Dr. David Estwick, a key performer on the campaign platform for the DLP

The political temperature is rising in Barbados about one year after the last general election was held. At a time when Barbadians would have wanted the political directorate to seek solace in the attribute Barbados is well known – a politically stable country – we have Minister David Estwick adding unwanted political diatribe to the debate. This is how it appears so far anyway.

If Barbadians are expected to entertain the huffing and puffing from Estwick for what seems to be the umpteenth time, BU hopes he addresses the following at his constituency branch meeting tomorrow. BU understands the Barbados government has made a deal with a company to restart the Four Seasons project.  The terms of the deal from a source states that JADA will be the exclusive contractor. From all reports JADA is alleged to be in the process of forming a number of small companies to distribute the work to respond to the public outcry which is bound to come a la Coverly Housing project.

The other matter we want Estwick to clarify is the suggestion he is being pressured by a member of the deep pocket class to back off. In fact we understand he is being offered millions of dollars. Is this true Minister David Estwick?

Barbados needs to get its act together.

290 responses to “Time to Put Up or Shut up Minister Estwick”

1. The tragicomedy continues aided and abetted by some characters here on BU who are convinced that we are schupid.

2. Fair and Balanced Avatar
    Fair and Balanced

If Symmonds, Payne, Marshall, Toppin and Arthur CANNOT TRUST Mottley why should the rest of Barbados?
    You ain’t see that Symmonds refused to come to her rescue today and he allowed her to be savaged brutally and some may say mortally today by Minister Donville Inniss and the DLP members all the while Symmonds smirking and hitting Donville on his legs and telling Donville don’t stop she hurt now keep pelting the blows in her, she has never been more let down and left all alone than she was today at the PAC Meeting, not a BLP attempted to save her from herself.

3. Good to see Prime Minister Inniss in the newspaper front page today, with Estwick et al, giving them direction. Now we know who brought Estwick to heel.

4. ”Beware The Ides of March”

5. NICE TO SEE YOU CRUSOE

6. Smooth Chocolate Avatar
    Smooth Chocolate

i admired David Estwick as a politician and a great boss but i lost all respect for him today. a really disappointing man, he showed everyone that he is extremely fickle and showed how silly he is in thinking. i hope his constituents are taking note since i would not want such an immature adult ever represent me. his constituents are suffering too and he made statements where some would have been given some glimmer of hope in trying to understand what is going on, instead he acted like a really silly child and changed his mind about talking to his people. apparently, he forgot that he was to speak about the economy. all of a sudden it was about he and the PM. what fools have we let into parliament?

7. Smooth Chocolate Avatar

Equal Amongst First | February 3, 2014 at 3:03 PM |

“didn’t wunna see that the same Symmonds would not help Mia today the PAC when she picked to pieces?
    Symmonds aint no fool, he knows that Mia don’t want him as no Deputy PM if she was to ever win a general election.”

you people are so fickle and silly. now Mia was trying to discuss and highlight a very serious issue,something that will have some effect on Barbadians at some point in time and here you are here dismissing her efforts, actually laughing at her while not caring about the future of yourself, children and grand children. people such as your self should be ashamed. u seemed really uneducated about the economy of Barbados and could care less how this issue will eventually impact on you

8. Fair and Balanced Avatar
    Fair and Balanced

Smooth Chocolate, what really can Muttley say that would attract serious attention ?
    Let her first explain her role in the paying two of her two women salaries of $30,000.00 each per month at Invest Barbados and the other at Legacy Barbados, or let her speak of VECO’s donations to her Crop Over Fetes to the tune of $ 250,000.00 each year, or let her talk about how much money she and Arthur thief out of the VECO Prison and VECO Oil Storage Facility at Pegwell, and last but by no means least let her tell the public about her role in Dottins court case and her Wire Tapping and her Eavesdropping crimes against honest citizens of this island ????

9. The recent erratic and spontaneous action by David Estwick, has led me to believe that there is some credibility in Dale Marshall’s accusations.

10. Fair and Balanced Avatar
    Fair and Balanced

Dale Marshall’s accusations, That Mottley Campaigned vigorously against him in the Last Election Campaign, there is no doubt about there is firm evidence that she was the mastermind behind the campaing waged by Mottley to unseat not only Marshall but so to Toppin, Payne and Arthur, she is a vile nasty beast that in true to form is a Mottley and as the family history will reflect A MOTTLEY CANNOT BE TRUSTED.in this life, the last life, or the next life.

11. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Dr. Estwick and Mr. Hyde.

12. The clever DLP has done it once again, they have distracted the people of Barbados from the REAL ISSUE, thousands of barbadian workers going home. What is also true is the manner in which it is being done, a callous, “don’t careish” way. Look at Kellman walking into his office on the day the NHC workers were grieving, a broad smile on his face, the the front page in today’s Nation ” Happy days here again for the DLP” yet not one minister has lose his pick. This whole thing has gone beyond being a cruel joke, it borders on dictatorship, yet we have “so-called intelligent” people waving the DLP flag of good governance. Are we really 98% literate?

13. @ Caswell Franklyn

I was thinking the same thing. Either the Nation newspaper was wrong or DE is a flip flopper of gargantuan proportions. I too weep for my beloved country. I was hoping at least one from the comedic team would have stood up for Barbados. According to the article on “Barbados Today” DE said all that to get a hearing? (Really………….) More disturbingly, it appears he didn’t even get the hearing, he got an assurance from the go-between Donville Inniss of a chance to be heard! If this wasn’t sad and tragic, this would be really funny.

14. Estwick’s cure
    Added by Emmanuel Joseph on February 3, 2014.
    Saved under Local News

Outspoken Cabinet minister Dr David Estwick said today the Freundel Stuart administration was using the wrong medicine to cure the country’s worrying economic problems.

Estwick, who is the Minister of Agriculture and a former Minister of Economic Affairs, also said that while he understood the strategy being adopted by the Ministry of Finance and the Central Bank, it was not going to achieve the desired goal of fixing a $1.4 billion current account deficit.

”So you can’t cut and tax out of that, which is the old budgetary tool, which is a classic IMF [International Monetary Fund] way of delivering it. I am not afraid to say what I have to say because I stand by my inferences and by my reasoning and my common sense. Where that leads me, it will lead me,” he asserted in an interview with Barbados TODAY.

The minister said instead of the Government focusing on cutting wages and salaries, it should be concentrating on addressing what, he argued, was a $10.9 billion debt service.

He informed this newspaper that he expected to present his alternative economic measures to Cabinet on Thursday, which he is confident would solve the problem.

”What I have to do now is to ask the Prime Minister to accede to a full power point presentation with the entire Cabinet . . . because all the members were not at the meeting yesterday. Once that happens, and the Cabinet is in agreement, then I am in a position, with the agreement of the Prime Minister, to come to the public and say, ‘Look, these are the things we think we can add and do, X,Y,Z. So what I was trying to do was to get a hearing, so they (Cabinet members) understand that these tools require supporting tools to achieve what I want to achieve; that is nationally economic development and growth.

“So it’s not a matter of, as some people were trying to suggest, of fighting against [Minister of Finance Chris] Sinckler,” Estwick asserted.

“You need to look at other things,” he added. “So that is really what I push for and it is the other things I will speak to fully, publicly, once I get the Cabinet concurrence and once I get the support of the other members and the Prime Minister.”

“But I am confident,” the minister declared, “that the measures are going to be measures that will stand on their own reasoning and as a result of that, will stand on their own inferences as to what conclusions will come from those particular measures.

“I am hoping that that happens [presentation of measures on Thursday to Cabinet]. Minister [ Donville] Inniss indicated to me he has spoken to the Prime Minister. I intend to speak with him today and ask him [Inniss] to facilitate . . . and he can do this as general secretary of the party and also as a minister; so that I can do a full power point presentation, and so to get the cabinet to appreciate what I am trying to suggest,” the former Minister of Economic Affairs told Barbados TODAY.

“You see, the fundamental point is this. You cannot tax and cut out of a current account deficit of $1.4 billion at the end of fiscal year 2013/14 by the old traditional methods. You cannot do it, if you don’t have concomitant growth going along the same time, so that you can absorb any of the public sector contractions by loss of jobs. We don’t have the growth strategy going, because the growth strategy is compromised by cost. And all that happens because of the high debt and the high fiscal deficit position. So we are in a vicious cycle,” suggested Estwick.

“The only way you can get out of that cycle, you have to use other tools to help you in that cycle. And the thesis really stems from medicine, how you treat patients.

“I can’t go to treat a patient and half treat. My job is to make you well. So whatever I do to you, at the end of the day, I must make sure that I have cured your particular illness.

“So I am simply saying this [Government’s strategy] is not going to cure the illness. It’s going to prolong the illness. That’s another problem. Let’s cure the illness. And these new tool are going to cure the illness.”

Responding to a perceived rift between himself and his Government following a statement last week where he warned he would soon speak out on publicly on his administration’s economic strategy, the Cabinet member said: “I am committed to Barbados. Barbados is my first responsibility. The tool through which I am executing that responsibility, is through the Democratic Labour Party.

“So therefore, my allegiance to the Democratic Labour Party will stay strong as long as I am confident that the Democratic Labour Party’s allegiance is to the development of this country, and particularly protecting its people and its resources. If the time comes that I believe strongly, that there is evidence that the opposite occurs, then I will leave the Democratic Labour Party.

“And if that time comes, I will make my determination as to my political future, whether I sit as an Independent or I go and join the Barbados Labour Party,” Estwick pointed out.

15. Let us not forget this guy sits in Cabinet each week and attend parliamentary meetings. We like it so!

16. David
    You speak with a forked tongue. First you complained he failed to make his public statement on the economy ( as promised) and then we he does speak out you blame him for sitting in Cabinet and Parliament meeting each week.
    I understand your problem, I too would be frustrated if I was not able to force Estwick into the arms of Mia and BLP.

The BLP has 4 more years to wait, that only just short of 1,500 days more to go.

17. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Warinka;
    I prefer to state the problem differently. The DLP has 1500 more days to continue their wreckage of the economy possibly aided and abetted by Dr Estwick who sits in Cabinet, has an alternate strategy for correction of the problem and yet who has to call on Inniss to intercede with the PM to allow him to put that position to Cabinet. Yuh really understand how igrunt that sounds?

Cant you see that Dr Estwick has, in one fell swoop, indicted the cabinet he sits in, if his proposal has any merit at all and dammed its leader to the dustbin of totally failed leadership.

The Eager eleven were totally right. The problem is that they were all venal cowards who, having seen the danger to the country in their leader’s way of leading, pulled back when the coutry needed them. If they were resolute the country would not be in the position it is now in.

All o dem need replacing even wid a set uh Ninja men who would surely do better. They are all useless and cannot lead Barbados out of this situation.

Wunnah should start wid re-engineering the Eager Ones and persuade Freundel to go somehow.

Weep for Barbados!

18. @David 5:30

Officially relegated to the position of joker, jackass or jester.

This is becoming an unbelievable embarrassment to the country and Cabinet..

19. @Warinka

How can a senior minister negotiate to message the PM? What message does it send to Barbados NOW?

20. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

David re. your 7.51 question;

Teacher! Teacher! Me Sir! Let me answer that Sir.

It is because FS seems to have instituted a system of communication that apparently does not allow free expression from his Cabinet Ministers.

The Eager Eleven could not meet with him, hence that debacle.

Now Estwick is telling us that the system has apparently been reinforced to the extent that a former Minister with Finance responsibilities cannot even get an audience to discuss matters of tremendous national import with his coleagues and the PM (if David Estwick can be believed).

There is no cross fertilization of ideas in the Cabinet. No wonder we are in the position where we cower in fear of where the next cut will come.

I suspect that much of what DE says should be taken with a big lump of salt but the underlying message remains. That is that the PM continues to maintain a system of laxity yet fear where there is not even free discussion of serious issues in Cabinet. Perhaps only those Cabinet Papers which are up for discussion on particular Thursdays can be discussed and Cabinet members are proscribed from having informal meetings outside of the officially sanctioned ones.

There does not even appear to be any spirit of Collegiality between Cabinet members when one reads between the lines of David Estwick’s statement in Barbados today. No wonder that Barbados is in the position it is now in. The cupboard is bare.

Warinka; Wunnah don’ realize that Barbados cannot progress with such a system and such a leader at the hellum?

21. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

This administration has proven to be an embarrassment to a once proud Barbados. It would appear that there is a measure of insanity pervading the Cabinet. The thing that really bothers me is that they know that they don’t have the ability to manage the affairs of this country. It is only a matter of securing their pensions that is causing the whole country to suffer.

Sometimes I wonder if the Almighty is punishing Barbados for our years of arrogance by inflicting this Government and Opposition on us at this time.

22. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Caswell;

You said above; “Sometimes I wonder if the Almighty is punishing Barbados for our years of arrogance by inflicting this Government and Opposition on us at this time.

Sometimes I wonder about the same thing. But I tend to revert to the feeling that there is a certain stage in human development where conditions fall in place for mankind to ascend to a higher level in a kind of predestination. Those conditions seem to be evident throughout the world these days and Barbados is no exception.

In previous years we had good alternative leadership. Now, the stage seems to be set to ensure that everything seems to be geared towards sure failed statehood and none of our leaders seem capable of attempting to avert it.

23. Equal Amongst First Avatar
    Equal Amongst First

you had hoped that estwick did gine jump off the dlp bandwagon and hitch up a ride wif Mia Amorous Mottley????????????
    IT NOT GINE TO HAPPEN LITTLE MAN. NO MATTER HOW MANY PEOPLES ASSEMBLIES YOU ATTEND AND SPEAK TO, IT AINT GINE HAPPEN LITTLE MAN.

24. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Equal Amongst First | February 4, 2014 at 12:32 PM |

But who would want a little pissy political boy like DE the drama queen around them any way? The little poodle behaving like Fumble lapdog and Pornville’s salmon tot retriever has just played his last card. He is now broke politically even if not financially; having just been given a million to stop noiseless barking.

The lickle boi is just a mad ass clown for a jackass more suited to a circus act in slap stick comedy than real politics for the economic and social challenges facing Bim.

Let him make his Powerpoint presentation of comical errors to the IMF task force in charge of the country’s finances. No one will listen to him anyway. His own wolf has been shot by the gunslinger so there is no more cries of “wolf” to be made.

A mere joker, he is!

25. Equal Amongst First Avatar
    Equal Amongst First

wait you did want estwick to join mia too?
    wait you did want to dlp to collapse too?
    wait you was praying for a miracle too?

why would he take a million when the other other side did offering multiples time dat and since February 13 no a boy or girl aint flinch at it.

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Equal Amongst First | February 4, 2014 at 3:55 PM

We don’t care what you say David the effigy of riddle and ridicule is still a little pissy boi in long pants frothing at the mouth. And that is how he will always be seen from now on by the vast majority of people.
    What man of principles what? More of a moral midget behaving like a pimp in clown pajamas with his Vienna sausage peeping out from a cuckoo clock and being laughed at by the crowd.

27. Miller
    No body ain’t vote for you though. The man got 3,700 votes in the last elections and win every box in the constituency except one which he loss by less than a dozen votes.

Is it cause he don’t like gays that you are so HARD on him?

28. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Warinka | February 4, 2014 at 4:40 PM |

However you spin it from the cesspool in George Street he is still a lickle pissy boi.
    If he so popular why is he disappointing those 3,700 and the whole nation by being a wimp a coward and a total let down?

We just don’t entertain little pricks like with big mouths!
    You mean to say bully D hated his own brother?

29. I hear the pain of the BLP yardfowls who were ready to hypocritically praise Estwick if he had jumped ship. While the BLP yardfowls trying to get Dems to cross, Owen Arthur telling anybody who would listen : DO NOT TRUST MIA MOTTLEY !
    Arthur knows why. If Arthur speaks to the Mottley issue, she GONE like a mouse that spot a hungry boar cat.
    NO CONFIDENCE IN MOTTLEY – Barbados going wid Owen!

30. Hi Georgie Porgie,

How you doing? Lawdy, watching the lunatics running the asylum is enough to send someone to drink….. lol

31. Sir Courtney Blackman said that Mottley should get lessons on economics from Arthur but he forgets one little spanner in the works.
    Arthur will never support Mottley for leadership and is not in any way interested in helping her.He hates her guts.
    The biggest mistake the BLP will realize that they made is when they allowed the Mottley family to rush to Roebuck Street after the Feb 2013 election defeat and grab leadership that was in no way unanimous with Owen Arthur absent.
    Arthur has now revealed his dissatisfaction with how The Mottley Mafia grabbed power.
    You start wrong, you gine end wrong.
    If the BLP had retained Owen Arthur as leader after 2013 in such a close election, Arthur might have found a way to infiltrate the DEMS as that was his practice for over 14 years.
    Mottley is a megalomaniac and thankfully for the DEMS, the BLP is throwing Arthur their best political strategist under the bus while Mottley does her theatrics.

32. @Bajanfuhlife

Be reasonable it was Estwick who brought this issue to the public by the way he delivered the message.

33. No fault should be found with Mr Estwick’s decision to be less than the man he declares he is and like Mr Kellman remain in a party in which he has endured much distress his Ministerial remuneration notwithstanding; but what can be considered as dishonourable is his decision to remain in a Cabinet the policies from which he has had cause to publicly not privately but publicly disagree on more than one occasion something akin to the finest traditions of the system of Westminister goto which he subscribesvernance to which hsub

34. “goto which he subscribesvernance to which hsub”
    should be ” the finest traditions of the system of Westminster governance to which he subscribes as a loyal member of her Majesty’s Parliament.

35. Estwick is solely responsible for his neutering. I agree with Caswell it is a case of “Dr. Estwick and Mr. Hyde”.Crusoe you have nailed it ” Lunatics running the asylum!” Pieceahderockyeah you got it right as well….Monkeys tek over parliament!

36. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I will not join everyone in condemning Estwick totally as a clown. He is a good medical practitioner as far as I know, but he has self-esteem problems. He just wanted noticing. Donville provided the forum where he could get his ego massaged and now he is happy.

37. The goodly dr Estwick is no clown.

That grumpus-back grogoon millertheanunnaki should know better but you can’t help but detect the disappointment in his writings, after all the Senate is where all the defeated clowns gather to waste Wednesday afternoons.

38. Dr. Estwick is a difficult politician in the extreme and the island have thrown up quite a few . He ebbs and flows as a team player it must be a horror to keep him in line with majority decisions. No one in government persecutes him ,he seems to get his way by throwing temper tantrums. All of this is unbecoming of a Minister of government who is looked up to by Barbadians as a source of guidance and as a role model. When decisions are taken in a Cabinet government and the majority agree every man jack sinks their differences and gets on with the collective decision and responsibility. Estwick breaches that precept with impunity. Its one rule for Estwick another rule for the rest.

Estwick ought to settle down he is not superior to anyone. He is a likeable and smart guy use those attributes instead of temper tantrums and threats. The party backed him in the unseemly gun issue which from all accounts he emerged in the worst light. Estwick there is a lot of work to be done. Barbadians are losing their jobs settle down work with your team. For God’s sake give us a break with your on again off again nonsense.

39. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

The Fan

You forgot to mention that Estwick even acted as Prime Minister. Was Freundel scraping the bottom of the barrel or was it that he has confidence in him. If that is the case, Why would they not listen to him in Cabinet.

40. Caswell

Cause them don’t want to address the national public debt which, despite what the PM says, is taking over 50% of every dollar earned to be used as debt service.

$12 billion and counting.

41. Here are Barbados largest expenses:

Debt Service
    Wages & Salaries
    Subsidies & Transfers
    goods & Services

42. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Warinka | February 4, 2014 at 8:04 PM |

The miller is so impressed you take the boring time to read all my writings. Same here, my friend.
    But why are you associating me with the clowns in the Senate? Certainly not among the 12 on the Government’s side many of whom take up room in a Cabinet comprised of funnier clowns!

The miller promises not to refer to David the jump-up as a clown.
    But are we allowed to refer to him as a silly boy called puny David dressed up as a monkey carrying a loaded gun with mock bullets and shouting “fire, fire” before an audience attending the circus of comics?

The man is a blooming jackass and that is calling a red spade a bloody spade, mate!

43. @ Warinka “the Senate is where all the defeated clowns gather to waste Wednesday afternoons”. Do you mean Ministers: Maxine McClean, Darcy Boyce, Patrick Todd, Dr Esther Byer-Suckoo & Parliamentary Secretaries: Irene Sandiford-Garner, Jepter Ince & Harcourt A. Husbands?
    http://barbadosparliament.com/members_of_senate.php

44. Millertheidiot

We know you ain’t on the government seats in the Senate. Do you plan run against John the Voice again or was two whipping enough for you?

On one score you are correct, your writing and the reading thereof do constitute boring time.

45. Don’t forget Jerome and Wilfred aka Dumb & Dumber

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Warinka | February 4, 2014 at 9:02 PM |

Now whom does that reflect badly on? The idiot who does the writing or the double helix idiot who enjoys to read the crap?

We will leave you to Jerome. Not the doctor who likes to ride from behind but the one with the skeletons hiding in the closet. You want to join us in a séance to invoke the ghost of JCT?

47. There was a time when someone spoke of Bridgetown characters, we readily thought of people like Gearbox, Easy Boy, Tala Lala, Reds,Ciola,Bull Dog and Ninga Man.
    Today , the mention of Bridgetown characters lead us straight to Palmetto Street. And no prizes for guessing who is Easy Boy or Bull Dog.

48. Mia Motley : “a power-hungry political paranoiac” . This man Stuart real sweet .

49. Looking like Estwick ready to throw in the DLP towel and move as an independent or worst sit with the BLP.
    The PM needs to get this under control like NOW.