The Unusual Covenant At Coverley Approved By The National Housing Corporation

156 responses to “The Unusual Covenant At Coverley Approved By The National Housing Corporation”
-
@RR
you are clearly out of your depth. Please remember that you said the following[ Had he been vying for office in Great Britian or the USA and told the lie he told in the Queens about the โsecret dealโ with IMF there is no where he could have shown his face in political circles again.]
I demonstrated how elections are conducted in these two countries. In one country, polling figures is a huge decider, in the other the potential leaders have to be selected by their party membership. In both situation at home in Barbados Thompson out does Mia. He polled better that she has, and he was elected to be the political leader by a larger number of persons than Mia. Further to this you spoke specifically to LIEING as a disqualifier from being elected. Again you are wrong. Clinton lied about his affair with Monica in so doing he perjured himself a big no no in this country yet he went on to win a second term. Inspite of his defying the British people by going to war he won his last election. The examples you provided to bolster your claim that Mia is a better choice than Thompson has not proven your case, and the prove is there for all to see. In opposition Thompy was the undisputed LOTO (when he wanted it) in office as PM he is first amongst his equal, even in sickness he is clearly still the Leader. Your Brilliant contender cannot bost of such accomplishments.
The truth is I believe, were it not for westminster, and we had a system for popularly electing our Leader Owen Arthur would be that Leader.
-
RR
Minister Lashley is a paragon of excellence in the housing arena.
Too bad in your long fourteen years of occupation your side could not find anyone of his quality.
Don’t point me to clyde Mascol, he was a disaster. Have you heard the latest news, the units in Tweedside will soon be handed over to the tenants. Wow, from 2003 your Barbados Labour Party indicated interest in a housing complex in Tweedside but could never pull it off. I wonder why? Incompetence maybe? -
The Worlds recession was not created by the DLP.
In the USA we expect 1 million more homeowners in foreclosures by 2011.
I feel that there was too many get quick schemes by the BLP .
The lands were inflated look this happened in places like California which is bankrupt.
Barbados developed and prices were driven up where only wealthy foreigners could own land here unless you had it in your family to be inherited .
The Bubble has burst world-wide now look at all the beachfront properties that look like ghost towns on the west coast .
You drive by and not a single light on in some of the places. Look at the for sale signs .
The prices they are asking are what the get quick rich schemes require . This was done by the previous administration INFLATING the prices not this one.
Some for their own personal gains I assure you.
Barbados is in a recession this has to do more with the home crisis in the USA and inflating prices sure doesn’t help Barbados either in the long run under the previous Administration.
Mr.David Thompson inherited a bloody mess some without paper trails …
for example a whole file from Hardwood housing is missingGems of Barbados. ABC Highway over-costs, Velco, Hardwood housing fiasco.
Now some of the same key BLP components said that BS and T should not sold to outside investors?
When they were in agreement for BNB to be sold to Trinidad’s Republic Bank where this key BLP person is a chairman of BNB it was ok to, at first in March of 2003, let Republic bank limited acquire 57 percent of shares by September 2003 RBL owned 65.1 percent of BNB.
Then the same key BLP person was the chairman of ICBL ( Insurance Corporation of Barbados limited which like BNB is not owned by Barbadian’s all under the BLP but sold to a Bermuda firm Bermuda Fire and General.
This same person who wanted to put together a local consortium to buy B S And T on his blog saying Barbados shouldn’t sell out why is it he personally helped Barbados do just that with BNB and also ICBL ., I mean with the BLP is it do as I say and not do as I do.
I mean this seems like this BLP is a bunch of walking contradictions and examples of hypocrisy at the very best led by two scrondrels in Mia and Owen.
-
it is obvious that it could not be a contract. any clown could see that it was written FROM Clico TO National Housing Corporation. Contracts are not done like that. they use the word BETWEEN, AND, AGREEMENT. Mr Lashley could only be an idiot to even attempt to put that crap for even the simple minded to view
-
Illiteracy is alive and well. 97% literacy……..wtf ever!!
-
To all the BLP hardcore supporters on this blog. There is no groundswell of support for Michael Lashley to resign. He is not resigning so move to plan B.
I have a problem with Coverley covenant in that in 2010 when the world is trying to go green and Barbados say they want to go green they have ban lines for drying clothes and install dryers that will contribute to global warming. These dryers will use natural gas which will have to be imported because ours may soon run out.
We should be pushing solar drying not dryers using natural gas. What is wrong with drying cloths on a line? We are always trying to live too extravagant.
That is why I said there are not many environmentally conscious persons in this government or the last one.
We need a green party to be started in Barbados.
Calling GP. -
Maybe Miinister lashley and Berkham should read this story
http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/Green/3108456/Todmorden-lays-a-claim-to-be-Britains-greenest-town.html -
@ A Woman’s Thinking
The prices they are asking are what the get quick rich schemes require . This was done by the previous administration INFLATING the prices not this one.Some for their own personal gains I assure you.
Barbados is in a recession this has to do more with the home crisis in the USA and inflating prices sure doesnโt help Barbados either in the long run under the previous Administration.
Mr.David Thompson inherited a bloody mess some without paper trails โฆ
for example a whole file from Hardwood housing is missingGems of Barbados. ABC Highway over-costs, Velco, Hardwood housing fiasco.
+++++++++++++++++=Your brain is muddled. The feminist school did not lock the closet so you could not get out to dilute the intelligence quotient of women. When you reread that does it make sense. Do gov’ts set land prices; speculate in land deals.
The only thing you have convinced me of is that you support a particular party and it does not matter if they right or wrong, dey right. What paper trails does he need, how did he arrive at the position in the first place there was corruption, there must hav ebeen some evidence he used to arrive at this conclusion, where is it. Or were these charges concocted around a table as part of a PR strategy that had no evidence. Overseas accounts – where and what are the account numbers, transaction records, and no they will not be found in the ministry.
Ms. Mottley produced her evidence to come to the conclusion that there is a collusion between Michael Lashley and the Social sub-committtee to maximise the benefits accruing to the limited building contracts to a specific group to the detriment of small contractors.
For all yuh Deal with the evidence above – covenant, minute sof the NHC board meeting; newspaper accounts, parliamentary speech by lashley. What does it tell you of lashley and honesty; sub-committee and their genuine commit to the well-being of Barbadians and integrity of which they speak so eloquently.
Stop being so damn gullible.
-
ha ha ha ha the bees are pissing mad that their arguments cannot get traction. ha ha your arguments might have stuck were they not pointing back at you. Two years later and Bajans have not forgotten your reign. How could they???? Nothing to date is worse than a check made out to the Prime Minister and Minister of Finance from a company that he is suppose to have ulitimate oversight over. It boggles my mind that the current Prime Minister and Minister of Finance is to held to account for being friends with the then chairman of CLICO, and the former PM is not after recieving 750k from the same company.
-
@ Micah
Does this rise to the level of needing to resign
Great question: He lied to Parliament. He knows the difference and the NHC manager knows the difference between a terms sheet and a finance contract; and they also know that that document does not have a building component in it. It is a lie. In another country he would have had to resign.
He concocted and conspired to enrich a company without conscience or regard for who he impoverished and that in a time of crisis. As a gov’t minister you have a sacred trust to manage resources with the utmost propriety and TO THE BEST ADVANTAGE of all the people. In other jurisdictions a person like him would be lynched. The problem is that integrity is not a system and code in Barbados it is left to the collective value system of the party or in this case the cabinet . 2 1/2 years, this has got to be the worst we’ve seen. What is the size of this kickback and can we get some evidence of the same? The thing is if this is not about corruption it is the grossest piece of incompetence and mismanagement that deserves a sacking.
He has a nerve, and a blatant contempt for Barbadians, he is on tv inspecting projects like nothing happen. He is not explaining his lies, apologising for his lies, explaning why 1000 houses are given to one firm a project of 350m with 100m profit line. But thinks he can brazen it out by saying he is going out to do more houses. That is contempt of the highest order. he thinks he can get away with it. The contractors and their staffs will to forget him. The electricians and masons and day labourers will not forget him.
At some point as Bajans we have to send a strong message that we are serious and have had enough from both sides and we MUST HAVE TRANSPARENCY AND ACCOUNTABILITY.
-
Tell them Bajantruth. Trust you is more like it. Man even your handle is laughable. can get any more oxymoronic than a Political bajantruth. Please don’t lie that you are upset that people are gullible, you are really upset that their gullibility isn’t to your advantage. ๐
-
well if problem with review that would be as clico lawyers they receive payment for service now if payment for services has kickbacks in it is alot easier to hide, they just write it off as hours worked. now the most ridiculous thing about the fiasco is why no one ask why is clico the builder and lender at the same time. clico lending goverment money to pay clico staff. seems like idiocy at it best.
-
What was the 10million dollars that the Barbados Central Bank dished out toCLICO Bdos for? Was it to cover finance contracts or building contracts.? Any body here got answers that they can enlighten a poor scotcher like me.
-
Now I sit here and I must confess that admire the owner of this blog as he has given the BLP the time and the opportunity to state their case and try to make their case on the forum he has kindly provided to you and by his own admission and the admission of the public of Barbados you have failed miserably to state a reason why you would want the Hon Mr Michael Lashley to resign or why you are against the building of houses for our Barbadian people , you have waffalled on and rambled for days nows and at no time have any of three of you stated anything compelling.
You bunch are dispicable and sick bunch of misfits and con artist, much like your Co Leaders leader Mottley and Owen one a known Drunkard and the other a known liker of the same sex as herself, not much of moral standing to admire their in either, the case really is about your lack of ability to even consider the needs of Barbadians from all walks of life not only at your preferred level of the Sandly Lane level, your lack of consideration of the people that elected you to office you were more concerned about your bank accounts that is why you could only find it fit to build 65 houses in you time.
This housing program is by far the best thing that has happened to the Barbadian people since Independence and it is hurting their ego’s that needed to be hurt as like M M Barney Lynch it was 10 times too big for him to carry anyway.
From a personal stand point you crooks have done well to run your supporters, a very close friend of mine who was a self confessed former Adams era BLP supporter confided in me some time ago that when ever he next goes to the Polls the DLP will fully have his support he said to me that the other lot did way too much stealing and he will never foget them for the fiasco that was the VECO Prison the Danos 3 S Roadworks but not as big but in his face was the fact that a Tony Hoyos was permitted to do as he liked with Owen’s blessing and stole over $ 4 Million in Hardwood Housing and then had the gall to give Hardwood Housing Staff entertainment allowances only remeedable at his Restaurant Aqua in Hastings, you know what even if a smaller scam this has had a more lasting impact on his thought processes than most of their other cons and scams.
-
Dear Amused:
I did not say that I did not understand the document. I understand it perfectly. But it is still legalese gobbledegook.
Believe me my English is NOT deficient.
My English is far better than yours and far better than the English of 90% of native English speakers.
-
And Amused I spent 5 years working in housing so I am quite familiar with contracts and FOOLISH covenants.
NHC is poor at enforcing, we we know that 5 or 10 years down the road those covenants will NOT be enforced and then Coverly will be seen for the high density, high price ghetto that it really is. But by then both the “developers” and teh politicians will have taken their money and run.
J: neither B nor D.
-
It seems that some of the contributors to this blog think that it is o.k to be loose with tax payers money and property once a few persons are getting houses.
Those who get benefits do not care that the rest of us are contributing our taxes to be abused by ministers of government.
It is time to stop the abuse of the majority. We must rise up and protest or not this corrupt system will continue. The 20 % mendicants and the 1% bribing the politicians will oppose any protest,but the rest of us must fight to reduce the taxes we have to pay to support the corrupt and mendicant.
-
@ WIV
‘…and the other a known liker of the same sex as herself, not much of moral standing to admire their in either’
Now David is that type of language necessary? And who WIV trying to fool? Is the current Minister of _____ not also a known ‘liker of the same sex’? You really need to stop the character assassination. -
@Enuff
Agree with you last comment. It is the kind of comment which does not do any good.
Now that the dust is starting to settle on this matter it appears the case has some holes but there is enough to suggest the minister has handled some aspects of the execution badly, the voters will decide.
It begs the question to what extent has the sub committee of cabinet on this matter intervened. Lashley enjoys good popularity in Barbados and for the BLP to gain traction on this issue the case had to be airtight.
-
well it does make lashley look foolish but enough to make him lose an election next time doubtable. plus we still don’t know why she was fired in the first place. but in the end it just blow over like everything else. hopefully people will realise to coverley isn’t all that seems.
-
Both DLP and BLP must be kicked to hell out of the parliament of this country within 7 years.
For, it is primarily because of these two older ramgoat parties that so many thousands of the masses and middle classes of people in this country are now smelling so much hell, sucking so much salt, and so much drowning in many of their own miseries, at this time of deepening political economic depression in Barbados.
That notwithstanding, we in the PDC are calling for more to be done by those who can conscientiously afford it to help those who are direly in need of material and financial assistance at this stage in this country, esp. at this time when many parents and guardians in Barbados do NOT have enough money or material to send their children and wards back into school on their own.
While it is true that these recent NHC issues must be vigorously debated on BU and elsewhere, these issues should NEVER EVER have reached the stage whereby esp. many media outlets in this country have been allowing that mindless BLP bunch to bundle and cobble together such issues at this a critical stage of widespread material degradation in this country, mainly for it to be thereafter realized that the real reason for the BLP actually cobbling together these issues has been to see how much political capital they could have extracted out of them.
Such a state of affairs wholly smacks of the lasting unfitness of the BLP for higher political office, when at a time like this of material and financial depression in Barbados, it is found that their focus right now is on the throwing around of such second eleven issues into the faces of so many poor, indigent and financially vulnerable people in this country, as if these are the kinds of issues that must have taken precedence over those significant issues that relate to how disastrous the present state of the so-called economy is in this country, and how horrible the economy continues to perform, and in doing so how it continues to direly adversely affect the life chances of the poor and needy in this country.
SUCH IS THE BLATANT CONTEMPT AND DISREGARD THAT THIS BLP HAS FOR POOR PEOPLE AND MARGINAL MIDDLE CLASS ISSUES IN THIS COUNTRY.
And we make no sport when we say such too.
For those on BU who might not really know, there are thousands and thousands of people more in this country who since 2006/7 have been plunged back into poverty, or who have been thrown against the fringes of society, as a direct result of the down spiral in this economy which really started around 2005 in this country.
And, add such numbers to those great hordes of people who are already mired in poverty and who cannnot come out of it so easily, and at look what many of us in this country face, a very profound social crisis soon to happen esp. with the so-called economy in this country getting worst and worst, and America and parts of Europe – which Barbados so stupidly depend on too much for material and financial survival – facing the grim prospects of double dip recessions.
Of course, we are seeing on a daily basis the evidence of this a deepening poverty and misery and marginalization in this country with our own eyes!!
And, it is our duty to speak out on these things that affect so many people like ourselves in this country.
But, we wonder where is the voice or the efforts of the Special Advisor to Government on Poverty Alleviation in this country, at this stage, while poverty is again becoming more entrenched in this country???
Surely this deepening poverty and misery among the most productive and hardworking people in this country will make the purpose of having the Ministry of Social Transformation’s Country Assessment of Living Conditions in Barbados seem more nonsensical and absurd than ever before, when it ought to have been clear in the first place, that neither they nor this wretched DLP Government are dealing with the real root causes of poverty and marginalization in this Barbadian society, nor are they equipped to deal with such.
For, poverty cannot be dealt with adequately by any joke social agency whatever the academic qualifications are of the persons who comprise it, when already the facts of the matter are such that poverty in Barbados has long had fundamental political material and financial causes.
Furthermore, that this joke DLP Government can claim that the primary focus of the domestic policy is on building a society rather than an economy, makes the fact that there is an impending social crisis of great proportions waiting to happen sound like a DLP party that is prone to child’s play.
Moreover, that the present BLP leader could find so much time to be dealing substantially with issues related to Leroy Parris, CLICO, the Minister of Housing, NHC, Jada, and NOT dealing more with issues that relate to the suffering and deprivation of the average poor person in this country, does show, in such cases, the damn well intellectual impoverishment of the woman who is supposed to be leader of the BLP, and does show where her political heart really lies -NOT mainly with poor people, BUT with mainly well off middle class and elite people and their business financial interests in this country.
What is surely needed at this juncture in Barbados’ social political affairs is a full fledged popular people’s revolt against the foolishness and idiocy of both DLP and BLP in this country, and the consequent throwing of both of them out of the parliament of this country.
-
It has to be airtight.
+++++++++++++++++++
What do you mean, you raise a provocative point? After supporting accountability and transparency and the need for FOI and Integirty Legislation, are you now saying that what has transpired:
– did not follow process and incurred violations of rules where NHC which has responsibility for gov’t property and should therefore do tendering, technical assessments, due diligence was bypassed an replaced by a subcommmittee of parliament that does not have those committees available to it;failure to follow procedure – no contracts not even a financial contract has been produced ( for the ignorant who are reading, a terms sheet usually states that this document does not constitute approval of the loan.);
PPP should have been pursued with clico at Constant, which project is now in trouble and stalled, with no contract terms and conditions; borrow from Clico to hire Clico and pay them to build and then pay back Clico the loan with the interest. Something has to be wrong with that.
No the tendering the coverley project; take the 200 houses given to Nasser, snatch it back and give to jada + other 800 units to come on line, no due process; distribution of gov’t business to the detriment of the construction industry and bajans;
Financial rape of buyers where Coverley housing prices are $100,000 greater than for comparable housing, while the building costs (prefab walls are 20 – 30% lower cost to produce) are lower; while providing to contractor land at 3.00 per sq.ft (regular raw land is 5.00)and lease of 5 acres at 100 per year……..is not sufficient. I wonder what is?
David what I am looking to see is when they bring the integrity legislation if by those standards and integrity does the conduct of Michael Lashley and cabinet in this situation meet the standards required therein.
-
@Bajan truth
[After supporting accountability and transparency and the need for FOI and Integirty Legislation, are you now saying that what has transpired:
]We support laws with enforement requiring such. Not interested in politcal posturing and partisan concern mimicking what is actually needed. We are tired of political opposition hacks discovering the latest sordid deals and activities and nothing being done to bring the wrongdoers to account and if found guilty to be punish for so doing. LAWS, RULES, REGULATION, AND ENFORCEMENT is what we will support.
To much wrong has been alleged to have been committed by members of the political class, and to few have been required to account for such. Put the f-ing laws in place and let us independently judge for ourselves, wunnuh can’t be trusted to do what is right. -
Well said Adrian – I second that.
-
@ Adrian Hinds
So what governs the NHC? -
Senator Jepter Ince, Parliamentary Secretary in the PM’s Office, is back on the radio talking about a ‘Medium Term Physical Plan’.
-
@Enuff
Mekking sport, I missed that what did he say?Listening to Brass Tacks, somebody call me cackling and killing deself with laugh. David Ellis talking to ‘the Economist ‘ Linton wants to know what was all the hoo haa about the contract. He said Lashley did not lie because he did not say that what he had was a construction contract. Marilyn Rice Bowen charged that there was no contract. She did not specify which contract. Lashley said that there was a contract when challenged to produce one, after he claimed that a contract was signed by Ms. Rice and Napoleon-Young. He then produced an indicative terms sheet which always explicitly states that this is not an approval of a loan, but rather it is an indication as to what the institution would want to OFFER and the terms of the offer and for what. It is not a loan contract and certainly not a building contract. What therefore was Lashley’s purpose in waving, reading, publishing a signed indicative terms sheet. Did he feel that an indicative terms sheet from the financing institution was all that was required to legally safeguard 7m, assign building requirements, materials, responsbilities, costs, penalties, and timelines. And therefore constituted a contract that refuted Ms. Rice claim that there was no contract. Or was he seeking to hide the fact that no finance contract has been signed and no building contract had been completed or signed. Did he feel that Ms. Rice did not know that what she signed was neither a loan or building contract, and would therefore say huhhoy I did forget that?
I am tired of people especially those whose function is to be objective and informative would insult Barbadians so to state that technically he did not lie. Mr. Ellis what Mr. lashley sought to do was to deceive the public into thinking that Ms. Rice lied and that all the i’s were dotted and t’s were crossed. If he wanted to be honest he would have said, the building contract is being completed and will soon be signed but we have a memorandum of understanding in the interim to allow work to go forward. Ms. Rice is just anxious and she can rest assured that all will be done with propriety. He did not do or say that because his intention was to deceive. What is your intention in promoting this concept that he did not lie?
My father would have cut my ass if I had given him that response when he ask me about homework and I show him the sheet that the list outlining the homework required was written. ML ass want cutting.
-
Sorry the last paragraph should read:
My father would have cut my ass if I had given him that response when he ask me if I finish my homework and I wave the sheet that the list outlining the homework required was written to make him believe that I had completed the homework. ML ass want cutting -
B.T. I love your response I am in total agreement with you. Mr Lashley lied but omission he is the worse type of liar.
-
@Bajantruth
I told you to change your handle if you want to be taken serious on your opinions about the behaviour of the political class. Lashley did not lie to Bajans if he did lie, he lied to his ilk, which is mush less than brandishing a gun, and cussing each other as they often do.However you said….
[If he wanted to be honest he would have said, the building contract is being completed and will soon be signed but we have a memorandum of understanding in the interim to allow work to go forward.]A MOU??????
For partisan political purposes it cannot be a MOU. The argument has to be made that this document cannot be such otherwise Lashley would be no different in his behaviour than the previous government when charged that 3S work was not contracted out. MIA said then that a MOU is a contract. -
Adrian Hinds. What excatly do you mean by saying that Lashley lied to his ilk, and not to Bajans? Your duty here on this blog seems to be to continue complicating the discussion, and trying to throw others off-track with “big-brain” comments.
Whenever Parliamentarians stand on their feet and speak in the House of Assembly, it is not some closed shop. It is the People’s business, our business. We are the ones who put them there, and we have to be nvolved and in the know.
He deceived and lied to Barbadians, all of us, not just his “ilk”
I am still waiting to hear an explanation for the overwhelming generosity being showed to the JADA CONNECTION in relation to the lease of that 250,000 square feet of land for 99 years at 100 dollars per year. Is that our business, or should we forget that, just because Lashley is building some houses?
Also, I have heard no one address the fact that Ms. Rice-Bowen stated that she made every attempt to deal with the matter internally; she even spoke to the Deputy Prime Minister twice.
Subsequently, she was not treated as part of the solution , which she wanted to be, but as THE PROBLEM, and therefore was just discarded.
-
Anonymous | August 25, 2010 at 1:30 PM | Adrian Hinds. What excatly do you mean by saying that Lashley lied to his ilk, and not to Bajans? ]
I am not going to accuse you of exploiting simple inferences with regards to our “democratic” system, that it somehow is direct democracy as oppose to a representaive democracy which it is.
I have have heard two politicians made explicit mention of the fact that what is practice in their respective polity is representative democracy and not direct democracy and they did so due to the kind of concern they were asked to address.
One was a former speaker of the Massachusetts legislature a liberbal and now disgrace indicted felon, found guilty of lying about of all things gerrymandering constituency bounderies. The other is Mia Mottley a known local liberal.
They both were addressing concerns from their respective polity members on such things as “the choices that representatives makes.” That people have no control over what the alleged “representatives” do. They don’t have to make binding promises on the way they will vote and due to “log rolling”, they pass laws that would never find any majority among the people. In short: that representatives represent no one but themselves and their own interests.
Except for the latter comment which neither person address they pretty much agreed. In that they went no further than to state the obvious that it is better more orderly than direct democracy
So tell me again when a parliamentarian gets up and makes his/her emotional, loud statements to a half sleeping so called Speaker is he speaking to you? for you? or to you? I think not. Often times is is about you.
-
@J | August 24, 2010 at 11:41 PM | and previous. You can really be an ass sometimes, you know. You carefully foster the impression that you don’t understand (which I believe actually is the case) and that the document is written in an un-understandable language that you don’t understand (which you then claim to understand perfectly), but that it is legalese gobbldygook – which means, by definition, that you understand (by your own admission) nonsense – perfectly. Make up your mind.
-
Bajan truth is making the BLP’s ‘gotcha” case a little muddier than they would like.
-
@Adrian,
You seem like a guy who likes precision. Finneran was never an ‘indicted felon’ (unless you have knowledge of him sporting prior felonies on his record). However, he is now a convicted felon.
-
Who is finneran?????? Do know such a person. However I am correcting my previous statement which, as it was pointed out, suggest a previous felony when they were indicted. I do not know such to be the case. The person did not have a previous record when they were indicted. The statement should have read …
[One was a former speaker of the Massachusetts legislature, a liberbal, now disgraced after being indicted with perjury and obstruction of justice for misrepresenting their participation in the redistricting process.]
-
Going back over an old thread here on BU I came across this:-
Sargeant | August 9, 2008 at 5:16 PM |
Ever wonder how the same name(s) crop up with respect to controversial land deals? Didnโt David Shoreyโs name come up with that other land deal in the Holderโs hill area, the land that was acquired from the poor farmer and eventually sold to Sandy Lane. Wasnโt the former PM also responsible for Town Planning?
Something is rotten in the state of Denmark
My comment: Very interesting.
BLP, Bajans do not have short memories. -
@ Anonmymous
Subsequently, she was not treated as part of the solution , which she wanted to be, but as THE PROBLEM, and therefore was just discarded
Now the question that has not been asked, is why was she fired? It certainly was not about an insurance cover note. If she stood for following procdure and policy and she was therefore in opposition to lashley; and Stuart has endorsed Lashley’s standard, was seh representing a block to further excesses.The other question, if we now know that indeed there was gross mismanagement perhaps corruption in the allocation of work to Jada; and there was no contract; then what it was the other board members were supporting, more of the same. David I believe you had a list of those names we need to remember them. Its nasty.
-
A point of much more concern to me is, were I asked to serve on a board that this same Rice – Bowen were to be serving on would I want to make any comment on any matter at Board meeting level if it could be that were this person Rice – Bowen to get into another temper tantrum and once again got fired and once again she walked with Minutes of Board meetings and once again she supplied them to all and sundry for the world to see the business conducted by a board in service to their country for next to nothing in terms of reward or payment ?
As we all know board meetings can get quite heated at times to then have a former Chairman walk out of that board or be fired, equiped with minutes of many meetings brandishing them around for all to see, I have no issue with the contents in this case but were it more personal or private matters under discussion why would the opposition in their greed for power be so immature and so childish to be seen to be part of this childish behaviour ?
It reeks of bad practice and is in very poor tast by the opposition, with actions such as these that we recently had displayed by Rice – Bowen and the opposition party, it may come a day very soon that quality well meaning hardworking persons may shy away for offering themselves for service to this country based on actions as recently carried by the opposition and Rice – Bowen.
Were I asked now to sit on a board I would shy away from doing so purely for this same reason, a lack of trust in a system, we all know that matters of business conducted by a board is just that a matter for the board but to have persons who are prepared to steal the minutes of meeting and then have them viewed on political platforms is not the way to go, nor can that type of behaviour be progressive, actually it is very regressive and backward.
-
I think Marilyn Rice-Bowen can kiss the YWCA world conference here in Barbados goodbye.
-
From the Nation story today no wonder Liz Thompson has been missing from the Upper House as often as she has been recently as she has canvassed this job with the Rio 20 Group.
I wonder if she will last any longer than Mr Lynch did with his short lived posting, maybe when the RIO 20 Group have a chance to read this blog and BFP they too may change their minds on hiring her are her service to this island has been poor and she has proven to be a very lazy person whicvh in no small way reflects on the poor state of affairs she finds herself in being out of politics and even being a lawyer a poor one at that that she has now determined that she is unemployabe around her so off she goes to loath on some one elses wage bill, good riddance to her and it must also beg the quesation it seems she has no faith in Mottley and her future with her so she is bailing out sooner rather than later.
Her can hide behind fancy big words and curse people but in New York she will need to work hard something she is very unfamiliar with actually she knows not what that word means.
Ask Min Donvillle Inniss he has had to work like a brute to see after his people as they have become because of her laziness and neglect.GOOD RIDDANCE TO RUBBISH.
-
@ WIV and Cadogan, I see that Bannister is now a Dem! He was busy around the just concluded annual conference. Mascoll next? Don’t say never, you took back Hammie and that Barrow fellow.
-
@ Opposition is at sea
The issue here is NOT about privacy. The minutes were used to confirm that Marilyn Rice-Bowen was in fact telling the truth; and further that the Board members themselves expressed grave concern about the absence of a contract. They also indicate that the members’ silence on the matter was dishonest, a facade and only served to portray MR-B as a troublemaker.
Furthermore, as a Board member one is entitled to speak off the record when one feels that one’s remarks could be challenged in the court of law. In addition, at the beginning of every meeting the minutes are read and clarified before being made official; hence members have an opportunity to correct or delete any comments attributed.
It is also interesting that you would try to condemn M R-B for making minutes of the meeting public; but ignored the fact that a week before these minutes were allegedly made public Wade Gibbons at the Nation newspaper wrote an article stating:
‘The DAILY NATION was able to obtain minutes of a March 25, 2009 NHC board meeting at which a decision was made โ following the business proposal from CGM Gallagher โ to invite additional offers from other brokers, namely Lynch Insurance Brokers and Century Brokerage.’
Please tell BU who made those minutes available to Wade Gibbons?
Such comments by supporters of the government make one question whether Freedom of Information legislation is truly a priority of this government.
Finally, what is more private than an individual’s banking activity, and are you saying that brandishing a copy of a cheque deposited into the PM’s account at a political meeting is ‘greed for power’, ‘childish’ and ‘immature’? Or to simply highlight the lack of good governance and reveal the truth?
The hypocrisy continues.
-
What the current NHC political game has shown is that the ‘hypocrisy’ as you termed it flourishes whether B or D is holding government. If we can get pass this point perhaps we can start to discuss the root issues. It is why BU will go against the DLP next election if we see no perceptible improvement in our governance system. It is the point Adrian et al have been making ad nauseam. Unfortunately the vote for BLP would be more a protest vote than anything else.
-
DAVID
So you will in a manner of speaking throw out the Black Pot, not that I agree with you that this Pot is Black, and replace it with the Black Kittle.
Brilliant!
-
If Liz has to work in America, I hope Ban Ki-Moon checked first to see if Liz can get a US work permit and she doesn’t have to return home with her tail between her legs like a BLP person recently.
-
@CCC
At minimum the taxpayers save on our pension commitment.
-
The reality is that politicians make deals and benefit in some way from monies before or after the fact sometime. Get real people, Dees do it and Bees do it and there is no perfect situation.
Politicians feel that they are to drive the best , eat the best and dished out largesse to party faithfuls. It is time tha tpoliticians served the people and stop serving themselves. If you allow a hungry man to watch the pot, he will eat you out. Lets get Charles Othneil Williams (COW) in parliament and when he is coming , he could bring his crew. Barbados needs COW ! NOW !!!!
-
DOOMED !
DOOMED !
DEMOCRATIC LABOUR PARTY
DOOMED
ONE TERM !
ONE TERM !
ONE TERM !
is too much ! -
DAVID
“It is why BU will go against the DLP next election……”
You don’t even know if you will around for the next election. People your age are falling like nine pins from prostate cancer, heart attack, stroke, kidney failure and so on.
So don’t start to boast about what you will do.