ebola_duncan
Photo credit: Fox40

The case of the man who travelled from Liberia to Texas, United States and had to visit the hospital twice before the geography challenged hospital workers were able to connect the dots,  has exposed the readiness of the US healthcare system to mobilize under an Ebola threat. It took days before those who lived in a modest apartment with the Ebola patient got their room sanitized by US authorities. Now that Ebola has entered the White man’s world we intend to observe how the developed world mobilizes against Ebola. The real challenge remains at the source, West AFRICA!

The biggest joke of the week though is acting minister of health Donville Inniss trivializing concerns about Barbados preparedness from head of BAMP Dr. Carlos Chase.

See relevant link: Health Ministry Responds to Ebola Article

267 responses to “EBOLA Virus Enters the White Man’s World #2”

1. @Miller etc.
    You still have not address the issue of the need for people dealing with the Ebola virus to be outfitted in spacesuits as if the infection has been brought in by aliens from another world?
    ++++++++++++
    Re my previous post wearing spacesuits would not be enough unless other precautions are followed. The US should take a page out of their Space exploration experience, the astronauts on the first three missions to the moon were quarantined for 21 days prior to their re-entry to the civilian world as NASA didn’t know if any strange viruses or life existed there, I don’t think their suits were just removed and sent to the cleaners they had to been protocols on how to remove and store those outfits.

2. are-we-there-yet Avatar

See this link below re. proper use of PPE’s. It is no wonder that some caregivers might contract the disease if this attitude is common.

http://www.safetysolutions.net.au/articles/48378-Survey-finds-high-rate-of-non-compliance-with-PPE-protocols

3. miller making “light”of. an issue as serious and devastating as the ebola virus is not the way to go what we might have is avirus that it seems not even the best brains can understand how it is transmitted. fuh god sake even a dog contracted the virus

4. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 12, 2014 at 2:23 PM |
    “…making “light”of. an issue as serious and devastating as the ebola virus is not the way to go what we might have is avirus that it seems not even the best brains can understand how it is transmitted. fuh god sake even a dog contracted the virus”

Who is making “light” of Ebola?
    Ask David BU who was the first person to mention the word “EBOLA” on his blog?
    Who was the person to raise the possibility of the virus being transmittable by airborne vectors?

What you should be really concerned about is the virus epidemic spreading to places like Ghana, South Africa and further into Nigeria.

What you should also be overly concerned about is the blatant careless actions of the DLP administration in its cutbacks thereby compromising the integrity of the country’s preventative public health services.
    Big mistake by an obese oversized intellectually moribund Cabinet!

5. The bottom line is that the situation re proper use of PPE’s will be even more complicated than in Europe or the USA and that the use of such PPE’s must be treated with absolute seriousness by the authorities.But how do you test a PPE SUIT
    ……………………………………………………………………..
    But how do you test a PPE suit before hand, or immediately after fitting it to ensure that it is sealing properly,and that no air will enter. Even with the long standing Military NBC suit for protection against a
    Chemical attack ,this could not be guaranteed. If the suit is pressurised, yes it could be tested

6. u got the obese oversized mitigated gall to talk stinking shit,,, especially in a time of crisis’ especially when your fourteen year reign of govt did not have the vision to develop a health care system with the potential and capabilities that are in line with 21st century technology, just think how much further advance and fast forward we would be in handling a crisis of this nature , OH no bro,, point the finger all u want’ place blame in which ever direction but the ball was in the BLP court for fourteen years and there is where are all the problems are rooted .like they say Prevention is better than cure, what this govt has to deal with now is finding a cure for a health care system that was mishandled and allow to devour its own vomit, Peace bro,, too late the horse is having a dance and a road show all on its own.

7. what PPE suit. was not the aeroplane that the two doctors traveled onto come to the USA have to be retrofitted the FACT is that this strain of the virus seem to be able to attach itself to any thing, now the govt is looking at a viable reason ,this is the second person to contract the virus even when taking all the necessary precautions , what is missing here is TRUTH, but it would not be told by govts until one of their family members or close relatives get infected.

@ miller ,,Really u were the first blowhard to give your two cents worth about the virus, maybe you need to check the lie detector for the answer.

8. white man live , white woman live, black man dies, Yes everything seems to be working just fine CDC makers of the Ebola.

9. look at this if this isn’t shite ..then what is this all along the govt knew that health care workers were at high risk. i doubt if the CDC is surprised that this worker contracted the virus after over
    The World Health Organization estimates at least 416 health care workers have contracted Ebola, and at least 233 have died.now does that make sense that so many health care workers would have contracted the virus if the PPE suits were a safe haven. something is wrong here,, this picture smells of helter skelter.

10. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 12, 2014 at 3:58 PM |

What did you just say? Based on what you have just written one can only conclude you are showing all the symptoms of the first confirmed case of Ebola in Barbados.
    It seems the virus has infected the hippocampus of your limbic system and like a true Trojan horse has emptied your memory bank.

So what has been happening since 2008? Where have all the billions of dollars in tax revenues and borrowings gone, down Maxwell Mosquito infested pond?

Who fired the workers at the Drainage Unit, NCC and Beautify Barbados?
    Who slashed the QEH budget by 25% that has seen a serious drop in the quality of patient care and as a result the capacity of the hospital to handle any outbreak of a pandemic disease seriously compromised?

Who has allowed the SSA operations to be so compromised that garbage remains uncollected for weeks on end that could soon result in the outbreak of some serious communicable disease which the same disabled hospital would be unable to handle?

Yes ac, (the ass cunt as aptly titled by SSS), continue to dwell in the past. Tell Irene she is doing a fantastic job of ‘blame-here-blame-there-blame’; blame everywhere Beresford, Lionel and Patsy live.

11. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot)

Money Money Money
    Root of all Evil

Evilest Thing Version

Hypotheses
    http://www.davidicke.com/headlines/tag/ebola-virus/

12. mille!r looka dat so what if ac is a cnt or have a cnt ac does not owe anybody nutting, can speak as freely as ac want to ,unlike your dead three footed monster ac cnt is in top shape and workable get it! not afraid to be a cnt either no sweat off my back,

however the foolishness that you posted shows your blatant and deceitful tolerance to excuse the past govt for not drafting plans up grading the health care system or implementing policies in their fourteen reign in (case) a worst case scenario due to a world health crisis similar to what is happening now arrives at our doorstep ,now all you so called BLP health experts are singing the tune of “what must” . not what should have been!( now get) this all of a sudden the blp yardfowls have become the health vigilante keepers of the gate all armed with the worlds giant TIME clock expecting an eleventh hour result . get real not gonna happen bro,,too little too late, if i were u i would be praying to” whoever” and asking for barbados to be spared the ravages of this deadly disease instead of being a political mongoose running wild starting fires, u so f ing evil.

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 12, 2014 at 5:44 PM |

Hello, ac, the town crier of George Street, we have heard you loud and clear.

Now tell us when are Bajans going to get that brand new second hand spanking state-of-the-art hospital promised just before the last general elections by stink-mouth Donville Inniss?
    Remind us where it is going to be located? Is it to be at Kingsland or next to the still to be opened David Thompson Mausoleum in St. John.
    But you must credit the man Pornville for his vision. Karma has her way of putting people in a position to pay for their past evil acts. Was he the acting Minister of Health who pronounced on the location of the Ebola Quarantine hole? He is truly a man of foresight much unlike his nemesis for a boss.

14. miller too late fuh dat,,, maybe when the BLP returned to power it will give them (gov)t one more chance of getting “IT ” right in an order and timely fashion…fuh god knows wunna f,k this up fourteen years good now all the missing pieces are being put in place and the picture is revealing,

15. Amazing.

16. are-we-there-yet Avatar

There are some very interesting questions raised by today’s developments in the Ebola story. viz; One or more caregivers of Ebola infected patients have contracted the Disease in the USA and Spain. There is possibly another carrier of the disease from Liberia to another part of the USA. None of the persons closest to Duncan and who were in unprotected close contact with him when he first started showing symptoms have yet shown any signs or symptoms of the disease while 2 presumably well protected professionals have come down with the disease. The Health workers around the US have been protesting that they have not been advised of the protocols which CDC says that hospitals are operating under while being blamed for not strictly adhering to those protocols. The system in the US and Europe seems rather chaotic at this time.

The questions are?
    Are the US health services or indeed any country’s health services really ready for the complicated task of containing and controlling this outbreak?

Are the Health workers who might come in contact with carriers of the disease being told the full story of the epidemiology of this strain of the virus?

What does this portend for Caribbean health services in general and Barbados in particular?

Why should the virus either take longer to develop or doesn’t develop at all in unprotected black persons who were in intimate contact with Duncan at an eminently infective stage of his illness while some professional well protected caregivers and presumably white have contracted it? Is there a genetic difference? Could wearing the PPE’s be actually providing a better chance for the the virus to infect persons than if they were not worn at all? Should there be some trials done on identifying the best wear for eliminating transmission of the virus?

Was there a distinct difference in the care in the US of Duncan as compared with that of the others who had contracted the virus and been treated using experimental medicines. If there is a difference could that explain to some reasonable extent why Duncan died and the others have survived?

Should Barbados and the Caribbean seek to have some of its IT professionals in collaboration with our health professionals, work out and develop a total epidemiological package for Ebola that would allow us to manage Ebola better when it gets here?