Request  for Barbadians to protest from Bridgetown to Government Headquarters by long time social advocate submitted to the Commissioner of Police on June 16, 2014.

Robert Clarke, Attorney-at-Law, Vice President,  People’s Empowerment Party (PEP)
Robert Clarke, Attorney-at-Law, Vice President, People’s Empowerment Party (PEP)

June 16, 2014

By hand/email: cop@rbpf.gov.bb
staffofficer@rbpf.gov.bb

Commissioner of Police
Office of the Commissioner of Police
Roebuck Street
Bridgetown.

Att: Mr. Seymour Cumberbatch,
Acting Commissioner of Police.

Dear Sir,
Re: Request for permission to march from Independence Square to
Government Headquarters, Bay Street, Bridgetown on Friday, June 20, 2014

I hereby request permission to march from Independence Square to Government Headquarters, Bay Street, Bridgetown on Friday, June 20, 2014 from 10 am to 1 pm.
a) Organised by: Robert L.M. ‘Bobby’ Clarke

b) Purpose of march: To demonstrate the people’s concern in relation to the hardships they are experiencing
Lack of information on the hardships that people are going through and the apparent non-concern as shown by the Democratic Labour Party Government and the BLP Opposition
Solutions to those hardships

c) Route – Departure: Independence Square – onto Probyn Street – onto Bay Street and returning to Independence Square via that same route

d) Hours: 10:00 am and 1:00 pm

e) estimate of number of persons
to take part in march Approximately 100

I await your most urgent response.

Yours truly

Robert L.M. ‘Bobby’ Clarke.

313 responses to “Permission Requested for Barbadians to March”

1. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

@Say Yes: in order for corruption to flourish, it must otherwise be impossible to achieve the desired result; like football World Cup in a desert. In BDS right now the entire island is so stifled by bureaucracy and ineptitude that any civil servant who can facilitate a permit, license, permission, letter of approval, concession is in a sellers’ market. That is what BDS has come to, the economy is no longer being driven by risk-takers (entrepreneurs), it is being driven (down) by unscrupulous opportunists. It is going to be very difficult to recover ideologically from where we are now. Nature abhors a vacuum, the leadership vacuum that Thomson’s death created has been filled by lower ranks just like on D-Day 70 years ago. The general is dead and every lieutenant and sergeant out there is holding out his hand while the colonel blunders about his command tent and the captains wait for word from him on what to do next.

2. Its already 11.15am. any reports on the “march”.

I thought with modern phone technology we would be getting streaming reports on BU.

3. @Hants

The march went off based on BU reports, approx 40-50 people.

4. None of the persons who were involved with politics in the past twenty years can get Barbadians to March in massive numbers.
    These persons are discredited. Take David Commisiong, He did the Hammie La so many times, DLP,NDP, BLP, PEP and BLP again.Bobby Clarke well enough said.
    A new political class with no skeletons in their closets must evolve.

5. @ Clone
    Absolutely correct….
    ….and the damn man Caswell fits the bill…up to an including – not having one shiite else to do (after all that is how we got Owen too…)

Besides…any march should do the following:

1 – Be at a SENSIBLE TIME….like Saturday/Sunday evening. Bobby Clarke like he think everyone is a lawyer who don’t have one shiite to do – and can still get money somehow….

2 – Target decent honest Bajans who may be assumed to be upright citizens….not deviants like Islandgal who is usually armed and dangerous, and have no regard for God or bushmen…
    Target Church folks an Credit Union folks who money Sinckler looking to tek…

3 – Have some kinda plan or focus….who the hell marches around in a circle for no damn reason…except soldiers…and even Dompey was smart enough to done with that army shiite…

@ Caswell
    Here is a press release on your (BUP’s) approval…

The Barbados Unity Party is dismayed at the level of shortsightedness and myopia being displayed at the political level in Barbados by the BLP, the DLP and the PDC (in alphabetical order).
    The BLP is clearly a spent force and, as Einstein so succinctly put it, we cannot expect to solve problems by applying the same thinking that created these problems in the first place.
    …..besides Mia is a shiite.

The DLP has shown themselves to be typified by persons of the ilk of Dompey and ac ….and even lower quality persons who have taken on roles as ministers….like Low and Jonesing…
    …besides Stuart is asleep – and THAT seems to be his most effective state…

The PDC …. Let us just hope that Adamson continues with his day job in the socks business ….cause even if the BLP and DLP withdrew from the polls, PDC STILL can’t get 20 votes….abolish what taxes what!?

The BUP therefore pledges to IMMEDIATELY repeal the (solid waste) shiite tax imposed by Sinckler …and will do so within 12 hours of the final vote count after the next elections…won by BUP.

ALL penalties AND taxes billed will be waived. Instead, BUP will be instituting an 80% tax on ALL parliamentarians pensions AS WELL as a full audit of all ex- MInisters AND THEIR MOTHERS and FATHERS ….to be executed by the Auditor Generals office….and taking ALL SUSPICIOUS ASSETS….Plantations included.

After these early ‘minor’ adjustments, Bajans can expect to be FULLY engaged in open discussions on the way forward with REALLY radical changes – aimed at properly restructuring our society, economy and our way of life in Barbados.
    C. Franklyn
    Chairman
    National Supervisory Committee and President of BUP

End of release.

6. Mr Watson Parkinson Avatar
    Mr Watson Parkinson

Well, well… I shall make that one of goals in raising up this nation!

7. “The march went off based on BU reports, approx 40-50 people.”

The population of Barbados is about 280,000.

NEXT!!!!!

8. What many of you all are missing is that this was NOT a POLITICALLY backed march. It was a march where CONCERNED CITIZENS showed the public and the administration that Barbadians are hurting by the policies that have been implemented. Too many here like labels and like to belong. Many of you are NASTY LOW thinking YARDFOWLS. It was not about BOBBY NOR DAVID but about BARBADOS’ economic policies by both political parties that have gotten us into this mess. SILENCE is compliance! SILENCE is agreement! SILENCE is COWARDLY! This is just the first of many to come! It will start with a trickle.

9. Brave Men and Women came out this morning! The Cowards stayed at home behind their computers and on the side of the streets!

10. Did any of the business people or the BHTA tourism crowd in Barbados march and if they did not, why not, they are the least affected by what goes on in Barbados but cry out for hand-outs the most from taxpayer’s money, more so than the poor majority on the island.

11. It is not in the Barbadians DNA to protest using a march or similar public demonstration. Bajans talk, it is what we do.

12. And it is also in their DNA to thief and lie and pretend to be so holier than thou!

Bushtea you are such a typical Christian hypocrite. Because I don’t buy into your concept of God you make a sweeping statement about my belief concept. I don’t have to prove to anyone what I believe in unlike you, GP and Lemule who try to convince force and frighten others into your belief system. I hate to have to admit this but YOU have become the biggest shite talker on BU after the Donkey.

13. Island

I am sure that you now understand why I regard these people as very sad. If they represent HOPE God help us. Bobby reminded me of Gandhi…an old man with a stick but eyes ablaze for a better tomorrow.

“Bajans talk, it is what we do…” And if there were 500? Actually, I think with that uncritical remark you finally lost all credibility.
    “BU reports” indeed. Slug talk from the safety of the back seat….which is all there’ll ever be.

Bush Tea the Original BRASS BOWL

‘Target church folks”….you mean your sycophantic, groveling DLP boy? You didn’t lose credibility. You simply can’t lose what you never had. you poor loud mouth spineless jelly man.

Point is this….gadflies BITE. Jesus was a gadfly. Wait and see.

14. @islandgal246 | June 20, 2014 at 4:48 PM |

Brave Men and Women came out this morning! The Cowards stayed at home behind their computers and on the side of the streets!……………..

islandgal,
    I had every intention of joining the march but was tied up until 11.30. On my way down to town, Dennis Johnson broke into Brasstacks to say the march was over. I did not think it would have been so short, sorry I missed it!

15. But Bushie
    If Bajans are the ones who apparently are suffering and it is still necessary to convince them of this sufferation, why should anybody care about us? Why would it be necessary to cojole them into action. A lot is wrong with this country. Things that no number of marches could cure. If we had a category 10 hurricane coming no such PR staunts would be necessary. We see no measurable difference between such a hurricane and present social, economic, political conditions. The next question must then be whether such a people desire a claim to survive?

16. Prodigal I believe you that was the first of many. Remember it takes a trickle to start a flood.

17. David
    “It is not in Bajans DNA to protest using a march”

Well, David, necessity is the mother of invention. When their bellies start to burn, you’ll see how quick their will race to the marching lines.

18. Hants | June 20, 2014 at 4:09 PM |
    “The march went off based on BU reports, approx 40-50 people.”

The population of Barbados is about 280,000.

NEXT!!!!!
    ”””””””””””’
    Ha aha ha ha Hants man you in Canada a cold cold country but you make more sense than the folk in warm sweet Barbados. Which sane person would follow Commissiong and Bobby Clarke on a March? Hello!

Even the people whose head in good there at Jenkins not going nowhere with Bobby, Commissiong and their deluded rabble. Heard Commisiong on the radio screaming that the House of Assembly don’t run Barbados well every fella stupse when they hear he. The man insulting the voters then.

Bobby and Commisiong want the Lord. By the way Kellman say Bdos population is 315,000. Kelly say he count the Guyanese apparently he dont realize the South Americans gone back to GT. Hants a march by you would draw ten times the numbers of the PEP buffoons.

19. i waiting to see the real march when govt gonna have the guts to stand up and march the predator business fraudsters up the steps of the courthouse ..those who have defrauded the taxpayers out of billions of dollars,,, now that’s a march i will support ..not that wiillyy nilly crap,,,fueled by political influence and self interest and lead by a good fuh nutting two bit malcontent…

20. Passing by

It is possible; quite realizable doubting Thomas. Where there is a will, there is always a way. All that is needed is one special person capable of arousing the collective conscience of the Barbadian people and motivating them into action.

21. Many Barbadians like their counterparts in the Third Reich in Germany in the 1930’s , feel under seige, or more appropriately , under Seig Heil! Our Fuhrers may not have tooth brush ‘taches, but they sure have the desire to ” knacken sie einige kopfe ” …..crack some heads ,at the first opportunity.

22. Where were the disadvantaged and potential Cave Hill students today? After being dealt an upper cut by this administration, and directions back to the cone field by the Prime Minister, one would have thought that they would have been out in bulk.
    Pity that In- your- Face Lashley is part of the DLP circus, he knows how to get a crowd going in the most trying times, like the do-flicky march he had recently from Silver Sands to Wotton .

23. Colonel Buggy

The Cave Hill students have realized that in the real world most people pay their way. To sit back and expect government to be a babysitter is a mentality of the past- for some people I should have said. Government is no long the gift- horse, our generation and generations beyond once thought it to be.

24. AC aka the ‘DLP funny guy’ aka Sir Henry Irving will support a march to the courthouse. Right. You won’t actually see him there – well, you might dressed as a policeman – but at least you’ll know you have his support. But don’t blame him too much. He’s still waiting for the operation on his hemorrhoids.

25. well now that bobby clarke has had his two minutes of fame..for him what might be seen as a resounding. rejecting from the barbados society can also be applied to the blp yarfowls who once again relied on theatrics rather than solutions as a necessary called to action in solving our economic problems..the people would not be fooled.

26. Mr Watson Parkinson Avatar
    Mr Watson Parkinson

…50 people attended the march, shame on the 279.964 ostriches who buried their nappy heads in the sand…!

27. so where was caswell voice yesterday ..ac was expecting. to…see his colassal union members outfront and centre leading the fight with bush tea in tow carrying BUP placards

28. Well Well

Must I insult your intelligence by informing you that politicians universally, are all liars. So why would you hold Barbadian politicians beyond the commonly accepted standard? And your use of gutter language to express your displeasure with what I have said, reflects a poor choice of words on your part.

29. so with much touted fanfare ad a way of reslove by marches…theblp once again givena no confidence vote….given there relentess mantra for the calls of heads those being sinckler and PM.. the opportunity to do so against a political backdrop of marches by the blp leadership was punished with laughter which has lowering mia. confidence level to a new alltime.which will go down in. theanals of political opportunism as another squandered moment by the blp

30. Watson, if 50 people attended the march, this could only mean two things. 1) The people still have confidence in the present government. 2) There is a lot of estrogen and testosterone leaking out of the drinking water of Barbados. Whatever the case maybe, one can’t help but to think that this is good news for the DLP government.

31. Mr Watson Parkinson Avatar
    Mr Watson Parkinson

An excellent point Dumpey…! The government can now say to the people of Barbados, thanks for your continued support of our policies. All public places should now be free of negative chatter regarding this government and the way they’re running the country.

32. Dompey | June 21, 2014 at 11:27 AM |

Well Well

“Must I insult your intelligence by informing you that politicians universally, are all liars.”

No DOmpey, you insult your own intelligence, not mine.

33. so with much touted fanfare and a way of resolve by marches to transform and fix the Barbados economy which would have send a message to govt for a swifter call for new elections,,,…theblp once again was handed a no confidence vote…given there relentless mantra for the calls of the heads if sinckler and PM.. the opportunity to accomplished such action against a political backdrop of marches called for by the blp leadership and lead by one political mis fit bobby clarke was punished with laughter yesterday and has resulted in the a lowering of mia. confidence level to a all time low… one which will go down in. the anals of political opportunism as another squandered moment by the blp………………………………………………………………………………………

foot note,,,,,most note worthy is the deafening silence from the blp yardfowls after yesterday free fall . as one take a glance back to the( build up) of the much anticipated march and the spite and vengenace which exude from the frothing mouth of the blp yardfowls ,,which now has come back to bite them in the arse,,,,

34. Well Well

Politicians everywhere are labeled with the same branding iron-liars. And you’re advancing a perspective which has an obvious answer, so this leads me the concluded that you’re three cent short of a dime. Now, Intelligence is by popular understanding and common definition: the faculty of knowing and reasoning, and I believe that I do a good job at both.

35. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad

http://barbadosunderground.wordpress.com/?s=violet+beckles

LEARN BEFORE YOU POST, STUDY BARBADOS LEADERS WELL AND KNOW THE FRAUD WE ARE LIVING .

36. Yeah, you are doing a bang up job……..lol

37. Well Well

You know better than to oppose Dompey on any given issue. Ask Georgie Porgie, Bush Tea and Lemuel, they all have faded under the intellectual prowess of Dompey.

38. Dompey…lol you got that right.

How interesting….the march was not on CBC yesterday. It had three pages in the Nation today. Gadfly if not biting is nibbling.

39. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

without watching the news or trying to decipher what is said here, i assumed that the march was not successful in that, few turned out causing the DLP to assume that Barbadians are fine with their hurting policies, but bajans are pretty laid back and as long as something is not affecting them, they do not care if it bothers their neighbours…but we do need help and it is a pity that the action of few is destroying the country

40. Smooth

The PM is probably sitting back in his pajamas with a cup of coffee in his hand laughing, his belly full at the march organizers. This is nothing but good news for the DLP establishment because it sends a positive message throughout the region that Barbados is not where it ought to be but the populace is quite contented with the current state of affairs. You just watch and see the proponents of the BLP agenda invent their unique brand of excuses as to why the march wasn’t successful. lol And I’ll put money on the fact the Georgie Porgie is not engaging in self- injurious – behavior because this last BLP gimmick fell flat on its face. lol – I Love it- Now, there is obviously a God somewhere on there watching over the DLP arm of government, in the tiny island of Barbados. A handful of BLP supporters turned out to marched, Oh Lordy, GP is pissed right about now. lol

41. nobody is content with suffering and misery,,,but the questions most reasonable and rationale bajans asked are …what are the alternatives……and what are the solutions being presented ,,,,in addition the leader must have an image that sends a positive message,.,.a leader who have answers solutions and alternatives ….the problem with the march there was no such leader/s/ and the people stuepse and decided to stay home,,,,,,the govt in effect was given an olive branch,,,but that should not be taken as an (given ) or an out that people are content to be in suffering through silence,,,,,moreover the govt should seized upon the lackadaisical response and muster up the strength to press forward with their initiatives and plans sooner rather than latter to dig and restructure the economy out of the economic doldrums …making sure that there is a secure and formidable foundation than can withstand economic meltdowns in the future,

42. AC, I understand what you’re saying and you’re quite right, the people ought and must demand alternative solutions to address the current state of affairs. But the reality is sometimes there are no immediate solutions to address current conditions. Listen! The appropriate solutions to addressed the Great Depression didn’t happened over night, it took over a decade to addressed that troubling crisis. Yes, the people want and obviously demands answers to the pressing problems which affects their lives, but these solutions will happen overnight, it takes time. There are those who believe that if the BLP were to be elected today, that there would release this genie from bottle, who would address the current state of affairs in Barbados. It does not happen like that sista; Fedrick Douglas once said that, ” In order for there to be progress; there must be struggle.” Life is an unpleasant business and it doesn’t always go the way we sometime plan it, so with that thought in mind. We might as well resign ourselves to the fact that this particular period in human history, is Barbados’s time to experience some of the economic hardships others were experiencing, while we were riding on the frontburn of prosperity and opportunity for decades.

43. It is our time to walk this road of hardship and no amount of human intervention can change what has been predestined- I believe. No man/ woman can carry our lot when God ask us for His earthly tabernacle, we have to walk that road of glory or that eternal torment alone.

44. dompey …most rationale people given the reality of the ecnomic problems would in fact not be seeking immediacy,,, but a reaction that address solutions that are sufficient and reasonable enough.to emote a positive reaction……….my point being that by going the way of marches ,,those who propose and seek the support of a society by such a pathway,,,,must therefore have remedies that are robust that pierce the hearts of a society asking for change,,,and ones that tempers and does not need outrageous outburst of political self interest;;;;;; remedies that propels and interacts with a society to heed the call for meaningful change,, what transpired a few days ago had no such elements,,,,,,,, the level of suffering that people have now arrived is harsh ,,but might not be to the point of unbearable even though recognizable when one have give up some of the comforts they are used to…..
    however having said that ,,it is not for govt to sit back and hang their hats on a belief that suffering is a necessary means to an end,(,which might have a tinge of truth ) ,,,,, but in reality when people hurt ,,the pain and anguish which one feels cannot be rectified or disposed of through words,,,,but through action and (if) pain be a necessary compromise which society must make,,,,,,, those asked to do pain ,..like soldiers going to battle must know why,,,,,with good cause…

45. Two of wunna could really shut wunna donkeys…cause the shiite wunna talking can’t originate from anywhere else…

The damn march was a MAJOR success.
    100 Bajans walking bout in the hot sun?….Wuh Boss- that is exactly equivalent to 160,000 Americans marching to protest some shiite….

….and we are talking about brass bowls marching yuh!!! …..how regular wunna does see ANY brass bowl march? …..and behind Bobby Clarke and Commissong “too-besides”…?

Stuart’s ass in bare trouble …wunna watch!! …and it will be the stupid shiite tax and the Credit Union money grab …that will be the straws needed to get the Bajan brass bowls moving…
    If the BLP was worth shit …Stuart’s government would have been put out of its misery long ago….only want two fellows to move…

But Caswell smart hear…!
    Cassie done work out that when he call his march at a sensible time and place ….and with sensible issues articulated….um would be like the “Million Man” march in the states…. and we only need bout 600 people for a million man march hear?

….just leave home Bobby, David and Islandgal and Caswell gone clear …licking 🙂 ….especially leave home the Bajan Delilah …..

46. wuh hundred bajans more political propaganda by the low life insipid writings of the nation newspaper …wuh i could count wid my finger and toes the amount of people in support ,,,getting the FACTS and TRUTH is an integral part of journalism integrity,,,,only two bit imbeciles like BUSH TEA would ignore,,, the march was not a success moreover the march was dominate by fifty DLP supporter’s ,,,which u BUSH TEA nor CASWEL did not have the balls to attend or show support,, ,, anybody who need to shut their mouth is you,,,,, enough of your hypocrisy

47. @ ac
    …wuh i could count wid my finger and toes the amount of people in support…
    Judging by the way you write, you probably can’t count past your fingers and toes (if you are not wearing shoes) anyway…. So you would hardly be able deal with numbers above 20…..

If David decides to ban your tail from confusing the blog today as moved by Bushie, you can spend the time researching “rounding off numbers” …..you may learn something… may….!!

48. Fatther Crab Johnson-Hillaby Avatar
    Fatther Crab Johnson-Hillaby

TO the commenter AC
    If the march had attracted 10,000 people, Dems would have found some other stupid point to make whilst being dismissive
    A small crowd for you, dems meant it was a victory for the DEMS
    What would you have said if the crowd was 10,000 strong .

The real issue is that the march was not suited for Friday.
    Bobby Clarke belongs to that old school of thought that believes that you can hold a event any old time and people must come

49. @Bush Tea

As you correctly stated it will take a lot for Barbadians to publicly protest, especially on a work day in the prevailing circumstance. There of us on the ground know middle class Barbados will not march behind Bobby and David, maybe they will behind a reverend or union rep because it is masked with so-called respectability.But you have to be from Barbados to appreciate the dynamic here. As we debate this issue the BLP is battling its own demons from within.

On 22 June 2014 13:28, Barbados Underground wrote: