Request  for Barbadians to protest from Bridgetown to Government Headquarters by long time social advocate submitted to the Commissioner of Police on June 16, 2014.

Robert Clarke, Attorney-at-Law, Vice President,  People’s Empowerment Party (PEP)
Robert Clarke, Attorney-at-Law, Vice President, People’s Empowerment Party (PEP)

June 16, 2014

By hand/email: cop@rbpf.gov.bb
staffofficer@rbpf.gov.bb

Commissioner of Police
Office of the Commissioner of Police
Roebuck Street
Bridgetown.

Att: Mr. Seymour Cumberbatch,
Acting Commissioner of Police.

Dear Sir,
Re: Request for permission to march from Independence Square to
Government Headquarters, Bay Street, Bridgetown on Friday, June 20, 2014

I hereby request permission to march from Independence Square to Government Headquarters, Bay Street, Bridgetown on Friday, June 20, 2014 from 10 am to 1 pm.
a) Organised by: Robert L.M. ‘Bobby’ Clarke

b) Purpose of march: To demonstrate the people’s concern in relation to the hardships they are experiencing
Lack of information on the hardships that people are going through and the apparent non-concern as shown by the Democratic Labour Party Government and the BLP Opposition
Solutions to those hardships

c) Route – Departure: Independence Square – onto Probyn Street – onto Bay Street and returning to Independence Square via that same route

d) Hours: 10:00 am and 1:00 pm

e) estimate of number of persons
to take part in march Approximately 100

I await your most urgent response.

Yours truly

Robert L.M. ‘Bobby’ Clarke.

313 responses to “Permission Requested for Barbadians to March”

1. @Simple Simon
    You on to something, I hear today Mark T looking like David Thompson before he die, But in David case it was bad ass + Mara , and she still living, but she got $$$$ to buy, you know what

2. The People’s Democratic Congress (PDC) lends its moral and political support to the planned march for Friday, March 20, 2014, and that is being organized by the People’s Empowerment Party.

Indeed, we have already started to do whatever is within our capacity to inform as many people as possible in the country about the march itself and to make sure they go to this political event – permission granted by the Barbados Police Department.

However, we issue the following warning: that if there becomes at anytime any evidence by us of any BLP or DLP officials lurking in the shadows of the organization of this march, and from that point there becoming the possibility of such officials turning up at the event, we shall thereby promptly withdraw our type of active support for this event.

3. Lemuel

It takes guts to say ‘no’. I intend to be there and am sorry you won’t be.

4. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Some of you does really write some shite on here. I mean a few of you whose writings I respect really know how to go off on a tantrum of irrelevant nonsense to prove a position. I mean, I would question the motives of this Bobby Clarke because I was informed that he might be an activist but he is very much a pimp of the Barbados Labour Party machinery. I do not know if that is true, since it is alleged and so I stand to be corrected by him or any others who know him. Once I know that your agenda serves a political interest for which drawbacks are the mutual benefit, I don’t give two wuk ups who you are, what you are or status quo you fit in, I will lambast your crooked ass. Mr. Clarke if you are not a pimp the SSS sincerely apologize to you and ask your forgiveness.

5. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

My take on this whole protest action and I will reiterate, is that it must be an act that seeks to represent the interests of the majority and not the agendas of the few. Thus a cry to Barbados should be made for all a sundry, low, middle and high to come out and stage their concerns by placards, posters, flyers, etc. I would also say that a strong worded letter to the government with all the protesters signatures should also be forwarded to government asking for greater accountability and transparency. If the government remains adamant that they will continue their borderline dictatorial position, then a second act of protest along with a request for fresh elections should be called. Those who want fresh elections, is it to put in the BLP whom you all know are major contributors to this slide and who in the history of politics have been branded the biggest thieves with their many money laundering projects? What sense it is to say that when the BLP in power the economy flourishes only to find out that it flourishes under a borrow big and spend big policy. If that constitutes growth and progress what will you call the high dept ratio we are now face with for the umpteen years.

This protest should not be done to benefit the BLP party because you are seeking to oust one pile of shite only to bring a bigger pile of shite with a more offensive odour. The only way I would support the BLP or DLP is if the faces of the primary thieving lot are completely removed from politics and an independent body, who is not influence by any big ups stands responsible for the implementation of accountability, transparency and integrity legislation. For that is, any incumbents must first be approved by the people and all their assets scrutinized and researched by the independent body. There must also regulate its effectiveness and enforce its rules and regulations. Other than that I am not interest none of these wicked ass parties. Now is the time to form that third party. Caswell baby I am waiting for you to make a decision on that before I come home and start your campaign movement.

6. Simple Simon :
    Thanks for the correction.
    Dompey:
    Errol Barrow was a big big old girl!!

Ross:
    I understand your position and David’s too, but I too old for foolishness!!

7. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

SSS, you are making a good case for the failure of the Westminster system on Gov’t on our tiny scale of 30 seats. As I type this I am listening to the debates in the UK lower house. 600 elected representatives calling 1 PM to task on the issues affecting their constituents. The only way we will ever get that level of public accountability is to do what Guy Fawkes attempted to do and get rid of parliament. As many here have said, they have all failed us; but the current gov’t has failed us worse than any before.

8. Mr Watson Parkinson Avatar
    Mr Watson Parkinson

I hope the march takes place… It’s a wake up call to all Politicians!
    I’ll be there…

9. We hope that those who will be on the march are careful for agents provocoteurs, BLP opportunists who only want to get the rid of this government, DLP informants looking to defend this government and other misfits. We trust that preparations for 200 is merely a cautious PR move, given the conservation slave mentalities of Bajans, and that nearly 200,000 will turn up.

We are saddened that the trade unions, the four White men who brought down Sandiford government, including Peter Boos, have nothing to say now. That in itself describes the real politique.

10. Lemuel

For the avoidance of doubt…I was saying that you had guts to say ‘no’.

11. David/Bobby when will we know if permission has been granted?

12. I was once a n ardent supporter of Bobby Clarke,David Comissiong,Trevor Prescod.Lloyd Jones,late Martin Cadogan,also the late Ricky “Babsi” Parris,David Denny,George Belle & his brother Francis Belle as well as the late Glenroy Straughan.Any political activity organised by any one of them should be viewed with great skepticism.
    It must be noted that Bobby Clarke has family links with the Mottleys,Comissiongs and the Millers.
    I must admit that Freundel Stuart and his government performance is extremely lackluster.I am very disappointed with Prime Minister Stuart contemptuous behavior.I am also very annoy with his arrogance,and his insulting and insensitive comments he makes when he occassionally speaks to the people of Barbados.But these are not enough reasons why political misfits and political duppies such as Bobby Clarke and David Comissiong should seek to hold a march to bring down his government.
    Bobby Clarke,I was once a follower of you and I supported your political philosophy at that time.I know your personality.You are one of the most disgusting individuals in the legal profession I ever encountered.Bobby Clarke you have no respect for the women folks of Barbados. .
    Bobby Clarke is unfit to lead any march in Barbados .

13. Isn’t it strange that many are disappointed, many are frustrated and many are fed up with what is happening and yet they prefer to sit on their fat asses and do absolutely Nothing about it.

Attending the march organized by Bobby does not mean you are a member of his party nor a follower. This is for Barbados and Barbadians to take a step in vocalizing how they feel and sending a message to the government that they are being pushed to their limit. Sending a message that we want fair and honest leadership. We do not have anymore money to pay more for garbage that they are producing. We cannot take more taxes especially this municipal tax, it will break the donkey’s back. We cannot afford to pay 17.5% Vat on food that is grown locally, Utilities that are vital for our existence. This is a message we are sending to all political parties. We want them to feel, hear and see us!

14. “Bobby Clarke is unfit to lead any march in Barbados .”

Then who is fit to lead a march in Barbados then???? The problem with COWARDS is that they will find fault with anyone who is BRAVE enough to step forward to be seen and counted. WHO DE RASTA YUH WANT TO LEAD?

All wunna does do is wait for others to do wunna dirty wuk fuh wunna and then wunna gine come out looking clean and smelling sweet and want to reap the crop without helping weed and plant in de hot sun. Bunch of effing rassholes!

15. .@ David

Would it not be better for the labour unions to be also inolved with this march so that the workers would not have to worry about being victimised for taking the time off from work? I believe that when the unions are involved it would be viewed as being similar to strike action and therefore the employers wouild not be able to penalise those workers who decided to join the protest. Am I correct with this opinion, David?

16. @dehood

Yes yours is a reasonable position. There is concern being shown by so many Barbadians wherever you go which means the cause of the march can be identified with by many. The trade unions are manipulated by the political directorate, we will have to wait and see how they respond.. An enterprising media practitioner should have pursued this angle by now.

17. Excellent suggestion Hoodie. Bobby needs to include all concerned organizations and citizens. It doesn’t matter whose brainchild it is, this is for all citizens and residents.

18. Mr Watson Parkinson Avatar
    Mr Watson Parkinson

So well said Ron…! On the beach this early morning I listened to the same negative vibes regarding the march…! This is Christian country, is it not…? Do we not know that God will use anyone/anything to make that difference!

19. @ David

If the unions are being dictated to by the politicians then this should be a big eye opener for the members of these unions as to where the union top brass place their loyalty. Now, if indeed the unions decide not to support the workers in this event then it should be very clear to the workers what to now do with their union dues/subscriptions. Agreed?

20. They had no problem granting permission and marching for the invisible man in the sky though!

21. @Hoodie

The union membership has been disengaged for some time. We will have to see if recent events will galvanize people but this is doubtful. The march is during working hours at a time when many are fearful of losing jobs. Some will recall the Trotman led march in the 90s was a challenge for many.

22. I think employers should encourage their staff to go and shut shop as a sign of support.

23. @ David

I remember only too well that 90s march, David. As a matter of fact the official statement to the Nation Newspaper from my organisation at the time in support of the protest march by the unions was done on my personal computer! And, let me state emphatically that the sun was extra hot in Barbados that day. I remember seeing that guy, Julian Hunte with his shepherd’s stick and straw hat walikng along with us! 🙂

24. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

@islandgal246

He may lead the protest. I do not have a problem with that but if his intention serves the purpose of the BLP so that they can regain power for plunder- not for shite!!!! I am not supporting a protest that is intended to benefit a bad to get rid of the worse. There is too much negativity surrounding Mr. Clarke’s protest action that makes me question his true motive. Be that as it may, I will remind myself of my religious upbringing and Paul’s assertion to the church of Corinth that rather in contention, personal gain. envy, strife or self interest Christ is still preached. I therefore will still support the cause of Mr. Clarke.

25. Here is what Roy Morris’ opinion on the same matter which agrees with ours. It is a Bajan trait to become bogged down in the analysis, a good quality but at times …

•••

What about how quickly we rush to shoot the messenger rather than listen to the message; how quickly we judge the speaker rather than what he or she may be saying.

On Monday lawyer and political activist Robert “Bobby” Clarke informed the Press in writing that he had applied to police for permission to stage a march from Independence Square to Government Headquarters. He wants to draw the attention of the Freundel Stuart administration to the frustration of Barbadians  – as though they don’t know already.

The moment his intention became known the usual comments started to fly: “Dah gine be a one-man protest!”, “Only he and Comissiong gine be dey!”, “I bet he can’t get 100 people to walk wid he!”, “He’s a nuisance!”. And the list goes on.

Why bash the man? What’s he doing that’s wrong? Who in Barbados today can have a conversation that lasts more than two minutes that does not end up dealing with how hard things are? Ask yourself how often a simple “How things?” as a greeting turns into a litany of woes.

Who knows, if nothing else is achieved perhaps Clarke may save us from an explosion by allowing some of that pent-up frustration to be released.

Perhaps we should all join the march, not just against the Government and Opposition, as Clarke suggested, but to say no to violence, to offer support to the police, to pray for rain, to say thanks to our farmers for persevering in the face of unprecedented theft, to tell the trade union leaders we have lots of questions for them, etc.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/consider-your-brother/

26. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

You must appreciate that the atmosphere in Barbados is very very ripe for suspicion on all fronts. What little I have glean about Mr. Clarke is not positive at all yet I will support his cause if the interest is majority intended. The corruption in Barbados has reached an unprecedented level and one cannot help feel that the opposition’s thirst to regain the reigns of power seems more to replenish dwindling losses and return to elevations of prestige as is this case with that “no shame at all cunt” Cline Clarke. Therefore if Mr. Clarke’s affiliation with the Barbados Labour Party raises my suspicion please forgive me but Barbados is suffering and these thieving rats breezing with their real estate developments and millions in illegitimate deals. Why therefore should I not wonder about Mr. Clarke’s protest action and true motive when it is alleged that he is part and parcel of all that is/was BLP.

27. I am still glad there are still thinking people in Barbados.

Bobby Clarke is going out there for Bobby Clarke and his cousins, as said by Negro man. It has nothing to do with the people of Barbados. Bobby remember Grenada; how you aint get lock up?

This is a scandalous back door move by the Billie Miller crowd!!

Island call YOUR march or David call your march and you will certainly see ME!!!

28. David:
    Do not be taken in by Roy Morris!! He knows exactly where he should have been spending time!!

29. This is a very good example of changes that petitions are capable of bringing to out dated thinking and practices, they tend to be more effective than marches, it’s definitely something to take into consideration in presenting a list of problems to the political class jackasses who believe that the antiquated useless system in Barbados should remain the same for another 50 years and counting.

http://www.nydailynews.com/news/national/florida-high-school-finally-takes-signs-honoring-kkk-leader-article-1.1834349

30. Lemuel:

Bobby Clarke is going out there for Bobby Clarke and his cousins, as said by Negro man. It has nothing to do with the people of Barbados. Bobby remember Grenada; how you aint get lock up?

Bobby has a really bad reputation in Barbados, always an ulterior motive, i am not shooting the messenger, just stating a fact, him and the Miller crowd are………………..I really wish he would be genuine for once in his 82 years and go the route of a petition of one hundred thousand or more people, reroute that energy into generating reams of paper with the problems in Barbados, the judiciary being the beginning, and present it to Fruend Stuart, his government, the opposition leader and her gang.

SSS………..now we will get to see how serious they are in Barbados, or not.

31. Why don’t some of you stop shooting the messenger? Does it matter who leads? We are a two party country, whoever leads the BLP will benefit. By the way – what happened to the 25,000 BLP petition.

32. So David…….the petition route was tried already? i tell ya…lol…..Well, maybe now the hand of the Divine will have to intervene in Barbados and show the political class who is really boss……Bobby has always been a politician, since when have any politicians been truth worthy, its not too late for him to gain respect and trust after so many years of playing the ass……

33. NO RESPONCE – WAIT AND SEE
    No response – is the best response.
    I WILL REVERT TO YOU NEXT WEEK.
    The problem here is; if you respond to the attack you give it life, that means you keep it alive. If you don’t then it will dye away in a week or so and it has no credibility. REVERTING TO YOU NEXT WEEK will never come, while you open up enough time for your escape. WHAT WILL BE DONE IF THERE IS NO RESPONCE………

34. David of BU what nonsense of shooting the messenger.There are ulterior motives for Bobby Clarke and his gang to have this march with the hope of creating some level of unease in Barbados.
    Bobby Clarke has no moral authority to lead any march in Barbados that seeks to highlight moral,social or political issues.Anybody else but but not Bobby Clarke and his gang.
    It is interesting that one of his colleague with similar political ideologies like his is calling for the overthrow of this government.I am talking about Dr. George Belle.
    This government has been democratically elected by the majority of Barbadians who voted in the last general election.The government is legitimate and no foolish talk by Dr.George Belle,Bobby Clarke,David Comissiong , David of BU and Rev.Charles Morris would bring down this government before its time. Like it or not this government is here for at least another four years.
    The march is going to be ineffective and not taken seriously.I be very surprise if the march attracted more than fifty (50) persons.
    Bobby Clarke and David Comissiong cannot even organize a cock fight properly.

35. Well Well:
    You are one of a kind, dear. do not let Island see that she would be cussing here very soon!!

36. Negro man:
    You are showing your DLP leanings!!

37. What is funny here is how quick we deny the right of others to protest, a freedom which the very democratic system we boast about gives to anyone.

38. Lemuel……..lol…..i believe Island is really more concerned about the issues affecting the island and at this point would support the devil itself if it could change the downward spiral of Barbados, most are willing to give Bobby the benefit at this point, but yes, he should have included the unions and asked for their support, it should not be a one man show.

All of these decades old intellectuals, most of whom where schooled in England, Canada etc, i mean someone should be able to come up with a viable plan in 2014 to make the necessary changes for the good of Barbados if only they could put aside their selfish ways for just 10 minutes.

39. Negroman, think twice before you respond to a nincompoop of the likes of Lemuel because he would drain what little intelligence you have. He is just another Johnny come lately loud mouth who runs around blog, infecting it with his stupidity.

40. Problem with the black/ social conscious movement in Bim like anywhere else is, everyone wants a saviour , someone always want to lead and no one wants to serve.

41. Dompey:
    Now, now, did you take your medication or do we have to bring those burly male nurses from your psyche ward to ensure that you do. You know them very well, Billy and Bob!!

42. Well Well:
    Barbadians are more aware of the charlatans down here than you think! If this march is about Barbados, it shall be supported!! I do feel for David’s position but two wrongs shall not make a right!!

There will be marches David, just be patient!!

43. @islandgal

Bobby confirmed the march was approved this evening by the police force, see amended route:

https://barbadosunderground.files.wordpress.com/2014/06/letter-to-commissioner-for-march-on-june-20.pdf

44. David, where have gotten this character Lemuel from? The poor man is worse than the itch. He is the cherry on top of the cake, when compared to De Hood and Georgie Porgie.

Lemuel, your crazy jokes are hilarious and the entire BU community can’t help but to laught themselves to death. Keep up the good work because your profound intellectual disability is beginning to shine through like that rare luminous crystal.

45. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

No one is shooting the messenger just concern about the true motive. Remember if the city of Troy had burnt the gift from the enemy they would have never burn.

46. So David/Bobby if more than 200 take part what will the police do?

47. Sunny Sunshine et all if you all are waiting on a SUITABLE and RIGHT candidate with all the credentials you all approve of then wait pon wunna God man Jesus.

48. Well, Fruendel and Sinckler certainly told y’all off in Parliament……lol

49. @ ig246

My son tells me that technically they can make the orgasniser call off the mrch if more than the stated number of people turn up to march. But generally speaking they would play it by ear and if it is not too many over the agreed upon number they would let it ontinue. The reason being is that they would have planned for so many officers to be present for security reasons and crowd control. Does that answer your query?

50. Every time Froon opens his mouth he is defensive! Didn’t he say that he never listens to his critics? So why is he attacking them???