• Why was a gas station constructed at the Villages at Coverley without Town Planning permission?
  • Why can’t Mark Maloney, the main driver of the Coverley project,  give a coherent explanation?
  • Why has RUBIS allowed its brand to remain on an illegal undertaking? Is this not breaching any of their operating standards?

27 responses to “RUBIS Gas Station at Villages, Coverley in Barbados Constructed Without Planning Permission”

1. What has been NHC’s involvement in this? Remember NHC is a joint venture partner to Housing Concepts SRL, the developer.

2. David
    Is this gas station constructed in land owned by Housing Concepts SRL or is build upon the lands leased to Housing Concepts SRL by the NHC?

3. @Norst

Based on a BU blog posted in 2010, these are NHC lands. See strange arrangement between NHS and Coverley.

The Unusual Covenant At Coverley Approved By The National Housing Corporation

by David on August 23, 2010 in Blogging Edit

Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10

156 CommentsContinue Reading →

4. Norst,

You think we can get Dennis Kellman to answer your question? He knows everything about everything. As he likes to put it…………..I am a member of cabinet so I have collective responsibility.

There again, he never answers anything connected to anything under his responsibility.

5. I think the most important question which has not been ask is are they any other buildings at Coverley which don’t have T&P permission?

How come this story is in the news and no one from said T&P have not addressed it?

do we really want to know the answers to these questions? when we do what will we do?

6. @David

You cant be serious? The town square and the amenities were all advertised as part of the great master plan for Coverley. I still believe there was outline permission. Now if ALL planning applications with supporting documents were readily available on the TPD website, we would not be here guessing. Stupse.

@eniff

Explain Maloney’s ignorance when asked.

Explain why the station is just there, not operating.

Explain why the T&P Cummins has not unpicked teeth.

7. I will try sending an email tomorrow to Brasstacks.

That would flush the T&P Cummins out. Only when Mr Bynoe went on Brasstacks and lit a fire up his tail that Mr Cummins think he had to say something.

We will see after the email if that would cause him to ‘unpick” his teeth!

8. @ David

Maloney is a maguffy? lol

9. maguffy or peewee herman?

10. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

David January 19, 2015 at 7:47 PM #

@Norst

Based on a BU blog posted in 2010, these are NHC lands. See strange arrangement between NHS and Coverley.

The Unusual Covenant At Coverley Approved By The National Housing Corporation

by David on August 23, 2010 in Blogging Edit

Pages: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10

156 Comments • Continue Reading → @@@

NHC dont have no land DAVID , and no land titles nor deed nor conveyance or transport,, that crook as lawyer was removed from that , talking about statutory deeds he made Crooks ass Michael Lashley ,, We done post the lawyers list, and will post more to show the truth , This bull shit got to stop,
    WHY you all think 4 seasons not up and built,? We have the deed and no clear title so they took the money out the FUND TO PAY BACK THE BUILDERS SO THEY DONT BLOW THE HORN ON THEM ,

DLP AND BLP DONE ,,, THE CUP IS NEXT,, MIA NEED TO BE IN JAIL FOR BRITTONS HILL CAVE IN MURDERS 5 ALL 5 ,

11. But why are we so surprised about this latest development in Coverley? This is not the first time that one of these developers has got away with murder.

12. John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES. Avatar
    John Hanson 1781-1782- I SERVE 1788- 1792 BARBADOES.

Some are Surprise Colonel Buggy. They sleep to long and take to much crap ,Now they wake up and see the mess around them , asking questions and get no answers, No true Media in Barbados , No one ask them questions , the DBLP government make statements base on the best lies these crooks can come up with , Like crabs in hot water with the lid on, they looking to get out,

13. Waiiit Hanson where in Barbados you don’t “own”? I am very suspicious of anyone that “owns” half of Barbados, as it is unlikely some kind of questionable deals did not occur.

14. Alert, Alert, Barbadians were informed today 20/01/2015 the ministry of the environment is waiting on Town Planning to approve the installation of a semi automatic gate to replace the ramshackle sluice gate at Graeme Hall/St.Lawrence. The environmentalist will be so happy.

15. @David

Lol….and why exactly would Town Planning have to approve the installation of a “semi automatic gate to replace the ramshackle sluice gate at Graeme Hall/St. Lawrence”? Is it “Development” as defined by The Town and Country Planning Act, Cap. 240 or simply a new development in a long running saga.

This is even more ridiculous than the prison having to do an EIA and get planning permission to farm on land already classified as agricultural.

16. @Nosdradamus

We have to ask the Townplanner.

17. pieceuhderockyeahright Avatar

@ Nostradamus

An EIA is required to examine if the crops and pesticides proposed by Major Nurse (or whatever the post for the Prison Warden is) are approved agricultural crops and crop treatment less the staff of Dodds, and incarcerated prison population, will not be exclusively planting marihuana.

In other words, if the land proximate to the intended prison farmlands has been or will be potentially bought by say Miss Ram, (she who has already built a similar prison structure – Casa Grande) then permission to develop this customary rehabilitative farming facility, which potentially can decrease the provisions now being ordered by the prison by friends of certain people (note that I did not say Syrup mixes for the Ministry of Education) said permission will be granted

18. @David
    When and where were Barbadians informed that the ministry of the environment is waiting on Town Planning to approve the installation of a semi automatic gate to replace the ramshackle sluice gate at Graeme Hall/St. Lawrence?

19. Leader of government business made the announcement on the floor of an Opposition-less House yesterday.

20. @ David
    Boss..
    It is standard practice in the Public service, when called to account for ongoing inactivity, to claim that the file is some place awaiting action. It is an OLD trick…(as you well know)

Next time some senior person ask about the gate, it will be at the Ministry of Health awaiting their comments on the likely impact of mosquito breeding that can result.
    …then the labour department will need to be consulted as to the possible dangers of operating the gate automatically
    …then a study by MTW of whether solar energy can be used to power the gate
    …then…..some other shiite
    …Until the questions stop and we get back to normal liming….

21. pieceuhderockyeahright January 21, 2015 at 8:34 AM #

@ Nostradamus

An EIA is required to examine if the crops and pesticides proposed by Major Nurse (or whatever the post for the Prison Warden is) are approved agricultural crops and crop treatment less the staff of Dodds, and incarcerated prison population, will not be exclusively planting marihuana.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    I thought that the prisoners were only interested in planting those relatively short pea trees , which were first introduced in Barbados , on the prison farm at Waterfords, where you have to bend over to pick the peas.

22. @ Pieceuhderock

You done know that if prisoners are ever required to do agricultural (or any other labour) out in the hot sun …then WARDENS will also be required to be out dey in de sun wid dum too….true?

OK …so if YOU was a big belly warden, who vex already causin’ Nurse feel he is a brig-a-deer, you ain’t going to refer the matter for ‘further consultations’ until your retirement is in place…?

BTW…
    Has there been an environmental impact study done yet to determine the possible threat to the local centipede population by prisoners tramping up and down the ground farming?

wunna alright yuh… 🙂

23. My! My! The Town and Country Planning Department and the Ministry of Transport and Works wasted no time in demolishing and removing the unauthorised construction of Mona Atkins’ food stall at Coverley in Christ Church, just a chicken leg throw away from the other unauthorised construction of a gas station in Coverley Concentration Camp.

24. Mitch Sassoon Avatar

Last evening, outside of Tyrol Cot, the Leader of the Opposition made the claim that the developers at Coverley had been directed on two (2) occasions to remove the entrance/exit from the shoulder of the highway. She further claimed that on the date appointed for Ministry of Public Works to demolish the entrance/exit a call was received instructing the Mnistry that their equipment should not be used for that purpose, PERIOD.

I want to know more about the tragic accident there on Friday afternoon in which a 11 year old boy lost his life. I want to know if the unsuspected mother ran into the barrier/entrance/exit and that is what cause the car to flip and kill her son.

25. I want to know also. I really want to know!

26. So far we have not heard any official report to explain if the Coverley protrusion caused the accident.

27. When do we ever hear the official version of the causes of accidents? The last one I can remember hearing details of was Joe’s River!