Submitted by Kazsab

Jamaica’s Culture Minister Olivia Grange claims officials negotiations will begin soon regarding reparations from the UK for the People of Jamaica. Sounds good right? A former colonial power paying back Jamaica’s National Population. What will it finally look like? Perhaps a single amount of money, say a few hundred pounds to each Jamaican or a certain age. A large sum to the Jamaican Government to do with as it wishes? 

Reparations is often seen as emotional blackmail. a cash grab, a national psychological adjustment. Perhaps a few hundred pounds will alleviate some Jamaicans psychological, historical and nationalist needs, but that is all that will happen. Once the taps are closed Jamaicans can complain all they want and no one really needs to listen to them. Reparations be damned, there is a better way to establish a connection with your former masters.

Instead of emotional blackmail how about a free trade deal with the British Isles? Greater trade and commerce between these two nations will be long lasting, continual benefit for both nations. No bad feelings, but increased trust between two trading partners. Increased opportunities for Jamaicans in the UK, education benefits as to social programs attainable by Jamaicans. British Citizens receiving opportunities in Jamaica with a financial/social  preference for their new partners. Bind the wounds and invite one another to a celebrator happy hour. 

Accusations of historic wrong doing aside, a moral judgement needs to be made here. A choice of a single financial benefit or a historic reversal where former victims of colonialism become accepting partners in commerce and global affairs. Choose and Choose well!

11 responses to “Reparations: Not a Generational Solution”

1. Kaszab is a Canadian bwoy so his 2 pennies worth ain’t worth shit.

Britain’s Slave Owner Compensation Loan, reparations and tax …

It’s hard to believe but it was only in 2015 that, according to the Treasury, British taxpayers finished ‘paying off’ the debt which the British government incurred in order to compensate British slave owners in 1835 because of the abolition of slavery.

The British government borrowed £20 million to compensate slave owners, which amounted to a massive 40 percent of the Treasury’s annual income or about 5 percent of British GDP. The loan was one of the largest in history.

White people ain’t going to heaven unless they pay for their historical crimes to mankind

2. This Kazsab nonsense is somewhat like a snake giving advice on how to treat snake bites.
    It should be punished with laughter.
    Both Kazsab and Kiki need to be banned from BU for their own reputational safety.

3. @Bush Tea

This BU forum is a reflection is our community both local and global. Don’t you think there is merit in understanding how others view the world? How else can we constructively engage?

Part of our problem as a people is that we are low on tolerance.

4. @Hants

BU is one forum in the social media space politicians from all sides hate because we call out the BS don’t we.

It is always interesting to listen to the familiar debates (talking points) in the lower and upper house.

5. STEVEN, STEVEN, I LOVE YOU BRUH, BUT YOU KEEP PUTTING THE DONKEY IN FRONT THE HORSE GIVEN THEY ARE NOT IN THE SAME BARN AND EVEN THOUGH THEY ARE PART OF THE GENUS EQUUS OR BETTER YET THE EQUIDAE FAMILY, COMMONLY KNOWN AS EQUINES, THEY ARE DIFFERENT IN FUNCTION AND SCALE! JESUS MESSIAH RODE IN ON ONE BASED ON HUMILITY BUT HE RETURNS ON THE OTHER TO PROVE HE IS CONQUEROR

Look Bruh, “BLACK REPARATIONS” is a #DirtyWord to “ALBINO-CENTRIC FOLKS”!!!

If you are “PALESKIN ASHKENAZI CO-OPTED JEWRY” – then you have historical license (WANING FAST BUT NEVERTHELESS)!!!

I tell ya’ what:

WHEN #WW3 BECOMES A TOTALLY HOT WAR – BLACKS EVERYWHERE WILL BE BEGGED TO PICK UP WEAPONS – THEN REPARATIONS WILL BECOME THE FLAVOURED ICE-TEA OF THE DAY

Till then, it’s a “BEGGING BOWL” – a “trough” of “ILL-REPUTE”!!!

Here’s my 5 cents worth

Let us begin

I am suggesting that beneath the surface of international relations regarding reparations for our “PEOPLE” – there’s a moral reckoning that is occurring…

The accumulated injustices are there for the entire world to see –

(1) Slavery was never repaid

(2) Colonialism was never restituted

(3) Black & Arab Palestinians “MURDEROUS GENOCIDAL” displacement ongoing

(4) Wealth extracted from Global South to Global North under Trump et al

(5) Climate catastrophe accelerating – 1 day after an eclipse, Kilauea volcano erupts

(6) Oligarchic predatory control prevents even basic human justice

I cite #JesusMessiah at the outset, because “HE IS KEY TO ALL THIS” based on the theological argument, given that these injustices can’t be suspended indefinitely…

At some point – they “SHALL” explode, spectacularly!

Not as “PUNISHMENT” necessarily in a judgmental sense, although the “WAGES” of “SINFUL EVIL & WICKEDNESS” is “CERTAIN DEATH”, but as a consequence of what goes around – comes around (eventually, though it appears long in coming), and if a man sows a seed, the “HARVEST” is always either 30, 60 or 100 times “OVER”!

If you build a system on extraction and refuse justice, the system becomes unstable – it “MUST” fracture and implode in on itself!

“RACE” is the overarching factor in understanding why we’re here at this moment in 2026!

The “UNREPENTANT, IRREVERSIBLE, HELL-INDUCED, RACIAL HIERARCHY” that enabled slavery without reparations; enabled colonialism without restitution; enabled and created oligarchic systems in Barbados and throughout the West indies; enabled and allowed #AmeriKKKa & #IsraHELL*l to assassinate Khamenei, his family & 40 others with impunity – with a “STACKABLE” list of “DATA CENTERS” that would melt the soft tissues in our fragile bodies – must be have its “WATERLOO”!!!

Praise the “GOOD LORD”, it’s “ALL” now collapsing under its own contradictions!

My theological read is simple

Any “GOD-DAMNED” system built on so-called racial hierarchy, extraction, and refused justice cannot remain stable forever!

The refusal of reparations, of economic justice, of genuine decolonization “MUST” create unbearable tension in the “MATRIX”!

At some point – the system breaks.

When it break – then it fractures.

When it finally fractures – it will collapse and implode in on itself!

HALLELU-YAH*

THIS IS WHAT DIVINE JUSTICE WILL BEGIN TO LOOK LIKE

I continue to invoke theologians.

Consider what they’ve said!

Reinhold Niebuhr opined – “Injustice that societies refuse to acknowledge becomes catastrophe”…

Walter Benjamin states – “History is written by victors – but the oppressed will have their reckoning…”

James Cone (Black Liberation Theologian) declared – “Divine justice operates through liberation of the oppressed – often violently”!!! &

Miguel Bonino, finally warns – “History has a direction toward justice – those resisting it face (DIRE) consequences”!!!

My final linear argument is very simple

The world “COURT” still refuses reparations for slavery

The world still refuses genuine decolonization

The world still tolerates oligarchic extraction

The world still assassinates leaders or (ANYONE) who resist

BUT –

KARMA*, consequence, divine justice – whatever or however you name it – still operates

The system “MUST” implode

We may be watching that implosion begin

NO PUNCTUATION MARKS – UNTIL THE END COMES – PERIOD/EXCLAMATION

On that advisory note

#IMDUN, Steven

6. THE BLACK MAN WILL NEVER RESPECTED UNTIL JESUS MESSIAH COMES AND THEN EVERY HUMAN SEES WHO IS – THEN THE PAIN WILL BE INTOLERABLE FOR EVERYONE ON THE EARTH

We have NO* collaborators, “ALLIES” or “HOMIES”!!!

We don’t even like each other!!!

#AhLie

#SoSad

7. ONE MORE VIDEO, STEVEN: THE BLACK BLOOD THE WORLD STILL IGNORES AS THE BLOOD OF THE MARTYRS STILL CRY FROM UNDER THE ALTAR IN THE 5TH SEAL

#TheBlackBloodOnTheFloor

8. Why should the PM waste her most valuable time ?

“It is also understood that on Monday, a ministerial team led by Prime Minister Mia Amor Mottley visited the grounds and informed circus management that they would have to relocate.”

9. @TB

While your posit is relevant to provide context, this issue cannot be reasonably argued based on ideology. In a today’s world, high powered decision making is calculated based on what drives geopolitical interests.

10. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

@The Blogmaster

I apologise for rushing to judgment; rushing to write my feelings on the hottest day in Britain for the year – not 2 mention, dealing with other business matters – juggling more ballz that a circus act…

But, it is, what it is!!!