Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

The eagerly awaited Peter Wickham Cadres poll has been leaked to the media. Based on the report Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart appears to be viewed as less likely to lead the DLP to victory. It is bad enough the DLP government has had to combat managing the economy in an austere environment, to float a damaging pollย  at this time is perhaps the final nail in the coffin. One did not need a poll to assess that Prime Minister Stuart does not have the national profile or support at this time. Who can forget Minister David Estwick wearing a red short on the morning of the tragic event.

It is sad that a BLP government which was voted out of office less than five years ago will probably be returned without having to revamp or promise any radical policies to Barbadians. At this stage BU is somewhat nonplus about what the political landscape is likely to be. What is sure is that it will be more of the same. Prime Minister Stuart the best advice BU can give you is to ring the bell. The country cannot afford yet another political cat fight.

A people will get the government it deserves.

282 responses to “Prime Minister Stuart, It Is time To Ring The Bell”

1. Unfortunately even when we go back to the polls the old political paradigms will still be with us.

Of course Bushie is going to say, I told you so!

2. To David:
    Even the greatest scientist have been wrong, but when you compound so call analysis with a bias on the part of the pollster, the only body in Barbados now would believe Peter the spy man Wickham is you David. He continues to destroy his credibility with this sort of nonsense and spying at the same time on Barbadians. I hope you remember his predictions down the island and the big defeat the party he said would win got. He is no giant pollster David. the only one we had in the caribbean lived in Jamaica and he died.

3. @lemuel

You may recall in the last election it was the BLP who questioned his polls.

4. Is there any truth to the rumours that Ronald Jones will be the next Prime Minister?!! God help us!

5. @Ping Pong

You are allowed one joke for the morning!

6. let’s get real david whatever the outcome of the election the voters would decided . however it is the timing and leaking of the poll which present a slanted view or perception to what is the obvious going on at this time and the reliability of this poll shown to be questioned as Wiki lips has bias in favour of Chris Sinckler. I would however say that Chris has charisma in his favour. How about his brilliance. Why not have poll to see which of the two are of a higher intelligence. Charisma alone cannot take this country out of the economic mess. i

7. To David:
    Any 101 student of political science could have seen the defeat of the BLP. Peter the spy man Wickham was no genius about that. They had their time and the people decide to remove them. I hope the BLP are aware that they too can get a five year term if they do not deliver also.

8. Interesting times.

If what is reported is true, FS has few options as:-

It is unlikely that he will do like Sandy and call an election before the current MPs are able to put in the minimum time to secure their pensions. I think that time is 4 years from the date the current parliamentary term started.

He can’t reasonable retain the MPs who have essentially expressed no confidence in him. Therefore it will not be enough for him to merely shuffle them, they will have to be removed from their cabinet posts. If FS does not do this he is confirming the charge that he is the vaccillator par excellence.

He has shown without a doubt that he cannot make a timely decision on anything therefore, left to himself, he will not make a decision, it will have to be physically forced on him.

The conspirators can’t back down at this stage as they and their actions are known. Their private sector co-conspirators are known, These were the people at the meetings reported on earlier on this blog. Their message must have been no election funding unless FS is removed. Wickham was there to use the poll results to help convince any wavering parliamentarian of what his /her bests interests were and the money men to let them know of their support if they belled the cat. My inferences only from what has been published. I have absolutely no source of other information on anything that is going on.

Stuart’s options are
    1. to retire gracefully using ill health as the rationale
    2. Call a general election right after January 2012
    3. Do nothing, as is his wont.

I think he is naturally inclined to option 3. But with the machinations of his colleagues out in the open and not likely to be forced back into the pandora’s box, that is not likely to work. The private Sector’s interest and the almost certainty of the DLP not being able to get adequate election funding if they carry on in the way they have been doing since elected, will scuttle that option.

Option 1 is the best one for him and the country. But he would appear to be a stubborn man who, for whatever reason, might not take that option, so, imho he might call an election by mid year, given his penchant for putting back important decisions.

How can the conspirators push him to act.

Would a no-confidence motion help? Would they get enough votes? Would it help the DLP’s image and likelihood for success at the polls?

Would a no-confidence vote called by the BLP help? Would it be in their best interests for Freundel to be replaced? Freundel at the helm of the DLP in the next elections would be of immense value for the BLP chances to win? Would some smart political moves re. a no-confidence motion be something that the BLP should do? It is in the ultimate machiavellian interests of the BLP to support FS. Hence some of these comments supporting stuart. With FS as PM the BLP’s attempt to become the next PIP is easier. With almost anyone else as PM it becomes harder.

Does the BLP really want to win any upcoming election?

9. “And therefore as a stranger give it welcome.
    There are more things in heaven and earth, Horatio,
    Than are dreamt of in your philosophy.” – Hamlet act1, scene5

10. I have just read the two-page publication put out by the on-line paper Barbados Today and my attention was particularly drawn to reports on the findings of a poll carried by CADRES on the present political storm being created by certain interested parties on the political landscape. The conclusion being invited is that Barbados at present wants Chris Sinckler to be its Prime Minister in preference to ANYBODY ELSE including Owen Arthur. Having read the publication, I was attracted to the following statement..”These surveys were not national and as such CADRES is not in a position to make conclusive statements regarding the national scenario. however these localised investigations present a consistency that is profound in our opinion”
    It would seem that Mr Peter Wichham is prepared to put his professional integrity on the line on this occasion in an effort to support a cause he has always ventilated..Sinckler as the Prime Minister of Barbados. How can CADRES ask us to draw conclusions of a NATIONAL NATURE on the basis of some poll that might even be fictitious. How else can you decide on matters concerning the appointment of a Prime Minister if you have Not made NATIONAL inquiry? Why is CADRES refusing to divulge the “FOUR CONSTITUENCISES ” within which the poll was carried out? How can this sprinkling of persons pontificate on who has the longest “coat -tail among the political parties ? What kind of a majority did Sinckler have in the last election when the country was most favourably disposed to his party? was it not significantly smaller than that of either Arthur or Stuart? There does seem room for support for the view of an earlier posting that this poll is a FRAUD..
    Be careful Wickham; you are supposed to be a professional and will be judged very harshly when you put out what purports to be credible information that was based on your research. You have been extremely reckless on this occasion. Your candidate stands to suffer the fallout from this escapade.

11. @Lemmie

Are you saying that Chappo and UWI politcal guru were less than 101?

12. Prime Minister, you must do what ALL prime ministers before you have done..PUT DOWN THE HAMMER !!! Barrow did it; Adams did it, Sandiford did it; Thompson did it; and ARTHUR did it..Ask Johnny Cheltenham who was thought to be a heavy weight in that government..YOU HAVE TO FIRE SINCKLER…HE IS A TRAITOR..I have heard you too many times quoting literature and the classics not to believe that you know what should be the lot of a traitor WHO OPENLY PLOTS….You have no choice..FIRE HIM.. Barbados expects it and will respect you for it. YOU ARE A GOOD MAN .

13. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ lemuel | December 11, 2011 at 10:20 AM |
    “They had their time and the people decide to remove them. I hope the BLP are aware that they too can get a five year term if they do not deliver also.”

Very fair and balance contribution. No personal attacks! We give you an “A+’ in Introduction To Politics”.

You need to recant your earlier attack on the so-called spy man. I don’t know him personally but if you are going to cast aspersions (to use the best man lingo โ€œat him you need to be fair and cast similar arrows (โ€œaspirationsโ€-to use the lingo of the best man in the house who likes to pompously speak while in the chair) his associate who is also a prodigy of the former kingmaker at the death of EWB and now vying for similar glory that attended the “like it or lump it” man.

PS: Would you agree that KB will make a very interesting Minister of Foreign Affairs to show off to the world the best the DLP can offer?

14. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ The Hammer.. | December 11, 2011 at 10:42 AM |

Please, Mr PM listen to what the Hammer is saying to you!
    The honest fair minded segment of the electorate will back you even if it means putting off the elections until it is constitutionally due.
    Honesty is a good policy so also is getting rid of dangerous substances in your cabinet before they corrupt and pollute the entire house.

15. Firing Sinckler alone will not solve the problem if as reported others are involved in the do.

16. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

The PM has to demonstrate the power that comes with the position and someone has to be sacrificed and made an example to any potential rivals. That is the nature of politics especially when in Government under the Westminster model.
    To do otherwise is considered a weak choice and will spell speedier disaster for him.

17. millertheanunnaki Avatar

“Firing Sinckler alone will not solve the problem if as reported others are involved in the do.”

You don’t have to fire a perceived threat to your power and authority. Neutralise threats to your goal of gaining a straight hand at a second term. Shuffle the deck of cards in a confident artistic way so that in your โ€œfull houseโ€ the jack of spades replaces the joker of learning or the king of porn or even the queen with the tartan name with overdue travel miles to be redeemed. Replacing a deuce of diamond with a deuce of spades to crack the walls in your house of cards will only work in the interest of magnates who wish to see your house of cards demolished.

18. @ David

Sinckler does not need to be fired from the Cabinet. The ring leaders are Sinckler, M. Lashley and Boyce. It was Boyce who approached the othe MPs of the DLP seeking signatures to a letter requesting a meeting with the PM and also in the same letter alledging that PM Stauart did not have the confidence of the majority of the Parliamentary group.

Therefore, the hardest slap from PM Stuart should be reserved for John ‘Sir Laugh-a-Lot’ Boyce rendering him a bench warmer on the back bench. Michael Lashley should be moved from Housing to the back bench (or given Agriculture) and that portfolio tured over to one of the DLP senators running in the next election, Husbands or Ince.

Sinckler to Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Maxine sent home. David Estwick to Ministry of Finance & Economic Affairs and Deputy PM.

19. The fact is : no one believes the authenticity of this poll. It is far from objective. The more Wickham Lickham shows his bias the more he discredits himself as a pollster, the more harm is done to Sinckler. Go On Peter, Barbados is behind you. Show your colours and remember, the more the monkey climb, the more he shows his tail. Prophetic words from Sinckler now coming true.

20. PM Stuart, we support you, as long as the DLP is in power. Avatar
    PM Stuart, we support you, as long as the DLP is in power.

… or just put all three of them out of the Cabinet – via the CBC News.

21. PM Stuart, we support you, as long as the DLP is in power. Avatar
    PM Stuart, we support you, as long as the DLP is in power.

Tonight.

22. It is laughable that John Boyce – is it a 3-time loser ? – would be leading the palace coup. One can only hand head in utter amazement.

@George

PM Stuart welcomes the advice from you ๐Ÿ™‚

23. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Antz | December 11, 2011 at 11:44 AM |

Sounds like a fair deal! Question is: Does FS have the “balls” to bowl that kind of swing on a very hard wicket?

24. DLP’s biggest downfall is that Minister of Housing has been too outstanding. He has been able to give the majority of work to his constituents while other marginal constituencies suffer which will lead to a victory in those constituencies to the BLP.

Whatever the outcome of the next general elections, it will be a close race which means alot of talking and little action by government. Barbados suffers.

My question to the BU family: How do you feel that one government makes a deal with PierHead, FlyOvers, etc and then another dismisses it and we end up with lawsuits which are more costly than the projects themselves, while the talk of cutting health and education continues in the midst of increased taxation? I am voting for the party who can bring a stop to these political motives which expense the taxpayers.

25. DLP – Duncy Losers in Power

26. Perhaps the more prophetic words came from the mouth of Estwick, time longer than twine.

On 11 December 2011 11:53, David wrote:

> It is laughable that John Boyce – is it a 3-time loser ? – would be > leading the palace coup. One can only hand head in utter amazement. > > @George > > PM Stuart welcomes the advice from you ๐Ÿ™‚ > >

27. Vote PEP for balance Avatar
    Vote PEP for balance

Str8 Up | December 11, 2011 at 11:57 AM | My question to the BU family: How do you feel that one government makes a deal with PierHead, FlyOvers, etc and then another dismisses it and we end up with lawsuits which are more costly than the projects themselves,

28. To David:
    Every body knows that George Belle’s poll was based on three drunken old men shouldering the same tree in an attempt to keep it up. But the most important question is who is for the PM. These folks need to come out and say something. I do not see the BLP joining these wild boys to deliver political anarchy to Barbados. Owen has better sense than that, or if he plays this one badly, he may be found wanting badly.

To Miller:
    Why don’t you leave me nuh. Answer my question would you believe research done by a thief which found that there is nothing wrong with stealing. Isn’t that what Peter the spy man Wickham has done. Isn’t the poll a favor for his friends Mia and Sinker. And do not tell me not to mention his sexual proclivities; he always insist on wearing them on his sleeves, proudly.

29. The only people who benefit from general elections are those who work in advertising, people like Vic Vender … F#ck this voting thing, I do no have the time to spare. Mr. Fumble if you are not wanted, just step down. Sandiford was an ass and still remains appropriately labeled …(Don’ know what ass is in Chinese, must ask my intelligent agent …)

NIS and the 60 Million is really the Central Bank and the 60 Million. NIS collects bajan money, and 4S is a construction project that requires the usual 85% forex injection. In any event the NIS HAS TO RID ITSELF OF CASH so any other option is the best option in these times … The good thing is that Tony Marshall has been exposed for the *(&&^%^$ that he is …

30. Anz

“David Estwick to Ministry of Finance & Economic Affairs and Deputy PM”> Which world you living in … You really think that the White shadows in the DLP want Estwick anywhere near that PM seat? The Prime Ministers of Barbados must have one and only one basic trait, they must be malleable with the ability to be pocketed …!

31. Those the Gods wish to destroy, they first give bad advice.

After a long time in the wilderness the DLP is elected to Government. Their Prime Minister dies in office, the ship is steadied under a new leader, and they continue to govern in difficult circumstances.

The BLP opposition is having difficulties of their own making and now I hear of an alleged coup in the DLP ranks. Can this be real! are they going to toss away being in Government, the pinnacle for any political party, on a whim.

Governing a country is not a silly little game. The future of the country and our young people cries out for leadership and some are playing games.

Oh! where are the real statesmen?

32. @David | December 11, 2011 at 7:59 AM |
    @George
    If all that is playing out in the press is correct it is probably too late for PM Stuart. He needs to return to the people and let them decide. The country canโ€™t afford this nonsense. We already went over a year without much happening.
    ==========================================
    Why is calling an early election the only other alternative? …they will certainly lose if that happens.Why not act in the interest of the party and step aside quietly, and allow the team to decide on a new leader?

33. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

The DLP between 1987 and 1991 = much internal turmoil and questions of Sandi’s leadership.
    In 1994, no confidence motion that is relatively successful; brought By the Opposition but the ramifications of DLP in-fighting although in Government led to the subsequent general elections which the DLP lost.
    2001 = The DLP has not learned a thing from its history. Hence, back to the Opposition benches sooner rather than later.
    Honestly, PM Arthur is a very shrewd politician and he will learn from any errors made in the past. The BLP will be there to rescue and rebuild this proud nation called Barbados. The ‘natural’ successor to OSA is emerging quietly but surely. Barbados will be in the safe hands of the BLP soon enough thanks partly to the wild boys in the DEMS.

34. It is nonsense because Sinckler has never commanded any significant national popularity. A contrived position is not the way leaders should be elevated. Agree with Adrian elsewhere that we need reform where the people have a say in the selection of the leader and not a few in smoke and dagger filled rooms.This same old same old needs to stop.

35. To David:
    We can only eliminate the cloak and dagger by making the election of a PM a national election. Then we the people can decide who should lead.

36. I have no more comments to make on this matter, I’ve been called many things as I looked through the political crystal ball and saw this coming. I’ve told you “he who laughs last laughs best,” the DLP supporters laughed at the Bees after elections and I warned them because their crack was not fully closed and could reopen anytime. Recently, I’ve been telling you about the rumblings in the DLP and the volcano is going to erupt, the explosion is about to happen. I’ve made all these predictions that I now see coming to fore, while I’ve not surprised, I was hoping I’ll be wrong because at the end of the day, I’m Bajan and I don’t want to see my country become the laughing piece of the caribbean. This is where we citizens of this country have got to put our politicians in their place, tell them resolve their differences or step down. Peter’s survey cannot be blamed, the very government M.P’s are the ones who are really causing the rumbling right now, we see them returning to a post Errol Barrow mode and it is not good for the country. I’ve been saying for a while, we need a new political party of persons who have barbados at heart, persons with integrity, our politicians are a law unto themselves. We’ve enjoyed many years of good governance, maybe now is our time to suck some salt. Let’s show our strength as true bajans and rebuild this country. I call on all bajan/barbadian, business people, economists, anyone who wants to see this country move forward to COME FORWARD now and give of your best to our recovery.

37. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ lemuel | December 11, 2011 at 12:12 PM |
    “Wickham has done. Isnโ€™t the poll a favor for his friends Mia and Sinker. And do not tell me not to mention his sexual proclivities; he always insist on wearing them on his sleeves, proudly.”
    I will leave you when I manage to knock some sense into your backside (figuratively speaking, of course!). Everybody knows that the spy man is homosexual. So what? At least he is not in the closet like some of his political chessmen.
    I agree with you that he has a hidden agenda up his tail. He wants to see FS toppled and OSA sails off into the sunset thus making way for one of his kind. Won’t you dread the day if this were to happen? So keep your criticisms focused on his politics and not on the spy man private happy and gay life.

38. On the subject of Wickham and his active position in Barbados politics – is he mashing the crease on this issue? If as alleged he was present at that meeting what can we say?

39. To Miller:
    I am so glad that you have come to see the essence in what I have been saying, and thank you for seeing his obvious bias. But you must admi that although this makes great fun this sunday morning, there is no fun in political anarchy. These fellows must find a way to put Barbados first. No amount of head in the sand by Carson and hoping that the BLP does not have funds to run an election can help the DLP at this stage.

40. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

What has become of Lethal Weapon Part 5? Will he support Sinckler who by the way labelled him that awesome characterisation? Surely the good doctor cannot side with the man who sided with his nemesis to keep him away from finance and economic matters?

41. Estwick and Kellman will probably go with Stuart – believe it or not however they both have ambition to be PM of Barbados.

42. @lemuel | December 11, 2011 at 1:39 PM |
    To David:
    We can only eliminate the cloak and dagger by making the election of a PM a national election. Then we the people can decide who should lead.
    ====================================
    Exactly. So until (if ever) such reform is made, we must accept that the party members have to make that decision. If Stuart decided to call elections now due to this issue, rather than step aside quietly, he would be placing his own interest above that of the party. As George C. Brathwaite alluded, he should learn from the mistakes of that jackass Sandiford.

43. It is his decision as Prime Minister, he can do what ever he likes and calling elections is one option. Unlike the BLP the DLP people need a 2/3 majority in parliament to oust a prime minister. They can’t risk it.

44. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@Zack

I take departure. I would never use such words to describe an individual that has held the highest and most coveted executive post in government; to do that i would be subscribing to do what the band of 11 is attempting to do. We must never discredit our institutions of governance.

45. Wickham only just get back from Florida so he couldn’t have been at nah meetin’ … I have to admit that he appears to be a fan of Stinker though …!

Stuart, man step tah shite down and save the government coffers some change … (Oh shoot I fahget that a General Election is economic activity too … Vic Vender must be happi enough)

46. @BAFBFP

So you are calling Antz a liar? When was the meeting held?

47. PM, call elections NOW Avatar
    PM, call elections NOW

Zack | December 11, 2011 at 2:07 PM |
    Yes, the PM should act in the best interest of Barbados. If, with his intimate knowledge of the interested parties, he knows that Barbados will be at risk, he needs to do his best to protect Barbados from them.

48. @David | December 11, 2011 at 2:13 PM |
    It is his decision as Prime Minister, he can do what ever he likes and calling elections is one option. Unlike the BLP the DLP people need a 2/3 majority in parliament to oust a prime minister. They canโ€™t risk it.
    ==============================
    Yes, it is his decision if he wants to be a jackass like Sandiford…the party will pay the price.

49. The party is going to pay a price which ever way it blows. Do you think the DLP can win an election with Sinckler or Estwick at the helm?

50. Yes David Anz is being disingenuous