The following letter was contained in an email received from an email address which BU recognizes to be that of Mr. Norman Faria, Guyana’s Honorary Consul in Barbados. It is no secret that Barbados Underground has been strident in promoting awareness of the big issue of undocumented workers in Barbados, many we know to be Guyanese. We have gone one step further to address the lack of a discernible planning of a multi-ethnic society for Barbados. There are enough country models which we have cited to show the folly of not properly managing large inflows of ethnic groups i.e. Indians, Chinese et al in a Barbados which has enjoyed a stable environment comprised mainly of Blacks and Whites through the years. Despite increasing accusations of being xenophobic from some quarters, we remain steadfast in our views. We urge our commenters to be clear and dispassionate in their arguments. We are aware that this is a topic where emotive language will appear and in this regard we ask you to refer to BU’s comment policy. We do not condone censorship but we will be fearless to ensure that any discussion which ensues will not denigrate to a base level.

The Prime Minister of Barbados, although not mentioning Guyanese raised the problem of unplanned migration last week at the CARICOM Summit. His government has also debated an amendment to the Immigration Act.

Commissioner Darwin Dottin

Commissioner of Police
Royal Barbados Police Force
Headquarters, Coleridge Street, Bridgetown,
Barbados

SUBJECT: INFLAMMATORY RHETORIC ON RADIO TALK SHOW.

Dear Commissioner Dottin:

The Honorary Consulate of the Republic of Guyana in Barbados presents its compliments and wishes to refer to the above subject matter.

Further to my last letter (11 January 2006) to you regarding the airing and/or printing of inflammatory articles and viewpoints in some of the island’s print and electronic media and which specifically target Guyanese, I write once again to draw your attention to another blatant example. This latest airing can only serve to stir up racial and other tensions and bring the essentially good reputation of all Guyanese into disrepute.

On Monday, 17 March 2008, a caller was heard on the widely listened to programme “Down to Brass Tacks”, which is carried on the Starcom Network station VOB, referring to (generally Hindu) Indo-Guyanese in a derogatory, stereotypical and indeed racist manner. Were Afro-Guyanese or any other race,colour or religion targeted, I would make the same complaint. Among the more shameful, uncalled for, unsubstantiated and unjustified statements made by this caller:

“We have no problems with Christians and Moslems but we do with Hindus “

“(Crime in Barbados) is Hindu Guyanese and Trinidad habits”

“The police need to start checking these Indians (including) when they see them on the street…that is where the problem is”

“Hindus is the ones causing problems with the fellows (at the workplace where they will work for less)”
“The word dougla is a Hindu word meaning outcast”

The above are from my notes taken of the programme. The exact and complete remarks may be obtained by your investigating officers from the station’s recording of the programme. As I informed Mr.Peter Wickham, the moderator of the particular programme and a really professional and principled person against whom I have no complaint —indeed, he rebuked the caller for his apparent xenophobia and ignorance– when I called into the programme at the nearing the end of the show, I have nothing against people calling into the programmes to engage in democratic discussion and debate. In fact, as I told him while complimenting him on his stance, I greatly admire the deep and democratic media culture in Barbados. I listen to the programmes every chance I get.

We must all defend the time honoured achievement of free speech. This freedom, as you would agree, doesn’t exist as an abstract concept. Hate filled rhetoric designed to stir up racial and other tensions, discord and animosity among peoples have no freedom of speech. What I criticised are the programmes’ call screeners and/or producers who should censor out such hateful rantings which undoubtedley embarass the majority of decent minded Barbadians and others listening to the programmes. Management should set professional guidelines for such personnel. I was especially incensed in this recent infraction because I have written several letters to this particular station’s management urging restraint and professionalism in the airing of such ill advised and misinformed xenophobia. Such “viewpoints”, as I pointed out, would land management in court in places such as the UK and Canada and the USA where the claim of “free speech” would not come into play.

Barbadian consular or diplomatic missions in those countries monitoring programmes or publications in those countries which aired distaseful and inflammatory stereotyping of Barbadian-born people similar to what is being done here against Guyanese, particularly Indo-Guyanese, would be in contact with the authorities about it.

In keeping with your obligations to uphold Barbadian law, I am urging your good office to investigate this latest permitting by VOB management of the airing of the hateful and inflammatory statements about innocent and good Guyanese people who are doing so much, working in several fields and appreciated by the majority of decent minded, tolerant and hospitable Barbadian people, to make Barbados a better place for all of us.

Regrettably, moral persuasion sometimes fail and punitive measures are needed with some media house managements. Recalcitrant and miscreant elements whose idea of boosting the profit margin in their businesses is to permit such sensationalist, inflammatory hate-filled talk, sometimes encouraged by some talk show hosts themselves, have to be brought to heel. They need to feel, as the Bajan saying goes.

At this stage, the Consulate would be satisfied with a warning from the police to the management, the airing of an apology on the same programme, the wording of which to be approved by Consulate’s legal counsel, and a promise that no other hateful inflammatory rhetoric be permitted against Guyanese , and any other nationality, on the company’s stations in any shape, manner or form. Accept Sir, the assurances of my highest consideraton.

Respectfully Yours,

Norman Faria
(Guyana’s Honorary Consul in Barbados)

283 responses to “Guyana's Honorary Consul Issues Letter Of Complaint To The Commissioner Of Police Citing Racial Hatred At VOB”

1. My apologies, I should have prefaced my last comment as being in reponse to Yardbroom.

David, far from trivializing the issue, I have spent some time today and have made every effort to be balanced. I think it crucially important that this issue be addressed within certain non negotiable parameters to wit a non racist stance.

Thanks for the recognition, this is a serious topic for many Barbadians. While some Barbadians may cloak their arguments in a racist rhetoric you should not be confused that this is the extent of the argument from populist Barbados. If you read the blogs we have posted and the many many comments of the BU family you should have gleaned that unplanned migration and unplanned inflows of ethnic groups i.e.Indians MUST be planned to allow for an orderly society. With regards to the second point, concern is at a high when we survey Guyana and Trinidad and their failure to treat with racial tension between Indians and Blacks. This is real so no red herrings please!

2. I hope readers and fellow bloggers realise that although MR.Satyendra and shy princess would cant stand each other in Guyana look they now are bosom friends.

3. SATYENDRA

So that you understand barbados development did not start when guyanese agricultural and construction workers started coming here in the 90’s and beyond.

Our well managed economy and society which although having challenges in the 70s and early 90s was able to sucessfully chart the rough murky waters with the guidance of both blp and dlp administrations – was however wrecked by owen arthur and his trickle down economics and his corrupt,inept policies.

In the 80’s indo guyanese came here selling their gold jewellery,some tried to stay here by marrying bajans – but with a chief immigration officer who had integrity unlike the current one – and with an administration (DLP) that had the wisdom to plan their development and their population growth – the numbers of guyanese particularly indo guyanese was kept down.

Since in the early 20th century (1930’s and 40s) bajans went down to help the guyanese sugar industry at the guyana’s government request to work as as pan boilers,fitters etc – barbadian authorities therefore felt that those guyanese in the 80’s who were coming to barbados and could prove strong barbadian lineage – should be allowed residence .

We are talking about black guyanese.

Of course like everything else they took a good thing too far and wanted to bring in the whole of buxton and linden and georgetown – so the authorities had to be more stringent.

What happened in the 90’s is that as a construction increased and agricultural workers moved off the plantations into the construction sites which were paying higher wages – the sugar plantations started sending for guyanese sugar workers – since the vincentians and st lucians former sugar worker were also turning away from agriculture to higher wages in tourism and construction.

That is when the problems started.

The indo guyanese brought with them all their detestable,sneaky,corrupt practices – whether it meant selling their bodies to immigration officers to be allowed to stay,or whether it meant paying bribes (large sums) to politicians and other civil servants for favours,ripping off bajans by claiming to be skilled artisans,marrying old bajan pensioners and then quickly divorcing them to bring in guyanese.

I find it very interesting that you are asking us here on this site to respond to your questions yet there were many questions put to you in my earlier posts and other bloggers posts re indo guyanese relationship with persons of african descent,and other complaints about their type of work.

However let me sum it up for you :indians whichever country they go to in large numbers are a negative force in terms of integration and assimilation.

Barbados has the example of guyana and trinidad closer to home – and fiji and kenya further afield to compare and consider.

We have never had conditions in barbados where there are 15 adults living in a small 3 bedroom house with one toilet. Note,Guyanese are the people living in these type of set ups.

We have never known this now current practice where we as bajans have been forced to rent rooms instead of a complete house – whether chattel or wall – but we do now because the guyanese brought that slum condition and standard to barbados.

We are not accustomed to living in pig pens.Again guyanese bringing shame and degradation to our society.

Barbados as a country has been held high in the international arena – until guyanese ,some with the duplicity of bajan immigration and police offcials along with high ranking (BLP) government officials have been engaging in human trafficking of prostitutes and young indo guyanese girls as young as 13 years old into barbados.

Barbados is now black listed as a country which engages in human trafficking – all the doing of greedy guyanese wanting to do anything to get here – and of course unscrupulous officials on the bajan side.

All of the above (ie slum conditions) our prime minister spoke about – and in most cases of overcrowding it is the indo guyanese who do it – that really is an indian practice straight out of India.Everybody – grandmother,uncle,cousin along with the dog,sheep and hen living under one roof.

What barbadians want is a cap on indians being granted citizenship.

Our prime minister at the Caricom heads meeting told basdeo jagdeo that a lot of his guyanese countrymen were turning up here under the skilled free movement under CSME – and were turning up with false certification of skills – guyanese again.

What we want is for the government to review the need for work permits and for each sector to put a list of the type of labour – ie numbers in each categories – to perform what job – and the skill level required.

Then bajans,jamaicans,vincy,lucians guyanese and all other caribbean should be allowed to apply – ONLY AFTER THE COMPANIES HAVE PUBLISHED THE LIST IN THE NEWSPAPERS AND NO BAJANS ARE AVAILABLE.

There should be a cap on the number of migrant workers coming from each caribbean country – and their should be a points system based on skill requirements and a certification board that can confirm the skills.

Government needs to start deporting all illegal immigrants like yesterday.

All persons coming in to Barbados should be fimgrprinted to avoid false documentation as per the guyanese again.

Citizenship should be only given after 4 generations(and not in the first instance) of barbadian living in barbados could be proven and based in conjunction with the population numbers that government is planning for with the country and its development.

I am sure others David might have some more suggestions.

I hope the Thompson administration is taking note.

4. Satyendra why do you think that I dont like Guyanese, you think that I dont have black guyanese friends stupes.

It is that I am pist off to see that i cannot go to anyones country and corrupt it like this!

Dont tell me that I should not be so judgemental, you realise that we bajans have children and when we feel threatened we have a right to say how we feel.

And for the record I DO have guyanese friends that I adore, I think I have mentioned it on this blog already and I dont have to explain my self to you.

5. I agree with all your suggestions anon. Only yeaterday someone who claims himself to be a pimp came on a block and claimed that the man in immigration say things tight so he cant get his whores to stay.

and you ask me why I dont like most of your kinsmen you seem to be living in faraway land!

another suggestion is that all persons who have come to work on plantations etc. must pay NIS for SURE!

6. Shy princess who gives a stiff middle finger if you retract. Suit your ignorant ass self. Your comments and what you do have zero impact on me. I know where I stand clearly and racists and bigots like you cant mess with me. Go to hell.

7. I will not cast aspersions on the Barbados immigration authorities proficiency, I have no concrete reasons to do so. However, it would appear that confidence needs to be restored in that sector, if for no other reason than to restore the good name of our immigration officers.

Perhaps an independent committee could be set up to review the procedures in that sector ,with an input from an overseas country – with proven experience and good practice – to assist in the tightening up of procedures.

Barbados is a small country and it should be possible to quickly establish anyone’s immigration status.

8. Satyendra
    You have asked me many questions – some based on race – which I have tried to answer.

I have only one question to ask you.

Can you name one country with a majority Indian populatian which has ever facilitated or encouraged a large influx of immigrants of African descent?

You have the “whole world” from which to choose.

9. Satyendra is not going to answer anything to deal with how indians treat blacks in his homeland guyana,or their practice of not marrying a black.

An indo hindu would rather their child marry a indian muslim – although that would not be their first choice – but they would prefer that than their child marrying a person of african descent.

JC I hope Negroman is reading and see how in guyana – afro guyanese tell you about how they dislike indo guyanese and how badly they are treated – but once they are here in barbados – afro guyanese and indo guyanese wrap up in dey one another – and the stupid afro guyanese defending the indo guyanese – note,never the other way around.

I wonder satyendra why you choose to come to barbados where you guyanese always complaining how the bajans treat you – yet you did not go to trinidad – where there are jobs going aplenty – and plenty of your indian and hindu brethren there – wouldn’t trinidad have been a better fit for you after all?

We are only a small country with the same kind of black people that you you didn’t like in guyana.

Couldn’t yu have applied and gone to Surinam or Trinidad eh?

Makes one think.

10. The rate that Jagdeo and his cronies are going at, no one will be in that country soon. He will not represent his people at all. He refuses to tell them to come home.

Mr. Satyendra, if you know that we will be going to Guyana in the near future why are you not back there helping to be rebuild your country. why are you on these blogs trying to crucify bajans for loving their country.

I remember in 1991, no one within the Caribbean wanted to accept our bajan money; Although I was young I remember my mother and family and firneds fighting tooth and nail to make sure that Barbados weathered the storm; we stuck by one another and refused to leave our country.

Moreover, I also remembered you all and persons throughout the Caribbean literally rejoicing at our demise as if it was Carnival. At that point in time I was at secondary school;

However, I realised that bajans were not willing to run hide nor give up! And because of that tenacity and determination we are still fighting that good fight.

Therefore, my advice to you is to go back home and give someone else that job since you know that we will be begging you all shortly!

STUPES

11. Anonymous,I recognise and I know that afro guyanese are prepare to defend indo guyanese in Barbados.They band together on the belief that guyanese as a whole are under threat in Barbados.It is mind boggling that black guyanese could be defending those indo guyanese. It has cause me to change my views on welcoming and accepting all black guyanese into Barbados.We balck people are somthing else.We want to be fair,nice & decent to people who are do not return the same favours to us.I do not think we will ever learn.All the other races believe in putting their race first.The black race is the only race who talk about integration and giving other people a fair chance.
    As one of the bloggers mentioned indians only buy from other races when they have no other choice.I mentioned on many occassions indians are intrinsically racist.They destroy societies.They horde money and really do not spend.As a result governements indirect taxation policies do not work and hence you see stagnation in the economy,crumpling infrastructure,social services destroy and all ills in the society.No government could get adequate revenue from indians to sustain a flourishing society.Trinidad & Tobago & Guyana are two cases in point.
    Shyprincess you have me disturb.I cannot understand and I do not follow your line of reasoning.I am also wondering if you are indeed black.I have my doubts.Shyprincess if you are black indians will never never hire a black person before an indian person.They do not care what price that indian is charging.Indians want the money to remain in their race and I repeat will NEVER NEVER hire a black person before an indian.Shyprincess how many indians go into black people shops and buy anything.Show me the proof.If a indian shop owner and a black shop owner were selling the same items.The black man’s item was cheaper than the indian’s man item you know what the indians will still buy from the indian store before they buy from the black man shop.
    INDIANS PUT RACE FIRST.
    We as black people must do the same.Shyprincess your line of thinking that you will allow indians to build your house before bajan or guyanese black is nonsensical,backward and counter productive to the advancement of black peole.
    Negroman will never put any race before the black race I am a follower of the late great Marcus Garvey I put race first.
    Shyprincess do like wise..

12. shy princess you are a FRAUD! You do

13. Negroman

I am glad you are finally waking up to what I was trying to subtly point out to you – which is – if you think at the end of the day black guyanese will side with black bajans against indian guyanese – you better think again.

Sad,but true.Even though indian guyanese will not side with black guyanese against a white bajan,an indian storeowner etc living here in barbados,nor even against a chineese.

Blacks need to be educated again that it is not racist if you love yourself and your race – without thinking that you are superior to any other race.

It tells me we are going to have big,big problems down the road.

Guyanese both black and indians are very devious – but the indians are definitely more treacherous – my experience with themhas taught me this.

I just want you bloggers to watch carefully and see how they operate.

First they come on and pretend to understand what you are saying,they all pretend to agree that people should not remain illegally in another country,then they tell you but cuddear they only want to work and improve their lives.

They might throw in a few sob stories about either how they are treated back in guyana,or in barbados.

Then if they are challenged on something they say,or persist in speaking about deporting guyanese – they accuse you of being white people lackeys – and prefering white people to having them stay in barbados illegally – even though they are black like you.

They have been engaged in every negative activity – whether it is robbing and shooting,prostitution,fraudulently ripping off old,indigent pensioners who all they have is their little old house,they lie and pretend to be masons and carpenters and rip house builders of their money with bad workmanship.

Must I go on – there is so much more that can be said.

Some guyanese come on and say they make a contribution – but you know what I am sure that if this contribution is quantified it will be discovered not to be as big as norman faria and his kind always project.

They have suceeded in driving down wages for bajan workers,there are sites where guyanese site managers are so bold to say they are not hiring black bajans – and you tell that bajans so soft that they can’t block?

That couldn’t happen in Jamaica.

Something got to be down about these illegal guyanese and other illegals – and must be done fast.

Jc what you mentioned earlier about the pimp telling you that the immigration tightening up on his whores coming in to barbados – is what I am hearing – that is,generally the immigration is becoming more professional and strict – and I beleive this has every thing to do with this new DLP administration.

Bajans continue to report persons who are illegal in this country,and don’t break the law by offering them housing or work.

You might soon find yourself in jail.

Fingerprinting at the airport must be implemented NOW.

14. *** ALERT***

There is a film to be shown either on thursday or next tuesday at 7:30 p.m. at Solidarity house.

Bloggers please be aware that this is going to be a completely propoganda piece by one annabelle davis – if she is the person I am thinking of – she is of either indian or white extract.

This film purports to look at the guyanese experience from humanitarian terms.Humanitarian terms is really a code word for ‘completely pro-guyanese slant’.

Bloggers should understand that this Ms Davis is the same female who came on VOB call in programme a couple of months ago and was given latitude by mike browne the producer and david ellis who was the moderator on the first day,and then peter wickham the moderator on the following day.

This lady was so biased claiming that guyanese are so frightened of bajans and purporting to present information which she says she got from the immigration department – which is odd since so far no member of parliament has been able to get this statistic – that is, – the number of guyanese in the country -legal and illegal.

She obviously has not heard about the many,many horror stories about not a few guyanese but a whole lot of them – against bajans,nor about the deception in their claims of being trained artisans and taking poor bajan money and leaving shoddy work,nor their boldness in telling bajans how they hate them and will run them out.

Guess who will be making opening remarks? – yes you guessed it – peter wickham.

CBC has been invited and will be filming the presentation and the remarks by the public.

I WANT ALL BAJAN LOVING CITIZEN TO TURN UP THERE AND NOT BE INTIMIDATED BY PEOPLE WITH FINE WORDS AND THEIR AGENDA AND SPEAK OUT BOLDLY ABOUT WHAT IS HAPPENING TO BARBADOS.

They are going to try and trip you up,or they are going to try and portray you as racist – BUT STAND YOUR GROUND.

ALSO BE PREPARED FOR THEM TO ADVANCE THE ARGUMENT THAT THEIR SHOULD BE AMNESTY FOE ALL THE ILLEGALS IN BARBADOS – YOU MUST SAY A RESOUNDING,LOUD NO TO THAT.

What they are asking for is that even though in 1994 under the BLP administration these illegals who were living here for a long time were given amnesty – the situation did not improve – BUT MORE ILLEGALS SINCE THEN CAME IN AND HAVE STAYED HERE FOR YEARS SINCE 1994 – AND NOW THEY WILL WANT TO ADD TO THE BURDEN ON OUR ECONOMY BY HAVING THESE PEOPLE CLOG UP THE HEALTH SYSTEM,THE SCHOOLS,HOUSING ETC.

Even if they pay NIS or Taxes – there is still a great burden on the island water supply,garbage syatem,health facilities,schools etc – who will then be bringing in their aunt,uncle,cousin,and great grandfather and their children.

This is a BIG,BIG,BIG,Public Relations Scheme – designed to win the hearts and minds of ordinary bajans.

This is meant to be the gateway for talks with the government of barbados on a ‘sympathy for guyanese basis.’

WHY IS THERE NOT A FILM ABOUT THE NEGATIVE ASPECTS OF THE GUYANESE IN BARBADOS?

How is it that CBC has not found the time to cover this rising illegal immigration issue but can turn up to hear this bias piece.

I am also outraged that this lady who obviously has the resources to fund this project can put the perspective of the non national guyanese and yet the ordinary black bajan cannot get his view heard on VOB,CBC,THE NATION,BFP – except on Barbados Underground.

David can you do a piece on this?or do you think highlighting it will play into their agenda?

Did you hear the announcement by peter wickham on VOB radio today?

15. Just heard the correct date – for this film it is tomorrow Tuesday at 7:30 p.m.

16. passin through south Avatar
    passin through south

@ anonymous

have u never seen indians buying food and such items from as u put it ,the poor black man.Maybe you should open your eyes and ask a few questions, ask the guy cuz by pebbles beach,ask the fish vendors at baxters road,ask the guy who sells fish on bay street on weekends, ask the people in oistins, ask the guys who sell fish cakes and also ask some of the shop keepers around the country side.Some of you say that a indian would buy form his own people even if the same article is cheaper in a black mans store, oh what nonsense and full of shit.You say the indians don;t shop at black boutiques.Have you ever stopped and thought that maybe the they don;t sell the kind of clothes the indians are looking for.Are you saying indians don;t buy shoes and such things from any black owned businesses?Some of yuh all in here keeping noise bout indians buy from their own and such which is a bunch of hogwash yet at the end of it you say that you will buy from only black peole.If you are saying you will buy from you own race yet when the indians do it as you say,you’re ready to keep alot of noise.is this not hypocrisy?The same way u say you’re bajan at the end of the end of the day just like some whites are also,then don;t you feel the same way quite a few indians are second generation barbadians also yet on a daily basis they get treated as doh they r from bombay and guyana,when Barbados has been and will always be their only home.

17. I JC WILL BE THERE REPRESENTING PROUD BAJANS!

18. Broken trident and arrow. Avatar
    Broken trident and arrow.

Anonymous

you think that the people who comment so much on this blog are going to turn up at that film presentation and have to face Wickham? He would tear them to shreds. On this blog they have nuff words but they too frighten to open their mouth where they could be identified. They got about 4 jackasses writing about 90% of these posts and they want the goverment to take them seriously?

The future lies with Barbados and Guyana coming together with the Blacks, indians, whites, chinese, amerindian and everybody!

If wunnuh think that all Bajans think like you then yuh wrong. I black as midnight and Bajan as flying fish and cou cou. Come to the film presentation and open yuh mout if yuh is man or woman!

19. Thanks JC.

Since I can’t be in 2 places at the same time I would be depending on you to tell me how everything went.

Hope to see it when CBC shows it – which I’m told will be around Independence day.

20. I make no apologies for agreeing with negro man. If an indian sees something that he wants from you he tries to get it at the cheapest price. He has no respect for no body’s produce. Ask the fruit man, ask the fisherman, ask anybody that have dealing with them.

Imagine they come at your house and have the most inferior goods and sell them at triple the price and you talking crap. Moreover, pts you claim that we black people say that we will only buy from one another, you know for a fact that that is not true statement.

We are now trying to teach balck people to support their own; and most of the time they dont support their own.

Indians always support their own and that is a fact so your point…….We need to learn that fundamental point.

Look at Guyana and Fiji and other places and show me the proof that indians have been a blessing for any country.

You talk a load of crap. Black people always support every body they socialise with every one no matter what color. You need to be real!

I am of the opinion that you people are realising that black people are becoming more conscious and refuse to be looked down on.

STUPES

21. Passin Through South.
    Maybe I live in a different Barbados to you.I do not see indians buying small scale or large scale from Black Barbadian Businesses.Show me large numbers of indians lining up at shops owned by black people and making large purchases.
    Passin Through South black people are finally waking up and the harsh and bad treatment that the indians,the whites,& chinese are accustom given to us will soon be a thing of past.
    You all are not scarce yet.We will not continue to make you all rich to oppress us.
    We have a saying BUY BAJAN
    the next saying will be BUY BLACK
    Fellow black Barbadians do like Negroman seek out black owned businesses
    DO NOT MAKE THE INDIANS RICH TO OPPRESS US.
    They need us blacks money to survive.We are in the majority use it to our advantage.

22. JC &Negroman

You notice Anon just didn’t respond to passin down south.

In case you don’t remember he was on this blog before – posting on another thread about indians relationship with blacks – and he had some very nasty things to say about black people.

He might be one of the adam or thani clan or just another indian guyanese – who are becoming very afraid about this slow awakening they are seeing in black bajans.

Thank God some of us were fearless enough to join David at BU and speak out against the direction our country is going in with these large indian and other illegal population.

23. Broken Arrow & Trident you are not a black Barbadian but a indo guyanese.I Negroman will be there and will represent myself and a vast majority of BLACK BARBADIANS.We are not afraid of that FREAK Peter Wickham.
    Indo-guyanese MUST GO
    THER IS NO TURNING BACK.

24. passin through south Avatar
    passin through south

anon, r u saying that black people can come on here and throw accusations to indians left and right but as soon as a indian comes on and post something then he should not have views or should not express them.I am not afraid to say i posted in the other topics as you said and the same way you have views and you’re treated by indians as you say on an ordinary basis, people of other ethnic group are also treated similarly.I have many black friends who i buy all sorts of items from and contrary to what you say, I (yeah i is a indian) pay more for what i purchase from them than the same black man offers them for their goods.I can call many names of places and individuals from where the indians buy goods,just that you don;t see it happening on a daily basis does not mean that it does not occur.You may be buying from your black businesses in quantities of one or two items while behind the scenes other ethnic groups make bigger quantity purchases and therefore make greater contribuition to those black businesses than you think they ever make.Just because you don;t see it happening on a daily basis does not mean it does not happen

25. passin through south Avatar
    passin through south

@jc
    the statement i made above regarding some people on here saying they buying from black businesses only and you said it is not true.Well read negromans comments and you will see what i mean.He has said it right through the forum.Also should i say that if i am treated bad by one black barbadian then i should come on here and say all black barbadians are bad?From some of the comments o here that is the conclusion that has been reached.Some people on here are saying since they were treated bad or had issues with one or a few indians then all or majority or bad? am i right or wrong?

26. passin through south Avatar
    passin through south

the same way you guys refer to fiji and guyana and stuff… what happens in countries like zimbabwe and parts of africa and stuff.No indians there and still all the problems and not much positives coming out from those regions also.Is it the indian mans spirit causing havoc in those countries also??????

27. Passin Through South How about the turmoil in Pakistan.India Sri Lamka you want me to name the rest.How about the conflicts in Europe the break away Russian states and all the conflicts all over the world.Why only chose African countries.All the conflicts in Africa are as a result of colonisation by the Europeans.
    Africa is advancing and that scares the non-black world.
    WE BLACKS ARE REBUILDING OUR EMPIRE

I WILL ALWAYS ADVOCATE BUY BLACK DO NOT SUPPORT THE INDIAN MAN

28. Passing through south
    You have been on this blog before – on another thread – expressing your contempt for black people, with detailed reasons for our lack of success.

You have now adopted a superior air with the claim – on what basis I do not know –

that a person here “may be buying from black businesses in quantities of one or two items while behind the scenes other ethnic groups make bigger quantity purchases”

Your feeling of other ethnic group’s ability to purchase more, without knowing the persons you are addressing here, apart from them being black…says quite a lot about you, and gives a deeper subliminal message.

Barbadians should be prudent where they spend their hard earned cash…support those who support you and with whom you can have a positive interaction, with respect.

29. I personally try to stay out of discussions like this, because I just don’t think they’re healthy, or thoughtful, or useful…

Further, I truly do not understand hatred. It seems like such a short-sighted, and limiting, emotion…

But “passin through south” raises reasonable questions. Specifically: if the Indians are the cause of all evil here in Bim, how do you explain what is going on in Africa?

Do we not all realize that we’re all in this together?

*ALL* of us?

(IMHO) (I know I’m going to regret raising my head on this, but sometimes one must stand up….)

30. Chris Halsall I repeat again who about the conflicts in Pakistan politicians being assisinated (Benazir Bhutto) The conflicts in India & Sri Lanka why dwell on the conflicts only in Africa.
    That nonsense that only Africa has conflicts will not work.
    Chris Halsall and Passin Through South respond.

31. @Negroman…

Please, if I may ask, speak to the question of what is happening in Africa. No one is scared of Black advancement. Any enlightened human welcomes it.

@Yardbroom…

*Every* consumer “should be prudent where they spend their hard earned cash”. “Caveat emptor”.

IMHO, the consumer’s choices are their own. They may do as they wish, deal with whom they wish, based upon the options before them. (This is the fundamental basis of free markets.) (And, as an aside, not executing a purchase at all is an option we Bajans would do well better understanding…)

32. chris hasall

You say:”sometimes one must stand up…”

Tell me what are you standing up for?

Have you listened to yardbroom,JC,negroman,david,
    jukecheckedeyshirt,technician and others talking about our society and how it is deteriorating due to the influx of a particular group of people?

Have you not listened as we cited examples of what is happening in barbados?

Your response doesn’t surprise me – and frankly I’m surprised at all that you deigned to grace us on this thread with your comment.

There are persons who live with their heads in the cloud (and I don’t know if you are one of them) and whose bread’s buttered on both sides who will tell you:

‘Oh why must you say these things,can’t we all get along?’

Or I truly don’t understand hatred,it seems such a short sighted and limited emotion.

Load of dog shite – that sounds like the educated HOUSE NEGRO to me or the Mulatto man.

All around the world the persons of african descent getting the shitty end of the stick,even from their own – and we have these colin powell types who will always find a way to get along with the oppressor – while his brothers and sisters on the slave plantation smelling hell.

Well I can’t live like that.I dream for the day when my people’s eyes are truly open and they realise that while we must not perpetuate hate against anyone or any group – we must understand that every race thinks somehow they are smarter and superior to us – not that the facts support that – but because WE have allowed them to think this way.

We have patronised every business they open – even if they selling chicken feathers we will buy it – and we will do so at the expense of supporting our own black brother.

We have allowed their children to inter marry our own for the most part though not in every instance – purely on the basis of convenience – while they tell us they don’t like the mixing of the races.

We sell them our land,our houses,our business while they sell us plastic buckets and cotton shirts and rubber slippers.

Check out cheapside market who are the people buying from the guyanese indian vendors because they might get some vegetables 25 cents cheaper – of course it is the black bajans.

It is interesting that during all the time this and other similar debates were raging, chris hasall never found one point raised by the aforementioned persons (ie JC,Yardbroom etc) to be of any merit – but only the rubbish that passing down south had to say today.

So Chris now that you have said your piece you could go back and sip your glas of wine while you discuss the hansard report not being available,or telecom companies in barbados and the like while the natives down here struggle to keep their patrimony.

33. There is conflict in Africa often in India , Europe and many other places.

However, there is one irrefutable “fact” wherever in the world when there has been a majority population of black African decent later reinforced by Indians. When the population of Indians have reached a sizeable percentage. There has always been trouble between the races leading to violence. History is replete with examples, Trinidad, Guyana, Fiji it “always” happens.

It has nothing to do with hate or racism, people who do not learn from history will continue to make the same mistakes again and again. Common sense must sometimes prevail, it is not always pleasant to hear, but that does not mean it is not the truth.

34. David my post seems to be held in moderation,could you have a look please.

35. Mr. Halsall if you are so interested in ‘the hate issue’ why dont you ask the indians in Trinidad and other places why they give us blacks such a hard time. When we decide to open our mounths we are labeled as racist and all kind of crap.

Why cant we Bajans ask questions like:

If you all illegal immigrants are illegal why dont you all go back home and go through the correct procedure to see if Barbados desires your prescence.

You mean to tell me that any and who so ever will can enter here without argument.

What nonsense is this?

And to pt I beg to differ with negro man on this issue. Bajans buy from indians white people and the list goes on. How many indians buying from poor people and how many white people buy from us bajans on a regular basis ….stupes

I must agree on 1 point with you amd this is when you wrote

(And, as an aside, not executing a purchase at all is an option we Bajans would do well better understanding…)

36. Broken trident you think that because people dont comment on the blogs that they dont read!

You think that I am speaking only on my behalf, I am speaking on the behalf of every bajan who doesn’st have a computer but say every day too much foreigners around here!

I guess you are calling the majority of bajans asses!

Well I dont give a shite what you or peter wickham says I KNOW that foreigners think we are asses!

37. @Anonymous…

First off, please let me note that I am writing under my real name. Do you feel strongly enough about your position to do the same?

Secondly, I am “standing up” because I have found this entire debate to be ugly, unproductive, emotional, ill-informed and un-analytic. And, frankly, dangerous! If this continues, we risk the fate of T&T.

Thirdly, yes, I have “listened” to all the positions, and I have found many to be based on emotion rather than fact. Racism rather than thoughtfulness.

I decided to “raise my head” at this juncture because it does not appear that things are calming down (as I had hoped), but instead escalating. And because “passin through south” raised an excellent argument, and I am appreciative of a good argument. (I do note that no one has answered this question, but rather raised counter arguments which distract from same. Any logical person realizes that doing so does not actually counter the argument.)

You mentioned that “of course it is the black bajans” who are buying from the “guyanese indian” vendors in the Cheapside market because they might get a better deal. As consumers, why shouldn’t they take advantage of a better purchasing option?

Truly, Namaste all….

38. @JC…

Let me please counter argue: why do “[you] Blacks” give the Indians such a hard time?

@Yardbroom…

Let me please counter argue: how is it that in Canada (specifically, Toronto and Montreal) that large populations of Blacks, Indians, Asians, Whites, Martians, et al, seem to be able to live, work, and *thrive* without cultural hatred?

@Everyone…

Surely we all realize that within twenty years China will be the dominant superpower (with India as number two)?

Will all this infighting do anything for our own advancement, or does it not simply keep us all weak and unstable?

The one thing which has concerned me greatly about this “debate” is that many take a few personally examples of their experiences (and their interpretations of same), and extrapolated it to an entire race. And then state these interpretations are “fact”. This is (dangerous) folly….

39. Chris halsall

Who cares whether you are indeed chris halsall or john browne?

Does it make your contribution more truthful or significant than mine?

I thought we were dealing with the content of the post and not who the blogger is.

You say you are standing up because you found the argument by others on this subject to be emotional,ill informed and ‘un- analytic’.

Well my good man,I personally have found your contributions here and on BFP to be lacking in substance,unenlightening and full of your self importance.

Want an example?

Like asking David of BU to check to see that you posted using someone name but using your usual I.P. to prove the point that others can post using someone else’s name.

Wow Eureka!

DUH?

Free speech is welcomed as David will tell you,but free speech is not necessary enlightening or educational speech.

I speak for myself when I say I try to avoid getting personal with bloggers – and when I address them it is usually to respond to points theywould have made.

When I find contributions that are not interesting like yours I just move on.

I am not contributing on this site to show how brilliant,or filled with hubris I am – instead I am genuinely concerned and passionate about my country and my people.

Your view that all the other contributors who are anti the illegal immigrants and influx of other etnic groups are emotional and ill – informed – while passing down south flismy argument which he could not back up with any evidence – is sound and an excellent argument – really speaks volume about you.

I just love your notion of self -importance – ie”you decided to step in when you realised things were not calming down”.

wuhloss yuh got me cracking up for truth.

My man you might need your own blog to share your brillance with ours.

40. passin through south Avatar
    passin through south

seems from your comments that only bajans buying things at cheap side market.While they are buying from the guyanese ,who are the ones buying from the poor black barbadians selling there.Are you telling me you have never seen indians buying produce at cheapside?Nearly all females in my family and alot of their friends make their way down to cheapside on a saturday to buy their produce while alot of the barbadians who talk about helping the poor farmer make their way to the supermarkets.Maybe you should ask the farmers in the country who are the people who actually pay them for their produce and not just beg for a few of this and that or say i will return with the money later and are never to be seen again.Maybe you should ask who are the ones paying the enormous prices for their animals when the year comes when the butcher comes with his cart and offers them next to nothing for it.Maybe you should ask some of these same farmers how much of their friends help them when they are actually in need,for e.g with money to buy feed or transport large items for them at times when some of their own friends see them riding or walking through the rain with bags of feed but never even stop to help them or offer a lift but yet when the produce is ready they are the first to beg.Maybe you should ask the bajan hawkers who it is that buy or order their produce even before they bring it to the market? i got alot to post here as time permits regarding alot of your comments

41. I am waiting to see if CBC will show us this film on CBC AND CLOSE TO INDEPENDENCE DAY AT THAT! Broken trident you threatening all Bajans to come to your bashment lol;

Well I dare any illegal guyanese to show up at Solidarity House. I also dare the immigration to do their jobs. And that is to DEPORT ALL ILLEGAL IMMIGRANTS who are found at this meeting.

Imagine you all come to my country and threatening me!

You all are grossly presumptious to think that we would sit down and allow you all to dictate when and where we should come!

42. passin through south Avatar
    passin through south

@ anon
    upto now i have not seen you back up any of your arguements with any evidence what so ever.Also alot fo you who are just typing away are just doing so to be notices.Iasked negroman about somehtign which he mentioned earlier and he was far away from the facts but he never came back to clarify the situation.Iwas referring to the pakistani mango seller situation.Negro man you made comments but never had proof to back up your claims and all majority of the statements you made regarding that individual were far from the truth.

43. Passin through south I have loads of time on my hands as well.

I have some queries:

So you are telling me that the Indian stops and gives us (black people)a lift with our feed?

How many Indians are down cheap side on mornings, as much as blacks?

Many persons buy pork and vegetables from persons in the district and PAY THEM as well!

what shite are you talking it is a FACT that indians always give you cHeap ass inferior goods ALL THE TIME!

Any time you see an Indian in Barbados helping a Black man there is an ulterior motive.

I know of Indians who tried to prey on an old person up by me but what they didnt know is that this person has 12 children and realised what was happening they wheeled out of town so please dont make you all selve out to be martyrs.

I know that persons from within neighbourhoods support thier farmers and butchers I live in a village and I dont eat meat but I and many more persons buy from who is selling.

I f Indians do all these things why is Guyana and other countries who have a big Indian population so blasted poor. aaaaanh I cant hear you.

IF YOU CAN TELL ME WHY, I WILL CONCEDE IF NOT just stop it .

The Indians are always making sure to BEG for a reduction in cost and that is a fact!

There will always be loosers in any race. I know I will be crucified for this but the Black race always remains the LOOSING RACE it is the only race who makes excuses for BULL SHIT!

44. I saw that film by Annalee Davis. It distorts Barbados and Bajans. The film is poorly made nonsense. Annalee Davis is a white Bajan woman who is a artist painter. When did she become a film maker? Pick sense from that.

45. passin through south Avatar
    passin through south

@jc

you’re labelling all indians according to soe of a few you have heard of so likewise i will do such from here on.I am friends with many village people who sell meat and outof the ones i know i can tell you at least 75% have said that they are still waiting for money owed to them from like 2 yrs back and even longer.They say that is the problem with selling among people in your district or to people you know,they always want to trust but cannot find your house when it comes time to pay.I am not referring to just one scenario here,i can relate from many different people in different parishes and districts.How can you have more indians down cheapside compare to blacks when the indian local population is not even 1%, pls b realistic.EVERYONE ask for a reduction is cost,be it buying a car or any everyday matter once you;re dealing with a person on a one on one basis.I am referring to local indians in this scenario because i have never been to guyana or any indian state and your arguements here were based on local indians and i am talking about local indians also.You say cheap ass inferior goods,do you know that majority local black businesses and also local indians buy from the same wholesalers overseas majority of the times,so where as the indians goods are inferior then the others are also,its just the posh way they are marketed.You’re making it seem as doh indians never help a black person so i merely giving you examples where it happens.

46. Listen to me passin tru south; I have one or two indian so called freinds whom I use to buy from all the time then I realised that they never tried to help me in any way when it was my turn they never once tried to give me nothing off or helped me to get any where or do nothing for me.

Recently, my friends bought some brakes you want to know what she said I bought some brakes from the Indian man store and they didnt last too long I now have to go and get some new ones from some company or the other lol! That is like these illegal immigrants who come claiming that they know work when really and truly they dont know shit!

You look at me and talk about statistics please the way you talk you would think that the WHOLE indian population in Barbados helps all the bajans in Barbados. It as if they all come down to Cheapside and buy black people food!

You want to know why you would know our business because we dont know how to tell you the indian man to know your place!

They feel as if you ‘loving people’ can solve our problems so therefore we tell you of our problems and our debts and you come and save the day by buying all the meat.

Yeah right!

You might be nice but not the majority of your kin so SORRY i will not agree; furthermore answer all the questions not just in Barbados but all over why you all (sorry most of you since you buy meat from us and YOU ARE SO NICE lol) have caused countries to be ruined when there is an influx of your ‘bretheren’ plus cause total chaos among the blacks WHO WERE THERE FIRST?

why cant more be like you lol and buy our meat? stupes

47. A poster Yarbroom posed the following fatuous question to me:

Can you name one country with a majority Indian populatian which has ever facilitated or encouraged a large influx of immigrants of African descent?

My answer is: None that I can think of.

Before I go I would of course note that I cannot think of any country of any majority that is encouraging a large influx of immigrants based on race, African or otherwise. Israel may be an exception and they did airlift the Falashas from Ethiopia to Israel.

On the many comments about the circumstances of the housing and employment of immigrants and the laws governing their entry into Barbados, I would say that is for Barbadians to work out.

48. Rajendra Seeraj
    on July 12th, 2008 6:30 am dont be too comfortable- the PPP have you in their radar and they always get their man.

Alicia
    In reply to the above comment on July 14th, 2008 9:04 am:

This statement reflects the arrogance of the current administration. But one day…one day it will end.

Riddik
    on July 14th, 2008 2:46 am Imprisonment without trial is par for the course. Four years were taken from the life of Mark Benschop. For all those who have been forced to leave the promised land and for those for whom it has been made a living hell this is for you. The great Winston Churchill, in saving Britain from Hitler and his Nazis, had to turn to Jamaican Claude McKay for inspiration. Claude was one of us and he wrote this for us:

If we must die, let it not be like hogs
    Hunted and penned in an inglorious spot,
    While round us bark the mad and hungry dogs,
    Making their mock at our accursed lot.
    If we must die, O let us nobly die,
    So that our precious blood may not be shed
    In vain; then even the monsters we defy
    Shall be constrained to honor us though dead!
    O kinsmen we must meet the common foe!
    Though far outnumbered let us show us brave,
    And for their thousand blows deal one deathblow!
    What though before us lies the open grave?
    Like men we’ll face the murderous, cowardly pack,
    Pressed to the wall, dying, but fighting back!

FIGHT-ING BACK!

Alicia
    In reply to the above comment on July 14th, 2008 9:03 am:

This poem greatly reflects the place Guyanese must get to in order to free ourselves of one oppressive leader after the other. FIGHT BACK WE MUST. I am no proponent of many of Hinckson’s opinions but wrong is wrong. And it is wrong to take away a man’s freedom without just cause. Anyone who heard that press conference can see it for what it was. A man excercising his right to freedom of speech. Yet the PPP administration created another bogus charge just like they did with Benschop.

The pretending a pardon the President freed him. Let us not forget that one cannot be pardoned unless one has been convicted. So what was presented as a Pardon was nothing more than the dismissal of charges for lack of evidence.
    ——————————————————-

All of these comments I just copied from one of Guyanas leading newspaper. Oliver Hinckson is a black man who has been granted bail after a year on remand for speaking his mind. Fellow Barbadians do we want our country to be like this?

I know for sure no INDIAN aint threatening me I WILL DIE FIRST!

49. Passin Through South Negroman never never back down from a challenge.I stated that a mango seller from Pakistan came here as a pauper and in a few years is a millionaire with a lot of influence in Barbados I also mentioned the police case he was involved in and got off the charge.Passin Through South this Pakistani mango seller has the personal cell phone number of our Prime Ministers.He brags that on weekends he carry mutton ,lamb and all type of goodies for our leaders.I mentioned those things and you did not came and refute any of them.You just ramble and write nonsense as usual.
    Passin Through South deal with this comments I write.
    Passin Through South your arguments are weak,stupid,nonsensical and lacking in substance. I challenge you on many issues and you did not or cannot respond.
    I want to hear your comments on the conflicts in Pakistan (Benazir Bhutto assasination)the conflict between Tamil Tigers and the government in Sri Lanka.
    I am awaiting your response.

50. Negro man you aint see that pts love to buy your meat from POOR black people stupes!

this issue has come to buying meat from POOR black people.

I think he should deal with the issues such as they are too many illegal immigrants in Barbados and they think they have are a law unto themselves.

They think they can threaten us to turn up at their shitey forum to discuss better ways of using psychology on us with cries of amnesty and such like, plus dont forget the famous ‘cant we all get along stupes.

We never get along because you all want to come and take over instead of living amongst us you people segregate yourselves and then judge us when we were here all along!

I dont care if you are black Indo guyanese hatian jamaican european and the list goes on…. Once you people are illegal PLEASE LEAVE!