Submitted by Chuckles

I would like to divert a bit and ask you [Caswell Franklyn] to make your services available to the BSTU/Mary Redman. What is this woman doing to the school children at the Alexandra School?
I was a member of the BWU for about 18 months before I left these shores to take up employment overseas. The first thing the Late Sir Frank Walcott told a group of new members of which I was one, was that the Union doesn’t go on strike until it gets public sympathy and support. Where did this woman do her trade-unionism training? A few weeks ago she was all over the news media trying to defend the indefensible i.e a teacher submitting SBA studies late to the CXC resulting in all the students failing the subject. Today teachers at the institution wouldn’t be in the classroom due to a dispute between her union members and the principal. The biggest Trade Union, NUPW isn’t backing her and from all reports the BUT members not losing a day’s pay over a non-issue.

482 responses to “Alexandra School Dispute – Who Shall Lead The Children?”
I thought that some of the Barbadian teachers were scared of losing their jobs in New York and were saved by the skin of their teeth, cant remember the details, but a number of barbadian teachers who went to the states had difficulty in adjusting to dealing with some of the rogues in the american system. this autocratic style with dealing with students aint gone work. An by the way, they are recruited ffor in most part, the ghetto schools which the AMERICANS dont want to be associated with. Let them migrate, they will return like some before them.
Remember when Barbados became independence, a kot of the whites keft and went over and away, and didnt some run back home fast?
@ Blogger 2012.
Out of a sense of duty to the READERS of this blog I shall make ONE FINAL comment on this matter. You are an obviously confused reader who seem not to understand what you read, hence my reference to the Ethiopian eunuch of biblical fame.
The Public Service Commission had interdicted Mr Clarke pursuant to a charge of indiscipline; that is standard practice when charges are laid against a civil servant. Interdiction grants the right to the PSC to send the officer on leave with an adjustment in his salary made at its discretion. Mr Clarke filed an action claiming that he was not accorded natural justice before interdiction and LOST when the matter came on for hearing in the High Court. He appealed and LOST there as well, as the extract from the judgment posted by CASWELL indicates…the appeal was DISMISSED. The court however ordered that he be paid the salary lost in the interim while he awaits the disciplinary hearing. It is therefore totally erroneous for you to post as FACT ” Mr Clarke won the case against Wendy Griffith – Watson and the Government” . What you have subsequently said is a different matter which has to do with the INTERDICTION.
If you still cannot understand the difference I shall move on but in doing so invite you to give yourself more time to understand what you read and even greater time before rushing forward in print to demonstrate your inability to understand what you have read. GOODBYE !!!!
Cud dear Observer, yuh going kill he??
It is a bit more complex than who won or who lost.
The court essentially said that Mr Clarke should have awaited the out one of the disciplinary hearing before taking any action if indeed action was needed.
The Administration has the right to apply interdiction and such action does not impute any guilt in itself. So Mr Clarke had no basis to take legal action based only on being interdicted.
Caswell could have informed his old friend ‘two foods’ that legal action at that time was premature….
Until the disciplinary matter is completed it will remain difficult to speak in clear terms of Mr Clarke having either won or lost, and even then he will still have access to legal action if he thinks that, having lost the disciplinary case, his legal rights were infringed. ( which is what he should have done in the first place)
This one is fa Scout…..She say..” you is a YAM..lol
and do not eva come back.”
whateva that means…..OMG..( true true)
Seems like The Ministry of Education..
MUST ACT..MUST ACT……The Minister must not , must not get into it…
The Code of Conduct is PARAMOUNT PARAMOUNT to solving this impasse….
This Administration HAS BEEN ADVISED. Q.E.D
After we blow smoke, pontificate, cuss each other, correct each other, compliment each other what is going to happen. Can this blog bring any pressure to bear on the proceedings.
Some questions remain.
1. Is Principal Broomes capable, fit worthy of running the Alexandra Secondary School? If he is who and what determines that? If he is not who and what determines that?
2.Are the teachers capable, fit and worthy of teaching the students at the Alexandra Secondary School? If they are, who and what determines that. If they are not, who and what determines that.
3. Teacher who refused to teach (I believe that the title implies the job/action), will she/he be allowed to remain at that school or indeed the school system. If they do, who/what determines that. If they do not who/what determines that.
4. Can the children maintain their academic standard or bring it up to par?
5.If they are sweeping changes how will it impact the children, management and staff of the School. Will it be a process aimed at putting the country’s children first, or will balls measuring go on again.
6. Will the Ministry of Education review the matter and see what went wrong, who went wrong and when it went wrong, to at least put measures in place to ensure it does not happen again, or even if it does – cause we dealing with personalities – the proper procedures are in place to curtail a National disgrace?
7. Will the BSTU examine its by-laws, ethics, procedures and operations to ensure that they are giving quality representation, and have the ability to act and operate in a manner that brings resolution and not utter chaos without resolution, will they put themselves in a position to have more bite, than bark. And striking is not have to be the only bite a Union has.
I am a firm believer that conflict is good, however conflict without a resolution is a waste of time, energy and effort.
I told you yesterday,Mary Redman will have to put her tail between her legs and eat some humble pie. As I’ve said the other unions are not backing the BSTU, in fact the Principals’ union has just come out and thrown their support to Mr Broome, next will be the NUPW, then the parents. The only way to solve the problem is to transfer,those teachers who say they are no longer working with Mr Broome and recruit others who are willing to work.The BSTU CANNOT DEMAND the firing of any school principal.
in interdicting a punlic officer there is something called due process which must be adgered to.
Now you can see why the Eager 11 wanted the P.M to make himself available to the public. This AX matter has been allowed to fester for too long . Added to that is the Jamaican girl Myrie whose case is now before the CCJ. One of the reasons given is that on two occasions, they tried to meet with the Barbados government and there was no response; to this day bajans themselves are hearing nothing. Mr Stuart has a lot to answer to for playing dumb-boy.
@The Scout
Why are you so quick to blame the BSTU when CTUSAB has not come public and suggest the matter has reached crisis proportions.
Did you listen to Perry today on VOB who is a former President of the BSTU?
Scout mout gine put she m ass col’ in trouble…watch.
While the Principal spent the better part of the day meeting Barbados Association of Principals of Public Secondary Schools, I am informed that the children were gambling and playing kicks and bites. For those of you who do not know how to play and bites: someone places money on the ground and the object is to get the money in your pocket while enduring kicks and bites.
Heard you today on the talk show Caswell.
You brought alot of clarity to proceedings.
Thank you David
Yeah Scout did you listen to Mr. Perry !
Mr. Broome and the MOE single handedly destroyed the alexander. The MOE did not take the seriousness of the issue and MR. Broome continue to be deliberate and acted as if he is untouchable.
i am just joining the debate.from the postings several issues are being raised. 1)women teachers are to blame for the present situation in the profession because they have usurped the role of men like broomes who is trying to restore “good west indian discipline,”[a quote from nourbese phillips’ “harriet’s daughter”] to the teaching profession;
2) the deputy at the school is responsible for undermining the head and leading others to do similarly as a consequence of being overlooked for the job of head;
3) invective laden comments about the leadership of the bstu that suggest the union leader has no understanding of grievance procedures.this is coupled with sarcastic comments about frost’s weighing in on the proceedings by offering advice to the embattled bstu leader;
4) conflicts of interest re broomes’ representation by the nupw;
5) calls for dismissal of the striking workers, suggestions to dock their pay and the suggestion that they seek transfers or be transferred;
6) concern at the MOE’s failure to settle the dispute long ago;
7) the taint of political interference in matters of appointments of principals;
8) general and specific support for broomes based on his public image, students’ responses to him and his perceived interest in the welfare of the students and the school.
On the other hand there have been some personal attacks on broomes some of which border on slander.i will not repeat them.if we can separate ourselves from the emotionally charged situation we can perhaps pick sense from nonsense:
1) if workers feel so hard done by that they refuse to give of their services that is a cause for concern that cannot be trivialised by references to clashes in personality, personal or political agendas, menopause or otherwise. the employers of broomes therefore have to make some attempt to settle the situation since broomes seems like a runaway train.
2) documentation of the various grievances must have been done,but if the letters coming from bstu are thrown in the trash can what evidence do we have that broomes read them and took them seriously?
3) the simmering discontent-10 years? must someday erupt with disastrous consequences. teachers must have some recourse if their grievances are not heard;
4)there are obvious difficulties with the management style of broomes which i believe the MOE would have tried to caution him about [and the other principals who also engage in questionable practices]over the 10 years;
5) the bstu is within its right to invoke strike action if there is no response to their concerns;
6)the children will suffer from loss of teaching time, torn allegiances and a sense of anger, disappointment and loss over their situation;
7) the non-striking teachers-most of whom might be union members but not appointed, part-time,non- union or BUT affiliated staff or staff sympathetic to broomes will also suffer the pain,grief, loss and disllusionment that a protracted strike and a split in staff relations will engender ;
8) the attendant recriminations for the slandering of both striking and non-striking staff members and broomes,the bstu leadership and those whose names have been called through no fault of their own is another side effect of the industrial action;
9)the failure to act decisively to end the matter-10 years in the making-is an indictment of the past and present administrations.smart ministers would have nipped this impasse in the bud and instructed the main players in resolving the dispute e.g.personnel division etc to act immediately.broomes should have been held accountable for the obvious infringements of teachers’ rights based on the document released by the union.
10) the poor handling of the situation by the current minister can become a political issue at election time-a vote-losing hiccup for the DEMS but a winning plus for the BLP!!
11) the failure of the BUT to join in solidarity with BSTU speaks volumes; after all the president is herself a principal;
12) the support broomes is receiving from BAAPS is the solidarity arising from a situation where when the neighbour’s house is on fire you wet your own;
My solutions are several: stepped up action for the workers-picket the MOE headquarters if nobody is listening; put a restraint on broomes from appearing in the media and/or send broomes on special leave;OR a moratorium on strike action/media coverage etc while government appointed mediators get to the bottom of the dispute.These might not be solutions that win popular support but then it is about workers’ rights which have been abrogated by the principal.Martin Luther King Jnr in one of his speeches said “a riot is the language of the unheard.”Surely 10 years of suffering is enough to justify any rebellion.in situations of domestic abuse as singing sandra cautioned “even dog does run away!”how about the teachers of the alexandra school? And how about the pscyhology of the narcisstic individual that has ruined many a good relation between employers and employees. Enough is enough!!
Quote” Even a dog run AWAY” LOL
Give Brooomes a one way ticket to CUBA!
Broomes and MOE one of the same! Get rid of Both!
It takes a lot to get 40 employees to gang up against their boss.
It takes a lot to get 40 people to conspire to ruin a man’s life for no reason.
someting wrong.
Quoting Bush Tea on January 7, at 9:08
“You are very right, this is not 1950, and people like Tank and Pilly would not be as effective as they were back then.
Have you considered that by marginalizing such people we are getting the results that we now see…
When such right minded persons were respected and revered as forceful leaders our children came out much better….If you want to model the USA and those fellows wanna go long and see what wanna will get…”
New times call for new methods. Back in the mid-1950’s my father who was essentially a 19th century man tried to order my teenaged brother to buy a donkey to be used as transportation. My brother like all teenagers then and now, rebelled and refused and his refusal almost cause a permanent rift between father and son. Except that our mother WISELY intervened and told her husband “If he does not want a donkey do not make him get a donkey.” The son went on to spend a lifetime working in the high tech electronics industry. So a donkey was wrong for a mid-2oth century Bajan boy. Tank’s and Pilly’s methods are WRONG for 21st century teachers and students.
We would all love to live in the past but we cannot.
The future beckons.
ALWAYS.
Bush Tea January 7, at 9:08
“If you want to model the USA and those fellows wanna go long and see what wanna will get…”
Actually modelling the United States might not be such a bad idea. Because certainly according to recent United Nations statistics quoted below the United States has a murder rate of 5.0 per 100,000, while Barbados’ is more than twice as high at 11.3 per 100,000. So would I like our murder rate to be halved. YES.
Global study on homicide. United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime, 2011
http://www.unodc.org/documents/data-and-analysis/statistics/Homicide/Globa_study_on_homicide_2011_web.pdf
Barbados 31 11.3 2010 UN-CTS
United States of America 15,241 5.0 2009 National police
Again modelling the United States might not be such a bad idea. And I think that Jeff would agree since he is himself a graduate of a U.S. university. Note that this UWI study speaks approvingly of U.S. higher education. So would I like Barbados to be one of the world’s most innovative countries? YES.
Determinants of Student Performance at University: Reflections from the Caribbean by Jennifer Cheesman, Natalee Simpson, Alvin G. Wint
http://www.mona.uwi.edu/opair/research/student-performance-paper-revised.pdf
A recent ranking of the world’s top universities (Economist, 2005) which indicates that seventeen of the top twenty universities are located in what many regard as the World’s most innovative country, the United States, is not likely to be lost on policy makers around the world.
The world’s best universities?
http://www.myglobaleducation.com/article/v/16147/worlds-best-universities/
And this report notes that The United States boasts the largest percentage (22 percent) of the top 400 universities worldwide…in life sciences and biomedicine, Harvard University; in social sciences, Harvard University; and in engineering and IT, MIT.
So would I like to see our UWI up there? YES.
Yes, I heard Perry today talking a lot of nothing, he came over as a man trying to force his thoughts or position down people’s throats. He wanted to do all the talking and others listen, that is the problem with the BSTU right now, they are talking and talking but not listening. I heard a woman putting Perry in his place and he just wouldn’t let the woman speak; it is simple NO PARTY WILL NEGOTIATE WHILE UNDER DURESS, the teachers MUST get back to work.
Keith Howard
I’ve never been afraid to speak the truth, the problem why this matter has been allowed to fester is because the MOE are afraid to discipline persons. This teacher, because she didn’t get what she wanted, has sought, along with others of like minds to make Mr Broomes’ tenure a living hell, they have no respect for or responsibility to the students, it’s just a selfish motive. Like the Ass. of SEc Principals said, many of those matters were dealt with and resolved before, if we take the offended statement, allegedly made by Mr Broome to Court, it will be thrown out;THE MAN GOT MORE BRAIN THAN ALL OF THEM PUT TOGETHER. All the Principals know that it is not only Mr Broomes’ backside that Mary Redman is after and they are going to protect themselves. Whether you like it or not, Owen Arthur would not have allowed this matter to reach the position it is at today. Our P.M is either too aloof or just don’t care, once he can draw his big cheque monthly. this country is spiralling down a deep abess and we need somebody to rescue us before it is too late. Incedentally, is the P.M still in the country?
David/ac
As Mr Caswell Franklyn pointed out, there were many avenues open to the BSTU to have this matter resolved. They could have written a letter of petition to the G G who would have forced the MOE and the government to take action. No, the BSTU decided to go for public sympathy and sentiments to deal with this matter, they don’t have the nation’s children at heart. Maybe they know they don’t have a strong case anyhow, that’s why they are playing on the public for support. The longer this case goes on the more immature, vindictive and combatant, Mary Redman and her “soldiers” are looking, when the FULL FORCE of the other unions and the parents of the children themselves are brought to bear on the BSTU, they will all look for cover. An order to return to work or be FIRED will soon come and we will see how many teachers will stick their tails between their legs and return to work leaving Mary Redman and a few diehards to die hard. There are many many former, retired teachers who have the children’s interest at heart that are ready to resume their profession to save the youth of this country.
Whenever youhave an organisation with so many women in it, there MUST be trouble. That’s why the voting public in Barbados will notvote for a female P.M. Look at the problems T&T are facing and it is justa matter of time before Jamaica falls into the same trap. We have a talk host/ess here in Barbados who thinks she’s hot stuff and tries to force her ideas down callers’ throat. Whenever she gets someone to challenge her she backs off. That is the basic problem with many women, they think they are always RIGHT, and are not pretared to listen, not even to another woman who is more matured in their thinking.
@The Scout
This matter started under Arthur.
It is unreasonable to take sides in the absence of documented info where we can properly assess the situation.
All stakeholders can share some blame to why this matter has become protracted i.e BSTU, Broomes,MOE, CPO and successive governments.
Perhaps if some of those involved can share critical correspondence with BU so that we can construct the grievance?
mr franklyn, your comments on the representation of mr broomes by mr clarke the substantive general secretary of the nupw and who is on sick leave does at to the comedy of errors and boggles the mind. it is my understanding that the policy decisions of the nupw emanate from their national council and should be executed by the secretariat on their behalf as representing the interests of the public workers. how can mr clarke represent mr broomes without the sanction of the national council and while he is on sick leave too is beyond comprehension and the comment appears to be inaccurate.
@ Random Thoughts
OK – so you have established that your father was an idiot who tried to make your brother buy a donkey instead of getting into advanced electronics….. Thank God your mother did not let the boy play the ass…
What is your point? Are you trying to explain your lineage?
Your “research” about the USA is dated.
They do not lead in technology.
Right now their No 1 export is fuel
Even critical parts of their Defence technology is imported
When you quote their murder rate -are you including the people they murder overseas in places like Iraq, Afganistan, Columbia etc?
50% of the population in poverty
You like you is yuh father’daughter yuh….
The fact is sides have already been taken and as more stories are revealed anout Mr. Broomes the public would get to know who the real Mr. Broomes is. The teachers could not be that crazy to jeopardize their livelihoods to be defiant of one man. It is obvious that there are well founded greivances some of which had been agreeded upon by Mr. Broomes in previous Board hearings and which Mr. Broomes had reneged upon . In MR, Broomes world it is his way or the HIGHYWAY.Solidarity with the teachers is going to be the only way to bring this issue to a final halt and ultimately removal of Mr. Broomes from Alexander.
@ Scout
“Owen Arthur would not have allowed this matter to fester…..”
Where then was the same Owen Arthur when the same Jeff Broomes was behaving like a maniac FROM THE DAYS HE WAS DEP.PRINCIPAL AT THE ST MICHAEL SCHOOL ? Broomes did not start giving trouble yesterday. Make a check with Mrs Grace Smith, a former principal at St Michael during Jeff Broomes’ tenure there; she should be able to give an account , free of bias, of his record EVEN IN BROOMES ‘ EARLY DAYS as an administrator.
BROOMES HAS BEEN A TROUBLE TREE FOR A LONNNNNG TIME.
Mr. Scout
Since I voted you the dumbest blogger in 2011; I am now convince you are on the way to recapture that crown in 2012.
As Mr. Walters said in today’s Nation “Teachers are always the doormats of the public”. The BSTU will not get the public’s support and so will have to do what they have to do, with their conscience clear that they are right to withhold labour.
The Nation newspaper is also giving Mr.Broomes all the positive PR and the teachers the negative such as the poll in today’s Nation.
A “simple” solution would be to send Broomes to Harrison College as principal and send the present principal of Harrison College (who is the chairman of BAPPSS and Broomes supporter) to Alexandra. Everybody happy.
I have to endorse Caswell as well as the union. I went to The St. Michael School when Broomes was Deputy Principal. He was sent there (apparently because of disputes wherever he was before) to be appointed deputy over senior people that should have had the post. He was made acting Principal for ONE term, while Mrs. Smith was on leave. We have come to refer to this period as t he Jeff Broomes reign if terror. When Mrs. Smith retired and Mr. Perkins was appointed principal, Mr. Broomes was extremely angry. He is reported to have cursed the new principal on the compound in the hearing of students. Our understanding was that he HAD to be moves to Alexandra because the staff at SMS could not work with him. I was therefore not surprised when I heard all the controversy surrounding him and the Alexandra School.
I don’t care who has friends in high places, I have lived long enough to see with my eyes, the Jehovah is THE BOSS. When people do foolishness and seemingly cannot be touch, GOD touches them, and in my experience, it is worst than when man touches them. Whoever the cap fits, let them wear it, but know this, God does not sleep and He represents the innocent. For the unjust to prevail, that would make God a liar, and He CAN’T lie. We will see.
Balance
You hit the nail on the head. The NUPW is not representing Jeff Broomes. It is his friend Dennis Clarke who is encouraging Broomes in this nonsense who is on a frolic of his own making such a claim. Clarke could be excused for his behaviour. His recent ongoing illness has only served to speed up his dementia. My understanding is that the doctors say that he might be fit to resume work after April 30, 2012. To show that he has lost it, over the last weekend, Clarke turned up at the offices of NUPW and used his key to gain entry to the General Secretary’s room and evicted the Acting General Secretary, Roslyn Smith. In order to convince Clarke that he is not on duty and should not be interfering in the day-to-day operations of the union, the locks had to be changed.
An example of the perverse nature of the man Jeff Broomes…the staff was concerned that the school was not benefiting from having him, a cricket administrator and coach, on the staff and tried to prevail upon him to do something for the cricket team. BROOMES PROCEDED TO SELECT A GROUP OF GIRLS FOR COACHING BY HIM.
you people dont know this man..he is a maverick of the greatest proportions.
@Random Thoughts | January 8, 2012 at 7:16 PM |
“…If thes teachers are let go almost certainly some will migrate, and teachin the U.S. for up to 6 years on an H-1B visa”
you obviously have an elementary level of reasoning. if the did in the US what they are doing now, they would be on the soonest plane back to Barbados. they carry on this way because they know that in Barbados, you can do as you like when your husband is the boss of your boss. what a disgraceful comment for someone of your maturity (and i perceived your are over 55) to make.
i have not yet heard the union address the issue of the teachers’ attire nor the fact that one of them REFUSED to teach for one year. THEY WILL NEVER be accepted in the US to teach if this immature behaviour is known before being hired.
This problem was NOT in Owen Arthur’s regime, the matter started in December 2011, ALL the other matters involved were dealt with before and a resolution and satisfaction was made. This is typical of some women in this world, they have a problem with their spouse they “so-called” solved the problem , as another problem arise, whether it is his fault or not, all these matters that were suppose to be resolved are brought back up. The reason the BSTU is on strike is because of remarks Mr Broomes made at the Speech Day in december, to this day the union has not said the teacher was wrtong for not teaching for a term. Remember, he said the matter was reported to the MOE and nothing was done about the matter, I understand the frustration Mr Broomes had and all he did is apologise to the parents for the teacher’s behaviour; the children already knew the behaviour of the teacher was out of place, they already had her labelled.
Clone
you and islandgal246 are either the same person or a clone, but both of you are classified together. maybe you are in a class much much higher than mine but I wouldn’t want to be in the same class as you two clowns. Either you can’t dispute what I said or your vocabulary is so limited that your only recourse is the one both of you clowns used to express you dumbness.
This whole fiasco is a perfect example of how things are run on this piece of rock called Barbados. NOTHING CAN BE DONE EFFICIENTLY AND IN A TIMELY MANNER. This country is imploding under its lack of adherence to its own rules and regulations. We have government offices with big names and very little substance. We push up our chests and boast about how educated we are, how many certificates and degrees we have acquired YET are afraid to solve simple problems. These problems snowball and the authorities appear impotent. We have become a failing society and a failing country.
Scout …you are such a NINCOMPOOP! Why don’t you stop calling my name?
The Scout | January 10, 2012 at 3:11 AM |
Whenever youhave an organisation with so many women in it, there MUST be trouble. That’s why the voting public in Barbados will notvote for a female P.M.
SCOUT YOU ARE SUCH A BIGOT! I can’t believe what I am hearing. We are in 2012 Scout and not 1912! What the hell do you know about leadership under a woman? The greats like Indira Ghandi, Golda Meir, Margaret Thatcher, Eugenia Charles. You are suffering from a superiority complex when it comes to women. Perhaps you should try putting your home in order before you come out here spouting such diatribe. You are pitiful!
How do we continue to pollute the blogs with nbviously untrue statements? Why are we not showing any intellect? Have we now forgotten the Foundation issue? Consistent with the BSTU? Think about this — Half of the teachers are against Mr. Broomes and they are supported by the BSTU and (apparently) the Old Scholars Association (emphasis on OLD). Mr. Broomes has the support of half the staff, the Students, the Parents, the groundsmen, the maids, the NUPW, BAPPSS and the vast majority of the past students who came under his charge. It is also instructive that the Nation poll shows that two thirds of the country support him. Thank god I am wiser now than I was before.
I even read that most of the issues now being brought up were discussed and addressed by the Ministry? Is that really true?
mr franklyn i respect your knowledge in these matters so i am not trying to engage just to seek clarification. Is mr broomes a member of the NUPW. notwithstand what you posted earlier about NUPW not representing management; i am sure that mr tennyson springer was represented by the nupw when he had problems with the hospital board or at the psychiatric hospital- do not know for sure where- but someone told me thatt there are instances of the nupw representing management when mr goddard was there. if mr broomes is indeed a financial member and he approaches the nupw for representation/advice are you telling me that the nupw could just blatantly refuse? if mr broomes is a member and requests help, then the industrial arm of the nupw should take up the mantle and allow mr clarke to continue to recover from his illness free from stress
Contradictions & Personal Invective.
How can a problem be solved, by posting vindictive attacks on an individual whom you accuse of reprehensible and unprofessional behaviour to members of his staff.
How can you show support to a cause by engaging in libel, which you could never know of unless you were a participant.
I hope those who are posting such “nonsense” are not members of the teaching profession in Barbados, because if they are the case is being made of why things are the way they are at Alexandra School.
A few have brought American schools into the debate.
To those who speak of American Schools do they know that in “some” American Schools armed police are often on the premises, drug detection dogs are often in locker rooms and often students must pass through metal detector arches to enter schools….let us not go off into flights of fantasy.
This problem can only be “sensibly” solved when those “personally” involved, speak less and think more, or there will be many wrecked careers, years of bitterness and glaring examples of how not to run an educational establishment.
When this is done the main losers will be the students, the secondary losers will be the union and the tertiary losers will be the union movement and education. Lack of leadership, reason, objectivity and sensitivity on all parts are to blame. Redman, Broomes et. al have done an injustice to our established systems in Barbados. Culpability exists on both sides but I fear this will be the first nail in the coffin of the BSTU if they continue along the path they’ve started.
islandgal246
Check some of these clubs like Kiwanis, Lions, Toastmasters etc, there were male clubs and female clubs, since there were amalgamated, these clubs are now predominately woman; congrats to you. One of the reasons given is women hold things in their minds for years, while men would disagree at a meeting and even come to high words but at the end of the session, all that is left behind and they meet at a members house or at a bar and have a few drinks, now at these clubs you would hear a woman bringing back up a matter that was dealt with a year before. The same thing is happening at AX, the only matter to be discussed is whether the teacher did refuse to teach the class and whether the matter was referred to the MOE. From what I’ve heard, both things are true, therefore any reasonable person will be frustrated by the action of this senior teacher and the MOE. To Date the BSTU as not said the teacher was wrong for not teaching the class. Similarly, the teacher at Foundation who forgot or simply handed in the SBA’s late was wrong but the stupid woman Mary Redman wanted the BSTU to picket the CXC office because the SBA’s were not accepted. She is just making a fool of herself and all the others who follow her.
Now you can see Mary Redman NEVER had the education of the disadvantaged childern at Foundation at heart as she said, what she wanted was to make her member look good even though she was wrong. This is typical of the case at AX, she can’t tell the teacher she was wrong, so she wants someone else to pay for the members disobedience. Mary Redman a true professional leader MUST be brave enough to tell even your best friend they are wrong when it is so. In both cases you have erred. Stop bringing up matters that were dealt with and trashed out before that has not resurfaced now, that is being childish and immature.EAT SOME HUMBLE PIE. If you were so interested the the students of Foundation’s education, how come you are now willing to disadvantage an entire nation, just to save your face?
I really have not read many of the comments on this thread over the last two days, but I notice Scout and Bush Tea dropping some licks in the women. Fellas I rode that horse last year but it was only fah the fun of it. Wunna fellas getting serious now …
Look, if Jeff Broome feel he is a real man, he should stan up and be a real man and do like David and other real men on this site. He should try an’ wuk’ fah heself and employ people and earn lil’ forex … and the onliest dealings that he should have with tax money is that which he is putting into the till. If Jeff Broome is a real man he should stop relying pun tax payers’ money… that is what real men do. Lef the Public Service to the women …!
@The Scout
Your anti-Redman position in the absence of all the facts is worrying.
David | January 10, 2012 at 5:29 PM |
@The Scout
Your anti-Redman position in the absence of all the facts is worrying.
David his anti women position is rather worrying. SCOUT must have some serious woman issues.
This is not about Redman, she obviously enjoys the support of her membership.
To lay all blame on Redman is to label the BSTU membership idiots or zombies.
not matter what Scout or any of the male chauvinist pigs say .it all boils down to the fact that all these problems came about because of Mr. Broomes and there is no getting around that. Blame any and everybody does not change that fact. The more i hear of Mr. Broomes antisocial behaviour the more i am convince he has many screws missing . Mr .Perry in his analogy painted a picture of a man who seems to think that the world revolves around him and only what he says or do is correct.
The picture also shows a man who is hot tempered! belligerent! Caustic ! and a threat to anyone who would dare opposed him. I am hoping that the BSTU would carry on until the last Dog dies and that being MR. Broomes . If it takes a revolution to get rid of Mr. Broomes so be it. Enough talk with the man has not worked and it would never work in this lifetime .Whoever his friends are they better tell Mr, Broomes that he is no longer needed and he should do what is best in the interest of the school and children and not of himself. Enough is enough.