The DLP saga continues to play out under the glare of an unsympathetic public. Yesterday the matter found its way to Whitepark Road hoping for a legal resolution, however, it had to be rescheduled until the 26th June 2024. In the meantime the court ordered Pedro Shepherd and Andre Worrell continue in the roles of General Secretary and President respectively meaning Steve Blackett and Dr. Ronnie Yearwood remain suspended from the positions arising from the acrimonious meeting of the general council earlier this month.

It is fair to opine that the ongoing imbroglio at George Street is the worst kind of publicity any political party wants to attract. A political party after all is in the business of endearing itself to the electorate. in order to grow popularity. The situation is made worse for the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) because it was rejected in unprecedented fashion by the electorate in the last two general elections.

The average citizen maybe persuaded that in stable relationships disagreements will occur. However what is not acceptable is the inability of any political party to resolve differences internally if it is to be regarded as a credible alternative in the eyes of the electorate. The blogmaster is of the certain view the DLP has self inflicted irreparable harm to its credibility as a viable alternative to the Barbados Labour Party (BLP).

“O Judgment ! Thou art fled to brutish beasts, and men have lost their reason !”

— William Shakespeare

The DLP is a chronically divided party that has usurped its role as the government in waiting. Long after any court ruling is made post 26 June 2024, it will take time for the deep divisions in the DLP to be healed to be able to regain the trust of an apathetic and cynical electorate. What this translates to is that in the land of the blind a one eye man is king. Unfortunately while there is the right of members of the DLP to access the legal system to seek redress, there are always consequences for decisions taken.

Of interest is to observe Hal Gollop leading the legal team for Acting General Secretary Pedro Shepherd and Acting President Andre Worrell, some will describe it as the Thorne faction. Gollop is no stranger to the DLP political landscape and is known to be a close friend of former prime minister Freundel Stuart. The old guard of the party is active!

There is no need to be prolix on this matter except to suggest to the warring parties at George Street that – hard ears wunna won’t hear own way you will feel.

68 responses to “DLP burning while members fiddle”

1. Here we are discussing the entrails of a corrupt and deceitful political party who are not far off from being interred. Where some of their members had a “come to Jesus moment” by switching their allegiances after our great leader stated that she knew where the bodies were buried.

We tend to forget that the BLP has been in power since 2018. What changes have they brought in since then? I would say they have brought in fundamental radical changes at the expense of their own people who have become mere sacrificial black belly sleep whom are currently being expedited to far off Guyana.

A developer was allowed to build a 32.5 acre private development on prime agricultural land. I believe the developer may be English. The development is called the St George estate and the architecture looks like a typical bland English modern apartment block. The price for a one-bedroom apartment is a mere 607,000 Barbadian dollars. I would not be surprised if that development becomes a mono white British enclave. It has that distinctive appearance. Us blacks from the UK know the significance of St George and its flag and how it has been appropriated over the many decades.

The elephant in the room is not the ram shackled DLP; it’s the BLP who are doing an incredible job in disenfranchising their own black people. As Bush Tea would say “what a place!”

Go and see what is happening in South Africa. The ANC are being challenged.

https://www.barbadospropertysearch.com/for-sale/estates-mahogany-m306

2. I was just this morning wondering when you would stick your head back up over the trench. I timed it perfectly!

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

Stop deflecting! What does South Africa have to do with The Great Escape story unless you wish to propagate the white supremacist narrative that it was better under oppressive white rule? It would not be far from your usual “white is better” schtick. I will only read your Al Jazeera article AFTER I get from you –

1) An article from The Guardian, regarding Keir Starmer reneging on just about everything he promised. “I will not tax the rich!” And at the same time, “You cannot expect me to do those things for you poor lot anymore. We simply cannot afford it!” (paraphrased).

2) An article about how he kicked out Jeremy Corbin and Dianne Abbott, and the way he is handpicking candidates like a dictator, without consultation with local branches.

And you ran off without posting theon the Post Office Scandal, The Sewaged Waterways Scandal, The Tainted Blood Scandal.

I could go on and on. I love hearing news of The Green Green Grass of Home.

“The old home town looked the same as I stepped down from the train…..”

Will ole Tom be able to get a train though?

Is Starmer still promising to renationalize the privatized and failing rail?

Give up yet, darling?

I’ve got more. ☺️

3. How about an article from Tanzania, where BAJE seems to be enjoying himself immensely?

Not in heaven, because there is none on earth, but it is black run and progressing, according to Baje. And led by an emotional, hormone handicapped woman to boot!

Or maybe that’s just Baje’s “vivid imagination”. 🤔

The reason I do this is not to hold Barbados up as some paradise. It is not. Never has been. Never will be. We are in need of a serious deprogramming and reprogramming. It’s not just a case of a few bugs in the system. But the effect of your Great Escape narrative is the perpetuation of the white man is superior at governing myth and that is exactly what we need to be deprogrammed from.

Not only that, is is FALSE! Whitemanland is a mess. Both of the last two empires are in a perilous state.They are eating themselves alive.

Look at the choices The OG has – Donald Trump and Joe Biden.

And your choices – Rishi Sunak and Keir Starmer.

How do those choices bode for the future of those two countries?

No better than mine in Barbados.

4. How low can you go? Avatar
    How low can you go?

DLP are still trying their hardest to find their bottom and fully bottom out

the standards to be a DLP candidate have set the bar low low low

will or can one ever become an MP again without selling out and crossing over

they have a long way to go as low riders

5. Dub seems to be working overtime on this particular topic….
    Pick sense from that…

Ban eee!!!

6. Stakes are High Avatar
    Stakes are High

Perhaps Bushwoman and BM DofBu have bet stakes in the racehorse called Ralph there is more moderation than I don’t know what

7. Papa was a rolling stone
    Every household papa entered he called a home
    The judge said he knew that 🤣 😂

8. Call to ‘arms’!

“Dems urged to ‘get up and work’
    Former Democratic Labour Party president Verla DePeiza has called on the party’s base to “get up and do the work” for the Barbadian people in an impassioned speech at a DLP zone meeting in St Michael South Central on Sunday night.
    Addressing a packed St Michael School hall, DePeiza rallied the crowd: “Our people need the Democratic Labour Party to get up and stand up and speak out on their behalf. The people are calling out for us. We are a proud party with a phenomenal legacy and not just a legacy, but with a vision for the people of this country.”
    She urged DLP members not to be disheartened: “Hold your head up, Democratic Labour Party. Put your flags up. Today is the flag day. There is no need to bury your head in the sand. Get up. The people are waiting on us.
    They are waiting on us.”
    DePeiza maintained the DLP remained a “phenomenal party”, adding: “We will move forward having learned our lessons because there were some. But there is never a moment when we must hang our heads. We have to show this country that we are ready for the task because our country needs us. This is our mission. This is our mandate. This is our calling.”
    Acknowledging that work needed to be done, the former senator said all members had a role in ensuring the party remained the voice of the people. “We have work to do.
    Not everybody is a front-runner but everybody is a valued runner in the Democratic Labour Party. Our people are looking for us to stand up and speak up for them and this evening is it.
    Every single time the Democratic Labour Party gathers, I want every one of you, even those of you who are online now, to get up and come out and put on your colours. It is still blue and yellow.”
    Quoting a biblical phrase, she added: “I tell you, I’m not here to preach, but the Bible has those nuggets in it. The harvest is great. We got a lot of labourers though, but we have to get up and do the work.”
    DePeiza was critical of the governing Barbados Labour Party’s performance, stating: “I have never seen an administration have such a perfect pitch. Level the playing field. They won 30 love twice and can’t play a ball at all,at all, at all. We need to stop the watching and start the talking. They are fumbling the ball and nobody else is on the field but them.”
    She advised Dems to avoid distractions and focus on the key issues. “Forget the noise.
    Forget the noise. Listen to the people. Talk and speak for the people. I am not interested in side shows. The big issue in this country is how our people are being treated and how they are suffering.”
    Referring to criticisms of the DLP before the 2018 elections, DePeiza challenged: “A lot was said in the lead-up to the 2018 elections that castigated the Democratic Labour Party – some of it we deserve licks for. But I challenge anyone to tell me today in May of 2024 that they are better off than they were in May of 2018.” (IMC)”

Source: BT

9. “But I challenge anyone to tell me today in May of 2024 that they are better off than they were in May of 2018.”

Ask those parents that don’t have to pay UWI at least $6000 per year in tuition fees.

10. Here is this weeks Joseph column. Another straight forward position.

DLP king of the ashes

Tyrion Lannister: If we turn the dragons loose, tens of thousands will die in the firestorms.

Ellaria Sand: It’s called war. If you don’t have the stomach for it, scurry back into hiding.

Daenerys Targaryen: [interrupts] That’s enough!… I am not here to be Queen of the Ashes. – Dialogue from HBO Series Game of Thrones

THE ABOVE DIALOGUE from

Game of Thrones is an important guide to how political power should be used in battles against one’s “enemies”. Such wisdom is even more precious in “internal battles” as with the ongoing Dr Ronnie Yearwood-Steve Blackett (President and General Secretary) response to the emergence of Ralph Thorne as political leader of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP).

Elsewhere, in the biblical story of King Solomon, a similar nugget of political wisdom is provided when Solomon is called upon to decide on the maternity of a child, between two competing mothers. Solomon invited his swordsman to split the baby down the middle. Who is the true mother?: the one who gives up her maternity claim to preserve the baby’s life.

The above reflections may explain why I have tended to place greater blame on the Yearwood-Blackett faction for escalating the tensions within the DLP. While leadership challenges are commonplace, my eyes are on the actions that can potentially burn the building to the ground, leaving the victor as the mere caretaker of a corpse.

One of my main concerns has been how the Yearwood-Blackett corner has adopted a “no-holds-barred” approach, unsuited for an internal leadership contest. One such example was the ‘press conference’ in which Steve Blackett, who as General Secretary, called for the rescinding of Ralph Thorne’s DLP membership, officially placed the expulsion of Thorne on the agenda. Another was the recent calling of the police following a so-called illegal entry into DLP headquarters, which could potentially criminalise fellow party members. These actions are all rooted in the awareness by the Yearwood Blackett faction that Thorne’s crossing has involuntarily challenged the “reality” of Yearwood’s leadership, making Yearwood only a dejure leader, but not de facto. This is why the current effort is to rely on outside-party legal forces: the police and the courts. However, none of this changes the objective fact that Ronnie Yearwood has no seat in parliament. Once another very articulate and experienced member of the DLP serves as Leader of the Opposition, Yearwood’s presidency remains negated.

No wonder the tactics have been first, to keep Thorne out, and secondly to get legal decisions to “make” Yearwood President. These cannot change objective reality.

There are several prominent leaders, like Barbados’s current Prime Minister Mia Mottley, who faced painful leadership challenges, and chose to yield, rather than emerge as “queen of the ashes”.

Perhaps Yearwood and Blackett might appreciate that patience and wisdom remain eternal attributes of leadership.

11. does not cut the mustard Avatar
    does not cut the mustard

Ralph has 1 seat and should be DLP’s rightful ruler does not cut the mustard.

In 2022 Election in Christ Church South
    2,229 voted for BLP Ralph Thorne
    722 voted for DLP Marc Laurent

12. Rastaman camp Avatar

Children throw ‘way your folly
    Come with Rastaman, come dally
    Smoke collie

Early in the morning, when the sun is shining, yeah
    There were was Pharaoh standing, peeping over
    Trying to capture Rastaman brethren
    Them want fi carry I name inna them mix-up, now Jah
    But, oh Father, will you hear my cry?
    And deliver I and I, so I shall not be crucified, yes

Run come rally ’round Rastaman camp
    Mek we have some fun
    Throw ‘way your folly
    Run come rally ’round Rastaman camp
    We are de righteous ones, wooy-oy

Children the door is open
    Come in my little ones, come in
    Make your light so shine among them
    That they will see your good works
    And glorify Jah name with praise [Matthew 5:16]

13. The Nation

What a frame of reference.

First, the dragons have always been loose. For their fire kill hundreds of thousands daily.

Second, all wars don’t require us to scurry back into a hole. Sometime weeee must fight for rightness.

Third, being king of the ashes is certainly better than life on one’s knees, like is this nation’s choice.

Ralph Thorne was wrong for allowing the idiots Yearwood and Blackett to believe that there was a management structure which required the DLP to be a three-headed, fire-breathing, dragon.

And Yearwood and Blackett were dictators in-wait for conjuring circumstances where the party would have a Leader of the Opposition in parliament who would have to refer to these two unelected fools before a word was uttered.

Certainly, the gerrymandering of the invitation from the prime minister of Saint Lucia/Vincent was proof that Yearwood and Blackett were prepared to subjugate an elected member of parliament to two unelected political nobodies.

War has not to be always avoided. For honor requires that some wars must be won. And Thorne must win this one. In and outside of court.

Yearwood and Blackett seem to be fighting on battlefields more to the liking of Thorne. How apolitical? Thorne has a reputation of being one of the smartest lawyers around. Like Lara, he has also longed thought of himself that way.

Is there any better way to take control of this dying party than by announcing oneself while waving the scalps of Yearwood and Blackett as worshippers of a dead system.

14. These back to back columns by Tennyson Joseph and his subsequent appearance on brass tax made me chuckle enough to ask if Joseph tentacles are some where in the dlp engine room
    But then again politics can throw some curve ballsc

15. @ac

He doesn’t have to be in the engine room with DLP members mouths running like a sick nigga botsy.

16. David
    May 30, 2024 at 5:32 pm

He doesn’t have to be in the engine room with DLP members mouths running like a sick nigga botsy
    …….
    Wherever he might be Joseph is hot up Dr. Yearwood tail
    Wonder what is Joseph vested interest in the outcome

17. @ac

Does it matter? Try to influence fellow DLP colleagues to sit at George Street and break bread.