Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart

The eagerly awaited Peter Wickham Cadres poll has been leaked to the media. Based on the report Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart appears to be viewed as less likely to lead the DLP to victory. It is bad enough the DLP government has had to combat managing the economy in an austere environment, to float a damaging pollย  at this time is perhaps the final nail in the coffin. One did not need a poll to assess that Prime Minister Stuart does not have the national profile or support at this time. Who can forget Minister David Estwick wearing a red short on the morning of the tragic event.

It is sad that a BLP government which was voted out of office less than five years ago will probably be returned without having to revamp or promise any radical policies to Barbadians. At this stage BU is somewhat nonplus about what the political landscape is likely to be. What is sure is that it will be more of the same. Prime Minister Stuart the best advice BU can give you is to ring the bell. The country cannot afford yet another political cat fight.

A people will get the government it deserves.

282 responses to “Prime Minister Stuart, It Is time To Ring The Bell”

1. You see if and when Fumble steps down, the national pension will be paying him FULL Prime Minister salary for the rest of his natural life, he and Sandy and See Thru, (and seat warmer from St. John) full Prime Minister salaries for the rest of their natural lives. Do you really want another name to collect this type of treatment as well? What a crock …

2. The poor class was expecting this. The big ups and whites want a PM they have normal access to.

Stuart too black and he does not move in the right circles.

Bim is still in the maximum leader mode, we still need a slave driver.

What the big ups want the big ups get.

3. Fool me once shame on you
    Fool me me twice shame on me
    Not anuuder vote for the DLP

4. According to the Nation some DLP members are trying to stage a Palace Coup to oust the PM. Personally I donโ€™t put much stock in anything the Nation prints about the DLP but on the off chance that there is some fire in the smoke coming out of Fontabelle I would like to add my two pennies to the issue.

Many leaders have โ€œkitchen cabinetsโ€ that may be comprised of friends or confidants without official titles who can provide feedback on the issues of the day. As a result of their relationship with the Leader they can be frank in a way that political colleagues will be unable to without fear of reprisal. Many Leaders also have an รฉminence grise who can provide feedback and absorb some of the criticism which was meant for the leader (see David Thompson/ Hartley Henry or USA George W Bush/Karl Rove). In addition the PM is a bachelor whom my sources tell me is not the recipient of any pillow talk, he canโ€™t ask his wife what do you think of Minister X? An astute wife whose antennae are out could respond โ€œyou better watch your backโ€ or โ€œget rid of himโ€. If there is a female companion he may not want to ask those kinds of questions.

Freundel being the loner he always has been has not assembled any of the above and that more than anything else has contributed to his seemingly detachment from everyday political engagement that are characteristic of Bajan politicians. Seeking your own counsel and loving your own company will not win you many friends or influence many people in Barbados.

5. “Though leadership may be hard to define, the one characteristic common to all leaders is the ability to make things happen.”
    -Ted W. Engstrom

6. Dah Minister Steven Lashley was a disaster, an embarrassment in front of well to do Barbadians and international celebrities tonight at the exhibition tennis event. The man showed a complete lack of knowledge of Standard English.

7. Now that Sinckler’s dastardly scheme to oust Prime Minister Stuart has been exposed and backfired to the extent that it is known by the whole of Barbados that he, the two Lashleys (Hammy is not one of the two) Paul and a few others failed to win over support for their plot, WHAT WILL HE NOW DO IF STUART REFUSES TO STEP DOWN ? Every plotter knows BEFORE HAND that when a plot fails, for whatever reason, HE WILL DIE, either at the hands of the person he failed to overthrow or, in order to save face, BY HIS OWN HANDS. In short, if Stuart does not kill Sinckler, HE HAS TO KILL HIMSELF. The options opened to Sinckler therefore are not many. indeed HE HAS BUT ONE CHOICE..It is as simple as that. Let us all now see the stuff that this big Muggaffy Sinckler is made of.

8. As we suggested earlier Kellman and Estwick are likely to support Stuart.

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/count-me-out/

Can we have the 11 names who signed the letter?

9. @David,
    The people’s PM Kellman does not really follow crowds, he is his own thinker, I am thinking that Kellman, Estwick, Todd and just maybe James Paul might be on the side lines. Of course Hammie Lah would be out too since most never really saw him in the second time around.

10. Interesting response by the PM so far Undertaker:

Stuart: Let them talk

There will be no deliberate effort by Prime Minister Freundel Stuart to stop dissent in his Cabinet and wider Government.

The Prime Minister made this clear this morning, while responding to a suggestion that there was disquiet among his ministers and MPs about his leadership.

There was also the view that he was not engaging Barbadians enough with a general election around the corner.

Stuart, who was in the Grace Adams Suite at the Grantley Adams International Airport shortly after returning from the CARICOM-Cuba Summit in Trinidad, said he would be more worried if everyone in Government and the Democratic Labour Party agreed with his decisions and style.

โ€œThe only places in Barbados where I know for certain that there is unquestioned unanimity are Westbury Cemetery, Bushy Park Cemetery in St. Philip and all of the other church yards in Barbados where everybody is dead,โ€ he quipped.

โ€œAs long as you have a situation where you have living persons โ€” God didnโ€™t create any duplicates he created all originals โ€” there will be differences of opinion on issues of approach and so on and churches, political parties, families, go where you will, people will have differences on approach.โ€

โ€œI have been a member of the Democratic Labour Party since I was a teenager and I have seen those differences of opinion on approach playout over time and I would be very unhappy if as Prime Minister of Barbados, as President of the DLP and as chairman of the Cabinet everybody around me agreed with everything I did and agreed with my approach,โ€ Stuart asserted.

Such an environment would make him feel โ€œvery unsafeโ€, the head of government stated.

โ€œI think that it is healthy for people to express themselves; if they feel that a different kind of approach is necessary that they express themselves on that. That happens, has happened in the DLP for as long as I have known it and long may it continue. I think it is healthy.โ€ (SC)

http://news.barbadostoday.bb/barticlenew.php?ptitle=Stuart:%20Let%20them%20talk&article=12649&pdate=2011-08-31

11. undertaker the no-confidence vote against mr sandiford decided his course of action which was inimical to the interest of his party at the time.

12. by george,aren’t you discrediting as well our institutions of governance by referring to te dlp elected parliamentarians as ‘wild boys’. as a so-called student of politics- wouldn’t reference to persons as ‘wild boys’ be deemed unparliamentary and struck from the records.

13. if what has been repoted in the nation newspaper yesterday about concerning the afffairs of that once great political institution; my advice to the blp is not to capitalise on the dlp’s apparent misfortunes for cheap political opportunism. what goes around comes around as the current state of of their internal party affairs should indicate. based on the comments in this forum; it seems that the time for installing a government of the people, by the people and for thye people is nearer than we believe if the two political institutions continue to disintegrate.

14. if what has been repoted in the nation newspaper yesterday about concerning the afffairs of that once great political institution; my advice to the blp is not to capitalise on the dlp’s apparent misfortunes for cheap political opportunism. what goes around comes around as the current state of of their internal party affairs should indicate. based on the comments in this forum; it seems that the time for installing a government of the people, by the people and for thye people is nearer than we believe if the two political institutions continue to disintegrate.( I HAVE NOT MADE THIS COMMENT BEFORE)

15. wouldn’t it be in mr inniss’s interest to refute those allegations of his involvement in pornographic websites first before harbouring thoughts of holding the highest office in the land. that allegation in my view is worse than mr arthur’s allegedly poketing the campaign financing cheque from clico.

16. @ David

There is no paper with 11 signatures. They are trying bluff PM Stuart into believing the house is on fire and time to run. This is a Peter, Harley, Chris and Leroy plot with help from some other foolish MP’s, nothing more.

17. I must return to the Barbados Today report on the CADRES “POLL” and ask that institution to clarify certain information for the benefit of the lesser mortals who are still sane enough to raise certain questions. According to Mr Roy Morris’ article, the CADRES poll carried out in June revealed that Mr Stuart was “the least favoured to lead the DLP”. Now this is confusing to me. In a recent face off between Mr Stuart and Mr Sinckler for the leadership of the party and in which ALL THIRTY CONSTITUENCIES WERE INVOLVED, Stuart defeated Sinckler for the post by about 4 votes to 1. As has been published the poll was carried out in four unidentified constituencies. How can Mr Wickham explain this obvious CONTRADICTION? I believe that CADRES owes us an explanation .

18. BU challenges any person who has information about an alleged kingmaking to produce it and do your duty as a civic minded Bajan should.

19. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@balance

I am not in parliament and I am using a phrase by an MP that characterised another group of MP’s. You will note the use of ‘—‘. Get real. Many of you are too weak to call them anything at all. I could tell you that based on the promises made when they knew for sure that they were unattainable and knowing that a senior member of that party had previously indicated that an election manifesto is not a social contract, I could perhaps call all of them a bunch of liars and deceivers. I am confident that the Barbadian electorate will punish them for using a similar ploy undertaken by Sandiford just before the 1991 election. He won that election but everything went downhill from there. As far as I am concerned, to call this group of DEMS wild boys is light stuff, they should have been called something worse due to their collective actions and infelicities. By george, I GCB said that.

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

It is amazing to me how you lot always fall hook line and sinker for any garbage the Nation publish.

A few years ago the Nation newspaper published a sensasional story about pornography taking place at the St. George Secondary School.

They did untold damage to the reputations of many teachers and the school. In the end after being taken to Court by teachers falsely accused, What was the outcome? Judgement went against the Nation newspaper.

The Nation newspaper lied!

The Nation newspaper has a long history of false reporting. The people over at the Nation don’t let the truth get in their way.

21. I Think that the supporters of the DLP must be wondering what the party is coming to. I see all this as an act of revenge by the political actors against Stuart. It is just over a year that they have picked Stuart and it iwas common knowledge that Stuart could so easilty be renamed Fabius Maxiimus Cuntunctor., the dellayer.. They knew then that Stuart was a man of deliberateness and not easily moved to make decisions.. They promoted Stuart as ever so intelligent and wordy when he could so easily described as ponderous and pedantic. Stuart has never spoken on anything on eduation, the ecoonomy or on a social sphere for anyone to say that he is bright . No thought no light on any subject under the sun, just his promoters would have us believe that he is ever so bright . We have come to this . Now his men do not want him. They want a two time loser and a man who won his seat by under 300 votes in a swing to the DLP in a constituency which they held each time but once. What chrisma !, what brillance!. Sinckler is seen as a man who has inflicted pain on the people of Barbados and has brought no relief to the suffering masses of peolple who would depend on him for ease. The fact that hie is loud boisterous and stylistic in his delivery is not nearly enough. . He does not show lleadership He wants it on a populartiy round. We must not decend in to a banana republic with stuff and nonsense as our guide . We need men and women to be sacrificial and hard working as wel as truthful and determined.
    This group has been found wanting. Deceptive, disgraceful, dithering,doddering double crossing, lying, lucklustre,,lightweight, lurid paralytic partial pathetic pathless and peculiar are just some of the words which can be used to describe this bunch of no-hopers. This country deserves better. Think on these things

22. Dont forget that Sinckler ran in St Michael Central twice and lost twice! That seat was previuously held by none other than Sir Roy when he was a member of the DLP and Sinckler was coming in as a Personal Assistant to a Prime Minister at that time – tremendous political stock, yet he lost. What charisma what? What accomplishments does Sinckler have since being in Government….Ministry of Foreign Affairs? Ministry of Urban Development and Constituency Empowerment? Ministry of Finance? I challenge all bloggers to list five major accomplishment by Sinckler during his term of office in any of these ministries…not to mention being Leader of Government Businesss. Dont even get me started on John Boyce.. Has been canvassing since 1991 election and when he does get a chance in Government, takes over 3 years to finish 2 roundabouts AMAZING RECORD These are guys who barely won their seats in 2008. It doesnt even take a strong wind to blow to dislodge these guys from their seats, a little fart from a 12 year old child could do the trick…

23. And do not forget that Sinker stood very much opposed to the EPA when he was head of an NGO. The man has demonstrated in glaring daylight that he can and will spin on a coin if it is expedient to do so… no backbone!

24. To Carson Cadogan:
    Are you calling Dennis Kellman a liar? On the front page of the Nation December 12, 2011 Kellman is denying that he was any part of the plot to oust PM Stuart. That denial indicates clearly that there was a plot. Which would mean as you Carson did not know anything about like me and the rest of us on BU, then as a deeply devoted party man you need to condemn this vile behavior. And Carson I am with you on this one; what those renegades have to understand is that Fruendel Stuart is the Prime Minister of Barbados not any two bit little boy on the street to be disrespected because you or she or he or a she she think that it their time to be a Prime Minister. And their behavior can be liken to that of a bunch of wild boys. Who are these people Carson; let the rest of Barbados help you deal with them and their temerity.

25. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Before someone goes and research my views and try to discredit me with them: let me reiterate my bias in favour of Freundel Stuart.

I am relying on the veracity of reports in the media. As I understand it a group of DLP parliamentarians have signalled their lack of confidence in PM Stuart’s leadership as chairman of the Cabinet. If they feel so strongly and Stuart refuses to resign, the only decent thing to do would be to resign from his cabinet. Then again that is not so easy, some of them are taking home the best pay cheques ever and likely to take home if they are not drawing a minister’s pay.

I have read most of the comments on this post and I believe most of you are missing what is really in play. If Freundel Stuart were gay, he would not be having these problems from within or from the polls. Don’t you see that there is a move afoot to have both political parties in this country being run by people of a particulaw ilk or those that are sympathetic to their cause.

26. Balance

Don’ confuse these comments for those of the Barbadian populace … In fact there is NO such thing as a “voice of the people” since there are so many interests and sub-interests to satisfy. So forget this theme of a “Government for the people”; its just another catchy phraseology.

If there were really such a thing as a voice of the people look the percentage of people, both here in BIM and in the US that WILL NOT VOTE in the next election. Now that would be a true sentiment, that of course will course will go unnoticed by political scientists or policy makers

27. To Balance:
    Stop straining to talk out of both sides of your mouth. As a DLP supporter you know that what this gang is doing or wanted to do is bare foolishness. They selected Stuart, not me or you or any one else on BU. Stuart was not foisted upon them. They have absolutely no reason for this putrid behavior. Yet this was the crowd lambasting Richie for being power hungry.

28. Now I am to believe that Sinkler is gay … homophobia is a disease … You need help Franklyn!

29. Caswell

Stop reading my mind.

We must also remember and ponder on Daniel 4:17

30. BAFBFP:
    Why are trying to get Caswell into more trouble. Because from your extrapolation, one could assume that the gay and lesbians are behind this move and if Sinker is being pushed he would have to be part and parcel of their movement or a sympathetic voice in Parliament. The gay and lesbian movement do not push outsiders, but this may be the case now. But I have never heard him push any of these agendas. So it could only be that the king maker happens to be gay (by his own admission mine you) and that is what is dirtying up the political waters. Miller, remember I never said anything about Peter the spy man Wickham.

31. Lemuel you are being mischievous in interpreting Caswell’s position. The more accurate interpretation is that Sinckler maybe more sympathetic or malleable to the ‘alternative’ view.

32. What is upsetting and annoying is that their letter to PM Stuart as is being reported in the press speaks to their concern being of the DLP’s ability to win the next election!! Arent they concerned about the precarious position that Barbados is in now? Are they just concerned with their own selfish interests of regaining government in the next election to save their pensions and continue to feed from the trough? Barbadians are seeing real hardship, beyond which a duty-free day can really cure and this band of ragamuffins is only concerned about getting back into Government. Then we will brag and boast about how educated we are in Barbados…for even considering thinking up this whole episode at a tie that Barbados is in such a shaky unstable position and Barbadians are suffering so much, for putting themselves before Barbadians who elected then in 2008 – this DLP bunch DESERVES TO BE SHOWN THE DOOR, BY WAY OF OUR X’s whenever they dare to call elections in this country. Barbados deserves better!

33. @ Just Asking
    Man you got to be joking if you thought that James Paul was consulting a Psychic.
    It was a Christmas party side attraction…..or are you so old that you don’t know of all the side attractions they have at these affairs.
    I know that lady and she is no more a Psychic than I am an Astronaut

34. To David:
    Caswell is a man I like a lot ( I know that the Gays and lesbians shall love that one) and I do not want to see him in trouble. It seems as if Sinker is malleable to all views political right now.

35. If I were PM Stuart, I would have made a stop on my way down from Illaro Court this morning and had an audience with the acting GG.

Stuart has no choice now but to act. He cannot dither and remain silent now this plot has been exposed. Since the plotters know now that he will not step down as he says he is in good health and that they cannot remove him by going to the GG (I heard they went twice to Sir Clifford, hence the sudden resignation), if they have the numbers, Al Gilkes says they need 16 MPs, they will have to bring the no confidence vote. If they do and some change their minds at the last minute, the only BLP MP they can count on to vote with them is Mia whom they defended when she was ousted and who associates with them now. If the motion fails, they will be doomed politically.

But look who is leading this rebellion…… Chris Sinckler a novice now barely won his seat, John Boyce a three time loser in Christ Church South, Michael Lashley, a drug lord and Donville Iniss, a porn king…….. my goodness, none of them are as “good” as Freundel and he is a man who has never won a seat twice.

But Freundel has himself to blame, when he took over from the dead king, he should have clipped Sinckler’s wings one time and removed him as Minister of Finance and given the MOF to David Estwick like he promised.

36. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

@cornwell
    Perception is everything in politics. Just remember that David Thompson (respectfully) and the Dems (less so) hatched together a plan than brought this country’s reputation into disrepute indicating that there was corruption and to use his words all forms of malfeasance under the BLP. Nothing has been proven, no one has been charged to defend any issue or decision. But the perception was out there and it has caused Barbados to lose much progress; Barbadians were deceived and the accountability and transparency has long disappeared from the mouths of the DEMS. Makes me wonder if all of the DLP candidates for the next general elections will declare their assets since Thompson said it would be a thing of the past for any candidate of the DLP to run without declaring their assets. You can fool some of the people some of the times, but you cannot fool all of the people all of the time. The DEMS have proven themselves to be the real deceivers in this society. Now that has moved from perception to reality.

37. To Prodigal:
    I had to laugh real hard at the twice going to the GG thing, but I could not believe it. Put up you hand.

38. Perhaps this explains why after the death of former PM Thompson and the appointment of Stuart as PM, Sinckler removed himself to the opposite end of the front bench in Parliament… Moreover why PM Stuart found places in his Cabinet for both Kellmand and Lowe and expanded the portfolio of Suckoo – he was stacking the deck in his favor if it ever had to come down to a vote!! All this manouvering shows that this DLP Government isnt only now broken, it was mash up everysince. GOD help us all in little Bim

39. BAFBEP

I never wrote that Sinckler was gay. The gay lobby is seeking to have one of their own as the leader of this country. Failing that they want someone who is simple that they could lead. Sinckler is just that simpleton and they want him bad. If he happens to be gay so much the better for them but let me make myself very clear, I did not write anything about Sinckler being gay and I don’t want you twisting my words.

My dictionary tells me that “phobia” is an extreme or irrational fear of something: I am not afraid of you in the least.

40. Lemuel,

Remember last time when they tried to oust Mascoll, they went to the Speaker and he told them they had to go to the GG. So novices that they are, bullies, liars and deceivers as well, they went to the GG this time. I understand (from those in my circle) that the GG told them that he could not revoke the PM’s appointment just like that, the PM could only be removed by a vote of no confidence.

So if they dont have the numbers for the vote, hence the talk about resigning on the grounds of ill health.

This lot is indeed a bunch wild boys, who play they know everything and dont know. When the Speaker of the House tried to put out Mia and remember none of her so called friends on the DLP side stood up for her then, I remember Sinckler and Inniss saying put her out, a few weeks later I was at a gathering when some person who sits in the inner court of Parliament told the group that you cannot tell the Dems anything, they dont know and would not take advice.

I still cannot believe to this day that Bajans who claim to be so bright could have fallen for all the tricks and gimmicks told by the dead king and the DLP in 2008. An in-law of mine who voted for them told me yesterday that he feels so disappointed and let down by the Dems and that he cannot point to ONE thing they have done to move this country on. I empathised with him, poor soul.

41. @PM, call elections NOW
    “I now understand African politics”

explain…do u mean kenya and the mau mau? namibia and PAIGA ? algeria and the FLN? zimbabwe? Guinea Bissau? cameroon/cameroun? mozambique? south african and the ANC, PAC,? angola and SWAIPO ? these countries used guerilla warfare. are u suggesting that we go that route? who in barbados is brave enough to do such?

42. Caswell,

Since you are now on the blog, did you read Tony Best’s article yesterday where our CJ claimed that he has dual citizenship of Barbados and the US. How can he be a citizen of the US and be CJ of Barbados? Do you know?

43. Is this the change that late PM Thompson asked Barbadians to vote for in 2008? Seems like the same old crabs-in-a-barrel mentaility to me..The more things chnage, the more they remain the same or as the old people say, different day – same sh*te. I want the 11 or 14 MP’s whoever they are to be man (or woman) enough to come forward publicly and say “I, signed the letter” “I, went up to Government House to see the GG to oust PM Stuart” I can bet that not one of them will come forward publicly – they will leave us their constituents, on whose behalf they act, to guess about the identities of who signed the letter. Its no wonder they wait to PM Stuart’s back is turned to host press conferences announcing building of new hospitals and other policies to investigate the finances of UWI, and making Barbadians pay for services at the hospital. But Barbadians beware, where there is smoke there is fire. If we give this DLP bunch of misfits (the gang who couldnt shoot straight) another term, expect layoffs in the public sector, having to pay for more health services and medication (what became of the 6 month review of this policy as was promised?) and payment for tuition and economic costs at UWI. Remember that John Boyce is on record as saying that he is prepared to empty the Treasury to patch potholes…is this who you want running this country? Think carefully Barbadians – our futures depend on it

44. LMAO…Well well well, the chickens have come home to roost and there are many Judas’s amongst them. DEM fellas jockeying for positions. They say drowning men clutching at straws and there has been a mutiny on board. No one knows who is the new Captain, or Where the Captain hiding. They are on their way down to Davy Jones locker. LMAO HO HO HO

45. Prodigal Son

You are a prime example as to why officialdom would love to have blogs shut down or severely censored … Could you imagine if someone Googled the words “Drug Lord” and “Michael Lashley” what would come up? Your comment and now mine. Man you are vicious, even though yah mek mah laugh.

Franklyn

Fear me. I am sure you have a wife or a girlfriend (they probably sense that there is something wrong), but fear me, for they might someday cross my path, and with these looks and a few chosen lines I may have the opportunity to introduce them to a real heterosexual experience … So fear me

46. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@lemuel | December 12, 2011 at 10:06 AM |
    “Caswell Franklyn | December 12, 2011 at 10:46 AM |
    The gay lobby is seeking to have one of their own as the leader of this
    country. Failing that they want someone who is simple that they could lead. ”

Caswell knows much more than you guys think. Let him spill his guts and by so doing the beans on all those who are in the closet seeking power.
    Lemuel, you should know that these boys walking down the corridors of power have been well initiated and indoctrinated by a bright gay old fellow with an Oxonian background but with an unorthodox delivery of political strategy from the rear position that would make PM Cameron look like a kingmaker in Bajan politics. He probably knows who are the movers and shakers hiding in the closet. A local Peter โ€œGa(r)yโ€ Tatchell the wick(ed) spy man might be just be forcefully pulling the door wide open to outrageously expose the boys and girls who vacillate with their sexual identification . Cammie the King James man steeped in the Tudorian period has taught his charges well in the art of gunnery from behind the scenes and never let your colours show in the caswellian rainbow.
    You might just be backing a horse on the other side with “pink colours” displayed in the closet only.

47. Carson Ca-DOG-AN ………”I wouldnโ€™t want the BLP to run my dog house, they might steal all the dog food.”

Carson the dog house door open and is awaiting your occupancy. I can’t guarantee that the food will be A class BUT a caDOGan like you will eat anything at this time. LMAO

48. @ Carson

โ€œRack by bitter and cannibalistic infighting the likes of which Barbados has never seen beforeโ€
    But Carson, this is exactly what is happening within the ranks of the DLP; and I must add that your party has a history of in-fighting, and nuff, nuff too!
    1. Did a whole lot of DEMS, under the leadership of Richie Haynes formed the NDP, after a bout of โ€œcannibalistic in-fightingโ€ within the ranks of the DLP?
    2. Did PM Stuart and some other DEMS have โ€œcannibalistic in-fightingโ€ with David Thompson?
    3. Was there โ€œcannibalistic in-fightingโ€ between Kellman and Thompson?
    4. Was โ€œcannibalistic in-fightingโ€ responsible for Thompson, Jones, Michael Lashley, and Sealy ousting Mascoll?
    5. Was โ€œcannibalistic in-fightingโ€ responsible for Hammie La and Mascoll crossing the floor to the BLP?
    6. Was โ€œcannibalistic in-fightingโ€ with Michael Lashley responsible for Marilyn Rice-Bowen resigning as Chairperson of the NHC?
    7. Was โ€œcannibalistic in-fightingโ€ responsible for Estwick wearing a red shirt (while the others wore black) on the day Thompson passed?
    8. Surely, what is happening now within the ranks of your party epitomizes โ€œcannibalistic in-fightingโ€, since all a wunnah eating one another to get power.

Carson, you better come out of that glass house, it gine get mash up, cause you does mek yuh self a real easy target, for people to throw stones at it. But then again, your zeal makes it extremely easy for persons to set you up.

49. Very interesting! Thanks for post.

50. Prodigal Son

As far as I know, there is nothing to prevent a person who is a citizen of another country from becoming chief justice of Barbados. However, again, as far as I know, the Chief Justice could not swear allegiance to Her Majesty the Queen and remain a citizen of the US.

I think you are referring to our Constitution which prevents a person from being a member of the House of Assembly if he is “under any acknowledgement of allegiance, obedience or adherence to a foreign Power or State”. I am reliably informed that we have MPs who have United States passports. If that is the case, they would be sitting in Parliament illegally. I think that Stuat should seek to find out who they are.