The following comment inspired the blogmaster to expand the focus on data collection and discussion about the COVID 19 pandemic. Thanks to @Lyall@Amit

Blogmaster

David; re. your 4:41 am post;

You are correct but I have indeed considered that cohort of the population.

The reason that the US experts are beating the drum for testing, testing and more testing is to get a handle on what proportion of the general public has been compromised by the virus in any way and has left its signatures in body fluids including blood in the population. The virus is shed from the infected body as the disease is brought under control. When it is controlled it has been found that it takes around 7 days for all particles to be shed from the body. Infected persons are released back into the community when they test negative twice over a period of 2 days.

Barbados, like all of our island neighbours, did or does not have access to large numbers of tests and had to use what we had very sparingly. Thus, the only measure that we had for gauging the incidence of the virus in the population (and a very imperfect one, at that) might be by comparing the evidence of infection levels hinted at by a comparison of the graphs of the progress of the various Covid-19 outbreaks in our Islands.

Most of the world was in the same position as the Caribbean and used the data obtained by the minimal testing of infected people and their contacts and their contacts to produce the graphs we see on such sites as WHO and Worldometer etc. All these graphs give an imperfect picture and significant underestimation of infection levels in the county or country in which the tests are carried out, but, since they are carried out in the same way in each country they might provide some rationale for guesstimating the comparative levels of the infection in various groups of countries.

The data shows that, starting out at essentially the same levels, there was some divergence in relation to the rate of infection and therefore progress of the various outbreaks in various countries. The graphs for Barbados showed low and declining levels of infection from the beginning, peaking at the level of 13 positive cases per day and thereafter showing a slowly declining trend. The individuals who would have contributed to the declining trend would have been primarily from the contact testing but should also have included other individuals referred by Health professionals or who presented themselves to Government institutions because of concern that their symptoms might point to untimely death due to the dread Covid-19.

Amit, in an earlier post on this blog, reported on his initiative of graphing Covid-19 incidence over weekly periods throughout the epidemic, in several Caribbean Islands. If David thinks it is appropriate and Amit agrees I can post a subset of graphs clipped from his data for 6 Caribbean territories which I think could illustrate some of what I have presented above.

Covid 19

There was 1 more positive case announced today as well as 1 death. A slight uptick of the daily cases line is indicated in the graph by the blue line. The total cumulative number of positive cases from the tests carried out yesterday is 76 – Llyall Small

COVID 19

Attached is the updated C-19 graph for 2020-04-23. There were no additional positive cases from yesterday’s tests and therefore cumulative positive cases remain at 76 – Lyall Small

covid10

covid12

Two new positive cases were identified from yesterday’s tests. There are now 5 cases of contacts with a previously identified individual. The 5 cases are workers from a Government Institution. Tests are ongoing today (25 April 2020)Lyall Small

Covid11

Updated graph for 26 April 2020. No new +ve cases were found. Cumulative count is still 79 – Lyall Small

covid13

There was one additional +ve case identified today (27 April 2020) from the last tranche of NAB workers moving the cumulative total cases to 80. The graph is still essentially trending downwards – Lyallsmall

Covid-Cumulative 1
Graphing Covid-19 incidence in several Caribbean Islands – Source data: caribbeansignal.com

3,454 responses to “COVID 19 UPDATES”

1. “One would hope that the millions spent on the health cost of one visitor………”

Could you please direct BU to your source of information that indicates ‘government’ spends millions of dollars on the health of ONE visitor …….. or at least explain how you arrived at that figure?

2. Old Year’s Night could be the test if Covid 19 is spreading to the local population.We will know by about January 15th.

3. @ Mariposa

We do not want to go in to 2021 with the same rows. Just give it a pass. You are raising interesting points. If people want to debate what you say, that is fine; if they want to pick a row, just ignore them.
    Two days after Xmas is a time for peace.

4. “We do not want to go in to 2021 with the same rows.”

You can’t help but read whatever I post, yuh pretend limey nincompoop bastard.

I sincerely hope YOU take YOUR own advice into consideration.

5. @ David

I’m appalled at the level of hypocrisy and dishonesty some people display on BU.

Mariposa wrote about government spending millions of dollars on one visitor’s health is considered as “raising interesting points,”…………

………. and asking her to simply explain how she arrived at that figure, means you’re “picking a row.”

6. 100,000 BBD to JMD = 7,095,352.37 Jamaican Dollars

7. Since govt is being tipped lip on the cost of each visitor that have accessed barbados health system and which is a right to know driven by transparency and accountability
    Then it is only fair for those seeking and have been asking of govt for such financial details seek alternative sources which gives govt cost related to this pandemic which gives a birds eye view of cost which are astronomical
    Also with govt accessing money to fight the pandemic it also goes to conclude with reason that monies borrowed would have to be pay back at all cost

8. @ Mariposa

If you make a statement, backed by the facts as far as you can tell, then the onus is on those who say you are wrong. You do not have to prove that you are right, apart from what you have said.
    If they say you are wrong, then ask them to prove it. In such a case, you can go round and round in circles. By the way, empirical evidence is only legitimate in some occasions.
    Not going off message, but empiricism is just one school of epistemology, and not even the most interesting. It can be very boring when you are discussing ideas.
    Keep up the work.

9. Where are the Portocol policemen
    Look at these pics tourist and all given a free pass

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=405137913938080

10. “Since govt is being tipped lip on the cost of each visitor that have accessed barbados health system and which is a right to know driven by transparency and accountability.”
    “Then it is only fair for those seeking and have been asking of govt for such financial details seek alternative sources which gives govt cost related to this pandemic which gives a birds eye view of cost which are astronomical.”

Thank you, very much.

You ‘see’ it wasn’t difficult? You answered that question and I understand the point you’re trying to make.

This BLP administration promised that its fundamental principles would be based on transparency and accountability. Therefore, I do not believe it’s unreasonable for anyone to ask how much taxpayers are being asked to pay for COVID-19 testing of tourists.

It would be interesting to know the total tourism related expenses ‘government’ incurs, as a result of COVID-19 testing and quarantine accommodations, to earn tourism revenue.

11. Especially in light of the fact that current occupancy levels are around 11% of what they usually are for December.

12. @ John A

Compliments of the season to you. Given all we know and wish about CoVid, we must hold the government’s feet to the fire. We must not allow them to use the CoVid crisis to further reduce our democracy.
    So far as we can tell, the government is putting livelihoods ahead of lives, and some of us believe this is under pressure from the hotel owners. We want to see them out Barbadian lives ahead of dishonest and crooked hotel owners. Is that too much to ask?

13. Do you mean the total average occupancy levels? If so, when you take into consideration occupancy levels at luxury hotels such as Sandy Lane and Royal Pavillion are ‘hovering’ around 30%, then the other rates at group A, B, C hotels, apartments, guest houses, etc, must be at an all time low.

But, then again, since the ‘tourist season’ began on December 15, 2020, several of those employees who have been fortunate to remain employed, are working 3 days per week.

I’m also thinking how the health authorities are dealing with tourists using AirBNB accommodations and would have direct contact with local communities.

14. According to the worldometers list 218 countries in the world have had Covid infections, from the USA with 19,457,777 [the USA has about 25% of the world’s infections, in spite of having only 4% of the world’s population] infections to Vanuatu with 1 infection.

Dozens of countries have had 0/zero Covid19 deaths:
    Vanuatu
    Samoa
    Wallis and Fortuna
    Marshall Islands
    Anguilla
    Saint Pierre & Miquelon
    Solomon Islamds
    Greenland
    Vatican
    Falkland Islands
    St. Kitts/Nevis
    Timor Leste
    Laos
    Macao
    Dominica
    St. Vincent and the Grenadines
    Grenada
    Seychelles
    Cambodia
    Faeroe Islands
    Bhutan
    Mongolia

And a good number have had fewer than 10 deaths per million, as compared to more than 1,000 deaths per million in the USA, UK, Italy, Spain, Peru, BELGIUM 1650, Czechia, Bulgaria, Slovenia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, North Macedonia, Andorra, San Marino, Montenegro:

Burundi 0.2 deaths per million people
    Tanzania 0.3
    Taiwan 0.3
    Eritrea 0.3
    Thailand 0.9
    Papau New Guinea 1
    Fiji 2
    Western Sahara, 2
    China 3
    Chad 3
    Niger 4
    Benin 4
    Burkino Faso 4
    Mozambique 5
    Ivory Coast 5
    Uganda 5
    Rwanda 5
    Singapore 5
    South Sudan 6
    Guinea 6
    DRC 6
    Nigeria 6
    Togo 8
    Somailia 8
    Comoros 8
    Sierra Leone 9
    Tajakistan 9
    Madagascar 9
    Sri Lanka 9

15. Well those pics taken on boxing day tells a different story from what govt has been saying about protecting the safety of the people
    One look at those pics tells that a govt is willing to take the high risk of disaster than riding a tide where the matter of security is of the highest concern

16. @ Hal

The best to you and yours too sir. I am concerned like you about the next 3 months and this is why I believe it to be most critical for us.

From a financial standpoint the first quarter of 2021 will probably show the largest dollar contraction to date in our economy for any comparative quarter. Many will say impossible but here is why it will happen.

The first quarter of our year historically has been the best revenue quarter for our island. Last year the first quarter was actually not a bad winter season up to say the end of March, then covid struck. So ask yourself this, is we run an occupancy figure in the first quarter of 2021 that is 11% of what it was last year how many hundreds of millions in lost revenue do you think that will equate to? So that’s the financial picture now for the virus.

In the last month 2 more contagious versions of the virus have been identified. With each one spreading faster than the previous one. So we have the UK and Canada on lock down with the USA not knowing if they are going or coming with the virus. Then we have the saviour which all hope is the vaccine. But the projection was that at this point around 8 million Americans would be vaccinated, however because of various challenges, only around 1.9m have been vaccinated so far.

The truth is this first quarter will be devastating to our economy. The current situation in our major source markets is not improving. Added to that this winter we have so far identified 2 additional strains of the virus which little is known of, except that they are 70% more contagious than the initial virus.

All I hope is that this goverment understands what is ahead of them and that the tourism goose will not be laying for a while, hence we look forward to hearing what plan B is. I know of no business that can sustain itself on 11% of its annual revenue for 3 months far less a year.

17. @Hal Austin December 27, 2020 6:49 AM “?????? Are we being sold a pup, which out of a bogus patriotism we buy. We must learn to question everything and everyone.”

I agree that we should question everything and everyone, so my questions to Hal Austin follows:

ONE: Do you have any evidence that we are being sold a pup?
    TWO: If so where is your evidence?

And

THREE: What evidence do you have that we are patriotic?
    FOUR: What evidence do you have that such patriotism is bogus?

Thanks in anticipation of your honest response.

18. @Critical Analyzer December 26, 2020 7:21 PM “Mass testing…”

Do you have any evidence that the Barbados government has been doing mass testing?

19. If you want to understand how far the arrivals are off by just listen to the amount of test that the MOH are doing daily. As 95% of these are done on arriving passengers that will give you an idea. So when you hear that 600 test were done today then thAt basically is what the visitor count was for the day.

Also remeber you have to factor in the lost on cruise ship arrivals too which is absent this year. In January on some single days we could do 8000 visitors a day.

20. @ John A

We are shooting in the dark. We have a professor of tourism economics is is almost totally silent; government is not releasing any figures on any important aspects of the economy; the BTMI and BHTA are not saying; so, we are left to our own devices.
    Such as the regular presence of the minister of tourism at CoVid meetings, the double speak such as having a deal with PAHO and being part of the WHO’s Covax project etc, but nowhere are these issues spelt out.
    To ask for clarification is to invite attacks from the patrolling predators. What we see really is PR, not the careful management of the disease. Why can’t they share their models of management with the public? What is so secretive about it?

21. @Hal Austin December 26, 2020 5:04 PM “…from pictures in the park yesterday it looks as if people are not keeping any social distance or wearing facial masks.”

i was in Queen’s park from about 8:30 to 10:30 on Christmas morning.

I saw no hand shaking.

i saw no hugging.

I saw no hand holding except for parents holding the hands of small children.

I saw EVERYBODY with masks, and most were wearing them correctly most of the time, that is when within 6 feet of others.

People were bunched, as I was, but entirely within my household group.

People took photographs with masks on to remember Covid19 80 years later, but also slipped off their masks briefly for quick photo ops. Many of the photographs were being taken by members of family groups, although as ususal professional photographers were also there.

22. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Cuhdear Bajan December 27, 2020 3:46 PM

The second test of all quarantined visitors and locals whether they have symptoms or not is mass testing.

Testing should only be reserved for the symptomatic to support early outpatient treatment protocols.

23. @Artax

Hal Austin is a hypocrite.

ac is a yard fowl.

Once this is understood any comments posted by them can be pars in a context.

24. @Mariposa December 26, 2020 11:40 PM “Cuh dear. I will repeat to u what i told David when he tried giving the same answer. Not everyone especially the elderly are technological savvy. Many still rely on local media print for info.”

True.

But even more rely on radio for information, because all too often the eyes fail, but the ears are good as ever. The radio stations have been very good at providing information.

Christmas morning at church, the pastor “preached a health sermon” after the regular sermon. You know how we old people love to go to church, and you know how we love to listen to our pastors, so “yes” the covid19 message is getting across.

And you know very well how we Bajans love our grandparents. So young people, including mine are helping us old folks who are not techno savvy.

25. @John A

Barbados’ approach was declared by government whether you agree or not. The strategy is dependent on tourism bouncing back in a year or two, in the meantime subsidizing the industry and trying to keep it afloat is what they are about. You and others can correctly argue it is an incorrect strategy.

26. @TLSN

Plse tell that to the tourism officials. One of the unintended consequences of this push for tourism is the behaviour of young Brits. You know, and I know, what4 a night out for young Brits means.
    The Spanish know, the Cypriots know, the Greeks know, but the Bajans are closing their eyes and pretending that alcohol-fuelled Brits are gentle men and women and everything is bliss.

27. “Is the Mottley government putting the health and lives of ordinary Barbadians at risk in order to shore-up the tourism sector and the economy?

What an idiot! Hal Austin is a bitter fraud.

28. @Critical Analyzer December 27, 2020 3:57 PM “The second test of all quarantined visitors and locals whether they have symptoms or not is mass testing.”

No it is not mass testing.

It is the testing of a select group, that is “ARRIVING PASSENGERS” who have just come from medium or high risk destinations.

What is this bee in your bonnet anyhow about people treating themselves at home? Do people with broken bones treat themselves at home? Do women in labor deliver themselves at home? Do cancer patients treat themselves at home? Do people with strokes treat themselves at home? Do people with strokes treat themselves at home? Do people who have been injured in traffic accidents treat themselves at home?

29. @ David

I have no problem with trying to prop up tourism, what i have a problem with is continuing to be totally dependant on it in light of all covid has taught us.

30. @Hal Austin December 27, 2020 7:41 AM “… then read about how, long before HIV/Aids, British blood transfusion authorities used to take blood from black people and pour it away.”

We have all experienced British racism and colonialism. Nothing new or surprising about British racism. bBt you seem to love them so much that you can’t drag yourself away from their place, love them so much that you must have one in your bed to keep you warn on cold nights.

Stupssseee!!!

31. We will take our medical advice from proper Bajan medical professionals, not from antediluvian, has-been, British journalists.

32. “The second test of all quarantined visitors and locals whether they have symptoms or not is mass testing.

Testing should only be reserved for the symptomatic to support early outpatient treatment protocols.”

I tried so hard to keep my lips zipped.
    You are an idiot.
    You don’t understand what you read or what is being done. The second test is to reduce the number of false negatives. I provided you an earlier link which show the great reduction in false negatives by giving a second test.
    You don’t fully understand what is being done.

33. @Hal Austin December 27, 2020 7:18 AM “I believe we are being sold a pup.”

Some people believe that the world is flat.

Who the hell cares what fairy tales Hal Austin believes.

34. Do I have to explain the issue with false negatives or is it obvious?

You can get a further reduction by doing a third test, but if the false negatives rate is very low, the third test would not really move the needle. So now you have to consider other factors including the cost of testing.

I am convinced that the government has competent and knowledgeable folks running the program.

35. All you do is publish puff opinion pieces and misquote them. You don’t have a clue.

36. @Mariposa December 27, 2020 9:33 AM “The video is on fb where a lady states her name and her job profession as a nurse. Said she took the vaccine and three days later one side of her face got twisted and she was diagnosed as having bells palsy”

Bell’s palsy happens.

One of my siblings got it about 20 year’s ago. Was on sick leave for a week or two. Did not require any assistance with the tasks of daily living. Is now way past 60 and happily and healthy retired.

37. @Hal Austin December 27, 2020 12:30 PM “What a nice thing to say, the first Sunday after Xmas and the day before Holy Innocents day.”

But Hal, you are no Holy Innocent.

You share lashes.

Ya gotta tek ya lashes like man.

38. @Hal Austin December 27, 2020 11:28 AM “More people survive CoVid than die from it.”

There are many diseases where more people recover than die, but sensible public officials, such as the Bajan ones take all disease seriously. For example dengue has a mortality rate which varies from 2 to 20 percent, but you can bet that we take that seriously too.

39. The second test is also to bridge the period between the first and second to cover off the intransit/travel period from point of origin to destination AND the fact some PCR test have shown to be of poor quality like you stated read false negatives.

40. @Hal Austin December 27, 2020 11:28 AM “Last January a group of Chinese men came in at Grantley Adams and some were coughing and coughing until they were blue in the face. One man was so affected that he walked out of customs and sat on the grass near the exit just coughing.”

What is the rate of cigarette smoking among Chinese men? Do men who smoke cough a lot?

60% of Chinese male doctors smoke, so image the smoking rate among male construction workers.

That said I had the ‘flu in February too. Mostly a runny nose and for 2 nights coughing which kept me up. No fever. I did not need to go to the doctor.

It is unlikely to have beenCovi19

41. @December 27, 2020 10:20 AM “Steupse! I know of no-one who knows of anyone who has covid. Covid cannot hide in Barbados.”

The Lonely Londoner seems to believe that the Barbados government is hiding the dead bodies somewhere.

42. @Mariposa December 27, 2020 12:13 PM “David put on your cork hat here is some more shade being thrown your way”

Xenophobia maybe

43. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@TheOGazert December 27, 2020 5:30 PM
    Come into my idiot corner, let me club you with your stupidity.

The purpose for the second test is to strike a test vs risk vs cost balance to give them the highest probability to identify people that slipped through with it for whatever reason with our limited resources, e.g. got infected after their first test, fraudulent first test and yes a false negative.

What you are failing to grasp is I am thinking long term scenarios based on the historical nature of coronaviruses. There is a reason vaccines have not previously been successful against coronaviruses.

What do we do if the current vaccines don’t work against the new UK strain or a future strain that shows up in the next week, month or two months? Do we go back into lockdown till the newer strain is added to the vaccine and tested? What if the vaccine protects you but makes you an asymptomatic carrier? These are questions that cannot be answered by a vaccine rushed in a few months. These questions can only be answered over time and meanwhile we are sinking deeper in the hole. The cure cannot be worse than the disease.

Testing and isolate while waiting for the vaccine miracle to come as our only strategy is not a sensible. We need to look towards test and treating the people in an outpatient setting to cut costs and stop taking limited resources from other more deadly medical conditions that need those resources.

44. Cuhdear Bajan,

And you sharing nuff nuff licks!

TheO,

Hold the fort!

Wuhnuh doan need me.

45. @TheOGazerts December 27, 2020 12:48 PM “The fact that they do not publish their models does not mean that modeling is not being done. I have been closely following statements issued by government. Where possible, I have been trying to gain insight into their models, but lack of information make it impossible for me to do so. However, from their statements it is clear to me that they are using sound statistical and data driven models.”

The people from the University of the West Indies were on the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation early in the pandemic explaining their model which predicted 300+ deaths by this time if we did nothing. Instead we have had 7 deaths. The science also said that hand cleaning, masking and social distancing work; and Bajans have been complying. I am sorry that you and others missed the program and it would be helpful if the CBC would broadcast it again. But believe me the Barbados government response and the Bajan people’s responsiveness has been guided by the scientists at WHO, PAHO, UWI, and the Ministry of health.

Barbados is a small place place and I know one of the modellers. Barbados scholar smart, well educated, experienced, integrity.

46. But if we Bajans or the people who visit play the fool, we will like many other places end up in covid hell.

47. One question I have though is how a supposedly radical black power man keeps promoting the British dress code for the Caribbean?

We in Barbados take Dr. Kenneth George seriously and did not even notice his open neck shirt and gold chain. Indeed I respect him more now my attention has been drawn to them. I see no virtue or sense in making one’s self uncomfortable to impress people who do not even pay one’s salary.

I do so detest stuffed shirts of the mock British kind!

48. @TheOGazerts December 27, 2020 12:48 PM “A second fear is that the government may be too lenient with tourists. There is a story about a visitor leaving his/her hotel..I have yet to read of his/her punishment.”

My fear also.

The government must hit disobedient visiting Bajans and disobedient tourists HARD IN THE POCKET.

I would not jail them because we really don’t want any hard-ears people infecting our prisoners.

Mek dem max up their credit cards to pay the covid fines, and then put them on the next plane back to their covid infested countries.

49. Critical Analyzer Avatar

@Cuhdear Bajan December 27, 2020 5:02 PM

What is this bee in your bonnet anyhow about people treating themselves at home? Do people with broken bones treat themselves at home? Do women in labor deliver themselves at home? Do cancer patients treat themselves at home? Do people with strokes treat themselves at home? Do people with strokes treat themselves at home? Do people who have been injured in traffic accidents treat themselves at home?

The bee in my bonnet is we are burning through money with this isolate all cases strategy and taking limited and badly needed resources from other medical conditions that need resources chasing the COVID boogeyman.

Isolation facilities are not free to run and eat hospital resources. We already had problems getting people treated at the QEH before COVID, it has to much worse now than the worst it was before. QEH on COVID lockdown so nobody can’t even see what going on in the place.

We set broken bones in a cast in a day or less, send them home and tell them come back in 2 weeks to get it removed. We give cancer patients treatment and send them home to recuperate or die with their family. We give stroke patients medication to bring down the pressure and send them home to recuperate, etc. etc. We don’t keep people in the hospital longer than they have to unless they have nowhere to go because it wastes limited medical resources and hospital care is expensive. Try going private ward at the QEH without insurance and see what sort of bill you get. It might put you back in the following week with pressure but you better go public ward this time or the second bill would put you in the morgue.

My point is we need to be treating all COVID patients in an outpatient setting and save the isolation facility resources for the serious cases. That is where we need to go and there are proven treatment protocols out there that get us there which our medical fraternity are to myopic to look it because they seem to think they have bottomless pit of money as long as they say COVID.