The following letter was contained in an email received from an email address which BU recognizes to be that of Mr. Norman Faria, Guyana’s Honorary Consul in Barbados. It is no secret that Barbados Underground has been strident in promoting awareness of the big issue of undocumented workers in Barbados, many we know to be Guyanese. We have gone one step further to address the lack of a discernible planning of a multi-ethnic society for Barbados. There are enough country models which we have cited to show the folly of not properly managing large inflows of ethnic groups i.e. Indians, Chinese et al in a Barbados which has enjoyed a stable environment comprised mainly of Blacks and Whites through the years. Despite increasing accusations of being xenophobic from some quarters, we remain steadfast in our views. We urge our commenters to be clear and dispassionate in their arguments. We are aware that this is a topic where emotive language will appear and in this regard we ask you to refer to BU’s comment policy. We do not condone censorship but we will be fearless to ensure that any discussion which ensues will not denigrate to a base level.

The Prime Minister of Barbados, although not mentioning Guyanese raised the problem of unplanned migration last week at the CARICOM Summit. His government has also debated an amendment to the Immigration Act.

Commissioner Darwin Dottin

Commissioner of Police
Royal Barbados Police Force
Headquarters, Coleridge Street, Bridgetown,
Barbados

SUBJECT: INFLAMMATORY RHETORIC ON RADIO TALK SHOW.

Dear Commissioner Dottin:

The Honorary Consulate of the Republic of Guyana in Barbados presents its compliments and wishes to refer to the above subject matter.

Further to my last letter (11 January 2006) to you regarding the airing and/or printing of inflammatory articles and viewpoints in some of the island’s print and electronic media and which specifically target Guyanese, I write once again to draw your attention to another blatant example. This latest airing can only serve to stir up racial and other tensions and bring the essentially good reputation of all Guyanese into disrepute.

On Monday, 17 March 2008, a caller was heard on the widely listened to programme “Down to Brass Tacks”, which is carried on the Starcom Network station VOB, referring to (generally Hindu) Indo-Guyanese in a derogatory, stereotypical and indeed racist manner. Were Afro-Guyanese or any other race,colour or religion targeted, I would make the same complaint. Among the more shameful, uncalled for, unsubstantiated and unjustified statements made by this caller:

“We have no problems with Christians and Moslems but we do with Hindus “

“(Crime in Barbados) is Hindu Guyanese and Trinidad habits”

“The police need to start checking these Indians (including) when they see them on the street…that is where the problem is”

“Hindus is the ones causing problems with the fellows (at the workplace where they will work for less)”
“The word dougla is a Hindu word meaning outcast”

The above are from my notes taken of the programme. The exact and complete remarks may be obtained by your investigating officers from the station’s recording of the programme. As I informed Mr.Peter Wickham, the moderator of the particular programme and a really professional and principled person against whom I have no complaint —indeed, he rebuked the caller for his apparent xenophobia and ignorance– when I called into the programme at the nearing the end of the show, I have nothing against people calling into the programmes to engage in democratic discussion and debate. In fact, as I told him while complimenting him on his stance, I greatly admire the deep and democratic media culture in Barbados. I listen to the programmes every chance I get.

We must all defend the time honoured achievement of free speech. This freedom, as you would agree, doesn’t exist as an abstract concept. Hate filled rhetoric designed to stir up racial and other tensions, discord and animosity among peoples have no freedom of speech. What I criticised are the programmes’ call screeners and/or producers who should censor out such hateful rantings which undoubtedley embarass the majority of decent minded Barbadians and others listening to the programmes. Management should set professional guidelines for such personnel. I was especially incensed in this recent infraction because I have written several letters to this particular station’s management urging restraint and professionalism in the airing of such ill advised and misinformed xenophobia. Such “viewpoints”, as I pointed out, would land management in court in places such as the UK and Canada and the USA where the claim of “free speech” would not come into play.

Barbadian consular or diplomatic missions in those countries monitoring programmes or publications in those countries which aired distaseful and inflammatory stereotyping of Barbadian-born people similar to what is being done here against Guyanese, particularly Indo-Guyanese, would be in contact with the authorities about it.

In keeping with your obligations to uphold Barbadian law, I am urging your good office to investigate this latest permitting by VOB management of the airing of the hateful and inflammatory statements about innocent and good Guyanese people who are doing so much, working in several fields and appreciated by the majority of decent minded, tolerant and hospitable Barbadian people, to make Barbados a better place for all of us.

Regrettably, moral persuasion sometimes fail and punitive measures are needed with some media house managements. Recalcitrant and miscreant elements whose idea of boosting the profit margin in their businesses is to permit such sensationalist, inflammatory hate-filled talk, sometimes encouraged by some talk show hosts themselves, have to be brought to heel. They need to feel, as the Bajan saying goes.

At this stage, the Consulate would be satisfied with a warning from the police to the management, the airing of an apology on the same programme, the wording of which to be approved by Consulate’s legal counsel, and a promise that no other hateful inflammatory rhetoric be permitted against Guyanese , and any other nationality, on the company’s stations in any shape, manner or form. Accept Sir, the assurances of my highest consideraton.

Respectfully Yours,

Norman Faria
(Guyana’s Honorary Consul in Barbados)

283 responses to “Guyana's Honorary Consul Issues Letter Of Complaint To The Commissioner Of Police Citing Racial Hatred At VOB”

1. If the contents of that letter is not fascistic i don’t know what else can be. This is where all socialist usually end up,…dictating your words and thoughts with the threat of punishment if one does not comply. Is anyone surprise at where Guyana is today? It is the abundance of the kind of thinking that this Norman Faria person exhibits in his letter.
    I am going to frown on behalf of the Darwin Dottin, while he commits that letter to file 13. Professional courtesy suggest that we should inform the sender that we are in receipt of his letter, after which no further correspondence from us to him will be forthcoming. There,….Mr. Dotting i have dealt with this nuisance letter for you while you move on to engage significantly more pressing matters than this could ever be.

……Pity we can’t treat to him as uh next nudder BLP hack and let loose the SSA board pun he tail. schuuupppssse. 😉

BTW, why are people still wasting their time calling VOB? ??????

2. As an independent observer, I would like to simply ask:

Is there available, *anywhere*, an independent transcript (or, better yet, a digital copy) of the Radio Frequency (RF) transmission in question?

Best regards to all.

3. The above letter and the many more like that above is the reason why VOB shuts up the callers who wish to speak about their concern about the behaviour of guyanese in Barbados.

David ellis and mike browne have taken a very cowardly anti-bajan approach where everthing bajan is scorned e.g. work ethic,or ellis claim that bajan believe they are superior to other caribbean nationals etc.

More and more people are turning away from that radio programme which has detiorated to an unbelievable low standard.

Norman faria sends these types of letters to senior government persons,radio stations,newspapers,police and if he could only find out who you are david – he would be harassing you too .

The idea is to so intimidate – those who want to be intimidated – that they will try to be overly cautious – and exclude even the most inoffensive comment – lest something that norman faria objects to might slip through.

That is where VOB call in show stands today.

It is an inoffensive piece of bland garbage.

Imagine if some africans from tanzania had gone to work in India and then were flooding India with tanzanians – and then when the citizens of India objected to what was happening in their country – you had the tanzanians crying foul – and putting pressure on the Indian government and police force to shut up the citizens of india.

Then when the citizens of India turn to the radio stations and newspapers to air their concerns they were again told to shut up and were barred from speaking out against the tanzanians and their behaviour.

Sadly david ellis has become a joke at that radio station and now mike ‘the hatchet man’ brown rules the roost.

What an excuse for a media house.

Only in barbados will we see the offender (the guyanese) dictating to the offended (the bajan) – or in other words the illegal minority have dominance and rebuking the legal majority.

Only bout here – but not for too long – one day coming soon – the people are already waking up.

4. @Chris

You would have to make the request to VOB. We suspect that delivery would be at the discretion of management.

5. So David by your estimation was the email deliberatly sent to you by Faria?

ANON they are those who believe that the caribbean islands, wait uh mean the english speaking caribbean countries in addition to South and Central American countries Guyana and Belize t are one, and are willing to use Facism to make it so. 🙂 your non acceptance of your Guyanese brothers and sisters will not be tolerated.

Time fuh we tuh start we own internet radio.

6. @Adrian

Give the BU position and commenters we are still working on the motive behind Consul Faria sending us the letter. Perhaps the BU family can take a stab at it.

7. Could be a form of intended intimidaton. It is a cultural passtime for some to so do. It will not work, in fact i predict that contributions to all topics dealing with Illegal immigration in Barbados specifically those dealing with illegal Indo guyanese cheap labour, will intensify. Norman you may not have to look very hard to find something you don’t like.

8. People all over the Caribbean are fed-up with these Guyanese dog fleas.

9. People all over the world are fed up with niggers

10. Strange Days // July 6, 2008 at 10:13 pm

People all over the world are fed up with niggers
    ===============================

This is indeed very true in Guyana.

11. I’m in Canada bitch

12. ha ha ha ha ha did you mean to type “I am” or “You are” LOL you seem angry are you? A angry Canadian, this should be interesting.

BU maybe Norman Faria had really intended the letter to be sent to Guyana’s Commisioner of Police. We all know that, that country needs some serious help with race relations.

13. This is sooooooooo frightening you guys cannot begin to imagine…
    I think there’s a need for a national consultation on the issue…let people come forward and vent their feelings and then go about some process of healing and reconciliation…this is not healthy…
    Please calculate all the possible outcomes to this kind of rhetoric…
    There are Barbadians all over the globe…so please think about possible reactions and a backlash that can hurt your friends, family and our country’s image…
    This is like the perfect storm waiting to happen…
    PLEASE STOP AND THINK….

Uh mean…high oil prices, a bad tourist season, possible economic recession, political victimization…people are going to look for scapegoats and target illegal immigrants…
    This is very very very scary…
    I wish it’d come to an end and that common sense will prevail…
    This is so not healthy my people…

14. Ian we have know for sometime that there is an undercurrent of feeling regarding our racial landscape. The many illegal immigrants coming into Barbados and the obvious number coming from Guyana has set this up. Please do not try to bring the guilt trip on the BU family. This has nothing to do with hating. We are more sensible than man!

We would want to ask Consul Faria what he has done to deal with the issue of undocumented Guyanese workers?

Secondly can he tell us how many Guyanese are in Barbados and roughly how many are estimated to be illegal.

Lastly we would want him to respond to the issue of forgeries of documentation which has duped the Barbados immigration for some time.

Lastly to Prime Minister Thompson when will the Immigration and the Police be given the green light to round up undocumented workers in Barbados.

15. Look wuh trouble Owen brought on this country. Uh man can’t open he mouth and speak on observations in he own country. Lest he be accuse of racial talk and label xenophobic. Anybody dat know bout hindu culture would know dat them people like to keep tuh themselves and does look down on everybody else like them is dogs and now Mr Farnia got de balls to tell we to shut in we own country.
    Anytime I go to Guyana and had to walk thru a Hindu neighbourhood I does got to look over my shoulder twice cause dem people does stare at yuh like yuh from outer space and ready to approach yuh and bout hey dem walking freely, working and building temples in dem houses without government approval and Farnia issuing threats?
    Mr Dottin Farnia got uh right to say he piece but he gone overboard. Ignore dat jackass. We need another consul general Thompson. Farnia days over.

16. What is so scary about people finally being able to speak out about their concerns Ian Walcott?

Under the Blp administration owen arthur told them to shut up and to leave the guyanese alone – so for right now they can finally speak their mind.

Right now all over the globe where there is an influx of immigrants who are creating a strain on the society – there are these same discussions taking place – England,france,america,south africa,caymans,bahamas and on and on.

The reason why it has reached this fever pitch is because discussion has been stifled in the past,and even now at VOB and the nation newspaper people are still feeling like they are not allowed to be heard.

I think bloggers are realising that it is not only technician,jay,scout,negroman,JC,yardbroom and others who are expressing concern – but almost daily new bloggers are popping up and recounting horror stories about guyanese or are expressing their frustration with the authorities for their inactivity.

I say it’s about time bajans show some spunk.

Keep on blogging people and expressing yourself and insisting that these illegal guyanese be sent home like yesterday,and that new rules be put in place that makes it very,very ,very difficult to get barbadian citizenship or permanent residence.

For those bajans who helping to hide out these illegals,and hiring them or renting properties to them – be afraid….. be very afraid.

The stuff is about to hit the fan in a way that we cannot ever believe it.

David thompson better start acting real fast,and don’t come up with no lotta long talk.

17. BU asks “Lastly to Prime Minister Thompson when will the Immigration and the Police be given the green light to round up undocumented workers in Barbados.”

What is stopping them now? Explain why the PM’s approval is required to carry out the existing law.

18. Barbadians join world citizens when they express their despleasure at unchecked illegal immigration.

19. Ian walcott probably have some indian family – in laws.

20. @ The Devil

If the police or the immigration departments are doing nothing let us not forget that this is Barbados, the Prime Minister is King!

21. Since when does a guest in a host country dictate to the government or its agencies and businesses what to do? As honourary consul for Guyana, Faria should learn the rules of protocol. He should be roundly chastised by Foreign Affairs. Who de ‘ell he tink e is? In fact, we should do it here, cause I am sure nobody in authority will put that man in his place.

He, Faria, is going to turn more Bajans against dem guyanese. En I is one. Faria, you can pack up your backside and all your guyanese nationals and go back and build up and improve your own country. We bin doing well all along without any of ye. Yuh n doing we nuh favours.

22. Red Lake Lassie Avatar
    Red Lake Lassie

Why should Commissioner Dottin be concerned about some non-specific racial comments in the public forum?

When very specific racial derogatory comments and threats of rape, murder and arson were made against Adrian Loveridge in the public forum, the police didn’t bother. They didn’t even bother to give Mr. Loveridge the courtesy of a reply.

This was in a situation where the police were provided with the evidence needed to identify and arrest the person who made the threats.

What makes Mr. Faria believe that he will receive better treatment from the police than Adrian Loveridge?

23. Are you aware what Owen Arthur has left for David Thompson to clean up? Many of these guyanese already havestatus so how can he pick them up? I heard David Thompson at his Press Conference with President Jagdeo and I compliment him for having the balls to say what he did in Jagdeo’s presence.

Heis obviously not a hypocrite and he issued his warning shots. Barbados will have a managed migration policy and I support that.

Do you realise the impact all of these Guyanene leaving Guyana will hve on that country? Think about that Ian.

24. David, David, David…
    People can speak to the issue of undocumented workers or illegal immigrants without targeting particular subsets…
    There must be a rational approach to all this…
    We need to assess our labor shortages in agriculture, construction, nursing, the said police force and other areas…
    If some of this shortage is being filled by illegal migrants…then the issue must be rectified and there obviously will have to be some kind of amnesty…
    But the road the debate is going down (as we say in Bajan)…is a very dangerous one…and everyone has to share the responsiblity for not inciting racial hatred and strife…
    THINK HARD ABOUT IT…
    One racially motivated attack or hate crime will send shock waves through the Internet via the online papers, blogs, emails, online radio etc…and this will do irreparable damage to the country’s reputation…
    Can we afford this at this time…
    I say, please let our values of respect and order take us through this challenge…
    PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

25. Mea Culpa

Thompson must have even more guts and not only do forensic audits at Hardwood Housing but also at the immigration department and at the elections dept where the I.D. cards are issued.

Remember some time last year when 2 persons from the elections department were charged with ID card fraud,as well as a guyanese person living in st thomas?

Whatever happened to that case?Owen probably got that thrown out.

Immigration officers,police and other civil servants must realise that for the 30 pieces of silver they get for selling a guyanese or anyone else a papport or IDD card – they are also down the road selling out the future of our children and our grandchildren.

26. @Ian

How can this matter be explored with the thoroughness it deserves when the mainstream media has bottled it up? If the shit hits the fan blame the mainstream media. Without the blogs we are not sure this matter would be discussed.

Why don’t you call your contacts in the media and ask them why the silence? In fact why dont you call Mia and ask for her help?

27. BU
    I don’t know if we have thought this through but let’s assume that there are thousands of illegal immigrants in B’dos. Now I don’t know how many there really are but the numbers would have to be really high to warrant the kind of anxiety being expressed. So, the Immigration Dept and the Police decide to “round up” these people and deport them. How will this be done? (just getting 100 Africans was difficult). Will we have joint Police /Army actions where an area is cordoned off and everyone with an accent or who looks Indian have to prove that they have their “papers” in order? What do we do with those that are found to be not in order? Lock them up and then put them on a plane to Guyana or where ever? What a scenario given the numbers! Maybe we will ask Barbadians to report suspected illegals to the Police. I have not even considered the factor of those with children born here or even those with foreign born children.

I am not suggesting that illegal immigrants should be encouraged but such issues bedevil most other countries especially when humane solutions are sought. Thompson has to be very careful on this issue and we should not inflame expectations and passions that may lead to actions that we will regret later.

Of course I do think all this is moot because other than a tightening of entry into B’dos by new immigrants, little else will be done.

28. Oh lord now!

All I’m saying is that as a country…we have to calculate all the possible outcomes and possible consequences if this issue is not handled correctly…
    But somewhere deep down inside…I’m sure that Barbadian pragmatism will prevail and this will not be blown out of proportion…
    Maybe the mainstream media has calculated what irresponsible venting of the issue can do to a small vulnerable nation-state…
    The issue obviously needs to be vented…like how we managed our race reconciliation issue a few years ago…we need to borrow that approach and use it to come up with the best possible solution for all parties…
    Of course…the flip side to the whole argument is that we’re being a victim of our own success and attracting illegal immigrants…and a proper migration policy now therefore needs to be put in place…
    The problem with these policies all over the globe (though they’re discriminatory by nature)is that they find very clever ways to exclude persons based on race and religion…
    I never thought I’d live to see the day when Samuel Huntington’s Clash of Civilizations will be played out in Barbados…
    I always thought we were a peaceful, neutral, loving people…

29. @Ian

We want to repeat that you are engaging language which is not our intent. BTW where the hell is that report which was as a result of the race relations job? Can you use your research skills to come up with it? We would appreciate it.

30. The Committee expresses concern at the closure of the Centre for MultiethnicStudies at the Barbados campus of the University of the West Indies which was tasked to research race and ethnicity in the Caribbean

31. You can take that down…
    Here’s the link:

32. @Ian

Can you get us the report? We suspect that the public might want to read some of what that committee concluded.

33. Well well well Stupid Norma Faria is at again.
    VOB is his target.How ironic.A couple months ago VOB and his agent stupid Peter Wickham allowed the same Norma Faria the oppurtunity to insult,degrade and label Barbadians as xenophobic on his call in programme. Look how the tide has change.
    I honestly believe that Norma Faria has come to the end of his tether in Barbados.If he is a Barbadian citizen his citizenship should be cancel immediately and he should be sent packing out of Barbados.Remember when Tom Adams revoked the work permit of the now prime minister of St Vincent Ralph Gonsalves in the late seventies or early eighties for criticising his goverment.
    When will that fool Norma Faria recognise that he is in Barbados not Guyana and cannot dictate to us what we must say or not say on our airwaves.I am totally piss off with that idiot.
    They are not special that we cannot criticise them and renounce the presence of too much of them in Barbados.
    The likes of Norma Faria will ignite the ethnic cleansing that is about to take place in Barbados.
    Prime Minister David Thompson if you do not want the image and reputation of Barbados to be tarnish do something with that clown Norma Faria and act decisively with this matter of illegal indo-guyanese immigration.
    Ethnic cleansing is about to happen in Barbados.
    MARK NEGROMAN WORDS

34. Does anyone know Norman’s email address?

35. @Ian

It is the Committee for National Reconciliation report we are after.

36. I just sent you the conclusions from the report that was summarized by the UN, man!De basic essence of de report in dah UN document…

37. Ian the UN link makes mention of the establishment of the Committee for National Reconciliation, This being the case how we are still doubtful.

38. CONSIDERATION OF REPORTS SUBMITTED BY STATES PARTIES
    UNDER ARTICLE 9 OF THE CONVENTION

Concluding observations of the Committee on the
    Elimination of Racial Discrimination
    BARBADOS
    1. The Committee considered the eighth to sixteenth periodic reports of Barbados, submitted in one document (CERD/C/452/Add.5), at its 1709th and 1710th meetings (CERD/C/SR.1709 and CERD/C/SR.1710), held on 5 and 8 August 2005. At its 1727th meeting (CERD/C/SR.1727), held on 18 August 2005, it adopted the following concluding observations.
    A. Introduction
    2. The Committee welcomes the report submitted by the State party which fully complies with the reporting guidelines and expresses its satisfaction that dialogue has been re established with the State party. It also welcomes the supplementary information provided by the State party in writing as well as in its oral presentation. The report and the presentation enabled the Committee to engage in a rich discussion with the State party of the social and historical context of racial issues in Barbados.
    3. Noting that the report was more than 12 years overdue when submitted, the Committee invites the State party to respect the timetable it has suggested for the submission of its future reports.
    B. Positive aspects
    4. The Committee notes with satisfaction the establishment of the Committee for National Reconciliation tasked with developing, coordinating and implementing a programme for the process of national reconciliation.
    5. The Committee appreciates the relevant statistical information on the composition of the population provided by the State party. The Committee welcomes the draft National Plan on Justice, Peace and Security as an important step in providing victims of violent crime with the right to claim compensation.
    6. The Committee welcomes the draft National Plan on Justice, Peace and Security as an important step in providing victims of violent crime with the right to claim compensation.
    7. The Committee welcomes the organization of several training programmes conducted at the Regional Police Training Department on the promotion and protection of human rights in the field of racial discrimination.
    8. The Committee also notes with satisfaction the pilot education programme which has included African Heritage Studies, Citizenry, Family life and conversational foreign languages in several primary and secondary schools.
    9. The Committee notes with satisfaction the country’s high ranking in the United Nations Development Programme Human Development Report.
    C. Concerns and recommendations
    10. While welcoming the recommendation of the Constitutional Review Commission that gender be included in the Constitution as a ground for non discrimination and the establishment of a Constitution Committee which has begun redrafting the Constitution with the intention of, inter alia, including a definition of racial discrimination which would protect individuals against discriminatory actions by private persons and entities, the Committee is concerned about the lack of a legal definition of racial discrimination in line with article 1 of the Convention in its domestic legislation.
    The Committee recommends to the State party that it adopt a definition of racial discrimination that includes the elements contained in article 1 of the Convention.
    11. While taking note of the establishment of the office of Ombudsman, the Committee regrets the absence of a national human rights institution set up in accordance with the Principles relating to the status of national institutions for the promotion and protection of human rights (the Paris Principles, General Assembly resolution 48/134, annex).
    The Committee recommends that the State party consider the establishment of a national human rights institution, in accordance with the Paris Principles.
    12. The Committee is concerned over the lack of social movements that promote integrationist multiracial values in the State party and in particular that the report was not made more widely available to civil society before it was submitted.
    In the light of article 2 (e) of the Convention, the Committee requests that the State party create an enabling environment for integrationist multiracial organizations, and encourages the State party to maintain dialogue with civil society organizations.

13. The Committee expresses concern at the “invisible crypto racism” mentioned in the report which arises as a result of the separation of black and white communities and which is rooted in social relations at the interpersonal level.
    The Committee reminds the State party of its general recommendation XIX according to which de facto racial segregation can arise without any initiative or direct involvement by the public authorities. The Committee thus encourages the State party to monitor all trends which can give rise to such segregation, to work for the eradication of any negative consequences that ensue and to describe any such action in its next periodic report.
    14. The Committee notes with concern that, due to its general character, paragraph 1 of the reservation by the State party affects the application of a number of provisions of the Convention, in particular articles 2, 4, 5 and 6. Furthermore, paragraph 2 of the reservation restricts the interpretation of a key provision for the effective application of the Convention, namely article 4.
    The Committee recommends that the State party consider withdrawing its reservation and enact legislation to give full effect to article 4 of the Convention, as well as to provide for effective remedies according to article 6.
    15. The Committee is concerned at the absence of any complaints of racial discrimination before the High Court since 1994 and at the fact that no complaint was ever submitted before the Police Complaints Authority.
    The Committee recommends that the State party consider whether the lack of formal complaints may be the result of the victims’ lack of awareness of their rights, lack of confidence in the police and judicial authorities, or the authorities’ lack of attention, sensitivity, or commitment to cases of racial discrimination. The Committee requests that the State party include in its next periodic report statistical information on complaints lodged, prosecutions initiated and the outcome of cases involving racial or ethnic discrimination, as well as specific examples of such cases.
    16. While taking note of the State party’s observation that education in Barbados is “socially guaranteed”, the Committee expresses concern that the right to education as well as other economic and social rights are not adequately protected in domestic law.

The Committee recommends to the State party that it ensure equal enjoyment of economic and social rights including the right to education contained in article 5 (e) of the Convention.

17. The Committee expresses concern at the closure of the Centre for Multiethnic Studies at the Barbados campus of the University of the West Indies which was tasked to research race and ethnicity in the Caribbean.
    The Committee encourages the State party to consider reopening the Centre.
    18. The Committee requests the State party to further clarify the situation regarding Amerindians in Barbados.
    19. The Committee notes that the State party has not made the optional declaration provided for in article 14 of the Convention and urges the State party to consider doing so.
    20. The Committee recommends that the State party continue taking into account the relevant parts of the Durban Declaration and Programme of Action when implementing the Convention in the domestic legal order, in particular in respect of articles 2 to 7 of the Convention, and that it include in its next periodic report information on further action plans or other measures taken to implement the Durban Declaration and Programme of Action at the national level.
    21. The Committee strongly recommends that the State party ratify the amendments to article 8, paragraph 6, of the Convention, adopted on 15 January 1992 at the Fourteenth Meeting of States Parties to the Convention and endorsed by the General Assembly in its resolution 47/111. In this connection, the Committee refers to General Assembly resolution 59/176 of 20 December 2004, in which the Assembly strongly urged States parties to accelerate their domestic ratification procedures with regard to the amendment and to notify the Secretary General expeditiously in writing of their agreement to the amendment.
    22. The Committee strongly recommends that the State party ratify the International Convention on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families and the Convention relating to the Status of Refugees.
    23. The Committee recommends that the State party’s reports be made readily available to the public from the time they are submitted and that the observations of the Committee on these reports be similarly publicized. It further suggests introducing effective measures, including public awareness raising campaigns about the Convention.
    24. Pursuant to article 9, paragraph 1, of the Convention, and article 65 of the Committee’s rules of procedure, as amended, the Committee requests the State party to inform it of its implementation of the recommendations contained in paragraphs 10 and 14 above, within one year of the adoption of the present conclusions.
    25. The Committee recommends that the State party submit its seventeenth periodic report jointly with its eighteenth periodic report on 8 December 2007, and that it address all points raised in the present concluding observations.

39. It’s six o one, half dozen o de next…Look at the specific dates and timing…

40. Negroman you would make a skinhead proud! The next time some skinheads or Ku Klux Klan members hold a rally asking for all the ‘niggers’ to be sent back to Afrika and saying things like Europe or America are white peoples’ country, you should be feeling warm all over.

Why not cancel Peter Wickham’s citizenship while you are at it and Owen Arthur’s.

Ethnic cleansing what the hell? If any Indians are targeted and harmed in this country, Barbados would be so crushed economically that a category 9 hurricane would be better welcomed. We could as well as kiss our cricket goodbye (who do think controls the ICC … Zimbabwe?), or the tourist industry and offshore finance sector (who do think are heading a lot of the major global finance houses ?) and we would become pariahs overnight in the Commonwealth and the UN.

41. The Devil Bullshit.Asia has the most hungry,starving people in the world.You all are unable to feed and look after yourselves properly.
    The Devil name one progressive,stable Asia country where indians are in the majority.

42. My countrymen running around like turkeys without necks. A whole lotta talk dat would bore a man to sleep and psychology to twist up yuh head. If you come in my country and over stay yuh visit yuh ought to get deported man. Dat is de law of de land. No need for racial targeting crap. Start with wuh yuh know and move from there. This rot can’t continue. We gine lef people kept poking out we eyes? That jackass Farnia could only talk shit cause we bajans soft but if he did in another country he would off had he ass hauled up long time ago. Ain’t got nothing more to do than listen to call in shows. Yuh need a life cause yuh cherry threaten and i ain’t mean yuh title.
    Yuh need to go cause you is part of de rot too.

43. George 'the BLP stalwart' Avatar
    George ‘the BLP stalwart’

Xenophobia built upon sheer ignorance! Do we realise that in following ‘global’ patterns of exclusion we are also following the trend of keeping out people based on race, ethnicity, and the fact that they are from ‘developing countries’? Yes, the issues need to be vented, but we have to quickly dispel the narratives of hatred, bigotry, and XENOPHOBIA.

44. These are some insights I have gathered in my study of the Barbados situation in relation to the immigration issues:
    1. There are thousands of people without status working “illegally” in Barbados. They include Europeans, Canadians and US residents working in finance, hotels and commerce. They keep a low profile… and many work from home.
    2. My estimate is that there are about 25,000 non-status persons living in Barbados: Guyana about 10,000, Other Caribbean about 10,000, and Others 5,000 (whites, Indians from India and Pakistan).
    3. Many of these non-status persons, especially the whites, get long extensions as “visitors” , own property and work in Barbados. They fly in and out to renew the process so that they do not overstay They are the “investors” we Barbadians dearly love… but many are only people working underground, or pretending to be long-stay visitors.
    4. The farcical work permit system is corrupt. There are so many ways to get around the rules to get work permits – check the hotel and restaurants and see how they do it. One should not ignore the graft and corruption issues as well – as they do exist here, like everywhere else.
    5. Indians, especially from India and Pakistan, have been in Barbados for years. They have their own “circles” .. and have amassed wealth. They own most of Swan Street and many businesses and have been quietly buying up land and properties.
    6. The influx of Guyanese Indian immigration is relatively new and has created greater alarm than the Afro-Guyanese who have had familial links with Guyana since the days of slavery. This immigration is fostered by “CSME promises” of integrated Caribbean market and economy. … an integration process that has been postponed based on recent reports from the last Caricom meetings..
    7. It seems like the Guyana’s government fosters emigration. They never seem to seriously address the reasons why people are leaving in such large numbers. Maybe it lessens the economic tension it brings in foreign remittances to keep their economy afloat. Every country, including Barbados, has emigration as people look for better opportunities. Guyana’s is a one way outflow that has continued for decades. Until President Jagdeo seriously addresses Guyana’s economic issues, there will be this problem of “economic refugees”.
    8. The blatant racism I found in Guyana against African-Guyanese, makes it difficult for them to make a living there. Almost the whole economy is controlled by Indians. The only realistic solution for many is emigration – many permanently. Many Indians also opt for that also – to the USA, Canada and Caribbean countries. However a number of Guyanese Indians in Barbados seem to be more interested in amassing money to send home to improve their economic status in Guyana… as they intend to return. Many African Guyanese I have talked to have also said they would return to Guyana if the economic and racial issues there were addressed…. and the marginalization of African Guyanese, by the Indian majority…. stopped.
    9. It is understandable that Barbadians of African descent are concerned about unrestricted immigration and a situation where no one seems to be addressing their fears.The last government was obviously not addressing the issues. The DLP is talking about “Managed Immigration” (whatever that means). In any case I can see that something has to be done that is concrete and understandable by Barbadians. There will be hard economic times ahead worldwide and in those times we know that immigration issues become more important… jobs!
    10. Finally, many Guyanese are here legally. Many have had firm roots in Guyana through familial relationships established decades ago. Many “famous” Barbadians and Guyanese have common roots … but these persons were mainly white or mixed or of African heritage. The “problem” some people have is the Indian immigration according to what I read in this blog. People do not want the problems they see in Guyana or Fiji where previously majority populations were swamped by immigrant indentured labour from India. They also do not like what is happening to African Guyanese in Guyana… and want to know what this richly endowed country is being controlled for the benefit of a few, while they export their problems.

Fix Guyana’s problems and make it a place where Guyanese will remain and build. A place where Caribbean people would want to go and settle in and many of the seeming “problems” we have with Guyanese immigration in this region would no longer be an issue. Many Guyanese would return home if the economy develops and security and sanity returns.

Remember 6ttaht in this region, British Guiana was the pride of the British Empire before 1950. It was given the most advanced Constitution in 1953. Also that many older Barbadians will tell you about Demerara and the garden city of Georgetown in those days in glory and. Guyana can return, and regain its self-respect, but it needs enlightened and and non-racial leadership and governance.

Ecoanalyst

45. Some people seem to live with their heads in the sky quoting reports and telling us about talking and getting it off our chest and then start the healing,as if that solves the problem.

THE ANSWER TO THE PROBLEM IS IN FIRST DEPORTING THE ILLEGALS – ALL OF THEM.

I believe that all passports/citizenship and permanent residences,as well as ID cards given over the last 15 years must be examined and revoked if found to be done under corrupt means – if it means setting up a special committe to do so – so be it.

These so called harmless indians that you see walking around today – will display their racial fangs – as soon as they have reached sufficient numbers or have amassed enough money to give them leverage,or they infiltrate the society in certain key places.

The BLP was the main encourager of this illegal indian invasion – hence there should be no surprise by anyone of ‘george the blp stalwart’s comment about xenpphobia – after all he is only repeating their mantra.

The BLP should never be allowed to govern in this country again – untill this blp lot and their thinking are cleansed from the party – if you think it is only the old ones like billie miller,owen,o’brien trotman,david simmons and others – then read what that windbag dale marshall had to say in the last parliamentary debates.

Bunch of tiefs and homos.

Look carefully and you will see that homosexuals generally object to any discussion of enforcing certain strict policies – because they believe because their lifestyle is not accepted and they feel they are discriminated against – that any sort of enforcement against any minority groups – whether that minority group is right or wrong – well then that is a human rights issue – never mind that these groups behaviour might be destructive.

Hisory is there for us to avoid repeating past mistakes.

Sadly but true there will be social unrest in barbados in time to come because racism has accompanied these indians whether fron india or guyana – watch for it.

Kenya,trinidad,guyana,surinam,fiji and other countries have had them living together in the society for decades and yet their racial problems get worse and worse – because whether those so called bleeding hearts want to accept it or not – they really,really despise blacks – and feel because they have straight hair like whites – that they re closer to whites and that blacks are inferior to them.

Strange while whites will use them and pit the 2 racial groups agianst each other – they generally do not like indians.

Indians have made no great contribution to our island – but have grown rich at our expense.

They have come in importing cheap rubbish and then exporting back their profits to india or wherever.Barbados have prospered to where it is without this recent invasion of guyanese indian workers who are are quite often schemers – posing as carpenters and masons and they don’t have a clue about the trade.

Those from guyana are already displaying their racist tendencies at workplaces,ie construction site,agricultural estates,bridgetown stores etc where when they can they refuse to work together with bajan blacks prefering to keep to themselves and only hire another indian and also refuse to mix with the bajan workers at break times.

Only when you see an indian wants something from a black then you will see them making nice with the black – and they will tell you all sorts of lies – like how they have close black friends,and they are not racial,and back in guyana or trinidad or wherever how they mix with everyone – if checked out you will find this is usually a lie – done to disarm the black and to worm their way into the balck’s life to get whatever it is they want; a piece of land,a bajan passport, a business contract – whatever.

Thye will ususally start bring things for you too and talking sweet,sweet – watch out for the gifts of food,or if you have a position watch for money or other bribes – if you are a low life black bajan man – they will send their indian sister,daughter and I have even known of cases where they actually send their wives to give sexual favours in exchange for what they want.

This is why these people can be suicide bonmbers – nothing,not even their life is sacrosant – everything has a price – a a means to an end.

Their ultimate goal to get rich and to dominate – whether in india it is those black skinned indians of the lower caste – ‘the untoucaable’ or in countries where they have migrated to those citizens of african descent.

I SAY AGAIN GET THEM TO HELL OUT OF BARBADOS – AND DO SO NOW.

Either way you look at it – those growing number of indians are going to a big,big,big problem very soon from now.

46. let The future prime minister with her beautiful indian face and perfect family solve this problem fuh wunna

47. @Negroman

We are asking you again to lose the hate language. If you have a case to make against undocumented workers in Barbados, fine.
    If you want to make a case on the impact of multi-ethnic groups in Barbados fine.

We have a precious privilege to freely express ourselves, lets hope we don’t abuse it.

For Godsake leave out the hate rhetoric man!

@me
    Thanks!

48. Negroman

I think your use of the phrase ethnic cleansing is what David is warning against.

49. I do think that VOB has to be careful because sometimes the statments made are quite inflammatory and dehumanizing. When I look out at Barbados on a daily basis I see alot of mixed race people …’douglas’ who are BAJAN soour society is already mixed.

I think that the issue shoiuld be framed without the racial stuff. The focus should be the immigration status. Better control of illegal immigration is needed.

We afro bajans should look inward and work on our culture/values so that the LEGAL immigrants are assimilated and add to our develpoing melting pot instead of subtracting from it…

But there is definitely no need for the racist rhetoric…

50. Fellow bloggers
    It is now clear that Mr Faria is about to cause trouble for this country. This is the typical method of indo -guyanese. They come in their niumbers settle in, then start their unrest while behaving as though they are the victims. Faria has realise that they are on the back foot, we must not stop now, not if we are interested in saving this country from these guyanese. For our offspring’s future, let us reclaim this country for them. I personally is not against the ones who are here legally already, the damage has already begun, but I call on the authorities to deport ALL illegal persons out of this country. We’re getting overweighted and this country is going to sink , morally, economically, financially and many other llys. Please take a stand before this problem gets out of hand. Beware this is the start of thee NASTY tactics that these people use.