press-release

Submitted by Guyana Honorary Consulate

Do your job and assist your Guyanese employees !

That’s the message the Guyana Honorary Consul in Barbados, Norman Faria, is sending to certain  employers here following reports to his office of Guyanese expressing worries about processing of their work permits.

Faria, in a letter written last week to Harry Husbands, the Executive Director  of the umbrella group Barbados Employers Confederation, also urged sections of Barbadian small business sector to pay more attention to their personnel departments. He argued  that this, and better bookkeeping, would enhance the efficiency and profitability of their firms.

“There are of course firms that deal most professionally with all their employees and we must commend the generally progressive and vibrant nature of the Barbados private sector,  but  the Consulate is nevertheless concerned about the high number of reports to their Consul by workers questioning difficulties they are experiencing at the Immigration Department, in particular when renewing their work permits.  In most cases, when I ask them what is their employer doing to assist , the Guyanese tell me they have to do everything . This is causing considerable stress and worry for my people, since they always  try to follow the rules and do not wish to be undocumented,” wrote Faria in his letter last week …

“The Consulate assists where it can, but it is the interests of the  firms to make inquiries particularly for their employees on work permits. The Guyanese, for whom I speak,  are giving them  good and honest labour and faithful service for many years in building up the Barbadian economy  but in return they are told to fend for themselves in these matters.    The firms had to approve and sign the work permit application forms in the first place, so why no follow up ? Some of these firms have big personnel departments with several employees. They have to shape up and do their job,”  he urged in his correspondence to Mr. Husbands.

The Guyanese Consul also charged that “an alarmingly high number” of these reports cite small businesses  apparently paying scant attention to the importance of personnel sections. “True, they may not have the staff  nor resources for seperate sections but if you are demanding of employees to bring in all sorts of documents such as police clearance and recomendations and the worker giving his/her best for many years, there must be a recipocal giving and assisting when the worker is experiencing difficulties and worry in cases such as having the work permit processed. In some cases, there is no proper book keeping. Incredibly, some of these firms don’t even issue pay slips, listing deductions,  when paying workers. All of this is wrong , not in keeping with modern day business practices, and needs to be corrected,” said Faria who also copied his letter to the Barbados Small Business Association.

Faria commended the “relatively progressive and vibrant nature” of the Barbadian private sector in general and thanked those Barbadian firms and individuals for their doing business, including investing, in Guyana.

1. If the employer is not helping the employee to renew the work permit it would seem that they are no longer interested in that employee providing the service. We have made this conclusion because the employer is an integral part of the work permit application process.

2. Norman Faria
    You don’t seem to get it. We in Barbados are not obligated to employ or harbour these guyanese into our country. We don’t owe you or them any favours, there fore if you and your gang don’t like our service, let me suggest that it means the employer does not want your guyanese service anymore, so why should they hurry up to renew some-one that they don’t need.I’m sick of you and others trying to dictate to us bajans. Let me warn you, you and your guyanese friends are treading on dangerous ground, you are stirring up some serious anger against guyanese in this country that can result in serious civil unrest and violence; it is reaching boiling point. Unless this is what you and them are looking for, may I suggest you desist from this or face the fire. Further, let me warn you that you and your guyanese gang is no match for what bajans are capable of so BACK OFF NOW.

3. Dear Mr Dep P.M
    Please step in NOW and put an end to this disaster that is about to happen. I don’t think any of the leaders realise how serious this matter is. This volcano can blow at any moment and they are factors that appear to be deliberatelt stoking the fire. Please don’t allow these people to destablise Barbados like they have destablise Guyana. If it happens this country will sink lower that Guyana has since we have no natural resources that they have. Our only natural resources are in our people(bajans), who have worked hard to put Barbados to what and where it is. These people have seen that, that’s why they target, the bajans to weaken us. When they have distroyed us they would go back to their South American country and live large off us foolish bajans and disassociate themselves from us. Please save us from falling into this trap.
    You Sir, seems to know the divide that exists in Guyana, PLEASE don’t let them transfere it to Barbados. If it is not stopped NOW we are doomed.

4. David

There are some issues which, when it comes to the application for a work permit, that need to be addressed.

The first problem is that employers keep the employee’s passport and the employee does not have a chance to ascertain that a work permit was applied for and was granted.

The second problem is that a person can apply for a work permit on their own, with only a letter of commitment from an employer. The employer is not duty bound to go to the immigration department.

Both these situations lead to irregularities and corruption and some attempt should be made to strike a balance in the two scenarios.

The first scenario allows the employer to charge the employee any amount for the work permit which they have no choice but to pay; Whereas the permit only cost about $150 at immigration.

Guyanese businessmen have been fleecing their own, in this. They were charging employees anywhere up to, and over, $1000.00 for a work permit. Even after paying this money, the employee is no wiser, because his boss may not apply for the work permit and there is no way to ascertain this, because the employer keeps the passport. This is a leverage for the employer, who now has the employee under his full control; using constant threats of deportation.

The second scenario, gives the employee more strength and Independence and allows him to change jobs, etc. and be on the job market. However, the only drawback is that a letter from an employer is not a guarantee that the applicant will work with that company at all.

The question is, which is the better scenario? or do both need tightening? Another consideration is that under CSME where the intention is to give Caribbean nationals (that qualify) a chance to find work, the second scenario is ideal.

It would not be so good to assume that if the employer does not show up, then there is no interest. Too many cases where an employer needs an employee but cannot afford the time themselves, in Immigration. Here we need to deal with the slow pace of the Civil Service; or any service provided by the Government.

5. @ROK

Your explanation is taken and probably explains why the process is being re evaluated by cabinet.

6. David
    What must also be borne in mind is that the immigration dept does not have to renew a work permit either,nor do they have to give the applicant a reason for not renewing the permit.Mr Faria seems to imply that it is automatic.

7. @The Scout

Not only that,but Bajan Citizens can actually disrupt any foreign national on the job if they qualify for it by going to the immigration department with their qualifications,using the Bajans first rule.

Current law also requires the employer to pay FULLY for the work permit process,NOT the employee.I am for some aspects of CSME [if it can work] if there are no Bajan citizens or permanent residents to fill the job,such as skilled nationals but the guaranteed 6 month stay,CARIPASS & free movement of all nationals will not fly at all.

The reality is that the current PM appears to be trying to expand the law so that Caribbean nationals have some of the same rights as Bajans [except from deportation],but that same reality also means extra cost to the Bajan tax payer as well.In a world recession-like environment the P.M has to be very careful how he handles this situation since it is very clear that the local populous will not tolerate anything other than consistent enforcement of immigration law until the situation has stabilized.The current P.M. wanted the job & he has gotten it but imo no matter the “managed migration” policy this situation will more than likely happen again & again & again due to the current arrangements Barbados has agreed to.Ultimately,only opting out of CSME or having certain countries withdraw from Caricom will allow this whole thing to work.,

8. ROK
    Some interesting situations regarding the work permit process especially as its relates to Caribean Nationals.

The process outlined by you does not seem transparent enough and lend itself to the obvious manipulation that is occurring in that area.

I believe the work permit process needs a complete overhaul.A suspension of work permits approvals should be implemented until a full review is undertaken in that area.

I do not think Barbados needs all of these non-nationals to carry out mundane jobs that many Barbadians can perform.In addition specialised jobs that need specialised people to perform should in the long run be given to locals.Unfortunately that is not the case in many instances especially in the tourism industry.We have the local hotel school and the University of the West Indies training and putting out many highly skilled graduates who are able to take up in position in the local hotel industry.This is not case though because the local hotels always look for non-national to take up positions that we have many locals skilled in those areas.Almost all hotels are managed by non-nationals and almost all senior management positions are headed by non-nationals also.After all these years of the hotel school & University of the West Indies we cannot find locals to fill managerial positions in the hotel industry.

There is an abuse of the work permit process and all previous governments and this present government seem incapable of effectively managing the problem

9. @Scout

Immigration does give reasons for refusal. I am not sure they can get away with not giving a reason because there is scope for giving reasons; even if they say national security.

@Jay

I would hate to think that I am so far out of touch, but last time I checked, the employee is responsible for paying for the work permit; by law. A person can get a work permit without immigration ever seeing the employer. This is done by giving the employee a letter, setting out the work to be done or the category of employee, e.g. carpenter, mason, etc.

The employer can pay for the permit, but to place the employer in this kind of upperhand position, would spell danger for the employee and for the country, if we find that employers are taking advantage of employees.

From my experience, it is best that employers are not authorised to hold other people’s passports in any way or for any period of time. The ideal situation is for employee and employer to go in to the Department but this has its problems.

For example, a Guyanese contractor was awarded a contract in Barbados. When it was time for the job to be completed, the boss told them that he had to travel and will return in a week. He never came back but he had the employees passports and they found themselves stranded in Barbados. Weeks after the office was still opened and employees working diligently, while the boss had long gone with their money.

10. Negroman

It definitely is not transparent enough, but as I said, you need to weight the employee’s rights against the employer’s duty. Remember that Barbados has also signed conventions like Human Rights and other ILO conventions, which include such things as an undertaking to prevent Child Labour and Human Trafficking.

Therefore, an employer cannot be so placed by law, to commit these offenses, especially when there is no capacity to police these. Our position on the index would plummet.

In business it may be that an employer is prepared to take on another employee today but tomorrow it may not be feasible. The person is still entitled to seek alternative employment in his/her field.

If, for example, a carpenter gets a work permit as employed by one firm, but changes to another, that does not disqualify the permit, so long as that person is working as a carpenter.

The person has the permit to work (usually for a year) and not the employer to employ. To pin the employee to an employer is to effectively close competition in the job market; that is not to the benefit of consumers.

11. @Negroman

I should add in that last paragraph: “…not to the benefit of consumers, or Bajan workers, who may get sidelined if employers are allowed to make slaves out of expatriate workers.”

12. The thing about the issuing of work permits over the years in Barbados is how routine it has become. We have companies which have operated for years in Barbados who have made no serious attempt to train locals for the jobs because it is automatic to have work permits renewed with ease. Some companies even write CRAP on the applications full in the knowledge that the information will never be checked.

13. Mr. Faria, would you and your whole entourage of GTbanna please assemble in the departure lounge at GAIA with your one-way tickets to ‘you kno where’…………(problem solved, just so).

14. Did I not see an ad in recent newspaper for someone to make rotis? The ad said no one could be found locally and the company/business was giving notice they were bringing in a non national to fill vacancy. I laughed so hard my belly hurt.

15. Cable Guy

Because there are people with those skills don’t mean that they are available. How many Bajans can make roti? How many are unemployed?

Not saying that you are incorrect, just demonstrating that how it can happen.

16. cable guy
    And who is to blame if this licence is granted to hire a non-bajan? A lot a dese so-called businesses/companies come wid a lot a highfalutin shyte in dah job discriptions just to mek sure dat bajans doan qualify fa de job ya kno’. Now tell me, wha’ de f*^k sa classic ’bout mekking shyte-rotis? We betta wake up an’ stop patronizing dese monkey places.

GTbanna cuh dear, ga long home nah.

17. At the Hilton Hotel the new Food & Beverage manager Fernando a Spanish type of person who many staff members say has a racist attitude was employed with out a work permit.He was working at the Hilton in the post of F & B manager and that post was advertised in the papers for the usual work permit.This is at a hotel owned by the government of Barbados.LOL
    Fernando took up the post in either August or September 2008 & that post for a work permit was advertised in November 2008.The staff at the Hilton at this present moment do not know if the same Fernando is working with a work permit.
    A government owned hotel employing non-nationals with out a work permits and this same government wants us to believe that is serious and has intentions of overhauling the immigration department.
    Please give this Negroman a break.

I wonder if David & BU could investigate the Hilton Hotel.Real nonsense is happening at that hotel.I have it from good sources that nearly half the staff at the hotel were recently laid off.

18. ROK
    I trying to figure out if you trying to be sarcastic or facetious. Ya got ma confuse. Which um is?
    ‘Because there are people with those skills…………….etc.’

19. We Barbadians are not observant enough.The marginalization of Black Barbadian workers is starting.My observations showed that all the Chinese stores & restaurants I visited (I do not buy anything from those people) have all Chinese employed.Likewise the Indo-Guyanese shops I observed also have all Indo-Guyanese employed.
    If anyone doubt me please checked the Indo-Guyanese stores in Britton’s Hill,the Indo-Guyanese shop in Bay Street and the 2 Chinese restaurants in Bridgetown.The Chinese restaurant in Independence Square & the restaurant in Fairchild Street.

Black Barbadians this country has been taken from us.It is up to us to reclaim it.

20. Bonny Peppa, I not saying we don’t have. Please link my comment to posts above dealing with the procedures at Immigration and the policy considerations.

Somebody suggested that if a Bajan had the skills then a non-Bajan should not get the job. However, all the Bajans with those skills may be employed; or not available.

They say that we have a shortage of nurses, for example. It may also be the case that there are nurses in Barbados but not willing to work with the QEH. So the Government declares a shortage and brings in nurses because of an incapacity to deal with the issues at the QEH, but with a commitment to deliver hospitalised care and services.

If we deal with this as a policy issue, consideration must be given to the availability, over the existence of local skills, otherwise the Government could tie its own hands; in this case.

In contrast, how would we handle it, if the hotel owners decided that they would pull up their investment if Government did not allow them to hire a chef of their choice?

21. ROK
    What are you trying to say.Because we need foreign investment we must allow those investors to dictate to us who should be employed and who should not be employed at their business.

If I think I understand the point you are trying to make then local labour laws,immigration laws & indeed all the laws of the land should be ignored and we should be dictated by the rich investors that we desperately need.

ROK the sovereignty of any country should be honour despite the size or economic condition of the country.

22. Negroman

I am going to let somebody else answer that question because I feel the same as you, but that is not the reality.

Why you think so many people saying that we selling out?

23. Since we’re on the topic of work related issues & immigration does anyone know when the Government’s sub-committee will actually publish the”managed migration” policy.

Any policy should be crafted around Bajans citizens & permanent residents first,Caricom nationals second & beyond Caricom third,It is that simple.

The biggest issue is still all the illegal immigrants within Barbados & nothing short of deportation can be accepted concerning that,while I’m pretty sure most here do not mind those who actually go the legal route.There also appears to be some necessary needs for legal reform.

24. @Negroman, both foreign investment and tourism are essentially forms of prostitution…you sell your stability, beauty, sea, sun and sand to those who are willing to pay your asking price…sounds familiar? So yes, in return for attracting foreign investment, we let the investor do as he/she/it wants.

25. C&W was allowed to raise the rates even though the last hearing refused to give them an increase. The hearing is the legal process for raising the rates, even now.

That same company could make $90M and still lay-off staff.

Ever wonder why a Sandy Lane could exist in Barbados?

What you think happened on the West Coast? We here scrambling to see the sea and fighting to keep beaches public; like the one by the marina.

Why did Graeme Hall go wrong?

I am sure you can find many examples where behaviour and/or decisions are nothing less than bizarre.

26. Why do you want roti in Barbados? You hate us, so why eat our national roti. Look I would not have a ting to do to come there and make roti for you all. And Cheffette does not make the best roti in the world, since when. The best roti in he world comes from Guyana. I think I might open a roti factory and send over frozen roti to you all. I could get rich off you all, never even thought of that.

27. ROK I can make roti, the best roti maker in all South America is me. it nice and soft, it melts in your mouth.

28. ROK
    We pun two different spheres here. How can you compare nursing with roti-mekkers? Is like comparing chalk with cheese. Any idiot can mek roti. It just takes practise. You think that any and everybody cud be a nurse. Nursing calls for a lot more ‘guts’. Bonny talking from experience here. Applying for a chef that is non-bajan may me a bit more technical but that too should be investigated. You doan kno’ dat too far lef is rite? Home drums should beat first man. I doan understand it a’tall man.

29. Anonymous,
    We hate all de GTbanna dat hay too and wunna doan plan to leff in na hurry. We gun got ta ‘push’ wunna from bout hay, it look like.
    Roti shite. stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

30. Anonymous,
    Another thing, roti dat we kno’ in suppose ta melt in ya mout, so I doan kno’ wah de shite you mekkin’ an’ callin’ roti. De roti we eat, ya suppose ta chew not ‘melt in ya mout’.You mekking ice-cream roti or wah? Stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

31. Anonymous you sound like you making ice cream. Frozen; melts in your mouth?

32. Bonny Peppa

Stop being so hot and chill out. They got chilly peppers too you know. I did not compare nurses to roti-makers, I was comparing opportunities.

I glad that you say you don’t understand it. I keep saying, when you see a man fishing in a dry pond, he does know what he doing. Usually, it is some form of corruption which we does sit aside and allow to happen and then, start crying afterwards.

All I could say is that we so much like juicy gossip, that we does let it happen so we could have something juicy to talk ’bout. Like the man that climb the tree to feel the mango to make sure it ripe and then come down and pelt at it to get it down.

33. Bonny Peppa

I see that fools seldom differ.

34. Roti that melts in your mouth, soft and tender. Sounds funny, just like the ad in the newspapers for roti makers.

35. ROK
    ‘stop being so hot and chill out’. I love de pun intended. Ya badddddddddddd.
    Doan call me na fool, I is a idiot. Sight?

Anonymous
    I get de pointa. Ya now tawkin. Sweet.

36. We Barbadians are not observant enough.The marginalization of Black Barbadian workers is starting.My observations showed that all the Chinese stores & restaurants I visited….

But would you want to work among those people, in that environment?!! Must be a fate worse than death!!

37. Negroman you have made quite a few reasonable points, but I am a bit perplexed regarding the Barbadian employers’ choice of a foreign national over that of a Barbadian, when they are SUPPOSED to be QUALIFIED for the job.

38. It is reported in today’s edition of the Kaieteur News, that millions of tons of uranium has been discovered in Guyana. I hope the administration done allow it to go the same road as the gold. It is a shame to see how the powers that be allow these people to rape that country of its riches and people so poor. Guyana should be the Saudi Arabia of the region when it comes to riches, instead their people are becoming the burden to their neighbours.

39. If that is so, Guyana should keep its Uranium and exploit its uses. Train some Guyanese scientists. Build small reactors and sell to the rest of the world. The technology is there. Electricity would become real cheap out here. These things can last two or three lifetimes; maybe more.

I wonder what would happen to all this immigration talk if Guyana becomes affluent and Guyanese start flying back home; I wonder if Bajans would fly behind them???

40. I would love the corruption to be stamped out of their politics. I think that it is up to Mr. Thompson and the other leaders within the Caribean to stop Jagdeo and his clan from corrupting their country this is Bad Management!

Whenever you think that Guyana has hit rock bottom they go even lower! The only way from down should be UP! Come on Guyana let’s show the world that you can do it! Forget about the racist attitudes and work to rebuild your country!

41. ROK
    While this discovery sounds good,I believe it would go the same route as the gold. i saw many bars of gold being exported out of Guyana by Omni but the Guyanese government, over the counter was only getting something like 5% of the profits from the sale. The average guyanese is no better off because of the mining of both gold and diamonds in that country. Guyana is a country where people should be running to not running from but bad government over the years will bring that country to rock bottom

42. Scout,JC et al
    Guyana has leaders with no vision.Guyana should go to the negotiating table as a partner with some thing that other person wants desperately.It should bargain from a position of strength.Unfortunately that is not the case.Guyana is the leper of the Caribbean.Blame it on Jagdeo & the wicked Indo-Guyanese.

If Black people were in control of Guyana,it would be prosperous and a nice country to live in like Barbados

I have a plan let the degenerate Indo-Guyanese come and live in Barbados & ultimately destroy Barbados and we Black Barbadians go and build up the Black population of Guyana and eventually out number the scums Indo-Guyanses and take over & control the natural resources of that country.

That was the the idea the Great Forbes Burnham had when he wanted Black Caribbean people to come & invest & live in Guyana.At that time we did not understand the great Forbes Burnham programme.

43. Negroman
    What is happening now is a reversal of Burnham’s policy. Jagdeo is now tainting the region with these dirty idno-guyanese, while he and his gang rape Guyana of ALL it’s natural resources. Guyana has rice, bauxite, timber. large varieties of vegetables and fruits,ayear roundsugar industry, gold,diamonds, now uranium and God knows how many others not discovered as yet. Barbados has good citizens and stable government, a dwindling sugar industry, a fickle tourist industry, why should guyanese want to come here to live when they have soooooo much? Stay home develop your country, get rid of Jagdeo, we will offer you our ex-P.M to get your house in order. This is call regional intigration

44. WE BAJANS are begging for FRIENDS! It seems that every one who is not from here knows what to do for Barbados! People forget 91. These same Caribbean sisters and brothers LITERALLY WERE LAUGHING AT US!

That is why bajans are considered to be dangerous and deceitful;

Imagine, we HAVE NO RESOURCES -NONE! We pay all our bills for example UWI, LIAT, etc. woud you believe that GAIA is an international airport, hence there is no reason for us to have LIAT. Yet, we still continue to waste our money on NO GOOD liat. Imagine, we have invested the most in this airline, yet the Antiguan Prime Minister said NO! you can’t bring the headquarters here to Barbados. aahhhhh so therefore, Antigua has the persons down there getting the jobs, such as cleaners ad mechanics BUT BARBADOS CONTINUES TO INVEST THE MOST IN A LOOSING BUISNESS!

We WANT friends.

Imagine, the biggest distributors within Babados are Trinidadians. It is a KNOWN FACT! That prices in Trinidad are reducing. hmmmmmmm how comes the prices in Barbados are not! What the FU.. is going on here We need to break up this blasted monopoly!

I am praying that Mr. Thompson breaks this shite up!

We KEEP ON holding the shitty end of the stick EVERY TIME!

WE REALLY WANT FRIENDS FAH TRUT!

45. JC
    The headquarters for LIAT used to be Barbados and for some unknown reason, it was shifted to Antigua. I heard that under the Birds a lot of dead people were on LIAT payroll.