Submitted by Chuckles

I would like to divert a bit and ask you [Caswell Franklyn] to make your services available to the BSTU/Mary Redman. What is this woman doing to the school children at the Alexandra School?
I was a member of the BWU for about 18 months before I left these shores to take up employment overseas. The first thing the Late Sir Frank Walcott told a group of new members of which I was one, was that the Union doesn’t go on strike until it gets public sympathy and support. Where did this woman do her trade-unionism training? A few weeks ago she was all over the news media trying to defend the indefensible i.e a teacher submitting SBA studies late to the CXC resulting in all the students failing the subject. Today teachers at the institution wouldn’t be in the classroom due to a dispute between her union members and the principal. The biggest Trade Union, NUPW isn’t backing her and from all reports the BUT members not losing a day’s pay over a non-issue.

482 responses to “Alexandra School Dispute – Who Shall Lead The Children?”
Ac
You said that Mr. Broomes is a wolf in sheep’s clothing. I beg to differ: he is a wolf in wolf’s clothing. Unfortunately, the wolf has some good friends and associates who protect him when he eats the sheep at Alexandra School.
Anyone noticed the PR job in the Sunday Sun today with Broomes wflanked by former AX Kirk Edwards and Kemar Roach?
Whether you agree with the guy or not he knows how to hog the public space.
@Bush Tea
I grew up in a family of very intelligent women.
Maybe they put something in my tea that makes me respect women as intellectual equals.
Pound for pound and at the same age I have always been better at lifting big rocks though.
I bet the BushGal doesn’t read this blog. lol
David wrote “Whether you agree with the guy or not he knows how to hog the public space.”
This is 2012. The old standards gone out the window. A modern Headmaster can multi task and be a “celebrity”.
This saga will soon be dealt with. Somebody will be Trumped..
Anarchy will reign if MR. Broome is removed.! we can’t entertain this undermining of leadership. Broomes had a right to present a thorough report. He had a responsibility to the parents and children who were concerned about a teacher not teaching as instructed. That was a direliction of duty that merited dismissal. Broomes is the boss. .
@JB
The issue with Broomes and the teachers did not begin at the Speech Day.
When you are the Boss you are supposed to resolve problems.
I hope Broomes did his duty and is blameless in letting a teacher continue to be paid for not working.
What is the role of the Minister of Education? It is time for him to step in and try to bring about a resolution to the problem.
Quoting Blogger 2012 at 4:23 p.m. “By the way there are few opportunities for teachers to find employment overseas.”
Blogger either you are ignorant or you are telling delibearate lies.
http://www.nytimes.com/2009/04/07/education/07teacher.html
Report Envisions Shortage of Teachers as Retirements Escalate
http://www.nctaf.org/documents/NCTAFLearningTeams408REG2.pdf
America’s Schools Are About to Be Hit By the Largest Teacher Retirement Wave in History Are We Ready?
The BSTU should have either refer the matter to a third party or asked that it be done.
the problem with these Broomes supporters is that they just only awoke on “Speech Day’ but had their ears closed for over ten years regarding Jeff Broomes bombaustic and caustic behave, Sorry you all have a lot of catching up to do it is a sequence of many issues.
AT this point i will ignore BUSH TEA!
@david
-Public perception is 90% of the battle in politics and labour (circa PM Stuart)
– I wait with bated breath on ALL this documentary evidence that has yet to see the light of day after 3 years.
– politically contrived or not, the absence of comment from BUT or CTUSAB after three days speaks to the uncertainty of the case or the manner in which it is being handled
And since this matter began long before speech day, why in God’s name would the Dec. 12 resolutions and grievance speak solely to that issue.
Stupse I say.
Random
seems u r more irgrant than me, with unemployemnet so high and so much college graduates out of and looking for work, do u think that the powers that be would allow fx teachers to come in before locals?
@Blogger2012
and if the BSTU failed to refer the matter what should have happened?
@Observing
This is not about popularity, it is about dealing with grievances within the boundary of a protocol.
@AC
how long has mr broomes been at Alexandra?
Teacher shortage areas (U.S.A.)
http://www2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ope/pol/tsa.html
http://www2.ed.gov/about/offices/list/ope/pol/tsa.pdf (PDF)
Physics teacher shortage warning (U.K.)
http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/education/7478302.stm
Factors fuelling the looming teacher shortage (Australia)
http://media.uow.edu.au/opinions/UOW025802.html
You are correct, the issue did not begin at speech day, it began when Mr Broomes turned out to be a leader with balls enough to challenge mediocrity head on.
There are not many men like that left…
@ Hants
As Bushie said, there are not many men like that left, so don’t feel any way…. In fact many men nowadays ARE the equals of their sisters…..some are even more women than their sisters so you still good…
@ Caswell
Bushie warned you to declare a conflict of interest… Do you have any idea of how LARGE A NUMBER OF PERSONS dislike you because of your willingness to stand up for principle and rules?
Wuh Broomes is a star in comparison to you…
You of all people should understand the dilemma than someone with the balls to stand up for what THEY think Is right faces….
…but you thinking union versus management…. Still see a conflict…LOL
David, the solution is as simple as ABC… Either we are a nation of rules and regulations and where mediocrity is not acceptable, or we allow emotions to dictate industrial relations and whoa betide anyone who attempts to demonstrate the strong leadership that we all agree is strongly needed.
This is the same point Bushie made with the New CJ. Unless he is willing to stand up to some of the lazy “legalities” and suffer the fallout like Broomes (and Caswell) he will become a non entity like most of the others….and the mediocrity will continue ( but ac and Islandgal will be in high spirits…LOL)
Don’t worry come 2013 the teachers would have their chance to dock the MOE pay permanently!
Bush Tea
cuhdear it doesn’t take much to impress you nowadays! Imagine a wuss of a Principal had to wait for Speech day to complain about a teacher under his supervision. Did he expect the parents to rise up and “burn the teacher at the stake” there and then? What was the point other than to indicate his impotence or incompetence. Could you imagine Tank Williams or Major Noot whining to assembled guests at Speech Day about teachers?!!
“looka here, I is trying muh best but some of dese women teachers does gih muh gripe and I can’t do a thing! Help muh nuh!”
Sorry Bushie but Broomes ain’t cutting it in this “real man” department. If you have to complain to me about the Bushgal I dun know that she got you by the balls.
BushTea wrote. “In fact many men nowadays ARE the equals of their sisters.”
You are almost right. She is the equal of me.
Sorry to disappoint you Bushie but Hants will continue to treat women with respect even if you continue to cast aspersions on my persuasion.
It appears that MOE Jones has lost his BALLS / marbles. WHERE IS THE LEADERSHIP? This long drawn out situation is another example of the lack of leadership by the present administration.
I think that to save face, the matter could now be referred to an abritrator to save face that what industrial relation is about.
Temporary Worker visas (United States)http://travel.state.gov/visa/temp/types/types_1271.html
H-1B Persons in Specialty Occupation which requires the theoretical and practical application of a body of highly specialized knowledge requiring completion of a specific course of higher education.
If thes teachers are let go almost certainly some will migrate, and teachin the U.S. for up to 6 years on an H-1B visa.
But can we afford to lose these experienced teachers? I gather that at least 4 of them have won teacher of the year awards.
Quoting Bush Tea “Charlie Pilgrim and the ‘Tank’”
Except that wehn Colridge and Tank lived and died there wa no internet, no social media, rarely a classroom teacher with a master’s degree, so Colridge and Tank were very powerful because everybody else was virtually powerless. Some of our best and brigtest teachers can (and have) and WILL sit at home on a evening and complet and submit job applications to other jurisdictions, and apply for and receive visas, and have taught and will teach successfully for years even while the old fashioned principal is still huffing and puffing and believing that he is God.
Welcome to the 21st century Bush Tea where social media is being used to overthrow governments and armies (ask the former President of Egypt how is he feeling today) and maybe even school principals.
Welcome to the people’s power.
Man Ping,
You must know that things real hard nowadays…. Compared to the low levels of testosterone being displayed by most leaders nowadays, even the balls to be forthright at speech day needs to be applauded.
…so Bushie admits to having to scrape the bottom of the barrel…lol
As to the Bushgal having Bushie by the balls….. Why in the world would Bushie complain about that…? that woman is a genius….and trusted 110% in that department.
Ping, as man, do you realize that all the other principals have very similar situations but choose to paint a false picture and NEVER EVER provides any comprehensive performance reports on how their schools perform…. According to reports, Broomes made the statement as part of an agreement to appease angry parents.
Can you imagine a management system where the manager is responsible for discipline but needs to report an employee to someone else for discipline (someone who happens to be her husband)…. How would you have handled it…?
“This is not about popularity, it is about dealing with grievances within the boundary of a protocol.”
My point exactly. the BSTU hasn’t dealt with their grievance within the boundary of a protocol. Hence the only “leg” they have left is public perception and support. A little PR just may go a long way at damage control and getting the “Getridofbroomes” train back on track. This thing has gotten ugly fast.
@ Random
What apply for what H -1B visa what? You mekking sport or what…?
When they set foot in the USA it is then that they would see what work is….
The one who refused to teach would have been fired and shipped back to Barbados by the third day….
All the ones currently meeting with Mary would have been dismissed and shipped out by Thursday gone….
Lay off the emotional wishful thinking do…or begin your post with “Once upon a time…..”
Owen Artthur should stay out of this matter. Mr. Broomes was appointed under his watch against expert advice. I say no more on that.
Many of the teachers who went to Kentucky and New York a few years ago ran back to Barbados because the conditions did not meet expectations.
Quotng islandgal246 | January 8, 2012 at 7:01 PM “It appears that MOE Jones has lost his BALLS / marbles.”
Balls or no balls, marbles or no marbles.
As ac has pointed out the teachers and their daughters, and sisters and friends WILL dock Jonsie’s pay (permanently) come 2013.
@ Hants
“she is the equal of me”
What are you trying to say….
Are you saying that it is NOT that you are the same woman as your sister but that she is as much man as you are….?
..man we better drop this topic yuh…CAUSE ALL BUSHIE IS SAYING IS THAT MEN AND WOMEN ARE DIFFERENT- AND BT LOVES THE DIFFERENCE.
..by the way, you cannot have more respect for women than the Bushman, only as much.
@Bush Tea
Understand the thrust of your argument regarding the need for those in leadership positions to have the gumption to make the hard decisions even in the face of huge criticism. However it does not make since doing such if everything falls apart around you. Also if you are a component in a system at some point the two will have to be calibrated to achieve a semblance of efficiency.
I am just asking a few questions to get some answers
1 Did Mr. Broomes leave St Lucy Secondary as Deputy and went to St.Michaels as Deputy?
2.Why would you leave a deputy to become another deputy
3Why did he not move up as St. Michaels Principal when it became vacant?
4Did he ever applied to be Principal at Combermere after Leaving St. Michaels
Answers would show we all have flaws.
Quoting David “Many of the teachers who went to Kentucky and New York a few years ago ran back to Barbados”
Not true David. The majority stayed for the full 6 years a a good number received extensions beyond 6 years.
I cried when Elizabeth Best migrated and could no longer teach my little Johnnie. I cried when Little Susie’s table tennis teacher migrated etc. etc. etc.
If tank had roughted up a teacher the teacher would have had to spend 3 weeks in the Soriento,been lucky to find a cold water rooming house in England and a job as a bus conductor.
I can’t tell you the number of young Bajans who are teaching abroad, including teaching in Japan for god hard yen. Good jobs. Good pay. Unionized. A respected part of a team.
It is no longer 1960… What worked for Tank and Coleridge won’t work today. The world is flat. The teachers will migrate from a lousy work situation to a better one. One plane from here to the U.S. one to the West coast, one to Japan and on Friday they are teaching in Barbados and on Monday in Japan. Or in the U.K or the U.S. or Canada or Australia.
And of course in places like the U.S. expectations are made clear. Of course a principal CANNOT comment on the size of a female teacher’s botsie. He would be mad and out of a job if he did that.
The World is Flat.
Wunna could curse Mr. Broomes all wunna want. wunna opinions don’t could count. The teachers tell bare lies on Mr. Broomes but wunna aint intersted in the fact that they are calling around apologizing. wunna hate Mr. Broomes, but “can’t touch him with a ten foot pole.” The man just too bright fuh all a wunna, including Mary mary, a thorough bred ass’.
Well if the MOE of education prefer to put his heading on the chopping block to save his friend job. so be it! at least he would be seen as a “TRUE FRIEND” but in my a opinion “A FOOL” The fact of the matter The MOE know enough educated Bajans who can give him sufficient advice as to how this saga should be dealt with.Moreover The MOE should have already had a plan drawn up as to how to deal with this conflict instead of putting their loyalties to their friends and associates ahead of the well being of the children parents and teachers,The MOE has to take a substantial part of the blame for allowing this problem to become overheated and spill over in the public arena.
sorry mary mary didn’ take all 30 sheep to a friggin well
@breezing
It matters not whether Broomes is smarter than all the others.
What matters is that those with the responsibilty to resove this matter have not effectively intervened i.e. MOE and CPO.
In the end Mr Broomes will remain at AX, all those stupid teachers who allow themselves to be make to look like idiots will pay the penalty. There is no way any reconciliations can be made before these teachers go back to school, so Mary Redman is just being stupid. We talk about the problem with Mr Broomes at AX but what about Mary Redman, trying to be bumbastic with the MOE in many cases before, nothing to do with AX, ask Lodge School, ask CXC. I wonder if this woman got a husband or even a man, if she does, I guess he is either a puppy on a string (not even a grown dog) or he so much controls her that she is rebelling in this manner;either way this woman has a problem.
David, if in trying to do the right and correct thing, the result is that “everything falls around you” then you know you have a system that is ready for death.
When your doctor tells you to do the right thing – like eat healthy and exercise, and you mind ac and Islandgirl and don’t keep from the fast food places, or from in front the TV; are you saying that the doctor should stop giving that ‘foolish’ advise that causing strife…?
@Random
You are very right, this is not 1950, and people like Tank and Pilly would not be as effective as they were back then.
Have you considered that by marginalizing such people we are getting the results that we now see…
When such right minded persons were respected and revered as forceful leaders our children came out much better….
If you want to model the USA and those fellows wanna go long and see what wanna will get…
Scout shut your egoist end……I hear you lack in that dept fa real..and that is from a girl ..who can take even a door knob like urs.
So shut up before she exposes ya,,,,,,lol
sorry SCOUT it is your friend and colleague that has the problem. telling women about the size of their botsey. What kind of administrator would talk to the staff like that. Plain and simple Mr. broomes has no manners or respect for women. HE must go. Mary Redman has the bully by the Tail and she is not going to let go .The MOE has to make a decision either way the fall out would be detrimental to him. Let this be a lesson learned to politicians , Never mix business with friendship. one day it might bite you in the arss.
Wunna ain’ realize yet that Jeff Broomes is Bush Tea …?
What bully by the tail you talking about, your friend Mary Redman should stick her tall between her legs and realise she’s fighting a losing battle. The Principals also have their union and Mr Broomes is represented by the NUPW, you want to see trouble, well tell Mary Redman to keep up her stupidity and maybe so time from now she would be remembered as the person who caused a total disruption of business in this country through her lack of knowledge of union negotiations. Don’t you see NONE of the other unions are backing this foolish woman, she has a serious problem she needs to deal with, she comes over as, what the older folks used to call a “firehage”.She is just causing many parents to have a very dim view of teachers, and that is unfair. Many teachers today don’t teach their students, they teach a subject. teaching goes much deeper than teaching a subject and drawing a salary.
What bully by the tail you talking about, your friend Mary Redman should stick her tall between her legs and realise she’s fighting a losing battle. The principals too have their union and Mr Broomes is represented by the NUPW, a angry antsnest can erupt.
Keith Howard
I don’t know which dept you’re speaking about but just let me say that I don’t deal with girls so no girl could say anything about me that is true. Maybe, like what these “girls” at AX are doing to Me Broomes LIES LIES LIes.
@Blogger 2012.
I dont want to say that , like the Ethiopian eunuch, you do not understand what you read ; the fact that administration has paid or continues to pay hi his salary does NOT amount to his having won the case. I repeat..HE LOST IN THE HIGH COURT AND HE LOST AT THE COURT OF APPEAL. You should have a word with his lawyer Mr Ralph Thorne . Please do not continue to make your lack of understanding , at a time when you wish to be a credible commentator , so blatantly obvious.
BAFBFP. Tek care you don’t become BAFBU… BU David is Bushie friend yuh…
You looking to be Banned Again From BU now….?
What Bush Tea is what Jeff Broomes what??!!
Broomes OK….. But BT is taller, stronger, older, richer and MUCH more handsome ….. According to the BushGal….LOL
…and too besides, it would take a hundred Mary Redmans and more added big boxie teachers to test the Bushman….
The excerpt below comes from the Court of Appeal judgement in the Brandston Clarke. I hope that it will settle the argument.
[32] We find that the interdiction of the applicant was not subject to judicial review, and that the respondent was fully within its right to exercise the power of interdiction under regulation 27(1), since the interdiction was a preparatory step to the investigation of misconduct against the appellant.
[33] The filing of the application for judicial review challenging the appellant’s interdiction was perhaps the principal factor that contributed to the cessation of the disciplinary proceedings under the Regulations. There has been an undue delay of over three years since the date of interdiction. The appellant presently is on half-pay, unsure of his status as a public officer. However, it must be stated that in no small measure, the appellant’s recourse to legal action as a first resort contributed significantly to the present state of affairs. The Commission faithfully followed the Regulations in its interdiction of the appellant, but was prohibited from continuing its investigation of the allegations of misconduct against the appellant by his commencement of legal proceedings challenging the interdiction itself.
[34] However, in light of all the circumstances of the case, particularly the delay of over three years, which has undoubtedly caused financial hardship to the appellant, it is fair and reasonable that the appellant be paid, with all due dispatch the full amount of salary which he would have received had he not been interdicted until the disciplinary or other proceedings (if any) against him are completed.
Disposal
[35] In the result, the appeal is dismissed and the Court orders as follows:
(1) that the respondent pay the appellant the full amount of the salary which he would have received if he had not been interdicted until disciplinary or other proceedings against him are completed; and
(1) that there be no order as to costs.
THANK YOU CASWELL. You may still have to explain to the goodly person what is meant when the court says that the appeal ,brought by Clarke, is DISMISSED.
@Observer
The poiny i made stand. he was interdicted abd pay was reduced and challenged and is receiving full pay for doing nothing that what he was interested in.
@obwerver
I am not smart isnt a eunuch a man?