Dr. David Estwick, a key performer on the campaign platform for the DLP

The political temperature is rising in Barbados about one year after the last general election was held. At a time when Barbadians would have wanted the political directorate to seek solace in the attribute Barbados is well known – a politically stable country – we have Minister David Estwick adding unwanted political diatribe to the debate. This is how it appears so far anyway.

If Barbadians are expected to entertain the huffing and puffing from Estwick for what seems to be the umpteenth time, BU hopes he addresses the following at his constituency branch meeting tomorrow. BU understands the Barbados government has made a deal with a company to restart the Four Seasons project.  The terms of the deal from a source states that JADA will be the exclusive contractor. From all reports JADA is alleged to be in the process of forming a number of small companies to distribute the work to respond to the public outcry which is bound to come a la Coverly Housing project.

The other matter we want Estwick to clarify is the suggestion he is being pressured by a member of the deep pocket class to back off. In fact we understand he is being offered millions of dollars. Is this true Minister David Estwick?

Barbados needs to get its act together.

290 responses to “Time to Put Up or Shut up Minister Estwick”

1. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

We are paying too much attention to Estwick’s nonsense. If he is going to do something do it and stop playing the ass. He is taking attention away from the devastation that the DLP is wreaking in the lives of public servants, which in my opinion is a deliberate tactic.

If I am wrong about Estwick, I’ll be the first to apologise but from his past conduct that apology might be a long way off.

2. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

David; The eventual denounement to Act 4 in this Play should offer some clues to the identity of the real movers and shakers in DLP land (By their fruits ye shall know them). But David, Why yuh add de rumoured restart of the 4-Seasons project tuh dis mix? Hmmmmmm!

3. True or false?

Sandals invests US$250 million in Barbados.

Sandals has purchased the former Almond Casuarina Beach Resort in the south which will now be transformed into Sandals Barbados, while the site of the former Almond Beach Village in the north will be a Beaches family resort. Both hotels mark an investment of some US$250 million.

True or false?

4. I agree with you, Caswell. I would be the most surprised person if Estwick rocks the boat. The DLP is paramount, never forget that. The persons offering the bribe should be arrested, not George Belle.

The rich financiers of the DLP have too much to lose to let a man like Estwick take away all of their spoils, after all they have to get back their monies which were invested in an election a few months ago.

Did I not read that the original owners of Four Seasons warned this inept incompetent government about accepting the lowest bid. Are the taxpayers going to be on the hook for the difference in what Jada offers and the highest bid? Just like the proposal to rape the NIS again to pay for the Coverley houses. What a mess this country is in! For all the lot of rhetoric we hear from this lying PM about he not being in anyone’s pocket, how does he explain all of this?

Anyway to quote a famous woman………..what difference does it make? NIS funds are always there, it ain’t like the Stinkliar haven’t sunk 120 million in it already? Wait was this not a private project?

5. re-we-there-yet? “some clues to the identity of the real movers and shakers DLP land”

Are they as wealthy the real movers and shakers in BLP land”

Why don’t we just make up a list of the known right and black shadows of political parties in Barbados.

6. Exactly what can Dr.David Estwick do to help Barbados at this time?

He can cross the floor into the loving arms of Clyde, Mia and the BLP.Clyde will help with the crossover.

or he can resign and and go back to his profession.

or he could start his own political party.

What he might have done is go to the PM and voice his concerns and if the PM rejected them, then he could resign and tell the public why.

It seems the short men in Barbados have tall egos. First Owen now him.

7. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

But Hants;
    I thought that wunnah din’ have nuh white or black shadows? and dat all de deep pockets in Barbados were aligned wid de BLP?

8. Estwick got wunna good. Did you hear about Nation reporters who descended on his Constituency Office today to report on rumored press conference?

9. are-we-there-yet?

Every political party in the capitalist world has financial supporters and those who benefit from lobbying for Government contracts.

10. I have to agree with Caswell, I like Estwick but I believe that in this case this is just the DLP party machinery at play to deviate from the hurt and suffering at the hands of the party with regard to the lay-offs (firings) taking place.

11. Agreed, Driver.

I read on Barbados Today a lady saying that she campaigned for the PM and the Stinkliar and she thought she had a job, now they have treated her like a dog and she done with them for life. Another guy said that if he told the reporter what he thought of the PM, they would have him arrested.

These are but a few of the sad tales of those laid off. They were fooled by the DLP and they believed the lies the DLP told them. Vote for the DLP and your job is safe, vote for the BLP and 10,000 of you all gone. Now who is the liar?

Isn’t it passing strange that a party who boasted that Barbados is more than an economy, it is a society. The lying PM now said on Friday that he is not concerned with numbers nor the number of people to lose their jobs, his concern is that they have targets to meet and they will meet them.

Wait, liar PM, we thought the economy was stable and on a growth path? Are these people of no more value to you dems now? Are they not part of this society? Therein lies the problem, you stupid people seemingly did not know that to build a society, you need to build the economy side by side. Pity not even the dead king got this message!

12. Why would Estwick taint what legacy and career he has by allowing the party machinery to use him? What’s in it for him?

13. Immediate family member laid off therefore:

House help, no longer needed save about 200/ month
    Debushing the back every two weeks changed to once a month.
    Withdraw all money from bpwccu, before the wave of defaults.
    Take children out of nursery save 700/month
    Give car washer a weekly pick…..stop that and save 100/month
    Cancel one of the insurance policies. save 100/month

Minor change in finances at an individual level for my family but multiplied by 3000 families…..epic deflationary disaster.

14. There must be some good men and women of Barbados to stand up to the political ignorance of the BLP and DLP and start a third party.

If Estwick crosses the floor as the BLP want him to do. Will they forgive him for the allege gun incident?

Are we to back to the BLP that is in disarray? In disarray because there is plenty infighting as neither the former leader nor George Payne has spoken at the Assemblies yet. Why not BLP advocates?

Are we to get Gline Clarke as a Minister again? HELL NO as quoting Ac.

We would hear Estwick plans tomorrow. If there were plausible then he can resigned and formed the third party without any of the present or past political DEAD HORSES.
    We need solutions NOW. Not Acrimonious back and forth.
    Will the BLP on winning the next government as can be seen if there is no third party reinstate all of the displace workers. If they can’t then Dale Marshall saying that the DLP is callous and inhumane in sending home would have been only rhetoric as all politicians seems to master

15. Estwick is trying to distance himself from the layoffs, as many of the people who voted for him in the last election, might very well be affected. He is playing the “Not me , its dem! game.”, with his crocodile tears . He is banking on fooling the people of his constituency, and Barbados , for the third time , whenever the next election is called.
    But look how they pick Dennis Kellman ,as the first to lay his head on the butcher’s block.
    Lashley is next, and he is on a mission to divert the flax by laying down a smoke screen around the PSV Operatives and the ordinary motorists.

16. Estwick is a buffoon, if he has any balls at all he would tell the PM to F off, resign from cabinet and sit as an independent. BUT he won’t, so wake me up when this fiasco is over.

17. I am not sure if there are three different Barbados because as the people start getting laid off more Barbadians are in Price Mart with full trolleys with all the exotic things that are sold there.

Maybe they can cut back and help a laid off brother through a special fund set up by the better off in this society. I am not talking race here but the most shoppers at Price Mart are black. When you can buy a 46 inch TV from your debit card you are better off.

18. are-we-there-yet? Avatar
    are-we-there-yet?

Driver;
    I imagined it went something like this in a dream:-

Other DLP MInister;
    Hey; E, we need a distraction to stop the people from following the horror stories that are sure to start as soon as we start the layoffs;

E;
    Wunnah kno’ dat I against de layoffs. Why should I help in creating a distraction?

Other DLP Minister;
    Fuh de sake of de party and buhbadus. Yuh noh we are de drinking water of de masses. If we get rinse out next time arung Buhbadus wun’ have nuh drinking water an we wud be tru de edduhs.

Estwick;

OK! I’ll do something fuh de sake o buhbadus. Yuh no wat, I’ll tret’en tuh resign and have a big press cunfrance where de PM and de MOF can be seen pleading wid me to return to de fold and then they can announce to de people de next day dat dey persuaded me to withdraw my resignation. Dah wud be two or tree days wen dey wunt be one peep about de layoffs in de media and we will gon’ clere.

Sounds logical doesn’t it? Hmmm! Perhaps the more believable scenario might be that Estwick is behaving as is his wont and the PM and others are playing him to get the PR mileage out of the “confusion in cabinet” scenario above.

19. The BLP yardfowls are trying to bait Estwick. Taunting him, calling him chicken, a fellow with bare mouth nothing else. The ruse is to rile Estwick enough for him to do something stupid to make the Dems look bad or worse bring down the government. Lets see who wins this game. Estwick should stay the course and bat for his team. All teams have differences. Kirk Edwards was replaced by the unknown Kevin Stoute but the team player he is he hasn’t pouted picked up his marbles and run away. That’s what being a man is about. Sticking it out with your team in good times and tough times. Will Estwick cave in to to the heckling and psychological trickery of the BLP and its yardfowls or will he stand firm like a real man should. Time will tell.

20. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Hants

You wrote:

Every political party in the capitalist world has financial supporters and those who benefit from lobbying for Government contracts.

While that may be true, it is a crime in Barbados not to disclose them when they contribute to the election campaign. So far neither political party has officially revealed that they get financial or even in-kind support from anyone.

21. PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad Avatar
    PLANTATION DEEDS FROM 1926 TO 2014 , MASSIVE FRAUD ,LAND TAX BILLS AND NO DEEDS OF BARBADOS, BLPand DLP=Massive Fruad
  22. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

Albert Brandford is so predictable. His weekly BLP column in which he pretends to be an “independent political correspondent” is laughable and pathetic partisan dribble.
    His sole purpose in the Nation on Sunday is to curse one political party. You know what side of the issue he will come down on before you read it.
    Then again, he is employed by the BLP through its subsidiary the Nation BLP newspaper so can we realistically expect a BLP yardfowl like Brandford to be objective?

23. Ruff, ruff ruff ruff. Ruff……grrr, ruff.
    Ruff. Ruff ruff ruff..
    Grrr, ruff.

Fido barks, then goes back to lie down in de kennel.

24. I don’t see how you could make such presumtuous pronoucements, without the corroborative and substantiate evidence to support your twisted claims?

25. […]So you expect those of us to trust your words because the truth you always speak? lol….lol… It’s time to get a life because you’re running out of ideas Mr.

26. It is time to live out the principles of your Mission- Statement. You know, it surely seems from this distant perspective that (Partially) interweaved the very foundation of this Site. But it is just a personal perspective seen through the lens of my individual- eyes and to be corrected I therefore stand.

27. It is time to live out the principles of your Mission- Statement. You know, it surely seems from this distant perspective that (Partiality) interweaved the very foundation of this Site. But it is just a personal perspective seen through the lens of my individual- eyes and to be corrected I therefore stand.

28. AOD wrote “Minor change in finances at an individual level for my family but multiplied by 3000 families…..epic deflationary disaster.”

You have hit on a massive problem for Barbados. No income, no spending equals deflation.

There will be a trickle down effect that could cause layoffs in the retail sector.

29. Come one come all to Princess Margaret School this evening where the great and powerful Dr. Estwick will lay out his vision for Barbados in the post public service lay offs era.

Come and be witness to his riveting discussion on the dynamics of the Barbadian economy.

Miller, looking forward to seeing you in the front as usual, whenever the Doc speaks

30. Fractured

You idiot you think Dr. Estwick will be speaking?

Dr.Estwick is being pushed into a corner by his cabinet and party colleagues who want to diffuse the situation.

31. He will not speak.

32. @Warinka

According to today’s media he asked his Executive to assemble for a 2PM meeting yestersay, confirmed by Mr. Bend.

33. I want to wish Dr. Estwick the very best, as he endeavors to elastify our understanding of the vicissitudinous nature of the Barbadian economy. The current economic situation in Barbados pains some of us quite deeply, but we can all take consolation in knowing that Dr. Estwick is up to the challenge. We may not have gotten right the first time around brother, but I am quite confident in your ability to correct those shortcomings Sir.

34. NationBLPnewspaper Avatar
    NationBLPnewspaper

It is interesting that Dr. Estwick can make a public statement about speaking out more on the economy and BLP writer Albert Brandford uses that to write two articles abour dissent and to criticize the DLP.

Yet a former BLP leader, Prime Minister and chairman of the cabinet in which Ms. Mottley served can tell Barbados that he does not trust her and cannot subject himself to her leadership and Albert Brandford writes one general soft Sunday School article and leaves it there.

Albert Brandford has no courage or integrity as a journalist. He toes the BLP party line and is a boring, predictable writer. I read the first few lines and then tune out because we all know that Brandford is only going to criticize one party.
    He is not fair or independent and should stop pretending to be such.

35. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Prodigal Son | February 1, 2014 at 11:04 PM |
    “Isn’t it passing strange that a party who boasted that Barbados is more than an economy, it is a society. The lying PM now said on Friday that he is not concerned with numbers nor the number of people to lose their jobs, his concern is that they have targets to meet and they will meet them”

I trust you remember the miller was able to spot from early the disingenuity and hypocrisy of the political devil. We wonder what the blind fools who call him a man of integrity would have to say about Mr. Disappointment disintegrating into a moral turncoat.

The man is an abject liar with no moral compass to guide him in his totally incompetent stay at the helm of a sinking ship called SS Barbados. The next torpedo of a depth charge blow to his fast disappearing broken image of false integrity will be his unashamedly and unapologetically disgraceful embrace of the need to privatize a number of State-owned assets including his pet DLP-CBC and the GAIA.

You will then see- like the Wicked Queen in the Snow White Fairy tale looking in the broken mirror- the true practitioner of the famous PARO POLITICS in the genuine déjà vu 1991/92 DLP fashion. But instead of political bullet holes (as was done to the image of OSA) on the poster for the most wanted liar in Bim there will be a political gunslinger called David posing as the “Marshal” of Marchfield and pulling along a coffin to bury this comatose administration for a political cadaver in George Street; never to rise again in your lifetime or mine.

Now who has been right so far about the real management abilities and moral makeup of the damned deceitful dreadful destructive lying political pimps that have sullied the memory and legacy and now destroyed all the goods works of the real Rt. Excellent Errol Walton Barrow? The answer is ac and her kind.
    Neither was OSA wrong in calling this lot of liars and incompetents a bunch of wild boys led then by the biggest thief to enter politics.

36. …At least we have man with enough intesticular- fortitude, who is willing to lay before the collective ears of the Barbadian electorate, a plan to get us out of this economic cesspool….

37. AC please help me understand why you post that video? that does not help your party’s case. oh wait i forget you are a jackass. never mind.

38. This Great Speech by Dr. Estwick, has shed greater light on our economical difficulties, and the forces that have rise to our present economic reality.

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Mark Fenty | February 2, 2014 at 8:43 AM |
    “…At least we have man with enough intesticular- fortitude, who is willing to lay before the collective ears of the Barbadian electorate, a plan to get us out of this economic cesspool….”

What is a man with “intesticular- fortitude”? Is that another term for a castrated pit bull?
    A real man with testicular fortitude or intestinal courage (guts) would not allow himself be used like a political doormat and muted lapdog of the leader of a band of clowns posing as a political administration.
    Estwick, the castrated pit bull turned into a transvestite poodle who was put out to pasture in the financially starved black sheep of the Ministry of Talking Agriculture & Bush, is the only one in the DLP administration who has an adequate grasp of the economic challenges facing Bim (even if learned under the tutelage of Mascoll).
    He was the only one to aggressively carry the fight to the so-called BLP economic gurus and managed to convince the fickle electorate the DLP had within its ragtag team enough economic management skills to resolve the problems.

Why therefore was this make-believe maverick dressed up as rag dool for a poodle not put in a position or assigned a Ministry where he could make a real difference to the policy inputs and decision-making outcomes affecting the national economy?
    Why was he overlooked (again) and a consummate idiot and pathological liar chosen over him?
    David is a political lightweight of a boy without real ‘balls’ and not a goliath unless he is playing with political toy guns like a petulant child deprived of his place in a game of musical chairs.

40. Reading the tea leaves, whatever happens from here the very confidence which the Prime Minister asked the Barbados Chamber of Commerce on Friday to demonstrate and to the other private sector organizations, Estwick’s outburst however you spin it does not help matters. This is a simple and commonsense translation.

41. negro: david (not BU) u got a problem wid what de dr say ,,then go seek psychological treatment,,,, uh rantings and ravings don’t impress me… and stop waiting and looking fuh ESTWICK to help rebuild the BLP ramshackle fowl coop….

42. Miller……..you also are not getting it, neither is David and most people on the island…………….the black politicians in Barbados are no longer managing the island, those who pay millions in bribes are now in full control, unfortunately Estwick does not have the fortitude testicular or otherwise to open his mouth.

43. wuh dam miller u really got some nerve to use the term “intestinal fortitude” to whiplash ESTWICk. .well please… what about your leader on the scale of 1-10 how does she rates ..in that category,,,,,,well maybe on gimmickry she is above passing grade,,wuh uh say brother,,,,

44. Mark fenty
    “…At least we have man with enough intesticular- fortitude, who is willing to lay before the collective ears of the Barbadian electorate, a plan to get us out of this economic cesspool….”

So what the DLP, as a party, has laid out is the WRONG plan then? Wuh I neva….

45. Black History month is an American thing know?

46. Smooth Chocolate Avatar

@Clone | February 1, 2014 at 11:12 PM |

“… because there is plenty infighting as neither the former leader nor George Payne has spoken…”

who gives a rat’s ass if Owen Arthur and George Payne ever speaks? they had their time, they should know when it is time step down, especially George Payne

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ac | February 2, 2014 at 10:17 AM |

Who or what is my “leader”?
    Unlike you, ac the chief of the yard-fowl brigade running away from a blind rat chased by a bald-pooch black cat, the miller has no leader unless it is real hairy cat that cries when stroked.
    If you are referring to MIA she certainly can’t be any worse of a failure than the totally blind man chasing after a black cat in a dark room.
    And she certainly has more ‘balls’ than the castrated pit bull who like the smartass boy keeps shouting wolf with his empty threats of running away from home.

So who would you follow to ‘lead’ you? A lying blind man or a castrated dumb boy or a woman with real balls to rise to the occasion even she has to get kicked in them now and then?

48. They are both approaching 70, both are irrelevant.