The Unusual Covenant At Coverley Approved By The National Housing Corporation

156 responses to “The Unusual Covenant At Coverley Approved By The National Housing Corporation”
-
seems item 12 on page 7 is contradicting what in the coverley ads in the papers and what coverley covenants on the website. coverly ads in paper state clothes line can hanged up in garage. on these that no clothes lines is allowed. on the website they are allowed once you get nhc permission. On here no antenna or satellite dishes or windows ac unit are allowed. on the web site those approve by nhc are allowed all other are not. and the newspaper has that directtv and multichoice are allowed. they didn’t discuss window ac units.
now which one is the rule your going to have to live by. seem to be a confusing mess to me.
-
Is this a gated community?
http://www.panoramio.com/photo/39750216 -
I understand now why our lawyers take 10 years to finish a job which should be done in 10 days.
They spend too much time writing goobledygook – sorry I mean sh*te.
J a bright fella has a great idea.
No man, woman, student, person etc. shall be permitted or admitted to the faculty of law unless such person has passed or attained a grade 1 in BOTH Emglish language AND literature.
All law school teachers, educators,professors whether they be of the male female or alternate gender who do no so poseess a pass at grade 1 in both Engish Language AND English LIterature shell be fired at once.
Then maybe the new generation of lawyers will write in English
Good.
-
@ Bosun
And this is what commentators are bragging about? -
My family make velly velly good cloth dryer equipment … This is trade … no? Why you think Lloyd Sanford in East, maybe you think he make business for small island people …. ho ho how wong you are … … … no?
-
Funny how the most corrupt govโt foisted on this Nation is now trying to pretend that they are knights in shining armour what a load of bull.
Ask others why they charged a West Coast owner $ 100,000.00 to set up a meeting with the former Prime Minister.
Or why they arranged a meeting at The Bush Bar with a Mr Chris Salt the owner of Portico in St James next door to The Escape and charged the gentleman $ 1,000,000.00 to obtain a Town and Country Planning Permission.
Hi guys these people have not changed their ways they are just worried about what more the DLP will uncover about their time in office that is unpleasant to their souls if they have any such thing as souls.
-
Do you realise that at page 4 of this document, there is an attempt to determine what the private individual can or cannot do especially as it relates to ‘morality’ determined not by the tenant. Would I be correct in asserting that if a woman was involved with a married man and while this is not necessarily illegal, it is immoral according to the ‘Christian’ right, that the tenant (either the male or female) would be in contravention of the covenant? I wonder if persons realise the full ramifications of what they may be signing?
-
@Opposition is at sea | August 24, 2010 at 12:07 AM. “Ask others why they charged a West Coast owner $ 100,000.00 to set up a meeting with the former Prime Minister.”
Can you prove this statement to the satisfaction of a court of law? If so, please share the supporting evidence with us all.
@J. Your inability to understand the document posted is as a result of your own deficiency of education (particularly in English) not that of the lawyer concerned. You must not blame others for your own failings.
-
We have heard the ‘evidence’ used by the BLP Opposition to prosecute Michael Lashley. BU is on record agreeing that Lashley has some questions to answer but does that make him guilty of what the BLP has charged? BU at this point believes Lashley’s vulnerability in this issue has been his naivete, exuberance and zeal to move ahead with his housing objective. A lack of an effective PR posture by him has not helped matters. What has been the involvement of the cabinet sub committee in this matter?
To attack Lashley in the way the BLP has done exposes their naked attempt to practice Westminster politics. BU observes there is now an attempt to stick nick names to Lashley no doubt to punch holes in his popularity. Can Liz ‘Bumblebee’ Thompson and Gline ‘wuk fuh wuk’ Clarke compare? Another distraction which the DLP government is forced to deal with at this time. Such is the nature of politics in Barbados, same ole, same ole.
Regarding the comments by ‘Opposition is at sea’ it seems to be predictable behaviour in Barbados politics. Go to the mud!
-
If there was a problem, send me an email. I was not sure what happened there.
-
WIV and HH
I might have missed something. Accusations about 700m in corruption were made before. Where is the evidence since in office. You must have some by now. Produce a copy of something, where is th einvestigation at least, or auditor generals results. It has to be more than talk. Mottley produced documents I only received one, trying to get a copy of the other. I know contractors who have repeatedly indicated the fact that gov’t has given them no work, who hav eose of the inside story. Bring some facts.
What we really need is for Mr. Lashley to come clean and answer the charges, and not just about Constant but about the financial rape that took place at Coverely.
-
@Bajan Truth
Check the final comment.
Given the relationship between the two blogs, trying to keep the comments tight.
-
Yesterday I passed by DaCosta Mannings Tire Centre in Warrens on the other side of the road from the main store. Six truckswere lined up for sale obviously used trucks that were repossessed. Was introduced to with another contractor whose buddy had informed me that the finance company had repossessed his truck. He confirmed it. This group of DLP lead by Thompson does not care for small people. Those homes built at Coverley cannot be afforded by the poor. Small contractors in bare trouble. How is this consistent with policy?
Stuart last night if you listen carefully was indicating to Lashley publicly that he must change policy and include small contractors. He thanked Marilyn Rice, did not accuse her or repudiate her, interesting.
In the paper this morning, Rice and Audain confirm that the letter was an indicative term sheet for the loan. It is not a construction contract and now it turn out it is not even a finance contract.
-
You cannot ask for truth, full disclosure, and fair play, and then at the same time look to castigate Miss Mottley and others who deliver. You do a disservice to yourself by not acknowledging that we do in fact practice government under a westminster-styled system. It is combative, it is oppositional, and most of all it allows people to balance whether they have a government-in-waiting. I am shocked at your tirade, since one of the motivational factors for BU would be to get things out there; are you afraid or in some way discomforted by the fact that the DLP represents a grave disappointment to the people who rode the waves in a sea of change but are now needing to be rescued by the sailors they tossed aside? It is not about going to the mud; rather it is about going to the ant thou sluggard, consider her ways and be wise!
-
@Bajan Truth
Why are you harping on there not being a construction contract. That matter has been settled by Lashley’s admitting such is the case.
-
@George
If Mottley were simply exposing a violation of financial rules or process your comment would be worthy. The posture of the government has been to impute improper motive to Lashley in this matter.
BU has not forgotten the hundreds of million spent by the former government below the line away from the scrutiny of parliament aka BOLTs.
-
By the way BU readers,
I am hurt, disappointed, and let down that the acting Prime Minister appears to know more about the negative impacts of the recession (though he cautions on this nomenclature) on countries such as the UK, Canada, and the USA than he does on Barbados. God forbade that the ‘real’ Prime Minister has reason to take an extended leave anytime within the next couple of years (it would not be necessary thereafter), I wonder if he can again leave the reins to ‘backseat driver’ Mr. Freundel Stuart? I believe that the people elected the DLP and by their choice, the regime ought to be given every reasonable chance to govern, but may I ask at what time do we say enough is enough? Pressure has to be applied for the DEMS to do what they have been elected to do; surely it is not to cast blame nor is it to look at the vagaries of events in other places except that we use those lessons to direct our current proceedings and future paths. Perhaps you see exactly why it is becoming more imperative that this great little country be rescued. Unless someone can point to something brand new that is viable, the rescuers from the past will have to do the job much sooner rather than later. I can say, God bless the BLP.
-
@George
Agree with you Stuart has been less than stellar in the role thrusted upon him.
-
@David and Opposition is at Sea
No matter how hard I try to look at these accusations thrown at Lashley, I cannot sum them up to the point of calling for his resignation, or assign the level of concern that the opposition is STIRRING UP. In addition to these things I cannot treat to these accusations in a vacuum, I am constantly forced to look for best practices from which to be critical and for which a resolution can be drawn. When I do this and I look at what the noise makers have offered in the past, it is more, way much of the same. We would all be fools to let the BLP leads us unto a path of critical observation of the current government and not themselves when they were the government.It takes a special kind of dishonesty and lack of integrity for a soot filled set of pots to so vehemently call the kettle black.
-
Anthony Audain should first declare that he is a Barbados Labour Party operative. Then everyone would know to take what he is saying with a pound of salt. He is doing his masters bidding.
He is not impartial! Disregard what he is saying. -
The acting Prime Minister is playing his role well. The acting PM must be careful not to give the impression that he wants to permanently succeed the PM, and therefore his actions and his words have to be guided by this. It is not only what he intends, it is what the PM and other loyal collegues infers from him. The less said the better.
The tension borned, natured, blossomed and that is now in full bloom between Owen Arthur and Mia Mottley, has as its genesis, this carelessness of not appreciating the tender nature of being first amongst equals. -
Brathwaite
Pressure creats DIAMONDS.
-
The acting Prime Minister is playing his role well. The acting PM must be careful not to give the impression that he wants to permanently succeed the PM, and therefore his actions and his words have to be guided by this. It is not only what he intends, it is what the PM and other loyal colleagues infers from him. The less said the better.
The tension born, natured, blossomed and that is now in full bloom between Owen Arthur and Mia Mottley, has as its genesis, this carelessness of not appreciating the tender nature of being first amongst equals. They would love nothing more than to create a similar tussle in the DLP that is now evident in the BLP.Btw: have you seen the face book page of the BLP meeting in St.Lucy? the who is who of loyal Owen Arthur supporters were in full attendance. I saw a lot of look โa-like Miaโs but not her.
-
Corruption is endemic in our system. I bet that if a survey was done most responders would support a minister ” getting through”. Ministers, and high ranking public officers are expected to “have something”. Also ministers are expected to provide money for uniforms, weddings, funerals, rum and whiskey for the boys; pay light, telephone,water bills and the list goes on, including supporting a woman or two. The minister’s salary cannot support all of this. Money must come from somewhere.
Corruption is unavoidable among our politicians as long as we have a mendicant society.
Solution: Get rid of the mendicancy.
-
but if bolts so bad why the warrens towers being constructed under then . let not forget the 400 million green plant that they planning the build under bolt. one wonders what will be the final cost at that will be
-
But the Bees were accused, tried and sentenced to the Opposition. Ironically, the absence of a Contract, despite there being an MOU, was also at the centre of their conviction. The comments that are now appearing vindicate my view that capitulation and hypocrisy are rife.
-
Minister lashely-Thank You for my HOUSE!!! If I was waiting on Liz I would still be waiting!!!! Thank-You for looking out for single mothers!!!!
When you listen to the Barbados Labour Party, the voice in your
head will be saying, in the familiar words of the calypsonian, Lโil
Rick, โguh down, guh down, guh downโ. When you listen to the
Democratic Labour Party, the voice in your head will be saying
โdonโt stop down dey; come up, come up, come upโ.
As President Obama observed recently, if you want your car to go
forward the gear you use is โDโ. In Barbadian parlance, if you
want your car to โback-backโ, the gear you use is โBโ.
Ours is the better way! Ours is the way to the stars! -
@Anon
You cannot end the “mendicant society” without making changes to Westminster, and without coming to terms with what is liberal idiology, as it is practice, and the reality of Social Democrats in action.Big government need centralize power to rule which westminster gives, and a source to justify their continued growth and existance which mendicants give.
Mia Mottely once showed a video of her work in her consituency which left me wondering if there were any self sufficient people living in St. Michael North East.
-
@anthony
The Warrens projects have been born based on the economic need of the times hence the PPP initiative.
@enuff
You compare a 7 million project to that of the flyover which was the largest such project in our history?
-
Looks like the battle lines have been well and truly drawn on this issue.
It is now clear by the Minister’s own admission that the charge laid by Mrs Rice Bowen is true – there is no contract between the NHC and the contractor. (CLICOPROMAN)
It looks to me like the Minister has hung himself on his own petard.
Given the weight of the evidence, Barbadians will now decide whether he deliberately misled the House into believing there was a contract. When all the semantics are swept away did he or did he not LIE to Parliament?
This really is the crux of the matter. Many good intentions by many politicians before him have been shipwrecked on the reef of full disclosure.
Will the judgement of the people about his very poor judgement on this matter relegate him to that group?
Time will tell.
-
but you criticize bolt of the past and not criticize for the bolts to be. it the same bolt after all. the case was that we needed a prison and they got a prison. I guess warren west tower + coverly village will be helping to finacing port ferdinand
-
@Adrian
The political scientist maybe able to explain and understand the stereotypical role a deputy is expected to play. The urgency of now given the prevailing challenges may cause the pragmatists to expect more.
-
Adrian Hinds says: “The acting Prime Minister is playing his role well. The acting PM must be careful not to give the impression that he wants to permanently succeed the PM”.
What a load of baloney. The last thing thompson did before he left to go on sick leave was to make it clear that Stuart had full power to make any decisions neccesary to keep the flagging DLP ship afloat.
If he has to make decisions to recue this country or the DLP it cannot be seen by anyone as giving an impression of wanting to permanently succeed thompson. What utter nonsense.
Stuart’s less then “stellar” performance, according to David can more be attributed to the lack of support he is getting from his parliamentary collegues and senior members of the DLP.
-
David says: “Why are you harping on there not being a construction contract. That matter has been settled by Lashleyโs admitting such is the case”.
Well said David but Lashley LIED to Parliament. Infact it was clear that Lashley wanted Barbadians to believe that Rice-Bowen was lying in her report to the nation about the non-existance of a contract between the NHC and Clico. I feel he should resign from cabinet.
I can hear the hurt in your writings that this scandal is causing you David. It is hard to deal with a situation where the man in whom you place all your confidence can let you down so badly, especially if that man is the blue-eye boy upon whom the party has invested all its political currency.
David, you would do well to remove the emotionalism from your comments and deal with the principle of good governance.
-
@RR
You can pretend that you don’t understand the Prime Minister’s position in Westminster. It suites your purpose to so do, as it also suites your partisan purpose to suggest a singular reason for Stuart’s seemly hands off approach to leading. I will contend that he does not need to be seen as leading, in as much as Mia Mottley must be seen too, so as to have something for others to judge her suitability to maintain political leadership of the BLP. It cannot be said that the Deputy PM has any such aspirations at this time, and therefore there is no need to seen and heard at every turn.The PM comments to which you allude were designed more for the Citizen than it was for his loyal parliamentary colleagues. They would have already settled his temporary assention to the acting PM role by agreeing from the outset of this parliament that he would be given the Deputy PM role. Did you notice any fallout from that choice back in early 2008?
In political systems of all stripes no “smart” leader will choose a Deputy who can challenge him/her, except of course Owen. Now he has to destroy his deputy to remain relevant.
-
Are you guys really serious that Bajans will hold a political class member to account for lying to the House of parliament which in essence is lying to his/her fellow political class members? Wunnuh really think that parliament has such reverence and relevance amongst bajans that they would take up fire rage for one set of politicos against another? for lying? Who in that chamber took up fire-rage for any number of private citizens who name and reputation was dragged through the mud by Owen Arthur and others? chuspe look don’t make me laugh do!
-
@Royalrumble
So far based on what is in the public domain Lashley can be accused of making some mistakes but the BLPs position of imputing improper motives a political poppycock.
-
@Adrian Hinds | August 24, 2010 at 11:37 AM. You said, “…….no โsmartโ leader will choose a Deputy who can challenge him/her, except of course Owen. Now he has to destroy his deputy to remain relevant.”
Do you really think that when the chips are down the country will vote for Mia as PM? Or do you think Owen chose a leader to keep the seat warm for him? I like Mia, but, much as I like her as a person, I certainly don’t want to see her as PM. I would respectfully suggest that, although in principal you are correct, you re-think your example.
-
@Amused
I don’t have to re-think my position. It is born out of a deep understanding of the Westminster, which Mia understand very well. Unpopular people like Mia Mottley and Gordon Brown can only be leaders in such a system. In a system were a popular vote supervise by an electorial college type arrangement, Mia would not even concider attempting to lead the country. Unless you live in her constituency you have abosolutely no say in her becoming the PM. Under our current system and embolden by the BLP laws which does not allow a rank and file vote for who becomes the political leader, All she has to do is make it to parliament and she has as good a chance as any. The Leader in our system be it the LOTO or the PM is encourage to use patronage to gain and maintain the loyalty of their fellow parliamentarians. This is an easy task for Mia. She has bought and paid her way into parliament much the same way Pappa Motts have done, what is an extra 8,9,10 people in parliament? -
If lashley cannot prove that there was a contract then he must resign for misleading the house!
-
Adrian let me tell you something.
IF THOMPSON CAN BECOME A PRIME MINISTER IN BARBADOS THEN MS MOTTLEY CAN DO THE SAME TIMES OVER. She is brilliant. He is not. She has the political competence to run this country. Judging from his performance so far as Prime Minister he seriously lacks the competence.
Thompson has distinguished himself as a liar. He built his political career on lying. Had he been vying for office in Great Britian or the USA and told the lie he told in the Queens about the “secret deal” with IMF there is no where he could have shown his face in political circles again.
Infact his questionable association and underhand dealings with Clico Barbados and its subsequent financial callapse is enough to commence his political demise. But only in Barbados can persons of the likes of Thompson rise to high office in spite of their dubious public conduct.
-
@RR
Wrong again. More drivel not supported by any facts what so ever. If Thompson were vying for leadership in the US were popularly elected leadership is a practice he would beat her per polling done on popularity between the two in Barbados.
In Britain where the party leader must seek the mandate from the rank and file of the major parties he would once again beat her hands down, for he is the only one that has sought and got a mandate from the rank and file his party.Mottley’s so called brilliance is yet to be proven. Actions speak louder than words, and we cannot speak to any activity in any level of detail in the various ministries she has held over the past 14 years in government to convey with any believable confidence this brilliance. Her penchant for talking has not produce much results. Even in talking let us look at the PM closing speech in the last estimates exercise where Mottley after rising on 5 point of orders and one point of privilege was left looking real foolish by Thompson.
If she suh brilliant why can’t she as yet secure her leadership of the BLP?
-
@RR
Why don’t you admit the real reason Mottley encourage Owen to declare their assets was to signal the rest of the BLP parliamentarians that she had a large amount of funds with which to buy their alliegiance. Um aint work. -
The DLPโs once perfect PR machinery is heading for the political junk yard. At every stage now they are failing to keep the once well greased machinery together.
Take for example their PR on Thompsonโs condition. About two weeks ago Stuart was heard to say that he had heard from Thompson and that he was doing well and would be back to work. In his pathetic address to the just concluded assembly of political misfits he said, โEarlier this year we were all made aware that a treacherous illness had taken hold of this Partyโs beloved Presidentโฆ That illness has now soften his resonanceand slowed his mobilityโ.
Someone please help me to understand what is really going on here. Two weeks ago he was doing well and coming back to work soon. Now the description of his illness is one that suggest that he may never return to his office at Bay Street. Which statement is true.
-
Are these houses (i.e. at Coverley) worth the asking price? I have estimated that at $333 200 for the 3 bedroom house, one is paying for the land at $25/ sq ft and for the house at $250/ sq ft! These are prices normally found in high end real estate and not that of mass construction projects. Does the DLP realise that the situation at Coverley will actually cause an overall increase in house prices? At least one house seller has referenced Coverley as justification for the exorbitant price requested for his property! Covenants or no covenants, Coverley is a high priced ghetto! Only in existing ghettos will the town and country planning office allow houses to be so close together.
-
This set of covenants is an attempt to stop what is a built ghetto from looking like a ghetto. It is an attempt to justify the high price of the houses. Can one rely on the NHC to enforce these prohibitions? The track record of the NHC is poor in these matters e.g. in the case of existing estates, rents have not been collected and repairs not done in a timely manner if at all. Culturally many of these provisions will not be accepted. Can one realistically see NHC stopping someone from playing their music loudly after 10:00 pm or insisting that clothes may not be dried on a line outdoors at the back of the house?
The DLP promised to bring legislation to preserve agricultural land. Not only has it not passed the legislation it has accelerated the loss of agricultural land to housing in St.Lucy, St.George and Christ Church. Bajans should get ready for the big sell out of land in St John next.
-
‘You compare a 7 million project to that of the flyover which was the largest such project in our history?’Disappointing and vacillatory.
-
Adrian wrote:
1.He would once again beat her hands down, for he is only one that has sought and got a mandate from the rank and file his party.
2.Mottleyโs so called brilliance is yet to be proven.
3.If she suh brilliant why canโt she as yet secure her leadership of the BLP?
Point #1. This is hug wash again Adrian because no where could Thompson be able to hand pick a handful of white-mout Dems and carry them down to Downing Street to change the constitution so he could have his way.
Adrian donโt let me have to ask David to publish on this blog the leaflet describing thompsonโs character by Stuart. I HAVE IT.Point #2. Has Thompson demonstrated his brilliance to this country? Maybe he has impressed you because small minds are easily flattered but in case you are not aware Thompson is considered a loser in Barbados. Just read the comments of this regionโs intellectuals on the CSME debate and you would see what they think him.
Point #3. In case you were out of the island at the time the parliamentary group, as set out in our constitution, met at 111 Roebuck and reaffirmed Ms. Mottley as the defacto leader of the BLP. She did not have to change our constitution to get that support.
Your undies are showing Adri. Cover up.
-
I must admit, I have seen nothing yet that seems like an issue the minister should resign or face sanction over. I think it is also clear that coverley is a middle income project. I think Bim is in urgent need of middle income housing projects.
-
Does anyone really believe that this whole matter rises to the level where a Minister needs to resign? Clearly a document was signed which signalled an intention to engage in a business matter. Whether one calls that a contract or not is debatable. However it is not like there is no record at all of the NHC entering into this relationship.