The DLP saga continues to play out under the glare of an unsympathetic public. Yesterday the matter found its way to Whitepark Road hoping for a legal resolution, however, it had to be rescheduled until the 26th June 2024. In the meantime the court ordered Pedro Shepherd and Andre Worrell continue in the roles of General Secretary and President respectively meaning Steve Blackett and Dr. Ronnie Yearwood remain suspended from the positions arising from the acrimonious meeting of the general council earlier this month.

It is fair to opine that the ongoing imbroglio at George Street is the worst kind of publicity any political party wants to attract. A political party after all is in the business of endearing itself to the electorate. in order to grow popularity. The situation is made worse for the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) because it was rejected in unprecedented fashion by the electorate in the last two general elections.

The average citizen maybe persuaded that in stable relationships disagreements will occur. However what is not acceptable is the inability of any political party to resolve differences internally if it is to be regarded as a credible alternative in the eyes of the electorate. The blogmaster is of the certain view the DLP has self inflicted irreparable harm to its credibility as a viable alternative to the Barbados Labour Party (BLP).

“O Judgment ! Thou art fled to brutish beasts, and men have lost their reason !”

— William Shakespeare

The DLP is a chronically divided party that has usurped its role as the government in waiting. Long after any court ruling is made post 26 June 2024, it will take time for the deep divisions in the DLP to be healed to be able to regain the trust of an apathetic and cynical electorate. What this translates to is that in the land of the blind a one eye man is king. Unfortunately while there is the right of members of the DLP to access the legal system to seek redress, there are always consequences for decisions taken.

Of interest is to observe Hal Gollop leading the legal team for Acting General Secretary Pedro Shepherd and Acting President Andre Worrell, some will describe it as the Thorne faction. Gollop is no stranger to the DLP political landscape and is known to be a close friend of former prime minister Freundel Stuart. The old guard of the party is active!

There is no need to be prolix on this matter except to suggest to the warring parties at George Street that – hard ears wunna won’t hear own way you will feel.

68 responses to “DLP burning while members fiddle”

1. @ Burning.

“The blogmaster is of the certain view the DLP has self inflicted irreparable harm to its credibility as a viable alternative to the Barbados Labour Party (BLP)”

+++++++

DLP suffered an acute case of internal combustion. Whitepark Road administered a temporary extinguishing.

2. Thorne: DLP victim of political terrorism

Political leader of the Democratic Labour Party Ralph Thorne has declared that the party is a victim of “political terrorism”.
    Stating that the current infighting has its origins in the governing Barbados Labour Party (BLP), Thorne said that the 69-year-old opposition party is under threat.
    “My party is under threat, this country is under threat and democracy in this place is under threat,” Thorne said at a zone meeting in St Michael South Central on Sunday night at the St Michael School. “All that is going on, I want to suggest to you that it has its connections beyond the parameters of this party.
    “There are tentacles reaching into this great Democratic Labour Party. One by one we are discovering who they are.Join together and build strong perimeters around this party and reject those tentacles that are stretching from the Barbados Labour Party into this party.
    “If they come through a window we close the window on them. If they come through a door we close the door on them.When Mia Mottley’s party’s tentacles are stretching all the way to George Street, you will be resistant.”
    The Leader of the Opposition admitted that people had all right and reason to be upset with the party.
    “People should be upset with us. Why are we allowing this to happen to us? Tonight I speak on behalf of this party, I speak on behalf of the constitution of this party. We do not consider any member an enemy. We consider a member an enemy only when he wraps himself in the tentacles that stretch from the BLP.”
    Even in the face of these challenges, Thorne insisted that the party intends to move forward.
    “I met with the branches at party headquarters last Wednesday. I told them that we have work to do. I described to them as the engine room; the part of the ship that people don’t like visiting. It is not glamorous. Many times it is untidy and filled with grease and grime and it is hot but without the engine room, the ship cannot move.”
    He added: “I reminded them that they have a primary responsibility for this party and this country. I went into the engine room and I told them it is their responsibility to prepare us and to prepare this country for the quality of persons who we see here on this platform tonight.
    “There will be tussles, there will be personal victories and personal disappointments, but when we draft that manifesto and you see 30 names, those 30 names would have passed through the engine room,” Thorne told the packed St Michael School hall.
    The political leader assured the party faithful that the DLP is “making itself ready for the next general election”.
    “We are preparing this party for a democratic candidate selection process in which the branches must have an input,” he declared. (IMC)

Source: BT

3. I'm The Song My Enemies Sing Avatar
    I’m The Song My Enemies Sing

4. A burning question which is in need of answers
    Why were the President and GS suspended
    Outside of political and emotional interest
    That question needs to be answered in a manner that the full body membership of the party would understand

5. Boss…
    It is our COUNTRY (and World) that is burning – while we all talk shiite about DEAD INSTITUTIONS like the DLP/BLP / Politicians and other shiite leaders.

Bushie is holding YOU and BU to a higher standard than picking at at the bones of dead institutions.

LET THE DEAD BURY THEIR DEAD.

Meanwhile, SOMEONE has to raise the alarm about the REAL DANGERS that will destroy us all. Bushie has ALWAYS credited BU with THAT sacred responsibility – whether you realize this responsibility or not….

The DLP DIED YEARS AGO…. and has been smelling ever since…
    Thorne should have left the BLP and started the NDLP as Bushie advised.
    He didn’t, and the rest is now history.

In any case, (as William has so clearly pointed out,) Barbados has ALWAYS been a ONE-PARTY place – with the DUOPOLY taking turns in our donkeys…. doing the SAME shiite, with the SAME white shadows, and withONGOING TAXES in our backsides.

At least we now KNOW definitively what we are facing, rather that just changing from the Devil to Satan whenever the shiite piled up too high.

The old ‘David’ would now relegate this DLP/ BLP corpse to a simple footnote on BU.. while we pursue the Gospel (Good news of hope)…

6. @ac

The courts will decide for you lot in George Street.

7. @David

The answer to my question does not necessarily lies within the court system
    Matter of fact the CJ hinted that the dlp Constitution is where these political challenges should be answered
    As of now the President and GS has been suspended and no reason has being given in a clear and defined manner

8. NorthernObserver Avatar

Isn’t it fitting the result of the court visit was “delay”. Do we think they can delay it again?

9. @ David

According to the news report, Thorne said, “the current infighting in the DLP has its origins in the governing Barbados Labour Party (BLP),” and advised the DEMS to join “together and build strong perimeters around this party and reject those tentacles that are stretching from the Barbados Labour Party into this party.”

Is Thorne suggesting the BLP’s association with the DLP’s current infighting lies in the fact that both Yearwood and him are former BEES who have further divided that political party into an ‘old guard versus new guard’ situation and are fighting among each other to lead it?

10. “build strong perimeters around this party and reject those tentacles that are stretching from the Barbados Labour Party into this party.”

Could this be a case of the magician revealing the sleight of hand used to perform his magic and yet the audience is unaware of the reveal?

11. William Skinner Avatar

@
    Bush Tea
    We reap what we sow. We encourage our dog to suck our neighbour’s eggs. When it becomes normal activity, and it has sucked all the neighbour’s eggs , it then sucks ours.
    When we engage in masturbation, the penis cannot tell the difference between a palm and a vagina.
    We have a now deceased Prime Minister who said his long surviving Deputy was a despot and had engaged with hanky panky surrounding party funds.
    He even left the party and said it had lost its soul when she became the leader.
    Amazingly he accepted job offers from her , when she became Prime Minister .The wounds had so healed , within a relatively short period of time, that this alleged “ despot” and hanky panky money person , was his eulogist .
    And she said that when ever her life story is written, he would have been the “ greatest thing” that ever happened to her.
    So the stupidity at their Twin is just that ; extended family squabbles.
    So, are we sucking eggs or just jerking off, politically ?

12. @ac

What is the reality? The court will have to help the narrow DLP interpret and apply your constitution. What does it say?

13. @Artax

That was the blogmaster’s interpretation. We have reached the stage of the long knives and for Machiavellian disciples to practice their craft.

14. NorthernObserver Avatar

You are correct. It is an internal matter. The reason the mountain of lawyers within cannot solve, is in politics it is the outcome which matters not the process.
    They will abuse any process for an outcome. Don’t mind they’ll deny that, you are seeing it with your own eyes.
    The people saw both parties skin the NIS while abusing many laws and rules which governed the entity. The outcome, to hide all which occurred, ruled.

15. Blp tentacles I interpreted as reference to Ronnie originating from the hive but without calling names just incase he have to kiss and make up

16. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

WHILE #AmeriKKKa, THE SO-CALLED LEADER OF THE SUPPOSEDLY FREE WORLD INITIATE #AssassinationAttempts AGAINST #PoLIEticalOpponents – AS @BT OPINED, WE CONTINUE 2 PULL APART WITH A FINE-TOOTH COMB, THE EMPTY VAGARIES OF COMATOSED PARTY INSTITUTIONS WHO HAVE BEEN ON LIFE-SUPPORT 2 LONG 2 REMEMBER

We are warned 2 cease from “DEAD WORKS”, but since 1966, jockeying for leadership of this once precious nation has been a 55-year ‘ole debacle of “TWO-SIDES OF THE SAME COIN” – gesticulating, twisting & gyrating over whose “CRAP STINKS” the most, has now descended into “UTTER FARCE”, (a look at the above pic [inset] says it all) – a bunch of “UNHEALTHY, UGLY AS SIN*, PARASITE-INFESTED BASTERDS” who are nothing more than a “BUNCH OF WILD HOGS” fighting over scraps of #PigFood!!!

On a more astute level, 2-party nations, where the political system is dominated by two major parties, will generally fail due to various reasons. According to “WHY NATIONS FAIL” by #DaronAcemoglu & #JamesRobinson, the key differentiator between countries is their institutions. Nations fail when institutions concentrate power in the hands of #OnlyAFew, leading to extractive institutions that prioritize the interests of the “ELITE” over the well-being of the population (MASSES)!!!

ELITE RESISTANCE 2 INNOVATION

In 2-party nations, the so-called “MOVERS & SHAKERS” often resist progressive, innovative “IDEAS” because they have a vested interest in maintaining the “STATUS QUO” – as new technologies & policies can alter the balance of economic or political assets by forfeiture, threatening their power & privileged positions. This resistance to change can lead to stagnation, failure & collapse in many cases!!!

PARTISAN HOSTILITY & NEGATIVE SENTIMENT

In 2-party nations, increasing partisan hostility & negative sentiment can also contribute to failure. When individuals view the opposing party and its members as “CORRUPT”, “SELF-SERVING”, “CLOSED-MINDED”, DISHONEST”, “IMMORAL”, & “LACKING INTELLIGENCE”, it can lead to a breakdown in political discourse & a lack of vital cooperation. This can result in political gridlock & a failure to address pressing social, monetary & ecological issues!!!

INSTITUTIONS & POWER CONCENTRATION

The concentration of power in the hands of a few individuals or groups can also lead to failure. When institutions are extractive, they prioritize the interests of the elite over the well-being of the population, stifling innovation and economic growth…

CASE IN POINT: CHINA AS AN EXAMPLE

The book #WhyNationsFail, highlights China as an example of a country that has experienced rapid economic growth under extractive institutions. While China’s authoritarian GOV* has been able to mobilize resources & concentrate power, this has not led to sustainable economic growth or innovation…

THE GREAT FEAR* FROM HERE ON IN IS WHAT WAS ONCE A FLEDGLING DEMOCRACY HAS NOW DESCENDED INTO A MINI-AUTOCRACY & THE RATS ARE JUMPING FROM CRUISE TO CRUISE SHIP IN SEARCH OF A DIMINISHINGLY LOST PARADIGM UPON WHICH ITS INDEPENDENCE WAS SUPPOSEDLY BUILT & INSTITUTED ON…

In the #ImmortalWords of the “BUSHMAN”:

“SOMEONE has to raise the alarm about the REAL DANGERS that will destroy us all…”

#OnThatNote

#IDone

17. Yawn! Wake me up when somebody significant says or does something of significance!

18. The writer continues, like he must, to overstate the import of what occurred at George Street within the context of the DLP getting manna from heaven.

Indeed, his other positions generally seem to be in favor of openess in governance. Yet, in this circumstance, he would have us pretend that a construction of an irrational political paling between the party aparachits and the people represent that level of decency derived from backyard corrugated galvanize of times prior.

These two ideas cannot comfortably coexist within the same time and space while avoiding the massive contribution towards national dysfunction when things are hidened from us as if we’re children.

Especially within a culture where Mia Mottley moved heaven and earth to unseat Arthur. When the cut and thrust of adversarial politics is an essential ingredient for the emergence of an elected dictator, like we’ve always had.

It should have always been clear that in the absence of embrolios the intellectual lightweights are left to operate as if swans. Meaning, appearing to be calm on the water’s surface while their feet make progress at uh hundred miles an hour, subsurface.

These childish games of hide and seek merely lead to the emergence political runts. The weakest of breed leading the pact. Donkeys leading lions!

And this has been the central problem with the DLP since Barrow. Every one of them, maybe including Thompson, was this type of personality. Thus delivering a seemingly interminable crisis of leadership which may indeed lead to the permanent collapse of duopoly. Not just the DLP!

And the centrality of full-blown fascism! The arc designed by capitalism.

19. Seems most likely that a regime of self interest dictators have taken control of the dlp

20. John2

Remember, Thorne ‘originated from the hive’ as well.

Both Yearwood and him joined the DLP under similar circumstances…… after losing BLP nominations in St. Michael North East and St. James South respectively.

And, by urging members during his speech at Sunday’s DLP St Michael South Central zone meeting, to go to the Supreme Court and show their support for comrades Shepherd and Worrell, both of whom he described as heroes, clearly indicates Thorne recognised them as acting general secretary and acting president respectively, while being supportive of Yearwood’s and Blackett’s suspensions.

The only people who may ‘have to kiss and make up’ under the circumstances are ‘Ronnie (wh)O’ and ‘Sleeve Jacket,’ especially if the Court ruling is not in their favour.

21. AC

It has been meek-minded yardfowls like you who have, with zeal and sublime cowardice, destroyed the DLP.

And yet, your kind cannot be deterred!

Up to now foolish Dems like you continue to choose political idiots like Yearwood, a former BLP wannabe, to lead.

Your kind are the real danger to the party. Yuh killing it with a foolish kind of love.

22. @Artax

Is it correct the newly appointed CJ Leslie Haynes and highly favoured acolyte of PM Mottley heard the matter yesterday? Your thoughts?

23. Artax
    I think I read somewhere that Thorne started d then switched to OS b now gone back home to D

24. Artax.

Yes u are correct . I read that too but had forgotten

25. Coming to a cinema near you:

Please do not say that it is worse in other countries.

https://www.aljazeera.com/features/2024/5/28/cape-towns-poor-neglected-in-south-africas-only-opposition-run-province

26. Panchaman
    Lol I guess if Thorne can point blame in any direction for the mash up and break up.
    So can U
    Lol wuhloss muh belly never new I had that kinda power

27. Life of Contradiction Avatar
    Life of Contradiction

DLP’s Conspiracy Hypothesis
    MIA is not the CIA
    BLP is not the Trial of the Octopus
    Muppet Ralph is tripping his nut off like Tron or a Hells Angel on LSD

28. @David
    yours@ 10.45 am
    I thought that it was particularly interesting that the newly minted CJ was responsible for the ruling yesterday on the DLP implosion. If I was someone that believed in conspiracy theories, I would wonder how the case ended up on his docket. As it is, I must reread the editorial that stated “Yes Virginia there is a Santa Claus”

I stated yesterday that the ruling greases the skids under the DLP, the BLP hierarchy must be having celebratory refreshments. The fireworks you see isn’t for the World Cup but for a future 30 love drubbing. Having secured a ruling in its favour the General council should expel both Yearwood and Blackett from the Party and be done with it except for calling a priest to deliver last rites.

BTW can anyone tell me what Hal Gollop was going on about? His gloating is unbecoming but no doubt he is enjoying the fact that his declared nemesis is permanently on the outside.

29. You wanted it to be Judge Cornelius? Murdaaa! RAT is fast becoming the boy that cried wolf. What tentacles, what. RAT is the reason locks got cut and court documents filed. What strategist worth their salt would appoint Wx2, two members of the DLP, as senators then submit a membership form to the part? Associate with people the electorate don’t want to see or hear their names far less see their faces, and the likes of the Weekes’ caravan? RAT clearly wanted locks cut. I too love seeing the likes of Carrington, Hal Gollop et al in that video. Campaign gold/goal.🤭🤭

30. BLACK PEOPLE ARE SO FOOLISH THEY LOOK UPTO A BLUE EYE WHITE MAN TO BE THEIR LORD AND SAVIOUR.

I MAKE NO APOLOGY FOR SAYING THAT.

A BIBLE OF 66 STORIES ALL WRITTEN BY NOT ONE BLACK OR BROWN MAN ONLY WHITE MEN.

SOME BLACKS IN THE USA ARE LOOKING FOR TRUMP TO BE THEIR SAVIOUR.

WHILST ALSO ON THE 2X3 ISLAND RALPH THORNE WILL BE THE NEXT AND UPCOMING SAVIOUR.

COVID WAS SUPPOSED TO BE A WAKEUP CALL HOWEVER TOO MANY BLACKS STILL SEEM TO BE LIVING AS IF IN A COMA.

31. Have to agree with you Enuff, the naked political play is obvious.

32. Further the BLP didn’t need the latest DLP ruckus to keep ahead at the next general election anyway.

33. Agent Thorn makes a valid point: yes, our Supreme Leader extends her strong arms to the DLP to crush them. However, he fails to mention that those arms bear the tattoos ‘Agent Thorn’ and ‘Agent Yearwood’.

Whichever faction of the DLP wins in court in one, two or three years’ time, our Supreme Leader will be the winner.

Our Supreme Leader should use this long-lasting gastroenteritis of the opposition to finally set the facts with a new constitution, a constitution that also officially installs her for life in the new office of Supreme Leader. So that her promise never to run for Prime Minister again will come true. This is what the people really want for this country.

Tron, Supreme Admirer

34. Enuff

Yuh got the Mottley crew, led by the only real hu-man on your side, and a one-man party yuh frightened fuh!

The way you party faithfuls behave when a minor threat appears speaks to the emptiness which is your politics at centre.

Organizations break locks and change codes all the time when personnel changes are made.

If your assertion is true, why would a party allow the two suspended interfere with its work. This alone would represent cause for removal.

Indeed, even such an attempt is dictatorial in and of itself. It presumes that these men feel themselves bigger than the party, like Mottley.

35. smearing the dirt Avatar
    smearing the dirt

“It doesn’t matter if there was a conspiracy to try and win an election,”
    “Every campaign in this country is a conspiracy to promote a candidate.”

Election conspiracies are ‘done all the time’, Trump lawyer tells trial jurors in closing argument in case centered on allegedly falsified business records in alleged payment to adult film star Stormy Daniels’ regarding her allegation of an extramarital liaison

Point is.. didn’t Ralph and Mia both infer they had dirt on each other
    Political campaigns are about smearing the dirt

36. The Teflon Don!

Donald Trump is unlikely to be found guilty in the Stormy Daniels ‘affair’.

Tells about the corruption which is Amerikkka. That a man who has broken every law known to god or man cannot be touched speaks to empire’s decline.

Expect him to romp to a landslide barring industrial thief by the set of criminals now in the WH.

37. Time for the DLP to split up!

Tron

38. IF there was a time for good men and women to rise up it must be now.

39. The DLP will contest the next election. They will lose.

40. Pachamama

Whatcha talking bout? I doubt the BLP scared of RAT? Anyhow, I bout transformation of Bim not electioneering and stunting with far right evangelicals.

41. “IF there was a time for good men and women to rise up it must be now.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Stop dreaming…
    THAT boat has long sailed Boss….

Our world is now FULLY under the GRIP of the dastardly, evil forces – who endorse the likes of Trump, Gates, and even our local albino-centric wannabes.
    This explains the UNENDING wickedness that pervades across the WHOLE world… from the White House to George Street.

Since Brass bowls have VOTED with our ACTIONS to turn our backs on our Creator, and on the RULES and ‘community-centric’ philosophy of LOVE that this requires; AND since we have aspired instead to mimic the greedy, selfish, spitefulness of the albino-centrics, The Creators has TURNED THEIR BACKS on our shiite, and left us to our CHOSEN fate.

What good men stand up what?!! –
    AGAINST the pits of Hell? Against the IMF/ WHO/ IDB…?
    Against Babylon?

Without the FULL ARMOR of the creator, such stance is in vain.

First a BUSH BATH is needed, then repentance..
    add to that, a stint of ‘sack cloth and ashes’… because

IT IS ONLY if brass bowls shall humble themselves, and seek the CREATORS attention, and turn from their albino-centric ways…
    …that there can be ANY hope of reversal.

42. Enuff

Well, yuh right bout de far rightist, dispensationalists.

But don’t leh Bushie hear yuh say so. When yuh see he supporting or defending certain people yuh know the evangelical fix is in!

43. I noted today’s remark from the court jester raising praise to his beloved leader and the lack of a constitution. Mia has all the hallmarks of leaders from yesteryear. Our country is in a very dark place.

44. You must stick to the plan that we started from Avatar
    You must stick to the plan that we started from

The DLP make the Government stronger

The BLP thank the DLP for helping them to win 30-0 30-0
    … and they will win again 30-0 for ever and ever
    .. forever more
    Amen

the DLP represents their egos and nothing else they don’t care for the people
    who wants the nasty party with nasty people with stupid preaching and flowery soundbites that mean nothing

45. “Is it correct the newly appointed CJ Leslie Haynes and highly favoured acolyte of PM Mottley heard the matter yesterday? Your thoughts?”

I was thinking what were the circumstances that led to CJ Haynes hearing the case, rather than another Judge.

It’s ironic that, after Thorne’s speech about the need for DLP members to “join together and build strong perimeters around this party and reject those tentacles that are stretching from the Barbados Labour Party into this party,”……

…… CJ Haynes who, according to you, is a highly favoured acolyte of Mottley,’ ruled in favour of his (Thorne’s) ‘faction,’ which essentially paves the way for him to conduct his duties as the DLP’s political leader, ‘without having to look over his shoulders.’

Perhaps we may soon hear the convening of an extraordinary general meeting, to discuss certain matters that cannot be deferred until the scheduled annual meeting.

46. @Artax

There is the view that perception goes a long way. There is also another view that – “the appearance of bias is enough to invalidate a judicial decision”. Let us hope it doesn’t evolve to this level. The public is already too cynical about Whitepark formerly Coleridge.

47. Proceedings are painful and slow Avatar
    Proceedings are painful and slow

The Case has not been heard
    The Case has not been struck out

The Case is:
    Pedro Shepherd First Respondent
    Andre Worrell Second Respondent

Claimant Ricardo Williams has been given time to produce additional documentary evidence that the Respondents acted illegally to become acting President and General Secretary of DLP

There seems to be no Court Statements posted in the public domain on the World Wide Web, just some gossip news in media, which Judges are not supposed to pay attention to

48. "throw a dead cat on the table" tactics Avatar
    “throw a dead cat on the table” tactics

In the interim period perhaps Ralph could elaborate on the
    “Political Terrorism”
    “Threats to DLP and Democracy”
    “BLP ‘tentacles’ infiltrating DLP”
    nonsense rumours and speculations that he put out there to as seeds for ideas to grow in peoples minds while using the “throw a dead cat on the table” tactic as a means of diversion.

His holier-than-thou attitude is unacceptable to righteous conscious children of God and the empty suit talking head must be held accountable for his mischevous misdeeds. He is the dirtiest of all the dirty politicians I ever have seen in my life, a nasty piece of work.