The following letter was contained in an email received from an email address which BU recognizes to be that of Mr. Norman Faria, Guyana’s Honorary Consul in Barbados. It is no secret that Barbados Underground has been strident in promoting awareness of the big issue of undocumented workers in Barbados, many we know to be Guyanese. We have gone one step further to address the lack of a discernible planning of a multi-ethnic society for Barbados. There are enough country models which we have cited to show the folly of not properly managing large inflows of ethnic groups i.e. Indians, Chinese et al in a Barbados which has enjoyed a stable environment comprised mainly of Blacks and Whites through the years. Despite increasing accusations of being xenophobic from some quarters, we remain steadfast in our views. We urge our commenters to be clear and dispassionate in their arguments. We are aware that this is a topic where emotive language will appear and in this regard we ask you to refer to BU’s comment policy. We do not condone censorship but we will be fearless to ensure that any discussion which ensues will not denigrate to a base level.

The Prime Minister of Barbados, although not mentioning Guyanese raised the problem of unplanned migration last week at the CARICOM Summit. His government has also debated an amendment to the Immigration Act.

Commissioner Darwin Dottin

Commissioner of Police
Royal Barbados Police Force
Headquarters, Coleridge Street, Bridgetown,
Barbados

SUBJECT: INFLAMMATORY RHETORIC ON RADIO TALK SHOW.

Dear Commissioner Dottin:

The Honorary Consulate of the Republic of Guyana in Barbados presents its compliments and wishes to refer to the above subject matter.

Further to my last letter (11 January 2006) to you regarding the airing and/or printing of inflammatory articles and viewpoints in some of the island’s print and electronic media and which specifically target Guyanese, I write once again to draw your attention to another blatant example. This latest airing can only serve to stir up racial and other tensions and bring the essentially good reputation of all Guyanese into disrepute.

On Monday, 17 March 2008, a caller was heard on the widely listened to programme “Down to Brass Tacks”, which is carried on the Starcom Network station VOB, referring to (generally Hindu) Indo-Guyanese in a derogatory, stereotypical and indeed racist manner. Were Afro-Guyanese or any other race,colour or religion targeted, I would make the same complaint. Among the more shameful, uncalled for, unsubstantiated and unjustified statements made by this caller:

“We have no problems with Christians and Moslems but we do with Hindus “

“(Crime in Barbados) is Hindu Guyanese and Trinidad habits”

“The police need to start checking these Indians (including) when they see them on the street…that is where the problem is”

“Hindus is the ones causing problems with the fellows (at the workplace where they will work for less)”
“The word dougla is a Hindu word meaning outcast”

The above are from my notes taken of the programme. The exact and complete remarks may be obtained by your investigating officers from the station’s recording of the programme. As I informed Mr.Peter Wickham, the moderator of the particular programme and a really professional and principled person against whom I have no complaint —indeed, he rebuked the caller for his apparent xenophobia and ignorance– when I called into the programme at the nearing the end of the show, I have nothing against people calling into the programmes to engage in democratic discussion and debate. In fact, as I told him while complimenting him on his stance, I greatly admire the deep and democratic media culture in Barbados. I listen to the programmes every chance I get.

We must all defend the time honoured achievement of free speech. This freedom, as you would agree, doesn’t exist as an abstract concept. Hate filled rhetoric designed to stir up racial and other tensions, discord and animosity among peoples have no freedom of speech. What I criticised are the programmes’ call screeners and/or producers who should censor out such hateful rantings which undoubtedley embarass the majority of decent minded Barbadians and others listening to the programmes. Management should set professional guidelines for such personnel. I was especially incensed in this recent infraction because I have written several letters to this particular station’s management urging restraint and professionalism in the airing of such ill advised and misinformed xenophobia. Such “viewpoints”, as I pointed out, would land management in court in places such as the UK and Canada and the USA where the claim of “free speech” would not come into play.

Barbadian consular or diplomatic missions in those countries monitoring programmes or publications in those countries which aired distaseful and inflammatory stereotyping of Barbadian-born people similar to what is being done here against Guyanese, particularly Indo-Guyanese, would be in contact with the authorities about it.

In keeping with your obligations to uphold Barbadian law, I am urging your good office to investigate this latest permitting by VOB management of the airing of the hateful and inflammatory statements about innocent and good Guyanese people who are doing so much, working in several fields and appreciated by the majority of decent minded, tolerant and hospitable Barbadian people, to make Barbados a better place for all of us.

Regrettably, moral persuasion sometimes fail and punitive measures are needed with some media house managements. Recalcitrant and miscreant elements whose idea of boosting the profit margin in their businesses is to permit such sensationalist, inflammatory hate-filled talk, sometimes encouraged by some talk show hosts themselves, have to be brought to heel. They need to feel, as the Bajan saying goes.

At this stage, the Consulate would be satisfied with a warning from the police to the management, the airing of an apology on the same programme, the wording of which to be approved by Consulate’s legal counsel, and a promise that no other hateful inflammatory rhetoric be permitted against Guyanese , and any other nationality, on the company’s stations in any shape, manner or form. Accept Sir, the assurances of my highest consideraton.

Respectfully Yours,

Norman Faria
(Guyana’s Honorary Consul in Barbados)

283 responses to “Guyana's Honorary Consul Issues Letter Of Complaint To The Commissioner Of Police Citing Racial Hatred At VOB”

1. I am going to listen to the debates on the senate and see what the minister with reponsibility for immigration maxine mcclean has to say .

I am listening to see if she will make any reference to the immigration issue.

2. @ Anonymous, Ian Walcott, NegroMan, Pat

To begin with, I am a Guyanese. An Afro-Guyanese and female to be exact. I am not seeking to condemn, nor negotiate. In essense “I just feel like talking because this is a topic close to my heart”.

I have read all your blogs on this topic and quite frankly while I agree with most of what was said, I was hurt by some comments and have a few things to say as well.

My family, in seeking better opportunities, relocated to Barbados almost 8 years ago. My father was employed at first as a manager. I was just shy of 22 years of age at the time. Having enjoyed the middle-class lifestyle in GY all my life, I couldn’t care less where we were relocating I just wanted the same securities I had at home and probably more. My father, in looking for a better career never thought that his family would be scorned because of our nationality. I am sure that he thought he was doing the right thing for us. Just as the many other nationalities who make Barbados their second home. I would like to think that because he paid taxes like all Barbadians, that we were not parasites to the social systems such as health and education. Needless to say, even though he was a tax payer, he still had to pay tuition fees for my younger brother’s education at a PUBLIC secondary school and I too had to pay tuition fees at a tertiary level institution.

Just after the Prime Minister’s announcement last night, I asked my husband (yes he is a proud Bajan and is supportive of the PM’s budget – “…but I lil vex about the cellphone subscription being a pre-paid customer. Anyhow…yes of all things..I vex about dat”)

1. How is it that non-nationals drain the social system if they are paying taxes like Barbadians?

2. How can illegal immigrants have access to the such systems if they have to show a Barbados ID card (which they should not have) to access those services at those very institutions.

3. If you don’t feel that Owen was protecting your jobs why are there so many illegal immigrants? Obviously immigration feels that these people be it carpenters or artisans etc., were not needed in your island, refused them work permits and these very people decided to flout the laws and obtain cheap employment from the same Bajans that cry foul.

4. The Barbados ID card has an expiry date on it if you are employed with a work permit and expires when that permit expires. How then can people without permits (now illegal) be able to access services without a VALID ID card? Tell me!

5. You can’t blame the previous government for everything that went wrong with your immigration system as the same officers in immigration accepts gifts from non-nationals in exchange for status. And even some ‘normal’ Barbadians greedy for money apply for work permits on behalf of non-nationals knowing fully well that they are not employing them in the full sense, but just earning a nice $$ on the side.

6. Having lived here for over 5 years and thinking we would be eligible to apply for residency, we were surprised to learn that because my father later worked under the Caricom Skilled National certificate, that this would not be possible. So it seems that even though we’ve been here legally all these years, renewing our permits when we should, abiding the laws of the land, we were not eligible to fully settle here. (I can understand why this would be, with the magnitude of people moving within the region and countries needing to protect its citizens).

So it seems that it may have been better to hide out from immigration and after 5 years apply for residency (spoken from the mouth of an immigration officer to my mother 3 months ago). The US gives people green cards easier than Barbados gives residency..unless the foreigner is a white man (now that is a different story). So tell me, why do you think that your current system is giving out residency left right and center?

Maybe Ian Walcott or someone out there in blogland can inform me, since this is my experience.

My husband has pointed out that it is the Indo-Guyanese that has made it bad for all. Well that may be true, and even though I may dislike them and they me [for obvious reasons] I do not think that a forum such as this should promote hatred for this race. So here is the deal people, the PM may introduce more stringent measures at immigration with respect to the influx of Guyanese people but he will become unpopular if it seems that he is singling out Indian people from entering his country. And even though you don’t like them and I don’t like them this is not the way to show it. I also strongly agree with Pat and her mistrust of Indo-Guyanese and I guess that all Bajans are aware them just as I have had to when I lived with them in GY. You have all hit the nail on the head with respect to their mannerisms but this is not local to Indo-Guyanese only but also to Bajans of Indian descent. Tssssk tsssk!

Don’t mind Norman Faria and his letter. People make ‘mistakes’. I don’t think the Commissioner will do anything about it because this is a democratic country and no one had broken any laws by airing their views. Plus Mr. Faria, in case you are reading this and you are appalled by my stance..”How could you tell the people what to say on their radio? It is not your place. Fair is fair! I don’t think the British High Commissioner for Guyana calls in on Voice Of Guyana and tells them what to do on their station. Come on!”

I also do not agree with the minister that said that children of illegal immigrants should have access to schools. It is true that the children are not to blame, but it is their parents that put them in this situation and it would be unfair to Barbadians.

In case you were all wondering, I have not applied to be a citizen of Barbados by marriage. I do not think I can ever be a proud Barbadian and I can never appreciate the Barbados as much as you do. So you can say that I married my husband because I love him and that I am still here because of him!

How come I don’t hear yall bawling when the white man puts an ad in the papers saying he could find no suitable Bajan to be a NANNY! and is therefore applying for a work permit for such non-national. Anyhow.. I out!

3. Hi shy princess i respect your feelings and opinions.and am sorry that you have found yourself between this immigration policy mess.

However, dont point your fingers at us because you know there is good within a bajan or not you woud not have married one!

BLAME your fellow country men they have caused this predicament we are in, we bajans ourselves have caused it as well.

I know that you love your husband and if what you say is true; I respect that vibe.

However, I dont respect when people think that ‘honest bajans are ‘asses’ and take advantage of our niceness.

Like for example the Guyanese woman who put an old man in the Geriatric and has all her family now living in his house. and he now has to fight for what is his and yes he is still in hospital whilst she remains his upstairs and downstairs house;

or the young guyanese girl who had an old man hustling up the court steps for marraige and he is in his 70s;

or the guyanese woman who sticks with a bajan man until her citizenship has been approved and then divorces since she was already married and then she brings her entire family and REAL husband to my Barbados;

or like the Guyanese man who bought an ID Card for 1500 dollars from a dishonest civil servant;

or the guyanese women who for three saturdays in february or march wrote in the papers and declared to the whole world that they have AIDS and they have given it to bajan men and oops I forget felt for the man’s children and ‘ugly’ wife but still have passed on that destructive disease.

So you see Shyness your kinmen have caused bajans to detest them.

I understand why you cant love Barbados as we do;

We saw our foreparents with NOTHING achieve SOMETHING through dedication and hard work! You werent there that night on 1966 (neither was I) furthermore I was not bornt yet;

But it is as if I WAS there;

I saw my flag being raised; from the words of my parents and teachers and older community; I could literally feel the rain and the yucky mud all over my feet. But ya know what I could feel my heart beating with pride because I know that this was MY BARBADOS!

Therefore Ms. Shyness I can understand why you would never want to be a bajan you have already found that peace in Guyana.

Dont you think we need that peace of mind AGAIN!

Yours respectfully,

JC

Peace

4. Hi Shy Princess, I am Guyanese too, female and middle aged and as we say a catching my hand in another country. I have mixed feelings, because on the one hand I an Afro Guyanese, and can identify with the majority Afro Bajan, however, I am also torn apart regarding the plight of the Indo Guyanese, they are Guyanese, ah work with them, went to shcool with them, and live by them and I do like them on a person to person basis. I am also ashamed of the actions and behaviour of some Guyanese, you read the examples by JC. I can give you plenty of such examples about Guyanese that have occured in the USA from Alaska to Wyoming and from Mexico, Belize, Canada and even Australia, but I will not bother, as JC gave examples from Barbados. I say to you Shy Princess, enjoy your life with that lovely Bajan man, because when all is said and done do you really think the greater Guyanese population, or the republic of Guyana care about what happens to you, I say NO. You get sent back home they will say look at she, she went overseas and did seomthing bad and now look at she. You get your Barbadian citzen ship and just keep on keeping on, live up …love, protect, respest. One more thing Barbados and the USA have many, many similarities, BUT they are different in this regard, Barbados is much smaller than the US, however, they both face the daunting task of how to handle the immigration problem. PM Thompson seems to heading in the right direction in handling this delicate problem, but only time and tide will tell. I will tell you what will happen there in Barbados if the problem is not nipped in the bud quickly. Here I go, there was a great influx of illegal immigrants from the country of El Salvador to the US, in the late 70’s, well the Americans discriminated against the El Salvadoreans, or so they say, now the El Salvadoreans come from a country similar to Guyana, well the El Salvadoeans formed a gang as a lark, a fun thing in a Los Angeles park, well that gang, now called MS13 has evolved into one of the most voilent gangs the US authorities have ever seen. they have spread across the US wrecking havoc in major US cioties. They murder, sell drugs, shoot people in the streets for no reason, maybe they did not like how a person looks, or a person is walking in their territory, so they kill the person and so on The US has deported some back to El Salvador where they now create havoc on their fellow El Salvadoreans, that is why I have advocated for the education of all children in Barbados as a way to keep their young minds pre-occuppied as a way of preventing mischivious activities in Barbados, for as you know if that was to occur with Guyanese in Barbados like what happened to El Salvadoreans in America, we the Guyanese would bear the brunt of the violenc. Well Shy have fun. I am from the East Bank of Demerara. have a good life and do become a citizen of the Land of the Flying fish. I have never seen a fish fly, but you might have so enjoy. Love

5. To both JC and Anonymous.. thank you for your responses. I enjoyed reading both opinions expressed by both of you.

JC those stories, if true, are horrible especially the one with the lady who said she had HIV. I did not think that she said she was a Guyanese but it is possible that she may have been.

Anonymous, after reading all these posts by you I could have sworn that you were a Bajan. Dual citizenship. I don’t think I am ready to take that step just yet. I know it will probably make my life easier if I do.

Anyhow we will all have to see what these new immigration policies will look like now and how this situation will be handled.

6. shy princess and Anonymous

I have no sympathy and no time for these sob stories.

If as you say you are afro guyanese and we on this blogs have been crying out about the indo guyanese illtreatment of you – the afro guyanese – to the point where all the government contracts,good government jobs,loans etc are given to the indians – so that you have to run and hide out in other people’s country – and you tell us the bajans who are seeing the same nasty behaviour of the indo guyanese creeping in – you tell us that you worried about the indo guyanese in barbados.

To be truthful I have been very helpful to many afro guyanese but a guyanese, is a guyanese, is a guyanese – the majority of them, though not all are liars and schemers – and right now I don’t want them in this country.

The guyanese who came here in the 60s and 70s were a decent lot – but what we are getting are the desperate dregs – so forget your pride – and go back and build your country.

I am totally disgusted with guyanese now – and so are a lot of bajans.

7. @ Anonymous (the Bajan one)

No one asked for your sympathy and certainly not your precious time! No one is sobbing here either my dear. All I asked for, were answers to 6 intelligent questions. You have disappointed me in that regard as I was really looking foward to your reply. But maybe Ian Walcott, NegroMan or Pat will provide answers.

Cheers!

8. @ Anonymous (the Bajan one)

–Correction–
    No one asked for your sympathy and certainly not your precious time – **in replying to sob stories** – !

9. ShyPrincess welcome to the blogs.I understand and respect your views.As a black guyanese I welcome you to Barbados.I do not have much of a problem with black gyyanese.As a matter of fact I have quite a few black guyanese friends myself
    I have a few issues though that I will express an opinion on.
    Firstly,Shyprincess why did you had to say that you are a middle class black guyanese.I have problems with this foolishness of class.I do not believe in classism.It is an elitist belief that have us as black people divided and confused.Some of us believe that because of our educational background,financial position,and our apparent social status some of us blacks believe that we are superior to other blacks.That is a divide and rule tactic used by slave masters to divide us and hence conquer us and use us blacks.we must put that nonsense of class one side at recognise that all of us are of one race the black race and we wust work together for the preservation of the race.
    The black race is under threat of extinction from the other races,The black male in USA is one the most endanger species of living matter today on the face of the world.
    Secondly,Shyprincess it appears from your writings that you have a certain level of education.We need people with special skills to enhance our society.Our country can not go forward with,unskilled,uneducated people like the indo-guyanese flocking into the country.The majority of indo-guyanese is masos,carpenters,labourers and general workers.They are not the type that we need to handle the complexities of technology the world has today.We need highly skilled,highly educated people to build Barbados to first status that our leaders envisioned for us.We can not achieve that with an influx of stupid indo-guyanese.
    Finally,you understand the problems that indians created in Guyana as a resultof their racism against us blacks and I am sure that was one of the fundamental reasons why your family left Guyana and decided to live in a black Barbados.
    Do you want to see those same racial problems occur in Barbados?
    Do not defend those scoundrels.

10. @ Negroman

Thanks for your reply. I understand your point of view on the classism and also on the question of how much value the Indo-Guyanese provides to the Barbados economy.

Firstly, my ‘classist’ comment was not meant to be interpreted as me saying that I’m better than other blacks, but was an avenue for me to declare that I was living comfortably in GY and did not come from a desperate situation as some Bajans seem to think is the case with all Guyanese moving here. Imagine people ask me if Guyana got roads and all kinds of nonsense! Anyhow, I stand corrected on that point.

**The scoundrels**
    Not defending them (I recently had to put up with one who insisted on blaring his indian music) but these people, the ones who really know their trade, have saved Barbadians constructing/renovating homes many $$$ dollars. I know this is a sore point but it is the truth! I don’t think they meant to pull bread from a Bajan’s mouth by asking for less money to build kitchen cupboards. They have asked for what they’re accustomed earning in Guyana. Next to nothing! I hope that when all is said and done, I can find a few of them around when I am ready to begin building because I sure as hell can’t afford no big time contractor 🙂

No I don’t want to see the same racial problems in Barbados as in GY. If they are kept as a minority they can never out power the black Bajan. And that is all that needs to be done. The new immigration policy can perhaps implement a method to measure the skills possessed such as the one used in Canada. Years ago my father was not eligible (by this system) to move to Canada because we were too young and he was the sole provider. I took an online assessment recently and I passed! Alot of Guyanese and other Caricom nationals migrate to the larger countries such as USA, Canada and England to find better opportunity, but I’d rather stay in the Caribbean because I can identify with this culture and think its the best place to raise children.

Negroman, I appreciate your views. All this talk makes me want to go home to see what development has taken place over the last few years since I’ve last been there.

Anonymous (Baje) is probably mad at me for coming on this blog with my ‘sob story’ as he calls it and in his anger told me to get my – ‘A’ triple ‘S’ – back to Guyana to rebuild it. Well you had me thinking about that during the day and I’ve decided that you’ve somehow managed to make me feel ‘homesick’.

Have a great weekend all you bloggers!

11. ShyPrincess….a word of advice.

Some of those on-line assessments for migration to Canada are scams.

12. Shy Princess although those Indo Guyanese make you shite you realise you just said that you will find one to build your house?

I hope bajans see that MRS.SHYNESS is a still a guyanese. I wonder if mia and crew realise that these people did come to take over. Although ms. shyness readily admits that they make you shite she still hiring them to do her house hmmmm…..

Bajans that is why we get our asses cut casue we aint like ms. shyness who is check for THEIR own!

13. JC

As usual I see you onto to the agenda.

Trust you to tell it as it is.

I am very skeptical of a lot of these so-called afro guyanese and their stories – especially when they tell us to give the indo guyanese a break.

14. Anon they always start off as if they understand our plight and agree with with us but all the time they making sure like a subliminal message TO SAY ‘we support you but cud dear feel fah them still doh!

Ms. Shyness although i admire your pride for your country;

I do not admire you living here yet still having the ‘gall’ to think that we are ASSES!

you see how I was once irie with you but you have caused me to become pist off!

That is what you all do all the time take our kindness for weakness!

I will repeat

BAJANS ARE NOT ASSES!

15. I don’t have a problem with any national visiting this little rock of ours. I must say though that our Government needs to look closely at this sudden influx of indians whether guyaniese or who ever.. now we can continue to pretend that there is no influx if we want but one day we will wake up and Barbados as we know it today is no longer … Any sovering country should not be ashame nor affarid to deal with illegal immegration… if any one is found here beyond there stay they should be deported forthwith and not alowed to return.. they broke the law and therefore should be made to pay… beyond this who wants to visit can visit and go back home.. I love to visit Canada and Miami .. once my time is up I fly back to the rock called Barbados my home …. so do the same …

16. @JC

I’d like to think of myself as a practical and intelligent person. The reason I came on this forum in the first place was not to make friends, nor to condemn nor negotiate, but to offer another vantage point to bloggers on the whole issue of the influx of illegal Guyanese (in particular the indo-Guyanese) in Barbados and also to share my experience with the current immigration policies in making Barbados my second home. I expect that we’d agree to disagree in our views but it is my observation that some bloggers have their opinions and are not open to discussion and as such I won’t be responding to those persons.

JC, you are entitled to your view which is that I am crazy to hire an indo-guyanese to construct my home even though I dislike them. In my previous post, I was responding to NegroMan’s post which said and I quote:

“Shyprincess it appears from your writings that you have a certain level of education. We need people with special skills to enhance our society. Our country can not go forward with,unskilled, uneducated people like the indo-guyanese flocking into the country. The majority of indo-guyanese is masos, carpenters, labourers and general workers. They are not the type that we need to handle the complexities of technology the world has today”

…to which my response was “Not defending them…but these people, the ones who really know their trade, have saved Barbadians constructing/renovating homes many $$$ dollars.”

JC, you DON’T have to LIKE a coolie man to save yourself $$$. My in-laws, even though they DISLIKE indo-guyanese, always hire them to renovate their house or whatever you may. MANY Bajans do it…but you accuse me of being a hypocrite because I plan to do it.

Further, it is not a matter of looking out for my own…BUSINESS IS BUSINESS. At the end of the day I will use whoever gives me VALUE FOR MONEY be it Chinese or Indo-Guyanese. Who want to get vex with me for saying that well that’s your DAMN problem! You DID NOT accompany me to the frigging bank for my mortgage! If black people “stop trying to juck out yuh eye” then we won’t have to support other businesses ran by other ethnic groups and we could live in total ISOLATION!!!

If a black man will charge me $200 for fixing a pipe and an indo-guyanese will charge me $80, I will bite my tongue and hire the latter. I guess in your case you’d rather spend the extra $120 than to let that coolie man in your house. LoL. Maybe I am accustomed to the push and pull relationship between the black and indo societies that [this] is not a big deal for me. We hate each other but will still support the other in business if it makes sense to. JC, I wonder what you think of your black Bajan women who dislike Indians but still buy curtains in Abeds or shop at most Indian-owned stores in Swan Street. Are they hypocrites too? Or is it just me?

I don’t expect you to understand this twist since you are probably one to shop at SuperCentre even though they are other supermarkets selling the same items at a cheaper price. If you are a saver as I am, you’d make sure to spend wisely even if you did not like who you were buying from. A few years ago I use to shop at SuperCentre Warrens for the convenience and the ‘experience’. Not to mention the brands. In these times, I now I shop at Cherish and Popular to save money.

How many of you so-called black bajans run to give white owned BS&T your business which in turn probably contributes to the demise of small black owned businesses? I wonder if JC dislikes white people but still shop at Dacostas? Are you guilty of this? Ever wondered why SuperCentre does so well and supermarkets like Less Frills had to shut down? Even though the prices at Less Frills were cheaper than SuperCentre. Maybe SuperCentre has the brands that Less Frills didn’t have and people preferred to support that white-owned company than black owned Less Frills.

How many people here are members of ShopSmart, say aye! Let me see all who support this black business. I certainly do! WHY? To save money.

Finally, let me see all those who WILL support a black man when he is charging you 100% more than someone of another ethnicity? Because this is what this is all about … isn’t it JC? Me trying to save my hard earned dollars and you getting vex with me for it.

You’re your own man and you can get vex all you want, but I am not going to let my dislike of one race make me throw my money down the drain.

So shoot me!

17. @ Technician

Thanks for the tip, but I am aware of the scammers. I took the online assesment and that was that. I didn’t follow-up on it. Think I had used migrationexpert.com. Seemed Ok.

18. @ Gapp

I agree with you 100%. The US deports people who broke the law even if they migrated there at the age of 5. But they’ve also given green cards to illegal ‘aliens’ living there for an extended time. Many people of Caribbean descent leave these shores with hopes of making a better life in the US and find themselves staying there illegally and doing miniscule jobs. They do it in North America and also regionally.

I don’t understand how people can visit another country and hide out. I’d be sh^tting my skin at every move I make.

I think that the Caribbean as a whole need to revisit their immigration laws, especially since Caricom implemented the free movement of people act.

19. Shy princess check your blasted selve if it was up to me I would buy every shite from black people; to show that you are indeed something else you of yourself have not mentioned that you would hire a bajan you even went as far as to say you would hire a chinese first.

You dont know me so dont playn you know me!

I would want a guyanese on my house those swindlers pleaseeeeeee! I know of guyanese who claim to be all types of artisans and dont know one shite. I more prefer quality over quantity any day sweetie. so check ya self!

YOU DONT KNOW ME!

But you certainly know ‘hand to mount bajans dont you!’

And you talking about how I would buy at supercentre you dont know me, so dont be sarcastic with me; I buy in bulk sweetie FROM A BLACK BARBADIAN!

20. Oh and another thing if I had to choose between an indian guyanese fixing my pipe from the prices yoou quoted!

Bajans will ask around to find someone (BAJAN) who is KNOWN TO be a plumber! FOOL!

21. I forgot some bajans would indeed go to your kin since they like cheapness! Have you ever heard ‘too cheap no good” LOL LOL LOL LOL!

STUPESSSSS

22. JC

In addition I have noticed before that whenever the so-called afro guyanese responds here about our comments on indo guyanese – they always try to lecture us about our relationship with white bajans – and how we seem to prefer them over the illegal guyanese who are hiding out here.

For the record shy princess and others – white bajans – are bajans -o.k.

You on the one hand talk about how you can’t hate the guyanese indian and feel sorry for them even though they treat you like dirt back in guyana – and this is because you went to school with them and eat with them – therefore they are part of your society.

Well in barbados -especially among the poorer whites,black bajans ate ,play and yes sleep with them and even inter marry – and yes they are an integral part of our society.

Barbados problem has a lot to do with classism even between the ethnic groups.

Upper class whites look down on lower class whites.
    Upper class blacks look down on lower class blacks.

However I would not give up our richard ‘dick’ hoad for a thousand guyanese.

Nor Maurice foster,or francis chandler – just to name a few.

Good,solid citizens of barbados who just happen to be white.

So don’t come here trying to pitt black bajans against white bajans – we already recognise that after 350 years of existence – 40 of which we spent as an independent country – and we haven’t yet gotten our relationship quite together – then who the hell tell you bringing in another ethnic group (the indians) – who are known to be extremely racist towards persons of african descent – will some how make life in this country any easier.

Right now the world facing a recession and we have bajans struggling trying to make ends meet – yet we have over 40,000 guyanese parked out in this country the most of them illegal and making no contributions to our social services – yet they are here putting presuure on our limited housing,on our scarce water supply,on our shrinking garbage disposal landfill,on our health and educational services – and I can go on and on.

If guyanese don’t get it that they are a nuisance wherever they go throughout the caribbean whether it is barbados,st lucia,trinidad,antigua or whether it is canada,U.K. – wherever.

People are fed up with basdeo jagdeo tacitly encouraging his people to go flood out other people’s country even if it means staying illegally – while they send money back home and build up the country for the indians there who control everything.

It is time for guyanese to go home – before the very ‘passive’ bajans react in a way that may shock everybody.

A word to the wise is enough.

23. Thanks Anon, you said it better than I did, I was so vex reading the ‘bullshit’ that shy princess wrote!

Imagine, shyprincess and crew are accustomed to deprivation; so it is nothing to them if they give to the indo-guyanese who is kill them for fun; they accustom getting shoot down ‘
    so wha’ that is life in their neck of the woods but NOT IN BARBADOS! that is the type of attitude that has caused the likes of them to loose what was rightfully thiers stupes!

We have not even ironed out our differences amongst ourselves, and you all and your ‘brethern’ the indo guyanese have come here to manipulate us and insult our way of life and thinking.

PLEASEEEEEEEE!

SPARE ME! No wonder things in guyana will never improve, because you all refuse to fight No wonder you all had to run and leave no balsted back bone!

I AM NOT GOING ANYWHERE!

So I will fight until the last breath in my body to KEEP what is MINE!

24. Some contributors to this debate have looked at the issue through the narrow focus of the price of commodities; baked beans, flour etc in a supermarket or the cost of labour used in building a home.

The issues are greater than that short term basic level, they are more to do with the “society” we have have had, have now and would like in the future. It is also about the social and ethnic structure of our country, and how peace can be maintained.

The price of a can of beans in a supermarket, pales into insignificance when compared to the society we live in, and the future hopes for our children and grand children.

We -Bajans – might be foolish for having the opinions we have, but this is our country and we are allowed to be foolish in it.

25. JC

I will say this it is my belief that you stand a better chance of being treated fairly with an average white bajan than you stand with an average indian.

We all know there are persons who are racially prejudiced in every racial group,However the overwhelming eveidence whether through personal stories or through statistics (if done) will show that despite their racist viewpoint a white person – take here in barbados – a white person if a black man shows that he is willing to work hard,be honest and provide quality work – that white person will offer work to that black man on a regular basis – once he knows he can rely on him.

However check out the indians here – the only time they buy from a black man – is if they want to get your land, or your business – or something that they can use to make more wealth.

Indians don’t go and support poor blacks and but their fish cutters,or go into their boutiques and buy their clothes.

They only buy from africans when they really,really cannot help it – and therefore africans must do the same.

Indians to my mind TAKE MORE from a society than they give back,and wherever they go they always demand that society conform to their way of life rather than they conform to the norms of the society they find themselves in.

So you must make arrangements and change your school regulations to make allowance for their children to wear pants underneath their dresses even though you are in a 98% christian country.

You must allow them to put up flags all around the homes,and cannot criticise their form of worhip although they criticise ours whether publicly or privately – so if you say anything against allah – then you are marked for a jihad against you.

Note christians are not given that privelege in India,Pakistan,Saudia Arabia.

Next they will ask for national days to celebrate their gods,and insist on having token numers of their race in the parliament,or government boards etc.

Right now Fiji,U.K. trinidad and such like are having hell with these group of people of indian descent because -especially in fifj and in U.K. they realise that these indian people came in quietly at first – as they are doing now in barbados – but as soon as they felt they had numerical and financial strenght – then they began to show their true colours -demanding that private catholic schools in the u.k. allow them in as muslims or sikhs or hindus even though to enter that school they must be a catholic.

In trinidad newspaper reports suggested that hindu schools which are government financed have refused to allow the hindu children to participate in state sponsored xmas day programmes which include the singing of ‘christmas’ carols.

Trinidad under basdeo panday has allowed the hindus to build a stautue of their hindu god – hanuman- which is 75 feet tall,and some trinis say you can see that statue from various parts of the island.

Now tell me why a country which is almost evenly split among africans and indians (less than a point difference) and actually have a majority christian population (since some indians have converted to christianity as presbyterian,pentecostals etc) – why that minority religion was allowed to build a stautue which towers over the whole countrywhile other religions like the catholics have always maintained the practice of small deities in their place of worship?

These are some of the things our political leadership,and members of the media and ordinary joe citizens need to reflect on as we consider the implications of the large number of indians coming into this country barbados.

26. Because they bribed their way into the pockets of the corrupt politicians Anon thats why!

I hope that politicians in Barbados realise that since there is a BU now, somebody will inform us and you know what happened to ‘owing after!’

Anon, I wonder what it was that jagdeo told thompson about the conspiracy between him and owen i just wonder …… perhaps BU can do some digging hmmmmmm………

27. @ JC

Early Sunday morning and you calling me a fool for my opinion. Well, well, well. To add insult to injury you also implied that my in-laws live ‘hand to mouth’. Getting personal and immature don’t you think?

I never pretended that I know you Mr. JC. If you felt that way then maybe I hit a mark…somewhere, somehow. LoL. My post seemed to have gotten the better of you. Tsssk tsssk!

Good thing you don’t know me and I don’t know you and that we are both here to contribute to this forum in a meaningful manner.

28. @ Yardbroom

The argument of the cost to build a house and the price of goods may seem narrow compared to the bigger issues of society, but they are the driving forces behind what is happening to society today.

A shortage of labour caused the then governments to welcome ‘foreign’ labour and as such with the difference in cultures and so on, society has changed into what it is today.

It will never be what it was yesterday and all you can do is to try to preserve what is left today for tomorrow.

29. Shy princess you have done a good job of hiding your ethnicity. I know you are not black Bajan. I am unsure if you are white Bajan, coolie, Indo Guyanese or a next foreigner. What I am sure of is that you are a racist.

30. ShyPrincess
    You said: …”a shortage of labour caused the then government to welcome”foreign” labour and as such the difference in cultures and so on, society has changed into what it is today.”

Men dictate events, events do not dictate men. It is because of actions situations arise.

The fact is the previous government made a “mistake”,that is no reason for us to condone that mistake and pretend nothing has happened, and carry on regardless, that is a policy of madness.

We -Bajans – are not to be told by you what we can or cannot do now, we will determine what is to be done. It might not be agreeable to you but that is of no concern to us. Fortunately we are still in a position to control events. It is opinions like those expressed by you and others here which reinforces our belief that this small island will go the way of Guyana, Trinidad and Fiji. It should not be allowed to happen.

31. @ Three Lions

I believe that you have not read this forum in its entirety. Else you won’t be pointing a finger at me only!

I did not hide my ethnicity. Scroll up and read the blogs. As to my racists remarks they are quite appropriate for this forum and its subject matter. I won’t retract.

32. @ Yardbroom

I don’t get your drift. Where in my response to your blog did I indicate that you should accept all that the previous government has done with respect to the influx of Indo-Guyanese?

What I did imply was that because of such an event (yes dictated by men) that your society has its current issues.

“We -Bajans – are not to be told by you what we can or cannot do now, we will determine what is to be done. It might not be agreeable to you but that is of no concern to us.”

How dare you? For your information, I have every right to suggest what can be done as this is also the land of my children and their children to come, unless you want to imply that they will be less of a Bajan because they have a Guyanese mother.

If that is the case, is Rihanna less of a Bajan because her mother is Guyanese too?

33. Yardbroom

My friend you see what we are up against.

As the old people use to say:you cutting stick to cut your backside.

or

You cutting stick to break your back.

What a thing eh? The guyanese female has the audacity to ask you how dare you say what you said.

You see whether they are here illegally or whether they were able to inveigle themselves through marriage to a ‘bajan’ man – to be able to get citizenship – then we the barbadians whose great,great,great grandparents toiled to make this country the beauty that it is – are now being told by these ‘ unwelcome guests’ – HOW DARE YOU!

Bajans you ain’t see nothing yet.

Over and over again persons have come on this very blog and told us how there are guyanese in this country who have been telling bajans to their face how – ‘they hate bajans’ – how bajans too stupid – how they will run bajans outof swan street as vendors etc.

This has the making of some deep social unrest,because while I must admit shy princess that there are stupid bajans who get taken in by the guiles of the guyanese especially the females – there are a whole lotta bajans out there – who will not take the guyanese attitude and their increasing presence so easy.

So you better walk good hear.

34. For the record, I am Indo Guyanese, a Hindu and educated. I am in Barbados legally and have never had any problems in my interactions with Barbadians or anyone else in this beautiful island. A friend told me about this site and so I have been reading some of these posts. I can understand the concern about illegal immigrants and Barbadians have every right to demand that the laws are upheld but many comments really border on being racist. So I have a few questions:

What would posters wish the Government to do with the legal Indo Guyanese immigrants who are in Barbados now?

To the poster Yardbroom: Many Guyanese and other immigrants are working in construction and agriculture in Barbados. They are here legally and were actually recruited to this island by Barbadian companies. Many of them are Indian and without their labour much development could not have taken place. My next question is: should Barbados have forgone their development plans or should only immigrants of African ancestry have been allowed in?

I appreciate the indulgence of posters.

35. Shyprincess you called me a fool when you insisted that I went to Supercenter and other white owned businesses. I took it as an insult that you can think that THIS BIRGHT SUNDAY MORNING IN BARBADOS, I should not have had any right in reading that a GUYANESE, is telling me JC what to say and think in my own country.

You sound just like Faria, you all want to insult Bajans in any way you all see fit be it the black guyanese the indian guyanese the charcoal guyanese or the dougla ones.

You see how noise is start you come on this site and want me to say things that are pleasing to you; you start out like all conquerors, coming with nice talk and a friendly smile but when you all get in PURE SCENES!

What gives you all the right to tell a bajna how to think or how to feel;

When wanna see wwe left we ya!

I have no intentions of backing down so study ya head real good!

Did these Barbadian companies go through the legal means of hiring these Guyanese ms Satyendra, secondly where the hell were you all when we were going through crisis after crisis? It is only when owen sinkya after come on the scene he and his corrupt crew that you all emerged thinking wanna run something bout here no you all have come and caused total chaos.

I have some questions for you Ms. Satyendra ,

who is Errol Walton Barrow? (Dont go and do no research just anwer from the top of your head) and say all the good things he has done.

What is the leader of a gang?

Who wrote our anthem?

Where were you all in 1991?

How many lies and vile deceptive things have Guaynese (Black or Indian) done to enter this island?

Dont you think that as true Barbadians that we have the right to have a say in our country without all the questions from you?

36. satyendra

What we want is for those indo or other guyanese and other nationalities who come here to work at a particular plantation or a particular construction firm,should when the time is up leave and go back to barbados – like the vincy and lucians used to do when they came on contract labour.

You don’t see trinidad sending home the guyanese by the dozens every day.

Most of them come to barbados to work for the smaller agricultural holdings who applied the work permit for them – they stay for about 2 weeks and then they disappear.

A lot of these indoguyanese who come to barbados saying they are masons,carpenters,plumbers – are really labourers who worked on the rice estate or did ordinary labouring jobs back in guyana – yet they taking poor bajans hard earned money,claiming to be masons,carpenters etc, and messing up the jobs – and then the house owner has to find more money to pay a bajan to correct the mess the unskilled indo guyanese left.

As you well know indo guyanese are discouraged from marrying and interacting socially with black guyanese – and they only coming here in barbados pretending to like blacks so that they can marry and get bajan citizenship.

Don’t come now and tell me that you have black friends and you mix – becuse 1 swallow doesn’t make a summer.

Indians don’t inter marry with blacks as a general rule – and don’t like persons of african descent.

My suggestion to you is that you better advise you country men to go home – because ‘one day coming soon the people will wake up’.

Bajans are fed up of guyanese – they are like a bad taste in their mouths.

I believe that citizenship and permanent residences given under the arthur’s administration should be thoroughly reviewed and when there is fraud discovered these documents ahould be revoked.

Don’t tell me that you here legally – because that could mean anything- that you pay thousands for permament residence,or hundreds for an I..D card,or you get into a false marriage
    of convenience – or you may have been allowed in under legal means – but the latter is highly unlikely because other than agricultural and construction skills – guyana does not have any skills that we are desperate in need of – and those skilled guyanese persons should be staying and help build guyana.

More than likely you came in legally,overstayed and then through whatever means got documents – but if that is the case we intend to stop that real soon.

37. I never insulted your in laws sweetie. You see how troublesome you all Guyanese can get?

Wannah is something else ya all like nuff noise.

I never tell you to come on site it was your choice!

38. ShyPrincess
    You asked: “where in my response to your blog did I indicate that you should accept all the previous government has done with respect to the influx of Indo-Guyanese?

In your response of 13 July 8.55am
    You Said…” a shortage of labour caused the then governments to welcome “foreign” labour and as such with the difference in cultures and so on, society has changed into what it is today”.

In the last paragraph you added…”It will never be what it was yesterday and will never be what it was yesterday and all you can do is try to preserve what is left today for tomorrow.”

You Said:”ALL YOU CAN DO” I take that to mean acceptance. You also referred to difference in “cultures”.

It is “you” who is on the blogs, to whom my comment is addressed any other person or persons is superfluous. This issue is bigger than any individual, is is about society, culture a way of life, sacrifices made, rewards for that sacrifice. It is not about a forty five minute plane journey, or a tin of baked beans in a supermarket or the difference between $20 an hour and $60 an hour.

It is about what it means to be a “Bajan” and how despite all the problems we have had over the centuries , with so little we have made a success of what we have. It is for that reason others with so much -they tell us – have had to come to the rock.

You have been here for two seconds and you are telling us what we must accept. It is not going to happen.

39. David Thompson

Just as you doing audits in Hard Wood Housing Company and Urban Development we want you to do an immediate audit in the immigration department and the granting of citizenships and work permits.

Make some retroactive decisions in that section.

Finally tighten up and make it very,very,very,very,very,very veeeeeeery difficult to get bajan citizenship going forward.

40. We never asked for you all to come, you all turned up and made a mess of this society, with lies and deception. AND you all now have the audacity to say that we are racist. Stupes

We can only be what you all turned us into and that is conscious black people realising that you all have come to seek, destroy and conquor.

NOT BOUT HERE ATALL! go to Brasil or one of you all neighbouring countries and try it. I know for sure it would have been civil war already os just try it PLEASE EEEE!

41. First to JC and anonymous. I am a Mr not a Ms. I am married to a lovely Indo Guyanese. I am here under the Caricom Skilled National Program. As to who Errol Barrow was, I know he was the first Barbadian Prime Minister and he appointed Lionel Luckhoo, an Indo Guyanese, as independent Barbados’ first High Commissioner to the UK. He was a very close friend of Forbes Burham (how do you think Caricom started?). Maybe I should put some of the blame on him for supporting Burnham who destroyed Guyana.

I agree that if one’s work permit has expired and is not renewed then one should leave but many immigrants decide to stay (legally) and make here their new home. This happens all over the world. The answers to my question were not clear and it would seem that many on this site would wish to send the legal Indo Guyanese out even after they have been given permanent residence. We don’t determine the Government of Barbados’ policies and if we were given “our documents” by the proper authorities, it is highly irregular and unfair to accuse us some illegal manipulation of the system simply on the basis of race (although JC obviously dislikes Guyanese of all races).

I await the answer to my second question.

42. Maybe the time has come where we as a country need to move the argument forward. Many of us as Barbadians have expressed concern at the high level of undocumented workers with a focus on large inflows of Indians and Chinese and the possible impact it will have on our society. A society which has been the envy of the Caribbean as far as our social cohesion is concern.

Now that we have set the table we need to become more solution oriented in our arguments. Not to say that we have not heard some constructive suggestions but we need more.

The construction industry is about to fire up given governments aggressive housing program. Agriculture is about to fire up as food security takes centre stage. The BU family knows too well that migrant labour is used in these two sectors.

If we are to accept the argument that we need to grow the two sectors mentioned as part of our ongoing development it leaves the problem that we will have to manage migrant labour with precision.

This brings us to the role of our immigration department and the existing immigration policy. It appears to BU that our policy framework needs to become more efficient. We have been promised by Minister of State Maxine McClean and Attorney general Fruendel Stuart that existing immigration legislation will be revamped to become more relevant to current times.

We have a situation where current development will necessitate migrant labour but if we have Immigration laws which are full of holes this will create social dysfunction on our small island e.g.illegals etc.

Can the BU family offer some suggestion on how we should manage the challenge outlined above?

43. @ Satyendra
    It doesn’t matter if you’re educated or not, some people on this forum will tell you that they want no Guyanese in their country. They are ungrateful for the contributions you have made to this island whether you are here legally or not. These people are not open to discussion, so don’t waste your time here as I have wasted mine!

44. Thank you David. Well half of my second question has been addressed i.e Barbados will continue to need migrant labour to further its development objective. The only thing left to be stated by posters is if the policy should be that only immigrants of African ancestory be allowed in?

45. @ Satyendra

No the Barbados government is not going to implement a policy that will allow only immigrants of African ancestry. If so, and I have said this in a previous post, the government will become rather unpopular amoung other member states which would have serious implications for CSME.

Some bloggers don’t want to me to suggest what can be done, but that is my opinion. Government is not going to push out a policy that will send the wrong message internationally.

46. Satyendra
    If there are legal Indo-Guyanese in Barbados, “personally” I do not have a problem with those immigrants…providing that status can be properly established.

However, as with any other immigrant to a country; it pays to try and fit in and be a part of the wider society, not be a “separate” entity in that society. It is because of the cohesiveness which Barbados has to some degree, that has made the place what it is.

If it was, that in the short term illegal immigrants as you suggested – assisted an economic boom and the result of those immigrant’s presence led to a fractured society with races fighting each other as is evident in Guyana. The boom would have been of no “long term benefit” to Barbados.

I would never say that only immigrants of African descent should be allowed in Barbados, that has never been the case and I do not think ever will be. However, a properly managed immigration policy with work permits for those wishing to work in Barbados would have solved any short term labour problems.

47. ShyPrincess,

Barbados is a small, heavily populated island with some demographic concerns (i.e the Barbadians are not having enough children and are living to very old ages). The influx of “others” will heighten anxieties about identity. culture etc. This has to be addressed but the racist tone and suggestions of these posters is so absurd that I don’t think it contributes anything positive to a solution.

I agree with your prediction that the Government of Barbados will not have an openly stated African only policy but there could be an “under the counter” position. However in any event, I want to know what is it that these posters on this blog want. The Guyanese that are here legally will remain here until they decide to leave. The irony of this situation is that it is very likely that in the very near future Barbadians will be knocking on Guyana’s door.

48. @Satyendra

Please don’t trivialize this topic because of a ‘tone’. The issue of race relations whether in Guyana, Jamaica, England or USA will always evoke a high level of emotionalism. Currently in the USA we have the same argument and concern from the Hispanics. It is a global concern and Barbados is not divorce from it. Please forget the red herring arguments and if you feel your interventions can bring value i.e. to be dispassionate please do so.

This is our country and as we survey our neighbouring islands we see all hell breaking loose should we sit our asses down and say and do nothing? We think not!

49. Good that you have responded. Thank you. I did not suggest anything about “short term illegal immigrants” but quite the opposite. I have not once supported undocumented/illegal immigration. My first concern was the crude, generalised racist commentary of some posters and in particular the carte blanche hostility towards Indians.

Now you have introduced the crux of the matter i.e. what value system shall predominate in Barbados that will conduce to orderly and peaceful development of all? Surely you would not ask me to stop being a Hindu or change my name etc. However as time is short and lunch calls, I think you have more trouble in the form of the Muslim school in Bridgetown than any number of Guyanese who by an large exhibit a West Indian creole sensibility.

50. You are bold to say that Guyanese who are here will remain till ther are good and ready to leave. Very very bold.

But ya no wah I cant come to your country and say these things publicly. I know your kinsmen would ask who the hell am I?

But these things can only happen IN BARBADOS!

As Anon a day coming soon that the people will wake up I am alive ready and kicking.