Request  for Barbadians to protest from Bridgetown to Government Headquarters by long time social advocate submitted to the Commissioner of Police on June 16, 2014.

Robert Clarke, Attorney-at-Law, Vice President,  People’s Empowerment Party (PEP)
Robert Clarke, Attorney-at-Law, Vice President, People’s Empowerment Party (PEP)

June 16, 2014

By hand/email: cop@rbpf.gov.bb
staffofficer@rbpf.gov.bb

Commissioner of Police
Office of the Commissioner of Police
Roebuck Street
Bridgetown.

Att: Mr. Seymour Cumberbatch,
Acting Commissioner of Police.

Dear Sir,
Re: Request for permission to march from Independence Square to
Government Headquarters, Bay Street, Bridgetown on Friday, June 20, 2014

I hereby request permission to march from Independence Square to Government Headquarters, Bay Street, Bridgetown on Friday, June 20, 2014 from 10 am to 1 pm.
a) Organised by: Robert L.M. ‘Bobby’ Clarke

b) Purpose of march: To demonstrate the people’s concern in relation to the hardships they are experiencing
Lack of information on the hardships that people are going through and the apparent non-concern as shown by the Democratic Labour Party Government and the BLP Opposition
Solutions to those hardships

c) Route – Departure: Independence Square – onto Probyn Street – onto Bay Street and returning to Independence Square via that same route

d) Hours: 10:00 am and 1:00 pm

e) estimate of number of persons
to take part in march Approximately 100

I await your most urgent response.

Yours truly

Robert L.M. ‘Bobby’ Clarke.

313 responses to “Permission Requested for Barbadians to March”

1. Damn good question and he obviously know everything his critics say……..lol

2. Island:
    You sure you do not want that umbrella!!

Dompey:
    I know that you may not know too much about drama, but characters are created for specific reasons, especially in comedies. Shakespeare had his fun with characters like you in may of his comedies. Do carry on being dotish as can be and cement your place on BU as the master of tomfoolery!! I do not know why people here get caught with you. To me your present the epitome of comic relief within you posts here!!

3. From what I’ve read of Negroman, if he is AGAINST it the case FOR it is PROVEN.

Well done David.

4. Sunshine Sunny Shine | June 18, 2014 at 2:14 PM

“@David
    You must appreciate that the atmosphere in Barbados is very very ripe for suspicion on all fronts.”

Do you mind telling me who is suspicious? Only you and a few others are raising questions about Bobby Clarke’s character, his political affiliation and overall intentions, while skewing the reasons behind his march as pro BLP. What evidence do you have of this, instead of making the usual generalized accusations and party political diatribe, mainly associated with DLP supporters.

I ask your indulgence because I am having difficulty in understanding your position on this issue.

When I analyse the contents of your contributions, it is indicative to me that you have a clear bias for the DLP, and you would prefer Barbadians to ask for more transparency and accountability from the DEMS rather than to support the BLP. You keep alluding to Clarke’s apparent BLP affiliation…. Do you know this far a fact….. What if he is being sanctioned/endorsed by certain members of the DLP……. then what?

As far as I am concerned, corruption is rife in both political parties, and if we are to go by the standards you have set for the BLP, the DLP is no different.
    However, I find it rather strange your claim to be anti-corruption and apparent vehement opposition to the BLP, but you are sympathetic to the DEMS who, as acknowledged by also, has exhibited a similar level of corruption in their six years in office as well. Is stealing good for only one set of politicians and not the others, when by all counts, stealing is wrong?
    Additionally, what is actually responsible for your personal, vile contempt of Gline Clarke, when there are others in the DLP just as, or even more corrupt than him, you could focus on with as much tenacity?

You are saying to us:
    *Don’t support Bobby Clarke’s march because he is a “BLP pimp” and his ulterior motive is to have the BEES elected to office again, something to which you are diametrically opposed.
    *Support Clarke’s march if it can guarantee the DLP administration will put an end to their turn of indulging in corruption, dirty deals and raiding the treasury (that you accused the BLP of) and become more transparent and accountable.

Essentially, your argument lacks clarity to me and seems more like a personal vendetta against a particular party (and politician). But then again my level of intelligence may be much lower than yours, hence my not being able to comprehend what exactly is your point.

You don’t reside here and are not going through what we (who live here) are going through. When all is said and done, you can stay abroad and preach from your high and mighty, “holier than thou” pulpit, but the status quo remains the same if something is not done to rectify our present circumstance.

5. So the march can’t go to the Government Headquarters now. Froon don’t want to be reminded that Bajans are hurting and are Human beings. We are not just “X’s” on a ballot paper. I hope every Barbadian who has some sense of dignity and integrity come out and take part in this march.

Thank you Hoodie for the info.

6. Can we have a march to resume hanging as too many persons feel they can just take a life and go to Dodds and come out before they reach 49 years. The USA seems not to be bothered by Amnesty Int and all the other Human rights bodies.
    In the past twenty four hours three states carried out executions of three person. Now look at this time line. What five years?
    John Ruthell Henry, 63, who had been sentenced to death after killing his wife and her 5-year-old son in 1985, died Wednesday evening after receiving a three-drug lethal injection at the Florida State Prison in Raiford.

7. @ ig246

You are most welcome anytime, ig. BTW, maybe froons ia a bit wary as he is quite aware of the power that is held in the hands of the electors. He surely remembers the last time we had a march to Ghqtrs. It was not too long afterwards that Sandi and his gang lost the no-confidence vote in Parliament and elections had to be called and the DEMS were unceremoniously dumped. He is worried of history repeating itself. 🙂

8. @ Lemuel

It seems that you have hit ol domps out of the oval with that lasr comment. However, I hope this is not a case where the rules are…………………”lost ball and you are out”! 🙂

9. De Hood:
    i was ignoring the man but he just would not quit!! He’ll be back; he loves punishment!!

10. Artaxerxes:
    It is we who have to go out there; this crowd on BU just playing for the gallery!!

11. De Hood

An organised labour march can be ineffective, if government replace striking workers with alternative workers. I saw it here in the 1990’s, when the Healthcare Unions brought Jesse Jackson to my state to energized the marched but to no availed. Because the governor brought in alternative workers from neighbouring states to replaced those striking workers. And the striking workers was out of a job for a little under four months; resulting in many workers losing their homes, apartments and cars etc. It was serious because the governor moved undermined the confident of the striking workers; resulting in many arrested.

12. @ Lemuel

What’s the word for guys like that again? Masochists

13. David, it seem as though we have to use a focuse effort to ignore Lemuelass because the word on the street is He is smoking a new kind of Crack.

14. Dompey:
    You have referred to the 1199 strike. But Governor Mario Cuomo would have been that mad to mess with the 1199. Remember Cuomo was Gov. from 1983 to 1995. Furthermore, I was there. Get your facts lined up properly!!

15. De Hood, the word you have used to discribed Lemuel is somewhat antiquated. I think the appropriate word to described this open- mouth imbecile, is Sadamasochistic.

16. Dompey:
    I noticed that you would engage in a conversation with a fellow blogger but then all of a sudden you would start to verbally abuse that same blogger. Have you had an efficacy test done for your medication lately! There are times that medication has to be tested to ensure its delivery was as efficient as it should be. This would explain these strange mood changes as you blister fellow bloggers up and down on BU!!

Remember Cuke Rudder from the Psychiatric Hospital; although he has retired he remembers you and says hello!! He knew you then as Mr. Fenty!!

17. De Hood, it’s beyond your bedtime now sir because you’re utilizing a 1940’s lexicon to describe your good friend Lemuelass.

18. You guys are detracting from the blog, consider this the only warning.

19. De Hood:
    Is the march still on. And is the date still Friday!!

Hoodie, if you do go; make sure that you are not positioned in the crowd in a way so that you can not leave quickly and safely. These things are unpredictable and if the crowd starts going you will be carried along whether you like it or not. if you resist you could be trampled especially if “unexpected” guests turn up. Be safe !!

Dompey:
    Get some rest!!

20. David:
    That is a very unfortunate warning you just posted. It would mean you are no better than the so called political demons that BU condemns here daily. I assure you I can stop and it would not detract from any development of mine!

Neither would it change my views on your precious march with the charlatan bobby Clarke!!

21. @Lemuel

You can take it how you want, do you think people reading this blog – which is trending – wants to read the bullshit exchanges between you guys? Have some consideration. commenters are given wide latitude on BU, when we have to intervene it means it has become overbearing.

22. Robert Bobby Clarke Avatar
    Robert Bobby Clarke

PERMISSION GRANTED.

23. Personally I think that all of those Government Department that were/are affected by the recent unfair government layoffs should down tools, union sanctioned or not ,and join the march. There are also some companies in the Private Sector, which are just waiting for the right moment to follow the governments move and retrenched workers.They too should join in the march. It doesn’t matter who leads the march. But I ma not holing my breath or expecting a grand turnout ,as when you get down to it, we Bajans are a bunch of cowards, that’s why we find ourselves now re-colonised by Trinidad and Tobago, and are reduced in rank as citizens of Barbados behind the traditional European, Asian and soon Chinese and Middle Easteners.
    Perhaps we prefer a William Wilberforce type to come along and plead our case and leads , then we will gladly follow behind him.

24. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

Artaxerxes

You of all people should know that the SSS has no allegiance to any political party but yes I am bias against the BLP for I hate with a passion the arrogance and plundering that this party did while in power. I also hate with a passion the plundering, lies, deceit and dictatorial mentality of this stinking DLP administration thus I equally lambast their asses for putting Barbados in the miry clay, Any political pimps who are benefactors of either party I lambast as well. I highly criticize the partisan nonsense that is responsible for the stupid divide which puts party before country and where the party faithfuls seem not interested in rather the country sinks or prevails but more interested in the position, prestige, gains and regains and all the good the party did whilst in or our of power, I do not know much about Mr. Clarke, I am for his protest until I was informed about his history which is not so bright and his affiliation with the BLP party hence the reasons for my criticism. I am simply interested in a protest that does not fulfill a BLP or DLP agenda if that makes you any clearer. I want a protest for the people an by the people and not for the interest of a few. If Mr. Clarke is the spark that ignites the flame so be it. But let not the spark be ignited for the sole purpose of .benefiting any agenda of the BLP hence my raised suspicions. If i am wrong than the SSS will admit to that wrong and sincerely and humbly apologize to all a sundry including Mr. Clarke. I support the protest but any ulterior motives with a surreptitious twist not for shite. I am tired of the treachery and trickery of both parties.

Island Gal

Sister, you should no differently about the SSS but I will let your comment slide.

25. Boy Blue

Some Barbadians are more than just cowards because it seems as though some Barbadians of African extraction entertain the idea of having a White man or a very high yellow Black in control of their domestic affairs. Is this a symptom of our enslavement that we haven’t been able to shake off as of yet?

26. The Prime Minister stated yesterday, again, he has full confidence in his ministers because they have had to manage the economy in conditions which are unprecended. It is an obvious reason but one that is interesting at the same time. How are Barbadians able to measure the performance of the government given the PM’s statement? And what does it have to do with effectively communicating what his government’s initiatives. This is all some of us are asking for.

27. The PM is absolute correct in stating the position that his Ministers have had to manage an economy in conditions which are unprecedented. Now, if Barbadians want to measure the performance of their Ministers then, all they have to do is simply compare them to those of America. It is impossible these days to find a full time job in America which would support a family of four. And do not even start to talk about the copay people have to pay for their medical insurance these days. The list goes on brother; to numerous to mention here.

28. “Some Barbadians are more than just cowards because it seems as though some Barbadians of African extraction entertain the idea of having a White man or a very high yellow Black in control of their domestic affairs. Is this a symptom of our enslavement that we haven’t been able to shake off as of yet?”

Was that why David Thompson was elected?????

29. DONKEY your mouth is like a sick persons backside. How can anyone write this amount of crap and be still in good health?

30. We have a few quick suggestions to make to the PEP, with respect to its planning of this march.

Now that permission has been granted, we urge the members of the PEP to take to some of the streets of Bridgetown TODAY, and talk with the average Barbadian walking, riding or driving in those particular streets about the march and the main purposes of it.

Also, we urge the members of the PEP to make sure that, at the time they are interfacing with many pedestrians and motorists, they give out flyers on the march and about the main purposes of it.

We urge the members of the PEP to repeatedly market the march as specifically one for those citizens and sectors of this country that have been badly done by DLP and BLP governments over the years.

Thus, the PEP must use the time left, between now and the start of the march on Friday, to use the calling in programs on CBC or Starcom network to tackle and wrestle to the ground any mounting concerns of some people that the BLP or DLP is going to capitalize on the march.

The march must be seen/perceived by John Public as the PEP’s march, totally free of any BLP or DLP involvement.

This procession must be seen by the average person too as so much an anti-BLP and anti-DLP march, that some potential/voters – sensing the march and having remembered Mr Comissiong attending and participating in one of those BLP held forums some months ago, must be able to realize his participation at that forum as a big political faux pas, and to see the holding of the march as being so redemptive enough, that will really forgive him over it.

This event and its clamours must also be seen by the average voter in this country as further evidence of the consolidation and development of the PEP brand – its being very people centered, its continuing to be a voice for the voiceless, its nationalist intent, etc.

Therefore this political event too must also be seen by the leadership of the PEP as a good time to slay and bury the communist bogeyman that has been riding on the PEP’s back since its inception, and that has been helping to prevent its greater political growth and development in Barbados, and otherwise its coming into being as a major political force to be accepted by the average voter in this country.

And, this march must be viewed as a prime opportunity too for the leadership of PEP to become more main stream in many of its ideological, political and practical outpourings and activities.

For it is pellucidly clear to the PDC and to so many other people in this country that the BLP and DLP are totally irrestorably irrelevant to the fundamental political needs of this country and are therefore being forced out of any consideration for being equipped ever again to seriously manage this country’s affairs.

Finally this party must address the question of where does it go, in the planning for and the holding of other major political events, in the lead up to the next local general election, beyond the organizing and staging of this march.

Forwards Ever, Backwards Never.

31. Robert 'Bobby' Clarke Avatar
    Robert ‘Bobby’ Clarke

To the people of BU, let me emphasize that this march is not being organized by the PEP…we are not dealing with PARTY POLITICS – it is being organized by Bobby Clarke in his personal capacity on behalf of the voiceless and the suffering and the non-sense that we are seeing.

32. Robert 'Bobby' Clarke Avatar
    Robert ‘Bobby’ Clarke

To PDC – I welcome any help you can give and you are welcomed to go and spread the word in Bridgetown. I know of your commitment. You can talk to the people in Swan Street and surrounding areas. See you there and bring along a couple of placards!

33. It really should be a collective effort, the march, and seen as a collective effort, it is overdue and let it be seen that people are serious.

Island……..you are on point, the skin color mentality is killing the island, destroying the young and it is safe to say the leaders of both political parties have been guilty for decades are still very guilty of perpetrating this crime…..i want to see the outcome of this march before i go any further on the topic.

34. Dompey | June 19, 2014 at 5:52 AM |
    “The PM is absolute correct in stating the position that his Ministers have had to manage an economy in conditions which are unprecedented. Now, if Barbadians want to measure the performance of their Ministers then……..”

How do we actually measure the performance of our ministers and what criteria should we use as a basis for us to facilitate the measuring process?

Recall the DLP promised us such a process to monitor ministers’ performance and their accountability as outlined on pages 47 and 48 of the DLP 2008 manifesto, section “22 – Good Governance.”:

“Under a DLP government, the people will be kept informed of what the government is doing on their behalf through:
    ……Regular press briefings following meetings of the Cabinet of Barbados
    ……Press briefings by Ministries/Departments to inform Barbadians of major developments and changes
    ……The publication of details of agreements and contracts involving the government and its agencies
    ……Formal Ministerial statements at regular intervals on the progress of ongoing programmes and projects
    ……A revision of and adherence to the rules regarding Parliamentary questions
    ……A policy of formal reporting by parliamentarians to constituents on stewardship and issues affecting the constituencies”

Six years on and we are still awaiting these “promises” to be implemented. Hence, it’s against this background that I ask Mr. Dompey…… how do we know the “The PM is absolute correct in stating the position that his Ministers have had to manage an economy in conditions which are unprecedented”….. if there are no systems in place for us to evaluate their performances in parliament, respective ministries and constituencies?

Juxtapose the above excerpt with the series of events occurring at the BWA and ask yourself if this administration is really serious about “good governance”.

35. PDC

May I say – your last post is one of the most persuasive I’ve read from you.. Thank you.

36. Bobby

YEAH!

37. @ PDC
    We almost always agree with you. In light of the fact that Bobby Clarke has said this is not to be a PEP march, some of your suggestions might be quaint.
    On the question about being mainstream, we are not sure that such a posture or objective is helpful in cultural transformation. The BLP/DLP already sucks up all the oxygen in the mainstream. We cannot have a different country while these two entities and all they represent still exist. In our view that ‘mainstream’ cannot hold and we should not be seeking its maintenance. Or even capturing its popular imagination, for then we shall be no different than the BLP/DLP. We have other ideas about some of the other things said but …………..

38. say yes to freedom of speech Avatar
    say yes to freedom of speech

Does BU block posts and posters he don’t like or who disagree with his anti government views? Just asking.

Robert ‘Bobby’ Clarke | June 19, 2014 at 8:58 AM |
    To the people of BU, let me emphasize that this march is not being organized by the PEP…we are not dealing with PARTY POLITICS – it is being organized by Bobby Clarke
    llllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllll

What difference does it make Bobby Clarke you and PEP same bowl of warmed over cold soup. Bobby when last you visit Dominica?
    Bush Tea avoiding this blog surprised he aint tek a turn in socialist Bobby yet.

39. SSS, you notice I haven’t used an absolute to described the psychological apparatus of the Barbadians people?

40. SSS, I suspected those persons who are party to the BLP leaning, are subject to the above mentioned mentality. The historical record comfirms and validates the above mentioned truth.

41. It is an understatement to state the position that the skin color mentality is killing and destroying the young people in Barbados. We were taught to think that white and high yellow complexion is better than our black skin. And the sad reality is many have buying into this mentality, which leaves them paralysis in a common state of ignorance. If we respect ourselves as a people, then others would do likewise. I have always been proud of my Blackness, and would allow no one to convince me otherwise. This we ought to teach our children, if there is to be hope for the continual respect and reverence of our Race. I am not trying to be racist here at all because the racist mentality does not respect my character in any respect, but to offer a perspective long overdue.

42. Mr Watson Parkinson Avatar
    Mr Watson Parkinson

Lynch’s philosophy still evident today…!

43. With the march today Barbados as a 3rd world country should concider INTRENATIONAL LAW AS A WAY FORWARD FOR THOSE INTRENCHED IN JUSTICE. The world “IS” now watching. Whose interests does the current international law system protect? As an administrator I know all too well that all organizational systems are designed to protect the organization’s interests. They are far from being arbitrary, meaningless “paperwork.” While the workers who need to fill forms and submit reports in specific formats at set deadlines, or follow the unexplained policies complain about the “uselessness” of the hurdles, the administration will always remain mute and unflinching. “These are the rules,” it will say, without further explanation and sometimes with a shrug of its shoulders.
    The diplomatic approach is needed by those in real power on the Island.
    I am suffering, as I’m sure there is always worse of than me. Nelson Mandela certainly struggled, but put this situation of “change”on the global map. Lobby for and continue lobbying international Justice…..

44. To Mr Robert ‘Bobby’ Clarke

We apologize to you and to Mr. David Comissiong for wrongly assuming that the march to be led by you this morning is a PEP event.

Our sincerest apologies.

45. BUSHIE where are you ??? I hope to see you marching with me ! COME OUT OF YOUR CAVE!

46. Mr Robert Ross,

Thanks but it was somewhat wrongly premised.

47. Pachamama,

You are correct (about the quaintness) given that it was somewhat wrongly premised.

48. @ Islandgal and “say yes to freedom…”

Why wunna don’t leave Bushie though…and let sleeping bushmen lie…? ….Why the hell would a bushman join a march of brass bowls around Bridgetown?
    If wunna want to come and go up Bay Street and pelt some big rocks pun the roof to see if we can wake up Froon – then wunna got Bushie interest…

This place is bare shiite in truth….
    The idiots who just had a march “fuh Jesus” is the ones who should be organizing this ….
    Jesus was a bushman…..what the hell does he want a march for? …Wuh he hard up…?
    Those jokers should have been marching for “JUSTICE”, “FAIRNESS” , EQUAL-rights for the poor and dispossessed…
    ….they should be marching against THIEVING politicians….. against BRIBE TAKERS….
    BUT No…. They march fuh “JESUS” ….like if Jesus need brass bowls mekking noise fuh he……
    Steupsssss

…anyway Bushie coming down the road ….but only to mek sure that Pieceuhderock don’t get there first and play he giving you Islandgal no sweet talk and thing…..
    …and mek sure you leave that 2X4 home hear…?

49. say yes to freedom of speech Avatar
    say yes to freedom of speech

Bushman you killing muh here in Brooklyn if yours truly was in Bim it would be cat piss and pepper because is a counter march getting organize. While Bobby, Commisiong, PDC and prescod marching to the Esplanade a bunch of we dress as cane cutters marching to COW palatial mansion down in St. Lucy. No we not going to burn down the place we going to tell Cow and Bizzy to tell them white brothers and sisters that all of we is Bajans and its time to stop the segregation that Bizzy now discover and let we work together to take Bdos to the next level. Cow , Bizzy and them must put black people in the board rooms. After all its the black people taxes that paying for the big road contracts and projects the government does give them. All the human tools to move Bim forward and continue to make we the envy of the developing world down there in Bimshire. The whites and local nouveau riche have to get up off the $9 billion they got park in the banks and another $9 billion in overseas bank accounts and start projects and programs to employ people. Government cant do everything we are not a communist state. Government nipples sore.The poor young black people have to play their part too leave out the blocks, the guns and the ganja and start working hard everybody will benefit.

50. Bush Tea | June 20, 2014 at 8:48 AM |

“Why wunna don’t leave Bushie though…and let sleeping bushmen lie…? ….Why the hell would a bushman join a march of brass bowls around Bridgetown?
    If wunna want to come and go up Bay Street and pelt some big rocks pun the roof to see if we can wake up Froon – then wunna got Bushie interest…”

Hahahahaha…. Bushie, you like a lotta shiite talk, hear. But Bushie you like you want to get people locked up, yuh. That edifice on Bay Street does got a lot of Special Branch men. And besides, none a we aint gine get permission to pelt rocks to wake up Froon.

I bet that upon hearing rocks falling upon the roof, Froon will consult Shakespeare….. probably act 1, scene 1 of Romeo and Juliet….. Froon: I strike quickly, being moved; Bushie: To move is to stir; and to be valiant is to stand: therefore, if thou art moved, thou runn’st away.