ebola_duncan
Photo credit: Fox40

The case of the man who travelled from Liberia to Texas, United States and had to visit the hospital twice before the geography challenged hospital workers were able to connect the dots,  has exposed the readiness of the US healthcare system to mobilize under an Ebola threat. It took days before those who lived in a modest apartment with the Ebola patient got their room sanitized by US authorities. Now that Ebola has entered the White man’s world we intend to observe how the developed world mobilizes against Ebola. The real challenge remains at the source, West AFRICA!

The biggest joke of the week though is acting minister of health Donville Inniss trivializing concerns about Barbados preparedness from head of BAMP Dr. Carlos Chase.

See relevant link: Health Ministry Responds to Ebola Article

267 responses to “EBOLA Virus Enters the White Man’s World #2”

1. @millertheanunnaki October 5, 2014 at 9:25 AM “So how come there are in excess of 7 billion humans on poor Mother Earth? How did they get here?”

Ok so it took 7 billion seconds to make 7 billion people, so after the 60 second orgasm what do we do with the other 23 hours and 59 minutes each day?

2. re who knows if your doctor got a 100 percent or just squeaked by on his exams.

what i have noticed is that doctors who just squeaked by on their exams tend to dot their “I” and cross their “T”

the ones who got honours have been known to send home patients from casualty with an HB of 3

the practice of medicine is a humbling experience especially to the cocky know it alls

the US media get on as if American medicine is perfect and as if there is no medicine anywhere

one is not looking for perfection, but I have seen lots of nonsense done in US hospital ER’s, I have also had the privilidge to see how US doctors are trained and it alarms me no end

I have already commented on the case in question- a 100% score in finals was not needed to put together the correct differential diagnosis including ???? ebola at the top in the light of the current situation

3. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Simple Simon | October 5, 2014 at 3:33 PM |
    “…what do we do with the other 23 hours and 59 minutes each day?”

Eat, sleep and then think about “IT” (intercourse, of course). Working and worshipping are just means to the only end of existence.

Isn’t it true that men think about sex every 10 minutes while women think about it 5 days a month?
    Right, “SSSS” (Sweet Sexy Simple Simone).

The bonobos can teach humans a lesson or two how to get along. Have sex; not war over some idol called money or imaginary god called Yahweh.
    Just look at the Islamists and the Christians and Jews. Maybe they should engage in a jihad or crusade of debauchery, hedonism and downright orgasmic explosions like the Greeks and Romans of old.
    Oh, Lord Bacchus and Dionysius, please help fallen mankind from Adam to Rhianna!

4. GP sounds like I touched a nerve with that 100% thing I guess we know where you finished, but you are right when you are second you try harder .I suggest as a vet you are quite aware of the transmission and steps taken to stop hoof and mouth. Your expertise should not be wasted as a very aggressive campaign has been waged on that front and the infrastructure that is in place could be followed as a guideline to stop Ebola

5. i repeat
    what i have noticed is that doctors who just squeaked by on their exams tend to dot their “I” and cross their “T”

the ones who got honours have been known to send home patients from casualty with an HB of 3

the practice of medicine is a humbling experience especially to the cocky know it alls

the US media get on as if American medicine is perfect and as if there is no medicine anywhere

one is not looking for perfection, but I have seen lots of nonsense done in US hospital ER’s, I have also had the privilidge to see how US doctors are trained and it alarms me no end

I have already commented on the case in question- a 100% score in finals was not needed to put together the correct differential diagnosis including ???? ebola at the top in the light of the current situation

I HAVE HEARD ONE OF OUR MOST ILLUSTRIOUS AND KNIGHTED PHYSICIANS CALL A MASS IN THE LEFT UPPER QUADRANT THAT HE COULD GET HIS HANDS ABOVE THE SPLEEN

AND I HAVE SEEN THE ONE WAITING IN LINE FOR HIS KNIGHTHOOD DECLARE THAT A PATIENT WITH A CLEAR DERANGED INPUT OUTPUT CHART TO BE OK ON A THURSDAY. PATIENT WAS ADMITTED TI ICU ON FRIDAY AND DIED SATURDAY MORNING.

QUID DIXI SCRIPSIQUE, DIXI SCRIPSIQUE,

6. I HAVE A NEW EXAM QUESTION FOR MY MEDICAL TERMINOLOGY COURSE

Distinguish between TRIAD and TRIAGE

7. RE I HAVE SEEN THE ONE WAITING IN LINE FOR HIS KNIGHTHOOD DECLARE THAT A PATIENT WITH A CLEAR DERANGED INPUT OUTPUT CHART TO BE OK ON A THURSDAY. PATIENT WAS ADMITTED TO ICU ON FRIDAY AND DIED SATURDAY MORNING.

BY THE WAY THAT DR IS A WHITE BARBADOS SCHOLAR WHO CAN TALK NUFF AND REAL SWEET

8. I think your cap lock is on

9. Another person in the USA isolated with flu like symptoms having travelled to West Africa.

10. lawson | October 5, 2014 at 5:56 PM |
    I think your cap lock is on
    I KNOW THAT MY CAP LOCK IS ON

11. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot)

IS IS AND EBOLA END TIMES DIAGNOSIS DOCTOR GP OR SHOULD WE WAIT FOR IRAN AND RUSSIA WARS
    http://youtu.be/7xoOWs0hafY

12. @Georgie Porgie “I HAVE HEARD ONE OF OUR MOST ILLUSTRIOUS AND KNIGHTED PHYSICIANS CALL A MASS IN THE LEFT UPPER QUADRANT THAT HE COULD GET HIS HANDS ABOVE THE SPLEEN”

A Simple sespose: Tell me it ain’t so

AND I HAVE SEEN THE ONE WAITING IN LINE FOR HIS KNIGHTHOOD DECLARE THAT A PATIENT WITH A CLEAR DERANGED INPUT OUTPUT CHART TO BE OK ON A THURSDAY. PATIENT WAS ADMITTED TI ICU ON FRIDAY AND DIED SATURDAY MORNING.

A Simple response: The patient was probably in advanced kidney failure from a bacterial infection. Nuff intravenous fluids and nuff, nuff antibiotics might have helped

13. GEORGIE PORGIE | October 5, 2014 at 5:42 PM |
    I HAVE A NEW EXAM QUESTION FOR MY MEDICAL TERMINOLOGY COURSE

Distinguish between TRIAD and TRIAGE

TRIAD=Vietnamese gangsters
    TRIAGE=the person often a nurse who takes the medical history in the emergency room and routes the patients as appropriate, with the most urgent going first becausen emergency rooms unlike baker shops cannot do the first come first serve thing.

14. A Simple respose: Tell me it ain’t so
    IM SO SORRY TO TELL YOU THAT IT WAS SO— THE PATIENT WAS FEMALE AND THE MASS WAS AN OVARIAN TUMOUR
    AS YOU KNOW A MASS IN THE LEFT UPPER QUADRANT THAT YOU CAN GET ONE’S HANDS ABOVE CANT BE THE SPLEEN SINCE THE SPLEEN IS UNDER THE DIAPHRAGM

internal medicine/heart doctors forget that women have ovaries

The patient was INDEED in advanced kidney failure from a bacterial infection–Leptospirosis. Patient had mitral regurgitation prior to the infection, to make things worse. That was way back in 1982 The maguffy didnt recognize that the patient had gone into renal failure- possible complication of lepto

15. Somebody (US doctor) thought that Africa and Liberia are two countries somewhere out there. Funny but not so funny

16. Our people will find out who is behind Ebola 20yr from now. Why ? We never see the plot.

17. SIMON

in medicine A triad is a “group of three” symptoms needed for a diagnosis .e.g Virchow’s triad or the triad of Virchow describes the three broad categories of factors that are thought to contribute to thrombosis’ namely hypercoagubility hemodynamic changes endothelial injury

18. For what it is worth some of us use predictive text features on our keyboards to add speed to completing comments/responses etc. Sometimes you may see incorrect use apostrophes etc. Criticize if context is compromised, if not who bloody cares.

19. Thanks.

20. Ebola Signs and Symptoms-Quick Check
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/gabonemergent/14857157817/

1. Isolate patients who report a travel history to an Ebola-affected country (currently Liberia, Sierra Leone, Senegal, and Guinea) and who are exhibiting Ebola symptoms in a private room with a private bathroom and implement standard, contact, and droplet precautions (gowns, facemask, eye protection, and gloves); and

itinerary no2 is opened for interpretation by person taking the history ! now how does all this supposed to come together to make sense in situations such as these, is the cdc expecting every hospital ( and i suspect that they will be many having patients from those countries especially around this time of the year when flu season is at its peak to isolate those who might have traveled to africa and back , i meaning this can cause a pandemic, as ebola symptoms in its early stages are similar to flu, this is a hard task for the hospital staff to undertake especially when not knowing how many are not poitive or negative within a set time, and whereby innocent people might be set aside as a carry as the Ebola when in fact all they had was the flu,,how long does anyone think that mass isolation procedure would last in the USA without lawyers and citizens of those countries playing the race card,, there was a time when aids was in its early primiitive stages and out of control that similar actions were taken against haitains going to the USA and the racist card was played and those procedures were abandon,

21. SIMON
    GLAD THAT YOU APPRECIATE THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN TRIAD AND TRIAGE BECAUSE IT DOES MATTER. THAT IS WHY THEY ARE MEDICAL TERMINOLOGY COURSES, AND MEDICAL DICTIONARIES. AH LIE?

For what it is worth THERE IS A VERY BIG DIFFERENCE BETWEEN TRIAD AND TRIAGE. IT DOES MATTER! AH LIE? LOL

PLEASE KINDLY NOTE THAT CONTEXT IS COMPROMISED WHEN TRIAD IS USED TO MEAN TRIAGE BECAUSE THEY DO NOT MEAN THE SAME THING
    THERE IS A NEED TO STRIVE FOR ACCURACY.BECAUSE ACCURACY MATTERS IN MEDICINE

SOME CHALLENGE WHEN THEY ARE DEAD WRONG, AND THUS DISPLAY THEIR IGNORANCE

I CHALLENGE WHEN I AM COCK SURE! AH LIE?

THERE IS A NEED FOR THOSE WHO DO NOT KNOW TO ACCEPT CORRECTION FROM THOSE WHO KNOW. IT DOES MATTER!

THIS IS SOUND DOCTRINE THAT CAN NOT BE REFUTED!

Colonel Buggy | October 5, 2014 at 10:01 PM |
    Ebola Signs and Symptoms-Quick Check

PLEASE KINDLY NOTE THAT EBOLA IS NOT THE ONLY DISEASE THAT PRESENTS WITH THE GROUP OF SYMPTOMS YOU DESCRIBE (AS CAN EASILY BE VERIFIED IN ANY MICROBIOLOGY TEXT)

THAT IS WHY I HAVE BEEN STRESSING DIFFERENTIAL DIAGNOSIS FROM MY FIRST POST
    A DIFFERENTIAL DIAGNOSIS IS A PRESUMPTIVE LIST FROM WHICH ONE ARRIVES AT THE PRESUMPTIVE DIAGNOSIS BY ELIMINATING OTHERS BY A FURTHER DETAILED HISTORY AND BY SUITABLE TESTS

22. I GUESS IF A PHARMACIST GIVE CHLORPROPAMIDE FOR CHLORPROPAZINE HE COULD GET IN COURT AND TALK SHITE BOUT HIS USE OF “predictive text features on HIS r keyboards to add speed to completing comments/responses ” IN FILLING HIS PRESCRIPTIONS.
    WHY NOT GIVE PROPOFOL FOR PROPANOLOL?

WE WANT TO CORRECT OTHERS ON WHOM WE THINK WE CAN LOOK DOWN AND WE EXPECT TO CORRECT THE YOUTH. AND THEN WE COME ON BU WRITING SHITE AND FAIL TO ACCEPT CORRECTION

HILARIOUS AND HYPOCRITICAL!
    CHALLENGING AND ROBUST DISCUSION MAN…….AND MOCKING IN DE VIRTUAL RUM SHOP. LOL LOL LOL

23. Time line of Duncan Travel and series of events leading to his diagnosis

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

When did Duncan leave Liberia?
    He departed the West African nation on September 19, Frieden says.
    Was he screened for Ebola before getting on the plane?

Yes, according to Binyah Kesselly, board chairman of the Liberia Airport Authority.
    “The first screening was at the gate, before you get to the parking lot. The second time is before you enter the terminal building and the third is before you board the flight. At every point your temperature is scanned.”
    His temperature at those checkpoints was a consistent 97.3 degrees Fahrenheit, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention chief Thomas Frieden told reporters Thursday.
    On a health screening questionnaire, Duncan answered “no” to questions about whether he had cared for a patient with the deadly virus and whether he had touched the body of someone who died in an area affected by the disease, Kesselly said.

So where did he go next?
    Authorities believe he was on two United Airlines flights — Flight 951 from Brussels to Washington Dulles and Flight 822 from Washington Dulles to Dallas-Fort Worth — during his trip, according to a spokesperson for the airline who did not want to be named. Passengers on those flights are not in danger, the spokesperson said.

When did his Ebola symptoms appear?
    “Four or five days” after his trip, according to the CDC’s Frieden.
    This doesn’t mean that Duncan actually got infected with Ebola in the United States. The incubation period for the virus is two to 21 days, meaning that a person could be infected with the disease for up to three weeks before he or she show any signs of it

When he did seek medical help?
    After 10 p.m. Thursday, September 25. That’s when Duncan first walked into Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital Dallas, according to a statement Wednesday. (A hospital official had earlier said that he’d gone to the hospital Friday.)
    He underwent basic blood tests but wasn’t screened for Ebola, said Dr. Edward Goodman from the Dallas hospital. Duncan left the medical facility after being given antibiotics and a pain reliever, his friend said.
    “His condition did not warrant admission,” the hospital said. “He also was not exhibiting symptoms specific to Ebola.”

24. another question that warrants an answer from the CDC itinerary 2 procedure…
    how about private doctors and clinics ,what standard procedure of isolation might be undertaken in case a similar circumstance occur,and what procedures should be used to get those patients to larger and more advanced and medical equipped hospitals for urgent care as one can recalled that moving patients who have symptoms of ebola as in the case of the those infected is not done by normal procedure but under methods that are very strict and outside the norm of ordinary illnesses, which private owned and medical clinics would not have, there are many questions which need to fully thoroughly vented as in the case with duncan. if he had gone to a private facility ,the possibilty that he would have been sent home is real,

25. BREAKING: 3 Scientists Win Nobel Prize In Medicine

The 2014 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine was awarded on Monday to American-British neuroscientist John O’Keefe, and Norwegian scientists May-Britt Moser and Edvard Moser.

Read the whole story

26. The CDC website is very comprehensive for those who take the time to navigate it. BU focussed on the checklist but info is posted which tagted healthcare workers as well.

http://www.cdc.gov/vhf/ebola/hcp/clinician-information-us-healthcare-settings.html

Will not waste time rehashing the point which hospital administrators admitted to in the video posted of a press conference held by Presbyterian Texas Hospital.

27. Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot) Avatar
    Easy Squeeze (Make No Riot)

It’s time for ~Green Monkey to start posting up theories
    such as US DOD experiments etc

28. What is unfortunate about the Ebola outbreak is the image of Africa which will take a dive. As if Black people do not have our issues already.

29. Ebola’s catastrophic effect on the body

The virus can lurk in the body for more than a week before it begins a cascading meltdown of the immune system, blood vessels and vital organs.

washingtonpost.com

30. @ AC

At 5.23 am you posted a timeline for the most recent, publicly recorded case of Ebola sufferer Duncan Travel and his movement from Liberia to Texas.

Central to that timeline is the central role as the first line of defence of each of the port’s customs and immigration entities.

WHENEVER I SPEAK OUT ON THIS MATTER I AUTOMATICALLY ATTRACT THE IRE OF VARIOUS NATIONALISTIC DETRACTORS

SO BEFORE I START I WISH TO SAY THAT I AM NOT COMMENTING ABOUT MY CARICOM MATTER NOR IS MY INABILITY TO GET A DAY IN COURT FOR 7 YEARS.THE ISSUE HERE

What I would like to speak to specifically is what the patent/technology affords border crossing procedures as such relates to traveller information and what one can only say is the lack of foresight (some would call it vision) of the regions immigration authorities tasked with the same border crossing issues and archaic procedures these 7 years post CWC2007.

Your reblog regarding “ticking the appropriate box on an Entry and Departure form (ED) trivializes the safety of the global population…” speaks to the heart of this matter.

Imagine the prevetting impact of a system that gave the Immigration Authorities of these collective Small Island Developing States, our CARICOM, the region, or any a government for that matter, the capacity to retrieve information on whether an individual was in a jurisdiction where the Ebola virus is currently.

That capacity would make a traveller’s potential practice to lie on their Entry and Departure form, a moot issue and provide some measure of pre-emptive capacity for respective Customs departments and ensuing Health interventions.

Now we are playing a game or Russian roulette with a gun with 21 bullets chambered (21 is the number of days for incubation) in a region where local hospitals admit that they do not have the capacity to deal with the Ebola Virus.

Case in point the situation where every one of the hospital staff in a hospital in Mayaro? in Trinidad walked off their jobs when a man walked in their facility two weeks ago with Ebola-like symptoms, he later turned out to be suffering with malaria.

But then again I have to repeat my chant “see that fellow Weekes, he is a trouble maker. It does not matter that he developed this solution in 2003 nor that his company was contracted in 2004 to provide a solution for our region’s cricketing activity in 2007, we gine mek he suck salt”

I take no delight in the lack of vision that my fellow Caribbean brothers have employed regarding this patented border crossing solution,

We only need one infected person to lie on an Entry and Departure form, bypass our airport or seaport authorities and make their way into our communities and thereafter infect our population and we have ourselves a problem of a proportion that our fragile tourism dependent economy might not survive.

But like I said before “we need to make an example of that uppity fellow Weekes” and even though what he has produced, patented and has recommended these many years hence is sound sense, “we cannot show any semblance of weakness, even if it puts our nation at risk”

31. Since we live in a golbal communty and adhere to rules and regulations the issues attached and suurounding immigration policies will be met with some resistance as those countries which are affected does have international business worldwide and the possiblty of negative impact connected to immigration procedures would be. an issue of controversy

@GP..Lol

32. ac | October 6, 2014 at 5:23 AM |
    Time line of Duncan Travel and series of events leading to his diagnosis

,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,

“His condition did not warrant admission,” the hospital said. “He also was not exhibiting symptoms specific to Ebola.”
    IN OTHER WORDS EITHER
    1 THE DR DID NOT KNOW ABOUT EBOLA
    2 DID NOT THINK UP THE DIFFERENTIAL DIAGNOSIS THAT SHOULD INCLUDE EBOLA
    3 DID NOT TAKE A PROPER HISTORY AS TAUGHT IN HUTCHINSON & HUNTER OR MCCLOUD OR SIMILAR TEXTS ON HISTORY TAKING
    4 ALL OF THE ABOVE

ALL IN KEEPING WITH THE STATEMENT I MADE WHEN THE BLOG OPENED

33. after all this is new territory which the people of the USA and the health profession has entered unfortunately flaws would be made in an attempt to adapt and address first time issues confronting the ebola virsus rules that normally meant to protect ones privacy would be thrown out the window leaving trained staff to quickly adhere adapt and at the same time find viable solutions in split seconds, one however cannot overlook that these doctors and nurses having been experienced for many years in the field of health care were only given a shorten period of time to understand and apply what little knowledge they might have acquired in the past months. about this raging disease this is not to say that mistakes made should be excused or overlooked by these professional ,but rather a more human understanding of the complexities of the new found territory which these doctors and nurses have been thrown into

34. Thomas SankaraDavid King

Can you [BU] ask the below questions on your widely read blog the voice of the people

Thomas Sankara's photo.

Thomas Sankara added 3 new photos.

Roy Morris Royal Barbados Police Force Roy G Ward Corey A Lane Emmerson Shurland Maria Bradshaw Heather-Lynn Evanson Kaymar Jordan Is Barbados ready and capable to protect the country from ebola as a tourist destination and what about our security services? Does Barbados have Class A hazmat protection suits. ‪#‎ebolathreatbarbados‬. Let’s not be complacent and bury our heads in the sand and wait until it’s too late then to seek to control the media. The Liberian critically ill in the USA was in transit in Brussels for 3 hours a connected hub to Heathrow and Gatwick. Sherry Good

35. Those are very fair questions, and the answer is probably not, working in the emergency services in Ottawa and as much training and equipment that we have and do I can honestly say we would have our hands full. Usually the problem is time…time to get there. (only one unit to cover whole city) .time to set up…time to check people out etc. Years ago I had a call at a hospital for a chemical spill , by the time hazmat got there we were leaving I jokingly said to one of the technicians got any canaries ..he said you are the canaries. Usually the first at the scene have no idea what is going on , are not equipped to handle most hazmat or bio problems but at the very least should be trained to isolate, control the situation and report what the problem is .Ebola is no joke if a small tourism spot gets even one case, the economy will come to full stop.

36. NO BARBADOS IS NOT FULLY EQUIPPED To FIGHT THE EBOLA VIRUS> AMERICA WITH THE BEST MEDICAL PRACTITIONERS AND TECHNOLOGY WAS ILL PREPARED NOT BECAUSE OF LACKING IN FUNDING OR TECHNOLOGY. BUT THE INABILTY OF FORESIGHT AND VISION TO PLAN WITH CRITICAL THINKING ZOOMING ( IN) ON THE FLAWS AND BEHAVIORS WHICH HUMAN BEINGS PRACTICE AND DEMONSTRATE

37. BARBADOS IS NOT FULLY EQUIPPED To FIGHT THE EBOLA VIRUS BECAUSE WE “TRIAD” WHEN WE SHOULD BE DOING TRIAGE , and we think that there is no fifference ah lie lol

38. G P WOULD YOU BE SPECIFIC IN YOUR CRITICAL ANALYSIS OF “WE” i.e IN THE CONTEXT OF PERSON OR THING
    BTW WHAT IS A TRIPOD?

39. lol ac
    we know who we is lol
    A tripod is a portable three-legged frame, used as a platform for supporting the weight and maintaining the stability of some other object.

Tripod comes from Greek words meaning “3”+”feet” and refers to a three-legged structure

In photography, a tripod is used to stabilize and elevate a camera, a flash unit, or other photographic equipment.

40. GEORGIE PORGIE | October 7, 2014 at 7:52 PM |

Tripod comes from Greek words meaning “3”+”feet” and refers to a three-legged structure

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    ummm there u go …. 100% correct SIR,,,,,BUSH TEA

41. iin the face of what has happened in texas some govt officials in the USA are finding themselves caught up in a whirwind of decision making afraid that they maybe vilified if found to have left the door slightly ajar for an ebola patient to come through
    here is an excerpt from one of americas leading periodicals coming from the fallout of the texas case,

Spooked after learning that a teenager visiting Miami Beach from Nigeria was tested over the weekend for the Ebola virus, county commissioners on Tuesday asked Mayor Carlos Gimenez to identify locations to quarantine potential patients in the future.
    Never mind that the results came back negative and that, according to public-health administrators, the patient did not even present symptoms to require the test. Or that Miami International Airport already has a quarantine station, operated by the federal Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Local hospitals also have quarantine rooms.
    The board still adopted emergency legislation requesting sites at MIA, PortMiami and elsewhere around the county “where Ebola symptomatic individuals could be isolated and quarantined pending medical intervention.” Commissioners also want a report from the mayor within 30 days on other measures the government could take to combat the possible spread of the deadly disease.
    Politicians took no such actions a month ago when a patient at the county-owned Jackson Memorial Hospital also tested negative for the virus. Since then, a man from Liberia tested positive for Ebola in Dallas, prompting the quarantine of several other people who came in direct contact with him.

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

Why are Bajans becoming so ‘enamoured’ with Ebola?
    If we are to believe the propaganda on how the virus is transmitted from one human to next- that is, only by way of coming into contact with the body fluids of a highly infected person like the HIV, why should they be so worried.
    Unless the people are not being told truth (for fear of possible pandemonium leading to significant social and economic dislocation as is happening in Liberia) about the possible spread of the virus by other means and vectors.
    Has it been proven that the virus cannot mutate into an airborne virus like influenza? Should one discount the possibility (based on conspiracy theories) of the virus could have been ‘genetically modified’ for research and cutting-edge scientific purposes as part of a germ warfare project. The reading of Dan Brown’s most recent novel ‘Inferno’ does cause one to wonder about how farfetched such a thought can be.
    Why all the masks and spaceman-looking suits? Why not the same equipment and preventative measures as in the case of HIV? Maybe GP can shed greater light.

Or should we be ‘religiously’ pragmatic and see it as Mother Nature’s way of culling the parasitic human population. Modern-day war seems not to be doing too good a job of collateral damage.

Shouldn’t Bajans be more concerned about the mosquito borne diseases that is about to reach pandemic proportions given the deteriorating state of hygiene and preventative public health services in Barbados?
    The very high incidence of NCD’s leading to many people with challenged immune systems could provide the ideal conditions for the quick spread of mosquito, rat and other animal vector borne viruses and diseases and also dangerous communicable diseases including Ebola.

43. What a farce.

Looks line Bravos got some help from you know who writing a letter.

44. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 8, 2014 at 5:50 AM |

Thanks for the very interesting link, ac.
    It would be a nightmare scenario should some of the fears about the possible mutation of Ebola into an airborne virus turn out to be more than just fears.
    Would the mutated version be capable of using the Sahara dust clouds as a possible vehicle to cross the Atlantic ocean right into the Caribbean with Barbados its first port of call?

45. in order for govts to contain the spread of the Ebola virus..a warning should be issued to immigrants coming from those countries where the virus is rampant..that if found to have lied on their forms and the early signs of Ebola appears at there new place of destination.they will be prosecuted as bio terrorist and sentenced to severe punishment equal to that of life imprisoment.

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ ac | October 8, 2014 at 9:56 AM |
    “.. they will be prosecuted as bio terrorist and sentenced to severe punishment equal to that of life imprisoment.”

You mean if they managed to survive the virus which could be a death sentence. Which immigration, police or court official would want to interview, arrest or interact with a person infected with the virus?

47. @ac
    …….they will be prosecuted as bio terrorist and sentenced to severe punishment equal to that of life imprisoment.
    ……………………………………………………………………………….
    Brilliant idea. This will reduce the prison population drastically, and solve the problem of repeat offenders and capital punishment. It should also please our now hard up government,as it will also reduce the number of Prison Officers, saving the government $millions in salaries.