Submitted by Chuckles
Mary Redman, BSTU President

I would like to divert a bit and ask you [Caswell Franklyn] to make your services available to the BSTU/Mary Redman. What is this woman doing to the school children at the Alexandra School?

I was a member of the BWU for about 18 months before I left these shores to take up employment overseas. The first thing the Late Sir Frank Walcott told a group of new members of which I was one, was that the Union doesn’t go on strike until it gets public sympathy and support. Where did this woman do her trade-unionism training? A few weeks ago she was all over the news media trying to defend the indefensible i.e a teacher submitting SBA studies late to the CXC resulting in all the students failing the subject. Today teachers at the institution wouldn’t be in the classroom due to a dispute between her union members and the principal. The biggest Trade Union, NUPW isn’t backing her and from all reports the BUT members not losing a day’s pay over a non-issue.

482 responses to “Alexandra School Dispute – Who Shall Lead The Children?”

1. Ideally what we should like to have happen is for the BU family to prosecute this long running matter.

The problem should be defined and causal factors.

How the problem should be solved.

It is a crying shame this matter has been allowed to fester for so long. When the situation deteriorates to a point where Principal Broomes openly criticizes members of his staff then we know the matter is close if not untenable.

2. Far too long the headmaster there has been bad mouthing his staff. Though i agree with some of his comments, the best place to discuss any problems/concerns would be at staff meetings. Mr. headmaster, you need to change your way. the ministry needs to remove him from that school for the good of the students

3. What use is the Ministry of Education if it cannot get its subordinates i.e the Principal and the teachers to do their jobs in the properly prescribed manner?

4. If I went to work somewhere and the boss and I didn’t get along I would look for another job or get a transfer. This is a power struggle from what I have seen and heard. The teachers should put the children first. If dem doan like de boss den fire de damn wuk ! Typical mentality where the unions are involved. People who are hired to do a job must do their job. Some working conditions are never ideal but if you have a job to do just do it! THERE IS NO PERFECT JOB! JUST DO IT TO THE BEST OF YOUR ABILITY! ….Stupse

5. Didn’t the Minister of Education make himself available to the parties concerned late last year as a mediator in the dispute?

What does this say about the influence of the ministry of education on pour system of learning?

6. I believe the Minister may be more interested in performing an exorcism than any mediation. I have heard that he fancies himself a skilled exponent of obeah. He once told a crowd at Gall Hill in St.John that he “travels” at night. That would make him a soucouyant!

see: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Soucouyant

7. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Chuckles

The problem at Alexandra school is not Mary Redman, and to some extent it is not even Jeff Broomes. Alexandra has become a hostile working environment, where teachers and other staff suffered in silence for years, with one object in mind, and that is to get on with the job of educating the nation’s children assigned to them. However, their efforts have been thwarted by the management style of the Principal, who has been able to ingratiate himself with politicians, union leaders of the major unions, and the media. (While I am writing this comment Mr. Broomes is on the CBC TV news, unless he has permission, he is in breach of the Public Service Act).
    Mr. Broomes has been able to avoid any attempt to reign him in because of those connections, while he terrorizes the staff. Some have opted to retire early rather than continue to work under those conditions.

If you are going to blame Miss Redman for anything you should blame her for the restraint she and her union have exercised in this ongoing dispute. The Jeff Broome problem should have been solved years ago by the union taking the action that they are now contemplating. The Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Education should have referred this problem to the Public Service Commission years ago but those connections that I mentioned earlier have prevented this matter from reaching a desirable conclusion. Jeff Broomes and Mary Redman are not the problem: the problem is political interference in the Public Service.

Just let me give you one example of Mr. Broomes’ reach. When I worked at NUPW, I was assigned to represent a member of staff at Alexandra. Mr. Broomes put his case against the lady to the Board. I replied by destroying all his so called evidence. When he realised that he was losing, Broomes blurted out that he was instructed by one of my senior officers how to proceed against me. Unfortunately for him, that officer was no match for me.

8. David

“Didn’t the Minister of Education make himself available to the parties concerned”

But wait the Minister din also a Head Master …Wait no, I wrong. The Minister was a teacher, so one way or the other he would have been an inappropriate choice for an arbitrator …!

9. @Caswell
    Given all that you have said, what then is (are) the solution(s)?

10. I like Pinkie. I do not like Broomes. So as far as I concerned Pinkie (Redman) is an Angel and Broomes is an Ass…

I say make Pinkie a head mistress and make Jeff Broome the next GG … he can’ cause na trouble there ..!

11. Observing

Solution: Make Pinkie Redman a Head Mistress and make Jeff Broome the next GG,.. That should keep him quiet fah awhile …!

12. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

BAFBFP | January 4, 2012 at 8:36 PM | David

“Didn’t the Minister of Education make himself available to the parties concerned”

That is one of the problems, The Minister of Education has no role in the settlement of disputes in the Public Service. What he was proposing is called political interference.

13. Down with Hitler Broomes and his union buddies. Down with Minister and his partisan ways, and the BUT too, they want to be Broomes friend so they will let him do.
    Make education a priority, remove the politics, support your Bajan teachers.
    Get motor mout Hitler Broomes out of the school. He continues to create a school full of crazy kids while we support his rants to the public, whips up partisanship as well as any lying blogster. He loudly makes public statements. And yet…he cannot fire anyone based on lies. So he has partisan cronies write letters to the editors.

But he never exercised the quiet power of discipline based on truth? Why? Because he wrong.

What an asshole. Make him a politician.

14. The teachers’ pay should be docked.

15. @Caswell

The Education Act give rise to a Board of Management for each secondary school and the chairman of the Board can sanction the activity of a principal like speaking to the press.

16. @David

Isnt this the same school where a principal named Halan King had to ctiticizes the teachers for their unprofessioanl conduct and he was greeted with the same hostility form teachers like what the current head master is experiencing? Cant teachers be criticized, not that i am saying that the HM is perfect.

Ms. Redman is fighting a losing battle and wanst to remain relevant in the public eyes. Let the teachers get on with teaching the children. The Ministry/Board should write them and telll them that they have abandonned their jobs.

17. @Blogger2012

We need if possible to understand the nature of the problem the Alexandra School.

18. no blogger 2012, it was coleridge and parry and like mr broomes, the head master there mr king played upon the emotions of the public and parents by pretending that the teachers were good for nothing and he and he alone was acting in the interest of the students. mr broome’s manner is intransigent and combative and unsuited for such a post which demands flexibilty and teamwork.

19. What I don’t quite get, is if “so many” teachers have/had issues and “questionable” incidents with Broome over the years, where’s the file/dossier/paper trail/requests for meetings/letters of complaint that should have been built up against him at the school, in the Boardroom, at the Ministry and in the Union’s office?
    Also, @ Caswell, which section of the Act would Broome have breached by reporting on arrangements at the school in light of the strike?? And I’d still like to hear suggestions for solving the impasse, given the information you shared on it earlier.

20. Bush Tea really wish that Bajans would make up their minds!

Wanna want strong leaders or wanna want softies who do nothing to offend anyone and says nothing?
    Stupssss

Imagine we gone straight from cussing the PM for being soft and accommodating to everyone to now lambasting a Headmaster for being tough and uncompromising.

Can’t please wanna at all….
    Bushie don’t know the facts, but any leader in a tough environment who don’t encounter rebels have to be in a nursery school.
    Bushie also knows what it is like to work with nuff women…..(picture working with ” ac’s and islandgals” …LOL)

Passing strange that the BSTU can’t get the ears of anyone in the know…. Like the PTA? CXC? The Ministry? The Minister? The other unions?
    …and who goes on strike before ventilating a strong case….?

Caswell your contribution is contaminated with personal bias…. Declare a conflict of interest and bow out….

BAFBFP you talking s#*| as usual….

21. If the BSTU has such a strong case that it would now attempt to close down other schools across the island why have they allowed this matter to become protracted?

22. @Bush Tea
    I have yet to hear the BSTU with a strong case on virtually anything. Even when they are “right” for some reason the argument gets muddled and it becomes near impossible to properly support their cause.

@ BAFBFP – much thanks for the solutions! Sounds like a plan.

your last point is critical. Any union that allows what they believe to be a clear cut issue to be protracted has already lost. Unions are supposed to be organisations of strong reasonable action, clarity of thought and communication and effective representation that brings solutions. Sadly the BSTU under this present leadership has been found wanting. For balance, I’m not in agreement with Broome’s style of leadership if what I’ve heard is true, but my advice to the BSTU is if ya gine go ta war, get some big guns that work, stock up on ammunition and find some allies in neighbouring territories that willing to fight for the cause. Anything less disadvantages the very people you’re trying to help.

23. Because, David, BSTU is obviously analyzing this (and other situations) emotionally. They speak in terms of ‘lack of respect’ and hurt feelings. This is not the stuff on which industrial relations can be negotiated.

24. @BT

If we can build on your last comment then what ethical basis does the union have to escalate nationwide?

As Observing has correctly stated the protracted nature of this industrial relations dispute has shit BSTU’s credibility.

25. This situation is quite disturbing, as it will definitely have a direct, negative impact on the pupils.
    I have mixed feelings about this. My first concern is with the kids, the disruption of their education & this is through no fault of theirs’.
    My heart goes out to the teachers, they believe that the situation has become so intolerable, that they no longer feel they can function in the environment. I believe they thought long & hard before coming to this decision.
    I also sympathize with Mr Brooms, as he is from the old school & like our current PM, is a dinosaur that will soon see extinction. I believe in discipline, I also believe that each & every living human being on this earth have rights. I believe that Mr Brooms (in trying to keep the old ways of discipline alive), failing to realize that in doing so, has become a dictator & bully in his own right. The days for this sort of discipline is long gone. He is in a position of authority & should behave as such. He should adapt a more professional approach in verbalizing his thoughts & fears to his staff. He is a member of the teaching profession & should not be seen/ heard trying to shoot down that very profession/ people who parents trust their children with.
    How can a teacher/ pupil go to work/ school in an environment that is not conjusive to teaching / learning? No one will be able to function, classes will go on, but the end product will be time wasted.
    This situation should have been nipped in the bud long ago & not left to fester & filter out into the general public.

I believe Mr Broomes should be removed forthwith, sent to the Ministry of Education & a new Principal appointed. I believe that the Ministry of Education should also appoint a Psychologist to work closely with the staff & pupils of that school to get things back on track. I believe that Mr Brooms should be sent on a Management course that will allow him exposure to the new principals of Management/ Conflict Resolution/ How to relate to others etc & have a councilor assigned to him too. If he refuses then he should be sent on Special Leave with the view of opting for early retirement or the sack.
    He must realize that his behavior has traumatized others & it must stop.
    Teachers in tern, must realize that they have the responsibility to assist in educating / molding this country’s future generation.
    I believe they have to accept blame too, as we all know that some behaviors on their part was not professional either.
    The Minister of Education needs to keep his political head out of the situation.& let the Permanent Secretary & the Union thrash this thing out.

It is sad, but this happens when human beings lose common respect for each other.
    Blessings.

26. There are many of our secondary school that are headed by a male but administered by females. Many years ago, there were a large amount of male teachers, the female teachersa have run them out of the system. We are now raising some soft boys or rebels, then these same women are saying men in crisis. Our male population is being disadvantaged because of the same thing that is happening at A.S.There are many female teachers and some lacky males, who just think Mr Broome should not speak to them about things he doesn’t like, he should just accept whatever they do. however, what many people is not seeing, is a school that over the last five years or so, is doing extremely well in their CXC’s and becoming well rounded students. Go ask the children at the school( they are the ones that matter most), if they would like to have Mr Broome replaced, if the answer is YES, then remove him, if the answer is NO then remove those who don’t want to conform to change. I spoke to a parent and was told, her child just ADORES Mr Broome, many of the children calls him, “Uncle Jeff.” This country is in dire need of positive role models for the youth, are we going to allow a woman with an agenda to destroy do that to a progressive school? Who matters most the teachers or the students? I’m sure those disgruntled teachers could be replaced, many of those who are supporting the BSTU are doing so under duress.

27. @Dawn
    This issue came to the fore again primarily because of “Speech Day comments” not because of daily abuse and bad management practices (which to me is the more palatable reason).

If the environment was so intolerable, why have teachers continued to work in it without consistent (and documented) complaint and agitation for over 3 years? Inaction or ineffective action over the years have placed us here. All parties have some blame to share. and by the way, I’m not sure that the BSTU is following or has followed proper grievance procedures for EACH issue that they have (had) a problem with over the years. Again, for balance, the principal is not “spotless” by any meas.

28. @ David
    What ehthical basis what? …None whatsoever. The Union so far does not even have a strong enough case to take this thing public as they have.
    As Bushie says, it is just an emotional outburst from a highly strung woman in the wrong position.

If the recent ‘case’ that she brought against CXC is any indication of the level of professionalism in that union then the main “problem” is quite clear.

A union goes on strike when fundamental rights are blatantly infringed by an employer and when that employer fails to fairly reverse the situation.

Hurt feelings based on a Principal’s speech day address does NOT qualify as a work grievance to be escalated to strike.

Those talking about the Principal being a dynasaur must surely have more facts than we do – or they may be also using the same kind of emotional analysis that Ms Redman is using….

29. They speak in terms of ‘lack of respect’ and hurt feelings. This is not the stuff on which industrial relations can be negotiated.

Exactly Bush Tea….The problem on this island is that people do not take criticism constructively, everything becomes personal.

When one goes to work one shouldn’t expect the BOSS to be your friend, your Psychologist or your Nanny. It is time the workforce grow up and do what they are paid to do. Good Work ethics is nonexistent and when many workers encounter someone with them they are up in arms. We cannot do as we like when we are working for someone else, we have to work to their standards. Sadly mediocrity is the standard of the day and anything above that is asking too much from employees.

If that recent NISE study revealed that 70% of public sector workers are dissatisfied with their jobs and only 30% are pulling their weight it is no wonder the public service is the way it is today. And not forgetting that 50% or so who have a drinking problem then we are in deep shoite! The time has come to start house cleaning and getting rid of deadweights and loafers.

30. Dawn Rollins
    The teaching profession has lost much of its morals and professionalism, students no longer respect many of the teachers because of their conduct and dress, even while at school. I see many teachers going to school not dressed in a proper manner. If this is part of the “new way” then this country is in serious problems, I see boys allowed to go to school with beard and pants below their backsides and teachers dressed the same way. When these children come into the world of work and are told to improve their dredd and deportment, they rebel because the school just taught academices but not deportment. I had a headmaster at my school and he was strict and turned out some of the best students that have made valuable contributions to this country at various levels, incedentally, Mr Broome was one of them. GOD BLESS Mr J.S. YEARWOOD. I wish they were more like him in the teaching service.

31. Scout said “There are many of our secondary school that are headed by a male but administered by females. Many years ago, there were a large amount of male teachers, the female teachersa have run them out of the system.”

Scout will you stop talking from your behind? You are quickly becoming the dumbest blogger for 2012!

32. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Observing

Please refer to paragraph 24 of the Code of Conduct and Ethics which is the Second Schedule to the Public Service Act. If you do not have one, I can make a copy available to you. You should note that the administration of secondary schools is somewhat of a hybrid situation: the ancilliary staff is emloyed by the Boards of Management, while the teachers are, for all intent and purposes, public officers.

You wound me: you really don’t know me at all. I have no conflict of interest in this matter. If you call representing a member of the union who was wrongly accused and who suffered constant victimization a conflict of interest then I am guilty. Rest assured, if I tell all that I know your hair would curl or straighten depending on your type of hair. The BSTU has been slow to act and even now they are not revealing full details because they somehow think that they have to protect the good name of the school. They have some stomach churning revelations, but I am not prepared to do their work for them.

33. @bushie

Yes we need strong leaders with good leadership skill and that principle lacks both.as is evident in the way in which he has mishandled the various issues that are weighing down the school and the children are in fact becoming the biggest losers. His strong arm tactics are not working. and his talk about his concern for the kids leaves much to be desired . If he was in the USA he would have been long kick off his high horsea long time ago and these issues would have been done and over.He fails to see that it is not about his winning but about who the losers would be in the long run that being the kids

34. The bottomline and as Caswell as alluded there is much more to this matter not making the front page.

We need to know before we can take a hard position.

35. @caswell
    if the revelations are stomach churning then in the interest of the school and children they should be revealed. somewhere somehow. Also, if the BSTU is slow to act they are not doing justice to their members and the union movement. If you’re referring to section (e) of the paragraph 24, can his comments about the school’s arrangements given the strike this morning be considered “administrative or political”?

36. islandgal 246
    Maybe because this is 2012, this time I’m in total agreement with you, today’s employee wants to turn up at work half hour late frequently and if spoken to develops an attitude. When I used to work in a large corporation in Barbados, I had to speak to a female employee who constantly arrived at work between half hour to an hour late, with the same excuse, ‘ she had to take the children to school.” i gave her an ultimatum either get some-one to take your children to school or change the school to one closet to where you live, but this lateness cannot continue; I became like Mr Broome, she tried to get the rest of the staff to go slow on the job to make me look bad, to get to school when they feel like and then transfere that same behaviour to the workplace.they all refused. I wrote a letter to my bosses next time she came late and then I followed union rules and gave her a letter, then fired her next time she came late. To this day she and her family deem me the worse person on this planet. The moral is, if I allow her to come to work at her time the rest of the staff can start doing the same thing and my hands are tied. Too many students are

37. islandgal246
    This now sounds like you A TOTAL JACKASS. Statitics will show that male teachers have declined greatly, the reason female domination of the Principals. Do your investigation, ask male teachers why they left the profession and over 75% would tell you because of the female influence on the school and its principal who have gotten very soft. Then, I guess you are a woman and a dumb one at that, so I don’t expect anything else from you.

38. Seems like a personal vendetta between these two persons. Maybe Ms. Redman should put the children first and deal with any other problems in a different forum.
    Ms. Redman you are not very convincing. You body language tells me that you are not very sound either. You need some training. Check with the heavy rollers i.e Sir Roy or call Sir Frank from his grave.

39. Is it fact or fiction that a female teacher refused to teach a particular class for a whole term?
    Is that teacher still employed at the school today?
    What are the views of the parents of those children who were members of that class?
    How many of you can refuse to do your job for an entire hour while basically telling your immediate boss to gfhs with impunity?

40. Scout you have shown your behind many times and your disdain for females and women professionals. Wheel and come again. In the workforce women are the producers, they are the breadwinners and without them working many of their children would starve because their fathers (MEN) have abandoned them.

You stated that ….”When I used to work in a large corporation in Barbados, I had to speak to a female employee who constantly arrived at work between half hour to an hour late, with the same excuse, ‘ she had to take the children to school.”

As a former manager I would have handled this differently. I would have offered her reduced hours if she was a productive employee. Management is about flexibility and good employees are hard to get.

41. islandgal246
    When she took the job, she already had the children and she knew the times for work, I’m sorry but in business there is little room for compromise. This is the problem facing businesses today, too many employees want to tell their managers what they are doing or not doing. To many employees believe they are doing the company a favour by working there, it is the complete opposite. As a manager, one must be a dictator sometimes, an authoritarian sometimes and a humanitarian sometimes, and one must know how to balance the equation.

42. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Transporter

If a teacher refused to teach a class that was assigned for one day, it would be a dereliction of duty which is an offence for which the teacher could be dismissed from the teaching service and lose all rights to a pension and gratuity. If the principal is aware of such a situation and, as head, did not report the matter to the Public Service Commission, for a complete term, he too would be in dereliction of duty and would be liable to be disciplined. Do you see Mr. Broomes exposing himself to disciplinary action in this manner to protect a teacher and then outing them as Speech Day. In the case that I refered to earlier, Mr. Broomes reported a person for not doing work that was not part of her job. Don’t make me laugh! There is more in the mortar than the pestle.

43. To ask a stupid question, wouldn’t the Nation be forgiven if it pursued this story with the Eager 11 vigour? After all these years we the public are none the wiser for the saga ongoing at Alexandra.

44. Alexandra is a “special” school teaching students how the real world works.

Conflict resolution? nah! just fighting and intransigence.

45. Bush Tea

Tek it light nah man… You in a hurry to move on …?

46. welaid miss rollins, i would have liked to say it how you said it.sensitive situations demand balance and not intransigence.if mr broomes was the professional he is selling himself to be, he would subjugate his personal feelings and recognise that resolution of these delicate situations is not about winning but striking a balance in the interest of all concerned particularly in this case the children he claims to care about.

47. david just send the nation an unsigned draft letter by the affected teachers revealing all that mr franklyn knows

48. @balance

Touche!

49. @Balance

Thanks for reminding me that it was not Alexander where King was.,

@Caswell

If as you say there is so much that can be said, why has the MOE has not solved the matter? Sometimes you need to step back and be objective. Why is Redman not getting the backing of the other Teacher Union or CSTUAB?

If my memory serves me correctly, and i hope it has, this conflict started when Mr. Broomes insisted that persons attending Teachers’ Professoanl must show proof that they participated in activities and not simply stay away from such activity and that was not unreasonable.

Ledership is about taking tough decsions when gentle strokes have failed. It is about compromise on both sides.

@Dawn Rollina

The MOE cannot removed Mr. Broomes and send him to MOE, he would have to agree to such transfer or be promoted and the highest post is CEO. To interdict him they would have to have just cause, according to the code of discipline of the Public Service Act of 2007. We need to take the emotionalism out this issue. By the way, Dawn we need strong and respecful leaders that is why our standards have continue to fall, a popular leader is normallly a weak leader. ponder on that.

50. @Scout
    One of the reasons cited for the inablity to attract males to the profession is the pay, that is one agrument that I dont buy as Barbadian teachers are some of the best paid in the region.

Let us be respectful to one another in 2012. I am not saying that we should not respond to insults, I want u and IG to get married on this site and dont fight.