Request  for Barbadians to protest from Bridgetown to Government Headquarters by long time social advocate submitted to the Commissioner of Police on June 16, 2014.

Robert Clarke, Attorney-at-Law, Vice President,  People’s Empowerment Party (PEP)
Robert Clarke, Attorney-at-Law, Vice President, People’s Empowerment Party (PEP)

June 16, 2014

By hand/email: cop@rbpf.gov.bb
staffofficer@rbpf.gov.bb

Commissioner of Police
Office of the Commissioner of Police
Roebuck Street
Bridgetown.

Att: Mr. Seymour Cumberbatch,
Acting Commissioner of Police.

Dear Sir,
Re: Request for permission to march from Independence Square to
Government Headquarters, Bay Street, Bridgetown on Friday, June 20, 2014

I hereby request permission to march from Independence Square to Government Headquarters, Bay Street, Bridgetown on Friday, June 20, 2014 from 10 am to 1 pm.
a) Organised by: Robert L.M. ‘Bobby’ Clarke

b) Purpose of march: To demonstrate the people’s concern in relation to the hardships they are experiencing
Lack of information on the hardships that people are going through and the apparent non-concern as shown by the Democratic Labour Party Government and the BLP Opposition
Solutions to those hardships

c) Route – Departure: Independence Square – onto Probyn Street – onto Bay Street and returning to Independence Square via that same route

d) Hours: 10:00 am and 1:00 pm

e) estimate of number of persons
to take part in march Approximately 100

I await your most urgent response.

Yours truly

Robert L.M. ‘Bobby’ Clarke.

313 responses to “Permission Requested for Barbadians to March”

1. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

At least this is a first step. But my only concern in this is that Mr. Clarke, (correct if I am wrong), is labeled BLP Pimp. I hope the orchestration of this march serves a people purpose and not the purpose and the agenda of those crooked two face slimy rats in the BLP who are behind this. Let the march be about the nonsense of this administration and a demand for answers, regular disclosures concerning the performance of the economy and governments intended spending. No more close door decisions. The people involvement is tantamount and thus pressure must be brought to bare..

2. @SSS

Let us not label people, let us support the cause if we believe in it. Bobby Clarke has been an advocate all his life and because of his views has had to exist on the periphery of the establishment.

3. Both these intellectually and politically bankrupt and discredited DLP and BLP disorganizations must – as soon as possible – be removed by the broad masses and middle classes of Barbados from the parliament of this country.

When at the helm of the government of this country – these disorganizations have been doing tremendous – and in countless cases irreversible – damage and destruction to the livelihoods of the said broad masses and middle classes of people of this country, via their implementation of many backward, inept, insane political economic financial policies and programs.

They have been putting Barbados on a path towards becoming a failed state in the very foreseeable future.

But this path though can become absolutely changeable and reversible once a certain future coalitional governmental regime of this country – and of which the PDC will be part – is put in place in this country by the majority of voters at a particular national election, to undertake and engage in a serious process of the fundamental restructuring, repositioning and redeveloping of many of the social, political, material and financial affairs of this country.

The DLP and BLP must go now!!

4. PDC: Adamson:
    Joseph in today’s nation is saying that you are his friend and not a part of the political class because you sell socks on Swan Street. Let him know that when the PDC wins power then he shall see your political class pedigree!!

5. At Least one man with some decent balls!

6. Island:
    Are you marching? Don’t let bobby go out there by himself and the six other members of the now defunct Monaly !! Harry Husbands, Alvin Cummins, Ernest Haynes, Babsie (dead), Francis Belle (overseas George Belle brother) and David Denny!!

7. Sunshine Sunny Shine | June 17, 2014 at 7:01 AM |

“At least this is a first step. But my only concern in this is that Mr. Clarke, (correct if I am wrong), is labeled BLP Pimp.”

Is not Bobby Clarke a member of the People’s Empowerment Movement?

Essentially, are suggesting that we continue to support this DLP administration, while asking them to be more transparent and accountable?

8. What is disappointing is that Bobby’s expectation is for a 100 man/woman March. This says a lot about us.

9. Le Mule only COWARDS like you will ask such a stupid question.

10. David:
    Who you believe would follow Bobby Clarke some where!! Bring proper people man don’t make laughing sport at we!!

11. Island:
    Are you marching? I could hold the umbrella over you for Bushie’s sake!!

12. Every fair minded Bajan should go out and march! We need to let the administration know what we are demanding and why they were elected. If Bajans choose to stay away it is clear that they like what they are getting.

13. @Lemuel

Like SSS stated, it is a start because the proper people like you hiding.

14. Mr Watson Parkinson Avatar
    Mr Watson Parkinson

Let’s all be positive regarding the march…! The people of this country should lend their full support to this demonstration. I’m fed up of hearing chatter on the beaches, in the bars, in the market place, on buses etc, with regards to the condition of Barbados.
    This is a chance turn those words into positive action and let the Government, elected by the people for the people, know how extremely disappointed we are about the state of our country.
    If this march is on I’ll be taking part.

15. @ David
    Your comment at 7.04 is presient. Any country worth its salt will mobilize radical elements for development. It is from amongst the radicals that indegenous economic and political transformation must come. Meaning that the status quo in Barbados has long invited perpetual underdevelopment. Meaning that there is no space for anybody refusing to accept the established narratives in Barbados. But yet such a country could pretend to have a vision of being a ‘developed’ country. What a joke.

16. David:
    I am sorry but I am go no where to be lead by Bobby Clarke!! If that is being a coward the that I am!

17. @Pacha

And this is the point, we have become so comfortable in wholesale thinking and married to everyday social and economic constructs that the capacity to respond to a cause is coloured by who is mobilizing the cause, The same occurs at PTA meetings, sports associations meetings etc. BU is labeled a pariah by the establishment because we persist to shine a light at the rotting underbelly of our society is another good example..

18. David:
    Whenthe police in London was ruuning me all bot the place for marching against racism where were you and the other so called rebels here!! I could go on and on!!

19. I gone fior now!!

20. @Lemuel

Don’t run, and how are your actions relevant to the situation in Barbados?

21. @ David

It is worse that that. This is how whole ‘civilizations’ die. And Barbados has no guarantee of survival!

22. Robert Bobby Clarke Avatar
    Robert Bobby Clarke

Thanks for your responses. A number of people have responded so far, all but one support the idea and they have all asked people to join in, in this march. I hope that a lot more people and organizations would take part. We will all be marching to let the Government and Opposition know that the people in the lower income groups and middle income groups are going through hell. Each one have their own understanding of their problems and their own solutions. You are asked to spread this message among all the people in your area and inform them that they should all bring a placard with the issues that affect them, their family and the poor of Barbados.

It is your chance to help find the solutions to the problems in Barbados now. Please respond either on this forum or by my email at bobbyclarke1@outlook.com. Let us build this march the way Martin Luther King did, and Farrakhan with his Million Man March.

23. lemuel | June 17, 2014 at 7:47 AM |

the six other members of the now defunct Monaly !! Harry Husbands, Alvin Cummins, Ernest Haynes, Babsie (dead), Francis Belle (overseas George Belle brother) and David Denny!!

add Commissiong, Trevor Precod, Caswell Franklyn, Albert Branford, Muhammed Nasser, that’s as complete a team of malcontents and humbugs ever assembled in modern times.PDC Adamson, Elombe and GeorgeBelle are subs. Eric Fly is the natural leader of this team but he’s gone to the great beyond.

What march what!

Stop pulling down the country get engaged in activity that lifts and inspires people.

24. “Don’t run, and how are your actions relevant to the situation in Barbados?”
    Le MULE running like the COWARD he is! David that was priceless!
    YELLOW FELLOW LE MULE!

25. Pachamama supports any and all means to change the status quo in Barbados. So whether a march is led by Sam Pouch and the Duppy, we support it. If Eric Sealy comes back and calls for a march, as a beginning, we support it. If Gear Box comes back and calls for one, we support it. If Hog Food comes back and calls for one, we support it. If John Cumberbatch comes back and calls for one, we support it. If Leroy Harewood comes back and calls for one, we support it. Farless a living breathing Bobby Clarke, we support the transformation of the existing order, period!

This country is in such a mess we could only rely on the dead to give us meaning.All the living people who should have long led this movement are either too compromised or are politically dead. Let’s bring this house down!

26. Undaunted | June 17, 2014 at 8:29 AM |

“Stop pulling down the country get engaged in activity that lifts and inspires people.”

Can people marching against their perceived injustices pull down the country more than this administration’s handling of the economy, which resulted in multiple downgrades?

My friend, this march could inspire people to stand up for their rights and against the shiite the DLP is doing.

27. undaunted aka waiting, a DLP yardfowl and BU troll.

@Bobby you should call the talk shows when you get permission to mobilize a wider audience to add coherence and clarity to the cause. BU has done what we can to spread on social media.

28. RUN Le Mule RUN! RUN to Bushie dahling!

29. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

If I was home I would join in the march. I will support any effort for which the cause is just. This current administration does not provide full disclosure and their modus operandi borders too much on the covert. You really do not know what to believe even when you are trying to believe. Barbadians should support the efforts of Mr. Morris only in the interest of the people and not the dwindling accounts of those who are marching because their gains are no more.

The march should be one for full disclosure and greater accountability to the people, for the people as the administration was elected by the people.

30. Placards we should be carrying

INTEGRITY LEGISLATION NOW
    TRANSPARENCY NOW
    ACCOUNTABILITY NOW
    NO MORE LIES PLEASE
    MUNICIPAL TAX iIS EXTORTION AND UNCONSTITUTIONAL
    NO VAT ON ALL UTILITIES
    NO VAT ON LOCALLY PRODUCED FOOD
    GET RID OF CONSTITUENCY COUNCILS
    NO MORE FUNDING OF FOOTBALL TOURNAMENTS
    FIRE BOYCE
    FIRE ESTHER BYER SUCKOO
    FIRE THE MOF

31. @SS

Bobby Clarke NOT Bobby Morris.

32. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

As was established years ago, the only way for BDS to move forward is without FooFoo and Stinker. They are not going to resign; a march must therefore be for early elections. Any other purpose will only serve to dilute the focus and create further dissension in the ranks of suffering Bajans. Is that the purpose?

33. I will be there you can bet your dammed last dollar—-time for Bajans to send a clear message for all political parties–WE ARE PEOPLE NOT PUPPETS!!

34. YES DON’T ONLY MARCH CALL FOR ELECTIONS—-!!!!!!

35. Now is the time for all good men…..

36. i hope that those who are adamant about uprooting civilty and the normal process of a democratically voting system would be prepared in the event of negative fall out…at present the country is experiencing hardship not because of six years of goverance..but a landslide of bad policies and selfcentred decisions favouring those who have the financial and political and economical clout in our economy.this vicious cycle would continue until those movers and shakers are held accountabilty..

37. AC Who are “Those movers and shakers are held accountability” are you speaking about??? Can’t you take off your political spectacles for once and put Barbados and Barbadians first???

38. frustrated Businessman

Are you aware of the fact that FooFoo is a traditional dish from Ghana as well as Kinkey?

39. @ ac

So ac, are you and I going to be joining hands together in the front line of this march?

Plese note, ac, its a protest march not a call to riot! So we don’t expect you and “jonesing” Jones to have the armoured division out in force like they did in China a few years ago!

40. Carbon Fibre Dogs Avatar
    Carbon Fibre Dogs

March for what?

You see…………… marching cannot be the objective, it can only be the tool/the vehicle by which one achieves an objective.
    Mia had a big able rally in Queens Park, what came of it? Nothing, zero, zilch.

41. Frustrated Businessman Avatar
    Frustrated Businessman

@ Dompey; I would not choose ‘traditional’ as the most apt description for Foofoo, except as describing his traditional civil service attitude, work ethic and communication skill. I was once told that Foofoo’s life ambition was to be a judge, maybe a similar job that requires ‘thinking’ and not ‘doing’ would be as suitable when he is put out of the PM’s office.

42. De Hood

It is always good to hear from you brother because every time I miss your presence here it makes me nervous. Your contribution here on BU is unmatched my dear friend.

43. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ SSS

How are you? I cant talk too much Islandgirl heah and …

@ Bobby Clarke

I must admit, like Lemuel, I have serious challenges marching behind you or Commissong since you are both men with serpentine characteristics – no backbone.

BUT what you are marching for is at the centre of a very serious matter – and I would be as spineless as the two of you to stand idly and watch my country die with so much as a whimper.

Once you get the permission, and i doubt that you will, de ole man will come and walk a few steps just mek sure dat de cameramens doan tek my picture fuh de pastor and de elct at we church tuh see me among de Philistines

Another thing to make sure of is insurrectionists who like black shirts, can be planted to make sure that there are riots and incidents so that We Jonseing can crack some heads

44. why would i march only to look like a fool..while those who have the sole economic power and control laughs out loud knowing full well. that the weight of their power and influence is far superior and recognizable than any changes which would be brought about by some silly march

45. @ ac

But ac, look at what a “silly” march accomplished with Sandi back in the 90s. Maybe you are too young to remember but those of us who faced the blazing sun that day lived to witness the rejection of the DEMS not too long afterwards. Just a reminder to show you what a “silly” march can help to bring about.

46. Perhaps Al Barrack should march too.

Nation News
    THU, AUGUST 15, 2013 – 12:10 AM

Government is finally ready to pay contractor Al Barrack.

Minister of Housing Denis Kellman last night said he was waiting to sign off on the relevant documents so that Barrack could receive his long overdue payment for the construction of the controversial Warrens Office Complex.

“I have cleared the way, the Cabinet of Barbados has cleared the way, the Minister of Finance has cleared the way. We have done our part and we are just waiting for the file to sign off on the Barrack issue,” he said last night during his contribution to the debate on the 2013 Financial Statement and Budgetary Proposals in the House of Assembly.”

“The day that the Barrack file gets on my desk I will sign off on it.”
    “I say no more on that issue,” Kellman added.”

StarbroekNews.com
    June 17, 2014

(Barbados Nation) SHANIQUE MYRIE should get the money awarded her by the Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) this week.

That was the word from Attorney General Adriel Brathwaite yesterday, following reports that Myrie was planning to file a complaint to the CCJ about Government’s non-payment of over Bds$75 000 awarded as compensation for her being refused entry into Barbados three year ago.

“I am going to make sure that the money will be paid this week,” Brathwaite said during a radio interview.
    “We never had any intention of not abiding by the court’s judgment. We’ve signed on to the CCJ and I’m in full support of the CCJ,” he added

47. Carbon Fibre Dogs Avatar
    Carbon Fibre Dogs

Just over a year ago the people of Barbados voted in the DLP, a simple march cannot decide if the people of Barbados have changed their minds.
    A march cannot be representative of the majority.

48. Carbon Fibre Dogs Avatar
    Carbon Fibre Dogs

Unless its equal to the size of the majority that voted for the present government.

49. An individual, a group should take decisions based on what they believe is right and just. If the desired outcomes are achieved well done BUT the decision or action taken should not be based on anticipating outcomes.

50. A lot of c**ts are replying to this post with stupid notions. Bobby is an old man with a really bad knee and I heard poor health. Yet he is willing to take up a fight that he believed in all his life. A fight for poor people of not only Barbados but the Caribbean. I remembered when he marched against university fees and hardly anyone came out to protest leaving the government to think that raising the fees would have little effect on the people. A lot of people are hungry, cant buy food or clothing for their children and most can barely keep a roof over their heads. Yet we have time to insult a man who is fighting for basic human rights. I for one will be there with my placard held high and I am not even Barbadian by birth. I am just fed up with the state as is. Most bajans are stupid as ass by the way they like to suffer in stupid silence.