The Unusual Covenant At Coverley Approved By The National Housing Corporation

156 responses to “The Unusual Covenant At Coverley Approved By The National Housing Corporation”
-
KISSMYA
Take your lips off “COW’s” butt cheeks.
-
COW would run this country ‘good’
COW for President—– -
@CCC
You can have the last word.
-
CCC, The least you can do is show a little humility man. Your beloved leader is away with TREACHEROUS ILLNESS, according to your night watch man leader Mr.Stuart, and you boasting that people falling like nine pins from all sorts of diseases??
As I said before, the more I observe and listen to you ARROGANT DEMS, I feeling sure that you won’t get TWO SEATS next time…….it might just be one.
-
Dear Amused:
I am sorry to have confused you. I understand Engish so well that even if I am presented with legalese goobledegook written in English I understand it perfectly.
But still I prefer simple clear English
-
[youtube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JcsqU5708tA&fs=1&hl=en_US&color1=0x006699&color2=0x54abd6]
-
The truth is integrity is public life is not possible with citizens willing to overlook violations when they have proof, when politicians are unwilling to do the necessary investigation to back up charges. You mean to tell me if there were unjustifiable overruns that those costs cannot be exmained. You have to say what the overrun is about, the quantity surveyor has to sign off on the expenditure, the import costs are obtainable from the port records. You can prove corruption. The auditor can show it up either ? What de shite I reading. If the BLP are corrupt do the damn investigation and bring the evidence so they can be hung out to dry. Or shut up.For aqll the balsted talk about intergrity, the only gov’t that has taken any steps towards it is BLP. Legislation passed to make ministers criminally liable for mismanagment of gov’t resources; ordered their own audit of units that PM Arthur felt were not operating prudently – UDC, RDC,and another one, can’t remember which; first draft of integrity legislation not completed or brought to Parliament.
There is no commitment on the DLP side to any genuine integrity. Did no work with the Public Accounts Committee. Have done no audits and certainly submitted no reports of audits on any BLP project; protected Michael Lashley and the infelicities at NHC at the expense of the taxpayers, because they wishto continue with them; can’t finish an integrity legislation bill and get it to parliament, even if you starting from scratch, 2 1/2 years later no bill.
It remans to be seen if the BLp will on taking office put in place the integrity legislation and ENFORCE IT. That will not happen until we Bajans insist on it to both sides, and stop excusing lapses and actions such as this current scandal at NHC with Lashley. If we are vigilant, insistent and deal promptly with wrongdoing it will discourage the vagabonds from taking office; discourage the opportunists form taking chances, and it will encourage more reputable citizens to come to political life.
Stop all the blasted talk and let us decide how we are going to insist on this gov’t that they bring Michael Lashley to book and clean up this corruption; let us insist on the integrity legislation; put pressure on them to bring evidence to prosecute the BLP; put pressure on the Bees that if we fail to get the above done, THAT THEY MUST DO IT. -
Bajantruth:
Either you are ignorant of the realities of the Barbados justice system, or the partisan cap I presume you to wear is clouding any possibility of clear thoughts.1: Prior to Jan 15 2008 the Minister of Finance was Owen Arthur
2:Prior to Jan 15 2008 evidence was produce to show a check for 750k made out to Owen Arthur from a CLICO.
3: CLICO was/is a company that required supervision from government per laws governing insurance companies.
4: CLICO did not meet lawful requirements on several occasions that the minister of finance Owen Arthur had ultimate oversight for and over it.Should this not have been investigated to…
1: clear the Minister of Finance of any rumors of wrong doing?
2: to ensure that no laws were broken?But who and what law is to be used to effect such an investigation that would either officially clear the Minister of any wrong doing or charge him if the evidence suggest the likelihood of malfeasance?
The law is the corruption act of Barbados. The person to lead the investigation, and to absolve or prosecute is the Director of Public Prosecution. Can we really expect this person to have any interest in pursuing a Former Prime Minister and possible political party colleague? If you say yes would you still think that they (DPP) are up to the task having had an opportunity to investigate and prosecute a rumored close friend and police officer who was charged for something akin to perverting justice by demanding payment for not charging a citizen for unlawful conduct? I do not know if the results of an investigation was made public and given as the reason why prosecution against the alleged police friend would not continue, be dropped, done away with etc. I do not know if an investigation was done.
-
I have already said that this DLP governement is DOOMED !
I said that Christopher Sinckler would become Prime Minister before the five year term was up even though this government would not last five years. Go back and check my comments and you all we see that I said it. The 31st of August beckons: whither the DLP !
-
@ Adrian Hinds
You sure it wasn’t for $75k and a CCB rather than CLICO cheque?
-
-
@ Enuff
Waste of time talking to Adrian, he has the drive of a bulldog and the thought processes of a vacant lot. That makes it difficult for him to put the total picture together. Adrian would not be able to work this out therefore, what you got from him.
If the 75k was a bribe , with the licks that Clico taking from the opposition,would Parris not come out and say his company was pressured to pay money to Arthur; is Arthur a jackass that he would not press for 2 or 3 million,if yuh gine tief, tief good. That being the case would not Thompson expose the whole – when info was sent to Arthur about issue by P.S.; evidence that he did not respond, refused to act; rejected recommendations to change it. All like now have a full-fledged investigation into Arthur’s negligence. This has not been done. Is it possible that is not the explanation then? I too would love to know this part of the story, and an explanation has to be given to the public, because there is some negligence or other cause here. (Sorry my error, another fool like Bush Tea will tell you that this is really the kindness of Thompson in not pursuing the justice of this , and that this why he is glad he voted for the Dems)
Usually these are attempts to divert the story from whatever is cutting the DLP ass, like the scandal at NHC featuring Michael Lashley, who has many answers he needs to give the public. The nosedive in standards in parliament gives me no hope of the Dems protecting our democracy or the dignity of that institution. The standards for performance here in our country of educated Bajans are extremely low. So there will be little public pressure or anger at what Lashley did or the insult to Parliament.
-
@Enuff & David
Thanks for the correction. However the thrust of my argument and what I contend remains. The Prime Minister received a personal check from an institution that he has financial oversight, over as Minister of Finance. Whether it is 750k or 75k or an insurance company or a Bank, it does not look right and should have been investigated, and the corruption act of Barbados speaks to this type of behavior, accusation, and appearances of malfeasance.I get the impression from your intervention that if the amount and institution I sighted in my previous remarks are incorrect then my entire argument is also incorrect, and I do understand why Enuff’s comment could be interpreted as such.
Bajantruth, you would not know what independent thinking is. A Total picture is what I am doing. Yours like CCC is to give one side of the partisan missteps of Government. My approach is to help Barbadians solidify their already held beliefs that both major political parties are the same, that they are the same because any number of Bees were once Dees, that both the BLP/DLP are infested with accusations of wrong doing, that both parties are the play things of a group, one can safely refer to as the political class. I believe that once a majority of Barbadians are sufficiently of this opinion, and once they are encourage to be mad as hell about it, that the only recourse to a resolution of these state of things; people intervention over a number of election cycles, will be brought to bare on both parties via a 5 year wash out, rinse out and recycle.
That, BajanMIStruth, is the TOTOAL PICTURE. A vacant lot to you is one filled with people not wearing a lick of RED. Your focus on specific problems of this DLP government is causing you to miss the points about weak governance, and a political class not interested in strengthening it. It remains you, who cannot see the forest for the trees.
-
KISSMYA | August 27, 2010 at 9:46 PM | I have already said that this DLP governement is DOOMED !
——————-And what do we have as an alternative?
Ms. Three hundred thousand beach washroom facilities? (or if you prefer, Ms.Greenland will never be used for the purpose that valuable funds were spent).
Mr. Multi-hundred million dollar Kensington without lights under the eyes of the world ‘our finest hour’.
Mr.Chat-in-the-hat got us into the NHC Building debacle ‘never said a word in Parliament for last two terms’
Mr.US or Bds Dollar you mean? I think I know how to manage a project.
By the way, with them in Parliament, your esteemed former leader called it a poor-rakey Parliament.
That explains what he meant.
Goodness gracious, then we are indeed, DOOMED!
Calling PDC, you are wanted, urgently (just cut the ….about no taxes, sorry).
-
To add to Crusoe, how can we forget MP George Payne warming a seat in the House for years and never* unbutton his mouth. His actions would have been condoned by his party. What more disrespect to parliament would anyone want to see? BU points remains, the issues of the day transcend party.
-
I believe that Crusoe was referring to Silent George when he wrote “Mr.Chat-in-the-hat got us into the NHC Building debacle ‘never said a word in Parliament for last two terms’
After Owen canned George he took a vow of silence and never opened his mouth in Parliament but was happy to accept the salary and of course will be happy to accept his pension when the time comes. I was not surprised when Silent George got fired for his mouth when he tried to put a reporter in “his place”. The man was always haughty (ask any one who knew him from his days as a solicitors clerk or when he was a long distance runner)
It seems that his arrogance has grown over the years, I wonder how he relates to his constituents. I understand that he wanted to be leader of the BLP after Owen quit/was dethroned? We would have a field day on the blogs.
-
Thanks Sargeant, missed Crusoe’s point on the man who wears many hats.
A corollary to the same point is the influence he has had in moulding Dale Marshall. It is interesting the number of times Dale Marshall used references to George Payne to make examples on Sunday night. Marshall we all know operates in the law firm of George W Walton before being elected to government and after demitting government..
-
If the members of the BLP had showed collective integrity or exhibited an ounce of transparency and accountability while in power then people MAY have actually given them an ear on this issue. Sad to say they (and their leaders) didn’t…what they are accusing others of now was their blatant way of life while in power (generally speaking of course)…therefore, despite all the fuss over this issue by the LOB, it will be business as usual regardless of who holds the reins….poor Barbados.
-
The Opposition is scheduled to host another political meeting at Haggatt Hall this Sunday. It appears Mia is going after Minister Lashley on this issue. Time will tell if she picked correctly for reasons Observing above has alluded. Minister Michael Lashley will be a hard nut to crack given the good reputation he still enjoys. She picked the CLICO issue to bring a no-confidence and that seems to have petered. Interesting times ahead.
-
I have no idea where she is going with this. This foolishness about respect for parliament coming from her is laughable. The estimates debate shows here threatening the authority of speaker in words or deed, several times, which escalate into her expulsion , a sitting our two later. Who does she think she is?
-
@Observing, could not be better said than that. Bang on.
@ Sargeant / David,
Remember there were those who indicated that Marshall was the one who should be leader. Maybe Marshall, if he ever becomes top dog, will make Payne GG.
RFLMAO.
-
On the point of the Leader of Opposition calling for the ‘budget’.
Remember when Owen basically considered the budget irrelevant, seems everyone forgets.
What did Owen call it then, when he deferred it and called his presentation something else?
Barrow, Tom, St.John and Richie all adhered fairly strictly to the March dates.
It was the last administration that eliminated.
As Observing says, a case of ‘do as I say, not as I do’?’
-
It looks like Mia is not listening to persons in her party who are telling her that this issue is going nowhere.
This may have something to do with David Thompson’s illness with this increase in public meetings .It is still three years to go before the next election because I do not think the DLP will make the same mistake again in calling an election before the time. She is basically looking for something to get persons to recognize her as a capable leader. She is failing.
Some in the BLP are smiling because they want Owen to return as leader because they feel they cannot win with her as leader.
I do not believe that they could win with either as leader.
It is only two years and things are still fresh in the public’s mind.
Noel Lynch refusing to sit in the same studio as Loveridge. Talk about arrogance. He walked out of one of those studios when asked about his increase wealth. Said he is finished with politic and now is back seeking office again. What can he speak to me about?
Can anyone remember when Owen Arthur said he had a letter on his desk from the FBI? Was he lying? Was Mia aware that he was lying? Is it that politician can tell lies outside of parliament at will and it is not a problem?
Barbadians are not taking on the BLP. They have made some adjustments and getting on with their lives. Sometimes I want to know if the country the BLP speaks of is the same Barbados where I see Barbadians just enjoying life.
The social services are still functioning. The summer camps helped the parents who sent their children save money, schools start next week and parents do not have to bother about bus fare. Remember a family of five children going to school who take the bus was $37.50 a week.
As I pass by Cheffete Black Rock I am amazed that it is full every night with persons eating and children playing. That is replicated all over the island especially on weekends.
Things maybe rough but people are surviving. -
Your comment is awaiting moderation.
@ fair play
“Remember a family of five children going to school who take the bus was $37.50 a week.”
that is crap bajan mothers today have an average of 2 children i would stretch it to 3. certainly NOT 5, we are not like the uneducated past families. -
Smooth Chocolate
A mother of two who works at a gas station and carry home $250.00 under the BLP and now the DLP would be out $15.00.This could go towards lunch money under the DLP.
It is the educated Barbadian women who cannot complain about immigrants coming in to work because these women contributed to our aging population by not getting more children. There are going to so many educated women without children in the next fifty years that only immigrants will be looking after them in their old age in nursing homes.
By the way,you are more educated but not more intelligent than the past mothers.
Most modern day mothers have now become fast food freaks and you are not as strong either to get so many children. -
Are we in a recession? According to Minister Lashley 200 Coverly houses have been sold!
-
The no confidence motion and the NHC issue appear to be part of a long-term strategy to dismantle the much touted ‘squeaky clean’ image of the DLP. Without this how do they differentiate themselves? It is clear they can’t compete on economic management and the current state of the economy offers no help.@ Adrian Hinds
You seem to have a personal vendetta against the woman. -
Mia is insisting on something (Lashley’s resignation or firing) that everyone in Barbados know WILL NOT HAPPEN…against a minister who is performing (or at least seemingly so) and who has public, political, party and ministry support…based on an allegation of misleading the house, the comments of an obviously disgruntled ex-chairwoman who happens to be a DLP member and a suspicion of impropriety. This is a politically unwise move for her and the BLP at this particular time on their stated grounds (especially considering the public’s image of the 14 year housing record of the BLP). I believe that her stature will only diminish nationally and internally if she persists. She had a better wicket to bat on with CLICO, even though that wicket really wasn’t the best for her either. How far she’s willing to take and push the Lashley issue (clearly with no backup plan or any further evidence of wrongdoing and maladministration) just may give a glimpse into the type of leader we could expect if we were considering another change in 2-3 years . I sense a backfire coming in the near future. The ball(s) are in her court.
-
The sheep are lost and looking for their shepherd.AS of recent Tony Marshall wrote an open letter to the PM. . As of now I haven”t read or seen a published reply. The country is l0oking for leadership. This could be the undoing for the DLP. Time for someone to speak up
-
Recently a social commentator voiced the opinion that the housing drive currently being pushed in Barbados is unsustainable and is poised for a market collapse similar to that of the US and other places. This is likely to occur sooner than we think given the prevailing depressed economic conditions. Comments?
-
Most probable with high unemployment and people unable to make their monthly payments it is most likely that the housing markey would collapse.
Also of the concern is the nonchalent way in which the DLP is handling the economy. The DLP is also in freefall and the BLP is taking all possible advantage in helping them. In recent days I have heard more mouthings from the BLP than the DLP. Some one needs to step up to the plate. -
@Enuff :
Adrian Hinds
You seem to have a personal vendetta against the woman.I do not like the woman, however last night while discussing politics it became a clear to me that a Prime Minister Mia Mottley has significant benefits, so from now on I will be supporting her.
-
Explosive meeting by BLP tonight in Haggatt Hall with large crowd in attendance. The DLP took some damaging body blows from Trevor Prescod, Kerry Symonds, Liz Thompson, and elder statesman Owen Arthur.
Mia Mottley delivered a STINGING indictment against Michael Lashley. Surely, he has to respond now to some very serious charges.
-
What an idiot your gatherings are declining week by week<
According to you with such hot issues according to you why have the public not been hype by your self serving need for power and control ?
-
Hartley you are in self-denial. The crowds are getting bigger, obviously, and they are weighing the evidence. They are understanding the dirtiness going on behind the scenes.
You can call me an idiot if you like, but you LIED no end to get the government, now you have to continue LYING to keep it, even in PARLIAMENT.
MICHAEL LASHLEY HAS TO GO. And YOU TOO. -
Did Mottley and Opposition bring anything new to this issue than what is currently in the public place?
-
@Adrian Hinds
What are those benefits be? -
Afforable housing? For whom?
You are being asked to pay approx $289,000.00 for a two-bedroom housing with 660 sq feet of living space of which the garage accounts for one-third of the space.
This house is on 2,500 sq feet of land.
Do the Mathematics people you are paying $438.00 per sq ft for your house.
The labour cost componet of your house is about 40 % when building a concrete block house. The houses at Villages are not using blocks since all the walls and floors are done in an automated setting and transported to the site. It threfore stands to reasoning that these houses should be considerably cheaper than a house done with block work because you donot have to pay anyone for laying bricks and plastering.
I built my house four years ago, 3-bedroom 2-bathroom 1,912 sq ft costing $285,000 which works out at $149.00 per sq ft of living space.
Compare these figures and decide for yourselves if these are really afforable.
Bear in mind that your have to get a mortgage to pay for this house.
Check BPWCCU mortgage calculator to deem how much your monthly payment would be.A mortgage for 15-years monthly amount is $2,641.00
for 20-years monthly amount is $ 2,2,87.52
for 25-years monthly amount is $ 2,092.65.Now compare these mortgage payments which the average public servant or private sector salary and determine how many of them would be able to qualify for these “Afforable Houses”
Disappointed
-
The question is how long will the Barbadian public put up with an ailing Prime Minister with things not forecast to get any better. They will mean him no harm and on the contrary wish him only the best, but they will consider their own lives as well.
What’s your best estimate Hartley? November to January?
-
@BITTL
Are you the PM’s Dr. What really is his problem …… I mean what has he been diagnosed with?
You seem to know something we don’t!
Pray tell!!!! I DEMAND TO KNOW!!!!!!!!!
LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL!!!!
-
I have come to the conclusion that most of the BLP supporters who speaks about PM Thompsons’s health on this blog and say they which him the best are not being sincere. He is back now and a different line of attack has started, like he is ailing and can’t run the country and I hope that God give him a long life even if he is ailing.
We are here today and gone tomorrow. It is not our will but the grace of God. Just check the accidents last week. Some youngster were happy one minute and death occurred the next minute. -
Like ALL of us at some time or another, Mr. Thompson’s greatest need I think, would be repentance. And not only for the massive deception that was perpetrated by the DLP on the people of this country for the sake of winning a government at all costs, and for the sake of so-called “change”, but maybe he should call up Mr.Arthur and privately express his regret for ridiculing him with the comment that his (Arthur’s) shelf life has expired like an old carton of milk.
With regard to your comment FAIR PLAY, that “Some youngster were happy one minute and death occurred the next minute,” just look at how suddenly things can change. NOT A SINGLE ONE OF US IS GUARANTEED THE NEXT BREATH!! As the P.M. said, he is here by the grace of God.
Only a few days ago, Mr. Carson C. Cadogan was similarly ridiculing David of BU, that he (David) might not be around for the next elections, because people like him were falling like nine pins from diseases like prostate cancer, heart attacks, kidney failure and the like. Shame on you for such nasty arrogance and a glaring lack of sensitivity -
@Fair Play | August 28, 2010 at 9:00 PM |
modern women are more educated and intelligent that the women of the past who used to get so much children for a man who had other families in nearby neighbour hood. They thought that the epitome of success was having ‘Mrs’ before your name whether the man beat you or not. get real by the time they were 50 they looked like 70
-
On the note of mortgage payment. most banks will not lend you the money unless the mortgage payment is less the 50-45% of your net salary. In the states that can go as high as 75% but we all saw what that got them. so you if your single or a couple you best be earning at least 4500+ toward the better part of 5000 monthly as a combined net salary after nis and paye.
-
Anonymous | August 29, 2010 at 11:35 PM | Explosive meeting by BLP tonight in Haggatt Hall with large crowd in attendance.
Reading some of the comments attributed to Mia Mottley, contained in the Barbadostoday online paper, I get the impresson of someone fighting to keep their political position.
Who is going after Mia Mottley? why the remarks about “perishing?”
[I know they will come after me , but I have told you that I will take comfort from the words of Esther “If I perish I perish”]
THIS AT A TIME WHEN SHE IS UNDER FIRE FOR HER LEADERSHIP OF HER PARTY.At another time she said the following
[….The system is transparent, that system is fair, and that system requires accountability, regardless to who you are, from the head in this country to the lowliest worker in this country …….and this is a matter that will go with me whether I am a member of a political party or an ordinary citizen of Barbados. ]SHE WAS UNDER FIRE OVER THE CONTROVERY SURROUNDING THE 14 ILLEGAL IMMIGRANTS WORKING AT KESIGNTON OVAL.
Whenever things are not going her way she assumes the role of a victim. Owen Arthur told us to cease and settle that Mia was deeply hurt over the homo debate fall out. She went on the call in to tell Barbados that she was tired of all the talk about their wage increse. Someone needs to tell her she is not a victime. However I want her to become the PM of Barbados. IT will be a benefit to Barbados no matter what she does.
-
Lashley and cabinet gave Jada a 99 year lease on 220,000 sq. ft of land at $100.00 per year and permission to contruct commercial units for rent without any provision for the bajan taxpayer & gov’t to share in the monies given that the land was provided at peppercorn rent.
____________________________________________And Owen Arthur and Mia Mottley in December 2007….mere days before the 2008 General Election…..gave the same JADA / Bjerkham beachfront property ( where Dover Convention Centre once stood ) a 99 year lease at $ 3,000.00 per year ( yea , that’s right 3 thousand dollars ) .
Question : was this development to house middle/ lower income Barbadians OR to build conduminiums for the rich and famous ?
Barbadians need to go to Dover and see for themselves….do not forget to take Mia Mottley and William duguid for the photo op !
-
Education has obviously been wasted in this country, when you add up the savings in busfare and camps and put it against the rising cost of living, increase in utilities, fuel, all ordered by this DLP gov’t and fail to give reduction on Vat on utility businesses. Now tell me how are the poor better off. Stupsee. Use some sense.
Bajans who have not lost their jobs or reduction in hours are still spending, what you are not seeing are businesses crying out that people are not spending as much per person; number of businesses can’t make payments and turning off people little by little, including gov’t.
-
What Michael Lashley has to answer is:
Why did you give Jada gov’t land at 3.00 per sq. ft but did not ensure in the pricing that those savings were passed to Barbadians? $438 per square foot is criminal.
Why did you give Jada power of attorney over the land and in addition allow them to use it to raise money for the project? Then your claims that it was a joint venture because gov’t did not have the money but the joint partner did is another lie, because NHC land backed the loan and is the one at risk for the project not Jada. They have risked NOTHING. Could you not have done that with small contractors?
Your financial arrangements gives gov’t less than 10m while Jada gets 350m in profit, how do you explain that?
Is Ms. Mottley’s claim that having lost Clico as a finan cier you now need to make new friends to finance the next election?
Is it true that you are getting 5000-10000 for yourself as a kickback?
For shame, Mr. Lashley could you do no better than this?
-
But how can Dale Marshall be so vocal in calling for the removal of Minister Lashley, when he a AG in the last government responsible for the building contracts for the new Dodds Prisons, did not know if the Quotation figure he cited to the House , was in US or Bajans Dollars? That merited instant removal.
-
Your exactly right on this writing!!