Suleman Esuf

In the wake of the Campus Trendz tragedy Barbadians grabbed a little consolation in response to the news the Royal Barbados Police Force was able to apprehend two males for the crime. To be expected Commissioner Darwin Dottin held a press conference in the full glare of local/global media to communicate the news. There was much back slapping and congratulations extended to all those who participated in the capture. BU joins with all Barbadians in extending congratulations to the Commissioner and his team as well.

Despite the success of the police force in quickly apprehending the Campus Trendz suspects, BU has some concerns.  Commissioner Dottin congratulated Barbadians at their show of civic mindedness measured by the number of leads which were communicated to the police hotlines. We are of the view the reason why Barbadians communicated in the way they did had more to do with the heinous nature of the crime which sparked a public outrage. Believe it or not there is an anti-police sentiment which is growing in Barbados, especially among the younger demographic, our ‘leaders’ of tomorrow. It should be of grave concern to the police force and by extension all Barbadians the gravemen of the situation.

At the press conference Commissioner Darwin Dottin sought to reassure Barbadians that there was no reason to panic. Supported by charts he explained that Barbados relative to our regional neighbours has a murder rate ratio of 6:100,000 when compared to a regional average of 30:100,000. By any comparison this is a good statistic for Commissioner Dottin to beat his chest. However what the Campus Trendz investigation revealed, if there is enough of a public outcry the Barbados police force has the capacity to solve murders and other serious crimes committed in Barbados. In the case of murders the stats according to Commissioner Dottin is about 15 murders per year. In 2007 Commissioner Darwin Dottin announced the ‘setting-up’ of a Cold Case Squad. Unless we are mistaken the Commissioner has not been pressured to report by the traditional media which he is enamoured to give details on its performance. Have we now moved to a position where a case has to be heinous to the point of sparking public outrage or the victim a prominent person to galvanize the police*  and the public* into action?

On the 17 September 2010 the Nation Newspaper reported that Suleman Esuf, 22, of Redman’s Village, St. Thomas [was charged] in connection with the discovery of more than $11 million in drugs in a container at the Bridgetown Port [and] was ordered kept in jail after he appeared in the District “A” Traffic Court. Regrettably we have not had the same public outrage by Barbadians in response to this news. Commonsense supports the argument that a 22 year old from Redman Village would not have the wherewithal (resources) to perform a transaction of the magnitude reported. No doubt Suleman Esuf is a foot soldier and will probably be paid handsomely to take the fall. Do Barbadians understand the damage 11 million dollars worth in illegal drugs can do to the young in our society? Why not the same public outcry?

BU is throwing out a challenge to the Barbados Police Force today. The same diligence you exercised, albeit with the public’s help, in apprehending the two animals who perpetrated that most cowardly and dastardly act on Tudor Street, we ask you to demonstrate the same zeal to apprehend the real criminals behind the importation of 11 million dollars worth in illegal drugs into Barbados. A good place to look maybe on the golf courses of Westmorland and Sandy Lane and the Heights and Terraces.

124 responses to “Not So Fast Commissioner Dottin!”

1. @bullheads | September 21, 2010 at 7:52 PM |

Sorry ‘bullheads’, you were one the observant bloggers.

2. @ bullheads | September 21, 2010 at 7:52 PM |

I offer my apologies to you, I did not see your blog when I responded to BP.

3. Anonymous
    so you trying ta tell me dat people ova 60 yrs doan kno nutton bout teknologee? you is a idiot fa tru den.

Yes, incidence is a word but cannot be used in the same context as incidents because the two words are different even though pronounced the same. They are called Homonyms.(pronounced the same but have different meanings)And incidents is often used in the wrong context. Incidentses is no word. That is what I should’ve said.
    My apologies Mr. Scholar. And doan worry bout my gramma cause you doan know wah qualifications i got in said subject so don’t talk shoite idiot.
    I use my lingual to express my bajanality. Ya bumba-clawt.
    I din trying ta insult my next ‘Prime Minister’s’ intelligence cause he gun be my nex husband when i divorce Negroman, ya idjit.
    Wah you gettin on so fa? stupseeeeeeeeee

Bullshead
    The word was used out of context and it often is. Can’t rememeber the exact sentence but like many times that word is used incorrectly.

Another word I hear every morning pun de radio is ‘wreaves’ instead of wreaths. Reeves instead of Reefs.

4. @Anonymous

You are the last to correct anyone on their use of language and grammar. Why are you trying to insult people by criticizing their educational background? Look at the alias you are using, only a coward would hide behind that. I profess to be no grammarian, but one day my husband sat and underlined the grammatical errors and bad spelling he had seen in the daily Nation newspapers, and after some time he gave up. There were too many to correct and we wondered what the editor was doing. I once read in the same Nation newspaper about a bezel mirror when they meant a bevel mirror. Have you ever heard the news anchor pronounce Bermuda?

Go take a hike and leff Bonny alone, you pompous rear end of a donkey!

5. Another anonymous wrote “There have been quite a few incidences of bullying in the school this year.”. I would like to know if this sentence was given as an example of the use of the word ‘incidence’ by the Cambridge Advanced Learner’s Dictionary or if this of anonymous’ own creation. I humbly submit that the correct expression should be “There have been quite a few incidents of bullying in the school this year.” A correct use of the word ‘incidence’ (meaning the rate at which something happens) would be “There is an increased incidence of bullying in the school this year.” Up to now the only other context and meaning of the word “incidence” that I knew of, was in describing the manner or bearing of a ray on a reference surface, as in “the angle of incidence of a wave to the shore.”

6. @ Anonymous
    “whoever is reading this blog now has some incite into your educational background”
    The problem with focusing on correct grammar is that you need to be careful is your own use of the language.

…you mean “insight” not ‘incite’ in your above observation ……so the bushman is guessing that you are no expert either LOL
    LEAVE my girl Bonny Peppa alone yuh hear?? LOL

7. @BT……….. ha ha ha good one there!

@annoynymous….. you are very annoying. Ha ha ha like BT lick yuh back under the rock yuh crawl out from. ROTFLMAO

8. Bush Tea
    He is a real klown so doan worry wid he.Look, he even refer to incident as a verb. De last time I beg my neighba ta lemme use she dictionary (cause he tell me dat I in got na dictionary home neitha) a verb was an action word. A incident does got in nuff action sometimes but um is still a NOUN. ya nincumpoop.
    He is trying to incite anger from Bonny by questioning her intelligence but he doesn’t have the insight to know that it will not occur today. You imprudent zygote. Now put ‘cha face in de corna.

9. david . did anyone knows that many indian who works at ss=====why”””” who are not legal nor they have any work permits . yet they are working there for long time . this is the right time concern authority should check them out . all at once . I here they can’t even speak bajan language yet

10. @Anonymous | September 22, 2010 at 6:18 PM |
    Another anonymous wrote “There have been quite a few incidences of bullying in the school this year.”. I would like to know if this sentence was given as an example of the use of the word ‘incidence’ by the Cambridge Advanced Learner’s Dictionary or if this of anonymous’ own creation.”

As I suspect none of u who wrote after me pertaining to the topic has a molecule of common sense. I saw my error in calling it a verb after it was posted but did not bother to correct as I had forwarded 3 comments already.
    this is the site dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/british/incidence#incidence__3) I got the info from and I do not give a damn what you old floozzers say, I made my case and have stuck by it. She (BP) is an old who that needs tertiary level education. islandgal246, you too r a coward and Jackass, look at the name you choose, I choose what I want, you choose what you want. you must be a coward too, infact most of us here are cowards. Jackass – lol

11. Anonymous
    You partner leff you or wah? ya gettin on very scrawl-up? ya cann have me, i already tooken. and Negroman is a real jellus fella. he would behead you, so keep quiet n put ya face in de corna. when ya come out, write me 100 lines,’I must respec ol floozzers like Bonny’. A hundrud times wid a blat-led. ya idjit.

12. @bajan.. why don’t you come out and tell us exactly how many!while you say they can;t even speak english then maybe the way your spelling is,you can also go learn how to spell at the same time when they go learn to speak english

13. island shoppper
    I did saying de same ting. he talkin just like a Indian too. wuhlossss.

14. @Bonny Peppa | September 23, 2010 at 6:29 PM |
    Anonymous
    You partner leff you or wah?

No i do not have a partner. i luv my friends, luv my life. not ready to settle down. don’t need a partner to make me complete. plenty of time for that. of course at ur age – u must be desperate. but while searching for what u think I need, look for a dictionary also b4 u try to insult Chris Sinckler

15. just to let you know . i can spell better then you . the fact is s”” y ””” do have many people working there who do not has work permit nor visa .

16. @bajan ,if you say so then maybe you can.Btw it is than and not then,as you have written and also have instead of has,If you think you know it all then call a number and lets see how accurate you are.

17. @Annoynymous ( I will continue to spell it like this)
    @ bajan
    the problem with wunna is wunna live in glass houses and luv pelting rocks! LOLLLLL

18. @David
    There are too many persons with the name anonymous posting here. I would like to suggest that you adjust the filters for posting on your blog, to not to accept any anonymous postings. I have done so on my blog and that has reduced the number of spam messages. Many of these “anonymous” posters can come up with alternative aliases very easily. It is beginning to boggle the mind.

19. @islandgal

BU turned on a feature which requires name and email to be entered.

20. Anonymous @10:13
    Are you an ass? So why do you continue to brayyy all de time? We have already passed the ‘Incidents, incidence’, discussion and I am correct or right. So go n wash your face, get some tea n relax. Ya in gine in B/town today Satda? I gine Sheraton jus now. Cannn deal wid de sun at me age bosey.

island shopper
    ya got ma crying. de peoplezzz pun BU could be so hilarious. we does ‘pick’ a fight bout de slightest ting. we doan mek sport. dah is why i luv um. LOLLLLLLLLL

bajan
    you want dem ta shut down SY now n den i cannn get na mo cheap, inferior tings? you very good bosey. murdahhhhhhhhhhhh.

islandgal
    talk ya talk girl, talk ya talk. you in easy a’tall. LOLLLLL

21. why everyone do not leave s y adam alone . he is innocent . leave him alone . many poor people depends on him

22. bajan
    wait, wah um is you dat accuse SY of employing illegal workers. you did drinkin or wah? stupseeeeeeeee

23. For all those of you that got shit to say about Suleman Esuf say it to me…And Mr David you should be in jail for giving out false information.See you in court soon!Don’t bitch out!

24. whats happend to the trial have people been paid off? money talks