Submitted by Chuckles

I would like to divert a bit and ask you [Caswell Franklyn] to make your services available to the BSTU/Mary Redman. What is this woman doing to the school children at the Alexandra School?
I was a member of the BWU for about 18 months before I left these shores to take up employment overseas. The first thing the Late Sir Frank Walcott told a group of new members of which I was one, was that the Union doesn’t go on strike until it gets public sympathy and support. Where did this woman do her trade-unionism training? A few weeks ago she was all over the news media trying to defend the indefensible i.e a teacher submitting SBA studies late to the CXC resulting in all the students failing the subject. Today teachers at the institution wouldn’t be in the classroom due to a dispute between her union members and the principal. The biggest Trade Union, NUPW isn’t backing her and from all reports the BUT members not losing a day’s pay over a non-issue.

482 responses to “Alexandra School Dispute – Who Shall Lead The Children?”
@Blogger 2012
Exactly my thoughts.I have researched it and found no HT can hire teachers or other personnel.To the best of my information he doesn’t pay them.So what exactly are they talking about when they say the AX HT “Hired” all these people?
Has anybody considered the cost in inefficiencies,opportunity cost and education loss cost that has being occasioned to the Alexander School’s teachers and students over the last 6 years?
Has anybody stop to consider the future losscost to everybody.. if ( god forbids)…things remain the same..?
Believe me, it will only be AFTER Tuesday, when the BSTU calls out the teachers from other secondary school ..that those commentators , parents and educators ..will sit up a take note…when their children’s education start being affected.
Ministry of Education…come on you have got to act this time around when you sit with Mr. Broomes.(offer him a super package)………Just don’t allow him back into St. Peter to cause further torment…6 years is enough…sweeping this issue once more under the carpet will only postpone the solution.
How do you all think this looks regionally, internationally. that the Ministry of Education of Barbados is finding it so hard to make an inevitable solution .
Please..Give the man his retirement package that he can go and be with his beloved gran daughter.
@John Brown
What matters here is that we have had an impasse at the school for the last 6 years.
Interestingly it started under the BLP and has festered and simmered under the DLP because of a lack of leadership.
Leave out the political BS especially with children involved.
REPLY>>> DAVID quote ” Leave out political Bs especially with children involved.”
Where are you from..? Venus ..This whole thing is about politics.Do you know how things run in Bdos.?
I know you just playing devils advocate..anyway..You should stop trying to mislead people….buy a snowcone.
@Keith Howard
While the thing is about politics continuing down the same line will not solve the problem because we now see where politics has left us. Do you grasp the point? It is about a mindset change, are we capable you think?
@Random Thoughts, you are certainly ranting. In stating that these women are “menopausal or post-menopausal” I am just trying to marry their reactions to this situation with their emotions. But whatever, they are old they have spent their time in the teaching system, let them go to @#@# long home. They are many people of their are some older some younger who want to work who love their jobs let them come and work and send these women home. Obviously they have bee working at less than the required standard please let them go and sit at home knitting cause no one would hire them at that age anyway
@PRETTY BLUE EYES
Do you know that experience is the best teacher of all?
Do you think we can afford to dump our experienced teachers?
Your comment is out of touch with current reality where experienced teachers have been exiting the service.
May Day! May Day! Have you heard what has been happening since the Barbados Today issues werre published? All yesterday the withdrawals from and the apologies for the were flying about. These were the big issues against Mr. Broomes but watch for the denials and the corrections to come this week. The BSTU is in shambles even to the point of cursiong their own members who chose not to support them but to remain at school and work the Principal. This is now really shameful. Let me share pieces of one of the two emails that I was able to read. “I have asked that the inaccuracy of my being anything less than 100 percebnt in support of your hiring as an English teacher and being in very impressed with your letter of application, references and testimonials and with your acquittal of yourself at the interview be made clear.”
It goes on to say “I do hope you believe that it was indeed human error with no malice or intention to besmirch you whatsoever.” Wow! Sounds like this teacher is scared and the mudslinging has now gone too far. But I also thought that I read that Mr. Broomes hired people without their involvement? Does not now sound so to me!
You wonder who sent that email? The articulate and outspoken Mr. Leslie Lett who although being the very best classroom teacher I had at Ax is now allowing himself to be led by someone who fighting for personal glory. As such his character is now being clouded with vindictiveness and dishonesty.
Mr. Broomes, I continue to support you and to ask you to stay focussed on helping my school and the children..Per Ardua Ad Astra!
@Wiser Now
So we have a victory for Broomes as you say but is the problem at AX solved?
Dear Wiser Now
HUSH…do….the higher the monkey climbs the more ee shows his tail.
Signed
JB…..
Quoting Pretty Blue Eyes “you are certainly ranting. In stating that these women are “menopausal or post-menopausal” I am just trying to marry their reactions to this situation with their emotions. But whatever, they are old they have spent their time in the teaching system, let them go to @#@# long home. ”
Jeff and most of these teachers are mostly 55+
The retirement age in Barbados is 67
Do you think that it is in the best interest of the taxpayers to pay pensions to healthy 55 year olds who are willing abd able to work?
Do you think that tax money grows on trees?
If you are female and if you are in good health you will be eventually become menopausal, and if you take care of yourself post-menopausal (as your mother and grandmother currently are) so isn’t it silly to insult someone on the basis of their age or menopause status when none of us want to die young. On the contrary we all want to get to healthy old age.
If you are going to defend Jeff, the least you can do is to bring REASONABLE arguments to the blog.
It does Jeff no good to have unreasonable, semi-literate people acting as his defenders.
@Random
Bear in mind the teaching service is currently experiencing an exodus of teachers.
It does Jeff no good to have unreasonable, semi-literate, sexist, ageist, rude, people acting as his defenders.
Jeff really ought to ask Pretty Blue Eyes to desist.
TO MOST AND SUNDRY.
I din know Bdo’s has so many sh*te talkers doa..
I taut i did the only one… Fa REAL doa….UNCLE JEFF..
one way or D odder……you gots to learn to treat others with RESPECT..that’s what it boils down to…ALL OF US KNOW IT
what we hear was going on at Alexander School. is just down right DISRESPECTFUL…
HOW WOULD YOU FEEL IF SOME MAN ..TREATED YOUR DAUGHTER..OR LATER GRAN DAUGHTER SO ?
HONESTLY TELL US..,,now you get it(hopefully)..
The solution to this issue has to be bigger and better that any of the parties to the current dispute.
In thirty years time Jeff, Mary, the Minister and many of the parties to the current dispute will be dying or dead of natural old age. Alexandra school will still exist, as it has existed for more than 100 years.
We need a solution which is so good that it will outlive all of us.
In this whole matter, the bushman is most disappointed that you have been so far unable to get off the fence.
Have you read the verbatim comments that Mr Broomes made at the speech day???
Those are the comments of a determined, committed and fearless Principal of the Charlie Pilgrim and the ‘Tank’ vintage.
The PROBLEM is the situation where some retarded old bat of a teacher can decide not to do the job for which she is paid and not have her ass fired post haste.
The difference between Mr Broomes therefore and other senior persons in government employ is that he seems to ACTUALLY CARE about productivity and is prepared to stand up for principle.
But…
He can’t fire the lazy buggers.
He can’t dock their pay
He can’t cut their asses
What do you want him to do about the lazy “so and so”‘s?
He draws it to the attention of parents, government and the public – and what do we get? Some highly strung, emotional, unstable woman takes offence to a principal complaining about a lazy nonproductive member of her union.
Has she no shame? Do they deny the fact that the teacher refused to teach the class?
What do you think Broomes should do….beg her to ‘please do the job’ for which she Is being paid?
@ David do not follow the foolish women on this issue hear? From the days of Adam, lwomen have been talking shite and frigging up the world….and it is even worse with those women who don’t have a real man to keep them occupied….
Final proof that Mr Broomes is on good ground comes from the fact that BU’s ac is against him…… AC has been wrong on every issue she has supported since Bushie was keeping track…..LOL
Viva Jeff Broomes….
@Bush Tea
What matters it whatever the decisions taken the school cannot function.
At this point despite the leader you have made Broomes to be, the school has become mired in this controversy for several years now.
Who is the winner and who is the loser?
I must admit that I know nothing about Jeff Broomes, however just about everytime i’m in Barbados there is a controversy involving the man.
It seems to me that the last thing Jeff Broomes wants to be is a headmaster!
Sometime ago I remember a controversy involving conflicts between Mr. Broomes’s responsibilities as a headmaster versus those of the manager of a cricket team!
In addition the man is always on CBC-TV taking about his daughter and granddaughter among other topics.
And where is the ministry among all of this….
Why does the ministry allow the students of the school to be held hostage to this long running nonsense.
Could it be because the education minister is too busy trying to be a soccer/football administrator to know what the hell is going on……
and how does the PM feel about all of this…..he must be having another party at his residence!!!!!
So David you are voting for peace at all cost?
If a man tries to stand up for principle in a corrupted environment what the hell would you expect? Peace and safety??
The ONLY WAY to achieve results in an environment of laziness and inefficiency is for there to be some kind of revolution…. Why do you think that Jesus said “… I am not come to bring peace, but a sword…”. You don’t see that all the establishment wanted his behind too…
To achieve your end, Broomes would have to do what all the other Principals do…. Hide up the inefficiencies, praise the lazy worthless teachers, and blame the children – especially the boys, for everything that is wrong with education…..AND WE ALL KNOW HOW MUCH IS WRONG THERE…
Wanna people does really make a bushman laugh out loudly… One minute we cussing Stuart because he is a peace maker who goes out of his way to avoid making enemies…. He too soft and he should fire this body and cuss the next body….
…Next minute we now cussing Broomes because he too tough – he dare to chastise a teacher who should not only be fired, but probably charged for fraud….
…..all o’ wanna sick….Bushie going back in the bush….
@Observer
The High Court ordered tha the person full pay be restored and that has been done. That is what i am speaking about. Challenge me on that. He has not retuned to work, but is receiving the salary of DP.
@Chuckles
Safe trip and find some way of blogging yah hear.
An exodus of teachers to where?:
@BT
Simply don’t know enough about the gentlman to hold a position.
@Blogger2012
To retirement whether due or early.
@observer
by the way the govt is paying twp deputies
@bushie
Five hundred teachers and counting including myself can’t be all that wrong , Finally you have revealed your chauvinistic side with those endearing adjectives name calling of women. Hey we get it not surprising coming from you. As for your friend and tyrant Mr. Broomes he is a wolf in sheep’s clothing. and the sooner he is shown the door the better it is for the school and children. BTW maybe you can apply for his job after he is dismissed. Ten years of tyranny must cease immediately.
Don’t come with that one David, we all done know that you know everything… LoL
What is to know!?
I thought that the man stole some of the school’s money, or that he beat one of the students bad bad, or maybe that he threatened ms. Redman with a gun or something….. Stupssss
When you hear all kinds of stupid charges being bandied about you can deduce a lot…Since when does one have to be an angle to be a Principal? Almost every one of Bushie’s most impactful teachers was rumored to fire a grog from time to time….And don’t talk about speaking their mind in public….
Bushie surprised that one of the teachers ain’t accuse Broomes yet of claiming to be king of the Jews….
Bushie knows EXACTLY what Ms Redman and all of those striking teachers need ….
@ Blogger 2012.
come on man ! You are raising a DIFFERENT issue. You have not refuted the FACT that the cases were lost at BOTH COURTS. I am not in the business of issuing challenges; ONE DOES NOT CHALLENGE THE FACTS. What has really happened is that you misled the readers and are now trying to raise another issue in TRYING to redeem yourself. STICK TO THE FACTS and you will have no problems in the future.
I am however disappointed in your attitude since the manner of your “challenge” suggests that you WILLFULLY tried to mislead. That is to be regretted.
@Bushie
bushie going back in the bush Good! btw take broomes along wid you.Two of you would make a great couple!
But wait – Bushie who is always on BU spouting cooperative principles and talking about one man one vote is prepared to take the word of one man at face value and ignore the protests of 30 others that work with him including his co-managers, sorry his underlings.
I guess Bushie will argue that one man one vote means exactly that – sorry ladies. Better check the fine print on Bushie’s new governance model for Barbados.
The lack of support or even a comment from ANY other labour union is telling in this situation. BSTU needs to decide whether it’s fighting the speech day comments, or other (historical) battles. They also need to show how Broomes has contravened any resolutions decided on from past meetings between them, him and the MEHRD. It would be nice too to have some published documented evidence of any or all of the above.
Pray tell what will they do when they cannot get public, CTUSAB or teacher support as a result of a poor PR and communication campaign buttressed by flawed procedural actions and emotive decisions?
BushTea wrote “From the days of Adam, lwomen have been talking shite and frigging up the world”.
I thought you were more “enlightened” than that especially as it relates to Bajans.
Years ago my favourite Bajan author referred to the “Harrison College Mafia” as power brokers in Barbados.
Since then other Mafiosi have been encroaching on their turf.
CP then Cawmere then Foundation.
Seems Broomes will have some useful connections as a member of the CP Mafia. First there is the Owen the Cappo, Buff in the Labour Department and many others.
There is one thing about Barbados that still surprises me.
How could a country with so many University educated people have such difficulty solving problems?
6 years of conflict at Alexandra with no end in sight.
Will the problems at the Warrens roundabout also take six years to solve?
@Observing
BSTU should not have to rely on ‘PR’ to deal with this matter. Redman and her faithful are on record confirming that the MOE and CPO have documentary evidence of all grievances over the years. We all know CTUSAB is a politcally contrived model which should not subrogate the autonomy of BSTU.
“From the days of Adam, lwomen have been talking shite and frigging up the world….and it is even worse with those women who don’t have a real man to keep them occupied….”
BUSHY ASSTEA…..It is obvious that you have a deep seated dislike for women and that you ent MAN enough to keep dem occupied.
I am very disappointed with you BT you got me really disappointed. I held you up to a higher standard than that before this comment. You are like many Barbadian males …you all have a deep hatred for your women and it is exhibited in the manner you treat and refer to them. SHAME ON YOU!
DONT allyuh realise that this problem is being fuelled by a sustained level of spit emanating from foolish fools fishing for foolishness to fight a fit and proper man like Mr. Jefff Broomes?????
HAS no one told them that they cant touch Broomes with a ten foot long pole???
In as much as this it is going to be unrealistic to expect parents to be on the side of the teachers afterall the child’s and parents lives are being impacted negativelyby this ongoing saga.. However equally true it would be unrealistic to asked both teachers and children to work in an hositle enviroment which is counter productive to positive learning .
@Observer
Refute the fact that the court ordered that his salary be fully restored. Personnel Administration issued the letter interdicting him, and it is the only that body can issue the letter for him to return to work. If there was a case why is he receiving full pay for doing nothing? I alwayys write of what i know about
First Imust say I will miss Chuckles from the forum. I enjoyed your commentry, imbued with common sense. I wonder if all these bloggers read “wiser now” last blogg, or are they only interested in the commentaries cursing Mr. Broomes and not the ones stating facts. Leslie Lett, the mugguffy who so articulately spoke of an incident re the hiring of an English teacher is now calling about apologizing that he made a mistake, that the paper didn”t print what he said. lord have mercy! Shame on you Mr. Lett, you hadto go to such lengths to to tell lies in Mr. Broomes just to make your point. Shame on you! I have lost all respect for you. When you could let a jackass like Mary Redman put you up to something like that. You are the lowest of the low. This situation has brought back memories of Jim Jones, leading 30 ass—– to the slaughter. I am indeed watching the outcome. you 30 have declared your hands, “we cannot work with Mr. Broomes” I hope the ministry is taking note. It cannot be business as usual at Alexandra.
30 sheep to the slaughter!
Bush Tea has always let his chauvinistic feelings show this is not the first time and it certainly won;t be the last. He is one of the many men who sees women as a threat to their manhood not surprising that he agrees with Mr, Broomes and the verbal treatment administered to the female staff. Leave it Bush Tea the only role women would have in society would be that of being “barefoot and pregnant”
maybe Prime Minister Stuart should let Mr. Broomes run the Ministry for him. All those wutless teachers who don’t want to work would “straighten up and fly right”
Well the law allows for some teachers to retire at 55, those who would have been appointed before a specified time, cant remeber the dat, somme can go eat 60 and henceforth. If thats theeir entitlement you cant calll it an exodus as such. By the way there are few opportunities for teachers to find employment overseas.
I am flabbergasted that there are some young teachers at Alexandra who would let some old idiots (old scholars) put them up to such wutlessness. Don’t you all have any parents who can advise you? All those misleading the youth soon going home and left you all in the Sh–. Remember you might need a favour. To whom will you turn? You all might just remain “privates” in the system. You have big heads on your bodies, think!
Don”t pick up fire rage.
I am happy that the parents are looking out for the their children’s interest. Miss Redman boasts of a heaklthy strike fund, hope all get use up and the ministry does not back down from docking the teacher’s pay.
AC
If you and Islandgal only just realize that the Bushman is a male chuvanist pig it only goes to reinforce Bushie’s point about your propensity to be unenlightened….lol
What? Wanna thought that the Bushman was a papsy sap like Hants? You think that the bushman reach where he has by listening to advice from people like you ac??
LOL… LIKE HELL.
Bushie could not exist without the other half – the Bush Gal, and when it comes to her many areas of strength, she run things…. But when it come to being logical and practical, Bushie is the BOSS.
Wanna think it is a coincidence that the Bushies has achieved everything that most people only dream of….
Bushie respect wanna as BU family, but if wanna talking emotional shi#€ wanna talking shi#€. And if (as is typical of such emotional reactions) wanna done with Bushie because he feel that there is a role for women – which is different to a man’s role …so be it.
None of wanna can’t make BBE fire Bushie so wanna could become haters for life….
@Bushie
Dont pay ac no mind of all people, he aint no teacher. if he is a teacher he does teach poop.
Some of us are so ungrateful. i know that Mr. Broomes has helped many young people at Alexandra and it hurt to how they turned around and bite him in the ass. Ask any of them what Mr. Broomes has done to them. The answer would be that he helped me to help myself, otherwise I might still be in St. Vincent struggling or in the case of the other one, still looking for a job. I commend you for showing such gratitude! Mr. Broomes just can’t help being a good human being. Hope you all are happy with your deeds!
Leslie Lett is the worse though! A real clown. The cadet officer, Harrison College boy, shame on you. Common sense is not as common as we think after. Maybe, he should have gone to Brumley he might have had more sense
When all this is ova….Barbados Underground….this will have been the most written on controversial matter you will have blogged.( bet ya)
Jeff Broomes….so much waste of executive intercourse.. ova you nuh..
You have singly managed to tarnished the headmaster profession.. (recall up Tank Williams, Dame Elsie, Luther Thorne..all deceased) forever.
If these notable and distinguished ladies and gentlemen were alive..do you ever think we would have had this TOTAL DISRESPECT for fellow human beings (teachers) as you have managed to done, in your prowess attempt to distinguish yourself in the eyes of Barbados public ?
You have now given credence to what some so called “white Barbadian snubs” are readily awaiting to anoint onto you because of you inexcusable behavior….”.it’s a gene thing.”
Could it be true…?
Ps. I’m black as nite
Can we discuss how this matter can be resolved after running for all these years? Remember the MOE and Minister might be reading 🙂
Nonsense. Those teachers would never have challenged those Principals about a lot of these things that lie within the purview of the Principal. As for the teacher who refused to carry out instructions she would have been deemed insubordinate and put in her place. She is a subordinate.and whatever she may think of Jeff Broome she has to follow his lawyer instructions. She should not be allowed to get away with this nonsense!..
Excuse me. that should have been lawful