The ruling Administration has reneged on its Covenant of Hope where it promised to include Barbadians in governance. Perhaps one of the most frightening examples to date is Barbados becoming a Republic without a Referendum or consultation with the people. This article will focus on the impact on General Elections.

We have all heard it so many times that it has become second nature to state “elections in Barbados are constitutionally due every five years” and since the last general election was held in 2018, it would be expected that the next General Election will be held in 2023. The latter part of the statement is now in doubt.

The admission that the Constitution will come into existence after the Republic has started was brazen. This form of oppression is subtle. It should be the other way around with the Constitution first and the Republic after so that everyone can read and understand what they are getting into.

That admission has changed everything. One does not know how long a time period that will be. Since a date has not been specified, could it be a month, six months, a year, five years? The Prime Minister’s statement was not precise and therefore it cannot be measured. Hence, regardless of political affiliation, every member of the Barbadian public must acknowledge that this is a massive red flag.

There are several requirements to getting a mortgage and once these are met, the purchaser is provided the mortgage agreement and can get legal advice on the contents before signing. It is a legally binding document by which a person agrees to the principle, interest, payments, the terms and the other conditions. If the bank provided you with a piece of paper with just the title Mortgage on it and informed you that this will be the mortgage and asked you to sign without the principle, interest, payments, the terms and the other conditions being declared in writing, would you sign that piece of paper? Added to this you are told by the bank that the actual mortgage document with the written details will be available shortly after, not even on a specific date, would you sign? No one with all their mental faculties working would sign this blank mortgage document as the bank could write after the fact whatever it wishes on the document.

In the scale of things, the Constitution of Barbados is far more significant than a mortgage. It too is a legally binding document that will not only contain the laws that govern a mortgage but every other law that defines all aspects of life in Barbados. So how can the people of Barbados be asked by the government to agree to a change in the status of the State and a new Constitution with a blank document? What will be written on this document after the fact?

Essentially that is what the government is asking the people to do, to agree to a grand show and tell and later find out about the laws that make the new Constitution. It is a buy now pay later concept that is a trap for unsuspecting buyers.

There is no guarantee that elections will be held in 2023 as this is based off the present Constitution. Without a definitive time period of when the proposed Constitution will be ratified into law no one knows when the next General Elections will be. Will the document be laid in Parliament in a month, a year, or two years from the change of status? Only heaven knows.

In addition, one cannot even assume who will be legally responsible for issuing the writ that declares when elections will be held. One does not know if changes will be made to the Electoral and Boundaries Commission, if the matter of campaign finances will be a free for all, if payments to social media influencers will become part of the law.

The action by government to change the status of the island first and the Constitution after the change in status causes one to question the legality of this process. Due process is that the laws come first. What happens in the interim, emergency law or military law?

The matter of when the next General Elections are to be held is not to be taken lightly. There has been no Referendum, no terms of reference, no draft issued on the type of Republic or the contents of the new Constitution. There are just too many unknowns and people wanting to believe what they have no evidence of.

To the electorate, why is this entire process a secret? You are not at a Fair, the Constitution of Barbados should never be part of a lucky dip where after withdrawing your hand from the box you get the surprise of your life! Now is the time to stand up and fight for your rights.

209 responses to “A Heather Cole Column – When Is the Next General Election?”

1. A wonderful analogy. And a timely intervention from a highly respected figure.

The kennel doors will soon be unleashed to the frenetic fury of our four-legged compatriots barking in tune to their master’s voice.

Judge Heather has stated that this attempt to gerrymander our constitution at the expense of the people and our democracy will set a dangerous precedence. She is 100% correct.

2. This is nonsense / fear mongering / political partisanship

The changes to the constitution will be an ongoing work in progress that will start after the referendum and will continue for the future of the republic

USA constitution has amendments but lawyers and politicians still argue about what was the meaning and intent of the laws made by founding fathers and congress like it was a religion handed down to them by ascended masters

Barbados constitution can be more like a white paper that is discussed and agreed on by a working group of subject matter experts

3. USA became a republic in 1776
    USA constitution was formed in 1787

The election will proceed when due so stop worrying your little head over it.

DLP are still useless and worthless.

4. “The changes to the constitution will be an ongoing work in progress that will start after the referendum and will continue for the future of the republic”

That is nonsense.
    Clearly you missed Heather’s point. No one has a clue what will be the outcome of the work in progress; what will change and what will remain.

5. What the issue?

Is it to remove a White head of state and replace with a local to avoid having to swear allegiance to the Queen/King of England and their heirs and successors? To do so it will require an amendment to the Constitution.

Are there other changes that will be made to the Constitution?

The issue is not going to republican status, it is the vacuum created by ineffective communication from government.

6. “USA constitution has amendments but lawyers and politicians still argue about what was the meaning and intent of the laws made by founding fathers and congress like it was a religion handed down to them by ascended masters.”

Additional nonsense. This is one time the “it happens elsewhere” argument falls flat on its face. Amending the US constitution is not a fly by night operation.

https://www.archives.gov/federal-register/constitution

It is patently clear that you have not made contact with the post.

Note that we are not debating the ills of US constitution past or present, just the amendment process.

7. “Are there other changes that will be made to the Constitution?”

Some of us do not know the answer. Can you answer the question for us?

8. UK does not have a written constitution for it’s laws as it has the crown / monarchy as head of state / courts etc

Therefore the first step is to become a republic and then subsequently draw up the constitution

Barbados will be different to USA and UK as equal rights for all will be enshrined in law without the inference that Blacks are deemed a lower class

9. If we do not know the changes that will be proposed to be made to the Constitution, what is the correct conclusion to be made? Lack of communication perhaps?

10. Commenters should note Barbados made a few changes to the Constitution in recent years and the sky did not fall down. The issue here is that the government/Mia is forcing the change to the head of state post #blm event. That said the government needs to put that PR unit to work.

11. “Clearly you missed Heather’s point. No one has a clue what will be the outcome of the work in progress; what will change and what will remain.”

Take for example changes in financial regulations such as mandatory tax reporting in banking
    Working party groups in the industry spend several years drawing up rules and scope of changes and the changes in law announced as a project where rules are made and systems are changed in preparation for the established deadline dates

12. “The issue is not going to republican status, it is the vacuum created by ineffective communication from government.”

Great comment.

However, the words “ineffective communication” is a nice paper over of
    (1) (now) rushed timing
    (2) no full description of the process
    (3) no description of consequences, and
    (4) inability to discuss the full impact.. what goes with the queen, what comes with the president.

We may be getting a ‘six for a nine’. To some, the two are different.

13. I know I am repeating the words of others when I state that the Constitution is like a ‘holy document’. It can be improved upon,it can be amended, but to protect the people the changes should be made in the open. Changes should be discussed and voted on by citizens, not imposed on them.

Have a great day… All.

14. “We may be getting a ‘six for a nine’. To some, the two are different”

The problem with Bajans is they have a strong sense of mistrust with no confidence in Government and are prone to adopting hyperbole

They are even less hopeful than whites are that blacks can rule themseleves

15. USA has a war of independence 1775 – 1783 to ditch British rule and a civil war 1861 – 1865 to end slavery

Barbados is a similar new world British plantation slave colony that is achieving it’s independence in 21st century without war.

16. “Commenters should note Barbados made a few changes to the Constitution in recent years and the sky did not fall down.”

Problem with colonial countries is they adopted and maintained the legacy systems of British rulers with little changes

so the society is still more of a reflection of it’s British colonial past and is more British than Britain is today

the social clubs and estates are like stepping back in history to see the old British culture

17. Ash + Bone \

I see fire in your eyes
    I see Ash and Bone
    I see rivers running dry
    I see your wild ways growing tame
    I see your fear

I see freedom
    I see freedom in your eyes
    I see freedom
    I see freedom in your eyes

Run to the edge she said to me
    I ran to you, you ran to me
    Woven hands and a cool black night
    And all I see
    Is the freedom in your eyes
    All I see

Awoooo
    Awoooo
    I’ll stay wild for you
    If you’ll stay wild for me, too

Awoooo
    Awoooo
    I’ll stay wild for you

You are sweetness, you’re bitter
    You sting like whiskey
    You linger on my breath
    Just like the green grass growing back
    I feel I’m alive
    It’s the freedom
    It’s the freedom of the wild

All I see
    All I see

Awoooo
    Awoooo
    I’ll stay wild for you

Awoooo
    Awoooo
    I’ll stay wild for you

Awoooo
    Awoooo
    I’ll stay wild for you

18. Steupse!

19. “If we do not know the changes that will be proposed to be made to the Constitution, what is the correct conclusion to be made? Lack of communication perhaps?”

The changes can be defined as a journey into the future from independence as the beginning of the processes and will continue until the end of time

seems like peoples fear of the unknown is a worry about overreaching powers of Government to pass objectionable laws, so first stages of a constitution will be to address the method and rules of due process that will be followed in all the subsequent due processes for legal changes, i.e. namely put in the checks and balances to allay the people’s biggest fears and maintain balance and fairness

It should/shall be an open book
    Bajans like to be wordy which should be avoided
    and should be a reflection of Barbados’ goals and aspirations
    such as
    peoples interest first
    integrity legislation
    elimination of Government corruption
    taking business interests out of politics / party sponsorship
    elimination of poverty and class systems

20. Lashley has his say

DLP must consider question of leadership ability – Lashley
    With the next general election constitutionally due in 2023, former parliamentarian Hamilton Lashley is calling on the members of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) to ask themselves who is the most suitable person to lead the party into the polls.
    He told Barbados TODAY that he has been keeping a close eye on the upcoming race between incumbent party president Verla DePeiza and her challenger Reverend Guy Hewitt, with elections slated to be held during the party’s August 18-22 annual conference.
    Lashley said it is critical, at this time, for the DLP membership to determine if they see their party as an alternative government. If they do, he said, they must question if the current leader is the right person to take the party into the next general election or if someone else should be given the job.
    “Running a country like Barbados, with COVID-19 and post-COVID, will need a leader that is a visionary, that has the imagination, capabilities and skills of a leader,” Lashley said.
    “We can’t believe leadership to be an emotional exercise.
    Verla will, obviously, within the realms of the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) corridors, get that ‘cuh dear’ vote – ‘cuh dear, she was leader and she took the party through the rough seas phase’. And that is a good thing, but the real question is, having done all of that, is Verla the right person to lead Barbados?”
    Lashley said the fact that a number of members resigned from the DLP executive DePeiza has led for the past three years should assist members in determining whether the attorney-at-law is the right person to be at the helm of the party.
    “Could Verla DePeiza replace Mia Amor Mottley? I don’t know, but at the present moment, as I see it, that might be a mission impossible.
    “So, how I am seeing it right now is it can’t be the little emotional ‘cuh dear, you got to give she a break’. It cannot be like that. You got a country with nearly 300 000 people residing here, we got to take leadership seriously in this country,” Lashley said.
    The veteran politician said DLP members also had to determine whether Hewitt is capable of leading either the party or the country.
    Lashley noted that he was impressed with the fact that Hewitt, while serving as High Commissioner for Barbados to London, played a pivotal role in coercing the British government to react with urgency to the worsening Windrush scandal.
    He said: “He is the person out of everybody else in the Caribbean that is mostly credited for the British Government changing the policy to give a kind of emancipation to our people and give them their rights. He is the person who went up there and rectified that.
    “So, to say that he has not got leadership qualities is wrong. People have to remember that a professional diplomat cannot get involved [in the politics of a country]. Although he was appointed by the Democratic Labour Party, he was a diplomat and the two cannot mix.” (AH)

21. Covenant of hope replaced by 30 to 0. They can argue no need for a referendum as it was already received. Truth is Republic, Same sex marriage, all to me are red herrings that avoid any serious discussion and action on the devastated state of our economy.

I guess next will be casino gambling and legalised drug use who knows.

22. Barbados has a negative mindset and likes it’s bungs, siphoning monies, abuse of power as means of generating personal wealth.
    So a change in people’s minds will be needed as no one trusts anyone when they believe they will be as dishonest as they are and believe that a culture of corruption is just the way things are.
    The system should not be designed with backdoors that can circumvent transparency rule, due diligence and due process.

23. Didnt i read someplace that MM said we will be waking up on DEC 1st with a new constitution? i took that to mean to accommodate the new president – the way he/she will be elected etc. And has nothing to do with change to parliamentary elections.

Now MM would have to be real foolish to have a chance to create more history with another 30 – 0. Why would she mess up her support/legacy with the bajan pubic and the international community to institute an unnecessary power grab that would only last a couple of months the most before the people really rise up and the international community turn against her (embargoes etc)

24. So……… ‘Hammie Lah’ is essentially saying Verla DePeiza is NOT the IDEAL PERSON to lead the DLP or Barbados.

25. I heard a black international media commentator stating that when a country economic is in trouble leadership finds a way to reverse the minds of the populace from the problems that are affecting the people and the economy and introduces symbolic policies
    Such policies are easy to sway people minds since they are on of a symbolic nature attached to patriotism
    Xxxxxx
    The more I think of what I have been seeing and hearing on the subject of Barbados becoming a Republic the more I agree with him
    Outside of a few pockets of jabs about the economy
    The Republic issue for the past weeks had taken centre stage while the economy lags behind with out enough being said to aggreviate the populace
    Meanwhile Mottley govt is given a pass to dictate and mandate as it dam pleases

26. Artax

it doesnt matter one way or the other. under the night watchman DEM going win 5% more seat the last elections. under the rev DEM will will 5% more seat than under the night watchman.

27. Any system can be abused, which means any system will be abused.

The system should be made “Trump Proof” as much as possible.

A newly released memo shows that Trump told the acting attorney general: ‘Just say the election was corrupt [and] leave the rest to me and the [Republican] congressmen’

28. The current system is the British model and will still be the default factory settings when the republic is formed.
    The new constitution is a blank page or canvass and could be modelled on examples of other countries systems such as USA, but all considerations must be made and established from Barbados’ perspectives and interests, following methodological steering committees due processes. The Devil is in the detail

29. … and should be a living breathing working current constitutional system that can be updated refined or replaced continuously
    … namely it should not be an outdated document written centuries ago where people are trying to figure out what the writers meant

US political and legal system has a gazillion flaws

30. We support the ideas of the writer unreservedly, this time around.

We have been arguing for decades that Barbados is not a democracy but an elected dictatorship.

And the people themselves guided by a combination of factors have regularized the dictatorship ideal.

That Mugabe Mottley seeks the furtherance of long established leanings should be unsurprising. For she is following in the footsteps of those coming before.

These are the things done to a people content to sleepwalk through life while expecting that stinking politicians would be their saviours.

People like Da-vid would distract us from a fundamental issue of governace by erecting the strawman of race. Not that Whitness is unimportant but where was this kind of talk when the same politicians, of both parties, have been the perrenially obedient servants of White interests.

31. Not that Whitness [sic] is unimportant but where was this kind of talk when the same politicians, of both parties, have been the perrenially [sic] obedient servants of White interests.

Whiteness as you call it is not a skin colour it is a mindset

where the rules of the game is not a level playing field

and the rules are written so they will always win the game

and whenever they lose they will always change the rules

32. Does Government work for people
    or do people work for Government

everyone is a stakeholder in Government
    with tax rates of 15-30% everyone works for Government for 2-4 months

Primordial Cultural Movements
    Should Barbados adopt a more village / tribal system like in Africa or the Native Americans
    although knowledge of those older cultures will need to gained through fact finding missions

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kxCOY5ylv5E

33. Rise up into the light

even in bringing in the light all around you

knowing that you can step into this place of trust

trust for your life that even if you make that step forward

even if you have fear you just need to do it

as you will get stronger and stronger in life

with every step you take

There is nothing to fear but fear itself

Each subsequent generation should and will be able to contribute, change and improve the constitution as required

34. The Butterfly effect

The down markers / negative people / door peepers are caterpillars

not ready for the transformation into butterflies

as Bajan elders are not wise

and not up to task challenge

and are paralysed in fear of the unknown

coming from a lower level of consciousness

then the constitutional changes should be left for the teenagers

as they are fearless

and are god’s children who will give them his/her guidance

35. Look there
    at the beautiful butterflies
    there are more butterflies
    breaking their cocoon soon
    the seeds we sow must break open in order to grow
    shed their skin allow light to breath in
    shed their skin allow good words within

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KXy1AVo0F_0

36. What is the harm (fear) in having a referendum?? Is the assumption being made that Bajans are not intelligent enough to make such a decision? Is it a move to avoid clear and full communication on the changes to be made? Is there an ulterior motive behind changes to be made?
    If the answer to these questions is no then I ask again what is the fear about having a referendum.
    Would a referendum force full disclosure, clear communication and avoid accusations of despotism?
    If the answer to these questions is yes, then I ask again what is the fear about having a referendum?

37. The vast majority of Barbadians have no problem with transitioning to a republic. Who self respected Black Bajan want to swear allegiance to the head of a country responsible for exploiting and enslaving our forefathers? The issue is in the detail. Educate the rh people what is the symbolism of it all. And that it is the start of a journey to a place where as a black nation we must reach to make ourselves whole. Instead we have those possessed by shackled minds conflating issues motivated by ignorance or political gamesmanship.

38. “Educate the rh people what is the symbolism of it all. And that it is the start of a journey to a place where as a black nation we must reach to make ourselves whole. Instead we have those possessed with shackled minds conflating issues motivated by ignorance or political gamesmanship”

Children will be fully educated about the symbolism in school
    If adults don’t know.. then they don’t know.. and their heads might explode with some simple basic facts about a republic for dummies

the only people who would be against it would be British nationalists who feel they are losing another part of their empire
    US / CIA would probably like to put in their double agents in power to ensure that Barbados follows their will

I’m not Bajan
    but I am fed up with undecided dithering humming and harring moaning and groaning whining and grining and sitting on the wall

39. WHOLE, David! What a difference a “w” makes. Lol

40. 555,

Only some of them. I am ready to fly.

Fears are there to be conquered.

Here it is that a little girl from Westbury Road is outdone only by Oprah Winfrey in the “entertainment” category.

Took the proceeds from the entertainment and multiplied them with her business head.

Left most Bajan whities in the dust with their little 2×3 stores.

41. DavidAugust 5, 2021 4:22 PM

The vast majority of Barbadians have no problem with transition to a republic.
    Xxxxccccc
    How do u know such ?
    Was a poll done by independent sources
    Bring the evidence please
    Xxcccccccccccc

Who self respected Black Bajan wand to swear allegiance to the head of a country responsible for exploiting and enslaving our forefathers?
    Xxxxccccc
    Maybe u ought to ask that question of those who have received knighthoods from the monarchy
    Xxcccccccccccc

The issue is in the detail. Educate the rh people what is the symbolism of it all.
    Xxxxxx
    That education should have started long ago long before Mia talked about Barbados becoming a Republic
    Ccxxxx

And that it is the start of a journey to a place where as a black nation we must reach to make ourselves hole.(whole)
    Xxxxccccc
    Btw I made a correction “whole”
    Why would removing the queen make ourselves whole
    Bring the facts
    When people are manipulate and exploited by any means or source a symbol designed to be removed must be replaced by good governance trustworthiness and integrity
    Not just another set of symbolic gestures
    Xxxccccccc

Instead we have other shackled minds conflating issues motivated by ignorance or political gamesmanship
    Xxxxxx
    Slow down fool because of lack of vision the people lack of knowledge is dependant on what they see or hear el

42. “Slow down fool because of lack of vision the people lack of knowledge is dependant on what they see or hear el”

the process of constitutional changes or it’s formation should be slowed down and made after becoming a republic so they are done correctly

becoming a republic does not have a dependency on the planning and putting constitutional changes in place and can commence without them

these are simple logical steps of project management critical path analysis that the paranoid provocative DLP party can not see and comprehend

43. It is long but worth reading

#BTColumn – ‘30 out of 30 is not 100 per cent’ – by Barbados Today August 5, 2021
    Disclaimer: The views and opinions expressed by this author are their own and do not represent the official position of the Barbados Today Inc.

by Hyacinth Greenidge

Barbados is not the fiefdom of Prime Minister Mia Mottley.

And while Barbadians remain mute, sedated, comatose, bewitched, apathetic, perhaps petrified, they are ceding this island to someone who from my vantage point, even if not hers, seems more concerned about creating a legacy – contrived as it might be – than anything else. Of course, this is my opinion and I might be wrong. But actions speak louder than words and I wish to be given the opportunity to highlight a few of the things that Barbadians ought to take notice of, as they contemplate the next general election.

I am a supporter of Barbados first, and anything else afterwards. I have voted for Tom Adams’ Bees, Errol Barrow’s Dems, Owen Arthur’s Bees and David Thompson’s Dems. I did not vote for Freundel Stuart’s Dems nor Mia Mottley’s Bees – two of my wisest political decisions.

Mr Stuart’s reluctant and often lazy leadership justified my decision. Miss Mottley’s political attitude and aptitude has also convinced me that my decision not to vote in the 2018 general election was the right decision. I had no leadership to vote for but I fear that the lesser of my two worries lost.

I will start with my first contentious issue and I will draw from the Emancipation Day speech of Senator Reverend John Rogers and his remark that “30 out of 30 is not 100 per cent.” Though the erudite cleric made no specific reference to any politician, I want to use the statement with respect to the present political leadership of Barbados.

I think that the overall victory bestowed on Miss Mottley has created a situation in Barbados akin to a new maxim of “Vox Mia, Vox Dei” – the voice of Mia is the voice of God, or some might even suggest, “Vox Populi, Vox Murium” – the voice of the people is the voice of mice. Of course, this is not our leader’s actual or stated stance, but it is the perception of myself and thousands like-minded individuals.

I am in agreement with Barbados becoming a republic, even though it will make no fundamental difference to the lives of Barbadians, a reduction of poverty, a decrease in fuel costs or a drop in the overall cost of living.

We make a fuss about a native Barbadian being the Head of State so we will have a president rather than a Governor General and my grandson will obviously sleep a lot more snugly at night as a result of the change in ceremonial name.

I believe something as fundamental as Barbados becoming a republic should be decided by the people not by Miss Mottley alone, nor by Henry Forde’s aged report.

A referendum is in order. But that is not my only fret.

There will only be one Independence Day and that is November 30. All Barbadians know the importance of the day. Why would any leader even consider having a Republic Day on November 30? Are we to deprive generations of future Barbadians unencumbered knowledge of the singular importance of that November date? Is Miss Mottley attempting to create a legacy by erasing that of the Father of Independence?

One would think that one would have to do great things to create a legacy, not create a legacy by erasing or watering down another’s legacy? In a year of 365 days, it seemingly borders on megalomania to home in on November 30.

What about that committee that was put together to discuss the entire question and processes of our republic status? What have they to say on this? Did that committee agree to this rushed process? Barbadians, like me, would like to hear them on this? I have given up on the weaklings in the Parliament of Barbados who seem to view Miss Mottley as some wouldbe messiah. I wait to see who from that sorry bunch has the fortitude to tell Miss Mottley when to pull back. Just over 10 years ago a group of BLP parliamentarians approached the Governor General to have Miss Mottley removed as Leader of the Opposition.

Some of them are still around and in the interest of democracy these same individuals and others should be paying closer attention to the actions of their leader and considering whether the majority might have to visit the Governor General at some future date again.

Twenty-nine minus one is not zero. But the advent of the republic and the identity of the president might make such a step impossible or improbable as the months unfold.

What makes this situation severely untenable is that Miss Mottley has no history of political success that one can point to that would encourage some Barbadians – in and outside the House of Assembly to follow her blindly.

As Minister of Education, Edutech was a disaster despite the millions of dollars pumped into it. I smile when some try to credit her strong leadership with the resolution of the insurrection at Her Majesty’s Prisons, Glendairy, some years ago. But people tend to forget that trouble was brewing at that facility for years, reports were made about the situation there and nothing tangible was done.

Hence the powder keg exploding was as a result of administrative negligence. When a diabetic loses a leg on the surgeon’s table through a negligent and careless lifestyle, do we praise him for enduring the amputation manfully or do we chastise him for leading the type of unhealthy lifestyle that got him to that point? It saddens me that in 2021 after so much money has been spent on education that Barbadians are still slaves to politicians. If a politician is not functioning, he or she is not functioning, irrespective of their politics.

If a politician is a threat to democracy, then action should be taken in the interest of maintaining democracy, not continued obedience to political colours and the accompanying patronage. I follow social media and listen to the call-in programmes and I am appalled at the twisted arguments some try to bring to give legitimacy to actions that do not necessarily reflect the will of the people but appear to be sponsored by specific individuals.

I have taken to switching channels whenever I listen to one openly-gay moderator seeking to justify almost every step this Government makes, even if the argument is obviously vacuous and seemingly not predicated on commonsense. And this is repeated across social media as though there is a list of paid influencers whose job is simply to control or attempt to guide public opinion in the

Government’s direction. I can now appreciate Government’s preoccupation with communications and the state’s high wage bill with respect to having this branch of government heavily populated.

My final and brief concern is with vaccination against COVID-19. I have taken the vaccine of my own volition.
    I have embarked on a programme of boosting my immune system [if it is still in control of my body], keeping fit and adhering to the protocols. But while I agree with the protocols being a mandated part of our social interactions, I am in total disagreement with any policy that will make vaccination mandatory across the board, especially as it relates to employment.

The science has thrown up a number of scenarios where there are no guarantees about the vaccine. People are still contracting, spreading and reportedly dying from COVID-19 despite being vaccinated. How in the name of sanity, then, can one deprive human beings of the right to choose under these uncertain circumstances? The private sector – with their bottom line as their focus – seems to be guiding Government’s response to this question but I believe the voice of the people must be heard.

The idea of forced vaccination seems to go against every industrial and human rights consideration and convention in existence – not to mention legal.

Yet, here we are in 2021 unable to find consensus on whether an individual has the right to put or not put some substance into his or her system that could change one’s life forever.

If our political leaders allow that, they do not deserve to be our political leaders and should be booted from Government at the earliest opportunity. But, if I had to take the vaccine again, I would. It is called my choice. And when last I checked this idea of protecting the workplace sounds as though the workers are being separated from the workplace. The workers are the workplace.

Without them, the ‘workplace’ is merely bricks, steel or wood. Yet the voices of the workers seemingly mean nothing in the prevailing environment.

This article was submitted as a Letter to the Editor.

44. Well to be frank , i have no problem with going to a republic.However, if the majority wants a referendum then one should be had.This republic talk was spoken about for years by both parties so it is nothing new.As to when elections will be held the questioned to be asked would be who does bajans feel would be able to lead Barbados in these trying times of pandemics etc? The choice would be between Ms Mottley or the political nightwatchman who has never even won a seat far less lead a country or the rev Hewitt who sounds like a modern Mr Thompson a lot of pretty talk and not much else.I believe it will be a no contest down the road but we shall see what we shall see.

45. A very good article. I have a complaint with one paragraph.
    “I have taken to switching channels whenever I listen to one openly-gay moderator seeking to justify almost every step this Government makes, even if the argument is obviously vacuous and seemingly not predicated on commonsense”

The ‘one openly-gay’ does not add to the strength of the essay. In fact, it detracts from it as I am left to wonder if letter writer’s bias is not influencing his opposition to the moderator.

46. @J2
    Is that you?

47. 30 to zero made MAM capo di tutti capi .

Barbados will become a Republic.

I believe the planning and the changes to the constitution are in progress.

She got this.

48. “Who self respected Black Bajan want to swear allegiance to the head of a country responsible for exploiting and enslaving our forefathers?”

Here we go again!

David, you paint a very simple picture. All we need to do is ditch our beloved Lizzie for an instant five minute high. As the euphoria diminishes we will rediscover that the emancipation we craved for will remain a distant illusion. Those who govern us have no intention of offering emancipation to our people.

Was Lizzie responsible for the wholesale disposal of Barbados land and businesses to foreigners? Was Lizzie responsible for our low quality leaders that have lead us to where we are?

Once we reach the conscious state of emancipation and fully understand what it means, only then, will we be able to slowly transition into a republic. Until this day arrives let’s refrain from this idle republicanism talk and focus our minds on making our country truly great,

49. @Hants, the people of Barbados voted for evidence not ‘belief.’ Belief will never hold up in court.

50. Well I for one agree with every word of the letter
    This letter speaks to many truths heard across the island
    Glad and happy to read that this one voice had no trepidationwhich would have given cause not to write a letter which corresponds with the many whose voice is silent
    Kudos to the writer