With the end of another Kadooment event, it is time to provide Part 2 of this 2-part series.

In 1854 a cholera epidemic killed over 20,000 Barbadians. By 1861, approximately 400 standpipes were built across Barbados to improve our sanitation. One of the chores of young women was to collect water from the standpipes.

From the 1950s, there was an effort to get piped water into houses and by 1970, most houses in Barbados had piped water. This effectively ended the standpipe tradition.

THE VULNERABLE.

Young women in Barbados have been vulnerable to sexual exploitation in every age. The popular Standpipe folk song described their reality in the standpipe age. Some lyrics follow.

Men: “Every day she come down here, she looking so good. And every time she pass by here, I like to touch up she – boomsie.”

Teenager’s Lament: “Every time I pass they pull at me. Every time I pass they trouble me. I gonna tell me mama don’t send me down here.”

Nearby Women: “Every time she pass you trouble she. I gonna tell she mama don’t send she down here.”

Men: “Every day she come down here, she looking so good, good. And every time she pass by here, she make me feel good, good. If she mama come down here. If she aunty come down here. If she sister come down here. And if she pass back here. Tell she mama don’t send she down here.”

We should be ashamed.

OFFICE RAMS.

In Barbadian communities, there were three types of men who stood out from among the ordinary: (i) bad men with short tempers who fought, (ii) drunkards who frequently beat those in their households and (iii) village rams who got young women pregnant.

Free secondary school education was available to everyone after our Independence in 1966. By the 1980s, many women worked in offices. There, they would encounter the community of Office Rams who would target attractive young women and wager who would bed them first, not by force, but attracting them with compliments, gifts and wearing cologne.

MANAGER RAMS.

Rams in managerial positions would use their authority for the same bedding-goal. Singing Sandra expressed this common vulnerability in her 1987 calypso, ‘Die with my dignity’. Some lyrics follow.

“It have a lot of women just like me,

Who might be not too well off financially,

You need a job and you really need it bad,

A man decide to help, you must be glad.

But if you value yourself as a woman,

You will demand respect from the vagabonds,

Stand up to them and let them know the truth,

Is work you want, you ent no blinking prostitute.

You have a mole on your back, they want to see,

They want to see if you have marks on your belly,

They want to know how much man you had before,

And if you strong enough to take any more.

I have my pride and I have my ambition,

I want to hold my head up high as a woman,

So brother, they go keep dey money, I go keep my honey,

And die with my dignity!”

GROOMERS.

From being abused to abusing others is the normal abuse cycle. Previously, the cycle was to satisfy the sexual urges of rams. Sustaining a steady supply of scantly clad young women willing to wuk-up on strangers while dancing carelessly at Kadooment events became another reason for the cycle. However, this could not be done by rams, but groomers.

The first set of groomers were primary school teachers who convinced our students that wuk up was part of their cultural heritage and they were duty-bound as Barbadians to continue this legacy.

The second set of groomers were the pied pipers of Kiddies Kadooment, who groomed our primary school children to participate in the adult version of the event when they became teenagers.

The third set of groomers were organisers of parties for teenagers, who imported female strippers to convince our girls to expose more of their bodies publicly until it became normalised.

The fourth set of groomers are those who were groomed themselves. They do not need anyone to convince them to get on bad. They are already convinced. Their grooming assignment is similar to that of the imported strippers – to normalise their behaviour among the next generation, convincing them that lewd and promiscuous is who we are and what we do.

COMPLETE CYCLE.

The difference between grooming and typical forms of abuse is that there is no direct violence with grooming. The weapon is the continual subtle suggestion to our girls that lewd and promiscuous behaviour makes them more mature than their peers and more accepted in the community of respected lewd persons.

The compliments and gifts used by STD-laden village and office rams on flattery-starved women at social events and offices respectively are also used by STD-laden groomers at parties.

The groomed-to-groomer cycle is now complete in Barbados. This cycle cannot be broken by those being groomed. They are victims. It must be broken by those doing the grooming – all four sets of them, especially those respected persons who parade with these victims on the streets each Kadooment day.

Grenville Phillips II is a Doctor of Engineering and Chartered Structural Engineer. He can be reached at NextParty246@gmail.com

12 responses to “Epstein Island – Part 2 of 2”

1. The writer seems to be overly committed to avoiding the centrality of the behaviours being condemn within the history of Western culture. Avoiding to locate similar tendencies throughout such societies. Avoiding links to other forms of human deprivation against young people.

If, for example, children could have been abused by having them work in coal mines in under chattle-slavery-like conditions why should other underground economies not surround the central interests of people with certain other proclivities.

For traditionally, Afrikan peoples have generally not exhibited these kinds of behaviours. For they offend the very nature of Afrikanity. Yet our communities insist on micmicking the masters. We’ve long had child soldiers, for example.

Even as the writer engages in this cultural excursion at a time when the centre of the Western world, a world most Bajans claim, is embroidled in level of crimes against children and young people that challenge stated sensibility norms.

Maybe a more convincing critique could be teased out if a broader, longer, view of history and the social evolution of humans provided the basis for reaching an understanding as to why we are still at a point where the most vulnerable amongst us are being subjected to such inhumanity.

2. @ GP2

YOUR ARTICLE HAS NAILED IT.

3. @ Pacha
    “Maybe a more convincing critique could be teased out if a broader, longer, view of history and the social evolution of humans provided the basis for reaching an understanding as to why we are still at a point where the most vulnerable amongst us are being subjected to such inhumanity.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    How does this detract from the pointedly accurate article?

Perhaps such a ‘more convincing critique’ should be undertaken by Pacha, presumably in a way that offers a solution that is independent of the biblical diagnoses that Grenville is known to offer.
    Good luck with that project.
    The ONLY other alternative is mushroom in shape… as you well know…
    …and is imminent.

@ Grenville
    Good post!
    However what you have described is just the INEVITABLE result of a world that has WILLINGLY turned itself over to the control of the dark spiritual forces.
    The GLOBAL consistency of the brassbowlery is no coincidence. It simply reflects the common satanic / albino-centric denominator currently in control.

Conversely, you may wish to note that righteousness, love, and community-centricity ALWAYS provide a very special and specific set of results, …however underutilized those traits have become – due to eddykashunal drunkenness and tainted leadership.

What a time!

4. Aba Shanti I meets Sista Habesha Avatar
    Aba Shanti I meets Sista Habesha

Grenville likes to stereotype & whip Negros with hatridge like Old England,
    but it is more uplifting to love them like New Africa.

Slavery Colonial Plantation legacy reads like a Horror Movie

Singer Robert Nesta said
    Christ promised he would return within 2000 years
    he said when he comes he will be the King of Kings, The Lord of Lords,
    The Conquering Lion of Judah..
    through the lineage of King Solomon and King David.
    Emperor Haile Selassie I.
    It’s written in the Bible

5. GP2 is writing some harsh truth.
    I am waiting for someone to link this sexploitation to tourism. For Asia, one accepts sexual tourism as a done deal; however for the Caribbean there is very little mention of sex tourism; but then again when heroes die very few mention a visit to South Africa….

6. Bushie

Do you know what social evolution means? Did we not have times, even in Barbados, where the social maladies now complained about were largely unknown? Do you know that of the 3000 languages in Afrika there was not a single word for jail, prison, old peoples’ homes etc? Do you know that within the highest civilization yet known to man, a twi-lineal, age-range society, there were none of the ills which those who now hold your acili oft complain?

Yes, weee know that you can only see a generalized “fall of man” as the way to buttress your book. However, human social evolution was happening long before that foolishness and shall continue afterwards as well.

7. I could write a song for Cropova.

Sodom and Gomorrah, yesterday today and tomorrow.

Hypocrites abound, round and round and round.

Could finish the lyrics later or not.

8. @ Pacha
    Social evolution is EXACTLY what the post is about.
    Obviously it comes from a Bajan perspective, and clearly mostly from a perspective of recent vintage.
    That is not mutually exclusive to your ‘hobby-horse’ Afro-centric phobia. It merely speaks of a DECLINE in standards – or about negative social evolution in Brassbados…
    Surely Grenville has the right to define the scope of HIS post…

The post is factual, and well presented, …although it will mostly be unappreciated by those whose blindness and drunken status restricts their ability to see anything but naked bums…

Bushie would welcome your equivalent global / Afro-centric analysis.
    The Bushman would particularly wish to hear your explanation for the (indisputable) FACT that the most ancient and highly advances species of humanity (according to your assessment) could have ended up as the dregs of the earth – even hated by THEMSELVES, …for continuous millennia…

Failing this, you are required to agree to review a number of passages of scripture – to be assigned by Bushie…

9. Bushie

The religious missionary deeply embedded within you seems never to come to grips with the state of war this writer has been in against the albino-centeredness which is your god business.

For you should be the one to square circles. For by continuing to rest on a book and doctrine which has more than any other thing, any other thing, been responsibility for delivering the social conditions we presently have, across the board, to ask Pacha to justify foolishness must be madness.

There were always perceived negatives in social evolution. Such a point could have only been made by a mind with thinks that all aspects of being should be characteristic of some special blessings as you have serially contended here.

Meaning, there has never been a civilization on earth which was perfect, inspite of what the foolish book says. We were never suggesting perfection amongst Afrikans but a much better social order, highly protective of the young and the old. Perfection is your case. That is your irrational expectation of humans.

Did civilization start in Barbados? Are you not the one speaking to albino-centricity all the time? And if Barbados was “discovered” only in 1627 by the White people from whom you measure things, how come it’s ok for you to conveniently ignore Barbados’s historical absence when dealing with things which you alledge happen before 1627?

What standards? Whose standards? You could only mean the standards given you by White people.

Unlike you, Pacha has long, culturally, determined self to be an unrepentant Afrikan, period. And you can’t be an Afrikan and be a bible believer at the same time. Pacha has no such phobias, but religious bible’readers do!

Anybody can define whatever thee shiite duh like. What does that have to do with facts? Or are you saying that the writer is free to make believe, like in the Adam & Eve story and readers are to accept such a highly flawed bunch of shiiite?

Why are old ass men like you so overly concerned public dancing, harbour such loathing for the anatomy of the woman, serially display this irrationality about sex as though it is something dirty, something that some fucked-up bible must have some kind of instructions to follow? Are your bible-reading bullers not still abusing little boys and girls, even while reading the foolish book? And if so, how de rasssoul you can’t fix that first?

And your dirty bible is impliicated, there are no facts, just religious dogma undergirding.

Pacha is unable to give you any globalist Afrikanist perspective but would welcome you to give up the shiite book and look at the last 150,000 years of human social evolution, the time before time, the pre-history, the time before your bible, the time before your god. We’ve found it to be well worthy. Along the ways you’ll come across hundreds of thousands of monographs, peer-reviewed literature, archeological sites and more which would make pale in comparison that foolish book.

The circle of life on earth makes any outcome possible, earth as Goddess. And whereas Afrikans first peopled the entire earth, this is a factoid not accepted by neither you, your White man’s bible, the writer of the article and most of the melanated people if the earth. Thanks to your gutter book.

Now, write the Revelations to bookend.

10. ANY SOCIOLOGIST WORTH HIS TENURE WOULD BE PROUD OF THIS PIECE OF INVESTIGATIVE SOCIOLOGY BY DR PHILLIPS! PART 2 INFERENTIALLY POSITS A GATHERING SOCIAL STORM INTENSIFYING WITH HURRICANE FORCE WINDZ DUE TO THE HEAT BEING SUCKED UP FROM WITHIN THE BOWELS OF HELLISH HUMAN HAPPENSTANCE – SET TO DUMP DESTRUCTION UPON A WORLD HANGING BY ITS FINGER-NAILZ & FOR A LIL ISLAND STANDING IN ITS PATH WILL NOT BE ABLE TO AVOID THE CATACLYSMIC ONSLAUGHT & ULTIMATE RUIN

Permit me to label Part II of Dr Phillip’s piece as being a deep-dive into the lurid world of #InvestigativeSociology, for he has clearly applied a research approach that is aimed at revealing underlying “POWER STRUCTURE RELATIONS” – exposing the “UNDECLARED INTERESTS” of powerful institutions, & “UNCOVERING HIDDEN SOCIAL TRUTHS”!!!

This academic discipline operates on the principle that “SUSPICION” is a guiding principle, seeking to map social processes & “CHALLENGE CONVENTIONAL WISDOM” through empirical rigour!!!

The power of this sociological method lies in its ability to “HOLD INSTITUTIONS ACCOUNTABLE” & “DRIVE SOCIAL CHANGE” – by illuminating “INEQUALITITES” often obscured by mainstream narratives!!!

The methodological praxis of integrating social theory with diverse data sources, we can arrive at a “HOLISTIC” framework 4 understanding complex societal dynamics – enabling researchers to identify systemic issues & advocate for marginalized populations…

Arguably, this approach transforms sociological inquiry from “PASSIVE OBSERVATION” into an “ACTIVE TOOL 4 TRANSPARENCY & JUSTICE”, ensuring that research contributes directly to the “ALLEVIATION OF SOCIAL INJUSTICES”!!!

THIS IS MY TAKE ON WHAT I’VE READ THUS FAR

Now, into the watermelon patch…

Let us begin

Dr. Phillips’ “Epstein Island” series is a searing, historically grounded, and deeply personal continuation of his former arguments.

He moves from the statistics of STDs and “grooming” in (Part 1) to a forensic, sociological deconstruction of the “groomer-to-groomed” cycle in Barbados.

Dr. Phillips roots his critique in Bajan history, using the ‘standpipe’ as a powerful metaphor!

THIS I KNOW ALL TOO WELL

1854 Cholera Epidemic resulted in some 20,000+ Bajans dying!

Sanitation became a priority, leading to the installation of some 400 standpipes.

This was a public health crisis that required a civic response.

The Standpipe Era (1861 – 1970), young women were responsible for collecting water.

One of those standpipes was 50ft in front our home, across the road, @Oistin’s Hill, Christ Church, directly across from the last bus stop before Foundation School – where “ALL” the kids got off the buses for school.

(In that small enclave), at the time, which had Mr/Mrs Grosvenor Shop + home at top of Oistin’s Hill & Foundation School @ the 4-cross; Woodbine Davis’ (Solicitor General) home across on the other side from the shop; the Greaves family (Monsieur Greaves), leader of the Barbados Police band; Mr Smith (Accounts boss at Searles Plantation), and Mr/Mrs Goodridge (retirees) next door to us.

(6 homes) that would take you down to Cane Vale.

Thankfully, in that little enclave, the only folks who came to bathe or draw water were the folks from underneath the hill @ Oistin’s.

The “Standpipe folk song” as opined by Dr Phillips documented their vulnerability, as men would harass, “touch up,” and pressure women in an age where sexual harassment was not taboo.

In other places, as is reported, there was a communal and public form of sexual harassment.

The lyrics are a poignant record of a long-standing, normalized pattern of predatory behavior.

Post-Piped Water standpipe tradition ended, as every home in Barbados got running water, but the dynamic of vulnerability did not dissipate!

The harassment did not disappear – it simply moved indoors and took new forms!

THE HISTORIC COLONIAL AND SLAVE LEGACY OF SEXUAL EXPLOITATION WAS A SUPERNATURAL SPIRIT THAT NEVER LEFT OUR PEOPLES OR THOSE WHO HAD ENSLAVED OUR ANCESTORS

Dr. Phillips traces how this predatory dynamic evolved through [3] distinct types of “RAMS” – each adapting to the changing social environment!

Aptly termed “BILLY-GOATS” where today the acronym G.O.A.T (the greatest of all time), has become (“NORMALISED SOCIO-ECCENTRICITY”), amongst certain groups of individuals!

The “Village Rams”, were pre-1980s, community-based.

Often very coercive and manipulative, leading to the plethora of pregnant women across parishes.

They were known figures in the community!

Then there are the “Office Rams”, of the 1980s and onward, following women’s entry into the formal workplace.

The use of compliments, gifts, and cologne to target attractive young women began a trend where Bajan women could be bought like their ancestors.

This is where seduction was treated as competition and a wager – often times with the man with the “”BIGGEST DICK” doing the most damage!

Excuse my “GRAPHIIC IMAGERY”!

The diabolicus has now morphed into “Manager Rams”, where those in positions of authority wield their power and their prick!

These #DirtyBasterds use their power to pressure women – as a leverage of financial dependence!

Dr Phillips uses “Singing Sandra’s”1987 calypso – “Die with my dignity” as a powerful testament to this dynamic!

Dr. Phillips’ central argument is that the current crisis is not merely a continuation of these historical patterns, but a new and more insidious stage – a complete “grooming” cycle that begins in childhood and perpetuates itself, forward!

He identifies [4] sets of groomers

1. Primary School Teachers, who convince students that “WUK-UP” is part of their cultural heritage, duty-binding them to continue this legacy.

2. Pied Pipers of Kiddies Kadooment, who groom primary school children to participate in the adult version of the event as teenagers.

3. Party Organizers for Teenagers, who import female strippers to normalize public exposure of bodies among young girls.

4. Those who were “Groomed” themselves, who no longer need external persuasion – for they now act as the new groomers, normalizing the behaviour for the next generation.

WHAT A TRAVESTY

Dr Phillips’ conclusion is stark!

The cycle is now complete!

The weapon is no longer direct violence, but the “continual subtle suggestion” that “lewd and promiscuous” behavior is what makes a person mature, accepted, and respected!

This piece is a profound and necessary intervention for several reasons, and here is my frameology –

He reframes the problem by moving the debate away from individual morality and towards systemic, historical, and institutionalized exploitation.

By tracing the continuum from the standpipe to the office to Kadooment, he shows that this is a structural issue – not just a matter of personal failing.

He gives voice to the victimised by quoting the standpipe lyrics and Singing Sandra’s calypso; he centers the voices of those who have been harassed, pressured, and exploited. He listens to what they were saying decades ago.

He names the “Grooming” mechanism, so as to provide a clear, 4-step framework for how the cycle of abuse is perpetuated.

This is a crucial act of demystification.

It takes a phenomenon that is often shrouded in silence and shame and makes it analytically legible.

He issues a “MORAL” challenge by his final line, that the cycle “must be broken by those doing the grooming – all 4-sets of them, especially those respected persons who parade with these victims on the streets each Kadooment day.”

He is not just criticizing – he is summarily summoning a specific group to account.

While the article is powerful, the critiques are not without merit!

The OG et al suggest, a complete analysis would need to locate Bajan practices within the global system of sexual exploitation and tourism.

Barbados is not an island in this sense – it is a “BLOCKCHAIN” node in a global network.

The historical precedents suggest that the article would be strengthened by acknowledging that the “grooming” of young people for sexualized performance is not unique to Barbados.

It is a feature of many post-colonial and tourist-dependent economies.

Bush Tea’s framing the “Spiritual Dimension”, however uncomfortable to some, points to a genuine vacuum!

Dr. Phillips’ analysis is sociological and historical, but he does not offer a path out, except to say the groomers must stop!

What should replace the “vibe”?

A moral and spiritual alternative is implied but not articulated.

MY 5 CENTS WORTH OF A CONCLUSION IS THIS

Dr. Phillips’ “Epstein Island – Part 2” is a remarkable piece of investigative sociology.

It uses history, folk song, and calypso to diagnose a deeply ingrained culture of exploitation.

It asks Bajans to look at their own traditions – from the standpipe to Kadooment, with unflinching honesty!

The piece does not claim to have all the answers.

But by naming the mechanisms of grooming and locating the cycle of abuse in a historical continuum, it provides a crucial tool for anyone who wants to understand how a society can systematically fail its young people.

It is a necessary, uncomfortable, and courageous intervention by a man whose depths of understanding cannot be misconstrued for a single moment!

On that bloviated note

Semper Fidelis

11. Promise Land (Lately Girl) Avatar
    Promise Land (Lately Girl)

As per usual Grenville is missing… He did not get the memo that woman have become empowered sexually and in work environment and are on now top and not in the missionary position, Epstein type underage grooming pedos and rape etc are primarily historical cases that woman are now coming out about because people have just started listening instead of ignoring them, so his mansplaining what he’s read about is impotent / fantasy, he is deluded to get it twisted and focus on blacks when majority of these cases and the nonces in jail are white rapists and pedos, not blacks or immigrants as racists say when their ‘defensive’ positions are close cousins to aggression. The path to victory is not following the white man’s footsteps…

12. but it is more uplifting to love them like New Africa.

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

https://www.youtube.com/shorts/Yk2ydc17V1A