By The Rt. Hon. Freundel Stuart, former Prime Minister of Barbados

Like most other Barbadians, I received the news of the passing of Rt. Excellent Sir Garfield Sobers with deep sorrow and have continued to feel his loss keenly.

My late friend, Garnet Winfield Ashby, his wife, Winifred, and other members of his household would not forgive me if I allowed this moment to pass without any comment. For it was at Garnet’s house that I was regaled over and over again with the story of his taking young Garfield, at age thirteen, from his mother, Thelma and bringing him to St Philip every weekend to play cricket for Garnet’s team, Kent. Garnet lived at Pennyhole, (now Gemswick) St Philip at the time.

From those early years, therefore, I became a Garry Sobers fan virtually by conscription. By May, 1965, however, when at the age of fourteen as a secondary schoolboy, I went to Kensington Oval to watch the Test Match, West Indies versus Australia, I became a Garry Sobers fan, aided this time by personal experience and observation. Words have mocked my attempts ever since then to capture the mix of emotions which possessed me when I saw him emerge from the pavilion, descend those steps and walk out to bat. All were hushed and had their gaze fixed upon him. His impact on me, on the many subsequent occasions I have seen him perform that ritual, lost none of the freshness which I experienced at age fourteen.

The philosopher Isaiah Berlin defined greatness as the ability to transform paradox into platitude. By that definition has Sir Garry fully qualified himself. For he took all of the paradoxes of cricket in batting, in bowling and in fielding and transformed them into platitudes, into routines, as if they were just a part of the natural order of things. That is perhaps what inspired cricket writer and enthusiast C.L.R James to say the following about Sir Garry:

“There are players (not many) of a style and personal history of whom it can be said that both physically and spiritually they would achieve mastery over any problem set them. There are a few people like that and Sobers is definitely one of the breed.”

The greatness of Sir Garry has rested on and is derived from the resources of a strong personal character. Men of character have an almost carnal relationship with difficulty and with challenge, for it is in overcoming difficulties and meeting challenges that they prove and reinforce themselves. So was it with Sir Garry.

In June 1966, in the Second Test Match against England at Lords, with the entire top order of the West Indies team back in the pavilion, the score being a depressing 95 for 5 and with defeat staring the West Indies in the face, Sir Garry walked out in that manner so beautifully captured by the commentator, John Arlott:

“Everything he did was marked by a natural grace, apparent at first sight. As he walked out to bat six feet tall, lithe but with adequately wide shoulders, he moved with long strides which, even when he was hurrying, had an air of laziness, the hip joints rippling like those of a great cat.”

Sir Garry confronted what seemed a daunting challenge with marble-like composure and calm. When the West Indies declared at 369 for 5, he was 163 not out and had brought along young David Holford who scored 105 not out. Against all expectations, the match was saved.
In February 1968, again against England at Sabina Park in Jamaica, Sir Garry faced another challenge. Here is how former Australian all-rounder Keith Miller described that challenge:

” That Sabina Park pitch had giant-sized cracks, or should I say crevices, strewn cobweb-like throughout its 22-yard length as though some minor earth tremor had shaken Kingston. At this stage of the match, I examined the pitch and could insert all fingers of one hand finger-length into these huge cracks. It was a batsman’s nightmare, especially for Sobers as he had been dismissed first ball in the first innings….. but Sobers, grandly aided by Seymour Nurse, somehow dismissed the torment of the pitch and played strokes as though it was a plumb easy batting pitch. Frankly, this 113 was the best innings in such atrocious conditions I have ever seen.” Again, the match was saved.

It says much about the greatness and strength of character of Sir Garry Sobers that generations of young men in the Caribbean tried to walk like Sir Garry, dress like Sir Garry and get their hair cut like Sir Garry. Young right handers, in their villages and communities, tried to bat and bowl as left handers just to simulate the style of Sir Garry.

Of his charm of manner, of his humility and of his humanity much has already been said and written. We, all of us, in a manner of speaking, became members of his household.

It brought me great pleasure as I delivered the eulogy at Garnet’s funeral on August 6, 2003 at the Zion Tabernacle Church at Marchfield Village Road, St. Philip, to see Sir Garry there seated up front. He had not forgotten Garnet’s contribution to his formation. It was never in his nature to forget his own journey or the inspiration and support he was able to secure from well-wishers along the way.

His first wicket in test cricket was that of Trevor Bailey, the England all-rounder, later to become a cricket writer and broadcaster. He wrote a biography of Sobers which was published in 1976. I have undimmed recollections of the emotion by which Garnet was overcome when Trevor Bailey, in preparation for that biography, came to see and interview him at his Marchfield Village Road home.

Sir Garry had many richly deserved honours bestowed on him during an illustrious life: Order of the Caribbean Community (OCC), Honorary Doctorate of Laws from the University of the West Indies, status of National Hero from the Government of Barbados and a Knighthood from Her Majesty, Queen Elizabeth II. When Her Majesty conferred the knighthood on Sir Garry in 1975, for the first time in her gracious reign, she was playing catch up. Ten years earlier the people of the Caribbean had, quietly and without fanfare, knighted Sir Garry and assigned to the Mighty Sparrow the task of letting the world know. Sparrow obliged with a touch of artistic panache: “Who is the greatest cricketer on earth or mars? Anyone can tell you it’s the great SIR Garfield Sobers.”

Our beloved and esteemed National Hero and national treasure is now gone. His life enriched us for as long as it lasted; his death has now left desolate that portion of our landscape which he so proudly, so uniquely and so gracefully occupied.

” O for the touch of a vanished hand And the sound of a voice that is still!”
As we bid farewell to our fallen hero, in the name of my late friends Garnet and Winnie and thousands of others who cannot now speak for themselves, I address Sir Garry in the immortal words of Cornelius Tacitus:

” If there is a place for the spirits of the good, if, as men of wisdom think, great souls do not perish with the body, may yours be a peaceful rest. Call us, members of your household, away from weak regret and maudlin lamentation to a study of your virtues, in respect of which to weep and to wail is wrong.

Let us honour you not so much with transitory praises as with our reverence, and if character permits us, with our emulation. That would be true respect, that the true affection of your nearest kin.
What we have loved, what we have admired [in Sir Garry] endures and will endure in the souls of men, in the eternity of the ages and in that renown that is ever the reward of noble deeds.”

To Sir Garry’s children Matthew, Daniel and Genevieve, to his grandchildren and other relatives, and to the millions of others gladdened by his life but now saddened by his death, I extend on behalf of my own family and my self, heartfelt condolences.

May Rt. Excellent Sir Garfield St Auburn Sobers Rest in Peace.

34 responses to “Tribute to Rt. Excellent Sir Garfield Sobers”

1. Terence Blackett Avatar
    Terence Blackett

“MAN THAT IS BORN OF A WOMAN HAVE BUT A SHORT TIME TO LIVE & HIS DAYZ* ARE FULL OF SORROW”

According to Scripture, death is not merely a biological end, but a spiritual consequence of sin & an enemy that has ultimately been defeated by JESUS MESSIAH*…

The Bible presents a linear view of existence – where death is a transition to judgment &, for believers, – “THE RESURRECTION”!!!

Scripture defines death fundamentally as the wages of sin!!!

It entered the world through the disobedience of Adam – breaking the original divine order where humanity was intended to live eternally…

The penalty due to “the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord…” (Romans 6:23)

The definition that physically, death is the separation of the spirit from the body (“the body without the spirit is dead,” James 2:26) – however, spiritually, it represents (TEMP) separation from God…

The universality of death determines that “It is appointed for man to die “ONCE”, & after that comes “JUDGMENT”! (Hebrews 9:27)

Unlike cyclic views of existence, Scripture teaches that “DEATH IS A DEFEATED FOE”!!!

The central hope of the Christian faith is the “RESURRECTION” (for “JESUS MESSIAH IS THE 1ST BORN OF MEN”), modelled by Jesus’ own “RISING” from the grave!!!

The “VICTORY” of Jesus is described as having “abolished death & brought life & immortality to light through the “GOSPEL” (of light)…” (2 Timothy 1:10)

The promise Jesus declared, “I am the “RESURRECTION” & the “LIFE”. Whoever believes in ME*, though he die, yet shall he live…” (John 11:25)

The transformation that believers anticipate a future where the mortal body puts on immortality – fulfilling the prophecy that “Death is swallowed up in victory…” (1 Corinthians 15:54)

Some opine that Scripture indicates that upon death, believers enter a “CONSCIOUS” presence with God, often described as being “away from the body and at home with the Lord” (2 Corinthians 5:8) is still a theological conundrum of epistemological abstentia.

FOR WHO KNOW THE SOUL OF MAN BUT GOD

The comfort for the “FAITHFUL”, “TO DIE IS GAIN” (Philippians 1:21) because it ushers them into their “ETERNAL REWARD”…

Judgment therefore is a “FINAL TRIBUNAL”, where death itself is cast into the “THE LAKE OF FIRE”, referred to as the “2ND DEATH” – signifying eternal separation from God for “THOSE” not found in the “BOOK OF LIFE” (Revelation 20:14 -15).

Thankfully, the end of suffering, based on the Biblical narrative concludes with a promise that in the “NEW CREATION”, “He will wipe away every tear from their eyes, & death shall be no more” (Revelation 21:4).

WHAT A PROMISE

MAY THE BLESSINGS* OF THE MOST HIGH – rest upon the remainder of the “SOBERS FAM*”

2. That is a high-quality tribute.

3. I don’t care that man has but a short time to live. I was hoping for Gary to make that century. Cricket may only be a game but when Gary played, it was much more than that.

I leave the rest to C.L. James, whose writings would put whatever I could manage to great shame.

Suffice it to say that the tears are in my eyes, for we have lost the best of us. I was not ready.

4. Those who say that this man was the greatest allround cricketer ever may have a point.

The question for Pacha has always been, could that alone should have caused him to be considered a national hero? We beg to demure.

For he was the quintessential Bajan.

Examples

Nobody here would remember that he went to the then Apatheid Rhodisia twice. For him, the friendships he made with the leading Apartheid cricketers of that era while he was playing in England were far more important to him than the sufferings of millions of Southern Afrikans under Apartheid.

The women he seemed to have loved were always White. For him love had to be White. Even as the last one was known to have liasones with every caddie at an infamous golf course.

What a national hero was he!

Those, including the late CLR James, the late OSA, Fruendel Stuart himself, Mia Mottley and Hilary Beckles, who seek/sought to find contradictions within this game as a civilizational basis, neither had nor have any response to the destruction of the high point of West Indian cricket as under Clive Lloyd and Vivían Richards by the same class of people now waxing about the dead.

5. Anyone who would seek to colour Sir Garry’s legacy by inferring that he was less than an honorable man because of his ‘love life’ preference or naïveté when he visited Rhodesia can only be generously described as overreaching.

6. Did not Gary play for us with pride? Did he not value us and Barbados, and did he not come home to us when he would have been welcomed anywhere cricket is played?

There is more than one way to skin a cat. Some of us do better by staying away in protest from apartheid states. Others do better by showing them, with our great presence, how silly their notions must be.

Donna, having no great presence capable of changing minds, would have kept away. But Gary, he had that presence.

Gary was practically ninety years old. If he was attracted to whiteness, it was because of the society he grew up in. He may not even have been aware. Nobody ever accused him of being an intellectual. He was a sportsman. Where he fell short in understanding should be corrected by the younger ones. But because of his brilliant service to Barbados, these same younger ones dared to dream, just as Rihanna, another imperfect being, has allowed others to dream in other ways.

No man or woman can be all things.

Yes, he was worthy of being our hero, a sporting hero.

7. I HAD THE PLEASURE OF PLAYING GOLF WITH SIR GARY SEVERAL TIMES AT SANDY LANDY COUNTRY CLUB.

I CAN TELL YOU THAT SIR GARY LIKED A WAGER TO ENJOY HIS GOLF GAME AND WAS ONE OF THE MOST HUMBLE AND GENUINE INDIVIDUALS I HAVE EVER MET.

SOME OF THOSE GAMES LASTED FOR CLOSE TO 5 HOURS AND AFTER CLUBHOUSE DRINKS.

IF I WAS NOT AWARE HE WAS A FORMER CRICKETER WHO PLAYED FOR WEST INDIES I WOULD NEVER WOULD HAVE KNOWN AS NEITHER ON THE GOLF COURSE DID HE MENTIONED HIS FORMER GLORY.

SIR GARY WAS GENERALLY INTERESTED IN LEARNING ABOUT OTHERS AND ALWAYS DISPLAYED A POSITIVE, CALM AND PEACEFUL DEMEANOUR.

HE DESERVES TO BE A NATIONAL HERO AND A ROLE MODEL TO THE MANY PEOPLE HE HELPED DEVELOPED ON THE 2X3 ISLAND.

REST IN PEACE.

8. Well, it’s one thing to make a wager on any game.

It’s entirely different when you’re addicted to gambling and you’re lost everything several times over.

More importantly, that each time, you’ll find the Barbados government to bail you out. A real hero would have found his White people to cover his proclivities.

A man who is on record as saying that the greatest time of his life was when the Queen of England cast the ceremonial sword on his shoulders.

What a slave for a national hero!

9. An excellent tribute by the noted wordsmith FJ Stuart. A touch point in his appreciation, I remember the 1965 Test match, primarily for skipping school to attend (lest the boys from HC and Combermere hogged the few precious seats in the temporary “schoolboys Stand” and the ton of runs that the Aussies scored in their first innings. Much of my memory of Sir Garry (where did the double r’s come from?) is by way of radio commentary, I recall the adults in my home jumping around in celebration at the conclusion of the “tied” test in Australia. I remember the 1963 Tour of England and who can forget the Lords Test in 1966 when Sobers and his cousin David Holford held England at bay.

I will join the others by quoting the writer CLR James who wrote” For years I have believed, and have indeed written, that Sobers was the greatest of living batsmen.” He also penned “The first innings of Sobers at Brisbane was the most beautiful batting I have ever seen. Never was such ease and certainty of stroke, such early seeing of the ball and such late, leisured play, such command by a batsman not only of the bowling but of himself.”

More locally I also recall that he used to drive along the street where I lived in his Jensen Interceptor and we would watch in awe at the stylish car which I believe it was the only one of its kind in Barbados.

From all reports after his passing, it could be said that he was one “who walked with Kings and kept the common touch”

Rest in Peace Sir Garry, it will be a long time before the world of cricket see his like again.

10. Garry was no slave. Garry was just a product of his generation and not prone to whining and moaning about what he probably saw as the past. Probably didn’t spend a lot of time thinking about it. As for the gambling, there is seldom a genius without a problem. What they gain in one area, they seem to lose in another. Frankly, i don’t give a damn how many times the government bailed him out. He played for slim pickings in his day. What he gave us was priceless.

Why this need to denigrate a man, who, from all reports, was a humble, kind, and decent man? What great wrong has he done to be so treated? All in all, he has done far more good than bad in this world.

There are demons out there we need to be fighting. Garry.was not one of them.

11. No one is perfect, …not even Pacha, and certainly, given the cards handed to him by birth, Sir Gary clearly exceeded all of the expectations of ‘greatness’ as a cricketer and as a gentleman, that could have been asked of him.

The point being made by Pacha however is valid.
    Where are the OTHER great personalities from Barbados who have built on the legacies and foundations laid by the likes of Sir Gary and EWB.

Where can we find examples of global excellence that are reflective of the impressive levels of spending on our national education systems, and of the pride of which we sing?

Sixty years on, should we not be able to identify at least three or four iterations of ever-increasing examples of world-class excellence, and even of cutting edge leadership in many more areas of endeavor?

It is the same shiite with EWB and Adams… outstanding as they were…
    70 years onwards, these continue to be our shining lights of national excellence?
    …in 2026?

And Trini Clement Payne continues to be the pinnacle of our social transformation history? …almost a century later?

Shiite!! we can’t even find a good calypsonian…
    Even the calypsonians have morphed into a collection of mendicant lackies who are so dependent on the largesse of the political class that they DARE NOT sing a song of truth to power… least that Dubai trip, NCF sponsorship, or Party gig be on the line…
    The Announcer dared to sing a ‘carol’ last year – and was made an example – now we got everyone singing shiite ‘bout “Mia sweet”….

National development is about CONTINUOUS IMPROVEMENT.
    That we do not have another ten Sir Gary’s in a variety of areas represents GROSS FAILURES of national systems. We should be having PROBLEMS choosing between multiple options.
    And Rihanna is no answer, because nothing that she has been able to achieve is reflective of the local education system, local talent development, local business development, or ANY local national program.

One gets the impression that our government thinks so little of Bajans, that we should be eternally grateful to have even have had Sir Gary.

What if we had leaders who recognized that potentially, there are DOZENS of world-class citizens among us, in multiple arenas, …only needing to be identified, elevated, and guided to greatness – for themselves and for the country.
    …But that would require a meritocratic management style, which conflicts with the current political mafia arrangement that we have in place.

On current trend perhaps we can expect Jamal to be considered – if he can come up with another ‘appropriate’ calypso begging fuh umm…

What a place!

12. No greater tribute than from Sir Donald Bradman who has been branded the greatest batsman of all time.

https://youtu.be/1FeMcAuA5GM

13. Priest: Follow Sir Garry by serving country

REVEREND CANON GUY HEWITT yesterday urged Barbadians to honour the memory of National Hero The Right Excellent Sir Garfield Sobers, not by placing the cricketing legend on an unreachable pedestal, but instead by embracing lives of service and perseverance.

Delivering the sermon during yesterday’s state funeral at

Kensington Oval, the Anglican cleric declared that true greatness was measured by giving, rather than receiving, as was displayed by Sir Garry.

Hewitt painted Sir Garry, who died on July 17, as the epitome of “servant leadership” and a man whose extraordinary sporting gifts were matched by his humanity.

Drawing on the Gospel message that Christ “came not to be served but to serve”, the former High Commissioner to the United Kingdom said modern society too often equated greatness with wealth, fame and power.

“Whoever wishes to be great amongst you must be your servant,” he reminded the large gathering at ‘The Mecca’. “The higher one rises, the more one is called to serve, not to dominate.”

Hewitt said the principle extended beyond the church into homes, workplaces, organisations and national life.

“Humility before honour, service before status, others before self. Servant leadership isn’t weakness, but strength.”

The priest, who revealed he had grown up knowing the former West Indies legend and captain as ‘Uncle Garry’ before later calling him ‘Sir G’, described him as “a force of nature” whose brilliance inspired generations of ordinary Barbadians to believe greatness was within their reach.

“There are countless stories of this giant of a man who seemed able to do everything, yet carried it with humility, grace and style. He gave Barbados pride. He gave generations of boys and girls greatness that looked like us, spoke like us, walked like us and came from this rock.”

Extraordinary legacy

Hewitt also conveyed condolences from King Charles III, who had asked him to deliver a personal message honouring Sir Garry’s extraordinary legacy.

Quoting the English monarch, Hewitt said: “History is distinguished with sporting champions whose records have rightly commanded respect across generations. There have been few, far fewer, however, whose name alone brings a smile to people’s faces across Barbados, the Caribbean and the entire Commonwealth. Sir Garfield Sobers belongs very firmly in the latter category.”

The King extended his deepest sympathies to Sir Garry’s family.

Hewitt also passed on condolences from the Archbishop of Canterbury, Britain’s first black Cabinet Minister Lord Paul Boateng, former Deputy Prime Minister David Lammy, renowned horse trainer Sir Michael Stoute and members of the Barbadian diaspora in the United Kingdom, where he also resides.

Reflecting on grief, the minister borrowed a Hebrew proverb which he said comforted him following his father’s death.

“Say not in grief that he is no more, but in thankfulness that he was,” he said, adding that death was “not the extinguishing of a light, but a lamp being put out because the eternal dawn has arrived”.

While celebrating Sir Garry’s astonishing achievements, Hewitt cautioned against turning him into a flawless myth.

“As we gather here, to treat Sir Garry as more myth than man would do him a disservice because it was his humanity that let us know we too could be great like him.”

He reminded mourners that biblical figures, Nelson Mandela and other great leaders all acknowledged their imperfections.

“The greatest glory in living lies not in never failing, but rising every time we fall,” he quoted Mandela as saying.

The sermon also linked Sir Garry’s sporting achievements to Barbados’ national journey, recalling the West Indies’ landmark 1966 victory over England in England as Barbados prepared for Independence under then Premier Errol Barrow the same year.

“Our West Indian cricketers helped affirm our independence of identity and spirit,” Hewitt said, describing cricket as a unifying force that made Caribbean people feel part of “something larger”.

Quoting Sir Garry himself, the priest reminded his audience at the Oval and online that success was built on discipline as much as talent. “People call me a genius, but what I achieved was not just because of my ability I was born with but because I worked hard.”

He challenged Barbadians to use their own Godgiven gifts in service of others and asked each person to consider whether they were “the hero of your own journey”.

Hewitt said Sir Garry’s’ greatest legacy extended to the inspiration he gave countless young Barbadians.

“His legacy is measured not just by his records but by every young Barbadian who now believes that greatness is possible because he showed us the way.”

He ended with a final farewell to the global icon: “Rest well, you great yet humble servant of the people.” (BA)

14. NorthernObserver Avatar

I think you are being overly harsh, due possibly to your local observations. You ask

Where can we find examples of global excellence that are reflective of the impressive levels of spending on our national education systems, and of the pride of which we sing?

Horseracing? Stoute began as a commentator and went on win nearly every Gr1 race in UK/France plus multiple Breeders Cup races. He was Champion trainer more than once. Patrick Husbands played at the highest level in NA, winning 65+ graded stakes and 3000+ wins. Today Saffie Joseph sits at #5 in NA in the trainers ranks, and this year he has taken to riding the relatively inexperienced Micah Husbands, in big races, and together they have already bagged 6 graded stakes in 2026. By comparison, Simon and Chris Husbands (not related) in over 10,000 starts and many wins, never won a Graded Stakes. Rocco Bowen with over 1500 wins has 1 Graded Stakes win. And while these are focused on the pinnacle of the sport, Bajan jockeys, there must be 60+ of them, scattered across NA riding daily. Plus another bunch of trainers, seeking to become the next one to win big races. This from a population of 270,000, a medium sized town in NA. Said town would have a big ass sign declaring themselves “Jockey Town”.

And most of these are educated at the school of hard knocks. But that doesn’t diminish their accomplishments.

15. Well, well ,well……

The Putin loving fool denigrating Sir Garfield but continue to hold a murderer and cocksucker like Vladimir Putin in high esteem.

Then again, he believes he must comment on every single thread, even if he ain’t got nutten to say.

16. But @NO
    You just made Bushie’s point even clearer.
    There are many others too…
    But not bout here!!!

That such persons have been able to do SO well – when removed from our local environment should present a glowing RED FLAG…

-Obviously the latent talent is there.
    -Clearly the will to work hard and to overcome obstacles abound…
    -Apparently, the distribution of ‘talents’ in the little place lacks no abundance…
    All that seems to be missing is the enabling environment.

So what explains the poor history of home-grown excellence?
    Why do our raw talents THRIVE when removed from our stifling political /social /economic environment?

Brassbados – a place where no good deed goes unpunished.
    But where OBVIOUS mis-deeds lead to ’senior’ promotions.

Piss poor leadership
    Misguided Eddykashun
    Square pegs in political wrong holes
    Mafia priorities

No place like it!!!

17. Seriously????

18. Bushie

This writer was there when the idea for a phanteon of national heroines/héroes was birthed.

Along with other individuals, there were groups like the Israel Lovell Foundation, the Clement Payne Foundation of David Commissiong and the Bussa Committee of which this writer was associated.

This writer’s position from inception was that the consortium of groups should only consider persons no longer alive and persons who had paid the ultimate price in genuine service to the nation.

After several meetings it was suggested by a faction, led by Hilary Beckles, that they had perceived their remit as doing the politically expedient. The pragmatism of a slave.

Meaning that politicians from both parties and others, who had histories detached from the struggles required in nation building were to be considered.

So it was not just Bussa and the 17 or 19 Bajans slaughtered on the streets of Bridgetown during the 1930’s as they sought to organize themselves under trade unions, as this writer had suggested, but the project devolved into a bipartisanship offending neither party.

Hilary Beckles was the comprador at the centre of this derailment. This becomes important because whether the Mutual Affair, the Reparations Claims or the UWI we now have proof positive that the DNA of Beckles only knowns how to respond to petite-bourgoise interests. We should expect the same with his latest project, as he aims to deny the descendants of slaves the rights which common law demands.

Substantively, the charges we’ve made against the recently dead could not have been made against Frank Worrell, for example. For during his time as West Indies captain his struggles were immense as he ignore the expectations of White people and tried to find the best team possible.

And unlike the one who came after him there were no such class and racial tensions around because that socalled hero lacked the ‘confidence’ with these matters as possessed by Worrell. True, although Worrell did not meet this writer’s criteria as a national hero he was a brave man who never pretended that issues of race, class and gender were nonexistent.

A good word about OSA which brings into focus the kinds of people the recently dead would have encouraged. It was in relationship with the renovations of Kensington. The late Sephen Alleyne walked into Arthur’s office with a preliminares design which still featured the a pavilon named after George Challenor.

Arthur plainly said to Alleyne that he needed to reconsider his proposal. For Arthur the government of Barbados was not, in the twenty- first century, be giving eternal life to a George Challenor. Alleyne, a smarter than average man took the hint. Even as Alleyne’s reflexive sensibility vered towards Whiteness.

This writer can find only five countries on the internet were musicians or sportsmen or women became national heroes/heroines. For us this must be about revolutionary struggle for freedom, justice, independence and so on. It must never be about running behind a bat and ball. In other terms, like the blood of your lamb.Not the ability to run bout behind a bat and ball alone.

And there are stark contradictions within the arguments of Pacha’s detractors. We wonder how could they simultaneously lay claim to the now dead and to people like Vivían Richards and Clive Lloyd.

In the latter case, Richards and Lloyd, and others, gave up tens of million of dollars by refusing to go to South Africa under Apartheid and as a result they gave us the halcyon days of West Indies cricket.

In the case of Richards, the South Afrikans offered him a blank cheque to write in any set of numbers he required. The recently dead would have never refused that.

Our central concern though is that Beckles seeks to continue to same role as a house nigger he’s played in every single institution he was involved in.

From the Pantheon of National Heroines/Heroes, to the Mutual Affair, to the UWI, to the Reparations Claims. We should expect the same thief of resources for transfer to places in which descendants of slaves generally have no say.

In the case of the Mutual Affair, Beckles has long disowned a book written by he himself about those events. The book cannot to republished and he’s confessed to having removed it from his resume. Is this a man worthy of public trust?

19. NorthernObserver Avatar

You cannot even leave the dead alone?
    First it was Sir Gary, now
    “Even as Alleyne’s reflexive sensibility vered towards Whiteness.”
    That adds nothing??
    But your hatred is such you cannot help yourself. It must make you feel better.
    You would like to obliterate the history of all pale skin Barbadian people, unless it pertains to the ownership of slaves. Or in your wide reaching and multifaceted interpretation, they share whatever your definition of whiteness is. Hence you can be causcasion but not white, and you can be of full blown Afrikan heritage and be an Oreo.
    For YOU, not us or we, this must be about the revoloutionary struggle, or rather whatever your definition is. As women cannot seemingly be revoloutionaries. Is that a Masonic thing? I’m not sure.
    As OAS might say, your position is noted. But was overruled.
    Like Drumpf, you must seek retribution agaist those who oppose.
    All you need do, is form a political party, and seek election. If enough people embrace your vision, you or weeee, get to set the rules.

20. You are in no position to tender unsolicited advice.

Maybe you can only exist in a world where these crime of your baccra ancestors are overlooked, pretended they never existed. That is your burden to carry not ours.

Well, if you have a sensible man going before a PM begging and shows a backwardness that George Challenor was a cricketer of little merit and no stand should be named after such a person, was rightfully rebuffed.

History of you White people! In some parts of the world the types like you are not even considered White. Our own history goes back hundreds of thousands of years. Your kind was the last to be here and has done more crimes against mankind than could be recalled.

It’s no real history. A blimp in historical time. Your kind just came around. And everything you have has been stolen from others.

You never understood Whiteness as a political construct. We have therefore long conclude that you’re unlearnt. We’ll guess that you refer to our assertion that Whiteness excludes Russians. But it has also, at times, included people more non-white than Russians.

Well, if you’ve ever been to Russian, know that they have over 100 ethnic groups, know that they were invaded and occupied by the Mongol for up to 150 years and the Mongol were Asiatics, know that none of the Europeans ever recognize Russians as White, yuh wouldn’t talk such utter shiiite.

It must objectionable for an Afrikan to have ideas about anything which conform Whiteness. Well, Pacha is determined.

What would a cunt like you know about revolutionary struggle? Is that not one of the main bases on which nationhood is formed? Would you suggest that a people leaving 600 years of bondage by baccras like you have no agency to chose revolution like you White Americans sought counter-revolution.

White people like you are by nature racist and there are White academicians make this case much better than weee can. And as long as this writer lives no quarter shall given on this issue. So fuck off!

21. Some individuals on the blog seem to develop an unhealthy obsession with their alter egos. It is quite amusing.

22. The blogmaster agrees with much of this viewpoint, the selection of our national heroes was not anchored in a relevant historical context.

23. I've Got Your Number Avatar
    I’ve Got Your Number

The Greatest Living Bajan has to be the M to the I to the A to the space to the M to the O to the T to the T to the L to the E to the Y
    30 to 0 x3 and the only DLP was a crossover who got got

24. Pacha has no ego. Must be the only one here to serially apologize when shown to be wrong by a trusted source, based on facts.

What wee do have is an alergy to the incessance of narratives devoid of background reading of anything.

Pacha has no desire to be either right or wrong. But weee shall not allow an open racist who was able, to from Canada, know that a White man found on a boat, Charles Herbert, with a load of drugs could not have been guilty when if he were a Black man he’ll be lost away in jail.

This is the essence of racism, Whiteness!

This is your blog. You pay the annually fee. There’s no need for well disguised daggers. fucking ban Pacha then!

25. @NO
    Bushy has no use for horse racing, so it is almost disappointing he missed the obvious line: The horse is the athlete, not the trainer, and certainly not the jockey.

Bushy still sounds irritated that Barbados has not conveniently manufactured an Arthur Lewis, Derek Walcott, Kirani James, or Julien Alfred to satisfy his scoreboard. I could name others, but why spoil the performance? Didn’t a Bajan invent the world’s first search engine? Apparently even that was not enough to impress Bushy.

To quote Bushy: “Where can we find examples of global excellence that reflect the impressive levels of spending on our national education systems, and the pride of which we sing?” Wuhloss! For all his railing against the “albino centric,” Bushy seems awfully eager for their applause.

26. NorthernObserver Avatar

You tell the blog, you, and others, were unable to convince a group, on the basis for consideration as a National hero. Specifically nation building,

I didn’t disagree. But I don’t necessarily equate it to revolution only, though I know you love to consider yourself thusly. And love a little war, once it’s advancing what you hold dear. Even the mushroom headed deckie, once its target isn’t one of your preferred nations.

Did you really think with the cast assembled, the decisions wouldn’t be political? Knowing that, with your great knowledge and skills, couldn’t you somehow intertwine Nation building with other lesser things? You blame Beckles, even though you already know he has no backbone.
    I could care less whether Challenor’s name was removed. He wasn’t any friend or relative of mine. I knew the name of the stand, but had no idea who he was. It is possible in 40-50 years, many of the current names will be changed to reflect those who impacted those alive, and, in a capacity to effect change.
    I’m happy Herbert still has your craw. But that is really about his ‘racist hiring policies’ at BMLAS? Am surprised the same Herbert didn’t hire a pale skin to be CEO at GEL. Who is departing I read. And that a son, a doctor, who lives somewhere about here now, is married to a black woman. Since you mentioned it wrt Sir Gary, it must be somehow relevant to you.
    I’ve told you before, you can call me whatever you desire. If it makes you feel better, do it.

27. NorthernObserver Avatar

@Sarge
    I actually nearly mentioned Archie and Emtage, but decided to stick to one field.
    A few very impressive doctors too.

28. There is Dr. Velma Scantleberry known for her work with kidney disease and Dr. Trevor Greene in cardiac care. Barbados has shown it has the baseline structure to produce world class professionals in the different job categories. We need to do better.

29. I find it interesting that there was no mention of South Africa,
    I seem to recall Sir Gary received some criticisms for going there

30. I wonder if we can understand the complexity of a person when we omit the controversial part of their life.
    Perhaps we have to wait till after the ‘hoopla’ has died down to get an accurate picture

31. People who in houses with glass windows and doors should not pelt big rocks.