Dr. David Estwick, a key performer on the campaign platform for the DLP

The political temperature is rising in Barbados about one year after the last general election was held. At a time when Barbadians would have wanted the political directorate to seek solace in the attribute Barbados is well known – a politically stable country – we have Minister David Estwick adding unwanted political diatribe to the debate. This is how it appears so far anyway.

If Barbadians are expected to entertain the huffing and puffing from Estwick for what seems to be the umpteenth time, BU hopes he addresses the following at his constituency branch meeting tomorrow. BU understands the Barbados government has made a deal with a company to restart the Four Seasons project.  The terms of the deal from a source states that JADA will be the exclusive contractor. From all reports JADA is alleged to be in the process of forming a number of small companies to distribute the work to respond to the public outcry which is bound to come a la Coverly Housing project.

The other matter we want Estwick to clarify is the suggestion he is being pressured by a member of the deep pocket class to back off. In fact we understand he is being offered millions of dollars. Is this true Minister David Estwick?

Barbados needs to get its act together.

290 responses to “Time to Put Up or Shut up Minister Estwick”

1. Hants

He was born in Jamaica

2. Hants, what a contrast though, Canada and the United States of America. Canada is the poorer example of America…..

3. LIKE IT OR LUMP IT Avatar
    LIKE IT OR LUMP IT

@Dennis Johnson
    Play the calypso by Prince Yellow or Super D that was about The Pitbull on the loose.

LOl, This is one pitbull that really does not bite. He should get Lil Rick’s name- the Chihuahua

4. Hants, he from Canada, plays foot ball in America and was born in Jamaica . Sounds a little mess up to me….!

5. The Sea Hawks on a roll…. Thanks to they great defence…. Manning can’t seem to find game… Let’s see what the second haft brings….

6. Tomorrow we will know for sure if this is an Estwick off the meds situation.

7. At last Doug Williams has some company in Superbowl history

8. David | February 2, 2014 at 5:51 PM |

Looks like Estwick has keeled to the pressure yet again. Dr Estwick you need to stop and let your cabinet get on with it. The country doesn’t need it.
    ………………………………………………………………………….
    Pitbull owners have been saying for a long time, how easy it is to control these raging animals.
    If Estwick , seeks safe harbour in any other port the DLP ship is likely to keel over like the Costa Concordia, mashing up the pensions of many who are now either loitering in the Ministerial Building on Bay Street, and/ or waiting in the Senate to collect their pension cheques. These are the people who have to throw the pitbull another car tyre to chew on.
    Mr Estwick should take a leaf out of the Prime Minister’s book,..To hell with numbers ……(except number 1)

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | February 2, 2014 at 6:14 PM |
    “To expect Stuart to fire Estwick is to exhibit a political naïveté not normally associated with you sir.”

You see it as “political naïveté” but it could also be a form of goading to challenge the PM to be a real real PM and not a mock man for a lame duck leader.

The kind of crap being played out in the toy Cabinet is not the stuff that makes for good Westminster politics. Is PM Stuart heading a coalition government or what?

Why can’t he fire Estwick and put James Paul in charge of the MoA or even Darcy Boyce to give him something to do when the days come to justify his existence in the obese Cabinet?

What would puny David do other than grumble and complain as is his wont while he sulks like a brat on the back bench and be the laughing stock of the Opposition including his “colleague” the MoF who- as in the Esau and Jacob biblical play of political deceit and thirst for power- stole his brother’s birthright at the deathbed of a crooked scheming vindictive King David and perpetuated by a fumbling weakling who ascended to the throne by default of sheer luck and chance.
    What should we call Stuart? The Rt. Hon Super Lotto PM?

10. Its simple we put them there to begin with and then a second term, we tek what we get. The DLP had no clear view of doing anything but the free gifts and bills that get paid on the side, buy we off bajans so cheap. rather than listen to the problems at hand we listen to BS talk at meeting, knowing full well they had nothing in their deck of cards playing with, the bluffed and we bajans that had a straight flush drop we hand. We not to smart, we can be bought for a ipad or kindle, while 3000 works gone home and more will follow, this whole team is joke. failure all around, look at everyone who was a size 10, getting custom made clothes cause the riches that gud.

11. @David
    we already know. I’m just curious about how many pieces of silver he got. Party over principle once again. I guess the future welfare of his children and grandchildren along with his integrity aren’t that important anymore.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/happy-dem/

12. Full of sound and fury signifying nothing……..

13. David

“Tomorrow we will know for sure if this is an Estwick off the meds situation.”

Were you hoping for big bassa-bassa in the DLP to help you sell more newspapers?

14. @Warinka

BU is not sponsored therefore sales of newspapers is of little consequence. What should concern Estwick is that he now has zero credibility.

On 3 February 2014 10:31, Barbados Underground

15. Is so called Rev.Charles Morris a government employee ?

Where was Rev. Morris outrage when we had leaders in Barbados putting their “women” in certain positions or when wuk fa wuk was in full flight?

Where was Rev. Morris when 26 000 lower income Bajans were left at the NHC waiting list while land was fetching its highest economic value? Where were his calls for social justice ?

When almost $100 million Barbados dollars was wasted on a dump in an environmental reserve , why was Charles Morris not calling for that money to help the poor?

Mia Mottley and Charles Morris really think that Bajans are stupid. Morris is guilty of doing exactly the same things of which he is currently accusing others.

Rev. Morris – Let he who Is without sin cast the first stone.

16. @Caswell

Can you settle what is a temporary public officer in the context of who were sent home from the NHC once and for all? Read Dr. Corbin’s article yesterday.

17. Ok David, lets go with that.

Zero credibility according to who, you?

You wanted him ill his guts and run and join MAM and that band of gangsters?

18. @Warinka

Most sensible Bajans and others wanted him to do what he said it his statement. He said it not BU or others.

His executive which was stood up says alot about the effciency of the party to manage. Estwick has satisfied the expectation of many pundits, he is a spoilt politicians who loves to cry wolf. He should shut up if he has nothing to say.

19. Owen Arthur has declared to all Bajans and the world that Mia Mottley is a fraud and should not be trusted with power.
    To all my BLP friends : Is Owen Arthur a former BLP leader who sat around a table with Mottley for many years and reached this conclusion a man we should believe ?

20. Another Teacher / Civil Servant Avatar
    Another Teacher / Civil Servant

Charles Morris is a teacher at The Combermere School .That means he is a CIVIL SERVANT. Unless the Public Service Regulations have been amended Civil Servants cannot get involved in the kind of political activity Morris is pursuing with such alacrity . It will be very interesting to see how the Public Service Commission will respond to one of its employees who with such “vehemence” is calling for the “removal” of “the worst government in the history of Barbados” . Morris is seriously in breach of the Regulatiions under which he is employed .

21. @David

You know nothing David. Last election the electorate were tricked by the wolves in sheep’s clothing

22. Morris is just a renegade Anglican priest whom the Bishop refused to give a pulpit . It looks like he has found one in the BLP. But can we expose our young children to this man if he is a teacher at Combermere ? Such erratic behaviour makes Morris a liability as a teacher .

23. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The employees at the National Housing Corporation are not public officers. According to the meaning of the Constitution and the Public Service Act. Temporary employees at NHC therefore do not have the rights conferred by the Public Service Act on temporary officers in the Public Service. Note that I used a capital “P” and “S”

24. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ Another Teacher / Civil Servant
    When that man Holder chose to run against Dale Marshall in St. Joseph, where were you? With over 3 000 workers being sent home, how come he has a job with a salary that was doubled in the last year? Do you care to include these concerns with those things raised against Morris?

25. BU will have more to post on this matter.

26. @ George Brathwaite
    I do not know the facts about the arrangements Holder made neither do I know about those which Cynthia Forde made to contest elections . Maybe you do . However to respond as you have shows a serious lack in your comprehension skills . My concern in case you don’t understand has mre to do with a Civil Servant on a political platform calling for the “removal” of the government of the day.

27. We should discuss the head of the police service commission on the platform as well. And yes we note he is not a ‘civil servant’.

28. Another Teacher / Civil Servant Avatar

@ George Brathwaite
    You are interested in making political points ; go right ahead . I am not . just deal with the concerns I have raised .

29. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ Another teacher
    You have to forgive me, as Anglican has stated I have “a serious lack in your comprehension skills.” Hence, my input is making a political statement but yours and Anglican’s are not. Many of ‘us’ choose to claim ignorance in terms of suitability; I prefer to call a spade a spade.

30. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Another Teacher / Civil Servant | February 3, 2014 at 7:04 AM |

Like your ‘Anglican’ friend in tow you are expressing concern about the Rev. Morris’s role in partisan politics and trying rather hypocritically to appear fair and balanced.
    Well here is something you have to clarify for us on BU before we take your call for the reverend’s removal from his job at the Combermere school.

Could you confirm if the person who appeared during the last general elections as a Transport Board bus driver in the DLP ad denouncing propagandistically the BLP plans to privatize the bus service and to make pensioners pay is also employed as a teacher in the Public Service?
    Why was a State-owned asset used by him in the ad to promote a politically partisan position over another in breach of the electoral laws?

Was his nakedly partisan appearance in those ads in breach of the same Public Service Act governing the public behavior of teachers?

We await your response in due course. Remember those who are without sin cast the first stone.
    What about: “You hypocrite, first take the plank out of your own eye, and then you will see clearly to remove the speck from your brother’s eye”.

31. Another Teacher / Civil Servant Avatar

@ George Brathwaite
    I will leave the last word/s to you and whosoever may wish to carry on this debate but I will ask one final question of you : Do you not think that a CIVIL SERVANT who is bound by the Public Service Regulations has at least put his job on the line by calling at a political forum for the”removal” of the government of the day?

32. David | February 3, 2014 at 6:40 AM |

What should concern Estwick is that he now has zero credibility.

Zero credibility with whom not the people who want a strong united and prosperous Barbados. Hats off this morning to Dr. Estwick who stood up like a man. He called the bluff of the likes of Wickham , Belle and the wild boy pimps of the blp. They were celebrating they thought they had their man. Having taunted the Doc they misread his tipping point. The trap they set for the Doc collapsed like a pack of cards the block boys gamble with. Unity of purpose and common sense won the day.

The Doc came through he pelt the advise of Taan Abed where it belongs in the toilet. The only disunited political party is the BLP. Its engulfed in internal warfare summed up by Arthur’ intense dislike of Mia Mottley. His distrust of her is way beyond the open hate for each other displayed by political lightweights Pain and water mouth Hinckson.

The government must now quickly get into gear to give displaced workers our brothers and sisters who lost their jobs hope for the future.

Where is the jokey private sector in all of this. We hear a lotta long talk from the private sector but their dependence of government is more stark than that of welfare recipients. Mind you the private sector is replete with billionaires, millionaires and fat cats with hefty accounts and investments overseas.

Keep it coming Doctor Estwick keep the BLP and its minions guessing and disappointed.

33. Fair and Balanced Avatar
    Fair and Balanced

Fellows like Morris and George Belle and David Commisgone mad as hell or what?
    Do they believe that their pleading for revolts and uprisings will reinstate their heafty consultancy Fees as Belle is confirmed to have been paid $15,000.00 of your dollars per month, and the boy David raping the Treasury with some fraudulent Pan African Commission that is best known for a plane load of people being dumped on our door steps, what a gang of jokers, Trevor Prescod, David Unemployable Denny and David Commisgone.
    As for that Defrocked Politician / Rev in Morris he would know that as a Public Servant he has been mashing the crease and he should expect the fall out that will follow.

34. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@ Ruffin

Liar, liar pants on fire. Estwick damaged his own credibility without assistance from anyone. Belle, Wickham, nor Brathwaite called or expected Estwick to run in the arms of the BLP. Indeed, his conscience may have irked him but he had no invitation nor was there a willingness to give him comfort. He must deal with his own soul. Just remember, he is still a man!

35. Mashin de crease Avatar
    Mashin de crease

@ Fair and Balanced
    You say that Morris mashin de crease ? Boy he so far down at the non striker’s end that any fielder can run he out .

36. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Filthy mammon might have tipped the scales in this modern Babylon.

Congrats to Freundel Stuart who demonstrated some rare vision long ago in keeping the man out of the Ministry of Finance. Can Barbados imagine such a man in charge of the exchequer especially at a time when sound and steady heads are sine qua non?

Lets hope that the package was not a multipronged one that included a posting there else our goose would be well cooked and our beaks brekked.

Barbados, woe is us. we weep for thee, practically all our vaunted leaders have feet of clay and no moses in sight.

37. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The rights of employees of statutory boards are located in the Employment Rights Act. And as far as I am concerned, each of those displaced workers should start the process of taking their cases to the Employment Rights Tribunal. However, the tribunal seems to be worse than the courts: it was appointed in April last year, and as far as I know, it has not met as yet.

38. I always viewed Estwick as a mediocre nonentity.

39. Barbados need cleansing from top to bottom http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LGmUyi68_3o

40. Equal Amongst First Avatar
    Equal Amongst First

the reason estwick backed down is he cannot go to a blp with OSA at the head. he was hoping his comments would have caused OSA to see the need to move on MAM. He is still willing to work with OSA.

41. Fair and Balanced Avatar
    Fair and Balanced

Mottley has shown poor judgment and poor leadership and is not one to contend for the top post in the BLP having played an integral part along with Dottin in their Wire Tapping escapades and her involvement with the VECO cost over runs prison,or her $250,000.00 in cheques for her fetes written from VECO to her.

42. Looks like the good Doc’s colleagues talked him off the ledge on which he wandered. Perhaps he realized that his cryptic message precipitated a crisis that could only benefit his opponents on the other side and he didn’t want to be mentioned in the same sentence as Hammie La or Mascoll.

This “crisis’ was solely the Doc’s creation and one could only guess at the motivation for same, this was another shot across Freundel’s bow but he still holds the major card.

Interesting times ahead.

43. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Ruffin | February 3, 2014 at 8:19 AM |
    “Where is the jokey private sector in all of this. We hear a lotta long talk from the private sector but their dependence of government is more stark than that of welfare recipients. Mind you the private sector is replete with billionaires, millionaires and fat cats with hefty accounts and investments overseas.”

Is this the same “jokey private sector” your eminent esteemed leader addressed just recently imploring them to be the driving force to get the country out of the economic quagmire sucking it back to a real third world status? On whom does this reflect badly on? On the jokey private sector or the man who is begging?

Where do you think tax revenues come from? The vault in the Central Bank?

But why are we responding to a ruffian who can’t even understand that businesses like jada, preconco and the erstwhile CLICO are also part of the private sector.?
    Now who could be more parasitically dependent on “billionaires, millionaires and fat cats with hefty accounts and investments overseas” than the current DLP administration?

44. Estwick’s constituents would do well to stay very, very far away from him, he see-saws, cries wolf and all manner of ignorant displays to get attention and distract the electorate from his true intentions.

45. Yawn!
    Man David this whole thread is bare shiite…..and you know it.
    It is called twiddling while Rome burns….

On another blog, Pacha and Green Monkey lays out a well researched argument that the demise of society as we know it is IMMINENT. Energy, environmental and other crises are at breaking points.
    Each and every jackass can see that the global weather trends are out of whack, and that whole ecosystems are under threat…..
    War and terrorism everywhere….

…and we got jackasses here talking shiite bout what Dr Estwick may or may not do or say……?

Cud shiite!
    If the whole damn world seems to be coming apart at the seams, how is it inconceivable that there would be stresses and strains here in little pissy Barbados ….the original home of brass bowls?
    …and what has Dr Estwick EVER done – besides talk real sweet at political meetings – that would merit this kind of attention at a crucial time like this…?
    Steupsss

….you would think that the key blog now would be one that explores the various COLLECTIVE options still at our disposal to feed ourselves, and to protect our children and our vulnerable when the OBVIOUSLY NOW INEVITABLE storm comes on us……

BUT NO…..
    The usual collection of jackass talk about BLP this and DLP that….
    Bunch of damn deck hands fighting to be appointed captain of the Titanic – long after the iceberg has struck…..

Don’t try and look for a lifeboat and get TOGETHER and launch um…..wunna going see…
    …bunch of brass bowls.

46. Caswell called it correctly, Estwick will not say anything. Two important meetings put off, and when one reads Estwicks’ lame & laughable comments in the press today one can only shake one’s head in anger & disbelief. These Politicians – whom we elect to serve us but we end up serving them – must spend most of their time laughing at how easy they can fool their constituents.

I suspect that the real issue with Estwick was resolved at the meeting with Inniss et al and it was all to do with with $.

47. After seeing the front page of the Nation newspaper of 3 February 2014 I am inviting Prodigal Son and Miller for the sake of Balnace can you get Mia Mottley , George Payne and Owen Arthur to assemble at Prior Park and pose for a picture of unity to be reproduced in tomorrow’s edition of the Nation newspaper .

All of Barbados is waiting to see this picture of 2014 !

48. A picture is a thousand lies!!!