small nations, no country is exempt as travel makes it high risk for ebola to arrive at the door,

47. when govt talk about building a state of the art hospital the BLP yardfowls in unionism snicker and laughed out loud with clenched fist while bellowing a loud and thunderous NO, now we have the same yardfowls talking about refurbishing prison walls as a place for quarantine, then where would the prisoners be housed, oh yes i get it well i think not

48. Airborne Ebola in winter. A recipe for disaster.

http://islandbreath.blogspot.com/2014/09/ebola-to-be-airborne-in-cold.html