The following comment inspired the blogmaster to expand the focus on data collection and discussion about the COVID 19 pandemic. Thanks to @Lyall@Amit

Blogmaster

David; re. your 4:41 am post;

You are correct but I have indeed considered that cohort of the population.

The reason that the US experts are beating the drum for testing, testing and more testing is to get a handle on what proportion of the general public has been compromised by the virus in any way and has left its signatures in body fluids including blood in the population. The virus is shed from the infected body as the disease is brought under control. When it is controlled it has been found that it takes around 7 days for all particles to be shed from the body. Infected persons are released back into the community when they test negative twice over a period of 2 days.

Barbados, like all of our island neighbours, did or does not have access to large numbers of tests and had to use what we had very sparingly. Thus, the only measure that we had for gauging the incidence of the virus in the population (and a very imperfect one, at that) might be by comparing the evidence of infection levels hinted at by a comparison of the graphs of the progress of the various Covid-19 outbreaks in our Islands.

Most of the world was in the same position as the Caribbean and used the data obtained by the minimal testing of infected people and their contacts and their contacts to produce the graphs we see on such sites as WHO and Worldometer etc. All these graphs give an imperfect picture and significant underestimation of infection levels in the county or country in which the tests are carried out, but, since they are carried out in the same way in each country they might provide some rationale for guesstimating the comparative levels of the infection in various groups of countries.

The data shows that, starting out at essentially the same levels, there was some divergence in relation to the rate of infection and therefore progress of the various outbreaks in various countries. The graphs for Barbados showed low and declining levels of infection from the beginning, peaking at the level of 13 positive cases per day and thereafter showing a slowly declining trend. The individuals who would have contributed to the declining trend would have been primarily from the contact testing but should also have included other individuals referred by Health professionals or who presented themselves to Government institutions because of concern that their symptoms might point to untimely death due to the dread Covid-19.

Amit, in an earlier post on this blog, reported on his initiative of graphing Covid-19 incidence over weekly periods throughout the epidemic, in several Caribbean Islands. If David thinks it is appropriate and Amit agrees I can post a subset of graphs clipped from his data for 6 Caribbean territories which I think could illustrate some of what I have presented above.

Covid 19

There was 1 more positive case announced today as well as 1 death. A slight uptick of the daily cases line is indicated in the graph by the blue line. The total cumulative number of positive cases from the tests carried out yesterday is 76 – Llyall Small

COVID 19

Attached is the updated C-19 graph for 2020-04-23. There were no additional positive cases from yesterday’s tests and therefore cumulative positive cases remain at 76 – Lyall Small

covid10

covid12

Two new positive cases were identified from yesterday’s tests. There are now 5 cases of contacts with a previously identified individual. The 5 cases are workers from a Government Institution. Tests are ongoing today (25 April 2020)Lyall Small

Covid11

Updated graph for 26 April 2020. No new +ve cases were found. Cumulative count is still 79 – Lyall Small

covid13

There was one additional +ve case identified today (27 April 2020) from the last tranche of NAB workers moving the cumulative total cases to 80. The graph is still essentially trending downwards – Lyallsmall

Covid-Cumulative 1
Graphing Covid-19 incidence in several Caribbean Islands – Source data: caribbeansignal.com

3,454 responses to “COVID 19 UPDATES”

1. “The Supreme court in its reading to Gov Cumo restrictions against the Church is grounded in Constitutional law
    I maintain that such legal actions can be taken against a govt that imposed strict actions against movement with the impeding of harsh punishments applied. Laws must be guided by the Constitution not “made up”.”

I’m seeking some clarification from you, please.

BAMP suggested there should be “longer quarantine periods under much stricter supervision.” Surely, this means a longer period of restricted movement for people under quarantine.

In your December 23, 2020 6:11 PM, you wrote, “A lot of what BAMP says makes for sensible policy,” which clearly indicates you agreed with BAMP.

However, in your subsequent contributions, you’ve been arguing “The constitution bears and defines within law a right to the freedom of movement.”

On one hand, you seem to be agreeing with BAMP that quarantine periods should be much longer, but, on the other hand, you’re criticising ‘government’s’ quarantine policies as restricting “the freedom of movement.” Could you please explain?

As it relates to your above comment, the Supreme Court temporarily barred New York Governor Andrew Cuomo’s COVID-19 restrictions that limited attendance at religious services in places with extreme COVID-19 outbreaks, designated red or orange zones, on the basis that those restrictions violated the First Amendment to the United States Constitution, which prevents government from making laws that prohibits the free exercise of religion.

Clearly, that case did not have anything to do with restricting movement, but restricting capacity, which I believe are two different things.

Could you please explain what point you were attempting to make by introducing that New York case?

However, I understand the subsequent point you made relative to ‘government’s’ tardiness in being unable to deliver test results within 72 hours, which may result in people being quarantined for a much longer period of time than is necessary. But, I won’t go as far as ‘saying’ it violates “the tenants of the Constitution” as it relates to people’s right to “freedom of movement.”

Perhaps you may care to explain.

2. MariposaDecember 23, 2020 6:11 PM

A lot of what BAMP says makes for sensible policy
    However in the world of economics the real masters and owners call the shots
    Not the govt.

Artax

Where did i mention in my above comment i agreed with BAMP position on longer quarantine periods
    Most of the time i ignore your nit picking responses to what i say
    The article which u mentioned makes mention of more than longer quarantine periods but leave it to you to become a tall tale of spinning my comments to formulate your agenda
    Then u call me a liar
    Merry Xmas Grinch

3. Of interest is that a country with a population of millions just received how many vaccinations?

Covid: Mexico, Chile and Costa Rica begin mass vaccination https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-latin-america-55440940

4. MariposaDecember 24, 2020 6:44 AM

Recently the Supreme Court. intervene on behalf of churches were protocols was actively become a cause of concern in their overreach

Artax
    Where did i indicate that the Supreme court order to Cuomo made mention of a violating of the people’s right to the Freedom of movement
    I did however mention the word ” “overreach”
    Please explain how you took my comments and arrived at such ridiculous conclusion
    None of what you have indicated were mentioned in my comments
    Once again
    Merry Xmas Grinch

5. I have a good friend from the “windy city” who now lives in France. He told me that African Americans are been turned away from hospitals if they report having covid – like symptoms.

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-us-canada-55443339

6. Of interest that Barbados does not have on hand available vaccine
    However can allow people from hot spots to enter the island
    As these numbers increase a picture of lies and deception by govt is being shaped
    One shaped being unfolded is that of a govt desperately running to fill hotels rooms against COVID mad dash
    Another that govt with all the months of stating how much there are in control now finds itself racing against time to finish test in a timely manner
    As these numbers increased govt would continue to push itself in deceptive ways spouting half truths to calm the citizens fear
    Fear not visitors coming in on flights whereby they have to be quarantined would tell the naked Truth

7. My friend, I see you’re using your chairman’s favourite word, ‘nit pick.’ Perhaps you should think for yourself.

Surely if you did not agree with BAMP’s suggestion or even considered it, you wouldn’t have ‘said’ A lot of what BAMP says makes for sensible policy.”

You wrote, “Mariposa December 24, 2020 9:30 AM #: “The Supreme court in its reading to Gov Cumo restrictions against the Church is grounded in Constitutional law. I maintain that such legal actions can be taken against a govt that imposed strict actions AGAINST MOVEMENT with the impeding of harsh punishments applied.”

MY opinion on that case was it “did not have anything to do with restricting movement, but restricting capacity, which I believe are two different things.”

Then, I simply ASKED you, “Could you please explain what point you were attempting to make by introducing that New York case?”

I believe you should, you should PAY CLOSE ATTENTION to TWO things the chairman of your fan club often ‘says.’

(1). If you don’t understand someone’s contribution, ask them to clarify, rather than attempt to read their minds and make assumptions……… which makes ‘perfect sense.’

(2). To confuse someone ASKING a question with them making a definitive statement is as a result of learning by rote.

I did not understand the points you were attempting to make and decided to ASK you to clarify them. Instead, you interpreted those questions as ‘nit picking’ and that I “arrived at such ridiculous conclusions,” perhaps also believing those comments would solicit an intervention by your chairman.

8. ou wrote, “Mariposa December 24, 2020 9:30 AM #: “The Supreme court in its reading to Gov Cumo restrictions against the Church is grounded in Constitutional law. I maintain that such legal actions can be taken against a govt that imposed strict actions AGAINST MOVEMENT with the impeding of harsh punishments applied

Artax apparently you have taken on the task of wanting to be a early morning Xmas jac a.ss
    If u do not understand my thought process or my references better not to play a psychologist because your conclusions are far removed from what i meant
    The Cuomo issue was used as a reference point to indicate if govt by pass the Constitution on any guaranteed right citizens or groups can use legal action to challenged the laws
    Yes so far this govt has opened its borders and visitors are complaining that being placed in quarantine along with the slow process of receiving the results is tantamount to being a hostage

9. Why you do not go and eat piece a ham or a slice of great cake?

10. “If u do not understand my thought process or my references better not to play a psychologist because your conclusions are far removed from what i meant.”

I explained I did not understand the points you were attempting to make and ASKED you QUESTIONS for you to CLARIFY them.

Rather than ANSWER the questions, you continue to display your idiocy by treating them as DEFINITIVE STATEMENTS, which, according to your chairman, is as a result of learning by rote.

How on earth could any reasonable, rational thinking individual, interpret someone ASKING QUESTIONS to mean they are playing psychologist and forming conclusions?

Or, is it that you do not know the difference between the two?

I asked you simple questions and, being unable to sustain a reasonable argument, you became angry and foul mouthed, while hurling personal abuse……. TYPICAL CHARACTERISTICS of the so called “Bajan Condition.”

But what the heck, while other contributors are continually admonished for displaying those behaviours, you’re admired and deemed to be intelligent for doing similarly.

It’s clearly obvious it’s YOU who’s “the early morning Christmas jackass.”

11. Artax

Stop braying
    Take David advice and eat a piece of black cake a rum and coke and slice of ham
    Meantime stop teking yuhself so seriously

12. @Mariposa
    @TLSN

A Merry and Safe Xmas to both of you.
    I thought I would look at my emails to see what seasonal messages came in from the Austin tribe across the pond, and at the same time took a look to see what was happening on a number of news websites, including BU, only to see the same things in this season of good will.
    At least for one day of the year let there be a truce. @TLSN, as you know, we are in lockdown on the deceptively coldest day of the year, but it was nice virtually seeing the grand kids opening the presents Santa brought for them. On Bu, instead of seasonal fun, I found the same nastiness that went on all year.
    I am back with the grand kids. They provide far more intelligent conversation than some grown ups on BU do.
    Enjoy the rest of the day.

13. My friend, you’re rambling. Maybe you had a bit too much black cake and ‘rum on the rocks’ (remember you ‘said’ rum and coke is not a real drink), because you’ve been ‘hee hawing’ on this COVID-19 issue, making yourself, according to you, “the early morning Christmas jackass on BU.”

Perhaps you should return to the discussion when the booze wears off. Maybe, by that time, you’ll be sober enough for anyone to take YOU seriously.

14. An intervention from the pretend limey nincompoop was expected. He could have simple scrolled passed, but,, as usual, he couldn’t resist from engaging in similar nastiness of dropping his customary snide dirty remarks, just like the eahira he is.

If the below contribution from him is his definition of intelligent conversation, then, we know what to expect from the grand kids. After all, the ‘apple don’t fall too far from the tree.’

Mariposa January 2, 2020 10:06 PM #: “I remember a barbados that was free of crime.”

Hal Austin October 23, 2020 6:50 AM #: “@ Mariposa: It depends on how you define crime. We always used to steal cane from the passing trucks. But YOU are RIGHT, if you define crime as meaning arrests and prosecutions and convictions.”

Merry Christmas Ebenezer.

15. Merry Xmas Hal

16. Over the year we have called each other a number of different names.
    Today, I want to use just one or two name.
    A Merry Christmas to all Barbadians.
    A Merry Christmas to all Bajans

A funny thing…
    A relative in England posted a picture of her breakfast on the family chat and for a few seconds I felt envious; and then a few thoughts went through my mind
    Could I do better than what I have prepared? Definitely yes
    Do I want more on my table? After every Xmas and thanksgiving we throw away good food.We will not do so this Xmas.
    Have I given to charity? Yes, yesterday we received a refund from the NJ state government and I donated some to a church.
    What am I trying to get at?
    Some will post pretty pictures and distract you for a second, but hopefully when you do a self-check, you should end up feeling better than when you started. Don’t fret about what is on your table if you can do better and think of those who are less fortunate than yourself.

Have a great day Barbados. HAGD

17. Thanks Theo
    Enjoy the festivities of this day
    Merry Xmas

18. Let me ramble on here
    “Yes, yesterday we received a refund from the NJ state government and I donated some to a church. ”

Recently we were talking of pooling money.
    Several times, I have visited (online) charities in Barbados with the intention of donating a penny. I have not been able to part with a penny mainly because there is no link for donations and the links for donations don’t work. Of course there is always fear of running into a scam artist.

But my point is this… You have not demonstrated (to me) your ability to take care of the less fortunate. Without this exhibition of compassion for the less fortunate, potential contributors to the pool may wonder if you have any compassion for them.

I am impressed by this group
    https://www.sandylanecharitabletrust.org/
    https://barbadostoday.bb/2020/11/27/charity-is-out-of-cash/

Let me ramble on a little.
    That is why a carte blanche indictment of others who are different from us is not the best approach. I suspect these (SLCT) are a bunch of rich white folks who are actually helping out some the less fortunate. If you want to point fingers at a group, the point at the mis-educated bunch who make up your BDLP governments,

19. My employees started what can be considered a ” bank” no not a meeting turn
    It has been successful because of accountability and transparency
    Money placed in each individual depisit/ savings is accounted for at the end of the week
    Money can be borrowed when one has equal or substantial savings to access a loan from some of the total sum of money deposited in the bank
    Employees are happy with the set up especially at this time of the year when getting easy acess to a loan does not mean long credit checks
    Those employees have been working with the company for long extended periods which is enough to know that their job security stands for good reference and their ability to repay any loans
    Btw the loans offered are based on how much savings in their account
    Some prefer to borrow than with draw their savings

20. ” Barbados recorded two more cases of COVID-19 from the 964 tests conducted by the Best-dos Santos Public Health on Wednesday.

They are a 48-year-old female who arrived on British Airways on December 20, and a 54-year-old male who came into the island on Virgin Atlantic on December 22. They are both asymptomatic and were positive on their second test”

21. TheOGazerts December 21, 2020 6:47 PM
    Just saw your comment below.

Look at Lyall’s charts and you will see that Jamaica has been doing a horrible job.

I don’t think that my charts have been showng any such thing. In fact, my charts that show Jamaica’s active cases over the past month or so have indicated a consistent decline in that statistic from week to week. Not bad for a country in close proximity to Florida which has very high Covid-19 case levels and deaths and with which Jamaica has significant ongoing contacts.

Re. deaths, I think I will try to do a chart comparing Covid-19 attributed deaths per 100,000 population between Florida and a few Caribbean countries like Jamaica, Barbados, T&T and Guyana or Belize. Deaths is a metric that speaks to expertise of Medical personnel and the Health system generally that gets little media attention from the standpoint of the efficiency of the overall System to redue deaths. Any results in this area might be instructive, especially for periods before and after a vaccine is available.

22. NO JAB FOR RASTAS
    Community says it won’t be forced into taking Covid-19 vaccine
    By Colville Mounsey
    colvillemounsey@nationnews.com
    Any attempt to roll out widespread vaccinations for the deadly COVID-19 pandemic will be without the involvement of close to 7 000 members of the Rastafarian community.
    This position was made clear by spokesperson for the Ichirouganaim Council for the Advancement of Rastafari, Peter “Adonijah” Alleyne.
    In an interview with the Saturday Sun, he explained that while it was no secret that the Rastafarian community had been long opposed to vaccination of their children, it was their view that some of the COVID-19 vaccines were especially “evil”.
    At the same time, head of the African Heritage Foundation, Paul “Ras Simba” Rock, is calling on Government to state clearly how it would be rolling out the vaccination process, noting any attempt to make it mandatory for travel or schooling would be met with a legal challenge.
    Against vaccines
    “I don’t think that anybody will be surprised by the position of the Rastafarian community. This is because I don’t think that anybody in their right mind would support a vaccine created by people who have said before that their concern is overpopulation. Most Rastafari are against vaccines altogether but this one is particularly evil,” said Adonijah, who was referring to comments made by tech giant Bill Gates, a major financial backer of the COVID-19 vaccine development.
    “It would seem to me that this is not a good way to recommend a vaccine to anyone because persons are going to automatically think that this is not in their favour. We are already taking steps towards putting a legal case if anyone is crazy enough to say that this thing is mandatory. Rastafari is making a case to defend that,” he added.
    According to the 2015 Report on International Religious Freedom –Barbados, prepared by the United Sates Department of State, Rastafarians stated they faced discrimination in schools, noting that the institutions required vaccinations for enrolment, which the organisation said violated their religious beliefs.
    By law, MMR (measles, mumps and rubella), DTP (diphtheria, tetanus and pertussis – whooping cough) and Hepatitis B vaccinations are required for all children attending both public and private schools as well as those who are homeschooled. The vaccination programme is administered through the Ministry of Health, in cooperation with the Ministry of Education.
    A violation of human right
    Homeschooled children must be registered with the Ministry of Education. People are allowed to apply to the Ministry of Health for exemption, which is granted at the discretion of the minister.
    However, Rock said that for years the Rastafarian community had abstained from vaccines and they had presented no threat to the public. He said this was not about to change in the case of COVID-19.
    “For many years, members of our faith (both minors and adults) have lived with only selective vaccinations or with none at all, exercising minimal to no risk to the general population. We also believe that it is a violation of a person’s fundamental human right to be forcibly subjected to such without allowing a person to make an informed decision involving the livelihood of themselves and/or their dependents.
    “We also support that if there is any sort of mass outbreak as such, that our children, elderly and other vulnerable members of our faith will exclude themselves from the general public to also reduce risk,” said Rock.
    He said his community had been holding discussions on the issue since Government announced it would be securing its first batch of vaccines next year, which would go to front-line workers and other soon-to-be specified target groups.
    “It is wise that the Rastafari legal counsel be on the ready should we have to go the route of the law courts in order to protect our rights. We are having a meeting where all mansions of Rastafari are coming together to formulate a position paper on this issue . . . ,” he said.
    When contacted, Acting Chief Medical Officer Dr Kenneth George said the Rastafarian community was jumping the gun, as they were not going to be a priority in the first round of vaccinations likely to begin next year. However, he urged them to come on board when the medicine was widely available.
    “The Government’s position is that the vaccine won’t be here until March or April next year. We will encourage all groups, including the Rastas, to come on board. It is important to note that they are not going to be a priority group in the first phase,” he said.

23. Indeed, Jamaica now seem to be getting the spread under control, but Jamaica went through a run-away period prior to the past few weeks.b The decrease could also reflect the Jamaicans beginning to learn and understand control of the spread of the disease. I would like to believe that our COVID-19 protocols prevented us from experiencing such a run-away period.

Death like infections can be influenced by a number of different factors. There was a time when two like persons were infected, one in the US and one in the Caribbean, I would have given the better chance of survival to the person in the US. Now I am not so certain.

This link provides all types of information
    https://ourworldindata.org/mortality-risk-covid

24. “For many years, members of our faith (both minors and adults) have lived with only selective vaccinations or with none at all, exercising minimal to no risk to the general population. (Quote)
    ++++++++++++++++

Why selective? Are some good and some bad? What determines “selective”? Yuh can’t have your cake and eat it too

25. Coronavirus: More cases of new Covid variant found in Europe https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-55452262

26. TheOGazerts re. your 10:06 am post.

Yes! Good info, thanks.

Indeed, your link at https://ourworldindata.org/mortality-risk-covid
    contains some excellent information and can be used as is, pending the collation of further information, to get a headstart on a promotion to publicize our system for treatment of the disease as well as to closely control allowing entry of only a manageable number of tourists here.

27. I’m having some difficulty in understanding certain aspects of our COVID-19 strategies. Perhaps someone may want to explain.

There was a time we had instances of ‘community spread’ as well as people voluntarily leaving quarantine centres to mingle with the general population, to the extent that ‘contact tracing’ was conducted.

With the exception of wearing face masks and using hand sanitizers, we’ve essentially returned to preexisting COVID-19 conditions. For example, people are ignoring social distancing rules, evidenced by the fact that PSVs have returned to the days of overcrowding; some banks, supermarkets, restaurants, stores, etc, seem to be no longer limiting the number of people entering them to conduct business; in communities, rather than social distancing, people are ‘social gathering,’ as is seen in village shops, street corners, pastures, homes, fetes, etc.

Although we established an HIV Commission and issued daily warnings about the dangers of HIV/AIDS, many Barbadians remained promiscuous.

I’m not suggesting the health authorities have been with-holding information from the public, but, I’m trying to ‘wrap my head around’ the thought that, in the absence of a vaccine and through COVID-19 protocols only, many of which are not being adhered to by Barbadians, and since we’re only hearing of ‘imported cases,’ Barbados seemed to have out performed its regional and international counterparts, by reducing COVID-19 community spread to almost nil.

Could some deaths recorded as a result of NCDs, be associated with the corona virus?

What I also find interesting is the fact ‘government’ yet to reveal its post COVID-19 socioeconomic policies.

28. Attached are Covid-19 charts for the week ending 25th December. The uptick in Barbados during that week is essentially par for the course but reflects the greater virus loads being generated by our Tourism partners. The authorities may need to further fine tune their testing, contact tracing, monitoring, quarantining and other operations to overcome the increasing threats posed by new strains of the virus and increasing travel from metropolitan countries as the tourist season brings increased numbers of hosts here. The capacity of our health system needs to be carefully looked at and correlated with maximum C-19 loads that we can afford to carry. Now may be a good time to research, and if warranted, to use the fact of low deaths in the Caribbean as a message that might drive tourism until the vaccines take noticeable effect – Lyall Small

29. Five female visitors were positive for COVID-19 out of the 540 tests carried out by the Best-dos Santos Public Health Laboratory on Thursday.

Confirmed cases have now risen to 352 – 187 females and 165 males.

Their ages range from 19 to 47, and they arrived on island between December 19 and 23. The visitors are all asymptomatic and were positive on their second test….(Quote)

30. Hal Bogus reporting regurgitation from the govt horses mouth
    The media job is to seek information as to why govt is allowing Tourist from Hot spots
    Also to find out how much is the medical cost for the testing of every visitor that enters the island
    Also the cost of medical attention and room and border
    Also name the Hotels where the asymptomatic people are house

31. You need to google. You know how?

Also the numbers are provided by public health officials.

You see everything in the political.

Do not forget to wear to wear your mask.

https://www.visitbarbados.org/covid-19-travel-guidelines-2020

32. Btw i read where govt had secured a loan to upgrade Harrison isolation centre
    What i havent read is how much was the loan
    David i should not have to rin around doing your job and local media job
    All that info made public should br of imporTance in that media pass it on to the public
    Not everyone has a computer especially some of the elderly who can’t be bothered with technology
    Your ignorance has no bounds
    Here you rather criticize than see a need to be informative
    Boy uh tell yuh them rain drops might be hitting you in the head real hard

33. @ Mariposa

You are seeing out the old year as rational as you have been all year. The media has failed and the state is proving us with incomplete CoVid figures.
    As to the economics of CoVid, I have been calling for a whole of government balance sheet. We now have vaccines yet we are told they will not be reaching Barbados until March. Why?
    Has the coroner published any mortality figures, or the statistical office, or the ministry of health? What officially are the causes of death of people since January 2020? How many autopsies, post mortems, inquests have we had? Are we just burying people without any medical evidence of how they really die, oar are we just putting any cause of death on the death certificate?

34. The throwashadecrew is at it as usual. The same crew who predicted Barbados would exhaust food supplies when Covid 19 first struck. The two of you have more to be concerned about in the countries you reside.

Do not forget to wear your masks.

In the mean time we are going about our business without any major concern.

35. “We continue to dance around the scenario that the virus is being imported into the island.”
    These are the words from the Barbados Advocate.
    Their journalists have become fatigued with their inability to publish what is really happening in Barbados. On the evidence of this article their editor has unleashed the shackles.

The full article is in the link below.

@Hal,
    A belated Christmas to you.

https://www.barbadosadvocate.com/columns/my-christmas-wish

36. Hal is always trying to be relevant. Stuuuuupse!!! As far as he and the bright one are concerned Barbados, being a failed state, could never be managing the pandemic as well as it is; therefore, government must be hiding numbers. Has there been an uptick in deaths in Barbados to raise any suspicion about unreported deaths due to covid? In a small, aging population with a high incidence of NCDs, the obituaries should be unusually bust if what he and the bright one are inferring were to be true. This is why the nastiest comment on this blog must be “Bajan Condition”.

37. @TLSN

The same to you. Hope you are safe and well.

38. I Have been forced to give two more awards
    Jockey of the year – Mariposa
    Supporter of the year -HahA
    This is perhaps the 30th time that Mariposa mounted the horse Lazarus and attempted to ride it around the track, ably aided and abetted by the bettor Haha. The horse’s refusal to move goes unnoticed by the pair. The reader can only assume their repeated attempts to run Lazarus is their ardent desire to say “I was right. I told you so” if things get out of hand.

That is a sad state of mind.

39. Theo
    A bolted horse should be tracked down and return to stable if not deadly consequences can occur to those who gets in its way
    Place note that in recent days the horse has up its tempo
    Stay tuned

40. @ Enuff,
    It is important to read between the lines. Take a country such as South Korea. Barbados like South Korea has fought a tremendous battle to minimise covid-19. However, over the last three weeks they have witnessed a huge rise in covid-19 deaths.

Barbados has been accepting tourists from toxic covid-19 countries such as the UK, the USA and Canada. As far as I’m aware South Korea has a ban on travellers from all three countries. We have to accept that a minority of these tourists are carriers of covid-19 and are super spreaders.

It seems bizzare that the local population appear immune to covid-19.

@Hal,
    I’m trying to keep safe and remain locked up in the house.

41. We have been staying tuned since February with you lot. You cannot wait for something bad to happen.

#throwashadecrew

42. David something bad is happening
    Govt is importing Covid from hot spots
    The daily entrees of those infected has increased

43. Critical Analyzer Avatar

Is the testing truly accurate or showing false positives because it is too sensitive.

All these people testing positive day after day are all asymptomatic. Do we have anybody in isolation that is actually sick or just people testing positive without any symptoms?

44. @Critical

Good question. What about fees? Is this an easy way to make money? Do we do any anti-body testing? How about mass testing? We only seem to test visitors and from pictures in the park yesterday it looks as if people are not keeping any social distance or wearing facial masks.

45. I am coming to believe that we love to complicate matters. I would not worry about false positives as long as action is taken when flagged as positive. The greater threat is false negatives, a carrier having the disease, testing as negative and being allowed into the population; that is why having a second test is so important.

Suppose the test has a probability pf 0.9 in detecting the disease (D) and 0.1 of not detecting the diease (N) then for a peson having the disease we have the following

Unable to stay awake. These two sites should help keep you up ….

https://qxmd.com/calculate/calculator_731/covid-19-prognostic-tool

https://www.mdlinx.com/article/what-are-the-odds-online-calculators-predict-death-covid-19-cancer-and-more/TTxcCN0OSNTMU5eINtlOk

46. @CA
    This may help you with your calculations.
    https://www.bmj.com/content/369/bmj.m1808