Submitted by Eyes to See

The participation of this group appears more a Wukkup Holy…under a banner of Walk Holy in the crop-over march parade. There is nothing spiritual, religious or christian about this and those who love and Fear God knew this.

The Walk Holy organizing group marching and joining the jump-up festival is cultural but this displayed a hypocritical approach to any christian life style or norms. Christ asked for a life of modesty adherrng to christian values and to be like him, seperation from the world’s custom.

Walk Holy is straddling the fence of christian life style and the rest of the world. Paul says you can’t be luke-warm or on the fence with respect to christian lifestyle. This wukkup holy parade does not win souls for Christ but rather to show that you can be like them wukking up and participate in girating bodies and still say ” I love God” They,

Walk Holy folks appear to physically separate themselves from the daily wukking up but mentally the mind and heart have not been separated. Go back to the Bible. You are either for Christ or not. You cant preach christian values and the word of God and clad in White and Pink church clothing, then change garments and make appearances in wukking up…This is hypocrisy.

The organisers have the talent to create alternative cultural fora for this celebratory day

10 responses to “Is Walk Holy Band a Wukkup Holy Band?”

1. The blogmaster counted zero articles in today’s Nation newspaper about the just concluded Crop Over festival.

2. @ David
    The thing about ‘crap’ is that when you HAVE to go, it becomes urgent and all-important. But after Crapover, when the body is relieved of the shiite… there is nothing to talk about, and the experience is best forgotten by all.

All left to do now is to flush …and await the dispersal of the odors… until next crap.

3. Walking is good exercise.

Wukkin up is good exercise.

4. High Vs Low Energy Avatar
    High Vs Low Energy

Problem: You don’t like Cropover / Carnival (boo!)
    Solution: Don’t go (hooray!)

Reporters didn’t go*
    David didn’t go*
    Bush didn’t go*

(*) estimated extrapolated attendance

It is for young (+ some old) who still have an abundance of energy

5. EYES TO SEE HAS NAILED IT.

6. Bushie

At least it provides an outlet, a social pressure release valve. How does all your exertions with a foolish book or, for you, believing shiiite, for which there has never been or will ever be any proven outlet, catarsis, to rid the body politic of centuries of pent up shiiiite beliefs any less foul?

People like you are the worst kind of human manure there has ever been!

For if your fictitious Da-vid was playing a rasssoul harp as music to and in honour of your shiiite god uh fecker like you would not have a word in objection. Maybe a Da-vid who liked the act which proceeds procreation so much that your own shiiite book locates him within the affections of many women.

Did these women not give him just cause to wuckup?

For gyrations, sexual or not, are at the center of the very wickedness which backward people like you, by your very nature crave, on the one hand, while on the other publicly masturbate in pretense that such expressions are less than ordinarily human.

Indeed, if you were magically transported to the Victorian Age you’ll well fit. For while there were attempts to formally de-sexualize the British, informally there was more and more gyrating, sexing and so on, even at Court.

7. @Bush Tea

Crop Over is the goose laying the golden egg. Let us admit this is about generating dollars for the Treasury. Culture matters are being addressed at the fringes.

If you travel to sensible countries, cultural characteristics are displayed and protected with pride and respect by the people. The foods cooked, the dress worn, the way buildings are designed and so on. In Barbados we tend to go with the rh flow.

The original concept if the blogmaster recalls correctly, the walk holy band is to represent the ‘quiet place’ amidst the din and revelry. An opportunity to shed light on the straight and narrow path.

8. end times fascism Avatar
    end times fascism

“End Times Fascism” is the ideology of the actors who strive to make the world unlivable and then seek to protect themselves from the fall-out. Whether by retreating to luxurious private islands, rocketing off to Mars, or bunkering the nation to keep their enemies at bay, these new survivalists have accumulated power, but they are far from impregnable.

The many internal conflicts and contradictions and nihilistic inability to envision a shared future, even for their ostensible allies, leaves these actors vulnerable to a new kind of “pro-life” politics – rooted in reverence for our shared existence, and regard for the earth we inhabit, and must protect.

Tech oligarchs tell us they are summoning demons with their machines, religious extremists celebrate every catastrophe as a ‘sign’ of the coming messiah, and the U.S. government is betting all of our futures on such dark prophecies. The good news is that the vast majority of people, including those who voted for Trump and others like him, reject these apocalyptic worldviews.

Most of us desperately want a future we can believe in, and leaders who believe in us.

They have no vision of a shared future. All they offer are remixes of a bygone past: the nihilistic, sadistic pleasures of domination. If we’re to meet this critical moment and defend what’s left of democracy before it’s smashed up beyond repair, we must break the doom loop, and find a new way of living together, rooted in our existence on this earth, in the here and now. A story not of end times – but of better times.

9. I see nothing wrong with a little wuk up. There is a tasteful way to do it. We used to get it right decades ago. I no longer care for what the festival has become. I don’t participate or watch anymore. But I’d bet that the Walk Holy Band was tasteful. Unfortunately, they are wasting their time trying to bring back what will never come back.

10. @Donna

Wukkin up, a legitimate cultural pastime, has been hijacked by a deviant segment of society. There wukkin up cannot be critique in isolation.