Dr. David Estwick, a key performer on the campaign platform for the DLP

The political temperature is rising in Barbados about one year after the last general election was held. At a time when Barbadians would have wanted the political directorate to seek solace in the attribute Barbados is well known – a politically stable country – we have Minister David Estwick adding unwanted political diatribe to the debate. This is how it appears so far anyway.

If Barbadians are expected to entertain the huffing and puffing from Estwick for what seems to be the umpteenth time, BU hopes he addresses the following at his constituency branch meeting tomorrow. BU understands the Barbados government has made a deal with a company to restart the Four Seasons project.  The terms of the deal from a source states that JADA will be the exclusive contractor. From all reports JADA is alleged to be in the process of forming a number of small companies to distribute the work to respond to the public outcry which is bound to come a la Coverly Housing project.

The other matter we want Estwick to clarify is the suggestion he is being pressured by a member of the deep pocket class to back off. In fact we understand he is being offered millions of dollars. Is this true Minister David Estwick?

Barbados needs to get its act together.

290 responses to “Time to Put Up or Shut up Minister Estwick”

1. Eastwick should do just what he is doing “shut up” but certainly not consider crossing the floor into loving arms of all the BLP crooks. Where there is smoke, there is fire. Smoke is visible at the BLP house from a far distance but closer up genuine fire (s).

2. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ LOOK | February 2, 2014 at 10:38 AM |
    “Where there is smoke, there is fire. Smoke is visible at the BLP house from a far distance but closer up genuine fire (s).”

So what would you call the ‘black’ stuff coming from the chimney at the Four Seasons rusting iron house?

Which foreign investor would take up hundreds of thousands of pounds or dollars and put in the hands of another set of crooks living in a place that had its heyday in the setting Sun of Bim with possible social dislocation on the horizon and where the law enforcement authorities would not be able to differentiate one white villa owner from the local black ones.

If jada can offload the remaining ovens at Coverley either to foreign owners or to some of the 6,000 to be fired from the public sector then they can think of convincing British investors like David Ames not to be twice bitten and thrice shy in snapping up the villas with full payment up front.

3. Sunshine Sunny Shine Avatar

When I heard the insensitive remark made by the PM that he is not concern about numbers but meeting targets…this is what i actually said. “Wuh Gaw blind he…what kind of insensitive johnny is this man who always talking about his poor humble beginnings and the pride he feels to be elevated to the seat of Prime-minister. Wuh he cud only be a johnny to say such an insensitive thing in the midst of the pain that people who receive termination letters are feeling. I hate the fucking BLP but when this SOB could be so insensitive I more now believe ever than before what those crooked sons of bitches over there in the BLP camp was saying than I believe these stinking lying stone face vagabonds who do not gives a rats ass about the people they hurting, .

4. Barnabas Collins Avatar

People are going home with monotonous regularity and we are here arguing who are crooks and liars. POLITICIANS = crooks and liars. So knowing that where are we going from here. Anyone with any analytical brain matter can deduce that 3,000 public sector workers cannot be a number can take us out of our problems. Basically, their collective compensation is not enough to close the fiscal deficit therefore, there has to be more than a) 3,000 workers going home and b) other austerity measures coming.No political party or politician can take any moral high ground on this issue. We have enough blame to pass around. The BLP never restructured the economy after the Sandiford debacle in 1991 and the DLP came to power and right away became the island’s Santa Claus…My question to you goodly folk is what’s next. Do we throw our hands in the air or do we find a way out of this malaise. There is an old Indian saying ” when you find yourself in a hole the first thing to do is stop digging”. I can bet that most of the commentators here are not directly affected by these layoffs so we can write as much crap as we want. I am very concern with the combative language coming from our politicians and their pigheadedness. Right now their only concern is preserving their pensions while ensuring that ours maybe or may not be there when we get to that stage. So there, stop this picking at each other for the sake of a political party and let’s see how we can use our collective brains to come up with a solution that will serve us way in the future. We have to use the free education now to help our nation. “Ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience but where he stands in times of challenge and controversy”….MLK

5. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Sunshine Sunny Shine | February 2, 2014 at 11:09 AM |

Now that is what you would call a good piece of Bajan cussing or “bewseing”!

It definitely sums up the man and the current party he leads. Poor EWB, what have these people done to your memory? Even Sleepy must be cussing them too.
    But you guys were told from the outset what manner of man you were promoting as Mr. Integrity. The true giant of lies hypocrisy an insensitivity has awaken and stalks the corridors of social collapse.

6. @Barnabas Collins

The BLP never restructured the economy after the Sandiford debacle in 1991

They didn’t or what they tried never worked?

7. David…What help is Black(whatever that is) History month to Barbados especially in these uncertain times,which were partially created by individuals who presumably call themselves Black?

8. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Barnabas Collins | February 2, 2014 at 11:16 AM |
    “So there, stop this picking at each other for the sake of a political party and let’s see how we can use our collective brains to come up with a solution that will serve us way in the future. We have to use the free education now to help our nation. “Ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort and convenience but where he stands in times of challenge and controversy”….MLK”

So why don’t you leave your coffin of immortal slumber of idealism and get things rolling for a programme of change?

What would you suggest be done to bring about change? Specific workable proposals, please, and not bullshit talk that only a vampire can take in.

Here are some of mine for starters:

Clean up the place especially Bridgetown.

Turn the overgrown cane fields into hemp fields and let the thousands to be sent home take the PM’s advice and return thereto.
    Get some of the educated skilled but unemployed young people look outward and seek to migrate to potentially greener pastures. What about looking towards East to their Motherland and at Ghana in particular where there would not be such a cultural shock in the waiting?

Get rid of the irrelevant Senate and move away from the Westminster system which the liars you euphemistically call politicians are making a mockery of and turning into a circus for conducting monkey business by men dressed up in ill-fitting hot smelly suits who see politics as the easiest way to get rich at the poor taxpayers’ expense instead of a morally-prepared calling to help their fellow man.

9. @Vincent

We love ceremonial.

10. DLP (formerly CBC) TV Avatar
    DLP (formerly CBC) TV

I don’t know what Yuh all wasting your time for!!!!!! Estwick (aka Quick Draw McGraw) doing what he does best i.e. doing a whole lot of barking and blasting a whole lot of hot air. No doubt some thing behind the scenes in the DEM camp irritated him and probably he is just plain tired that some one with his “intellectual capacity” in charge of a “minor” ministry and can’t contribute meaningfully to the state of affairs the DEMs have this country in. He is the equivalent of a big baby crying to get attention and probably HOPING to get a different more “important” ministry. All it doing is distracting Barbados from the incompetence of this govt and specifically how woeful the govt and the trade unions are going about the retrenchment of 3000 temp workers.
    Really and truly Barbados just don’t care no more !!!!!!!! I hope the DEMs got a stockpile of weapons of mass distraction to last 4 years. The electorate just grinning and bearing it til whenever elections call again because I guarantee this DEM gov’t will get toss out harder than the SSA does toss garbage. Since the DEM yard fowl brigade on this blog ain’t got nothing to do, Valentine’s Day coming up, buy wunna buddy Estwick a box of chocolates and a bunch of roses, make him fell loved, other than that tell him to keep his barking volume down to the minimum for the time being.

11. The black men and women who are supposed to be the current leaders of Barbados, from both the DLP and BLP are not the ones managing the country, one needs to look no further than to the businessmen and women to whom they take bribes to learn who the current leaders in Barbados really are……….

ac is just microscopic DLP crab lice posing as a yardfowl.

12. How does one call themselves black……..would sumbody explain …..the black History month was created as a connection helping to build a bridge extending long enought to reach not only blacks but people of all races through in the meantime trying to rebuild a divided and separated black race oblivious of their history and culture.

13. Barnabas Collins Avatar

@millertheanunnaki
    I am sorry if I offended you but all I can say to you now is would you like an architect to give you brain surgery….Stupse….I am a professional vampire but I am not an economist. I want to see leadership on this issue from any quarter. You can cuss me all you want but there in lies our problems. We cuss each other to no avail. Since you know what I am saying is BS, instead of using your obvious large brain to waste time cussing a vampire, spend it brainstorming with your other colleagues to find a solution instead of wasting with me….So there I look forward to some brilliant stuff from you that I cannot offer millertheanunnaki….

14. how can one suggest that a month reserved to BE inclusive in recognition of BLACK HISTORY be one regulated as ceremonial pretense would the constant reminderes of the Jewish halocust be placed in the same category…..Unbelievable

15. David
    How can Owen Arthur be irrelevant when the money class want him back as leader. He cannot be irrelevant when three quarters of the BLP supporters on this blog want him back as leader

16. @Clone

The electorate spoke last election, Arthur is done.

17. It is just around 2pm and a large crowd has begun to gather at the Princess Margaret School in St. Philip.
    The crowd is filled with expectation as Dr. David Estwick is about to deliver a speech of epic proportions.
    I am not surprised to see among the early gatherers Prodigal Son and the Miller !
    They are hoping that the Doc will act or say something to boost the flagging fortunes of their beloved BLP !

18. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Barnabas Collins | February 2, 2014 at 12:16 PM |

Young Barnabas, the old miller is not “cussing” you; only asking the young well-educated (at taxpayers’ expense) University graduates like yourself to put some proposals on the table instead of just identifying and highlighting the problems known to everyone. Or are you also plagued with the “implementation deficit disorder of young ‘mis-educated’ Bajans?

Now, don’t you go cussing the miller describing him of being envious of your education because you, my little blood-liking friend, cannot even tie the latchets of the old miller’s shoes when it comes to what you naively refer to as “education”.

Now to the germane issue at hand.
    This is your world and your future, not mine.
    If a dye-in-the-wool fogey like the miller can come up suggestions, proposals and alternatives (even controversial) to the status quo why can’t a young vampire who never sleeps on the intellectual job do likewise instead of defending Bajan trait of “talkism” and hiding behind your partisan political façade?

19. Barnabas Collins Avatar
    Barnabas Collins

@millertheanunnaki…noted…we can move on!! BTW I am a bajan and can be accused of talkism but partisan I am not….I bite anyone….:)

20. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Barnabas Collins | February 2, 2014 at 2:44 PM |

We are still ‘biting at the bit’ to see at least one proposal from you as a probable solution to any of Bim’s current economic problems.

Here is another proposal. What about stopping the importation of vehicles in excess of 1,800 c.c’s for private use?

Come on, Vampire at least that would save a few of the fast disappaering forex dollars.
    Now where in little 2×3 Bim can you really drive such high-powered vehicles for sport to make yourself look better off than the other negroes bathing in the sun?

21. David | February 2, 2014 at 12:59 PM |

@Clone

The electorate spoke last election, Arthur is done.

Sorry David, it was money and deception that spoke.

22. Barnabas Collins Avatar
    Barnabas Collins

@millertheanunnaki

Here goes: We can stop exporting our sugar to the EU especially when we don’t ever make the quota. That would reduce our import bill slightly.

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Barnabas Collins | February 2, 2014 at 4:46 PM |

We will not describe your proposal as ‘nonsense’ but will only ask how ‘the import bill would be reduced slightly’.

If you are suggesting whatever is produced locally would be consumed locally instead of imports from Guyana and other places then that would not make much economic sense.

In such a scenario there will be no forex inflows from the quota the EU offers but certainly some loss of forex (outflows) to pay for the many high cost inputs vis-à-vis the cultivation and manufacturing processes involved in the sugar industry.

Why not adhere to basic micro-economics principles and strive to increase output of sugar production to 75,000 tons or above to drive down the unit cost of production?
    In that case sufficient sugar would be produced to meet the export quota (earn forex), meet local demand for bulk sugar and increase molasses output for the rum industry (save forex).
    On the molasses score, you can then brand and market your rums as genuine “Bajan Rum made in Barbados instead of rums of Barbados made from imported molasses.

Anything other than a significant increase in more efficient sugar cane cultivation and output from the current under 20,000 tons level can only spell the end of the local industry when you B C can then shout King Sugar is dead, long live the King that made Bim.

24. How are we discussing increasing the raw sugar output yet the sugar project with the Japanese which Estwick sounded off about on the campaign trail seems to be shelved.

25. Ruffin said:
    “Kirk Edwards was replaced by the unknown Kevin Stoute but the team player he is he hasn’t pouted picked up his marbles and run away. That’s what being a man is about. Sticking it out with your team in good times and tough times.”
    Item #1 – SNI’s Latest @ 05:30 p.m.
    “Kirk Edwards being sent home…allegedly for not having his “clothes to represent Barbados”
    Item #2 – SNI’s Latest @ 05:30 p.m.
    Joint St Phillip meeting cancelled

26. Looks like Estwick has keeled to the pressure yet again. Dr Estwick you need to stop and let your cabinet get on with it. The country doesn’t need it.

27. Dennis Johnson “Kirk Edwards being sent home…allegedly for not having his “clothes to represent Barbados”

Could he not have had his clothes sent by Fedex?

oops!!!! uh fuget um is de Caribbean so dah wud be a problem.

28. @Hants

Why should a professional WI player forget his strip? Something is rotten in Denmark.

29. David. Was it stopped by David or the party’s hierarchy.

30. @Tell Me Why

We can only speculate that Estwick has toed the party line.

31. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ David | February 2, 2014 at 5:51 PM |

‘David’ needs to behave like a man of ‘principles’ as he claims to be and resign from the Cabinet or be fired; if the PM would ever get around to such a decision.

32. @Miller

To expect Stuart to fire Estwick is to exhibit a political naïveté not normally associated with you sir.

33. I have a strong feeling that it was stopped from the top. Probably, Lashley and Brathwaithe refused to be caught up with Estwick charade and refused to be part of the meeting. However, I feel that David will have to make a statement why two meetings were cancelled. I a sneaky feeling that a bombshell will come tomorrow. It will be do or die.

34. David wrote “Why should a professional WI player forget his strip?”

He is human.

Doesn’t matter anyway because West Indies cricket sucks at every level.

35. @Hants

Yes he is human but there is a price to be paid when one messes up.

36. Tell me Why wrote “I a sneaky feeling that a bombshell will come tomorrow. It will be do or die.”

There can be no bombshell. The BU political analysts know they are only a few things that can happen including……

He resigns and quits politics.

He stays in the house as an “Independent”

He crosses the floor.

He calls a press conference and entertains us.

37. THE ANSWER IS E -ALL OF THE ABOVE

38. I believe he will become an independent. In this way he will be able to criticize both camps.

39. @ Georgie Porgie

HOPE ALL IS WELL WITH YOU.

40. Tell me Why wrote “I believe he will become an independent.”

He will probably end up in political no man’s land.

41. Is the politics on hold for now? Its Superbowl Sunday and the Party is just about to start at mi hacienda. Seattle all the way for no other reason that I‘ve been to Seattle, never visited Denver.

42. RE Hants | February 2, 2014 at 6:48 PM |
    @ Georgie Porgie

HOPE ALL IS WELL WITH YOU.

THANKS FOR ASKING HANTS
    IM COOL
    HERE ENDURING THE AMERICAN NIGHTMARE

43. Sargeant, thought you would be backing the Black quarterback.

44. @ Georgie Porgie,

AT LEAST YOU ARE ENJOYING GOOD WEATHER.

WE UP HERE DEALING WITH -15C–30C, ICE, SNOW AND WIND CHILL FACTORS.

45. Denver Broncos offensive tackle Orlando Franklyn is from Toronto.

46. David

That goes without saying

47. Barking done yet???